Military Review

Saudi Arabia: not to fat, I would live!

5
Completion of the Middle East Clearing cycle. You can find the previous articles on "VO" here: about Israel, about Turkey, about Iran.


The last state that interests us as a possible contender for leadership in the Middle East region is Saudi Arabia. The latter is not significant at the moment: it is more than weighty in the region and even in the global political and economic situation.

However, something makes you think that the Saudi prospects for the role of the Middle Eastern "tillage" are rather illusory, and such hopes of Riyadh were not destined to become reality. But let's not get too far ahead ...



What is Saudi Arabia at the moment, we know quite well. Recall, this is a large country on the Arabian Peninsula, with a population of about 30 million people and huge reserves of oil, which makes it an important regional geopolitical player.

Immediately clarify about the population: according to some estimates, the share of economic migrants is already about five million people. It is difficult to say whether this is good or bad. But it is very symptomatic that the CA leadership has to approve such a significant migration in order to at least somehow support the needs of its industry. In addition to her, by the way, migrants in the Saudi army are also in great demand - they serve there even in officer and technical posts.

It is also important that the religious composition of the population is also heterogeneous: in addition to the Sunnis who make up the majority of the population, there are quite a few Shiites. Their share, according to some estimates, reaches 15 percent, and a significant part of them live in the east and south of the country. This is what allows some Iranian politicians to make hasty (perhaps) but very unpleasant conclusions about the prospects for the breakup of Saudi Arabia.

Add to this high urbanization (more than 80 percent of the population live in large cities) and low fertility of Saudi soils. This in itself is not such a problem. But in the event of a cessation of food supplies, Saudi Arabia itself cannot feed itself. And to cut off Saudi cities from supply in the event of any serious conflict is quite simple - there are relatively few roads, they pass through deserts and any intersection of transport arteries within the country will be very critical for the population.

However, this is already a very sad scenario, and it’s far from a fact that this will ever come to this. Moreover, the leadership of the SA makes great efforts to improve its armed forces.

Saudi Arabia probably has the most technically advanced army in the region. They do not spare money on her, and therefore there are a lot of modern weapon systems in the troops. In addition to the technical level, it should be noted that there is a good balance of the combat arms — in the presence of armored units with more than a thousand tanks and several thousand armored personnel carriers, and modern aviation, and air defense systems (including the notorious Patriots), and even missile units armed with Chinese Dongfeng medium-range missiles (DF-3) with a range of about two and a half thousand kilometers. In the presence of the Navy, which includes both Western-built destroyers and simpler ships. There is also the possibility of delivering F-35 stealth fighters to Riyadh, which, if these plans are implemented, will make the Saudi’s military potential even higher.

Perhaps no army in the region, with the exception of the Israeli, has such a set of defenses and attacks. And if it were only a distant war, then Saudi Arabia could be safely ranked along with Israel among the unconditional military hegemony of the region.

But not everything is so simple. The experience of Saudi Arabia’s military operations in Yemen has shown that the Saudi army, quite perfect by the standards of the Middle East, can hardly cope with even the poorly armed Yemenite Hussite formations. The Saudi army does not like “contact war”, and its military personnel are not distinguished by their special steadfastness and devotion to their monarch. What happens if this army clashes with a more motivated and selfless Iranian, it is impossible to predict unequivocally. But the forecast is not in favor of Saudi Arabia.

An even greater problem for the SA is the vulnerability of the Strait of Hormuz as the kingdom’s main external artery. Probably, even now, with the total dominance of Americans in the region, the problem of a possible blockade of the strait cannot be solved - of course, Iranian anti-ship missiles are not the most advanced in the world, but huge and sluggish tankers are their ideal goal. And even now, in the event of the beginning of hostilities against Iran, the latter can guarantee the West a long-lasting energy hunger, incompatible with the normal state of health of the world economy.

If we consider a hypothetical situation with the weakening of the American presence in the region, we can confidently state that Saudi Arabia cannot cope with the problem of such a level. So, in the event of a development of events according to such a scenario, it will become a victim of Iran within a few months - simply because Riyadh will face enormous problems of supplying the population with the most necessary things, and Iran will at least remain the same .

Yes, of course, Saudi Arabia has access to the Red Sea. It is equally obvious that Iran will not be able to block it. But the fact is that the main oil refining and export facilities of Saudi Arabia are concentrated precisely on the coast of the Persian Gulf. That is, we exclude fresh currency receipts immediately. How long Riyadh can hold out on its foreign exchange reserves, and what remains of them if we predict some collapse of American influence, is not an easy question.

That is, we can state with high confidence not the highest resistance of Saudi Arabia to external challenges. So, the most likely way out for it would be to form a defensive alliance that could withstand possible aggression from Iran and reinforce Riyadh’s likely claims of leadership in the region.

Such work has been going on for a long time, and the states located near the CA on the coast of the Persian Gulf can be called allies of Riyadh without any particular exaggeration. The problem is that none of them is a serious military force and, if necessary, will not be able to take on any weighty burden of military actions. Neither Qatar, nor Bahrain, nor the UAE, nor Oman, nor Kuwait are valuable military allies, although most of them have invested a lot of money in the purchase of modern weapons. The problem is basically the same - weapon there is, but there is neither our own industrial repair base, nor professional motivated military, nor serious combat experience. In addition, all of them are also vulnerable by the Strait of Hormuz, except that they do not have their access to the Red Sea.

Therefore, the Saudis do not have many options. These are Israel, Turkey and Egypt. But the first option looks extremely dubious - anti-Israel sentiments are very strong in the Arab world. Of course, the tacit cooperation of these states is quite likely: both sides consider Iran to be the main threat to their security, therefore not to sentiment. But the case is unlikely to reach a full-fledged military bloc: the risk of traditional Arab allies is too great to push away from itself, which Saudi Arabia is unlikely to do.

Option with Turkey looks much more plausible. But there is one big “but”: Turkey itself is not very afraid of Iran, and for its participation in the coalition against this state, it can ask for a very high price. That is, Ankara is unlikely to want to simply stand under someone's banner, when there is a good chance to lead the march and be the first to divide possible trophies. Therefore, the likelihood of creating a military alliance between Turkey and the SA directly depends on the severity of the problems Riyadh will face. So, agreeing to this option, we automatically strike out Saudi Arabia from candidates for hegemony in the region.

The most promising is the strengthening of military cooperation between the SA and Egypt. Promising for Riyadh and its ambitions, of course. Egypt, whose own aspirations are strongly constrained by the consequences of the “Arab spring” in Cairo, and considerable economic difficulties, would be an ideal partner for the Saudis. This is all the more true because Egypt has quite good armed forces, a powerful demographic potential and even experience in military operations against Israel, even if it is already somewhat outdated.

You can not ignore the proximity of Egypt to Saudi Arabia. The Red Sea is not an insurmountable obstacle for both sides, and it will be quite easy for both sides to establish transport links from one bank to another. It also solves the problem of transport communication with the Mediterranean, since Egypt is the full owner of the Suez Canal.

However, even in this case, it is rather difficult to talk about the prospects of Riyadh for leadership in the region. Rather, it would be possible to talk about preserving the status quo, which, given the existing scenario, Saudi Arabia should be completely satisfied.

Summing up our small research, we must agree that the situation in the Middle East region is rather complicated. Of course, one cannot say that the forces of all applicants for superiority in the region are absolutely equal. But it is difficult to single out any obvious leader.

Still, the chances of Turkey and Iran look more substantial. And if the superpowers, traditionally pursuing their interests, do not intervene in the game, it is between these players that the coming battle for leadership will unfold.

In this regard, it should be noted that Russia is rather pragmatically building relations in the region and strengthening relations with both Turkey and Iran. It is difficult to say whether Moscow will bring any global strategic benefits, but it is very likely that our positions in the region will only strengthen.

If you stand now in Syria. But it is already completely different. история...

Author:
Articles from this series:
Israel does not become the leader of the Middle East
What is more important for Turkey: guns or dollars?
Iran is late at the start
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. parusnik
    parusnik April 10 2018 15: 46
    +1
    If we stand now in Syria
    ..That's where the dog rummaged ... I would like to resist ...
  2. Vladimir 5
    Vladimir 5 April 10 2018 16: 24
    0
    Do not forget that the kingdom of the Saudis was created by the British, and are still the main advisers. Throughout history, KSA has always harmed Russia. This KSA at the direction of the United States collapsed the price of oil, the more significantly helped to destroy the USSR. Then they helped with money, mercenaries in the Chechen war (the famous Khattab). And today they are making every effort against the Russian Federation, even in Syria. KSA are the main ones in the spread of Wahhabism and Islamic terrorism. Debt by payment is red, to remove the Wahhabi regime in KSA, and Islamic, Wahhabi terrorism will quickly go down in history
  3. AlNikolaich
    AlNikolaich April 10 2018 17: 54
    0
    Yes there is a whole bag of internal problems. Gerontocracy, social inequality, different religions among the population. KSA will burn so Libya and Syria are resting! Now one thing is clear that the matter is going to the end of the kingdom, only now, when it cracks, it is unknown.
    1. antivirus
      antivirus April 10 2018 18: 31
      0
      it’s better not to die by ourselves - you would have time to get stronger ...
      another 10-20 years KSA will be bent - together with the United States
      and Iran will not sink tankers in Hormuz;
  4. Sars
    Sars April 11 2018 16: 47
    0
    Iran, after the last Jewish attack on the T-4, has morally matured to eliminate its enemies (missile forces, aircraft, fleet are put on alert). In the near future, Iranian regular units with air defense and tanks may join hundreds of Shiite forces in Syria.

Саудовская Аравия: не до жиру, быть бы живу!

Завершение цикла "Ближневосточный клубок". Предыдущие статьи вы можете найти на "ВО" здесь: про Израиль, про Турцию, про Иран.

Последнее государство, которое интересует нас в качестве возможного претендента на лидерство в ближневосточном регионе, – Саудовская Аравия. Последнее не по своему значению на данный момент: оно более чем весомо и в регионе и даже в глобальном политико-экономическом раскладе.


Однако что-то заставляет думать, что саудовские перспективы на роль ближневосточного «пахана» довольно призрачны, и таким надеждам Эр-Рияда не суждено воплотиться в реальность. Но не будем сильно забегать вперед…



Что из себя представляет Саудовская Аравия на данный момент, мы знаем достаточно неплохо. Напомним, это крупная по территории страна, расположенная на Аравийском полуострове, с населением порядка 30 миллионов человек и огромными запасами нефти, которая и делает её важным региональным геополитическим игроком.

Сразу уточним про население: по некоторым оценкам, доля экономических мигрантов составляет уже около пяти миллионов человек. Трудно сказать, хорошо это или плохо. Но весьма симптоматично, что руководству СА приходится одобрять столь значительную миграцию, чтобы хоть как-то поддержать потребности своей промышленности. Помимо неё, кстати, весьма востребованы мигранты и в саудовской армии – они служат там даже на офицерских и технических должностях.

Важно и то, что религиозный состав населения тоже неоднороден: помимо суннитов, составляющих большинство населения, достаточно много и шиитов. Их доля, по некоторым оценкам, доходит до 15-ти процентов, и значительная их часть проживает на востоке и юге страны. Именно это позволяет некоторым иранским политикам делать поспешные (возможно), но весьма неприятные выводы о перспективах распада Саудовской Аравии.

Добавим к этому высокую урбанизацию (более 80-ти процентов населения проживают в крупных городах) и низкую плодородность саудовских почв. Само по себе это не такая уж проблема. Но в случае прекращения поставок продуктов питания сама Саудовская Аравия прокормить себя не сможет. А отрезать саудовские города от снабжения в случае любого серьёзного конфликта довольно просто – дорог сравнительно мало, они проходят через пустыни и любое пересечение транспортных артерий внутри страны будет весьма критично для населения.

Однако это уже совсем печальный сценарий, и далеко не факт, что до такого когда-либо дойдёт дело. Тем более что руководство СА прикладывает большие усилия для совершенствования своих вооружённых сил.

Саудовская Аравия располагает, вероятно, наиболее совершенной в техническом плане армией в регионе. Денег на неё не жалеют, и поэтому в войсках много современных систем вооружения. Помимо технического уровня, следует отметить и хорошую сбалансированность родов войск – в наличии и бронетанковые части, имеющие более тысячи танков и несколько тысяч БТР, и современная авиация, и средства ПВО (включая и небезызвестные «Патриоты»), и даже ракетные подразделения, вооруженные китайскими ракетами средней дальности «Дунфэн» (DF-3) с дальностью около двух с половиной тысяч километров. В наличии и ВМФ, имеющий в составе как эсминцы западной постройки, так и корабли попроще. Существует и вероятность поставок Эр-Рияду стелс-истребителей F-35, что, в случае реализации этих планов, сделает военный потенциал саудитов ещё более высоким.

Пожалуй, ни одна армия в регионе, за исключением израильской, не располагает таким набором средств защиты и нападения. И если бы речь шла только о дистанционной войне, то Саудовскую Аравию можно было бы смело причислить наряду с Израилем к числу безусловных военных гегемонов региона.

Но не все так просто. Опыт военных действий Саудовской Аравии в Йемене показал, что весьма совершенная по меркам Ближнего Востока саудовская армия с трудом справляется даже с плохо вооружёнными формированиями йеменских хуситов. Саудовская армия не любит «контактную войну», а её военнослужащие не отличаются особой стойкостью и преданностью своему монарху. Что случится, если произойдет столкновение этой армии с более мотивированной и самоотверженной иранской, однозначно предсказать невозможно. Но прогноз отнюдь не в пользу Саудовской Аравии.

Ещё большую проблему для СА представляет уязвимость Ормузского пролива как главной внешней транспортной артерии королевства. Вероятно, даже сейчас, при тотальном доминировании американцев в регионе, проблему возможной блокады пролива решить невозможно – конечно, иранские противокорабельные ракеты не самые совершенные в мире, но огромные и неповоротливые танкеры являются для них идеальной целью. И даже сейчас, в случае начала боевых действия против Ирана, последний может гарантировать Западу длительный энергетический голод, несовместимый с нормальным самочувствием мировой экономики.

Если же мы рассматриваем гипотетическую ситуацию с ослаблением американского присутствия в регионе, можно уверенно констатировать – с проблемой такого уровня Саудовская Аравия самостоятельно справиться не в состоянии. А значит, в случае развития событий по такому сценарию, она станет жертвой Ирана за несколько месяцев – просто потому, что Эр-Рияд столкнется с огромными проблемами снабжения населения самым необходимым, а Иран худо-бедно останется с тем же, что имел до сих пор.

Да, разумеется, Саудовская Аравия имеет выход и к Красному морю. Столь же очевидно, что заблокировать его Иран уже не сумеет. Но дело в том, что основные нефтеперерабатывающие и экспортные мощности Саудовской Аравии сосредоточены именно на побережье Персидского залива. То есть, свежие валютные поступления мы исключаем сразу. А как долго Эр-Рияд сможет продержаться на своих валютных резервах, и что от них останется, если мы прогнозируем какой-то коллапс американского влияния, вопрос непростой.

То есть мы можем с высокой достоверностью констатировать не самую высокую устойчивость Саудовской Аравии к внешним вызовам. А значит, наиболее вероятным для неё выходом будет формирование оборонительного союза, который мог бы противостоять возможной агрессии со стороны Ирана и подкрепить вероятные претензии Эр-Рияда на лидерство в регионе.

Такая работа ведется уже давно, и государства, расположенные рядом с СА на побережье Персидского залива, можно без особой натяжки назвать союзниками Эр-Рияда. Проблема в том, что ни одно из них не является серьёзной военной силой и, в случае необходимости, не сможет взять на себя сколько-нибудь весомое бремя военных действий. Ни Катар, ни Бахрейн, ни ОАЭ, ни Оман, ни Кувейт не являются ценными военными союзниками, хотя большинство из них довольно много денег вкладывало в закупки современных вооружений. Проблема, в общем, та же – оружие есть, но нет ни собственной промышленно-ремонтной базы, ни профессиональных мотивированных военных, ни серьёзного боевого опыта. Кроме того, все они также уязвимы со стороны Ормузского пролива, разве что своего выхода к Красному морю у них нет.

Поэтому вариантов у саудитов не так уж много. Это Израиль, Турция и Египет. Но первый вариант выглядит крайне сомнительным – очень уж сильны в арабском мире антиизраильские настроения. Разумеется, негласное сотрудничество этих государств вполне вероятно: обе стороны считают Иран главной угрозой своей безопасности, поэтому не до сантиментов. Но до полноценного военного блока дело вряд ли дойдет: слишком велик риск оттолкнуть от себя традиционных арабских союзников, на что Саудовская Аравия вряд ли пойдет.

Вариант с Турцией выглядит гораздо более правдоподобно. Но есть одно большое «но»: сама Турция не очень опасается Ирана, и за своё участие в коалиции против этого государства она может запросить очень большую цену. То есть вряд ли Анкара захочет просто встать под чьи-то знамена, когда есть хороший шанс возглавить поход и быть первым при дележе возможных трофеев. Поэтому вероятность создания военного союза между Турцией и СА прямо зависит от остроты проблем, с которыми столкнется Эр-Рияд. А значит, соглашаясь на этот вариант, мы автоматически вычеркиваем Саудовскую Аравию из претендентов на гегемонию в регионе.

Наиболее же перспективно выглядит укрепление военного сотрудничества между СА и Египтом. Перспективно для Эр-Рияда и его амбиций, разумеется. Египет, собственные устремления которого сильно сдерживаются и последствиями «арабской весны» в Каире, и немалыми экономическими трудностями, был бы для саудитов почти идеальным партнером. Это тем более верно, что Египет имеет достаточно неплохие вооруженные силы, мощный демографический потенциал и даже опыт военных действий против Израиля, пусть уже и несколько устаревший.

Нельзя сбрасывать со счетов и близость Египта к Саудовской Аравии. Красное море не является непреодолимой преградой для обеих сторон, и наладить транспортное сообщение с одного берега на другой обеим сторонам будет достаточно просто. Также это решает проблему транспортного сообщения со Средиземным морем, раз уж Египет является полноправным владельцем Суэцкого канала.

Однако даже в этом случае довольно сложно говорить о перспективах Эр-Рияда на лидерство в регионе. Скорее, можно было бы говорить о сохранении статус-кво, что при существующих раскладах должно вполне устраивать Саудовскую Аравию.

Подводя итог нашему небольшому исследованию, мы должны согласиться с тем, что ситуация в ближневосточном регионе сложилась довольно непростая. Конечно, нельзя сказать, что силы всех претендентов на первенство в регионе абсолютно равны. Но и какого-то очевидного лидера выделить трудно.

И все-таки шансы Турции и Ирана выглядят более весомыми. И если в игру не вмешаются сверхдержавы, традиционно преследующие свои интересы, именно между этими игроками и развернется грядущая схватка за лидерство.

В связи с этим нельзя не отметить, что Россия довольно прагматично выстраивает отношения в регионе и укрепляет отношения как с Турцией, так и с Ираном. Трудно сказать, принесет ли это Москве какие-то глобальные стратегические выгоды, но очень похоже, что наши позиции в регионе будут только укрепляться.

Если устоим сейчас в Сирии. Но это уже совсем другая история…

Ctrl Enter

Заметив ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

5 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти