Military Review

How took Ochakov

11
Trekking


The campaign in the Russian army delayed the unusually cold weather. Until the end of the first third of April, 1737 in Little Russia was so cold that there was knee-deep snow in the fields, which, as Field Marshal Munnich wrote, “is impossible for people on campuses to stand, and there is no stern in the fields, there’s nothing to be saturated with. ” However, on April 18, Minich’s army began to cross the Dnieper on a floating bridge near Mishurin Horn six versts above Perevolochny. During the crossing, the news came that the Bujac horde was going to raid. The commander began to hurry and announced that the campaign should be made no later than 10 May. But only by 21 in May was able to collect all the troops in the camp on the river Omelnik.

Here, the commander was informed that the Budzhak Tatars stand under Bendery and plan to go beyond the Bug, while the Turkish vizier led the 20-thousandth army to Isacce and that the Turks suggest crossing the Danube in order to also join up with the Tatars. The scouts also reported the formation of large garrisons by the Turks in Khotin, Bendery, Ochakovo and the dispatch of a large detachment to the Perekop line.

21 May 1736 The Russian army marched from the camp on Omelnik to the Bug. By then, Minich’s army included: three walking guard battalions, one cavalry squadron, 29 infantry and 20 dragoon regiments, a squadron of the Cuirassier Count Mihnich regiment, 9 landmine regiments, 3, a thousand of the artillery, and a numerhe for a non-combatant regiment, 13, a thousand of people who were not working as a non-combatant, for example, for a thousand artillery, for a thousand artillery, for example, for a thousand artillery, for a thousand artillery, for a thousand artillery units . All these troops were still divided into three divisions, and their total number was 1,5 thousand people. The remaining troops remained to cover communications and rears.

Much attention was paid to the defense of the train. And not surprisingly - more than 40 thousand wagons were moving in the Russian army. In order to better organize the march, Minikh ordered to assign a soldier or dragoon from “undersized” and not capable of combat service to each convoy. In addition, from each regiment stood out a team in the 30 privates with one officer, which was designed to protect the wagons from the possible attack of the Tatars. For the same purpose, special rear "guards" from regular and irregular units were dispatched daily, both to cover the wagon train and to maintain order in the rear.

Minich led the whole army. Its headquarters consisted of three divisional commanders — the Prince of Hessen-Homburg, lieutenant-general Rumyantsev and Leontyev. In addition to these commanders, Lieutenant-General Gustav Biron (brother of the Empress's favorite), Keith, Levendal, Quartermaster-General Colonel Vilim Fermor, and Provisional General Major-General Roslavlev, General-Master of Bair, were part of the army. Zaporozhye Cossacks were commanded by the ataman Milashevich, the Little Russian Cossacks, who were divided into three 2 units by thousands of people and assigned to divisions, led by Colonels Kapnist, Lizogub and Tansky.

Following the army of Minikh, the Dnieper was supposed to go flotilla under the command of Prince Trubetskoy with heavy artillery. However, despite the strictest orders of Minich, they did not manage to build the required number of ships. Therefore, at the beginning of the campaign, I had to limit myself to sending a small detachment of armed boats under the command of Dmitriev-Mamonov. For the alloy of provisions and ammunition used a wide variety of vessels requisitioned from local residents.

On May 24, after a heavy march across the steppe, the army reached the headwaters of the Malaya Kamenka River, on which two pontoon bridges were built, and crossed it. Four days later, Russian troops arrived at the Ingulets River, and forced it without encountering resistance. On June 2, having passed halfway to Ochakov, the Russians entered the Ingulu River, beyond which the Tatars' nomad camps had already begun, enemy land. 3 June Army forced Ingul. Then, after a day of rest, she resumed movement and 5 June reached the Sugakleu River. Here, Minich received the first news of the collision of advanced Cossack patrols with the Tatars. A small detachment of Cossacks at the crossing over the Bug discovered a large Tatar army. Tatars attacked the Cossacks and chased them to the army itself. After that, the commander singled out the avant-garde under the command of Lieutenant General Keith, which consisted of eight dragoon, seven infantry, two Land Militia regiments and all Zaporizhia Cossacks. The army took extra precautions.

During the march to the Bug began heavy rains, very difficult to hike. 9 June, the army reached the left tributary of the Bug, the Dead Waters River, and after a short respite moved down it. Here, thousands of Don Cossacks joined the forces of Minikh. 4 June Russian troops forced a Bug. Three bridges were built: one on the pontoons for artillery, two on barrels for cavalry and infantry. Vanguard crossed immediately, and the main forces - the next day. As Minikh noted later, the crossing was quick and painless only because the enemy did not resist. Otherwise, crossing a large water barrier could become a serious problem.

Behind the Bug, the army was built in three divisional squares. The passage to Ochakov, according to the recollections of his member of the guard officer V.A. Nashchokin, was also “very difficult, because it was going in waterless places, a declined steppe, and the great heat in the army was extremely difficult,” the cattle were weak. Minich himself wrote to his son: “The heat, the wind, the dust is intolerable: you cannot open your mouth or your eyes; you write with difficulty; therefore, you will have to disassemble only these few lines. ”

29 June (10 July) in 12 versts from Ochakov the first serious collision occurred. The Cossacks attacked the enemy cavalry that had emerged from the fortress, but, meeting stubborn resistance, they almost were not defeated. The hussars of Stoyanov rushed to the aid of the Cossacks, and behind them the dragoons of one of the regiments forced the enemy to retreat. Several enemy soldiers were taken prisoner, they reported that the garrison of Ochakov numbers about 20 thousands of people and is waiting for strong reinforcement.



Assault

Ochakov was a powerful stronghold. One of the participants in the campaign later recalled that many "thought then that the field marshal had taken this siege for only one species, which he would soon leave." Ochakov, though not a big fortress, was distinguished by strong defense. Its fortifications consisted of three positions. External fortifications were earthen ramparts lined with stone and, in general, had the shape of an oblong rectangle composed of separate, broken lines (small bastions and long curtains). Before the shaft was a ditch. The second line or internal fence consisted of a stone wall with towers and its extremities leaned on the third line or the castle itself, which also had stone walls with towers. In addition, an open battery stood on the cape at the confluence of the Dnieper into the sea, protecting the Ottoman ships with its fire. The fort was surrounded by vorstadt, which had low earthen fences. Under the command of Seraskir Yazh-pasha and the commandant of the double-billed pasha Mustafa was 22-thousand. a garrison armed with 90 guns and 7 mortars.

Minich decided to go on the siege. Early in the morning of June 30 (July 11), the Russian army blocked the fortress from land, and joined the flanks to the shores of the Black Sea and the Dnieper estuary. Russian troops settled in one line, with slingshots installed in front of the infantry regiments, and wagenburg before the dragoons. To protect the rear, too, they arranged wagenburg.

The Ottoman command did not wait until the Russian troops deployed, and immediately organized a strong raid. Attacking in two columns, the defenders of the fortress fell on the flanks of the besiegers. The battle lasted more than two hours and cost the Russian troops about two hundred dead. After this battle, Minich decided to erect earthworks in front of his positions, and in the evening of the same day he allocated five thousand armed workers and the same number of soldiers for cover. The field marshal hoped to build everything in one night, while the enemy artillery was silent. However, summer nights are short, and the ground is hard. Therefore, it was possible to somehow build only two redoubts on the right flank; in the center, the work was just begun.

In the morning of July 1 (12), large forces of the Turks came out of the fortress and occupied the fordstadt, from which they opened rifle fire on Russian posts. Minich immediately raised an army into a gun. Half of all the regiments under the command of the commander himself rushed forward and knocked out the Ottomans from positions. The second half, led by the Prince of Hesse-Homburg, remained in reserve. Having occupied the suburb, the Russians approached the moat itself in front of the external rampart, and before nightfall they had a hot exchange of fire with the Turks. At the same time, Minikh ordered the artillery to be advanced to prepare for the assault.

2 (13) July artillery began bombing the city. Soon, in the center of Ochakov, a large fire was set on fire, and all the Russian guns moved their fire there in order to prevent the defenders from extinguishing it. Infantry and cavalry lined up in three units. In the center commanded by Lieutenant-General Keith, on the right flank were Rumyantsev, Biron and Minich himself, on the left flank - Levendal. Minich decided to storm. Under the cover of artillery fire, the Russian troops moved forward, but stumbled upon a moat that was too wide and deep to be overcome without special equipment. Staying in a completely open area, they came under Turkish fire, but did not retreat, and fired themselves. The shootout was so fierce that both sides ran out of ammo. According to eyewitness testimony, soldiers threw stones, earth, and even shovels and axes, which were found in the fortress, to the Turks. Finally, making sure that it was impossible to cross the moat, the Russian troops began to retreat. The Turkish garrison, taking advantage of this, made a small sortie and inflicted additional damage to the Russian army.

Thus, an attempt at a decisive assault failed due to insufficient reconnaissance of the enemy’s fortifications and the lack of necessary equipment (fascines, assault ladders, etc.). Minich from this fell into despair. According to Manstein’s testimony, he repeated that “everything was gone”, and another witness adds: the field marshal even “dropped his sword.” The Austrian officer Berenklau, who was in the army of Minich, described the behavior of the field marshal as follows: “Field marshal, seeing that things were going badly, grabbed the banner and approached the very pit. ... It seems to me that Munnich wanted to be shot, "he was so desperate." Under Minikh killed a horse, and his hat and caftan were shot through, but his fate took care of him.

However, here the case smiled at the Russian army. The Ottomans could not put out a strong fire caused by Russian shelling. Therefore, they could not make a strong sortie, taking advantage of the temporary confusion of the Russian army. Due to the spread of fire, there was an explosion of the main powder magazine, where 500 barrels with gunpowder were stored. The terrible explosion killed most of the garrison - thousands of people. Turkish troops were shocked and demoralized. After that, realizing that he could not put out a huge fire, seraskir began negotiations on surrender. He sent his adjutant to Minikh with a request for a truce for a day, but in order to prevent the enemy from coming to his senses and restore order, he demanded an immediate surrender.

While negotiations were underway, part of the demoralized garrison tried to run to the galleys in order to be saved by the sea. The Cossacks rushed after them in pursuit and the Turks, distraught with horror, began to rush into the sea in the hope of reaching the ships by swimming. However, the galleys, seeing that the city was on fire, went to sea. A lot of Turkish soldiers drowned, were killed and captured. Meanwhile, the Turkish command capitulated.

Results

On the same day, Major-General Bakhmetyev was appointed commandant of the fortress. The garrison of Ochakov formed the Suzdal Infantry and Novgorod Dragoon Regiments. 90 Turkish officers and over three thousand soldiers were taken prisoner. It was only under the ruins and around the city that the Russians collected and buried 16 thousands of Turkish corpses. A lot of people drowned. The trophies include 100 copper and 22 cast iron cannons, 9 copper mortars (according to other 86 cannons and 7 mortars), 9 bunches, 8 clubs, 7 silver shields and 300 flags. The Russian army also suffered significant losses: 47 officers and 957 soldiers and Cossacks killed, 82 officer and 2750 soldiers wounded. Even five generals were injured: Kate, Levendal, Bakhmetyev, Arakcheev and Khrushchev.

So the failure, which could lead to a long siege of exhaustion, or even retreat, turned into a brilliant victory. All officers and soldiers received a monthly salary as a reward for Ochakov. “The Ochakov fortress,” Minikh wrote to the capital, “being strong by itself and the surroundings, having a numerous garrison, 86 copper cannons and 7 mortars, supplied with food and military supplies with excess, also having a free message from the sea, where the 18 galleys were located and considerable the number of other ships with guns, waiting for help from Bender, thirty thousand troops, and in August of the vizier himself with two hundred, could have defended three or four months longer than Azov, and, however, was taken on the third day. To God be the only glory! I consider Ochakov to be the most important place that Russia could ever conquer and which should protect with water: Ochakov stops all land communication between the Turks and the Tatars of the Crimea and Budzhak, and, moreover, keeps in check the wild Cossacks; from Ochakovo in two days you can keep up with the good wind in Constantinople, and from Azov you cannot. Therefore, the glory and interest of Her Majesty requires not to delay a single hour, so that such an important place is approved by itself. ” Field Marshal asked to send carpenters and masons to Ochakov to restore and strengthen the fortress, and in conclusion he promised: "... and next year I will go straight to the mouth of the Dniester, the Danube and further to Constantinople." True, the march on Constantinople was a long time, but for now, because of the losses suffered (including the sick, sent back during the march to Ochakov), Minich refused to even march on Bender.

To be continued ...
Author:
Articles from this series:
Russian-Turkish war 1735 — 1739

Russian-Turkish war 1735 — 1739 State of the Russian army
The extinction of military power and the era of tulips in the Ottoman Empire
Causes of the Russian-Turkish war
France vs Russia. Fight for Poland
Trek Leontiev. Minich's plan: to the Crimea, Azov and Constantinople
Azov campaign 1736 g.
Storm Perekopa
Pogrom of the Crimean Khanate
Raids of the Crimean Tatars. Campaign plan xnumx g.
11 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. parusnik
    parusnik 21 December 2015 07: 53 New
    +5
    Baron Munchausen took part in the siege of Ochakovo .... The same ..
  2. Riv
    Riv 21 December 2015 08: 12 New
    +7
    "Wild Cossacks" - even then they were considered savages. Field Marshal will not lie.
  3. drop
    drop 21 December 2015 08: 14 New
    14
    I had to visit Ochakov twice. This was the beginning of the 80's. We knew the history of the siege and capture of the city thoroughly and with great respect for the exploits of our ancestors, especially Minich.
    And I had to visit Ochakov in connection with the military tests of the "State Identification System". From the USSR Ministry of Defense, Marshal Savitsky E.Ya. led the tests, and from industry I. Radar posts were located both at the 555 airbase of the aviation regiment and in the steppe. The city then struck us with its comfort, cleanliness, good naturedness and hard work of the inhabitants. With the exception of Western Ukraine, there was an atmosphere of benevolence and friendship. I have the honor.
  4. midivan
    midivan 21 December 2015 08: 25 New
    +4
    Quote: Drop
    "State recognition systems." From the USSR Ministry of Defense, Marshal Savitsky E.Ya. led the tests, and from industry I.

    sad somehow you’re too modest, at least tell me your position at that time, if not a secret of coursesoldier
    1. drop
      drop 21 December 2015 08: 54 New
      +7
      Head of the State Department of one of the defense ministries.
      More than 50 enterprises participated in the “Military Testing” process from industry, so the Government attached such importance to them.
      The trials involved three military districts, the Black Sea Fleet and one Air Army. Now we can talk about this.
      The interest from the United States was enormous. You probably heard one of our ships ramming a US ship into neutral waters.
  5. Dmitry 2246
    Dmitry 2246 21 December 2015 10: 29 New
    +4
    It is noteworthy that luck accompanies the bold.
    The second time a powder warehouse explodes, competently supporting artillery fire to spread the fire.
    1. Bersaglieri
      Bersaglieri 21 December 2015 18: 45 New
      +4
      Burchard-Christopher Minich, at first, was a fortification engineer. Therefore, he knew well "where to hit with a hammer, what would crack";
  6. Mountain shooter
    Mountain shooter 21 December 2015 18: 58 New
    +3
    Cheek brings success. Suvorov, for all his genius, had someone to take an example from.
  7. ODERVIT
    ODERVIT 21 December 2015 19: 00 New
    +3
    Interesting and informative. Thanks to the author.
  8. Robert Nevsky
    Robert Nevsky 21 December 2015 21: 12 New
    +3
    Great article, thanks to the author!
  9. Jääkorppi
    Jääkorppi 23 December 2015 11: 16 New
    +1
    It’s time for Minnikha to erect a monument in St. Petersburg! He built both the Obvodny Canal and the Big Port, and we have Sobchak Square. As long as the centers of Yeltsin stand, one cannot see a strong Russia, like one’s ears!

Как взяли Очаков

Поход

Выступление в поход русской армии задержала необычайно холодная погода. До конца первой трети апреля 1737 г. в Малороссии стоял такой мороз, что в полях лежал снег по колено, из-за чего, как писал фельдмаршал Миних, «людям в кампаментах стоять невозможно, а лошадям и скоту в полях никакого корму не имеется, и пропитаться нечем». Однако 18 апреля армия Миниха начала переправляться через Днепр по плавучему мосту у Мишурина Рога в шести верстах выше Переволочны. Во время переправы пришло известие, что «буджацкая орда» собирается в набег. Командующий стал торопиться и объявил, что в поход надо выступить не позже 10 мая. Но лишь к 21 мая удалось собрать все войска в лагере на реке Омельнике.

Здесь командующему сообщили, что буджакские татары стоят под Бендерами и планируют идти за Буг, а сам турецкий визирь привел 20-тысячную армию к Исакче и что турки наводят переправы через Дунай, чтобы тоже идти на соединение с татарами. Разведчики сообщили также о формировании турками крупных гарнизонов в Хотине, Бендерах, Очакове и отправке большого отряда на Перекопскую линию.


21 мая 1736 г. русская армия выступила из лагеря на Омельнике к Бугу. К тому времени армия Миниха включала: три батальона пешей гвардии, один эскадрон конной гвардии, 29 пехотных и 20 драгунских полков, эскадрон кирасирского графа Миниха полка, 9 ландмилицейских полков, 3 тысячи человек артиллерийского и инженерного корпуса, 13 тысяч казаков и около 1,5 тысяч гусар. Все эти войска по-прежнему делились на три дивизии, а общая их численность составляла 70 тысяч человек. Остальные войска остались для прикрытия коммуникаций и тылов.

Большое внимание было уделено обороне обоза. И не удивительно — в русской армии шло более 40 тысяч повозок. Для лучшей организации марша Миних приказал назначить на каждую обозную фуру солдата или драгуна из «малорослых» и не способных к строевой службе. Кроме того, от каждого полка выделялась команда в 30 рядовых с одним офицером, которая была предназначена для защиты обозов от возможного нападения татар. С той же целью ежедневно отряжались особые «арьергарды» из регулярных и нерегулярных частей, как для прикрытия обозов, так и для соблюдения порядка в тылу.

Миних руководил всей армией. В его штаб входили три командира дивизий — принц Гессен-Гомбургский, генерал-лейтенанты Румянцев и Леонтьев. Кроме этих командиров, в состав армии вошли генерал-лейтенанты Густав Бирон (брат фаворита императрицы), Кейт, Левендаль, генерал-квартирмейстер полковник Вилим Фермор, генерал-провиантмейстером генерал-майор Рославлев, генерал-вагенмейстер Бэр. Запорожскими казаками командовал кошевой атаман Милашевич, малороссийских казаков, которых разделили на три отряда по 2 тысячи человек, и приписали к дивизиям, возглавляли полковники Капнист, Лизогуб и Танский.

Вслед за армией Миниха по Днепру должна была отправиться флотилия под командованием князя Трубецкого с тяжелой артиллерией. Однако, несмотря на самые строгие приказы Миниха, построить необходимое количество судов не успели. Поэтому в начале похода пришлось ограничиться отправкой небольшого отряда вооруженных лодок под началом Дмитриева-Мамонова. Для сплава провианта и амуниции использовали самые разнообразные суда, реквизированные у местных жителей.

24 мая, после тяжелого марша по степи, армия достигла истоков реки Малой Каменки, на которой были устроены два понтонных моста, и переправилась через неё. Еще четыре дня спустя, русские войска прибыли к реке Ингулец, и форсировали ее, не встречая сопротивления. 2 июня, пройдя полпути до Очакова, русские вышли на реку Ингулу, за которой уже начинались кочевья татар, вражеская земля. 3 июня армия форсировала Ингул. Затем, после однодневного отдыха, она возобновила движение и 5 июня вышла на реку Сугаклею. Здесь Миних получил первые известия о столкновении передовых казачьих разъездов с татарами. Небольшой отряд запорожцев у переправы через Буг обнаружил большое татарское войско. Татары напали на казаков и гнались за ними до самой армии. После этого, командующий выделил авангард под началом генерал-лейтенанта Кейта, состоявший из восьми драгунских, семи пехотных, двух ландмилицейских полков и всех запорожских казаков. Армия приняла дополнительные меры предосторожности.

Во время марша к Бугу начались сильные дожди, очень затруднявшие поход. 9 июня армия достигла левого притока Буга, реки Мертвые Воды и после короткой передышки двинулась вниз по ней. Здесь к силам Миниха присоединились 4 тысячи донских казаков. 16 июня русские войска форсировали Буг. Были наведены три моста: один на понтонах — для артиллерии, два на бочках — для кавалерии и пехоты. Авангард переправился сразу, а основные силы — на следующий день. Как позднее отмечал Миних, переправа прошла быстро и безболезненно только потому, что противник не оказывал сопротивления. Иначе переправа через большую водную преграду могла стать серьёзной проблемой.

За Бугом армия построилась в три дивизионные каре. Переход до Очакова, по воспоминаниям его участника гвардейского офицера В. А. Нащокина, тоже был «зело трудный, потому, что шли безводными местами, сженой степью, и от великих жаров чрезвычайно армия в трудах находилась, и скот в слабости был». Сам Миних писал своему сыну: «Зной, ветер, пыль невыносимые: нельзя открыть ни рта, ни глаз; пишешь с трудом; потому и тебе придется разбирать только эти немногие строки».

29 июня (10 июля) в 12 верстах от Очакова произошло первое серьёзное столкновение. Казаки атаковали вышедшую из крепости вражескую конницу, но, встретив упорное сопротивление, едва сами не были разгромлены. На помощь казакам бросились гусары Стоянова, а за ними и драгуны одного из полков и заставили противника отступить. В плен попали несколько вражеских воинов, они сообщили, что гарнизон Очакова насчитывает около 20 тысяч человек и ждёт сильное подкрепление.

Как взяли Очаков


Штурм

Очаков был мощной твердыней. Один из участников похода впоследствии вспоминал, что многим «мнилось тогда, что фельдмаршал осаду сию только для одного вида предпринял, которую скоро и оставит». Очаков хоть и не был большой крепостью, но отличался крепкой обороной. Его укрепления состояли из трех позиций. Внешние укрепления представляли собой земляные валы, выложенные камнем и, в общем плане, имели очертания продолговатого прямоугольника составленного из отдельных, ломаных линий (малых бастионов и длинных куртин). Перед валом был ров. Вторая линия или внутренняя ограда состояла из каменной стены с башнями и своими оконечностями опиралась на третью линию или собственно замок, также имевший каменные стены с башнями. Кроме того, на мысу у впадения Днепра в море стояла открытая батарея, защищавшая своим огнем османские корабли. Крепость окружали форштадты, имевшие невысокие земляные ограды. Под командой сераскира Яж-паши и коменданта двухбунчужного паши Мустафы был 22-тыс. гарнизон, на вооружении которого имелись 90 пушек и 7 мортир.

Миних решил с ходу начать осаду. Рано утром 30 июня (11 июля) русская армия блокировала крепость с суши, и примкнула фланги к берегам Черного моря и Днепровского лимана. Русские войска расположились в одну линию, причем перед пехотными полками установили рогатки, а перед драгунскими — вагенбурги. Для защиты тыла тоже устроили вагенбурги.

Османское командование не стало ждать, пока русские войска развернутся, и сразу же организовало сильную вылазку. Наступая двумя колоннами, защитники крепости обрушились на фланги осаждавших. Сражение продолжалось более двух часов и стоило русским войскам около двухсот убитых. После этого боя Миних решил возвести перед своими позициями земляные укрепления и вечером этого же дня выделил пять тысяч вооруженных рабочих и столько же солдат для прикрытия. Фельдмаршал рассчитывал все построить за одну ночь, пока вражеская артиллерия молчит. Однако летние ночи коротки, а грунт оказался твердым. Поэтому удалось кое-как возвести только два редута на правом фланге, в центре работы были только начаты.

Утром 1 (12) июля крупные силы турок вышли из крепости и заняли форштадты, с которых открыли ружейный огонь по русским постам. Миних немедленно поднял армию в ружье. Половина всех полков под началом самого командующего бросилась вперед и выбила османов с позиций. Вторая половина во главе с принцем Гессен-Гомбургским оставалась в резерве. Заняв форштадты, русские подошли к самому рву перед внешним валом и до наступления темноты вели с турками жаркую перестрелку. Одновременно Миних приказал выдвинуть артиллерию для подготовки штурма.

2 (13) июля артиллерия начала бомбардировку города. Вскоре в центре Очакова запылал большой пожар, и все русские орудия перенесли свой огонь туда, чтобы не дать защитникам его потушить. Пехота и кавалерия построилась в три отряда. В центре командовал генерал-лейтенант Кейт, на правом фланге находились Румянцев, Бирон и сам Миних, на левом фланге — Левендаль. Миних решился на штурм. Под прикрытием артиллерийского огня русские войска двинулись вперед, но наткнулись на ров, который оказался слишком широк и глубок, чтобы его можно было преодолеть без специальных приспособлений. Оставаясь на совершенно открытой местности, они попали под турецкий огонь, но не отступали, и сами вели стрельбу. Перестрелка была настолько ожесточенной, что у обеих сторон закончились патроны. По свидетельству очевидца, солдаты бросали в турок камни, землю и даже лопаты и топоры, которые нашлись в форштадтах. Наконец, убедившись, что перебраться через ров нельзя, русские войска стали отходить назад. Турецкий гарнизон, воспользовавшись этим, сделал небольшую вылазку и нанёс дополнительный урон русской армии.

Таким образом, попытка решительного штурма провалилась из-за недостаточной разведки укреплений противника и отсутствия необходимых приспособлений (фашин, штурмовых лестниц и т. д.). Миних от этого впал в отчаяние. По свидетельству Манштейна, он повторял, что «всё пропало», а другой очевидец добавляет: фельдмаршал даже «выронил шпагу». Находившийся при армии Миниха австрийский офицер Беренклау описывал поведение фельдмаршала так: «Фельдмаршал, видя, что дело идет худо, схватил знамя и подошел к самому рву. … Мне кажется, Миних хотел, чтобы его застрелили, — в таком отчаянии был он». Под Минихом убило лошадь, а его шляпа и кафтан были прострелены, но судьба его берегла.

Однако тут случай улыбнулся русской армии. Османы не смогли потушить сильный пожар вызванный русским обстрелом. Поэтому они не могли сделать сильную вылазку, воспользовавшись временным замешательством русской армии. Из-за распространения огня произошел взрыв главного порохового погреба, где хранилось 500 бочек с порохом. В результате страшного взрыва погибла большая часть гарнизона — тысячи людей. Турецкие войска были потрясены и деморализованы. После этого, поняв, что не в силах потушить огромный пожар, сераскир начал переговоры о капитуляции. Он отправил к Миниху своего адъютанта с просьбой о перемирии на сутки, но тот, чтобы не дать противнику опомнится и восстановить порядок, потребовал немедленной капитуляции.

Пока шли переговоры, часть деморализованного гарнизона попытался бежать к галерам, чтобы спастись морем. Казаки кинулись за ними в погоню и обезумевшие от ужаса турки стали бросаться в море в надежде добраться до кораблей вплавь. Однако галеры, увидев, что город горит, ушли в море. Множество турецких солдат утонуло, было перебито и попало в плен. Тем временем турецкое командование капитулировало.

Итоги

В тот же день генерал-майор Бахметьев был назначен комендантом крепости. Гарнизон Очакова составили Суздальский пехотный и Новгородский драгунский полки. В плен попали 90 турецких офицеров и свыше трех тысяч солдат. Только под развалинами и в окрестностях города русские собрали и погребли 16 тысяч турецких трупов. Много людей утонуло. Среди трофеев были 100 медных и 22 чугунных пушки, 9 медных мортир (по другим данным 86 пушек и 7 мортир), 9 бунчуков, 8 булав, 7 серебряных щитов и 300 знамен. Русская армия тоже понесла заметные потери: 47 офицеров и 957 солдат и казаков убитыми, 82 офицера и 2750 солдат ранеными. Ранения получили даже пятеро генералов: Кейт, Левендаль, Бахметьев, Аракчеев и Хрущев.

Так неудача, которая могла привести к длительной осаде на истощение или даже отступлению, обернулась блестящей победой. Все офицеры и солдаты получили в награду за Очаков месячное жалование. «Очаковская крепость, — писал Миних в столицу, — будучи сильна сама собою и окрестностями, имея многочисленный гарнизон, 86 медных пушек и 7 мортир, снабженная провиантом и военными запасами с излишеством, имея также свободное сообщение с моря, где находилось 18 галер и немалое число прочих судов с пушками, ожидая помощь из Бендер тридцать тысяч войска, а в августе самого визиря с двумястами, могла бы обороняться три или четыре месяца долее, чем Азов, и, однако, взята на третий день. Богу единому слава! Я считаю Очаков наиважнейшим местом, какое Россия когда-либо завоевать могла и которое водою защищать должно: Очаков пресекает всякое сухопутное сообщение между турками и татарами крымскими и буджакскими и притом держит в узде диких запорожцев; из Очакова можно в два дня добрым ветром в Константинополь поспеть, а из Азова нельзя. Поэтому слава и интерес Ее Величества требуют не медлить ни часу, чтоб такое важное место утвердить за собою». Фельдмаршал просил прислать к Очакову плотников и каменщиков для восстановления и усиления крепости, а в заключении обещал: «...и я в будущем году пойду прямо в устье Днестра, Дуная и далее в Константинополь». Правда, поход на Константинополь был делом нескорым, а пока, из-за понесенных потерь (в том числе больными, отосланными назад ещё во время похода к Очакову), Миних отказался даже от похода на Бендеры.

Продолжение следует…

Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 11
  1. parusnik 21 декабря 2015 07:53
    В осаде Очакова участвовал барон Мюнхаузен....Тот самый..
  2. Riv 21 декабря 2015 08:12
    "Диких запорожцев" - уже тогда их считали дикарями. Фельдмаршал врать не будет.
    Riv
  3. Каплей 21 декабря 2015 08:14
    Мне пришлось посетить Очаков дважды. Это было начало 80-х годов. Историю осады и взятия города мы знали досконально и с большим уважением относились к подвигам наших предков, особенно к Миниху.
    А пришлось мне посещать Очаков в связи с проведением войсковых испытаний "Системы государственного опознавания". От Минобороны СССР руководил испытаниями Маршал Савицкий Е.Я., а от промышленности я. Радиолокационные посты размещались, как на авиабазе 555 авиаполка, так и в степи. Город поразил нас тогда своим уютом, чистотой, добродушием и трудолюбием жителей. В стране за исключением Западной Украины была атмосфера благожелательности и дружбы. Честь имею.
  4. midivan 21 декабря 2015 08:25
    Цитата: Каплей
    "Системы государственного опознавания". От Минобороны СССР руководил испытаниями Маршал Савицкий Е.Я., а от промышленности я.

    sad как то вы уж слишком скромно,хоть должность вашу в ту пору скажите,если не секрет конечноsoldier
    1. Каплей 21 декабря 2015 08:54
      Руководитель ГУ одного из оборонных Министерств.
      В процессе "Войсковых испытаний" от промышленности участвовало более 50 предприятий, поэтому Правительство придавало им такое значение.
      В испытаниях участвовали три Военных округа, Черноморский флот и одна Воздушная армия. Теперь об этом можно говорить.
      Интерес со стороны США был громадный. Вы, наверно, слышали как один наш корабль тараном выталкивал корабль США в нейтральные воды.Честь имею.
  5. Дмитрий 2246 21 декабря 2015 10:29
    Обращает внимание, что удача сопутствует смелым.
    Второй раз взрывается пороховой склад, грамотно огнём артиллерии поддержали распространение пожара.
    1. Bersaglieri 21 декабря 2015 18:45
      Бурхард-Христофор Миних, по первоначалу, был инженером-фортификатором. Следовательно- хорошо знал "куда ударить "молотком", что б раскололось" ;
  6. Горный стрелок 21 декабря 2015 18:58
    Смелость города берет. Суворову, при всей его гениальности, было с кого брать пример.
  7. ODERVIT 21 декабря 2015 19:00
    Интересно и познавательно. Автору спасибо.
  8. Робертъ Невский 21 декабря 2015 21:12
    Прекрасна статья, спасибо автору!
  9. JääKorppi 23 декабря 2015 11:16
    Давно пора Минниху в Санкт - Петербурге памятник поставить! Он и Обводный канал и Большой порт строил, а у нас площадь Собчака. Пока стоят центры Ельцина, не видать сильной России, как своих ушей!

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня