Military Review

Mohammed Ali. The man who created modern Egypt

9
17 May 1805, the post of the wali (ruler) of Egypt, then part of the Ottoman Empire, was taken by Muhammad Ali - a man of amazing destiny and no less amazing personal qualities. To some extent, it was Muhammad Ali who could be considered the founder of Egypt’s path to political independence, since during his rule the influence of the Ottoman Empire on the affairs of its North African ownership was gradually minimized.


Mohammed Ali the Egyptian belongs to that rare breed of people who live not one life, but several. Up to thirty years, the life of this man was in no way connected not only with Egypt, but also with political and military affairs in general. Mohammed Ali was Albanian by nationality. He was born 4 March 1769, in the small town of Kavala in Macedonia (now the territory of Greece), in the family of the small landowner Ibrahim Ali. Parents died early and the boy was taken up in a foreign family, and having matured, he opened a small tobacco shop. It seemed that he was destined to the fate of an unknown tobacco merchant in the Macedonian town. Naturally, the young Mohammed Ali did not even think that he could become one of the most powerful rulers of the Muslim East. Everything changed the case. Mohammed Ali was sent as commander of a small Albanian military detachment to Egypt. This happened in 1798 year - then the French troops invaded Egypt, Napoleon Bonaparte and the Ottoman government, in need of additional troops, more and more troops in the Nile Valley. The Albanians, who had the glory of quite good warriors, served in large numbers in the Ottoman army. But Muhammad Ali, a man of will and purposeful, managed to make a dizzying career in a few years. In just seven years, it took yesterday’s tobacco merchant from Kavala to become the commander of a small Albanian unit, Wali, the vice-king of Egypt, directly subordinate to the Ottoman sultan.

The assertion of Muhammad Ali in power was accompanied by a deep political crisis in Egypt, caused by the constant confrontation between the various groups of Mamluks and Turkish officials. Napoleon’s Egyptian campaign demonstrated all the inefficiency of the former Ottoman military machine of Egypt, which inherited the traditions of the Mamluk army. The armed forces stationed in Egypt were separate Mamluk detachments, staffed by ethnicity and headed by commanders who competed among themselves for power and influence. The ethnic composition of the Egyptian Mamluk army was very colorful - it was the Albanians, Circassians, Megrels, Kurds, Bosnian Muslims. Many of them could communicate only in their native languages, which seriously complicated the command.

In 1804 in Egypt, the contradictions between the Mamluk group of commanders aggravated. Desperate to restore order, the Turkish governor-general summoned hired troops from Syria, staffed with Kurds, Alawites and Druze, to help. The Syrians treated the local population badly, as they were alien and confessional - the majority of Syrian mercenaries professed various directions of Shiism, while the population of Egypt was Sunni. After the Syrians killed one of the Albanian officers, clashes between Syrian and Albanian mercenaries began. In this situation, Muhammad Ali, who enjoyed great prestige among the Albanian soldiers, managed to negotiate with the Egyptian clergy, who actually played a decisive role in his assertion as the viceroy of Egypt. The Cairo ulama declared Muhammad Ali the ruler of Egypt. The acting governor tried to resist, but the desperate Albanian ordered to send artillery pieces to his residence at his residence. The governor retreated, and the Ottoman government had no choice but to confirm the appointment of Muhammad Ali to walt Egypt.

In this post, Muhammad Ali immediately established himself as a supporter of enhanced modernization of Egyptian society. And the way of life itself was very different from the corrupt and greedy Ottoman officials. It is said that in everyday life Muhammad Ali was very simple, if not ascetic. He treated the traditional Ottoman etiquette with ill-concealed disdain, tried to keep simply and with dignity. Despite the fact that Muhammad Ali had no education, he was well aware of the value of knowledge in the modern world and sought to follow the example of European countries.

- The extermination of the Mamluks. Antique engraving

First of all, Muhammad Ali embarked on military reform. Realizing that the Mamluk detachments - mercenaries are an extremely unreliable and ineffective army, whose weakness was revealed by the French invasion of Egypt, Muhammad Ali set about forming a regular army recruited by the Egyptian peasants - fells. In Egypt, military service was introduced, and foreign military advisers were invited to train officers. Creating a regular army staffed by the Egyptians, Muhammad Ali also solved another important task - he created the armed forces directly subordinate to him and practically independent of the central Ottoman government in Istanbul. The introduction of military service was carried out on the advice of Suleiman Pasha - the chief military adviser to the Egyptian ruler, who was French by nationality and before the adoption of Islam was called Joseph Sev. At the same time, Muhammad Ali at first strongly impeded the admission of Egyptians to officer positions, as he considered them to be lower than the Turks or Albanians. The recruitment of Egyptians for officer positions began only thanks to the adopted son of Muhammad Ali Ibrahim Pasha. Unlike Muhammad Ali, Ibrahim Pasha treated the Egyptians better than the Turks and believed that it was the Egyptian Arabs who were the most loyal and reliable military personnel. Convincing his father to open access for Egyptians to command positions in the army, Ibrahim Pasha became the actual founder of the Egyptian officer corps, which plays a crucial role in the political life of the country up to the present time (almost all Egyptian presidents in the 20th and early 21st centuries come from the military environment) . Nevertheless, for a long time, almost all the highest posts in the army were reserved by representatives of the Egyptian-Ottoman military elite, who spoke Turkish (Ottoman) language and adhered to the Ottoman way of life (this is understandable if only by analyzing the appearance of Egyptian officials and officers who wore famous "fez").

One of the most ambitious projects of Muhammad Ali was the creation of the Egyptian naval fleet. For a long time, Egypt did not have a real military fleet, which Muhammad Ali decided to correct, knowing full well that the fleet located on the shores of the Mediterranean Sea is simply necessary. Like the army, the fleet was manned by the Egyptians, and officers were trained under the guidance of European military instructors.

Following the military reform, Muhammad Ali set about reorganizing the education system. During his reign in Egypt, a printing house appeared, newspapers began to be printed, schools organized according to the European model opened. These innovations caused a negative reaction from the traditionalist part of the Egyptian elite, above all - representatives of the clergy. But also the clergy Mohammed Ali, to the secular model of the state, dealt a serious blow. Many Ulama lost their posts, and Muhammad Ali confiscated their wealth and handed them over to the state treasury. By the way, Muhammad Ali acted against his opponents harshly, not disdaining by any means. So, back in 1811, on the orders of Muhammad Ali, six hundred Mamluks were killed, which put an end to the centuries-old participation of the Mamluks in the government of Egypt. Muhammad Ali ruthlessly dealt with his officials if he learned that they were building any intrigues or were engaged in embezzlement. As an outsider, not connected with the Egyptian elite, Muhammad Ali was not integrated into the intricate interweaving of clan ties and they did not represent value to him.

Mohammed Ali. The man who created modern Egypt


The foreign policy of Muhammad Ali was associated with the constant wars and numerous territorial acquisitions of Egypt. The first real success of Muhammad Ali as ruler and commander was the defeat of the British expeditionary force in 1807 year. As a result of the Anglo-Turkish War, British troops were forced to leave the territory of Egypt. In 1811-1818 Egypt as a vassal of the Ottoman Empire participated in the Turkish-Saudi war against the Saudis dynasty. Fast enough, the Egyptian troops managed to seize the coastal areas of the Hejaz, including the holy cities of Mecca and Medina. In this war, the Bedouin tribes of Arabia, hostile to the Saudi dynasty, helped the Egyptians. In 1815, an agreement was signed on the transfer of Hijaz under Egyptian control, but then Muhammad Ali continued fighting against the Saudi state. 15 September 1818, after an eight-month siege, the capital of the Saudi state, Ad-Diriye, fell. The first Saudi state ceased to exist, and its emir Abdullah, who surrendered to the Egyptians, was taken to Istanbul. There he was beheaded, and a severed head was thrown into the Bosphorus.

In 1823, Egyptian troops captured Northern Sudan, after which it was turned into an Egyptian province. Subjugating Sudan, Muhammad Ali began to consider Egypt’s geopolitical interests and the origins of the Nile, Ethiopia and Equatorial Africa as a sphere. In the northeast, the ruler of Egypt was interested in Palestine and Syria, the inclusion of which in the Egyptian state Muhammad Ali was constantly thinking about. By 1830, Muhammad Ali, realizing his power and ability to resist the central Ottoman government, refused to pay tribute to the Turkish sultan.
In 1831, the first Turkish-Egyptian war began. The Egyptian army under the command of Ibrahim Pasha - the adopted son of Muhammad Ali invaded Syria. When the fortress of Saint-Jean d'Acr fell under the blows of the Egyptian army, all of Syria was under the control of Muhammad Ali. At the same time, the Egyptian Wali managed to reach an agreement with the militant tribes of Lebanon, who were dissatisfied with Turkish domination and hoped, with the help of Muhammad Ali, to gain relief from the yoke of the Turkish administration. In the battles of Goma and the Beidan Pass, between Syria and Asia Minor, the troops of Ibrahim Pasha defeated the army of Hussein Pasha sent by the Turkish sultan to liberate Syria.

After the defeat of the army of Hussein Pasha, the sultan sent more numerous Reshid Pasha troops against the Egyptians, but they too were defeated in the Battle of Konya, and the Pasha himself was captured. The Egyptian troops, victoriously marching along Asia Minor itself, were ready to seize the European possessions of the Ottoman Empire. The Russian Empire intervened, which in fact saved its centuries-old enemy - the Ottoman Empire - from being destroyed by the army of Muhammad Ali.

In 1833, a peace treaty was concluded between Muhammad Ali and the Turkish Sultan. In accordance with the requirements of the treaty, Syria was transformed into the vassal possession of the wali of Egypt, and Adana was transferred to Egypt under temporary administration. But the Sultan was in no hurry to fulfill the requirements of Muhammad Ali, so the second Turkish-Egyptian war began in 1839. Despite the fact that the headquarters of the Sultan's army were experienced European military advisers, including the famous Prussian commander Moltke, Istanbul was again defeated. Ottoman Admiral Ahmet Fenzi was forced to hand over the Turkish Navy to Egypt, which further strengthened the position of Muhammad Ali. After that, the Egyptian ruler demanded that the new Sultan Abdul-Majid pass on to him as hereditary possession not only Egypt, but also Syria, Adana and the island of Crete.

The confrontation between the Ottoman Sultan and the Egyptian Wali turned into a world-class problem, for the solution of which a conference of representatives of the five leading powers was held in London. She offered to transfer Muhammad Ali to Southern Syria and to provide hereditary power for his descendants in Egypt, but only if Muhammad Ali was recognized to be subordinate to the Sultan of the Ottoman Empire and to resume payment of the tribute. Naturally, such conditions of the Egyptian Wali did not suit and he refused to recognize the conference's verdict. After that the ships of the navies of Great Britain and Austria-Hungary approached the Egyptian coast. Mohammed Ali, fearing the military invasion of the European armies, was forced to recognize the decision of the conference and in 1840 resumed paying the tribute to the Ottoman Empire.

The world powers that saw in the activities of Muhammad Ali a danger to their own interests in the Middle East and Africa were interested in weakening the rapidly developing Egypt. The Ottoman Empire, loose and shaken by internal conflicts, was easier for the British, French, Austro-Hungarian governments to deal with than the unpredictable Muhammad Ali, who was concerned about modernizing Egypt and turning it into a strong power. Nevertheless, failures in foreign policy did not affect the course of reforms in the internal life of Egypt itself. It was under the leadership of Muhammad Ali that the foundations were laid for the further modernization of all aspects of life in Egyptian society. The last years of his long life, Muhammad Ali was seriously ill. He died in Alexandria 3 on April 1849, at the age of 80.
Author:
Photos used:
http://jerusalem-ippo.org/, http://www.socialcompas.com/
9 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. ovod84
    ovod84 17 May 2016 07: 28
    +2
    There was a great man who carried out reforms and fate in the end betrayed him, his son went into debt and the country occupied Britain.
  2. Nicola Bari
    Nicola Bari 17 May 2016 07: 54
    +3
    Thank you so much for the article!
    1. alexej123
      alexej123 17 May 2016 10: 10
      +3
      I wonder who threw the minus? Colleague, I agree. I am fond of history. But I was not familiar with this "page". Thank you for the article.
      1. Spnsr
        Spnsr 17 May 2016 13: 53
        +3
        Quote: alexej123
        I was not familiar with this "page". Thank you for the article.

        too, grateful to the author for the article!
        we can emphasize that the end of the 18th century, the beginning of the formation of the map of the Middle East that we are observing now, from the fragments of the Ottoman Empire, which as such appeared from a larger state several centuries earlier!
        the same fragmentation can be seen on the European part of the continent, but a century earlier, and at the time of the events described, the European part of the continent has already managed several times to gather into one state and disintegrate again!
        it could also be the same with the territory occupied by Russia, despite the fact that all the prerequisites for this were created and, above all, the arrival of Islam on this territory! but first Ivan the Terrible opposed this, and then the Romanovs, after the change of dynasty, gathered these lands again, lands that do not leave our western “partners” alone
        and a similar view of the story emerges from the texts, including from this article and articles that were before ...
    2. The comment was deleted.
  3. tenere1200
    tenere1200 17 May 2016 08: 30
    +4
    Russia requires Mohammed Ali to be president. Honest and incorruptible. Able to bend stealing officials and the clergy. Ascetic in nature.
    1. razmik72
      razmik72 17 May 2016 12: 51
      +1
      Quote: tenere1200
      Russia requires Mohammed Ali to be president. Honest and incorruptible. Able to bend stealing officials and the clergy. Ascetic in nature.

      Such a ruler would suit us smile .
    2. qwert
      qwert 17 May 2016 13: 22
      +5
      Quote: tenere1200
      Russia requires Mohammed Ali to be president. Honest and incorruptible. Able to bend stealing officials and the clergy. Ascetic in nature.
      And someone minus. Probably, the stealing officials also read Topvar laughing
    3. kvd015
      kvd015 20 May 2016 23: 18
      0
      But what about the present great and powerful ?????
  4. Alexy
    Alexy 18 May 2016 05: 19
    0
    Interesting. I didn’t even know about such a person. And I thought in honor of whom Cassius Clay was renamed. Live and learn.
  5. tiaman.76
    tiaman.76 19 May 2016 20: 49
    0
    ONE OF THE LAST GREAT IN THE ISLAMIC WORLD ..

Мухаммед Али. Человек, который создал современный Египет

17 мая 1805 года пост вали (правителя) Египта, в то время входившего в состав Османской империи, занял Мухаммед Али — человек удивительной судьбы и не менее удивительных личностных качеств. В какой-то мере именно Мухаммеда Али можно считать основоположником пути Египта к политической независимости, поскольку в годы его правления влияние Османской империи на дела ее североафриканского владения постепенно минимизировалось.

Мухаммед Али. Человек, который создал современный Египет Мухаммед Али Египетский относится к той редкой породе людей, которые проживают не одну жизнь, а несколько. До тридцати лет жизнь этого человека никоим образом не была связана не только с Египтом, но и с политическими и военными делами вообще. По национальности Мухаммед Али был албанцем. Он родился 4 марта 1769 года в небольшом городе Кавале в Македонии (ныне — территория Греции), в семье мелкого помещика Ибрагима Али. Родители умерли рано и мальчик был принят на воспитание в чужую семью, а повзрослев, открыл небольшую табачную лавку. Казалось, что ему так и суждена участь безвестного торговца табаком в македонском городке. Естественно, что молодой Мухаммед Али даже и не помышлял о том, что он может стать одним из наиболее могущественных властителей мусульманского Востока. Все изменил случай. Мухаммед Али был направлен в качестве командира небольшого албанского военного отряда в Египет. Это произошло в 1798 году — тогда в Египет вторглись французские войска Наполеона Бонапарта и османское правительство, нуждаясь в дополнительных войсках, стягивало в долину Нила все новые и новые отряды. Албанцы, имевшие славу неплохих воинов, служили в османской армии в большом количестве. Но Мухаммеду Али, человеку волевому и целеустремленному, удалось за несколько лет сделать головокружительную карьеру. Всего семь лет потребовалось вчерашнему торговцу табаком из Кавалы на то, чтобы из командира небольшого албанского подразделения стать вали — вице-королем Египта, подчиненным непосредственно османскому султану.

Утверждению Мухаммеда Али у власти сопутствовал глубокий политический кризис в Египте, вызванный постоянным противоборством между различными группировками мамлюков и турецких чиновников. Египетский поход Наполеона продемонстрировал всю неэффективность прежней военной машины османского Египта, которая наследовала традиции мамлюкского войска. Вооруженные силы, дислоцировавшиеся в Египте, представляли собой обособленные мамлюкские отряды, укомплектованные по этническому признаку и возглавлявшиеся командирами, конкурировавшими между собой за власть и влияние. Этнический состав египетского мамлюкского войска был очень пестрым — это были албанцы, черкесы, мегрелы, курды, боснийские мусульмане. Многие из них могли общаться только на своих родных языках, что серьезно затрудняло командование.


В 1804 г. в Египте обострились противоречия между группировками мамлюкских командиров. Отчаявшись навести порядок, турецкий генерал-губернатор вызвал на помощь наемные войска из Сирии, укомплектованные курдами, алавитами и друзами. Сирийцы относились к местному населению плохо, поскольку были чуждыми и в конфессиональном отношении — большинство сирийских наемников исповедовали различные направления шиизма, тогда как население Египта было суннитским. После того, как сирийцы убили одного из албанских офицеров, начались столкновения между сирийскими и албанскими наемниками. В этой ситуации Мухаммед Али, пользовавшийся большим авторитетом среди албанских солдат, сумел договориться с египетским духовенством, которое фактически и сыграло решающую роль в его утверждении на посту вице-короля Египта. Каирские улемы объявили Мухаммеда Али правителем Египта. Действующий губернатор пытался сопротивляться, но отчаянный албанец приказал направить на его резиденцию артиллерийские орудия подчиненного ему войска. Губернатор отступил, а османскому правительству не оставалось иного выхода кроме как подтвердить назначение Мухаммеда Али вали Египта.

На этом посту Мухаммед Али сразу же зарекомендовал себя как сторонника усиленной модернизации египетского общества. Да и самим образом жизни он сильно отличался от коррумпированных и алчных османских чиновников. Говорят, что в быту Мухаммед Али был очень прост, если не сказать аскетичен. К традиционному османскому этикету он относился с плохо скрываемым пренебрежением, старался держаться просто и достойно. Несмотря на то, что у Мухаммеда Али не было никакого образования, он прекрасно понимал ценность знаний в современном ему мире и стремился брать пример с европейских стран.

Мухаммед Али. Человек, который создал современный Египет — Истребление мамлюков. Старинная гравюра

Прежде всего, Мухаммед Али приступил к военной реформе. Понимая, что отряды мамлюков — наемников представляют собой крайне ненадежную и малоэффективную армию, слабость которой вскрылась французским вторжением в Египет, Мухаммед Али приступил к формированию регулярной армии, набираемой путем призыва на военную службу египетских крестьян — феллахов. В Египте была введена воинская повинность, а для обучения офицеров были приглашены иностранные военные советники. Создавая регулярную армию, укомплектованную египтянами, Мухаммед Али решал и еще одну важную задачу — он создавал вооруженные силы, подчиненные непосредственно ему и фактически независимые от центрального османского правительства в Стамбуле. Введение воинской повинности было осуществлено по совету Сулеймана-паши — главного военного советника египетского правителя, который по национальности был французом и до принятия ислама звался Жозеф Сэв. В то же время, Мухаммед Али первое время сильно препятствовал допуску египтян к офицерским должностям, так как считал их более низшими, чем турки или албанцы. Набор египтян на офицерские должности начался лишь благодаря приемному сыну Мухаммеда Али Ибрагиму-паше. В отличие от Мухаммеда Али, Ибрагим-паша относился к египтянам лучше, чем к туркам и считал, что именно египетские арабы являются наиболее преданными и надежными военнослужащими. Убедив отца открыть доступ для египтян к командным должностям в армии, Ибрагим-паша стал фактическим основателем египетского офицерского корпуса, играющего важнейшую роль в политической жизни страны вплоть до настоящего времени (из армейской среды происходят практически все президенты Египта в ХХ и начале XXI вв.). Тем не менее, еще долгое время почти все высшие посты в армии сохраняли за собой представители египетско-османской военной элиты, говорившие на турецком (османском) языке и придерживавшиеся османского образа жизни (это понятно хотя бы по анализу внешнего вида египетских чиновников и офицеров, носивших знаменитые "фески").

Одним из наиболее масштабных проектов Мухаммеда Али стало создание египетского военно-морского флота. Длительное время реальный военный флот у Египта отсутствовал, что Мухаммед Али решил исправить, прекрасно понимая, что расположенному на берегу Средиземного моря Египту флот просто необходим. Как и армия, флот был укомплектован египтянами, а офицеры проходили подготовку под руководством европейских военных инструкторов.

Вслед за военной реформой, Мухаммед Али приступил и к реорганизации системы образования. В годы его правления в Египте появилась типография, начали печататься газеты, открылись школы, организованные по европейскому образцу. Эти нововведения вызывали негативную реакцию со стороны традиционалистской части египетской элиты, прежде всего — представителей духовенства. Но и по духовенству Мухаммед Али, тяготевший к светской модели государства, нанес серьезный удар. Многие улемы лишились своих постов, а их богатства Мухаммед Али конфисковал и передал государственной казне. Кстати, действовал Мухаммед Али против своих оппонентов жестко, не гнушаясь любыми средствами. Так, еще в 1811 г. по приказу Мухаммеда Али были убиты шестьсот мамлюков, что положило конец многовековому участию мамлюков в управлении Египтом. Безжалостно расправлялся Мухаммед Али и со своими чиновниками, если узнавал, что они строят какие-либо интриги или занимаются казнокрадством. Как человек со стороны, не связанный с египетской элитой, Мухаммед Али не был интегрирован в хитроумные сплетения клановых связей и они не представляли для него ценности.

Мухаммед Али. Человек, который создал современный Египет


Внешняя политика Мухаммеда Али была связана с постоянными войнами и многочисленными территориальными приобретениями Египта. Первым настоящим успехом Мухаммеда Али как правителя и полководца стал разгром британского экспедиционного корпуса в 1807 году. В результате англо-турецкой войны британские войска были вынуждены покинуть территорию Египта. В 1811-1818 гг. Египет как вассал Османской империи участвовал в турецко-саудовской войне против династии Саудидов. Достаточно быстро египетским войскам удалось захватить прибрежные районы Хиджаза, включая священные города Мекку и Медину. В этой войне египтянам помогали бедуинские племена Аравии, враждебно настроенные к Саудовской династии. В 1815 г. был заключен договор о передаче Хиджаза под египетское управление, однако затем Мухаммед Али продолжил боевые действия против саудовского государства. 15 сентября 1818 года, после восьмимесячной осады пала столица Саудовского государства Ад-Дирийе. Первое государство Саудидов прекратило свое существование, а его эмир Абдалла, сдавшийся египтянам, был вывезен в Стамбул. Там его обезглавили, а отрубленную голову кинули в пролив Босфор.

В 1823 г. египетские войска захватили Северный Судан, после чего он был превращен в египетскую провинцию. Подчинив Судан, Мухаммед Али стал рассматривать в качестве сферы геополитических интересов Египта и истоки Нила, Эфиопию и Экваториальную Африку. На северо-востоке правителя Египта интересовали Палестина и Сирия, о включении которых в состав египетского государства Мухаммед Али постоянно задумывался. К 1830 году Мухаммед Али, осознав свою мощь и способность противостоять центральному османскому правительству, отказался выплачивать дань турецкому султану.
В 1831 г. началась первая турецко-египетская война. Египетская армия под командованием Ибрагима-паши — приемного сына Мухаммеда Али вторглась в Сирию. Когда под ударами египетского войска пала крепость Сен-Жан д’Акр, вся Сирия оказалась под контролем Мухаммеда Али. Одновременно египетскому вали удалось договориться и с воинственными племенами Ливана, которые были недовольны турецким господством и рассчитывали с помощью Мухаммеда Али обрести освобождение от гнета турецкой администрации. В битвах при Гоме и у Бейданского прохода, что между Сирией и Малой Азией, войска Ибрагима-паши разгромили отправленную турецким султаном для освобождения Сирии армию Хуссейна-паши.

Мухаммед Али. Человек, который создал современный Египет После разгрома армии Хуссейна-паши султан выслал против египтян более многочисленные войска Решида-паши, но и они были разгромлены в битве при Конье, а самого пашу удалось захватить в плен. Египетские войска, победоносно шествующие уже по самой Малой Азии, были готовы к захвату и европейских владений Османской империи. Вмешалась Российская империя, которая фактически спасла своего векового врага — империю османов — от уничтожения воинством Мухаммеда Али.

В 1833 г. был заключен мирный договор между Мухаммедом Али и турецким султаном. В соответствии с требованиями договора, Сирия превращалась в вассальное владение вали Египта, а Адана передавалась Египту под временное управление. Но султан не спешил выполнять требования Мухаммеда Али, поэтому в 1839 г. началась вторая турецко-египетская война. Несмотря на то, что при штабе султанской армии находились опытные европейские военные советники, в том числе и знаменитый прусский полководец Мольтке, Стамбул вновь потерпел поражение. Османский адмирал Ахмет Фензи был вынужден передать турецкий военно-морской флот Египту, что еще в большей степени укрепило позиции Мухаммеда Али. После этого египетский властитель потребовал от нового султана Абдул-Меджида передать ему в качестве наследственного владения не только Египет, но и Сирию, Адану и остров Крит.

Противостояние османского султана и египетского вали превращалось в проблему мирового уровня, для решения которой в Лондоне была проведена конференция представителей пяти ведущих держав. Она предложила передать Мухаммеду Али Южную Сирию и предоставить наследственную власть для его потомков в Египте, но только при условии признания Мухаммедом Али подчинения султану Османской империи и возобновления выплаты дани. Естественно, что такие условия египетского вали не устроили и он отказался признавать вердикт конференции. После этого к египетскому побережью подошли корабли военно-морских флотов Великобритании и Австро-Венгрии. Мухаммед Али, опасаясь военного вторжения европейских армий, был вынужден признать решение конференции и в 1840 году возобновил выплату дани Османской империи.

В ослаблении бурно развивающегося Египта были заинтересованы мировые державы, видевшие в деятельности Мухаммеда Али опасность для собственных интересов на Ближнем Востоке и в Африке. С Османской империей, рыхлой и сотрясаемой внутренними конфликтами, британскому, французскому, австро-венгерскому правительствам было проще иметь дело, чем с непредсказуемым Мухаммедом Али, заботившимся о модернизации Египта и превращении его в сильную державу. Тем не менее, неудачи во внешней политике не повлияли на ход реформ во внутренней жизни самого Египта. Именно под руководством Мухаммеда Али были заложены основы для дальнейшей модернизации всех сторон жизни египетского общества. Последние годы своей долгой жизни Мухаммед Али тяжело болел. Он скончался в Александрии 3 апреля 1849 года, в возрасте 80 лет.
Автор: Илья Полонский

Использованы фотографии: http://jerusalem-ippo.org/, http://www.socialcompas.com/

Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 9
  1. ovod84 17 мая 2016 07:28
    Был великий человек , который проводил реформы и судьба в конце изменила ему, его сынок влез в долги и страна оккупировала Британия.
  2. Никола Бари 17 мая 2016 07:54
    Огромное спасибо за статью!
    1. alexej123 17 мая 2016 10:10
      Интересно, кто минус кинул? Коллега, согласен. Увлекаюсь историей. Но с этой "страницей" знаком не был. Спасибо за статью.
      1. SpnSr 17 мая 2016 13:53
        Цитата: alexej123
        с этой "страницей" знаком не был. Спасибо за статью.

        тоже, благодарен автору за статью!
        можно сделать ударение на то, что конец 18 века, начало формирования той карты ближнего востока, которую мы наблюдаем сейчас, из осколков османской империи, которая как таковая появилась из более крупного государства несколькими веками ранее!
        такое же дробление можно увидеть и на европейской части континента, но веком ранее, и на момент описываемых событий, европейская часть континента уже несколько раз умудрилась собраться в одно государство и распасться вновь!
        так же могло быть и ранее с территорией, которую занимает Россия, при том, что все предпосылки к этому были созданы и в первую очередь приходом на эту территорию мусульманства! но сначала этому противостоял Иван Грозный, а потом Романовы, после смены династии, собрали эти земли вновь, земли, которые не оставляют в покое наших западных «партнеров»
        и подобный вид на историю вырисовывается из текстов, в том числе и из этой статьи и статей которые были раньше...
    2. Комментарий был удален.
  3. tenere1200 17 мая 2016 08:30
    России на должность президента требуется Мухаммед Али. Честный и неподкупный. Способный нагибать проворовавшихся чиновников и духовенство. Аскетичного по природе.
    1. razmik72 17 мая 2016 12:51
      Цитата: tenere1200
      России на должность президента требуется Мухаммед Али. Честный и неподкупный. Способный нагибать проворовавшихся чиновников и духовенство. Аскетичного по природе.

      Такой правитель и нам бы подошел smile .
    2. qwert 17 мая 2016 13:22
      Цитата: tenere1200
      России на должность президента требуется Мухаммед Али. Честный и неподкупный. Способный нагибать проворовавшихся чиновников и духовенство. Аскетичного по природе.
      А кто то минуснул. Наверно, проворовшиеся чиновники тоже читают Топвар laughing
    3. kvd015 20 мая 2016 23:18
      А как же нынешний великий и могущий ?????
  4. Алексий 18 мая 2016 05:19
    Интересно. Даже не знал о таком человеке. А я-то думал в честь кого Кассиус Клей переименовался. Век живи - век учись.
  5. tiaman.76 19 мая 2016 20:49
    ОДИН ИЗ ПОСЛЕДНИХ ВЕЛИКИХ В ИСЛАМСКОМ МИРЕ..
Информация
Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня