Military Review

Organization and tactics of the tank forces of the Great War

8
End the conversation about the features of the application tanks during the First World War (see The triumph of allied tanks).



4 tank MK-I company C before the battle of Fleury


Tactic


And now take a quick look at tank tactics.

During the years of the war, the following guiding tactical principles were developed:

1. A heavy tank should pave the way for the infantry; the task of a light tank is to fight in close contact with the infantry.

2. Tanks should be entered into battle only where sufficiently strong soil guarantees maneuverability; liquid mud - grave digger tank offensive.

3. Accurate statement of tasks for tanks and systematic interaction with infantry following vehicles at a distance of several hundred meters or directly in one formation should be provided.



4. Rail delivery of tanks, the approach of the latter to the starting line before the attack and the deployment of a tank group should pass unnoticed by the enemy.

5. No preliminary artillery preparation - artillery fire should open simultaneously with the infantry attack.

6. Providing support for the advance of tanks from the starting line to the first enemy position with artillery fire or other means.

7. The massive use of tanks requires a significant number of vehicles in the first wave of the offensive, as well as a sufficient depth of battle formation and ample reserves.


British crews at their cars. One of the "tankodromes" of the Western Front


8. Comprehensive and comprehensive artillery support for tanks during the battle is mandatory.

9. Special batteries fight enemy tanks.

10. Mandatory fire at enemy observation posts - on the greatest possible length of the front line.

11. Tanks should provide each other mutual support.

12. The communication of fighting tanks with neighbors and with the rear is provided by communication tanks, a wireless telegraph, signal disks, carrier pigeons and other means.


Tank Park Bovington Camp


13. A good observational system is needed (especially for the commander): viewing slots, (lockable) armored shutters, a system of mirrors, periscopes.

14. Axiom - abundant supply of tanks with ammunition, smoke and hand grenades, hand guns weapons, gas masks, etc.

Organization


Let us now look at the organization of armored forces.

England.

The British War Department ordered about 1916 tanks at the beginning of 150. After the first experiment in the fall of 1916, about 1917 units were ordered for 1100, then in 1918 year - initially 1350 units. At a meeting of the English Ministry of War in early March 1918, in the presence of the Chief of the General Staff Wilson, the following facts were reported: 12 tank detachments at the front in 15 km were brought into action near Messiny - in two days they went deep into enemy defenses at 3,6 km at loss of 16000 people accompanying their infantry; in battles near Cambrai, the 7 tank detachments at the front with a width of 12 km won a plot in 8,2 km depth in two days with the loss of infantry in 9500 people. Based on such as the document noted "excellent" results, the initial order for 1350 tanks was increased to 5000 units.



For 39 days 1918 g. Participated in the battles of 1933 British tanks.

Organization and tactics of the tank forces of the Great War


The first 6 tank companies became part of the Machine Gun Corps. At the end of 1916 - beginning of 1917, tank battalions appeared. The last - from three companies of 24 tanks in each. It was decided to create 9 battalions for the 72 tank. A brigade unit was later introduced. The battle of Cambrai was attended by 3 brigades - 3 of three-armed battalions (3 platoon in the company, each platoon of 4 tank). In October 1918, the Panzer Corps included 6 brigades.

France.

In France in 1916, 800 tanks were ordered - equally the models of Schneider and Saint-Chamonix. But these cars were delivered mainly only at the end of the 1917 of the year.

At the beginning of 1917, the order was supplemented by 1150 Renault tanks (the quantity at the insistence of A. Peten was increased to 3500 in October of that year, and at the beginning of 1918 it was brought up to the number of 4000 units).

By the beginning of the German offensive in the spring of 1918, the French did not yet have light fast tanks at their disposal, but then they began to urgently enter the army: by May 1 — there were 300, July 1 — about 1000, October 1 — about 2600, and December 1 — 2700 tanks.

December 31 1918 in France was on alert over 2000 light tanks. There were about 50 pieces of medium tanks and about 80 more British tanks.

The structure of the French tank units at first was "a la" artillery (which is logical, given that medium tanks were actually self-propelled guns) - including at the beginning of the 1918 of the year, the 4 group of Schneider tanks in the 4 division (each in the 3 of four-tank batteries) and the 4 group tanks of Saint-Chamon on the 3 division (in each - on the 3 four-tank batteries). At first it was supposed to give each army one group of Schneider tanks (48 units) and one group of Saint-Chamon tanks (36 units) - which was partially implemented. But changes in the course of hostilities triggered a remake of the initial division.


Tank Saint-Chamonix and his tankman in a helmet and a special mask that protected eyes from lead spray from the bullets of enemy fighters firing at embrasures and viewing gaps


The advent of light tanks led to the introduction of a battalion structure. At the time of the armistice, there were 27 battalions (each 3 company had 3 platoon with 5 tanks in the platoon). Of the 5 tanks making up the platoon, 3 were armed with guns and 2 machine guns. Each company also had a special tank with a wireless telegraph, a reserve of ten tanks and several trucks. 3 battalions were reduced to a regiment. In November 1918, there were 9 regiments, as well as a personnel regiment and a training battalion. The regiments, in turn, were united in the 3 brigade.

France retained the tank units even after the war ended, and in the 1920 year, 9 had tank regiments of the 3 battalion in each. The shelves were assigned 501 - 509 numbers. Places of accommodation: Tours, Beziers, Versailles, Valence, Rennes, Besancon, Metz, Chalon and Lille.

For the 45-day period, the French brought into battle the 3988 tanks.

Germany

When the first English tanks appeared in the 1916 and the German High Command took up the tank issue, pilot production of tanks was already organized at the end of that year. Particular attention was paid to tank protection. Experiments were conducted: tanks overcame traps, special barriers, landmines, and anti-tank gun fire. The infantry was actively trained in fighting tanks and equipped with armor-piercing cartridges and anti-tank rifles. Rapid-fire guns were placed on automobile chassis and tracked tractors.

All this has borne fruit. So, for example, during the period 8 August - 11 November 1918 (when the tanks played a particularly significant role), the Germans shot at least 887 tanks and 1500 and 8000 people were killed from the 592 officers and 2562 lower ranks of the crews, respectively. The British tanks were especially often incapacitated due to hits in the unprotected tracks located on top of the hull.


German A7V Wotan and crew


About German tanks, General E. Ludendorf says in his memoirs: “The chief of the Field Automobile Headquarters on time received an order to order the construction of tanks. The tank model, demonstrated by him in the spring of 1917 before the high command, did not meet the requirements. I suggested that he move the tank building energetically. Perhaps I should have made harder pressure; it is possible that then, by the decisive moment of the 1918 of the year, we would have a little more tanks, but I won’t say how much the army needed to build them. It was impossible to let go of more workers; the rear authorities did not find new ones. If people were found, the army would need them, as a replenishment. All the same, we would not have achieved the possibility of mass application of tanks in the 1918 year, but only the mass of the tank matters. When at the end of the war industry was able to build tanks faster and in larger numbers, the high command instructed the military department to order a lot of them. ”.

This is the explanation of General E. Ludendorff.

The first German tanks came to the front by the beginning of the 1918 year. In the summer of 1918, there were a total of 15 units of 5 vehicles each, which were partially equipped with tanks of the German model A7V, and partially captured English tanks.

Operating for 50 days, German tanks, due to their small numbers, did not affect the situation.


A7V Siegfried


If the German tanks were not used on an appropriate scale, this should be explained mainly by the fact that the significance of these weapons was fully understood only when it was already too late. One thing is certain - the tank issue could have been posed in Germany much more broadly if there were people in the leading circles of the empire who appreciated the new weapons and vigorously lobbied the issue of tank building and the supply of military vehicles to the troops.

The surviving German tanks, having reached their homeland after the abandonment of France and Belgium, suffered, according to the Treaty of Versailles, a sad fate - inglorious to die in the rear, in their homeland.
Author:
Articles from this series:
The triumph of allied tanks
Tanks in the battles of the Great War
8 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. NOMADE
    NOMADE 14 September 2019 08: 43
    +6
    Thanks to the author! An interesting article, well, Germans were late with tanks, but then caught up in the 30s.
  2. Undecim
    Undecim 14 September 2019 09: 08
    +4
    For some reason, the author left the USA behind the scenes. Although the Americans did not produce their own tanks, they used them extensively. The United States began to create its own tank forces two months after entering the First World War - in June 1917.

    George Smith Patton Jr., then a captain, the "father" of the American armored forces and tactics of their use, in 1917 headed a tank school in Bourges (France)
    The tank corps of the American expeditionary forces organizationally consisted of 20 light tank battalions of 77 vehicles each (Renault) in the battalion and 10 heavy tank battalions of 45 vehicles each (Mark Vs) in the battalion. The corps took an active part in the hostilities.
    1. Hunghuz
      Hunghuz 14 September 2019 09: 56
      +6
      The author wrote about the U.S. Panzer Forces as far as I remember.
      Even in operational terms.
      Well, in terms of cars, their fleet, Sachs, is unoriginal and arbitrary from the Anglo-French
    2. Ural-4320
      Ural-4320 14 September 2019 11: 14
      +2
      Boots and trousers on Patton are very similar to the Soviet era of the Second World War.
    3. NOMADE
      NOMADE 14 September 2019 15: 21
      +2
      Thank! An interesting fact about Patton
  3. Hunghuz
    Hunghuz 14 September 2019 09: 58
    +5
    The fate of the tank forces is different
    But the trends are very significant.
  4. The comment was deleted.
  5. Tatyana14
    Tatyana14 14 September 2019 19: 22
    +1
    here is a good analysis of the use of tanks
    https://www.litmir.me/bd/?b=265693
    https://www.litmir.me/bd/?b=223638
  6. Adjutant
    Adjutant 15 September 2019 13: 59
    +4
    A little-known and interesting nuance, and that's great
  7. The comment was deleted.

Организация и тактика танковых войск Великой войны

Завершаем разговор об особенностях применения танков в годы Первой мировой войны (см. Триумф союзных танков).


4 танка Мк-I роты С перед битвой у Флери



Тактика


И теперь кратко взглянем на танковую тактику.

За годы войны были выработаны нижеследующие руководящие тактические принципы:

1. Тяжелый танк должен прокладывать путь пехоте; дело легкого танка - сражаться в тесном контакте с пехотой.

2. Танки должны вводиться в бой только там, где достаточно прочный грунт гарантирует маневроспособность; жидкая грязь – могильщик танкового наступления.

3. Должны быть обеспечены точная постановка задач для танков и планомерное взаимодействие с пехотой, следующей за машинами на расстоянии нескольких сот метров или же непосредственно в одном строю.



4. Железнодорожная доставка танков, подход последних на исходный рубеж перед атакой и развертывание танковой группировки должны проходить для неприятеля незаметно.

5. Никакой предварительной артподготовки - артиллерийский огонь должен открываться одновременно с атакой пехоты.

6. Обеспечение поддержки продвижения танков от исходного рубежа к первой неприятельской позиции артиллерийским огнем или другими способами.

7. Массовое применение танков требует значительного количества машин в первой волне наступления, а также достаточной глубины боевого порядка и обильных резервов.


Британские экипажи у своих машин. Один из "танкодромов" Западного фронта



8. Обязательна широкая и всесторонняя артиллерийская поддержка танков во время боя.

9. Специальные батареи борются с неприятельскими танками.

10. Обязателен огонь по неприятельским наблюдательным постам - на возможно большем протяжении линии фронта.

11. Танки должны оказывать друг другу взаимную поддержку.

12. Связь сражающихся танков с соседями и с тылом обеспечивается танками связи, беспроволочным телеграфом, сигнальными дисками, почтовыми голубями и пр. средствами.


Танковый парк Бовингтонского лагеря


13. Необходима хорошая наблюдательная система (особенно для командира): смотровые щели, (запираемые) бронезаслонки, система зеркал, перископы.

14. Аксиома - обильное снабжение танков боеприпасами, дымовыми и ручными гранатами, ручным огнестрельным оружием, противогазами и т. п.

Организация


Посмотрим теперь на организацию танковым войск.

Англия.

Английское военное ведомство заказало в начале 1916 г. около 150 танков. После первого опыта осенью 1916 года было заказано на 1917 г. около 1100 шт., затем в 1918 году - первоначально 1350 штук. На одном из заседаний английского военного министерства в начале марта 1918 г. в присутствии Начальника Главного Штаба Вильсона были доложены следующие факты: под Мессинами введено в дело 12 танковых отрядов на фронте в 15 км - за два дня они углубились в оборону противника на 3,6 км при потере 16000 человек сопровождающей их пехоты; в боях под Камбрэ 7 танковых отрядов на фронте шириной 12 км отвоевали за два дня участок в 8,2 км глубины при потерях в пехоте в 9500 человек. На основании таких как отмечал документ «отличных» результатов первоначальный заказ на 1350 танков был увеличен до 5000 единиц.



За 39 дней 1918 г. участвовало в боях 1933 британских танка.

Организация и тактика танковых войск Великой войны


Первые 6 танковых рот вошли в состав Пулеметного корпуса. В конце 1916 – начале 1917 г. появляются танковые батальоны. Последние - из трех рот по 24 танка в каждой. Было решено создать 9 батальонов по 72 танка. Позднее было введено бригадное звено. В битве под Камбрэ участвовало 3 бригады - по 3 трехротных батальона (3 взвода в роте, взвод по 4 танка каждый). В октябре 1918 года в Танковый корпус входило 6 бригад.

Франция.

Во Франции в 1916 г. было заказано 800 танков - поровну моделей Шнейдера и Сен-Шамона. Но эти машины были сданы в основном лишь под конец 1917 года.

В начале 1917 года заказ был дополнен 1150 танками Рено (количество по настоянию А. Петена в октябре того же года было увеличено до 3500, а в начале 1918 г. доведено до цифры в 4000 единиц).

К началу наступления германцев весной 1918 года в распоряжении французов еще не имелось легких быстроходных танков, но затем они стали срочно поступать в войска: к 1 мая - имелось 300, 1 июля - около 1000, 1 октября - около 2600, и на 1 декабря - 2700 танков.

31 декабря 1918 г. во Франции находилось в боевой готовности свыше 2000 легких танков. Средних танков имелось около 50 штук и еще около 80 английских танков.

Структура французских танковых частей вначале была «а-ля» артиллерийской (что логично, учитывая что средние танки фактически являлись самоходными орудиями) – включая к началу 1918 года 4 группы танков Шнейдер по 4 дивизиона (в каждом - по 3 четырехтанковых батареи) и 4 группы танков Сен-Шамон по 3 дивизиона (в каждом - по 3 четырехтанковых батареи). Сначала предполагалось придать каждой армии одну группу танков Шнейдер (48 штук) и одну группу танков Сен-Шамон (36 штук) - что частично было реализовано. Но изменения в ходе военных действий вызвали переделку первоначального разделения.


Танк Сен-Шамон и его танкист в шлеме и специальной маске, предохранявшей глаза от свинцовых брызг от пуль бойцов противника, ведущих огонь по амбразурам и смотровым щелям


Появление легких танков привело к введению батальонной структуры. В момент заключения перемирия насчитывалось 27 батальонов (в каждом 3 роты по 3 взвода с 5 танками во взводе). Из 5 танков, составляющих взвод, 3 были вооружены пушками и 2 пулеметами. Также каждая рота имела по специальному танку с беспроволочным телеграфом, резерв из десяти танков и по несколько грузовых автомобилей. 3 батальона сводились в полк. В ноябре 1918 года существовало 9 полков, а также кадровый полк и учебный батальон. Полки, в свою очередь, соединялись в 3 бригады.

Франция сохранила танковые части и после окончании войны, и располагала в 1920 году 9 танковыми полками по 3 батальона в каждом. Полкам были присвоены номера 501 - 509. Места расквартирования: Тур, Безье, Версаль, Валанс, Рен, Безансон, Мец, Шалон и Лиль.

За 45-дневный срок французы ввели в бой 3988 танков.

Германия

Когда в 1916 году появились первые английские танки и германское Верховное командование занялось танковым вопросом, уже в конце названного года было организовано опытное производство танков. Особое внимание уделялось танковой защите. Проводились эксперименты: танки преодолевали ловушки, специальные заграждения, заложенные фугасы и огонь противотанковых орудий. Пехоту активно обучали борьбе с танками и снабжали бронебойными патронами и противотанковыми ружьями. На автомобильные шасси и гусеничные тракторы ставились скорострельные орудия.

Все это принесло свои плоды. Так, например, за период 8 августа - 11 ноября 1918 года (когда танки сыграли особенно значительную роль) немцами было расстреляно не менее 887 танков и из 1500 офицеров и 8000 нижних чинов экипажей погибло соответственно 592 и 2562 человека. Английские танки особенно часто выводились из строя - вследствие попаданий в расположенные поверх корпуса незащищенные гусеницы.


Германский A7V "Вотан" и члены экипажа


Про германские танки генерал Э. Людендорф говорит в своих мемуарах: «Начальник Полевого Автомобильного Штаба вовремя получил приказ распорядиться на предмет конструирования танков. Модель танка, продемонстрированная им весною 1917 г. перед высшим командованием, не соответствовала предъявленным требованиям. Я ему предложил энергично двигать танкостроение. Возможно, что мне следовало производить более твердый нажим; возможно, что тогда мы обладали бы к решающему моменту 1918 года немного большим количеством танков, но я не скажу, за счет какой потребности армии их надлежало бы строить. Больше рабочих отпускать было невозможно, тыловые власти новых не отыскали. Если бы люди нашлись, они потребовались бы армии, как пополнение. Возможности массового применения танков мы бы в 1918 году все равно не добились, а только в массе танк имеет значение. Когда под конец войны промышленность была в состоянии строить танки быстрее и в более значительном количестве, высшее командование поручило военному ведомству заказать их немало».

Таково объяснение генерала Э. Людендорфа.

Первые германские танки попали на фронт к началу 1918 года. Летом 1918 года существовало всего 15 отделений по 5 машин каждое, которые частично были укомплектованы танками германской модели A7V, и частично трофейными английскими танками.

Действуя в течение 50 дней, германские танки, вследствие малочисленности, на обстановку не повлияли.


A7V "Зигфрид"


Если германские танки не были применены в надлежащем масштабе, то это следовало объяснять, главным образом, тем обстоятельством, что значение этого оружия было в полной мере уяснено лишь тогда, когда уже было слишком поздно. Несомненно одно - танковый вопрос мог быть поставлен в Германии гораздо шире, если бы в руководящих кругах империи нашлись люди, оценившие новое оружие и энергично пролоббировавшие вопрос танкостроения и поставки боевых машин в войска.

Уцелевшие германские танки, добравшиеся до родины после оставления Франции и Бельгии, постигла, согласно Версальскому мирному договору, печальная участь – бесславно погибнуть в тылу, на своей Родине.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

8 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти