Military Review

It was a matter of Gibraltar

6



There are treasured places on our planet in which people have long adored arranging massacres. Just pulls them in there to fight properly. One of the most famous is the peninsula of Gibraltar, near which from the beginning of the 25th century to the beginning of the 1607th century there were five major sea battles, not counting minor skirmishes. The first of them happened on April 80, XNUMX, during the XNUMX-year-old Spanish-Dutch war. Dutch that day flotilla under the command of Admiral Jacob van Heemskerk, she squeezed in the Bay of Gibraltar and defeated the Spanish squadron of Admiral Juan Alvarez de Avila.

Heemskerk had 26 pennants, and Avila had 21. The numerical advantage is on the Dutch side, but Avila had 10 galleons, larger and better armed than any single Dutch ship. In addition, behind the squadron stood on the bastions of the numerous guns of coastal batteries. As has often happened before, and sometimes even now, the Dutch and Spanish descriptions of the battle are similar only in general terms, and they differ in details, and quite strongly. The similarity lies in the fact that both sides recognize the success of the Dutch, and also note that both admirals fell heroically in battle. I will cite first a Dutch description, and then a Spanish one.

So, according to the Dutch version, the Heemskerk squadron entered the bay when the Spanish ships were anchored, and they were very unsuccessful, blocking sectors of shelling of coastal guns with their sides. Taking advantage of the situation, Heemskerk ordered to attack enemy galleons alternately, attacking each with at least two ships. He himself, in his flagship Eolous, together with two other armed sailboats, attacked the flagship Galleon de Avila San Agustin, the largest ship of the Spanish squadron. However, at the very beginning of the battle, Heemskerk was largely unlucky: perhaps the first Spanish core to enter the Eolus, his leg was torn off above the knee. After some torment, the admiral died of blood loss and pain shock. But this did not break the morale of the Dutchmen. They continued the battle without a commander in accordance with the plan developed by him.

After some time from the concentrated shelling "San Agustin" caught fire and flew into the air from the explosion of a Creet Camera. After that, the flaming wreck of the ship stayed afloat for only a few minutes. In the meantime, other Dutch ships dealt with the rest of their opponents, consistently creating a double fire fire superiority against each of them. Thus, they destroyed the entire enemy squadron without a trace, without losing a single ship. According to Dutch data, at least 4000 officers and sailors died on burned and sunken Spanish galleons and pinas, and the Dutch themselves lost all 100 people killed and 60 killed.

The Spaniards admit the loss of five galleons, but at the same time, according to them, only “San Agustin” went to the bottom with almost the whole team, from which only 11 people escaped. Four more galleons suffered heavy damage and were thrown ashore, and the majority of their crew members survived. The remaining five galleons remained in the ranks. According to Spanish historians, the Dutch squadron was forced to stop the fight and retire, as many of its ships also had serious damage and needed urgent repairs, and in addition, they ran out of ammunition. Spaniards estimate their own losses in people at 460 killed and drowned. At the same time, they declare that the Dutch, having lowered boats with armed sailors, killed at least 110 in the water trying to sail sailors from the San Agustin, including Admiral de Avila, to the coast.

I do not know whose version is more truthful and which of them, respectively, must be trusted. I leave it to your discretion. And on the screen saver - the first battle of Gibraltar nor the picture of an unknown Dutch painter of the XVII century.



The painting "The Battle of Gibraltar" by the Dutch artist Henrik Cornelis Wroma. Depicted the moment of the explosion on the "San Agustin".



Engraving with the same name of Willem van Senus. In the foreground is a melee between the crews of the Spanish and Dutch boats.



View of the battle from the coast, which defile Spanish troops. Picture of Adam Villaarets.



Anthony Tsurkher's painting "The Death of Admiral Heemskerk". Sparing his viewers, the artist did not depict the terrible trauma inflicted on the admiral by a cannonball.



A 17th century engraving depicting Admiral Heemskerk, the armor that was on him in the Battle of Gibraltar (although, in my opinion, this is a dummy) and a sword belonging to the admiral. There is no left shoulder piece on the armor, torn off by the Spanish core along with the leg.
Author:
Originator:
http://vikond65.livejournal.com/471374.html
6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. parusnik
    parusnik April 27 2016 06: 44
    +6
    I do not know whose version is more true and which one, respectively, must be trusted...Probably everyone is right about something .. Thank you, the pictures of the "Battle of Gibraltar" are very interesting
    1. Chiropractor
      Chiropractor April 27 2016 09: 15
      +4
      Pictures are interesting only in terms of drawing techniques ...

      Wrooma has a ram of sailing boats !!!
      Zurker has a mishmash of guys and guns, although the central composition is beautiful.
      That's what happens when land artists show their vision ...
  2. qwert
    qwert April 27 2016 07: 29
    +2
    Hybrid altar-strategic passage. Having it in your hands is worth a lot. Whoever owns the key is .... well, in short there are many prospects. The second stumbling block was the Bosphorus, which the Russian rulers so dreamed of possessing. And in the end, they could have received it, and several times, if not for the British.
  3. MegaDRON
    MegaDRON April 27 2016 11: 17
    +3
    With such a ram as in the picture, both would burn out unambiguously ...
  4. King, just king
    King, just king April 27 2016 14: 31
    +2
    Good article, especially liked the first 2 sentences. The author has a literary gift.
  5. Jääkorppi
    Jääkorppi April 29 2016 06: 48
    +3
    Great! The era of multi-day sea battles! More articles about the 16-18th century !! Dutch armies !! My childhood favorite, Captain Blood, was a student of De Reiter !! I would like about the ships - the Spanish Galleons and their Dutch opponents, the formation of the fleets of France and Great Britain!

Было дело в Гибралтаре

Было дело в Гибралтаре


Есть на нашей планете заветные места, в которых люди издавна обожают устраивать побоища. Просто тянет их туда, чтобы как следует подраться. Одно из наиболее известных - полуостров Гибралтар, возле которого с начала XVII и до начала XIX века произошло пять крупных морских баталий, не считая мелких стычек. Первая из них случилась 25 апреля 1607 года, в ходе 80-летней испано-голландской войны. В тот день нидерландская флотилия под командованием адмирала Якоба ван Хеемскерка зажала в Гибралтарской бухте и разгромила испанскую эскадру адмирала Хуана Альвареса де Авилы.

У Хеемскерка было 26 вымпелов, а у Авилы - 21. Численное преимущество - на стороне голландцев, однако у Авилы имелось 10 галеонов, более крупных и лучше вооруженных, чем любой отдельно взятый голландский корабль. К тому же, позади его эскадры стояли на бастионах многочисленные пушки береговых батарей. Как это нередко бывало раньше, а порой бывает и сейчас, голландское и испанское описания боя схожи лишь в общих чертах, а в деталях они различаются, причем довольно сильно. Схожесть состоит в том, что обе стороны признают успех голландцев, а также отмечают, что в бою геройски пали оба адмирала. Приведу сперва голландское описание, а потом - испанское.


Итак, согласно голландской версии, эскадра Хеемскерка вошла в бухту, когда испанские корабли стояли на якорях, при этом стояли очень неудачно, загораживая своими бортами секторы обстрела береговых орудий. Воспользовавшись ситуацией, Хеемскерк приказал атаковать вражеские галеоны поочередно, нападая на каждый, как минимум, двумя кораблями. Сам он на своем флагмане "Эолус" совместно с еще двумя вооруженными парусниками атаковал флагманский галеон де Авилы "Сан Агустин" - крупнейший корабль испанской эскадры. Однако в самом начале боя Хеемскерку крупно не повезло: едва ли не первым испанским ядром, попавшим в "Эолус", ему оторвало ногу выше колена. После недолгих мучений адмирал умер от кровопотери и болевого шока. Но это не сломило боевой дух голандцев. Они продолжили бой без командира в соответствии с разработанным им планом.

Через некоторое время от сосредоточенного обстрела "Сан Агустин" загорелся и взлетел на воздух от взрыва крюйт-камеры. После этого пылающий остов корабля продержался на плаву лишь несколько минут. Тем временем другие голландские корабли расправлялись с остальными противниками, последовательно создавая двойное огневое огневое превосходство против каждого из них. Таким образом, они уничтожили всю вражескую эскадру без остатка, не потеряв при этом ни одного корабля. На сгоревших и затонувших испанских галеонах и пинасах, согласно голландским данным, погибло не менее 4000 офицеров и матросов, а сами голландцы потеряли всего 100 человек убитыми и 60 - ранеными.

Испанцы признают потерю пяти галеонов, но при этом, по их утверждению, только "Сан Агустин" ушел на дно почти со всей командой, из которой спаслось лишь 11 человек. Еще четыре галеона получили тяжелые повреждения и выбросились на берег, а большинство членов их экипажей уцелело. Остальные пять галеонов остались в строю. По словам испанских историков, голландская эскадра была вынуждена прекратить бой и ретироваться, так как многие ее корабли тоже имели серьезные повреждения и нуждались в срочном ремонте, а кроме того, у них заканчивались боеприпасы. Собственные потери в людях испанцы оценивают в 460 убитых и утонувших. При этом они заявляют, что голландцы, спустив шлюпки с вооруженными матросами, убили в воде не менее 110 пытавшихся доплыть до берега моряков с "Сан Агустина", среди которых был и адмирал де Авила.

Я не знаю, чья версия более правдива и какой из них, соответственно, надо доверять. Оставляю это на ваше усмотрение. А на заставке - первое Гибралтарское сражение ни картине неизвестного голландского живописца XVII века.

Было дело в Гибралтаре


Картина "Гибралтарская битва" голландского художника Хенрика Корнелиса Вроома. Изображен момент взрыва на "Сан Агустине".

Было дело в Гибралтаре


Гравюра с тем же названием Виллема ван Сенуса. На переднем плане - рукопашная схватка между экипажами испанской и голландской шлюпок.

Было дело в Гибралтаре


Вид сражения с берега, по которому дефилируют испанские отряды. Картина Адама Виллаэрца.

Было дело в Гибралтаре


Картина Антония Цурхера "Гибель адмирала Хеемскерка". Щадя своих зрителей, художник не стал изображать жуткую травму, нанесенную адмиралу пушечным ядром.

Было дело в Гибралтаре


Гравюра XVII века с изображением адмирала Хеемскерка, доспех, который был на нем в Гибралтарском сражении (хотя, по-моему, это муляж) и меч, принадлежавший адмиралу. На доспехе отсутствует левый набедреник, оторванный испанским ядром вместе с ногой.
Автор: Вячеслав Кондратьев
Первоисточник: http://vikond65.livejournal.com/471374.html


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 6
  1. parusnik 27 апреля 2016 06:44
    Я не знаю, чья версия более правдива и какой из них, соответственно, надо доверять...Вероятно, каждый в чём то прав..Спасибо, очень интересны картины "Гибралтарской битвы"
    1. Костоправ 27 апреля 2016 09:15
      Интересны картины только с точки зрения техники рисования...

      У Вроома - таран парусников!!!
      У Цуркера - мешанина вант и пушек, хотя центральная композиция прекрасна.
      Вот что получается когда сухопутные художники показывают свое виденье...
  2. qwert 27 апреля 2016 07:29
    Гиброалтар-стратегический проход. Иметь его в своих руках дорогого стоит. Кто владеет ключем тот .... ну, короче перспектив много. Вторым камнем преткновения был Босфор, обладать которым так мечтали русские правители. И в итоге могли бы его получить, причем несколько раз, если бы не англичане.
  3. MegaDRON 27 апреля 2016 11:17
    При таком таране как на картине, оба сгорели бы однозначно...
  4. Царь,простоЦарь 27 апреля 2016 14:31
    Хорошая статья, особенно понравились первые 2 предложения. Чувствуется у автора писательский дар.
  5. JääKorppi 29 апреля 2016 06:48
    Замечательно! Эпоха многодневных морских баталий! Побольше статей про 16-18 век!! Голландские армии!! Любимый персонаж моего детства капитан Блад был учеником Де Рёйтера!! Хотелось бы про корабли - Испанские Галеоны и их голландских противников, становление флотов Франции и Великобритании!

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня