Military Review

Special tactics of Admiral Chichagov

12



Usually, the attention of researchers is drawn to the experience of military leaders and admirals who are seeking victory with a decisive onslaught. For example, in the naval battles of the sailing era, the innovations of FF are well researched. Ushakov, concentrating the fire of a squadron on the enemy’s flagships, covering the head of the line of his ships, cutting through them. However, completely different methods of action led to success in sea battles, among them defeating the enemy while repelling his attack. Most often, this technique was used to win a little blood. Vasily Yakovlevich Chichagov carried out such tactics.

Vasily Chichagov, a native of the poor nobles of the Kostroma province, was born on February 28 of the year 1726. After graduating from Navigatsk school in Moscow, he entered the navy as a midshipman, distinguished himself in officer ranks during the Seven Years War (1757 — 1764). After that, he was sent to Arkhangelsk, where in 1765 he was appointed the head of a secret expedition, which was to go on three medium-sized ships through the Arctic Ocean to the Aleutian Islands. 3 July 1765, following the instructions prepared by Mikhail Lomonosov, the Russian ships, trying to break through to the north, reached 80 ° 26´ of northern latitude, thus breaking the Hudson record. The further way was impossible. Of course, it was very difficult to achieve success in such voyages in the 18th century, and Chichagov can be credited with the fact that he managed to return all vessels with crews, from the age-old ice edge to its native shores, without loss. In addition, Vasily Yakovlevich proved that such a task is beyond the power of wooden sailboats. His opinion was taken to attention, and the Russian government for a long time stopped sending expeditions with similar tasks.

Special tactics of Admiral Chichagov


As the chief commander of the Arkhangelsk port, Chichagov fought against abuses with all his might. With the outbreak of the Russo-Turkish War of 1768-1774, Vasily Yakovlevich did everything possible to increase the capacity of local shipyards. In addition, he organized the training of crews of newly built ships for the Baltic fleet, and in 1772 led one of the squadrons created there, which he transferred without loss to the Mediterranean Sea. Upon returning from this voyage, Chichagov became the chief commander of the first Revel port, and then Kronstadt. Thanks to his efforts, the ships leaving for the Mediterranean Sea were well prepared and all successfully reached the goal. Rear Admiral Chichagov received baptism of fire as a flagship in the Black Sea. At the end of spring 1774, the squadron of the Azov Flotilla, consisting of three frigates and two small flat-bottomed ships under his command, cruised at the entrance to the Kerch Strait. On June 9, a Turkish squadron of 5 ships, 9 frigates, and a large number of small sailing and rowing ships appeared. Despite the superiority of the enemy’s forces, the Russian sailors did not allow him to enter the strait.

After the Russian-Turkish war of 1768-1774, Chichagov for a number of years commanded squadrons in the Baltic and the Mediterranean. Reasonable forethought of the flagship and his concern for people allowed him to minimize losses in people and ships during the difficult voyages of that time. In the spring of 1789, the admiral took command of the Baltic Fleet, whose forces stood in Reval, Kronstadt and Copenhagen. In order to successfully fight the Swedish fleet, under the conditions of the new war, Russia needed to unite the Revel and Kronstadt squadrons, then go to sea and attach ships from Copenhagen to them.

However, there were many recruits aboard the ships of the Kronstadt squadron. Chichagov, despite the constant pushing from the capital, delayed the release of ships at sea for several months, preparing the crews. His fleet left the port of July 2 and four days later joined the battle with the enemy fleet near the island of Öland. Chichagov did not recklessly rush to the attack on the enemy. He maneuvered and fought with the Swedish ships, awaiting the approach of a squadron from Copenhagen, in order to be clamped by superior enemy forces from two sides. The Swedes did not wait for this and took refuge in Karlskrona.

So Chichagov achieved dominance in the Baltic without a bloody battle. Vasily Yakovlevich led the fleet to the Russian shores and, preserving the ships, confined himself to blocking the enemy’s bases, conducting reconnaissance, protecting commercial ships and supporting the actions of the rowing fleet in the skerries, which was quite a reasonable strategy. But such actions caused a certain discontent in Petersburg, craving for loud spectacular victories.



Russian troops in Finland did not take advantage of the favorable situation that was achieved at sea, and showed passivity. This gave Sweden a breather, and in the spring of 1790, King Gustav III launched another offensive. His admirals planned to break up the Russian squadrons separately, after which they would land troops at Oranienbaum in order to dictate their demands to the Russian court. On May 2, the Swedish fleet as part of the 21 of the battleship and the 6 of large frigates (1700 guns in total) attacked V.Ya. Chichagov on the roadstead Revel. The Russian admiral had a total of 10 linear and 2 bombing ships and 5 frigates with 870 guns. In three lines at anchors, he built his squadron in such a way that its flanks were covered with shoals and serf guns. Unable to bypass the Russian squadron, the Swedes were forced to maneuver under the shelling of our ships. At the same time, the Russian sailors who were not tied up by the control of the sails, fired as if on exercises. As a result, part of the royal ships was seriously damaged, one of them sat on the reefs and was burned by his crew, and the "Prince Karl" lowered the flag. The Swedes retreated into the sea and began to cruise at Revel, not daring to repeat the attack. Then came the order of the king, recalling them to the Vyborg gulf to cover his rowing fleet.

Preparing a landing operation, the Swedish fleet approached the southern coast of the Gulf of Finland, where the Kronstadt squadron in the Krasnogorsk battle, which took place from 23 to 24 in May, stood up under the pressure of the superior forces of the enemy. Meanwhile, the admiral led the Revel squadron into the sea, and its appearance in the rear caused the Swedes to re-enter the Vyborg gulf. There they were blocked, united under the flag of Chichagov, by the forces of the Baltic Fleet. Once again dominance of the sea took possession of the Russian fleet.

Seeing such a clear superiority of his fleet over the enemy, the court of Catherine II expected a decisive attack by the Russians. However, Chichagov, despite persistent promptings from the capital, waited. The enemy ships turned into a line beyond the ridge of islands, among reefs and shallows, which were not mapped. Attacking them under gun fire, and even between navigational obstacles threatened with heavy losses. Therefore, the admiral chose the tactics of harassing the enemy. Russian troops did not allow the advance of the Swedes by land on St. Petersburg, the fleet did not allow the enemy to bring ammunition, food and water. Chichagov set up detachments of his ships in all the main aisles among the skerries in order to interrupt any enemy communications by sea.

For almost a month he was squeezing the blockade ring, waiting for the galley fleet to approach the enemy in a joint attack. But Vice Admiral K.G. Nassau-Siegen, detained by unfavorable winds, led its ships to the Strait of June only 21. Here he did not coordinate the actions of the rowing fleet with Chichagov, but immediately attacked the Swedish ships, hoping to gain the laurels of a winner. However, by the end of the day the wind had changed to favorable for the Swedes. Then Gustav III decided to go for a breakthrough.

His ships made their way through the wake, but met two detachments, set up by Chichagov in the strait, and suffered sensitive losses. Some of them ran aground, and their crews surrendered. Part died in the flames of their own firefighters. Two more ships of the squadron Chichagova captivated after the pursuit, and the remaining blocks in Sveaborg, where they took refuge, having lost hope of a breakthrough to their shores. This victory could be more complete if Nassau-Siegen began to act against rowing ships with Swedish troops. But the passionate vice-admiral rushed in pursuit of sailing ships and allowed these ships to slip into the skerries.



Of course, V.Ya. Chichagova to a certain extent was forced. Her principles were dictated by the frequent lack of strength and the constant acute shortage of experienced sailors, which forced him to avoid a decisive battle. At the same time, compensating for the incompleteness of his forces with the help of local coverings, he achieved superiority over the enemy, saved his ships and the lives of Russian sailors, achieving the solution of the main, in his opinion, task - the rule of the Russian fleet at sea, which greatly contributed to the success of the ground forces. important for such a theater of war as the Baltic.



Sources:
Skritsky N.V.Ya. Chichagov // The most famous Russian naval commanders. M .: Veche, 2000. C. 137-142.
Skritsky N.V.Ya. Chichagov // 100 great admirals. M .: Veche, 2003. C. 194-197.
Skritsky N. Tactics Chichagova // Sea collection. 1993. No.6. C.89-91.
Lebedev A.V.Ya. Chichagov and his role in stories Russian sailing fleet // Gangut. 2011. No. 64. C. 21-37.
Usyskin L. Admiral Vasily Chichagov. M .: OGI, 2009. C. 48-57.
Author:
12 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. V.ic
    V.ic 21 January 2016 06: 54 New
    +5
    Saved ships and sailors means.
  2. D-Master
    D-Master 21 January 2016 06: 57 New
    14
    Very interesting article. She perfectly illustrates the following saying. All that is effective is spectacular. But not all that is effective is effective! Chichagov is an example of a reasonable tactical war with extremely effective but at first glance not spectacular actions. But victories were won, wars were won, with little blood and resource conservation. Who knows how to turn history if the Baltic Fleet were defeated during the confrontation with Turkey? How would Russia defend itself at sea.
  3. colotun
    colotun 21 January 2016 07: 05 New
    +8
    Very interesting and brightly written. We look forward to continuing. To the author - respect.
  4. Korsar4
    Korsar4 21 January 2016 07: 33 New
    +7
    Good. This Yard wants triumphant reports. The result is achieved, and there are fewer losses.

    "We got there, so you proved everything with this" (c).
  5. parusnik
    parusnik 21 January 2016 08: 12 New
    +8
    He retired in 1797. He died on June 4, 1809, was buried at the Lazarevsky cemetery of the Alexander Nevsky Lavra. The inscription on the tombstone, personally composed by Catherine II, reads: With triple power the Swedes marched on it. Upon learning, he rivers: God is my protector. They will not swallow us. Reflecting, captivated and received victory.
    1. Pig
      Pig 21 January 2016 09: 07 New
      +2
      "" The inscription on the tombstone, written personally by Catherine II, reads: "
      if he died in 1809 And Catherine in 1796, how can this be? with her, he was not even retired yet? just 50 years, what "gravestone inscriptions" ??? or she wrote him in advance, "for every fireman"?
      1. bober1982
        bober1982 21 January 2016 13: 22 New
        +7
        all right, on the tombstone of the grave of Admiral Chichagov- epitaph of Empress Catherine II, Admiral bequeathedso that the lines that will be stamped on his grave were written by the Empress. Which Catherine II did, in gratitude to the admiral.
  6. Nikolay71
    Nikolay71 21 January 2016 08: 35 New
    +3
    The admiral acted directly according to the precepts of Sun Tzu: "fighting a hundred times and winning a hundred times is not the best", etc.
  7. lwxx
    lwxx 21 January 2016 09: 00 New
    +4
    He fought not by number, but by a diminution. A very brave and strong man, he was able to repeatedly defend his position against the will of the court.
  8. qwert
    qwert 21 January 2016 11: 06 New
    12
    And I knew about Chichagov only this case.
    "After a series of brilliant naval victories over the Swedes, Empress Catherine II wished to receive Admiral V.Ya. Chichagov (1726-1809) and hear stories about his exploits from him. The simple-minded sailor, at first shy in an unfamiliar environment, then became so carried away that he became The empress listened to him very attentively and completely calmly. Suddenly, Chichagov recalls the instructions of the courtiers, who strictly warned him against the use of swearing and especially swearing in a conversation with such a crowned person. The admiral turned pale and collapsed on top of him.
    - Forgive my mother, the demon has beguiled ...
    - Nothing, - said Ekaterina, - continue Vasily Yakovlevich. Though I don’t understand your nautical terms, but your story is very interesting! How did you say there: "I'm giving this pot-bellied Swedish prostitute a core in ..." So where? Continue ... "
    But it turns out to be a truly outstanding naval commander, although his name is much less known than Ushakova or Lazarev
  9. bober1982
    bober1982 21 January 2016 12: 22 New
    0
    words: talented and successful, in my opinion, are not suitable for evaluating the activities of the admiral (or other military leaders) (in the comments), after all, this is not an office worker.
  10. Makarov
    Makarov 21 January 2016 20: 09 New
    +4
    Very informative ... thanks)
  11. Moore
    Moore 22 January 2016 06: 38 New
    +3
    But with his son, Pavel Vasilyevich, fate turned out to be cool ...
    Contemporaries blamed Napoleon’s pass through the Berezina in 1812, so much so that the former Minister of the Sea Chichagov had to leave all posts, ultimately leave the country and die in obscurity, and even where - in France ...
    True, there is an opinion that the admiral carried out a secret order of Kutuzov: to release Napoleon from Russia, thereby creating a lot of trouble for the British.
    Where the truth is, we will not know.

Особая тактика адмирала Чичагова

Особая тактика адмирала Чичагова


Обычно внимание исследователей привлекает опыт военачальников и адмиралов, добивающихся победы решительным натиском. Например, в морских сражениях парусной эпохи хорошо исследованы нововведения Ф.Ф. Ушакова, сосредоточение им огня эскадры на флагманских кораблях неприятеля, охват головы линии его кораблей, прорезание их строя. Однако к успеху в морских сражениях приводили и совсем другие методы действий, среди них разгром неприятеля при отражении его атаки. Чаще всего этот прием применяли с целью одержать победу малой кровью. Такую тактику проводил в жизнь Василий Яковлевич Чичагов.

Василий Чичагов, выходец из небогатых дворян Костромской губернии, родился 28 февраля 1726 года. После окончания Навигацкой школы в Москве, он поступил гардемарином во флот, в офицерских чинах отличился в ходе Семилетней войны (1757—1764). После этого его направили в Архангельск, где в 1765 году назначили руководителем секретной экспедиции, которая должна была на трех некрупных судах пройти через Северный Ледовитый океан к Алеутским островам. 3 июля 1765 года, следуя инструкции, подготовленной Михаилом Ломоносовым, русские корабли, стараясь пробиться на север, достигли 80° 26´ северной широты, тем самым побив рекорд Г. Гудзона. Дальнейший путь был невозможен. Конечно, добиться успеха в подобных плаваниях в XVIII веке было весьма сложно, и Чичагову можно поставить в заслугу уже тот факт, что он сумел без потерь вернуть все суда с экипажами, от самой вековой ледовой кромки, к родным берегам. Кроме того, Василий Яковлевич доказал, что подобная задача не под силу деревянным парусникам. Его мнение было принято к вниманию, и российское правительство на долгое время прекратило отправлять экспедиции с подобными задачами.


Особая тактика адмирала Чичагова


Являясь главным командиром Архангельского порта, Чичагов всеми силами боролся со злоупотреблениями. С началом Русско-турецкой войны 1768-1774 годов Василий Яковлевич делал все возможное для увеличения возможности местных верфей. Кроме того, он организовал обучение экипажей вновь построенных кораблей для Балтийского флота, и в 1772 году возглавил одну из созданных там эскадр, которую без потерь перевел на Средиземное море. По возвращении из этого плавания Чичагов стал главным командиром сначала Ревельского порта, а затем Кронштадтского. Благодаря его стараниям уходившие на Средиземное море корабли были хорошо подготовлены и все благополучно достигали цели. Боевое крещение в качестве флагмана контр-адмирал Чичагов получил на Черном море. В конце весны 1774 года эскадра Азовской флотилии в составе трех фрегатов и двух небольших плоскодонных кораблей под его командованием крейсировала у входа в Керченский пролив. 9 июня появилась турецкая эскадра из 5 кораблей, 9 фрегатов и большого числа малых парусных и гребных судов. Несмотря на превосходство сил неприятеля, русские моряки не позволили ему войти в пролив.

После Русско-турецкой войны 1768-1774 годов Чичагов в течение целого ряда лет командовал эскадрами на Балтике и Средиземном море. Разумная предусмотрительность флагмана и его забота о людях позволили ему до самого минимума сократить потери в людях и кораблях в ходе нелегких плаваний той поры. Весной 1789 г. адмирал принял командование Балтийским флотом, силы которого стояли в Ревеле, Кронштадте и Копенгагене. Для успешной борьбы со шведским флотом, в условиях новой войны России с этим государством необходимо было объединить Ревельскую и Кронштадтскую эскадры, а затем выйти в море и присоединить к ним корабли из Копенгагена.

Однако на кораблях Кронштадтской эскадры находилось много новобранцев. Чичагов, несмотря на постоянное подталкивание из столицы, задержал выход кораблей в море на несколько месяцев, готовя экипажи. Его флот вышел из порта 2 июля и через четыре дня вступил в сражение с флотом противника у острова Эланд. Чичагов не стал безрассудно бросаться в атаку на неприятеля. Он маневрировал и вел перестрелку со шведскими кораблями, ожидая подхода эскадры из Копенгагена, чтобы зажать превосходящими силами противника с двух сторон. Шведы не стали дожидаться этого и укрылись в Карлскроне.

Так Чичагов добился господства на Балтике без кровопролитного сражения. Василий Яковлевич увел флот к российским берегам и, сохраняя корабли, ограничился блокированием баз неприятеля, ведением разведки, охраной коммерческих судов и поддержкой действий гребного флота в шхерах, что было вполне разумной стратегией. Но такие действия вызывали определенное недовольство в Петербурге, жаждавшем громкие эффектные победы.

Особая тактика адмирала Чичагова


Русские войска в Финляндии не воспользовались благоприятной обстановкой, которая была достигнута на море, и проявили пассивность. Это дало Швеции передышку, и весной 1790 года король Густав III перешел в очередное наступление. Его адмиралы планировали разбить по отдельности российские эскадры, после чего высадить десант у Ораниенбаума, чтобы продиктовать свои требования русскому двору. 2 мая шведский флот в составе 21-го линейного корабля и 6-ти больших фрегатов (всего 1700 пушек) атаковал корабли В.Я. Чичагова на рейде Ревеля. Русский адмирал имел всего 10 линейных и 2 бомбардирских корабля и 5 фрегатов при 870 орудиях. В три линии на якорях он выстроил свою эскадру таким образом, чтобы ее фланги прикрывались мелями и крепостными орудиями. Не имея возможности обойти русскую эскадру, шведы были вынуждены маневрировать под обстрелом наших кораблей. При этом русские моряки, не связанные управлением парусами, стреляли, как на учениях. В результате часть королевских кораблей была серьезно повреждена, один из них сел на рифы и был сожжен своим экипажем, а "Принц Карл" спустил флаг. Шведы отошли в море и стали крейсировать у Ревеля, не решаясь повторить атаку. Тут подоспел приказ короля, отзывавший их к Выборгскому заливу для прикрытия своего гребного флота.

Готовя десантную операцию, шведский флот подошел к южному побережью Финского залива, где Кронштадтская эскадра в Красногорском сражении, произошедшем с 23-го по 24 мая, выстояла под натиском превосходящих сил неприятеля. Тем временем адмирал вывел в море Ревельскую эскадру, и ее появление в тылу заставило шведов вновь уйти в Выборгский залив. Там они и были заблокированы, соединившимися под флагом Чичагова, силами Балтийского флота. Вновь господством на море завладел российский флот.

Видя столь явное превосходство своего флота над неприятелем, двор Екатерины II ожидал решительной атаки русских. Однако Чичагов, несмотря на настойчивые побуждения из столицы, выжидал. Корабли противника развернулись в линию за грядой островов, среди подводных камней и отмелей, не нанесенных на карты. Атака их под огнем пушек, да еще и между навигационными препятствиями грозила большими потерями. Поэтому адмирал избрал тактику изматывания врага. Русские войска не допускали наступления шведов по суше на Санкт-Петербург, флот не позволял неприятелю подвозить боеприпасы, продовольствие и воду. Чичагов поставил во всех основных проходах среди шхер отряды своих кораблей, чтобы прервать любые сообщения противника по морю.

Почти месяц он сжимал кольцо блокады, в ожидании подхода галерного флота для проведения совместной атаки врага. Но вице-адмирал К.Г. Нассау-Зиген, задержанный неблагоприятными ветрами, привел свои суда к проливу только 21 июня. Здесь он не стал согласовывать действия гребного флота с Чичаговым, а сразу атаковал шведские корабли, надеясь снискать себе лавры победителя. Однако к исходу дня ветер переменился на благоприятный для шведов. Тогда Густав III решил идти на прорыв.

Его корабли пробивались кильватерной колонной, однако встретили два отряда, поставленных Чичаговым в проливе, и понесли чувствительные потери. Часть из них села на мель, и их экипажи сдались. Часть погибла в пламени от собственных брандеров. Еще два корабля эскадра Чичагова пленила после преследования, а оставшиеся блокировала в Свеаборге, где те укрылись, потеряв надежду на прорыв к своим берегам. Эта победа могла бы быть более полной, если бы Нассау-Зиген стал действовать против гребных судов со шведскими войсками. Но пылкий вице-адмирал устремился в погоню за парусниками и позволил этим судам ускользнуть в шхеры.

Особая тактика адмирала Чичагова


Конечно, тактика В.Я. Чичагова в определенной мере являлась вынужденной. Ее принципы диктовались частой нехваткой сил и постоянным острым недостатком в опытных мореходах, что заставляло его избегать решительного боя. При этом, компенсируя с помощью местных прикрытий неполноту своих сил, он достигал превосходства над врагом, сберегал свои корабли и жизни русских матросов, добиваясь решения главной, по его мнению задачи — господства русского флота на море, что весьма способствовало успеху сухопутных войск и было очень важным для такого театра военных действий, как Балтийский.

Особая тактика адмирала Чичагова


Источники:
Скрицкий Н. В.Я. Чичагов // Самые знаменитые флотоводцы России. М.: «Вече», 2000. С. 137-142.
Скрицкий Н. В.Я. Чичагов // 100 великих адмиралов. М.: Вече, 2003. С. 194-197.
Скрицкий Н. Тактика Чичагова // Морской сборник.1993. №6. С.89-91.
Лебедев А. В.Я. Чичагов и его роль в истории русского парусного флота // Гангут. 2011. № 64. С. 21-37.
Усыскин Л. Адмирал Василий Чичагов. М.: ОГИ, 2009. С. 48-57.
Автор: Инженер-технарь


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 12
  1. V.ic 21 января 2016 06:54
    Берёг корабли и матросов значит.
  2. D-Master 21 января 2016 06:57
    Очень интересная статья. Она прекрасно иллюстрирует следующую поговорку. Все что эффективно - эффектно. Но не все что эффектно - эффективно! Чичагов пример разумной тактической войны с крайне эффективными но на первый взгляд не эффектными действиями. Но победы одерживались, войны выигрывались, малой кровью и со сбережением ресурса. Кто знает как повернись историю если бы во время противостояния с Турцией был бы разгромлен Балтийский флот? Как бы оборонялась Россия на море.
  3. colotun 21 января 2016 07:05
    Очень интересно и ярко написано. С нетерпением ждём продолжения. Автору - респект.
  4. Korsar4 21 января 2016 07:33
    Хорошо. Это Двору хочется победных реляций. Результат достигнут, и потерь меньше.

    "Мы дошли, значит этим ты все доказал" (с).
  5. parusnik 21 января 2016 08:12
    Вышел в отставку в 1797 году. Умер 4 июня 1809 года, был похоронен на Лазаревском кладбище Александро-Невской лавры. Надпись на надгробном памятнике, сочинённая лично Екатериной II, гласит: С тройною силою шли шведы на него. Узнав, он рек: Бог защитник мой. Не проглотят они нас. Отразив, пленил и победы получил.
    1. Свин 21 января 2016 09:07
      ""Надпись на надгробном памятнике, сочинённая лично Екатериной II, гласит:""
      если он умер в 1809 А Екатерина в 1796 как такое может быть? при ней он еще даже не в отставке был? всего то 50 лет какие "надгробные надписи"???или она ему заранее сочинила,"на всякий пожарный"?
      1. bober1982 21 января 2016 13:22
        всё правильно,на надгробии могилы адмирала Чичагова- эпитафия имп.ЕкатериныII,адмирал завещал,чтобы те строки,которые будут выбиты на его могиле,были написаны императрицей.Что ЕкатеринаII и выполнила,в знак благодарности к адмиралу.
  6. Николай71 21 января 2016 08:35
    Адмирал действовал прямо по заветам Сунь-цзы : "сто раз сразиться и сто раз победить не есть лучшее" и т.д.
  7. lwxx 21 января 2016 09:00
    Воевал не числом, а уменьем. Очень смелый и сильный человек- смог неоднократно отстаивать свою позицию против воли двора.
  8. qwert 21 января 2016 11:06
    А я то про Чичагова знал только вот такой случай.
    "После ряда блестящих морских побед над шведами, императрица Екатерина II пожелала принять адмирала В.Я. Чичагова (1726-1809) и от него самого услышать рассказы о его подвигах. Простодушный моряк, поначалу робевший в непривычной обстановке, затем увлёкся так, что стал говорить весьма откровенно, густо сдабривая речь крепкими матерными выражениями. Императрица слушала его очень внимательно и совершенно невозмутимо. Внезапно, Чичагов вспоминает наставления придворных, строго предостерегавших его от употребления ругательств и особенно матерщины в беседе со столь венценосной особой. Адмирал побледнел и рухнул на колени:
    - Прости матушка, бес попутал...
    - Ничего, - ответила Екатерина, - продолжайте Василий Яковлевич. Я хоть ваших морских терминов не понимаю, но рассказываете очень уж интересно! Как там вы говорили: "влепляю я этой пузатой шведской проститутке ядро в..." Так куда же? Продолжайте..."
    А оказывается действительно выдающийся флотоводец, хоть имя его и значительно меньше известно чем Ушакова или Лазарева
  9. bober1982 21 января 2016 12:22
    слова : талантливый и успешный,на мой взгляд,к оценке деятельности адмирала (или других военных деятелей) не подходят (в комментариях),всё-таки это не офисный работник.
  10. Макаров 21 января 2016 20:09
    Очень познавательно...спасибо)
  11. Мур 22 января 2016 06:38
    А вот с сыном его, Павлом Васильевичем, судьба обошлась круто...
    Современники ставили ему в вину пропуск Наполеона через Березину в 1812 г., да так, что бывшему Морскому министру Чичагову пришлось уйти со всех постов, в конечном счёте уехать из страны и умереть в безвестности, да ещё где - во Франции...
    Есть, правда, мнение, что адмирал выполнял секретный приказ Кутузова: выпустить Наполеона из России, создав тем самым кучу неприятностей для англичан.
    Где правда, мы уже не узнаем.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня