The path to the lake Lobnor. The second expedition of Przhevalsky

5
24 August 1876, exactly one hundred and forty years ago, began the second expedition of Nikolai Przhevalsky. The famous traveler left the city of Guldja (now he is in the Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region of China) in the south-east direction. Przhevalsky was accompanied by nine people on four riding horses and with twenty-four camels.

By the time of the second expedition, 37, the year-old Nikolai Mikhailovich Przhevalsky (1839-1888) was already an experienced traveler. Behind Przhevalsky, by the way - a professional soldier, were traveling in the Far East and Central Asia, and most importantly - his illustrious first expedition to the desert regions of Mongolia and Xinjiang. A native of the village of Kimborovo, in the Smolensk province, Nikolai Przhevalsky was noble by birth, and his clan received the Silver Bow and Arrow emblem, turned upwards on Red Field for military prowess in the battles of the troops of the Polish king Stefan Batory. Yes, the ancestors of Przhevalsky at that time fought against the Russians, but after a century their descendant Nikolai became a Russian officer and made a great contribution both to geographical science and to the expansion of Russian influence in Central Asia.



Having completed a course of study at the Smolensk gymnasium in 1855, Przhevalsky chose a military career and entered as a non-commissioned officer in the Ryazan infantry regiment. Soon he received the first officer rank and transferred to the 28 th Polotsk Infantry Regiment. However, service in the garrison units did not deceive the future traveler, it seemed to him very boring. It seemed to the young man that he was waiting for more large-scale affairs and accomplishments than the service of an ensign in a provincial infantry regiment. It was at this time that he caught fire with the prospects for research into unexplored regions of Siberia and the Far East. But it was not easy to realize the dream of traveling - after all, who would listen to the usual warrant officer from the Polotsk regiment? Przhevalsky enrolled in the General Staff School, from which he graduated in 1863 year.

However, Przhevalsky, reinstated as a lieutenant, returned to the Polotsk Infantry Regiment, volunteered to suppress the Polish uprising of the 1863 of the year, and then was transferred to teaching work at the Warsaw Junker School. Service in the school provided an excellent opportunity to combine scientific research with a military career. In the end, in 1866, Przhevalsky managed to achieve his transfer to the headquarters of the East-Siberian military district in Irkutsk. It was unspeakable luck and, in principle, it was with her that Przhevalsky's journey began as a traveler, an explorer of unexplored regions of Siberia, the Far East and Central Asia. The young officer dreamed of traveling to Mongolia and Tibet, but the leadership of the geographical society believed that he had no experience of serious Przhevalsky expeditions to go there. Therefore, the first appointment Przhevalsky received in the Ussuri region. He explored poorly studied areas of the Ussuri region, having covered 1100 kilometers over the winter. In Manchuria, Przhevalsky pacified local Chinese robbers. For this, he was appointed senior adjutant of the headquarters of the troops of the Amur Region, and the officer reflected the results of the expeditions in the works “On the non-native population in the southern part of the Amur Region” and “Journey to the Ussuri region”.

In 1870, Nikolai Przhevalsky undertook the first long-awaited journey to Central Asia. He arrived in Kyakhta, from where he left for Beijing, where he received permission to travel in Xinjiang. From Beijing, the Przhevalsky path lay to the Dalai-Nur lake, then to the Yin-Shan and Suma-Hody ranges, to the Alashan desert and the Alashan mountains. In ten months, the expedition traveled about 3700 kilometers. In 1872, the city of Przhevalsky went to Cooko-Nor lake, trying to get to Tibet, but this attempt was unsuccessful and the traveler returned to Kyakhta. The results of the first Central Asian expedition of Przhevalsky were reflected in the large-scale work “Mongolia and the Country of Tangut”.



Thus, Przhevalsky began his second expedition deep into Central Asia as a trained man. He set the task to cross the mountains of Eastern Tien Shan and go to Lake Lobnor, then conduct research there, collect collections, return to Gulja and from there follow to Tibet. In the mountains of Eastern Tien Shan, the travelers headed along the valley of the Ili River, then turned along the Kunges River - the right source of the Ili. All this time, Przhevalsky and his assistants collected samples of local flora and fauna, for example, they caught the Tien Shan bear, a dark brown bear with long white claws on its front paws. Further, through the forests of the valley of the River Tsanma, the travelers reached the Narat ridge and overcame it found themselves on the Yuldus Plateau. Thus, the Przhevalsky expedition approached East Turkestan, where at that time there was a rather tense and dangerous political situation for Russian travelers.

A significant part of Eastern Turkestan at the time of the events described was part of the state of Yettishar - “Semigradiye”. This state formation existed for 12 years, from 1865 to 1877, and included vast areas of modern Xinjiang, including such important administrative and trade centers as Kashgar, Yarkand, Urumqi. The ruler of this state was Magomet Yakub-Bek Badaulet (1820-1877) - a man of obscure origin and complex biography, who commanded the troops of the Kashgar khan, and then usurped power in Kashgar and adjacent areas and proclaimed himself Khan Yettishar. Even the nationality of Yakub-bek is still unknown - some researchers consider him a Tajik, others Uzbek, some speak of Mongolian origin. Becoming the ruler of Yettishar, Yakub-bek took the title "Atalyk Ghazi Badaulet" - "Defender of Faith and Lucky."

The second expedition of Przhevalsky was to deal with this man. Yakub-bek assured the Russian travelers of his good intentions in every possible way, but in fact he was very wary of Przhevalsky. It is quite understandable - the time was troubled, and the forces of the Manchu dynasty of China and the internal feuds of the feudal lords threatened the state of Yettishar. East Turkestan was also a sphere of intersection of interests of the Russian and British empires. Naturally, any foreigners appearing in these parts were perceived by the Kashgar authorities as spies. Przhevalsky’s expeditions allowed him to stop in the town of Korla, but the soldiers were sent to guard, who were instructed not to allow the contacts of the Russian travelers with the local population. Yakub-bek thought for two weeks and finally allowed the expedition to proceed further.

4 November 1876, Przewalski and his companions left Korla toward Lake Lobnor. Of course, Yakub-bek could not leave the expedition without supervision, so the Kashgar convoy under the command of Zaman-bek was put in charge of the travelers. Kashgarians still did not allow Przhevalsky’s contacts with local residents and, in an effort to force travelers to abandon their plans, led the expedition to the Tarim River in the most difficult way - through the Konchedarya and Inchchedarya rivers. But, having overcome 90 kilometers, the travelers nevertheless reached the Tarim River in the area where the Calendars flow into it. The expedition crossed the river on a raft. There was very little way to Lake Lobnor, but the Kashgar convoy deceived Przhevalsky. The people of Zaman-bek told the traveler that there was no direct route to Lake Lobnor, and they led the expedition to the village of Charhalyk for the winter. In Charhalyk, Przhevalsky left a collection of the expedition, three Cossacks for protection and a Kashgar convoy, while he himself went with the other three Cossacks and his assistant Eclon to the Altyntag Mountains. Locals told that wild camels are found here, but for all the time Przhevalsky managed to see a wild camel only once, and then he quickly disappeared from view. In the Altynta mountains, Przhevalsky met the new 1877 year. In early February, the traveler returned to Charhalyk, to immediately speak to the lake Lobnor. The whole of February and the first two-thirds of March 1877, the Russian expedition spent on Lake Lobnor.



Drying lake Lobnor water level depends solely on the Tarim River. Here we make a retreat to modern realities. In the first half of the twentieth century, the lake had an area of ​​about 3100 km², but then began to dry out rapidly. This was facilitated by the development of artificial irrigation in Xinjiang, and the population growth in the region, where the Chinese began to move strongly in the second half of the twentieth century, and wind erosion. As a result, the lake broke up into several smaller lakes and marshes. According to environmentalists, massive cutting down of vegetation on its shores played an important role in the death of Lake Lobnor. Locals cut down poplars, willows, reeds, tugai for use as fuel. Deprived of a natural "green shield", the lake began to dry out.

However, when Przhevalsky visited there, he still found the lake larger in area, with a rich fauna. Millions of floating birds gathered on Lobnor, the most were ducks. The traveler noted that there are a lot of birds here, but they are not very diverse - Przhevalsky counted only 27 species.

While the expedition was on Lobnor, Przhevalsky had the opportunity to get acquainted with the life and lifestyle of the local population - Karakurchins. By this time, the convoy commander Zaman Bey began to treat travelers more condescendingly and had already allowed them to contact with local residents. Przhevalsky found that Karakurchins, who live in eleven villages in the vicinity of Lobnor, speak a Uygur dialect close to the Hotan dialect, most of them belong to the Caucasoid type, although there are many among them with clearly Mongoloid appearance.

By the time of the Przhevalsky expedition, the Karakurchinians were huddled in reed huts, while these were heated with reeds. The main occupation of Karakurchin were fishing and hunting for ducks - this gave them food. Naturally, in the Karakuchin villages reigned utter poverty. Przhevalsky noted that although Karakurchins are considered Muslims, he did not notice any particular religiosity in their behavior. In his memoirs, he writes that he had never seen how the Karakurchins make namaz, did not find them and the clergy or spiritual teachers.

The expedition managed to acquire the skins and skulls of wild camels. Thus, it was found that a double-humped camel is found in the deserts of Central Asia. Local residents told the traveler in more detail about the habits of a wild camel, the peculiarities of its behavior. It turned out that, compared with a domesticated relative, a wild camel has much more sharpness and mobility, it moves very quickly, it can even climb such mountains, where it is difficult for a person to climb.

After exploring the area around Lake Lobnor, Przhevalsky, with his 25 expedition on April 1877, returned to Korla. There, travelers were again accommodated in a guest house guarded by the Kashgar convoy. Finally Nikolay Przhevalsky was able to meet with Yakub-bek and give him presents, after which the expedition received four horses and ten camels from the Khan. However, Yakub-bek clearly saved on camels - only two days after the caravan left Korla, the camels passed to them fell. The expedition remained 6 horses and 10 camels. The travelers set a course for the Tien-Shan Mountains, to which they were accompanied by the Kashgarians. Out on the Yuldus Plateau, Przhevalsky sent a Cossack and a translator to Gulja - for help. Three weeks later, a caravan of new camels and food arrived. 3 July 1877, the Przhevalsky expedition returned to Gulja. Here Nicholas Przhevalsky became aware of another important event for him - while he was on an expedition, at the end of March 1877, he was given the military rank of colonel. For a thirty-seven-year-old officer, this was a good career, especially considering that he did not command commanders.

The path to the lake Lobnor. The second expedition of Przhevalsky


The Przhevalsky expedition had been in Kuldja for two months. During this time, travelers were able to relax, as well as disassemble the collections collected during the journey. 18 August 1877 Przewalski completed the writing of the report, which was then published in the "Proceedings of the Geographical Society". While Przhevalsky was in Kuldzha, large-scale events took place in East Turkestan. 31 May 1877 was killed by Lord Yettishara Yakub-Bey Badaulet. He fell at the hands of his own courtiers, dissatisfied with the policy of the Khan. The following year, the Chinese took advantage of this circumstance - the troops of the Qing Empire invaded East Turkestan and destroyed the state of Yettishar. The remains of Yakub-bek were dug out of the grave and burned.

While in Kuldzha, Przhevalsky was always dreaming about traveling to Tibet, but at that time a civil war began in Tibet. The road to the mysterious country from Kashgaria was closed, so the traveler decided to follow the Jungar steppes to Hami and further south to Tibet. 28 August The 1877 expedition, consisting of Przhevalsky, Eklon, four Cossacks and two soldiers, as well as 3 horses and 24 camels, emerged from Gulgi. With great difficulty, having passed through the endless sands of Central Dzungaria, travelers came to Guchen. While traveling along Dzungaria, Przhevalsky fell ill. He could no longer ride, he was in a fever. 27 November 1877, the expedition turned back. It was decided to recover in the hospital and try again to go to Tibet. 20 December 1877 Przhevalsky and his companions arrived in Zaisan. Having stayed there until mid-March, Przhevalsky again decided to go forward. 19 March 1878 expedition left Zaisan. However, soon the war ministry gave Przhevalsky an order to postpone the trip to Tibet until a more favorable time.

Przewalski himself considered his second trip unsuccessful. But the scientific results of this expedition are beyond any doubt. After all, the most valuable collections of flora and fauna were collected, Lake Lobnor was mapped, the Altyntag mountains were explored, the way of life of the residents of the Lobnor coast - Karakurchins was described. In 1878, the expedition to Lobnor Przhevalsky was awarded the Humboldt Big Gold Medal.
Our news channels

Subscribe and stay up to date with the latest news and the most important events of the day.

5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. +3
    August 24 2016
    I read it with interest. Everyone heard about Przhevalsky’s horse, but completely forgot about his other merits. I am pleased to read such articles on VO. Only for some reason, plus the article does not work.
  2. +3
    August 24 2016
    "Przhevalsky" is a very good film directed by Sergei Yutkevich, filmed at the "Mosfilm" studio in 1951 ... I watched it on TV as a child .. In the summer holidays after lunch, there was such a period somewhere in the seventies they showed biographical films .. It's a pity. .Not broadcasting now .. Thank you, Ilya for the article ..
  3. +2
    August 24 2016
    In Balykchy (formerly Rybachye), at the entrance to the city, on the shores of Lake Issyk-Kul, a monument was erected to Przhevalskomu in the 70s, local residents take care of it and take care of it. Come to Issyk-Kul and you will see it, it is impossible not to notice. Also, there is a monument to another researcher of Kyrgyzstan Semenov Tien-Shansky.
  4. 0
    August 27 2016
    thanks for the article .. very interesting
  5. 0
    August 27 2016
    thanks for the article .. The British Royal Geographical Society called Nikolai Przhevalsky "the most outstanding traveler in the world. I also note also an outstanding researcher. Przhevalsky's follower was Kozlov Peter Kuzmich

"Right Sector" (banned in Russia), "Ukrainian Insurgent Army" (UPA) (banned in Russia), ISIS (banned in Russia), "Jabhat Fatah al-Sham" formerly "Jabhat al-Nusra" (banned in Russia) , Taliban (banned in Russia), Al-Qaeda (banned in Russia), Anti-Corruption Foundation (banned in Russia), Navalny Headquarters (banned in Russia), Facebook (banned in Russia), Instagram (banned in Russia), Meta (banned in Russia), Misanthropic Division (banned in Russia), Azov (banned in Russia), Muslim Brotherhood (banned in Russia), Aum Shinrikyo (banned in Russia), AUE (banned in Russia), UNA-UNSO (banned in Russia), Mejlis of the Crimean Tatar People (banned in Russia), Legion “Freedom of Russia” (armed formation, recognized as terrorist in the Russian Federation and banned)

“Non-profit organizations, unregistered public associations or individuals performing the functions of a foreign agent,” as well as media outlets performing the functions of a foreign agent: “Medusa”; "Voice of America"; "Realities"; "Present time"; "Radio Freedom"; Ponomarev; Savitskaya; Markelov; Kamalyagin; Apakhonchich; Makarevich; Dud; Gordon; Zhdanov; Medvedev; Fedorov; "Owl"; "Alliance of Doctors"; "RKK" "Levada Center"; "Memorial"; "Voice"; "Person and law"; "Rain"; "Mediazone"; "Deutsche Welle"; QMS "Caucasian Knot"; "Insider"; "New Newspaper"

Путь на озеро Лобнор. Вторая экспедиция Пржевальского

24 августа 1876 года, ровно сто сорок лет назад, началась вторая экспедиция Николая Пржевальского. Знаменитый путешественник вышел из города Кульджа (ныне он находится на территории Синьцзян-Уйгурского автономного района Китая) в юго-восточном направлении. Сопровождали Пржевальского девять человек на четырех верховых лошадях и с двадцатью четырьмя верблюдами.

Путь на озеро Лобнор. Вторая экспедиция Пржевальского Ко времени второй экспедиции 37-летний Николай Михайлович Пржевальский (1839-1888) уже был опытным путешественником. За плечами Пржевальского, кстати — профессионального военнослужащего, были путешествия на Дальнем Востоке и в Центральной Азии, а главное — его прославленная первая экспедиция в пустынные районы Монголии и Синьцзяна. Уроженец деревни Кимборово, что в Смоленской губернии, Николай Пржевальский по происхождению был шляхтичем, а его род получил герб «Серебряные Лук и Стрела, повёрнутые вверх на Красном Поле» за воинскую доблесть в сражениях в составе войск польского короля Стефана Батория. Да-да, предки Пржевальского в то далекое время воевали против русских, но спустя столетия их потомок Николай стал русским офицером и внес большой вклад как в географическую науку, так и в расширение российского влияния в Центральной Азии.

Завершив в 1855 году курс обучения в Смоленской гимназии, Пржевальский выбрал для себя военную карьеру и поступил унтер-офицером в Рязанский пехотный полк. Вскоре он получил первое офицерское звание и перевелся в 28-й Полоцкий пехотный полк. Однако служба в гарнизонных частях не прельщала будущего путешественника, казалась ему весьма скучной. Молодому человеку казалось, что его ждут более масштабные дела и свершения, чем служба прапорщика в провинциальном пехотном полку. Именно в это время он загорелся перспективами исследования неизведанных районов Сибири и Дальнего Востока. Но реализовать мечту о путешествиях было не просто — в конце концов, кто бы прислушался к обычному прапорщику из Полоцкого полка? Пржевальский поступил в Школу Генерального штаба, которую окончил в 1863 году.


Однако произведенный в поручики Пржевальский вновь вернулся в Полоцкий пехотный полк, добровольцем участвовал в подавлении Польского восстания 1863 года, а затем был переведен на преподавательскую работу в Варшавское юнкерское училище. Служба в училище давала прекрасную возможность совмещать научные исследования с военной карьерой. В конце концов, в 1866 году Пржевальскому удалось добиться своего перевода в штаб Восточно-Сибирского военного округа в Иркутске. Это была несказанная удача и, в принципе, именно с нее и начался путь Пржевальского как путешественника, исследователя неизученных районов Сибири, Дальнего Востока и Центральной Азии. Молодой офицер мечтал о путешествии в Монголию и Тибет, но руководство географического общества считало, что не имевшего прежде опыта серьезных экспедиций Пржевальского туда направлять не надо. Поэтому первое назначение Пржевальский получил в Уссурийский край. Он исследовал плохо изученные районы Уссурийского края, пройдя за зиму 1100 километров. В Маньчжурии Пржевальский усмирил местных китайских разбойников. За это его назначили старшим адъютантом штаба войск Приамурской области, а результаты экспедиций офицер отразил в работах «Об инородческом населении в южной части Приамурской области» и «Путешествие в Уссурийский край».

В 1870 г. Николай Пржевальский предпринял первое долгожданное путешествие в Центральную Азию. Он прибыл в Кяхту, откуда выехал в Пекин, где получил разрешения на путешествия в Синьцзяне. Из Пекина путь Пржевальского лежал к озеру Далай-Нур, затем — на хребты Инь-Шань и Сума-Ходи, в пустыню Алашань и Алашанские горы. За десять месяцев экспедиция прошла около 3700 километров. В 1872 г. Пржевальский направился к озеру Куку-Нор, стремясь попасть в Тибет, но эта попытка оказалась неудачной и путешественник вернулся в Кяхту. Результаты первой центральноазиатской экспедиции Пржевальского были отражены в масштабном труде «Монголия и страна тангутов».

Путь на озеро Лобнор. Вторая экспедиция Пржевальского

Таким образом, свою вторую экспедицию вглубь Центральной Азии Пржевальский начинал уже подготовленным человеком. Он поставил задачу пересечь горы Восточного Тянь-Шаня и выйти на озеро Лобнор, после чего провести там исследования, собрать коллекции, вернуться в Кульджу и оттуда следовать в Тибет. В горы Восточного Тянь-Шаня путешественники направились по долине реки Или, затем повернули вдоль реки Кунгес — правого истока Или. Все это время Пржевальский и его помощники собирали образцы местной флоры и фауны, например — добыли тянь-шаньского медведя — темно-бурого, с длинными белыми когтями на передних лапах. Далее, через леса долины реки Цанма, путешественники вышли к хребту Нарат и преодолев его оказались на плато Юлдус. Таким образом, экспедиция Пржевальского подошла к Восточному Туркестану, где в это время была достаточно напряженная и опасная для русских путешественников политическая обстановка.

Значительная часть Восточного Туркестана ко времени описываемых событий входила в состав государства Йеттишар — «Семиградье». Это государственное образование просуществовало 12 лет, с 1865 по 1877 годы и включало в себя обширные районы современного Синьцзяна, в том числе и такие важные административные и торговые центры как Кашгар, Яркенд, Урумчи. Путь на озеро Лобнор. Вторая экспедиция Пржевальского Властителем этого государства был Магомет Якуб-бек Бадаулет (1820-1877) — человек неясного происхождения и сложной биографии, который командовал войсками кашгарского хана, а затем узурпировал власть в Кашгаре и сопредельных областях и провозгласил себя ханом Йеттишара. До сих пор неизвестна даже национальная принадлежность Якуб-бека — одни исследователи считают его таджиком, другие узбеком, третьи говорят о монгольском происхождении. Став властителем Йеттишара, Якуб-бек принял титул «Аталык Гази Бадаулет» — «Защитник Веры и Счастливец».

С этим человеком и предстояло иметь дело второй экспедиции Пржевальского. Якуб-бек всячески заверял русских путешественников в своих добрых намерениях, однако на самом деле отнесся к Пржевальскому очень настороженно. Это вполне можно понять — время было смутное, а государству Йеттишар угрожали и войска маньчжурской династии Китая, и внутренние распри феодалов. Восточный Туркестан представлял собой и сферу пересечения интересов Российской и Британской империй. Естественно, что любых чужеземцев, появлявшихся в этих краях, власти Кашгара воспринимали как лазутчиков. Экспедиции Пржевальского разрешили остановиться в городе Корла, но выставили караул солдат, которому было дано поручение не допускать контактов русских путешественников с местным населением. Якуб-бек думал две недели и наконец разрешил экспедиции следовать дальше.

4 ноября 1876 года Пржевальский и его спутники вышли из Корлы в сторону озера Лобнор. Разумеется, Якуб-бек не мог оставить экспедицию без присмотра, поэтому к путешественникам был приставлен кашгарский конвой под командованием Заман-бека. Кашгарцы по-прежнему не допускали контакты Пржевальского с местными жителями и, стремясь вынудить путешественников отказаться от своих планов, вели экспедицию к реке Тарим самым сложным путем — через реки Кончедарья и Инчикедарья. Но, преодолев 90 километров, путешественники все же вышли к реке Тарим в районе впадения в нее Угендарьи. Через реку экспедиция переправилась на плоту. До озера Лобнор оставалось совсем немного пути, но кашгарский конвой обманул Пржевальского. Люди Заман-бека сообщили путешественнику, что прямого пути на озеро Лобнор здесь нет, и повели экспедицию в деревню Чархалык на зимовку. В Чархалыке Пржевальский оставил коллекцию экспедиции, трех казаков для охраны и кашгарский конвой, а сам поехал с другими тремя казаками и своим помощником Эклоном на горы Алтынтаг. Местные жители рассказывали, что здесь водятся дикие верблюды, однако за все время Пржевальскому удалось только один раз увидеть дикого верблюда, да и то он быстро скрылся из вида. В горах Алтынтага Пржевальский встретил новый 1877 год. В начале февраля путешественник вернулся в Чархалык, чтобы сразу же выступить к озеру Лобнор. Весь февраль и первые две трети марта 1877 года русская экспедиция провела на озере Лобнор.

Путь на озеро Лобнор. Вторая экспедиция Пржевальского


Высыхающее озеро Лобнор уровнем воды зависит исключительно от реки Тарим. Здесь сделаем отступление к современным реалиям. Еще в первой половине ХХ века озеро имело площадь около 3100 км², но затем стало стремительно высыхать. Этому способствовали и развитие искусственного орошения в Синьцзяне, и рост численности населения региона, куда во второй половине ХХ века стали усиленно переселяться китайцы, и ветровая эрозия. В результате озеро распалось на несколько более мелких озер и болот. По мнению экологов, важнейшую роль в гибели озера Лобнор сыграла массированная вырубка растительности на его берегах. Местные жители вырубали тополя, ивы, тростник, тугаи для использования в качестве топлива. Лишившись естественного «зеленого щита», озеро стало засыхать.

Однако, когда там побывал Пржевальский, он еще застал озеро большим по площади, с богатой фауной. На Лобноре собирались миллионы плавающих птиц, больше всего было уток. Путешественник отмечал, что птиц здесь очень много, но они не отличаются разнообразием — Пржевальский насчитал всего 27 видов.

Пока экспедиция находилась на Лобноре, Пржевальский имел возможность ознакомиться с жизнью и бытом местного населения — каракурчинцев. К этому времени командовавший конвоем Заман-бек стал относиться к путешественникам более снисходительно и уже разрешал им контактировать с местными жителями. Пржевальский установил, что каракурчинцы, проживающие в одиннадцати деревнях в окрестностях Лобнора, говорят на диалекте уйгурского языка, близком к хотанскому наречию, в большинстве своем относятся к европеоидному типу, хотя много среди них и людей с явно монголоидной внешностью.

Путь на озеро Лобнор. Вторая экспедиция Пржевальского Ко времени экспедиции Пржевальского каракурчинцы ютились в тростниковых хижинах, тростником же такие жилища и отапливались. Главным занятием каракурчинцев были рыбная ловля и охота на уток — это и давало им пропитание. Естественно, что в каракурчинских деревнях царила полнейшая нищета. Пржевальский отмечал, что хотя каракурчинцы считаются мусульманами, особой религиозности в их поведении он не заметил. В своих воспоминаниях он пишет, что ни разу не видел, как каракурчинцы совершают намаз, не обнаружил срежи них и священнослужителей или духовных учителей.

Экспедиции удалось приобрести шкуры и черепа диких верблюдов. Таким образом, было установлено, что в пустынях Центральной Азии водится двугорбый дикий верблюд. Местные жители более подробно рассказали путешественнику о повадках дикого верблюда, особенностях его поведения. Выяснилось, что по сравнению с одомашненным родственником дикий верблюд обладает куда большей сметливостью и подвижностью, очень быстро передвигается, способен даже лазать по таким горам, куда и человеку сложно забраться.

Изучив окрестности озера Лобнор, Пржевальский со своей экспедицией 25 апреля 1877 года вернулся в город Корла. Там путешественников вновь разместили в гостевом доме под охраной кашгарского конвоя. Наконец Николаю Пржевальскому удалось встретиться с Якуб-беком и передать ему подарки, после чего экспедиция получила от хана четыре лошади и десять верблюдов. Впрочем, на верблюдах Якуб-бек явно сэкономил — уже спустя два дня после выхода каравана из Корлы, переданные им верблюды пали. В экспедиции оставалось 6 лошадей и 10 верблюдов. Путешественники взяли курс на Тянь-Шаньские горы, до которых их сопровождали кашгарцы. Выйдя на плато Юлдус, Пржевальский отправил казака и переводчика в Кульджу — за подмогой. Спустя три недели прибыл караван с новыми верблюдами и продовольствием. 3 июля 1877 года экспедиция Пржевальского вернулась в Кульджу. Здесь же Николаю Пржевальскому стало известно и об еще одном важном для него событии — пока он находился в экспедиции, в конце марта 1877 года ему присвоили воинское звание полковника. Для тридцатисемилетнего офицера это была неплохая карьера, тем более, если учитывать, что он не командовал строевыми подразделениями.

Путь на озеро Лобнор. Вторая экспедиция Пржевальского


В Кульдже экспедиция Пржевальского находилась два месяца. За это время путешественники смогли отдохнуть, а также разобрать собранные во время странствия коллекции. 18 августа 1877 года Пржевальский завершил написание отчета, который затем был опубликован в «Известиях Географического общества». Пока Пржевальский находился в Кульдже, в Восточном Туркестане происходили масштабные события. 31 мая 1877 года был убит властитель Йеттишара Якуб-бек Бадаулет. Он пал от рук собственных царедворцев, недовольных проводимой ханом политикой. В следующем 1878 году этим обстоятельством воспользовались китайцы — войска империи Цин вторглись в Восточный Туркестан и уничтожили государство Йеттишар. Останки Якуб-бека были выкопаны из могилы и сожжены.

Находясь в Кульдже, Пржевальский все мечтал о путешествии в Тибет, однако в это время в Тибете началась гражданская война. Путь в загадочную страну из Кашгарии был закрыт, поэтому путешественник решил следовать через джунгарские степи в Хами и далее прямо на юг — в Тибет. 28 августа 1877 года экспедиция в составе Пржевальского, Эклона, четырех казаков и двух солдат, а также 3 лошадей и 24 верблюдов, выступила из Кульджи. С большим трудом пройдя через бескрайние пески Центральной Джунгарии, путешественники вышли к Гучэну. Во время странствия по Джунгарии Пржевальский заболел. Он уже не мог ехать верхом, его лихорадило. 27 ноября 1877 года экспедиция повернула в обратный путь. Было решено вылечиться в госпитале и вновь попытаться пройти в Тибет. 20 декабря 1877 года Пржевальский и его спутники прибыли в Зайсан. Побыв там до середины марта, Пржевальский вновь решил выдвинуться в путь. 19 марта 1878 года экспедиция вышла из Зайсана. Однако вскоре военное министерство дало Пржевальскому распоряжение отложить путешествие в Тибет до более благоприятного времени.

Сам Пржевальский считал свое второе путешествие неудачным. Но научные результаты этой экспедиции не вызывают никаких сомнений. Ведь были собраны ценнейшие коллекции флоры и фауны, нанесено на карту озеро Лобнор, исследованы горы Алтынтаг, описан образ жизни жителей лобнорского побережья — каракурчинцев. В 1878 г. за экспедицию на Лобнор Пржевальского наградили Большой золотой медалью имени Гумбольдта.
Автор: Илья Полонский


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 5
  1. qwert 24 августа 2016 07:07
    Прочитал с интересом. Все слышали про лошадь Пржевальского, но вот об остальных его заслугах, совершенно забыли. С удовольствием читаю такие статьи на ВО. Только вот почему то плюсануть статье не получается.
  2. parusnik 24 августа 2016 08:06
    "Пржевальский" —очень хороший фильм режиссёра Сергея Юткевича, снятый на киностудии "Мосфильм" в 1951 году...Смотрел в детстве по телику..В летние каникулы после обеда, был такой период где то в семидесятых показывали биографические фильмы..Жаль..сейчас не транслируют..Благодарю,Илья за статью..
  3. Nursultan 24 августа 2016 14:43
    В г.Балыкчы (бывш. Рыбачье) на вьезде в город, на берегу озера Иссык-Куль в 70 годах Пржевальскуому был установлен памятник, местные жители берегут его и ухаживают за ним. Приезжайте на Иссык-Куль и вы увидите его, невозможно не заметить. Также, есть памятник другому исседователю Кыргызстана Семенову Тянь-Шанскому.
  4. tiaman.76 27 августа 2016 10:31
    спасибо за статью..очень интересно
  5. tiaman.76 27 августа 2016 11:04
    спасибо за статью .. Британское Королевское географическое общество назвало Николая Пржевальского «самым выдающимся путешественником мира.отмечу так же тоже выдающийся исследователь .последователь Пржевальского был Козлов Петр Кузьмич
Информация
Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня