Military Review

Sixth Hawk Curtiss

4
Sixth Hawk Curtiss



By the beginning of 1927, the American designers brought a very powerful engine, for those times, the engine - the 600-strong V-1570-1 Convertor, and Curtiss did not slow down to use it. The new engine received two aircraft, upgraded for racing 1927, the P-2, designated the XP-6, and a hybrid of the P-1A glider, XPW-8А wings with winged radiators - this was called the XP-6А. The latter became the winner of the races, overtaking his partner a little. It was on him that the US Army made the main stake, which signed 3 on October 1928 of the year, for military tests of 18 vehicles, which were assigned the P-6 index. These machines received the brand name "model 34Р". By that time, the aircraft designation system had just been introduced for military trials with the letter "Y", and although these 18 machines did not officially carry it, sometimes they were also called YP-6.

The main feature of the P-6 with the engine "Conkveror" was a new cooling system. The P-1 water radiator was replaced with a Preston radiator - with ethylene glycol cooling. Preston was produced by Union Carbide Corporation, and its main advantage was a high boiling point and a very low freezing point. The use of new coolant has reduced the required radiator area by about a third. In addition, less was needed and most coolant. As a result, the installation of "Preston" allowed to reduce the weight of the system on 22 kg.

However, by the time the Conkveror was first installed, a new radiator was not ready on the plane. As a result, the cars that arrived in October 1929, were equipped with a water-cooled V-1570-17 engine with the designation P-6.

The design and appearance of the P-6 was generally similar to the P-1. However, the new fighter received a more voluminous hood under the "Concor", which required a more rounded fuselage. The P-6 was supplied to the Army Air Corps from October 1929 to December 1930.

As soon as the first V-1570-23 Conqueror engines with Preston were ready, they were put on the first nine P-6. The aircraft, after being returned to the army, were renamed P-6A. The weight of the empty fighter dropped to 1085 kg, take-off - to 1440 kg. The maximum flight speed at an altitude of 1500 m was 282 km / h, the initial rate of climb was 9,7 m / s. Ceiling - 8325 m. Armament remains like the P-1.



Two more P-6s resulted from the conversion of two P-11 Curtissas, which, with the same glider as the P-6, originally had new 12-cylinder, V-shaped air-cooled engines Curtiss H-1640, hp 600. The Army ordered three P-11s for testing, but even before they were ready, the unsuitability of the H-1640 engines for installation on the aircraft was found out. As a result, the first two machines were converted into P-6 by mounting Conqueror liquid-cooled engines on them. The last P-11 received the Wright R-1820 Cyclone air-cooled engine with a power of 575 HP. and was renamed YP-20.

During the tests, small changes in the shape of the radiator were required, and some aircraft received a two-bladed, three-bladed screw instead. The designation XP-6А #2 was given to one of the machines, converted into an experimental aircraft for various tests. The name XP-6В was assigned to the last Р-1С, delivered by 18 July 1929 g with the engine V-1570С "Conqueror" with the power 600 hp The plane was intended for long-haul flights from the States to Alaska, especially for Captain Hait, so the car had its own name, “Hite Special”. The fuselage and bonnet lines were modeled on the Р-6. The aircraft was installed tank increased capacity. However, XP-6В managed to fly only to Valemont in British Columbia, where he made an emergency landing. After the repair and installation of an ordinary tank, the aircraft re-entered service, remaining the only XP-6. Its maximum speed at the height of 4500 m was 315 km / h, the ceiling - 9750 m, the initial rate of climb - 8,8 m / s. Empty weight was 1225 kg, takeoff -1581 kg.

The designation of the P-6C modification was originally given to 46 Y1Р-22 (the Y1 prefix was used from 1931 to 1936 year to designate aircraft ordered not by the army air corps itself, but by the "F-1" fund - this was a designation only for financial documents and was not used in technical documentation). Later for these machines instead of P-6С the designation P-6Е was used.

The XP-6D was a new prototype aircraft - an adaptation of the P-6А to the V-1570-С Conquer engine, equipped with a turbocharger mounted on the right side of the fuselage. The ground speed has increased to 275 km / h, and at the height of 4500 m - 315 km / h. Subsequently, the turbocharger was removed, and the aircraft became the standard P-6A.

From March to April 1932, all remaining P-6 and P-6А were equipped with a "Conqueror" with a turbocharger. They were renamed P-6D and were used on Langley Field in Virginia for military trials. Their main difference from the XP-6D was the installation of a three-bladed screw.



History creating the most well-known modification of the Hawk, the P-6E is quite confused and went through numerous refinements and renames. His story began with the third P-6, which, under the designation XP-22, was tested with a new liquid and oil radiator for the new 700-strong version of the "Converter" V-1570-23. In the final version, the XP-22 acquired a completely new nose of the fuselage, and the radiators were placed under the fuselage between the landing gear. The plane received a three-bladed propeller, and the machine guns were mounted on the sides - on all previous modifications the machine guns were actually located in the collapse of the cylinder blocks. In addition, the aircraft was equipped with new, free-standing landing gear with wheel fairing. Later, all these improvements were used on the YP-20, and parts and components were used with the XP-22, which, after dismantling, was turned back into the usual P-6A.

Meanwhile, the third P-11 was converted into an experienced YP-20 aircraft with an air-cooled Wright R-1870-9 Cyclone X-powered HP engine installed instead of an unsuccessful Chieftain engine. The keel and rudder were refined - the rudder balancer increased by half the length of the upper rib of the keel. Installation of the air cooling engine was considered unsuccessful. As a result, the aircraft was equipped with the V-650-1570 "Conqueror" engine with 23 horsepower, a new stabilizer and free-standing landing gear modeled on the XP-700. The tail wheel was replaced with a crutch. After these improvements, the YP-22 was renamed the XP-20E, becoming the prototype of the most well-known version of the Hawks.



8 July 1931 of the year were ordered 46 serial XP-22 under the engine of the V-1570-C (V-1570-23) "Converter". The planes were originally called Y1P-22. But, since these machines did not differ much from the P-6 in construction, they were renamed P-6С, thus simply reducing the clerical work. However, before the delivery of army aircraft, the designation was again replaced, now on P-6. In the meantime, a number of solutions tested on the XP-22 were used to refine the YP-20 to the P-6 level. The YP-20 was later renamed the XP-6, which in fact became the first prototype of the P-6.

Deliveries of the new fighter began in December 1931. The brand name was "model 35". The lightweight design allowed the weight of the empty P-6 to be reduced to 1224 kg, the take-off amounted to 1560 kg. The maximum ground speed reached 311 km / h, the initial rate of climb was 12,5 m / s. The ceiling was 7300 m, and the range - 450 km. The P-6E fighter had a rather aesthetic appearance and became perhaps the most famous army fighter in the period between the two world wars. Compared with the other army fighter - the Boeing R-12, the Curtiss plane was faster, but inferior in maneuverability. The good speed of the P-6E was a kind of compensation for the rather unimportant controllability of the fighter - it rather sluggishly responded to the “cottage” of the rudders. Engine "Conkveror" stood out among the then aircraft engines with its power, but still had a number of shortcomings that should be eliminated.

The P-6E entered service with the 1 and 8 fighter groups in 1932. They were used in 17, 94, and 33 squadrons based on Selfridge, Michigan airfields, and on Langley Field, Virginia. The fighters were in service with these units until the 1937 year. Fairly large chassis fairings, which are generally considered an integral attribute of the P-6E, when used in parts, especially in recent years of service, have been replaced with fairings that are open on both sides. The aircraft's service was marked by a whole series of catastrophes, in which at least 27 from 46 of the first series of machines were lost. P-6E became obsolete rather quickly. Instead of the planned large series, a decision was soon followed to remove these fighters from service. One by one, all the planes that had survived during the operation were taken out of the combat units, but one of them, nevertheless, reached the 1942 year.



The designation XP-6F was given to an aircraft on which a V-1570F engine (V-1570-55) was installed, with an HP 675 horsepower equipped with a turbo-compressor. This car also received a closed cockpit canopy. The take-off weight of the new modification was on the 180 kg more than the standard P-6. The ground speed dropped to 310 km / h, but at the height of 4500 m increased quite impressively - to 360 km / h. To get above this height the plane was not allowed problems with the cooling system. However, the XP-6F tests showed that at speeds above 320 km / h, using a traditional open cockpit is already a problem. Later, the XP-6F was converted into the P-6Р with the installation of the V-1570-55 engine, the HP 775 power.



The XP-6G was a P-6E equipped with a V-1570F engine without a turbocharger. After testing the aircraft, the aircraft was simply renamed to P-6G and eventually it was again converted to P-6Е after installing the standard engine.

The XP-6H designation was given to the first serial P-6E, on which four additional 7,62-mm wing machine guns were installed. Two machine guns were on the upper wing, two - on the bottom, all outside the propeller disk. Synchronous machine guns were saved, and as a result, a fighter, rather heavily armed at that time, appeared. The take-off weight increased to 1750 kg, the maximum speed dropped to 305 km / h. The aircraft was delivered to test 20 April 1933 of the year.

The last P-6E was returned to the factory for conversion to an experienced XP-23 ("63 model"). The aircraft resembled previous versions of the Hawk only with its wings. The fuselage has become all-metal mono kok. Plumage was a different form. The G1V-1570-С "Concor" engine was delivered to the aircraft with a gearbox, a turbo-compressor and a three-blade left-hand screw. The bow of the machine has become more elongated. The plane was ready for testing on 16 on April 1932. The altitude characteristics improved, but the army decided to stop all biplane work, and there was no order. The turbocharger was removed from the aircraft, after which it was renamed YP-23.

The P-6S was an export model of the P-6, equipped with the Whitney-Wasp air-cooled engine with a horsepower 450. Three such fighters in 1930 were sold to Cuba, and one to Japan.

Export aircraft R-6, as well as those sold to private individuals, were also called "Hawk-1". The first such aircraft for demonstration flights was produced in 1930. Since it was flown mainly by the famous pilot James Doolittle, the plane received its own name "Doolittle Hawk". This aircraft was later sold to Jesse Bristow, who participated in numerous aviation show until he fell into the water during the Florida-Cuba air races in January 1940.



Another Hawk-1 for special long-distance demonstration flights was released in April of 1929. It was equipped with the engine "Conkveror" and additional fuel tanks on the sides of the fuselage. After the accident, it was restored as “Hawk-1A” under the Wright Cyclone engine with 575 horsepower. and sold in August 1930 to Alford Williams, the most famous American pilot of the thirties, who participated in air shows. Since Williams had the Gulf Oil Company as a trustee, the aircraft received its own name Gulf Hawk. In August, 1931, Williams put on his plane the engine Bliss "Jupiter" with the power 575 hp, which was an American licensed version of the British Bristol engine. Following the subsequent accident, the aircraft was already restored to the Wright R-1820F-3 Cyclone engine. The side gas tanks were removed, and the fabric covering of the fuselage was replaced with a metal one. In 1958, this aircraft was restored by the efforts of the pilot Frank Talman, having received the Pratt & Whitney "Wasp" engine with the power of 600 hp. He is now on display at the US Marine Corps Museum in Quantico, Virginia. The original P-6E is now on display at the Air Force Museum at Wright-Patterson.





Sources:
Shuvalov D. Falcons of the Three Elements // Avio. No.3. C. 9-20.
Demin A, Kotelnikov V. Shanghai. Hawk / Avimaster. 2000. No.2. C. 10-12.
Shcherbakov V. Pioneer of Aviation of America // Technique and armament. 2007. No.4. C. 36-39.
Firsov A. US Fighters // Aviation Collection. No.13. C. 2-4.
Zharkova A. The Curtis Hawk Family // World Aviation. No.82. C. 3-5.
Author:
4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. parusnik
    parusnik 12 January 2016 08: 13 New
    +2
    A beautiful car .. But the time for the biplanes is gone ... Thank you!
  2. qwert
    qwert 12 January 2016 08: 42 New
    +2
    The Soviet fighter with the “Converror” I-8 engine was built in the Tupolev Design Bureau under the guidance of P.O.Sukhogo according to the tactical and technical requirements approved in January 1930. It was supposed to have a maximum speed of 310 km / h at an altitude of 5 km with no landing more than 100 km / h, practical ceiling - 8500 m and climb time 5000 m - 6-7 minutes. In addition to the main purpose (fighter-interceptor), the I-8 was also an experimental aircraft - stainless steel was used for the first time in the design. When choosing an engine, we stopped at Curtiss "Conquerror" with 600 horsepower. But with it, the calculated flight data turned out to be lower than the set. With a flight weight of 1375 kg, the maximum speed at the ground reached 281 km / h, and at an altitude of 5 km - 250 km / h. Ceiling - 6700 m. Climbing 5 km would take 13,1 min. In November 1930, the construction of I-8 was completed, and on 12 of December 1930, M.M.Gromov made his first flight on it, rising to a height of 5 km in 10,32 minutes. He was not transferred to state tests. The main circumstance that determined the fate of this unusual aircraft was the decision not to purchase the Conquoror engine, and it did not find an alternative replacement. Really interesting to compare our and American aircraft with the same engines
  3. rubin6286
    rubin6286 12 January 2016 11: 31 New
    +1
    The article is interesting, informative.
    The American "Hawk-6" was not an outstanding machine and for almost a five-year period of operation has been continuously improved. In many countries, this was the way to go, it’s enough to recall Italian, English, Czechoslovak and Hungarian cars, but the scale of modernization is impressive: air and liquid cooling engines, a turbocompressor, various weapons options, a rational design of the hood and cowl fairings were tested, a tail wheel with auto-correction appeared landing, three-bladed propeller, smooth metal sheathing, enclosed cockpit with emergency dump lamp.
    All this, combined with the original coloring, made the aircraft spectacular and attractive for sale to private individuals. To date, only a few samples have survived, which today are of interest.
  4. Dekabrev
    Dekabrev 12 January 2016 22: 34 New
    0
    However, the P6E accident rate is astounding. Interesting - how did they succeed?

Шестой "Хок" Кертисса

Шестой "Хок" Кертисса


К началу 1927 года американские конструкторы довели очень мощный, по тем временам, двигатель - 600-сильный V-1570-1 Конкверор, и фирма Кертисс не замедлила этим воспользоваться. Новый мотор получили два самолета, дооборудованные для гонок 1927 года - Р-2, получившие обозначение ХР-6, и некий гибрид из планера Р-1А, крыльев XPW-8А с крыльевыми радиаторами - этот назвали ХР-6А. Последний и стал победителем гонок, несколько обогнав своего напарника. Именно на него и сделало основную ставку армия США, заключившая 3 октября 1928 года контракт на войсковые испытания 18 машин, которым присвоили индекс Р-6. Эти машины получили фирменное наименование "модель 34Р". К тому времени только что была введена система обозначения самолетов для войсковых испытаний литерой "Y", и, хотя официально эти 18 машин ее не носили, иногда их называют также и YР-6.

Главной особенностью Р-6 с двигателем "Конкверор" была новая система охлаждения. Водяной радиатор Р-1 был заменен на радиатор "Престон" - с этиленгликолевым охлаждением. "Престон" был выпущен фирмой "Юнион карбиде корпорейшен", и главным его преимуществом была высокая температура кипения и очень низкая температура замерзания. Использование новой охлаждающей жидкости позволило снизить необходимую площадь радиатора примерно на треть. Кроме того, меньше было нужно и самой охлаждающей жидкости. В результате установка "Престона" позволила снизить вес системы на 22 кг.


Однако ко времени первой установки "Конкверора" на самолет новый радиатор еще не был готов. В результате поступившие в октябре 1929 года машины были оснащены двигателем V-1570-17 с водяным охлаждением под обозначением Р-6.

По конструкции и внешнему виду Р-6 был в целом схож с Р-1. Однако новый истребитель получил более объемный капот под "Конкверор", что потребовало и более округлого фюзеляжа. Поставки Р-6 армейскому воздушному корпусу осуществлялись с октября 1929 года по декабрь 1930-го.

Как только были готовы первые двигатели V-1570-23 "Конкверор" с "Престоном", их поставили на первые девять Р-6. Самолеты после того, как их вернули армии, были переименованы в Р-6А. Вес пустого истребителя снизился до 1085 кг, взлетный - до 1440 кг. Максимальная скорость полета на высоте 1500 м составила 282 км/ч, начальная скороподъемность - 9,7 м/с. Потолок - 8325 м. Вооружение осталось подобно Р-1.

Шестой "Хок" Кертисса


Еще два Р-6 получились в результате переоборудования двух Кертиссов Р-11, которые при том же планере, что Р-6, первоначально имели новые 12-цилиндровые, V-образные двигатели воздушного охлаждения Кертисс Н-1640, мощностью 600 л.с. Армия заказала для испытаний три Р-11, но еще до их готовности выяснилась непригодность моторов Н-1640 для установки на самолет. В результате первые две машины были переоборудованы в Р-6 путем монтажа на них двигателей жидкостного охлаждения "Конкверор". Последний Р-11 получил двигатель воздушного охлаждения Райт R-1820 "Циклон" мощностью 575 л.с. и был переименован в YР-20.

Во время испытаний потребовались небольшие изменения в форме радиатора, а некоторые самолеты получили вместо двухлопастного, трехлопастной винт. Обозначение ХР-6А №2 было дано одной из машин, переоборудованной в опытный самолет для проведения различных испытаний. Наименование ХР-6В было присвоено последнему Р-1С, поставленному 18 июля 1929 г с двигателем V-1570С "Конкверор" мощностью 600 л.с. Самолет предназначался для дальнего перелета из Штатов на Аляску, специально для капитана Хаита, поэтому машина имела собственное имя "Хайт-спешиал". Обводы фюзеляжа и капота были выполнены по образцу Р-6. На самолет был установлен бак увеличенной емкости. Однако ХР-6В сумел долететь только до Валемонта в Британской Колумбии, где совершил вынужденную посадку. После ремонта и установки обычного бака самолет вновь поступил на вооружение, оставшись единственным ХР-6. Его максимальная скорость на высоте 4500 м составляла 315 км/ч, потолок - 9750 м, начальная скороподъемность - 8,8 м/с. Вес пустого самолета был 1225 кг, взлетный -1581 кг.

Обозначение новой модификации Р-6С было первоначально дано 46 Y1Р-22 (префикс Y1 использовался с 1931-го по 1936 год для обозначения самолетов, заказанных не собственно армейским воздушным корпусом, а фондом "F-1" - это было обозначение только для финансовых документов и не использовалось в технической документации). Позже для этих машин вместо Р-6С стало использоваться обозначение Р-6Е.

ХР-6D представлял собой новый опытный самолет - переделку Р-6А под двигатель V-1570-С "Конкверор", оснащенный турбокомпрессором, смонтированным по правому борту фюзеляжа. Скорость у земли возросла до 275 км/ч, а на высоте 4500 м - 315 км/ч. В дальнейшем турбокомпрессор был снят, и самолет стал стандартным Р-6А.

С марта по апрель 1932 года все оставшиеся Р-6 и Р-6А были оснащены "Конкверором" с турбонагнетателем. Они были переименованы в Р-6D и использовались на Лэнгли-филд в Вирджинии для войсковых испытаний. Главным их отличием от ХР-6D была установка трехлопастного винта.

Шестой "Хок" Кертисса


История создания наиболее известной модификации "Хока" Р-6Е довольно запутана и шла через многочисленные доработки и переименования. Его история начались с третьего Р-6А, который под обозначением ХР-22 испытывался с новым жидкостным и масляным радиаторами под новый 700-сильный вариант "Конкверора" V-1570-23. В окончательном варианте ХР-22 приобрел совершенно новую носовую часть фюзеляжа, а радиаторы были вынесены под фюзеляж между стойками шасси. Самолет получил трехлопастный винт, а пулеметы были установлены по бокам - на всех предыдущих модификациях пулеметы располагались фактически в развале блоков цилиндров. Кроме того самолет оснастили новыми, свободнонесущими стойками шасси с обтекателями колес. Позже все эти доработки были использованы на YР-20, причем были использованы узлы и детали с ХР-22, который после разукомплектования был превращен снова в обычный Р-6А.

Тем временем третий Р-11 был переделан в опытный самолет YР-20 с двигателем воздушного охлаждения Райт R-1870-9 "Циклон" мощностью 650 л.с., установленным вместо неудачного мотора "Чифтен". Киль и руль направления были доработаны - балансир руля направления увеличился на половину длины верхней нервюры киля. Установка двигателя воздушного охлаждения была признана неудачной. В результате самолет был оснащен двигателем V-1570-23 "Конкверор" мощностью 700 л.с., новым стабилизатором и свободнонесущими стойками шасси по образцу ХР-22. Хвостовое колесо было заменено на костыль. После этих доработок YР-20 был переименован в ХР-6Е, став прототипом самой известной версии истребителей "Хок".

Шестой "Хок" Кертисса


8 июля 1931 года были заказаны 46 серийных ХР-22 под двигатель V-1570-С (V-1570-23) "Конкверор". Первоначально самолеты назывались Y1Р-22. Но, так как конструкционно эти машины мало отличались от Р-6, то их переименовали в Р-6С, чтобы просто сократить тем самым делопроизводство. Однако перед поставкой самолетов армии, обозначение было опять сменено, теперь уже на Р-6Е. Тем временем ряд решений, опробованных на ХР-22, были использованы для доработки YР-20 до уровня Р-6Е. YР-20 был позже переименован в ХР-6Е, который фактически и стал первым опытным самолетом Р-6Е.

Поставки нового истребителя начались в декабре 1931 года. Фирменное обозначение было "модель 35". Облегчение конструкции позволило снизить вес пустого Р-6Е до 1224 кг, взлетный составил 1560 кг. Максимальная скорость у земли достигала 311 км/ч, начальная скороподъемность - 12,5 м/с. Потолок был 7300 м, а дальность полета - 450 км. Истребитель Р-6Е отличался довольно эстетичным внешним видом и стал, пожалуй, самым известным армейским истребителем в период между двумя мировыми войнами. По сравнению с другим истребителем армии - Боингом Р-12В, самолет Кертисса был более быстрым, но уступал в маневренности. Хорошая скорость Р-6Е была своеобразной компенсацией довольно неважной управляемости истребителя - он довольно вяло отзывался на «дачу» рулей. Двигатель "Конкверор" выделялся среди тогдашних авиамоторов своей мощностью, но все еще обладал рядом недостатков, которые следовало устранить.

Р-6Е поступили на вооружение 1-й и 8-й истребительных групп в 1932 году. Они использовались в 17-й, 94-й и 33-й эскадрильях, базировавшихся на аэродромах Селфридж, штат Мичиган, и на Лэнгли-филд, штат Вирджиния. Истребители состояли на вооружении этих частей до 1937 года. Довольно большие обтекатели шасси, которые считаются, как правило, неотъемлемым атрибутом Р-6Е, при эксплуатации в частях, особенно в последние годы службы, заменили на обтекатели, открытые с двух сторон. Служба самолета была отмечена целым рядом катастроф, в которых были потеряны, по крайней мере, 27 из 46 выпущенных машин первых серий. Р-6Е устарели довольно быстро. Вместо планируемой крупной серии вскоре последовало решение о снятии этих истребителей с вооружения. Один за одним, все уцелевшие в процессе эксплуатации самолеты, выводились из состава боевых частей, но один из них, тем не менее, дослужил до 1942 года.

Шестой "Хок" Кертисса


Обозначение ХР-6F было дано самолету, на который установили двигатель V-1570F (V-1570-55) мощностью 675 л.с., оснащенный турбокомпрессором. Эта машина также получила закрытый фонарь кабины. Взлетный вес новой модификации был на 180 кг больше, чем у стандартного Р-6Е. Скорость у земли снизилась до 310 км/ч, но на высоте 4500 м возросла довольно внушительно - до 360 км/ч. Забраться выше этой высоты самолету не позволяли проблемы с системой охлаждения. Тем не менее, испытания ХР-6F показали, что на скорости выше 320 км/ч, использование традиционной открытой кабины уже представляет проблему. Позже ХР-6F был переоборудован в Р-6Р с установкой двигателя V-1570-55 мощностью 775 л.с.

Шестой "Хок" Кертисса


ХР-6G представлял собой Р-6Е, оснащенный мотором V-1570F без турбокомпрессора. После проведения испытаний двигателя самолет был переименован просто в Р-6G и в конце концов вновь был превращен Р-6Е после установки стандартного двигателя.

Обозначение ХР-6Н было дано первому серийному Р-6Е, на который установили четыре дополнительных 7,62-мм крыльевых пулемета. Два пулемета были на верхнем крыле, два - на нижнем, все вне диска винта. Синхронные пулеметы были сохранены, и в результате появился довольно мощно вооруженный на то время истребитель. Взлетный вес при этом возрос до 1750 кг, максимальная скорость упала до 305 км/ч. Самолет был поставлен для испытаний 20 апреля 1933 года.

Последний Р-6Е был возвращен на завод для переделки в опытный ХР-23 ("модель 63"). Самолет напоминал предыдущие варианты "Хока" только своими крыльями. Фюзеляж стал цельнометаллическим моно коком. Оперение стало другой формы. На самолет был поставлен двигатель G1V-1570-С "Конкверор" с редуктором, турбокомпрессором и трехлопастным винтом левого вращения. Носовая часть машины стала более вытянутой. Самолет был готов к испытаниям 16 апреля 1932 года. Высотные характеристики улучшились, но армия решила уже прекратить все работы по бипланам, и заказа не последовало. Турбокомпрессор был с самолета снят, после чего его переименовали в YР-23.

Р-6S представлял собой экспортную модель Р-6, оснащенную двигателем воздушного охлаждения "Уитни-Уосп" мощностью 450 л.с. Три таких истребителя в 1930 году были проданы Кубе, а один - Японии.

Экспортные самолеты Р-6, а также продаваемые частным лицам, еще назывались "Хок-1". Первый такой самолет для демонстрационных полетов был выпущен в 1930 году. Так как на нем летал в основном известный пилот Джеймс Дулиттл, то самолет получил собственное имя "Дулиттл-Хок". Этот самолет был позже продан Джесси Бристоу, который участвовал на нем в многочисленных авиационных шоу, пока не упал в воду во время воздушных гонок Флорида-Куба в январе 1940 года.

Шестой "Хок" Кертисса


Другой "Хок-1" для специальных дальних демонстрационных полетов был выпущен в апреле 1929-го. Он был оснащен двигателем "Конкверор" и дополнительными топливными баками по бокам фюзеляжа. После аварии его восстановили уже как "Хок-1А" под двигатель Райт "Циклон" мощностью 575 л.с. и продали в августе 1930 года Альфорду Вилльямсу - самому известному американскому пилоту тридцатых годов, участвовавшему в авиационных шоу. Так как Вилльямс имел в качестве попечителя "Гульф ойл компани", то самолет получил собственное имя "Гульф-Хок". В августе 1931 года Вилльямс поставил на свой самолет двигатель Блисс "Юпитер" мощностью 575 л.с., представлявший собой американский лицензионный вариант двигателя фирмы "Бритиш Бристоль". Вслед за последующей аварией самолет был уже восстановлен под двигатель Райт R-1820F-3 "Циклон". Бортовые бензобаки были сняты, а тканевая обшивка фюзеляжа была заменена на металлическую. В 1958 году этот самолет был восстановлен стараниями пилота Фрэнка Тальмана, получив при этом двигатель Пратт&Уитни "Уосп" мощностью 600 л.с. Сейчас он выставлен в музее морского корпуса США в Квантицо, штат Вирджиния. Оригинальный Р-6Е сейчас выставлен в музее ВВС на Райт-Пэттерсон.

Шестой "Хок" Кертисса


Шестой "Хок" Кертисса


Источники:
Шувалов Д. Соколы трех стихий // АвиО. №3. С. 9-20.
Демин А, Котельников В. Шанхайский. Ястреб / Авиамастер. 2000. №2. С. 10-12.
Щербаков В. Пионер авиации Америки // Техника и вооружение. 2007. №4. С. 36-39.
Фирсов А. Истребители США // Авиационный сборник. №13. С. 2-4.
Жаркова А. Семейство Curtis Hawk // Мировая авиация. №82. С. 3-5.
Автор: Инженер-технарь


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 4
  1. parusnik 12 января 2016 08:13
    Красивая машина..Но время бипланов ушло...Спасибо!
  2. qwert 12 января 2016 08:42
    Советский истребитель с двигателем "Конкверрор" И-8 строился в КБ Туполева под руководством П.О.Сухого по тактико-техническим требованиям, утвержденным в январе 1930 г. Он должен был иметь максимальную скорость 310 км/ч на высоте 5 км при посадочной не более 100 км/ч, практический потолок - 8500 м и время набора высоты 5000 м - 6-7 минут. Кроме основного назначения (истребитель-перехватчик) И-8 являлся еще и экспериментальным самолетом - в конструкции впервые использовалась нержавеющая сталь. При выборе двигателя остановились на Кертисс "Конкверроре" мощностью 600 л.с. Но с ним расчетные летные данные оказались ниже заданных. При полетном весе 1375 кг максимальная скорость у земли достигала 281 км/ч, а на высоте 5 км - 250 км/ч. Потолок - 6700 м. Набор высоты 5 км занимал бы 13,1 мин. В ноябре 1930 г. постройка И-8 была завершена, а 12 декабря 1930 г. М.М.Громов совершил на нем первый полет, поднявшись на высоту 5 км за 10,32 мин. На государственные испытания он не передавался. Главным обстоятельством, определившим судьбу этого не совсем обычного самолета, стало решение не приобретать мотор "Конкверор", а альтернативной замены ему не нашлось. Действительно интереснол сравнить наш и американский самолет с одинаковыми моторами
  3. rubin6286 12 января 2016 11:31
    Статья интересная, познавательная.
    Американский «Хок-6» не был выдающейся машиной и за почти пятилетний период эксплуатации непрерывно совершенствовался. Во многих странах шли этим путем, достаточно вспомнить итальянские, английские, чехословацкие и венгерские машины, но масштаб модернизации впечатляет: были опробованы двигатели воздушного и жидкостного охлаждения, турбокомпрессор, различные варианты вооружения, рациональная конструкция капота и обтекателей шасси, появилось хвостовое колесо с автокоррекцией при посадке, трехлопастной винт, гладкая металлическая обшивка, закрытая кабина с аварийным сбросом фонаря.
    Все это, в сочетании с оригинальной окраской, делало самолет эффектным и привлекательным для продажи частным лицам. До настоящего времени сохранилось всего несколько образцов, которые и сегодня вызывают интерес.
  4. Dekabrev 12 января 2016 22:34
    Однако аварийность P6E поражает. Интересно - как это им удавалось?

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня