Military Review

Swedish medium tank Strv m / 42

10
The Strv m / 42 is Sweden’s medium tank during World War II. This combat vehicle was created by Landsverk AB in 1941-1942 on the basis of a lightweight tank Strv m / 40. In total, from 1943 to 1945, 282 Strv m / 42 tanks were assembled in several versions. For a long time, this combat vehicle was the basis of the tank fleet of Sweden. Fate prepared the tank for a long service. After the modernization carried out in 1957, the tank received a new turret with a 75 mm long-barrel gun and the new designation Strv 74. In this form, the tanks remained in service with the Swedish army until the end of the 1970s.

Tank Strv m / 42 became the crown of the development of the Swedish tank building during the Second World War. This medium tank at the time of its creation fully met the requirements of the time, and for a country that managed to maintain neutrality in the two world wars, its combat capabilities were sufficient. While on the battlefields in Europe and Africa, German, Soviet, British and American combat vehicles converged in a deadly battle, in Sweden, in the workshops of the Volvo company, Stridsvagn m / 42 tanks slowly assembled, none of which did not take part in the hostilities.

At the end of the 1930 for the Hungarian armed forces, the Swedes developed the Lago medium tank, which weighed 15 tons and armed with a 47-mm gun. This tank had undoubtedly related resemblance to another very successful Swedish machine L-60, which gave way to the life of a whole family of light tanks (Strv m / 38, 39, 40). The prototype of the Lago tank was fully prepared and demonstrated by the Hungarian military, but they decided to take the Czechoslovak T-21, which is simpler to produce, for their own tank “Turan”. At the same time, the efforts of the Swedish designers were not in vain. By the beginning of the 1940, the Swedish army realized that it needed its own medium tanks. Largely from the Lago project, the Strv m / 42 medium tank was born, armed with a short-barreled 75-mm Bofors rifled cannon and three 8-mm machine guns.



Outwardly, this medium tank strongly resembled a plumper and larger version of the light tank L-60. The car has been seriously redesigned and lengthened. Compared with the Strv m / 40 tank, the new combat vehicle had an elongated chassis, in which, instead of the 4-x, there were 6 track rollers and 3 supporting rollers on each side. At the same time, the mass of the tank has increased compared to Strv m / 40 almost 2,5 times - up to 22,5 tons. Improved and weapons. The 75 gun and two course machine guns of the 8 mm caliber paired with it were supplemented by another 8-mm machine gun, which was located in front of the tank hull.

Tank Strv m / 42 belonged to the combat vehicles of the classic layout. In front of the hull, there was a control compartment with a driver's seat, in the middle part there was a combat compartment, above which a welded, streamlined tower was installed, and a gearbox compartment was located in the rear part of the hull. A distinctive feature of the tank could be called its long and narrow body, the construction of which used cast parts. The regular crew of a combat vehicle consisted of four people.



Curiously, the Swedes initially planned to use the Strv m / 42 as a heavy tank, but this machine did not belong to the generally accepted world classification as a heavy tank. Until the end of World War II from April 1943 of the year to January, the 1945 of the year in Sweden assembled the 282 tank in various modifications, which differed primarily in the transmission and power plant. In total there were 3 main variants of this medium tank:

Strv m / 42TM - tank version with twin engine Scania-Vabis L-603 with HP 160 power. each and electrotransmission. Total 100 was released such combat vehicles.
Strv m / 42TH - tank version with twin engine Scania-Vabis L-603 with HP 160 power. each and hydraulic transmission. Total 125 was released such combat vehicles.
Strv m / 42EH - version of a tank with a Volvo A8B engine with horsepower 380 hp and hydraulic transmission. Total 57 was released such combat vehicles.

It is worth noting that the electric transmission installed on the Strv m / 42TM tanks worked poorly, therefore, over time, all the Strv m / 42TM tanks of this modification were transferred to versions with hydraulic transmissions. If at the time of its development the medium tank Strv m / 42, although it didn’t have enough stars from the sky, was quite competitive compared to other combat vehicles of its production class of different countries, by the end of World War II, this tank was significantly inferior to the medium tanks Axis forces and the anti-Hitler coalition.



The chassis of the Strv m / 42 tank was used by the Swedes to create various combat vehicles at its base. In particular, already in 1942, an attempt was made to create an anti-tank SAU Pvkv m / 43, which was armed with an X / NUMX-mm L / 75 cannon with 50.5 ammunition. The gun used allowed the armor-piercing projectile to be sent at a target at a speed of about 56 m / s, which made this self-propelled gun a worthy opponent of any tank of those years. Acceptance of this ACS began only in the fall of 815, while the car had to be finalized, so it was finally ready only in 1944, remaining in service with the Swedish army until the beginning of the 1947s.

Also, the chassis of the tank Strv m / 42 became the base for self-propelled anti-aircraft installation. Over the creation of ZSU for the Swedish army, the designers thought relatively late - only in 1943 year. At the same time, the project Lvkv fm / 43 was proposed. This self-propelled self-propelled gun on the chassis of a medium tank was distinguished by placing two 40-mm Bofors 60 / L anti-aircraft guns (326 projectiles) in the open wheelhouse. The air cannon machine was released in a small series of 17 units over 1948-1949's.



Surprisingly, pragmatic Swedes gave Strv m / 42 tanks a second life. In 1957, the Swedish designers created a new medium tank, guided by the concept of "cheap and cheerful." They took the Strv m / 42 tank as a base, installing a turret on it, in which they placed an 75-mm anti-aircraft gun with 60-gauge barrel length (initial velocity of the 840 projectile, m / s, rate of fire - 8-10 rounds per minute ). Each such “new” tank cost the Swedish budget 360 thousand crowns, while for every English Centurion the Swedes paid about one million crowns.

From 1957 to 1960, all Strv m / 42 tanks with a pair of Scania-Vabis L-603 engines were converted to the Strv 74 version. 57 tanks in the Strv m / 42 EH version also did not go for scrapping. After a minor alteration, which dealt mainly with the placement of machine guns and the installation of new means of communication, these combat vehicles, apparently virtually indistinguishable from the Strv m / 42, were adopted by the Swedish army under the designation Ikv 73. Ikv (Infanterikanonvagn) is a rather specific type of armored vehicles in Sweden, whose name literally can be translated as “infantry cannon machine”. Their task on the battlefield was the direct support of the infantry, such combat vehicles were in service with the infantry brigades of the Swedish army.

Medium Tank Strv 74


Tellingly, even the old towers from medium tanks Strv m / 42 as part of the "waste-free modernization" to Strv 74, pragmatic Swedes did not send for scrap. They set them up as stationary firing points (Värntorn, “defensive towers”) on key areas of the country's coast, as well as on airfields and in ports.

Performance characteristics of the Strv m / 42:
Overall dimensions: body length - 6250 mm, width - 2340 mm, height - 2585 mm, clearance - 400 mm.
Combat weight - 22,5 tons.
Reservations - hull forehead - 55 mm, hull sides - 40 mm, gun mask - 80 mm.
Armament - 75-mm rifled gun "Bofors" and three 8-mm machine gun.
The power plant - 8-cylinder carburetor engine power 380 hp
Power density - 16,9 hp / t.
Maximum speed - 45 km / h (on the highway).
Crew - 4 person.

Information sources:
http://warspot.ru/4210-posledniy-sredniy-tank-evropy
http://www.aviarmor.net/tww2/tanks/sweden/stridsvagn_strv_m42.htm
http://www.uhlib.ru/voennaja_istorija/tanki_vtoroi_mirovoi_chast_ii/p50.php
Open source materials
Author:
10 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. qwert
    qwert April 25 2016 08: 04
    +8
    The Swedes have some kind of craving for tall narrow towers. As if she had been squeezed from the sides. A similar thing was still on the Yugoslav version of the T-34 called "Carried"
  2. 37 year
    37 year April 25 2016 10: 27
    -9
    Very beautiful car.
    Stalin and Zhdanov, who closed millions of people to starvation in Petrograd, were very lucky that the Swedes made a decision on neutrality in that war.
    1. ivanzu87
      ivanzu87 April 25 2016 12: 01
      +7
      Thick, not high-quality trolling. Do not set off. Try again.
  3. Verdun
    Verdun April 25 2016 11: 00
    +3
    The Swedish car looks quite combat-ready. Both externally and by characteristics. It should be noted that in Sweden there was a good tank design school. The same Strv 103, for all the controversy of its layout, was a good tank.
  4. Mikhail Matyugin
    Mikhail Matyugin April 25 2016 11: 07
    +8
    Quote: 37 years old
    Very beautiful car.
    Stalin and Zhdanov, who closed millions of people to starvation in Petrograd, were lucky that the Swedes made a decision on neutrality in that war

    Well, in general, since the times of Gustavus-Adolphus and Charles XII, in Sweden there has been a strong deficit not only of great generals, but even outstanding generals. There was even a Frenchman Bernadotte to the throne to invite! laughing

    Therefore, Sweden made a completely prudent decision about neutrality - profitably selling both its ore and a number of industrial products to neighboring countries.

    For example, many modern Swedes say "in general, thanks to Russia for Poltava! You have disaccustomed us to fight, and therefore we have been living so well for the last 200 years!" laughing
    1. 37 year
      37 year April 25 2016 11: 41
      +1
      Quote: Mikhail Matyugin
      For example, many modern Swedes say "in general, thanks to Russia for Poltava! You have disaccustomed us to fight, and therefore we have been living so well for the last 200 years!"

      Oh come on! But what about the Russo-Swedish war of 1808-1809? hi
      Therefore, Poltava is certainly a glorious part of our history, but do not exaggerate and be a victim of myths, Sweden is far from the most prosperous country in the world, and even more so, its current well-being is in no way connected with its pacifism in recent years.
      1. Lester7777
        Lester7777 April 25 2016 11: 49
        0
        And the Russian-Swedish war of 1788-1790?
      2. goose
        goose April 25 2016 14: 21
        +4
        Quote: 37 years old
        moreover, her current well-being is in no way connected with her pacifism of recent years.

        Well, you are wrong. Sweden has even risen on military contracts over the past 200 years. Very clearly traced the construction of industry to service the belligerent powers. So, for example, at one time most of the cannons of the French king were from Sweden.
    2. Lester7777
      Lester7777 April 25 2016 11: 44
      +4
      Sex by neighboring countries Do you mean Germany, which Sweden regularly provided with iron? In general, the issue of neutrality of Sweden is quite controversial.
  5. The comment was deleted.
  6. Type 63
    Type 63 April 25 2016 16: 19
    +2
    Strv 74 is a pretty car
  7. Volga Cossack
    Volga Cossack April 25 2016 18: 27
    +1
    Interesting article and car. Thank!
  8. innoker-1563
    innoker-1563 7 October 2016 06: 44
    0
    It’s a shame, but I didn’t know anything about Swedish tank building. Thanks for the educational program.

Шведский средний танк Strv m/42

Strv m/42 — средний танк Швеции периода Второй мировой войны. Данная боевая машина была создана специалистами компании Landsverk AB в 1941-1942 годах на основе легкого танка Strv m/40. Всего с 1943 по 1945 год было собрано 282 танка Strv m/42 в нескольких вариантах. Длительное время данная боевая машина составляла основу танкового парка Швеции. Судьба уготовила танку длительную службу. После проведенной в 1957 году модернизации танк получил новую башню с длинноствольным 75-мм орудием и новое обозначение Strv 74. В таком виде танки оставались на вооружении армии Швеции вплоть до конца 1970-х годов.

Танк Strv m/42 стал венцом развития шведского танкостроения в годы Второй мировой войны. Этот средний танк на момент своего создания вполне отвечал требованиям времени, а для страны, которая умудрилась сохранить нейтралитет в двух мировых войнах, его боевых возможностей было достаточно. В то время, как на полях сражений в Европе и Африке в смертельном бою сходились между собой немецкие, советские, британские и американские боевые машины, в Швеции в цехах компании «Вольво» неспешно собирали танки Stridsvagn m/42, ни один из которых ни разу не принимал участия в боевых действиях.

В конце 1930-х годов для вооруженных сил Венгрии шведы разрабатывали средний танк Lago, весивший 15 тонн и вооруженный 47-мм орудием. Данный танк обладал несомненным родственным сходством с другой очень удачной шведкой машиной L-60, которая дала дорогу в жизнь целому семейству легких танков (Strv m/38, 39, 40). Прототип танка Lago был полностью готов и продемонстрирован венгерским военным, но те решили взять за основу для собственного танка «Туран» более простой в производстве чехословацкий Т-21. При этом усилия шведских конструкторов не пропали даром. К началу 1940-х годов шведская армия осознала, что нуждается в собственных средних танках. Во многом из проекта Lago и родился средний танк Strv m/42, вооруженный короткоствольной 75-мм нарезной пушкой «Бофорс» и тремя 8-мм пулеметами.

Шведский средний танк Strv m/42


Внешне этот средний танк сильно напоминал располневший и подросший в размерах вариант легкого танка L-60. Машина была серьезно переработана и удлинена. По сравнению с танком Strv m/40 новая боевая машина имела удлиненное шасси, в котором вместо 4-х было 6 опорных катков и по 3 поддерживающих ролика на каждый борт. При этом масса танка увеличилась по сравнению с Strv m/40 практически в 2,5 раза — до 22,5 тонн. Улучшилось и вооружение. 75-м пушка и два спаренных с ней курсовых пулемета калибра 8 мм дополнялись еще одним 8-мм пулеметом, который был расположен в передней части корпуса танка.

Танк Strv m/42 относился к боевым машинам классической компоновки. В передней части корпуса было расположено отделение управления с местом механика-водителя, в средней части располагалось боевое отделение, над которым была установлена сварная башня обтекаемой формы, в задней части корпуса располагалось моторно-трансмиссионное отделение. Отличительной особенностью танка можно было назвать его длинный и узкий корпус, в строительстве которого использовались литые детали. Штатный экипаж боевой машины состоял из четырех человек.

Шведский средний танк Strv m/42


Любопытно, что первоначально Strv m/42 шведы планировали использовать в качестве тяжелых танков, но к классу тяжелых танков данная машина в общепризнанной мировой классификации, не относилась. До конца Второй мировой войны с апреля 1943 года по январь 1945 года в Швеции было собрано 282 танка в разных модификациях, которые отличались в первую очередь трансмиссией и силовой установкой. Всего существовало 3 основных варианта данного среднего танка:

Strv m/42TM — вариант танка со спаркой двигателей Scania-Vabis L-603 мощностью 160 л.с. каждый и электротрансмиссией. Всего было выпущено 100 таких боевых машин.
Strv m/42TH — вариант танка со спаркой двигателей Scania-Vabis L-603 мощностью 160 л.с. каждый и гидравлической трансмиссией. Всего было выпущено 125 таких боевых машин.
Strv m/42EH — вариант танка с двигателем Volvo A8B мощностью 380 л.с. и гидравлической трансмиссией. Всего было выпущено 57 таких боевых машин.

Стоит отметить, что установленная на танках Strv m/42TM электротрансмиссия работала плохо, поэтому со временем все танки Strv m/42TM данной модификации были переданы в варианты с гидравлической трансмиссией. Если на момент своей разработки средний танк Strv m/42 хоть и не хватал звезд с неба, но был вполне конкурентоспособен на фоне других боевых машин своего класса производства разных стран, то к концу Второй мировой войны по своим боевым возможностям данный танк существенно уступал средним танкам сил Оси и Антигитлеровской коалиции.

Шведский средний танк Strv m/42


Шасси танка Strv m/42 использовалось шведами для создания различных боевых машин на его базе. В частности, уже в 1942 году была предпринята попытка создания противотанковой САУ Pvkv m/43, которая вооружалась 75-мм пушкой L/50.5 с боезапасом 56 снарядов. Используемое орудие позволяло отправлять бронебойный снаряд в цель со скоростью около 815 м/с, что делало данную самоходку достойным противником любого танка тех лет. Приемка данной САУ началась лишь осенью 1944 года, при этом машину приходилось дорабатывать, поэтому окончательно она была готова лишь в 1947 году, оставаясь на вооружении шведской армии до начала 1960-х годов.

Также шасси танка Strv m/42 стало базой для зенитной самоходной установки. Над созданием ЗСУ для шведской армии конструкторы задумались сравнительно поздно — только в 1943 году. Тогда же был предложен проект Lvkv fm/43. Данная зенитная самоходка на шасси среднего танка отличалась размещением в открытой рубке двух 40-мм зенитных орудий Bofors 60/L (боезапас 326 снарядов). Противовоздушная пушечная машина была выпущена небольшой серией в 17 единиц в течение 1948-1949 годов.

Шведский средний танк Strv m/42


Удивительно, но прагматичные шведы, подарили танкам Strv m/42 вторую жизнь. В 1957 году шведские конструкторы создали новый средний танк, руководствуясь концепцией «дешево и сердито». Они взяли в качестве базы танк Strv m/42, установив на него башню новой конструкции, в которой разместили 75-мм зенитное орудие с длиной ствола 60-калибров (начальная скорость полета снаряда 840 м/с, скорострельность — 8-10 выстрелов в минуту). Каждый такой «новый» танк обходился шведскому бюджету в 360 тысяч крон, в то время как за каждый английский «Центурион» шведы платили примерно один миллион крон.

С 1957 по 1960 год все танки Strv m/42 со спаркой двигателей Scania-Vabis L-603 были переделаны в вариант в Strv 74. 57 танков в версии Strv m/42 ЕН на слом также не отправились. После незначительной переделки, которая касалась в основном размещения пулеметов и установки новых средств связи, эти боевые машины, внешне практически не отличимые от Strv m/42, были приняты на вооружение шведской армии под обозначением Ikv 73. Ikv (Infanterikanonvagn) — это достаточно специфический вид бронетехники Швеции, название которого буквально можно перевести как «пехотная пушечная машина». Задачей их на поле боя была непосредственная поддержка пехоты, такие боевые машины находились на вооружении пехотных бригад шведской армии.

Шведский средний танк Strv m/42
Средний танк Strv 74


Что характерно, даже старые башни от средних танков Strv m/42 в рамках «безотходной модернизации» до Strv 74 прагматичные шведы на слом не отправили. Они установили их в качестве стационарных огневых точек (Värntorn, «защитные башни») на ключевых участках морского побережья страны, а также на аэродромах и в портах.

Тактико-технические характеристики Strv m/42:
Габаритные размеры: длина корпуса — 6250 мм, ширина — 2340 мм, высота — 2585 мм, клиренс — 400 мм.
Боевая масса — 22,5 тонны.
Бронирование — лоб корпуса — 55 мм, борта корпуса — 40 мм, маска орудия — 80 мм.
Вооружение — 75-мм нарезная пушка «Бофорс» и три 8-мм пулемета.
Силовая установка — 8-цилиндровый карбюраторный двигатель мощностью 380 л.с.
Удельная мощность — 16,9 л.с./т.
Максимальная скорость — 45 км/ч (по шоссе).
Экипаж — 4 человека.

Источники информации:
http://warspot.ru/4210-posledniy-sredniy-tank-evropy
http://www.aviarmor.net/tww2/tanks/sweden/stridsvagn_strv_m42.htm
http://www.uhlib.ru/voennaja_istorija/tanki_vtoroi_mirovoi_chast_ii/p50.php
Материалы из открытых источников
Автор: Юферев Сергей


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 10
  1. qwert 25 апреля 2016 08:04
    Какая-то тяга у шведов к высоким узким башням. Как будто ее сдавили с бортов. Подобное было еще на югославком варианте Т-34 под названием "Возило"
  2. 37 год 25 апреля 2016 10:27
    Очень красивая машина.
    Сталину и Жданову, закрывшим в Петрограде миллионы людей на голодную смерть, крупно повезло, что Шведы приняли в ту войну решение о нейтралитете.
    1. ivanzu87 25 апреля 2016 12:01
      Толстый, не качественный троллинг. Не зачет. Попробуй еще.
  3. Верден 25 апреля 2016 11:00
    Шведская машина выглядит вполне боеспособной. И внешне, и по характеристикам. Следует отметить, что в Швеции была неплохая танковая конструкторская школа. Тот же Strv 103 при всей спорности своей компоновки, был неплохим танком.
  4. Михаил Матюгин 25 апреля 2016 11:07
    Цитата: 37 год
    Очень красивая машина.
    Сталину и Жданову, закрывшим в Петрограде миллионы людей на голодную смерть, крупно повезло, что Шведы приняли в ту войну решение о нейтралитете

    Ну в целом со времён Густава-Адольфа и Карла XII в Швеции как то наблюдается сильный дефицит не то что великих полководцев, но даже выдающихся генералов. Вон пришлось даже француза Бернадота на трон приглашать ! laughing

    Поэтому Швеция приняла вполне благоразумное решение о нейтралитете - выгодно продавая как свою руду, так и ряд промышленных продуктов соседним странам.

    Например многие современные шведы говорят "вообще спасибо России за Полтаву ! Вы нас отучили воевать и поэтому мы так благополучно живём последние 200 лет!" laughing
    1. 37 год 25 апреля 2016 11:41
      Цитата: Михаил Матюгин
      Например многие современные шведы говорят "вообще спасибо России за Полтаву ! Вы нас отучили воевать и поэтому мы так благополучно живём последние 200 лет!"

      Да ну ладно! А как же Русско-шведская война 1808—1809 года? hi
      Поэтому Полтава это конечно славная часть нашей истории, но не надо преувеличивать и быть жертвой мифов, Швеция далеко не самая благополучная страна в мире и уж тем более её сегодняшнее благополучие никоим образом не связано с её пацифизмом последних лет.
      1. Lester7777 25 апреля 2016 11:49
        И Русско-шведская война 1788—1790гг?
      2. goose 25 апреля 2016 14:21
        Цитата: 37 год
        тем более её сегодняшнее благополучие никоим образом не связано с её пацифизмом последних лет

        Ну вот не правы Вы. Швеция очень даже поднялась на военных контрактах за последние 200 лет. Очень четко прослеживается строительство промышленности для обслуживания воюющих держав. Так к примеру, одно время бОльшая часть пушек французского короля была родом из Швеции.
    2. Lester7777 25 апреля 2016 11:44
      Пол соседними странами Вы имеете в виду Германию, которую Швеция исправно обеспечивала железом? Вообще, вопрос о нейтралитете Швеции достаточно спорный.
  5. Комментарий был удален.
  6. Type 63 25 апреля 2016 16:19
    Strv 74 вполне симпатичная машина
  7. казак волгский 25 апреля 2016 18:27
    Интересная статья и машина. Спасибо!
  8. innoker-1563 7 октября 2016 06:44
    Стыдно, но, я ничего не знал о шведском танкостроении. Спасибо за ликбез.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня