Military Review

Italian armed forces to the beginning of the invasion of Ethiopia

10
Abyssinia


The area of ​​Abyssinia was 3,5 times Italy's area (without colonies). The capital Addis Ababa was located almost in the center of the country. Abyssinia could become the resource base of Italy, since its bowels were rich in minerals, including gold and oil. The diverse climatic conditions of the country and fertile soils made it possible to develop agriculture (2-3 harvest per year), cattle breeding, cotton growing, etc. Abyssinia was a poor agrarian country. At the same time, there was little bread and in the conditions of the war it was bought in Anglo-Egyptian Sudan. The main export goods were raw leather and coffee. Industry was present only in the form of crafts.

Abyssinia is distinguished by the fact that most of the territory is filled with high mountains, on which terrace-like mountains of 2500-3500 are towering. They are separated by a wide depression (rift) in the center of the country, which begins in the depths of Africa, near Lake Tanganyika. The depression ends at the Red Sea and divides the mountains into the northern (Eritrean) and southern (Somali) ranges.

Mountain gorges are impassable. The Eritrean Mountains represent a series of frontiers for a consistent defense to the north and northeast. The northern part of the Eritrean Range is located in Eritrea, which made it easy for the Italians to start the offensive. The mountainous terrain of the country facilitated defense and partisan actions and at the same time worsened the possibility of using technology. The most convenient for the offensive was the strip in the area of ​​the fault. But here in the east was the desert of Danakil. Thus, for the Blitzkrieg, troops were needed that were ready to fight in the mountain and desert theater, and the corresponding equipment.

Of the water lines, the Takkese River with its tributaries played the greatest importance. On the northern front, the border was the river Mareb. Lake Tana, which was important for irrigating cotton plantations in Sudan and Egypt (the Blue Nile flowed out of it), was the subject of a dispute between England and Italy. On the Blue Nile near Sennar, the British in 1925 built a dam to irrigate the fields. This grand structure gave Britain a reason to demand control over the regime of the Blue Nile in north-western Abyssinia. In the south, near the fault, a chain of lakes and a number of rivers flowing from the Somali range covered Addis Ababa from the Italian side of Somalia. In many parts of the east of the country during the drought there was an acute problem of water supply. The main forest tracts were located in the basin of the Takkaz River and along the rivers of the southern slope of the Somali Range. These forests allowed guerrilla operations.

From June to September, the so-called the period of "big rains", which created great difficulties in using aviation and mechanized transport, and also seriously raised the level of rivers and other bodies of water. Therefore, the Italian command planned a blitzkrieg to complete the hostilities before the "big rains." In addition, in the area of ​​the Somali Range and Addis Ababa there was also a period of “small rains” - from March to May (they were brought by monsoons from the Indian Ocean).

In Abyssinia, the road network was poorly developed. Almost all the ways were for the pack transport. With the northern operating direction coincided so-called. The “imperial” path is the caravan road from Eritrea to Addis Ababa. The same routes led from the south to the second most important city of Ethiopia - Harar. The road between Addis Ababa and Dessier, with appropriate repairs, allowed for car traffic. This road could be extended to the port of Assab, which the Italians considered. The Ethiopian capital was connected by a single-track railway to the French port of Djibouti, but this road was a French concession. In addition, the Abyssinians could use two roads to communicate with the outside world (during the war with Italy). Two roads went from Addis Ababa to Gallabat and Kurmuk (Sudan), one road from Harar to British Somalia. These ways could be used to obtain grain and ammunition. Thus, there were few communications in Abyssinia, which required serious road works and road protection from Italians.

The population of the country numbered 12 million. The main core of the population was the Amhara group (5 million). Their language was dominant. In Abyssinia dominated the feudal and patriarchal structures. Between the emperor (Negus) and the great princes (races) there were major contradictions on domestic policy issues related to the modernization of the country, the creation of a centralized state, a regular army and reforms aimed at the final elimination of slavery. Separate races, dissatisfied with the policy of centralization and modernization of the country, which led to the loss of power and income, have repeatedly revolted and had connections with European powers interested in the weakness of Ethiopia. As a result, Italy could rely on the Ethiopian collaborators, traitors, who put their personal interests above national ones. In addition, contradictions between the feudal class and the peasant masses, mostly landless, grew. In Ethiopia, rebellions began more than once.

Thus, the external enemies of Ethiopia could use part of the feudal lords who were dissatisfied with the modernization of the country, as well as national and religious contradictions. The technical backwardness of the country, poorly developed transport and communications, the lack of food security, the presence of dependent tribes and slaves weakened the country's defense capability.


Benito Mussolini meets with Ethiopian traitors in Rome

Armed forces of the parties to the beginning of the war. Italy

The Italian command, preparing for war, proceeded from two basic conditions. First, due to political complications in Europe, it was impossible to weaken the armed forces in Italy. Therefore, in return for divisions sent to Africa, new ones were immediately formed. As a result, the army in the metropolis not only did not decrease, but even increased. Mussolini boasted that he would keep 1911-1914 recruits under arms. birth until it deems it necessary, and that “900 thousand soldiers fully provide our security ... They are equipped with the latest weapons, issued by ... military factories ", which" are working at full speed for several months. "

Secondly, it was recognized that it was necessary to send such forces to Abyssinia in order to end the war as soon as possible. Already during the war, as it became clear that Italy was in no danger to Europe and the world community was indifferent to the tragedy of Abyssinia (except the USSR), Italy carried out additional mobilization and strengthened the colonial grouping.



Italian soldiers go to Abyssinia

Italian troops consisted of three types of divisions:

- Regular troops consisted of mobilized soldiers. Had a good combat training.

- Blackshirt divisions - voluntary national security police. These were the armed units of the National Fascist Party, organized by Mussolini. They included representatives of the nationalist intelligentsia, retired officers, bourgeois youth, and landowners. The blackshirts, though inferior in combat training to regular troops, but had a high fighting spirit, so they were interspersed into army corps and task forces.

- Colonial (native) divisions did not have a solid organization and were included in the regular troops. They were fairly well prepared and knew the local conditions well. But these units did not enjoy the full confidence of the command, so they were distributed between regular and fascist formations. Thus, the expeditionary army had a rather motley composition.

Italian armed forces to the beginning of the invasion of Ethiopia

Italian gunners

The first mobilization order was announced on 5 on February 1935 of the year. By the end of August 1935, the mobilization of troops originally intended for the war with Abyssinia was completed. On the whole, 5 regular, 4 black-shirt (fascist) and 2 native divisions were mobilized in several moves and sent to war. In addition, separate militia, police and native units that were not part of the divisions were formed and sent to the front. This amounted to more than 270 thousand soldiers. Together with the mobilized workers - 30 thousand Italians and 45 thousand local people of Eritrea and Somalia, up to 350 thousand people were concentrated on the Abyssinian front at the beginning of the war. Already during the war, Italy sent reinforcements. The Italian forces rose to 500 thousand men, including the 9 divisions of the regular army (7 infantry, 1 Alpine and 1 motorized), 6 division of the fascist militia. At the end of the war, the expeditionary army numbered up to 21 divisions, including 7 Black Shirt and 4 Colonial, 1 Cavalry Brigade and 35 individual battalions. Thus, Italy formed a powerful expeditionary army to end the war in a short time and not to delay the fighting.

Italian troops were equipped according to local conditions. In addition, they tried to ensure that the summoned contingents could quickly become familiar with local conditions. The infantry divisions, which were transferred to the Eritrean (Northern) Front, sent the natives of the highland regions of Italy; the troops destined for the Somali (Southern) Front were replenished with natives of Sicily, as well as with people who had experience of living in the subtropical and tropical conditions of South and Central America. Colonial (native) troops were replenished by the indigenous population of Eritrea, Somalia and Libya. The population of Eritrea and Somalia provided up to 15% of the expeditionary force.

Italy quite seriously preparing for war, the lessons of the last war, which ended in defeat, remembered. Troops completed tactical training in highland areas. For officers, many of whom knew the conditions of the colonial service, special courses were organized. The Italian General Staff issued a special instruction for action in the Abyssinian theater. The troops received the task, so that they, capturing a certain area, carefully mastered the occupied territory, built roads, bridges, adjusted the work of the rear. It was necessary to continue the offensive actions. Italy before the war organized in Ethiopia a reconnaissance network that studied the country, bribed feudal lords,
and led disruptive propaganda. This activity was facilitated by the absence of the Abyssinian security service and the use of diplomatic, trade, research missions.

Given that Britain could cut off the main communication, through Suez, Italy was serious about preparing the areas where the expeditionary army is concentrated in Eritrea and Somalia. If necessary, they were to become the main bases for the army. Expanded ports, built roads, airfields, etc. First of all, increased the capacity of ports in Eritrea. So, after upgrading, the main port of Massawa could accept more than 2 steamers instead of 3-40 ships a day. The port of Assa was also reconstructed, in Somalia, Italy, the ports of Mogadishu and Bender-Qasim. In addition to the already existing railways, the Massawa-Asmara line was built, Mogadishu-Lug was built. Since the main forces were concentrated in the north, then apart from the railway, the Massau-Asmara highway and the cable car were built. The ports of Mogadishu and Bender Qasim were connected by a highway. The airfield network was equipped and communication lines were laid. To ensure a quiet concentration of the arriving troops in the border strip, small forts with wire barriers were prepared. They were originally defended by colonial troops, and then regular units began to be located behind them. However, the Abyssinians did not prevent the enemy, they only hastily strengthened their border posts.

Much attention was paid to the army’s water supply, so that it was particularly important in eastern Ethiopia, where droughts occurred. Special units were introduced into the expeditionary army, which, on the one hand, were to build a network of artesian wells, on the other hand, deliver water to the troops by tank trucks (200 machines of 2500 liters each, for 10 thousands of people) and transport aircraft in desert areas. For the deployment of troops in the hot regions of Eritrea and Somalia, barracks were built of materials with low thermal conductivity. In the main points of the colonies built warehouses for supplies, placed refrigerators for meat. The ration of a soldier of the expeditionary army consisted of bread, meat, sugar, coffee, canned vegetables, fats and spices. A soldier’s stock of supplies consisted of 2 liters of water, 4-day rations of food (crackers and canned food). To do this, I had to reduce my personal ammo from 200 to 110 ammo.

General command of the Italian troops in East Africa was carried out by General Emilio de Bono (from November 1935, Field Marshal Pietro Bodoglio). Italy launched the main strike force in Eritrea, where the 10 regular and fascist divisions arrived. Of these, the Northern Front was formed, consisting first of 3 and then 5 of corps (75% of all the forces of the expeditionary army). The front struck Dessier (Dessie) and further on the Ethiopian capital. At the end of the war on the northern front there were 5 corps and two groups of generals Kouture and Mariotti to secure the flanks. The southern front in Somalia was of secondary importance and had to link as many Ethiopian troops as possible, advancing in the direction of Harer and Addis Ababa. Here the troops were combined into two operational groups (up to two divisions). The southern front was commanded by Rodolfo Graziani. There was also a central operational direction (up to one division). The troops of the Central Front were to provide the flanks and communications of the Northern and Southern factions and advance from the Assab area in the direction of Dessye.


Field Marshal Badoglio (left) and General de Bono (right)

Italian soldiers

To be continued ...
Author:
Articles from this series:
Second Italian-Ethiopian War

How Italy conquered Ethiopia
10 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. bionik
    bionik 26 May 2016 06: 54
    +1
    South African soldiers posing with a captured flag captured after the retreat of Italian troops in the Moyale region (Ethiopia).
    1. razmik72
      razmik72 26 May 2016 12: 38
      0
      Italy in Ethiopia acted like the last jackal.
  2. bionik
    bionik 26 May 2016 06: 55
    0
    Scottish soldiers are on the road in the Addis Ababa area.

    The photo was taken after the liberation of Ethiopia from Italian occupation by the Allied forces in 1941.
  3. bionik
    bionik 26 May 2016 06: 57
    0
    The Italians surrender after the surrender of the stronghold of Amba Alagi in Ethiopia. May 1941

    Following the successes of the British troops, the Italian forces, under the command of the Duke of Aosta, retreated south to Ethiopia, intending to give a decisive battle in a mountainous position near Amba Alagi, 80 miles south of Asmara. At the disposal of the Duke of Aosta there were only 7 thousand people, 40 guns and a supply of supplies for only three months. Given the senselessness of the resistance, on May 19, the Duke of Aosta readily accepted the "honorable conditions" of surrender. There were still isolated groups of Italian troops under the command of General Hajira in southwestern Ethiopia and under the command of General Nazi in northwestern Ethiopia (in the Gondar region), but until the fall they were surrounded and defeated, and Ethiopia was finally freed from the Italian occupation.
  4. qwert
    qwert 26 May 2016 07: 07
    0
    Native troops - sounds very threatening. It would be necessary for us to introduce such laughing
    1. Monarchist
      Monarchist 26 May 2016 07: 47
      0
      Monarchist. Yeah, still dress accordingly, and then everyone gets
    2. Lankaster
      Lankaster 26 May 2016 09: 42
      0
      By the way, the colonial units were well equipped
  5. Volga Cossack
    Volga Cossack 26 May 2016 07: 31
    0
    Wonderful cycle. Thank you, Alexander. I read yes, like many probably with pleasure!
  6. Lankaster
    Lankaster 26 May 2016 09: 20
    0
    the world community is indifferent to the tragedy of Abyssinia (except for the USSR)

    And how did the USSR help the Abyssinians?
    1. Aleksandr72
      Aleksandr72 26 May 2016 09: 57
      +1
      Being not linked to Abyssinia with the peace and mutual assistance treaties, the USSR had no right and could not provide actual assistance to this country. It is doubtful that the USSR, in the absence of a serious merchant fleet and an ocean navy, and even with the negative attitude of the Western powers, which did not give a damn about the problems of the Abyssinians, in practice could make at least some kind of supply to Ethiopia.
      But having entered the League of Nations in 1934, already in 1935 after the outbreak of Italian aggression in Ethiopia, the representative of the USSR (the only member of the League!) Condemned fascist Italy for this invasive war. Though so, than in any way.
      I have the honor.
      1. Lankaster
        Lankaster 26 May 2016 10: 18
        +1
        Quote: Aleksandr72
        the representative of the USSR (the only member of the League!) condemned fascist Italy for this predatory war

        And in 1937. The USSR was ordered in Italy by the leader "Tashkent" ... When the USSR was interested, the military supplies went to Spain and China.
        In general, it was an ordinary local colonial conflict and the fate of Abyssinia did not bother anyone.
    2. The comment was deleted.
  7. Rooney
    Rooney 26 May 2016 21: 57
    0
    Thanks for the article, very interesting!
  8. Ale.xey
    Ale.xey 26 May 2016 22: 47
    0
    Thank you for a very interesting article. I learned a lot.
  9. Backfire
    Backfire 27 May 2016 03: 32
    -1
    Thanks, very interesting.

Вооружённые силы Италии к началу вторжения в Эфиопию

Абиссиния

Площадь Абиссинии была в 3,5 раза больше площади Италии (без колоний). Столица Аддис-Абеба располагалась почти в центре страны. Абиссиния могла стать ресурсной базой Италии, так как её недра были богаты полезными ископаемыми, включая золото и нефть. Разнообразные климатические условия страны и плодородные почвы позволяли развивать земледелие (2-3 урожая в год), скотоводство, хлопководство и т. д. Абиссиния была бедной аграрной страной. При этом хлеба было мало и в условиях войны его закупали в англо-египетском Судане. Основными экспортными товарами были кожа-сырец и кофе. Промышленность присутствовала только в форме ремесел.

Абиссиния отличается тем, что большая часть территории заполнена высоким нагорьем, на котором возвышаются террасообразные горы средней высоты 2500-3500 метров. Они разделены широкой впадиной (разломом) в центре страны, который начинается в глубине Африки, в районе озера Танганьика. Впадина заканчивается у Красного моря и разделяет горы на северный (Эритрейский) и южный (Сомалийский) хребты.


Горные ущелья труднопроходимы. Эритрейские горы представляют собой ряд рубежей для последовательной обороны фронтом на север и северо-восток. Северная часть Эритрейского хребта находится в Эритрее, что облегчало итальянцам начало наступления. Горный рельеф страны облегчал оборону и партизанские действия и то же время ухудшал возможность использования техники. Наиболее удобной для наступления была полоса в районе разлома. Но здесь на востоке располагалась пустыня Данакиль. Таким образом, для блицкрига необходимы были войска готовые сражаться в горном и пустынном театре, и соответствующая техника.

Из водных рубежей наибольшее значение играла реке Таккезе с притоками. На северном фронте приграничным рубежом была река Мареб. Озеро Тана, которое имело значение для орошения хлопковых плантаций Судана и Египта (из него вытекал Голубой Нил), было предметом спора Англии и Италии. На Голубом Ниле в районе Сеннар британцы в 1925 г. построили плотину для орошения полей. Это грандиозное сооружение дало Британии повод требовать контроля над режимом вод Голубого Нила в северо-западной Абиссинии. На юге, в районе разлома, цепь озер и ряд рек, стекающих с Сомалийского хребта, прикрывали Аддис-Абебу со стороны итальянского Сомали. Во многих районах востока страны в период засухи остро стояла проблема водного снабжения. Основные лесные массивы располагались в бассейне реки Такказе и по течению рек южного склона Сомалийского хребта. Эти леса позволяли вести партизанские действия.

С июня по сентябрь наступал т. н. период «больших дождей», который создавал большие трудности в использовании авиации и механизированного транспорта, а также серьёзно повышал уровень рек и других водоемов. Поэтому итальянское командование планировало блицкриг, что завершить боевые действия до наступления «больших дождей». Кроме того, в районе Сомалийского хребта и Аддис-Абебы был ещё период «малых дождей» — с марта по май (их приносили муссоны с Индийского океана).

В Абиссинии дорожная сеть была слабо развита. Практически все пути были для вьючного транспорта. С северным операционным направлением совпадал т. н. «императорский» путь — караванная дорога из Эритреи в Аддис-Абебу. Такие же пути вёли с южного направления во второй по значению город Эфиопии — Харар. Дорога между Аддис-Абебой и Дессье, при соответствующем ремонте, допускала автомобильное движение. Эту дорогу можно было продлить до порта Ассаб, что и учли итальянцы. Эфиопская столица была связана одноколейной железной дорогой с французским портом Джибути, но эта дорога была французской концессией. Кроме того, абиссинцы могли использовать две дороги для связи с внешним миром (в условиях войны с Италией). Две дороги шли от Аддис-Абебы в Галлабат и Курмук (Судан), одна дорога от Харара в британское Сомали. Эти пути можно было использовать для получения зерна и боеприпасов. Таким образом, коммуникаций в Абиссинии было мало, это требовало от итальянцев серьёзных дорожных работ и охраны дорог.

Население страны насчитывало 12 млн. человек. Основным ядром населения была группа амхара (5 млн. человек). Их язык был господствующим. В Абиссинии господствовали феодальный и патриархальный уклады. Между императором (негусом) и крупными князьями (расами) существовали крупные противоречия по вопросам внутренней политики, связанные с модернизацией страны, с созданием централизованного государства, регулярной армии и реформами, направленными к окончательной ликвидации рабовладения. Отдельные расы, недовольные политикой централизации и модернизацией страны, что вело к потере власти и доходов, не раз поднимали мятежи и имели связи с европейскими державами, заинтересованными в слабости Эфиопии. В результате Италия могла опереться на эфиопских коллаборационистов, предателей, которые свои личные интересы ставили выше национальных. Кроме того, нарастали противоречия между классом феодалов и крестьянской массой, в основном, безземельной. В Эфиопии не раз начинались восстания.

Таким образом, внешние враги Эфиопии могли использовать часть феодалов, недовольных модернизацией страны, а также национальные и религиозные противоречия. Техническая отсталость страны, слабо развитый транспорт и коммуникации, отсутствие продовольственной безопасности, наличие зависимых племен и рабов ослабляли обороноспособность страны.

Вооружённые силы Италии к началу вторжения в Эфиопию

Бенито Муссолини в Риме встречается с эфиопскими предателями

Вооруженные силы сторон к началу войны. Италия

Итальянское командование, готовясь к войне, исходило из двух основных условий. Во-первых, из-за политических осложнений в Европе, нельзя было ослаблять вооруженные силы в Италии. Поэтому взамен отправленных в Африку дивизий немедленно формировали новые. В результате армия в метрополии не только не уменьшилась, а даже увеличилась. Муссолини хвастал, что будет держать под ружьем призывников 1911-1914 гг. рождения до тех пор, пока сочтёт нужным, и что «900 тыс. солдат полностью обеспечивают нашу безопасность… Они снабжены новейшим оружием, выпущенным… военными заводами», которые «в течение нескольких месяц работают полным ходом».

Во-вторых, признавалась необходимость послать в Абиссинию такие силы, чтобы завершить войну как можно скорее. Уже в ходе войны, по мере того как стало ясно, что Италии в Европе ничего не угрожает и мировое сообщество равнодушно к трагедии Абиссинии (кроме СССР), Италия провела дополнительную мобилизацию и усилила колониальную группировку.

Вооружённые силы Италии к началу вторжения в Эфиопию

Вооружённые силы Италии к началу вторжения в Эфиопию

Итальянские солдаты отправляются в Абиссинию

Итальянские войска состояли из трёх типов дивизий:

— Регулярные войска, состояли из мобилизованных солдат. Имели хорошую боевую подготовку.

— Дивизии чернорубашечников — добровольной милиции национальной безопасности. Это были вооруженные отряды Национальной фашистской партии, организованные Муссолини. В их состав входили представители националистической интеллигенции, отставные офицеры, буржуазная молодежь, землевладельцы. Чернорубашечники, хоть и уступали в боевой подготовке регулярным войскам, но имели высокий боевой дух, поэтому их вкрапливали в армейские корпуса и оперативные группы.

— Колониальные (туземные) дивизии не имели твердой организации и включались в регулярные войска. Они были довольно хорошо подготовлены и хорошо знали местные условия. Но эти части не пользовались полным доверием командования, поэтому их распределяли между регулярными и фашистскими соединениями. Таким образом, экспедиционная армия имела довольно пестрый состав.

Вооружённые силы Италии к началу вторжения в Эфиопию

Итальянские артиллеристы

Первый приказ о мобилизации был объявлен 5 февраля 1935 года. К концу августа 1935 года мобилизация войск, первоначально предназначенных для войны с Абиссинией, была завершена. В целом было мобилизовано в несколько приёмов и отправлено на войну 5 регулярных, 4 чернорубашечных (фашистских) и 2 туземных дивизии. Кроме того, были сформированы и отправлены на фронт отдельные милиционные, полицейские и туземные части, не входившие в состав дивизий. Это составило более 270 тыс. солдат. Вместе же с мобилизованными рабочими — 30 тыс. итальянцев и 45 тыс. местного населения Эритреи и Сомали, на абиссинском фронте в начале войны было сосредоточено до 350 тыс. человек. Уже в ходе войны Италия перебрасывала подкрепления. Итальянские силы возросли до 500 тыс. человек, включая 9 дивизий регулярной армии (7 пехотных, 1 альпийская и 1 моторизованная), 6 дивизии фашистской милиции. В конце войны экспедиционная армия насчитывала до 21 дивизии, включая 7 чернорубашечных и 4 колониальных, 1 кавалерийскую бригаду и 35 отдельных батальонов. Таким образом, Италия сформировала мощную экспедиционную армию, чтобы завершить войну в короткие сроки и не затягивать боевые действия.

Итальянские войска были снаряжены соответственно местным условиям. Кроме того, старались, чтобы призываемые контингенты могли быстро освоиться с местными условиями. В пехотные дивизии, которые перебрасывали на Эритрейский (Северный) фронт, направляли уроженцев высокогорных областей Италии; войска, предназначенные на Сомалийский (Южный) фронт, пополняли уроженцами Сицилии, а также людьми, которые имели опыт проживания в субтропических и тропических условиях Южной и Центральной Америки. Колониальные (туземные) войска пополнялись коренным населением Эритреи, Сомали и Ливии. Население Эритреи и Сомали предоставило до 15% состава экспедиционной армии.

Италия довольно серьёзно готовилась к войне, уроки прошлой войны, которая завершилась поражением, помнили. Войска прошли курс тактического обучения в высокогорных районах. Для офицеров, многие из которых знали условия колониальной службы, были организованы специальные курсы. Итальянский Генштаб издал специальную инструкцию для действия на абиссинском театре. Войска получили задачу, чтобы они, захватив определенный район, тщательно осваивали занятую территорию, строили дороги мосты, налаживали работу тыла. Это было необходимо, что продолжить наступательные действия. Италия до войны организовала в Эфиопии разведывательную сеть, которая изучала страну, подкупала феодалов,
и вела подрывную пропаганду. Эта деятельность была облегчена отсутствием службы безопасности Абиссинии и использованием дипломатических, торговых, научно-исследовательских миссий.

С учётом того, что Британия могла перекрыть основную коммуникацию, через Суэц, Италия серьёзным образом отнеслась к подготовке районов сосредоточения экспедиционной армии в Эритрее и Сомали. При необходимости они должны были стать главными базами для армии. Расширялись порты, строили дороги, аэродромы и т. д. В первую очередь увеличили возможности портов в Эритрее. Так, основной порт Массауа после модернизации мог принять вместо 2-3 пароходов в сутки более 40. Также был реконструирован порт Асса, в итальянском Сомали — порты Могадишо и Бендер-Касим. Кроме уже имеющихся железных дорог, была сооружена линия Массауа — Асмара, строилась Могадишо — Луг. Так как основные силы сосредотачивали на севере, то кроме железной дороги, было построено шоссе Массауа — Асмара и канатная дорога. Порты Могадишо и Бендер-Касим были соединены шоссе. Была оборудована аэродромная сеть и проложены линии связи. Для обеспечения спокойного сосредоточения прибывающих войск в приграничной полосе подготовили небольшие форты с проволочными заграждениями. Их первоначально защищали колониальные войска, а затем за ними стали располагать регулярные части. Однако абиссинцы не препятствовали противнику, они лишь спешно укрепляли свои пограничные посты.

Большое внимание уделялось водоснабжению армии, чтобы было особенно важно в восточной части Эфиопии, где случались засухи. В состав экспедиционной армии были введены специальные части, которые, с одной стороны, должны были построить сеть артезианских колодцев, с другой — доставлять воду войскам автоцистернами (200 машин по 2500 литров каждый, на 10 тыс. человек) и транспортными самолетами в пустынных районах. Для размещения войск в жарких районах Эритреи и Сомали были сооружены казармы из материалов с малой теплопроводность. В главнейших пунктах колоний построили склады для припасов, разместили холодильники для мяса. Паек солдата экспедиционной армии состоял из хлеба, мяса, сахара, кофе, овощных консервов, жиров и специй. Носимый запас солдата состоял из 2 л воды, 4-дневного пайка продовольствия (сухари и консервы). Для этого пришлось сократить личный боезапас с 200 до 110 патронов.

Общее командование итальянскими войсками в Восточной Африке осуществлял генерал Эмилио де Боно (с ноября 1935 г. — фельдмаршал Пьетро Бодольо). Основную ударную группировку Италия развернула в Эритрее, куда прибыло 10 регулярных и фашистских дивизий. Из них сформировали Северный фронт в составе сначала 3, а затем 5 корпусов (75% всех сил экспедиционной армии). Фронт наносил удар на Дессье (Дессие) и далее на эфиопскую столицу. В конце войны на Северном фронте было 5 корпусов и две группы генералов Кутуре и Мариотти для обеспечения флангов. Южный фронт в Сомали имел вспомогательное значение и должен был связать как можно больше эфиопских войск, наступая в направлении на Харер и Аддис-Абебу. Здесь войска были объединены в две оперативные группы (до двух дивизий). Южным фронтом командовал Родольфо Грациани. Ещё существовало центрально операционное направление (до одной дивизии). Войска Центрального фронта должны были обеспечить фланги и коммуникации Северной и Южной группировок и наступать из района Ассаба в направление на Дессье.

Вооружённые силы Италии к началу вторжения в Эфиопию

Фельдмаршал Бадольо (слева) и генерал де Боно (справа)
Вооружённые силы Италии к началу вторжения в Эфиопию

Итальянские солдаты

Продолжение следует…
Автор: Самсонов Александр


Статьи из этой серии:

Вторая итало-эфиопская война

Как Италия захватила Эфиопию

Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 10
  1. bionik 26 мая 2016 06:54
    Южноафриканские солдаты позируют с трофейным флагом, захваченным после отступления итальянских войск в районе Мояле (Эфиопия).
    1. razmik72 26 мая 2016 12:38
      Италия в Эфиопии действовала,как последний шакал.
  2. bionik 26 мая 2016 06:55
    Шотландские солдаты идут по дороге в районе Аддис-Абебы.

    Фотография сделана после освобождения Эфиопии от итальянской оккупации союзными войсками в 1941 году.
  3. bionik 26 мая 2016 06:57
    Итальянцы сдаются в плен после капитуляции опорного пункта Амба-Алаги в Эфиопии. Май 1941 года.

    После успехов английских войск итальянские войска под командованием герцога Аосты отошли на юг в Эфиопию, намереваясь дать решительный бой на горной позиции у Амба-Алаги, в 80 милях южнее Асмары. В распоряжении герцога Аосты оставалось всего 7 тыс. человек, 40 орудий и запас снабжения всего лишь на три месяца. Учитывая бессмысленность сопротивления, 19 мая герцог Аоста с готовностью принял «почетные условия» капитуляции. Оставались еще изолированные группы итальянских войск под командованием генерала Гадзиры в юго-западной Эфиопии и под командованием генерала Нази в северо-западной Эфиопии (в районе Гондара), но до осени они были окружены и разгромлены, и Эфиопия была окончательно освобождена от италяснкой оккупации.
  4. qwert 26 мая 2016 07:07
    Туземные войска- звучит ну очень угрожающе. Надо бы и нам такие ввести laughing
    1. Монархист 26 мая 2016 07:47
      Монархист.Ага еще одеть соответствено и тогда и все попадают
    2. Lankaster 26 мая 2016 09:42
      Кстати, колониальные отряды были неплохо экипированы
  5. казак волгский 26 мая 2016 07:31
    Замечательный цикл. Спасибо Александр. читаю да как и многие наверное с удовольствием!
  6. Lankaster 26 мая 2016 09:20
    мировое сообщество равнодушно к трагедии Абиссинии (кроме СССР)

    А чем СССР абиссинцам помог?
    1. Александр72 26 мая 2016 09:57
      Будучи не связанным с Абиссинией договорами о мире и взаимопомощи, СССР не имел права и не мог оказать этой стране фактическую помощь. Сомнительно, что СССР при отсутствии серьезного торгового флота и океанского военно-морского флота, да еще и при отрицательном отношении западных держав, которым было наплевать на проблемы абиссинцев, на практике мог осуществить хоть какие-то поставки в Эфиопию.
      Но вступив Лигу Наций в 1934 году, уже в 1935 г. после начала итальянской агрессии в Эфиопии представитель СССР (единственный из всех членов Лиги!) осудил фашистскую Италию за эту захватническую войну. Хоть так, чем вообще никак.
      Честь имею.
      1. Lankaster 26 мая 2016 10:18
        Цитата: Александр72
        представитель СССР (единственный из всех членов Лиги!) осудил фашистскую Италию за эту захватническую войн

        А в 1937г. СССР заказал в Италии лидер "Ташкент"... Когда СССР был заинтересован, то военные грузы шли и в Испанию, и в Китай.
        Вообще, это был обычный локальный колониальный конфликт и судьба Абиссинии не волновала никого.
    2. Комментарий был удален.
  7. Rooney 26 мая 2016 21:57
    Спасибо за статью, очень интересно!
  8. Ale.xey 26 мая 2016 22:47
    Спасибо за очень интересную статью.Много нового узнал.
  9. Бекфайр 27 мая 2016 03:32
    Спасибо очень интересно.
Информация
Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня