Tank diesel V-2: development and Aberdeen Proving Ground


B-2-34 in Kubinka

Legend time


By the beginning of the 1940 year, the final appearance of the B-2 engine was formed. It was a V-shaped 12 cylinder diesel engine with a cast 4 valve head, power bearing steel studs for greater strength and a centrally located fuel injector. Similarities were also observed with the aviation AN-1 (it was developed at TsIAM) in terms of the configuration of the connecting rod and piston group. In both engines, the pistons were stamped aluminum with the main and trailed connecting rods, and the bearings were made with pouring with lead bronze. On the first B-2 prototypes, the connecting rods were forked and often broke, so it was decided to use trailed connecting rods with a slight divergence in the right and left blocks.



In addition, with the AN-1 tank diesel engine is related by jet mixing, and is distinguished by its dimension. For B-2 it is 15 / 18 (piston stroke / cylinder diameter, cm), while for AN-1 this parameter is the ratio 18 / 20. Interestingly, the 15 / 18 dimension for a tank diesel was nevertheless taken from another aircraft gasoline engine, the M-100 designer V. Ya. Klimov. However, all of the above does not mean that the B-2 was born as an aircraft engine. It was originally a tank engine, which in many ways had to be designed according to the patterns of aircraft engine building, since there was simply no other methodological basis for high-speed diesel engines in the Land of Soviets. And in the 30's, only in aircraft engine building was a sufficiently high level of design and production of such complex equipment. Therefore, Kharkovites had to seek help from the TsIAM design office, as already mentioned B-2: "obstinate horse" of the Soviet tank industry. In addition to the outstanding designer Timofei Chupakhin, Mikhail Petrovich Poddubny made an equally significant contribution to the technological development of production. At KhPZ, he is obliged to develop complex machining operations for crankcase parts, a head, a crankshaft, connecting rods, specific high-speed machining of plain bearings and core burnishing. In his memoirs, the chief designer of TsIAM, Professor, Doctor of Technical Sciences Aleksey Dmitrievich Charomsky writes that the technologist Poddubny often proposed solutions that were much more progressive than those that came to mind to the designers.

Tank diesel V-2: development and Aberdeen Proving Ground

Alexey Dmitrievich Charomsky

I had to give a lot of time to the fight against the gas joint - the diesel was powerful, the copper gaskets simply could not withstand the gigantic pressure. There were even thoughts to reduce power to 400 l. s., while leaving the option of "combat" short-term increase to 500 l. from. However, the military, for obvious reasons, did not understand this idea and the engineers had to develop a special stamped integral aluminum gasket for six cylinder blocks at once. In addition, additional bolts tightening the head along the perimeter were introduced into the design.

In addition to the fact that in the USSR there was practically no experience in the design and construction of “land” high-speed diesel engines, the country did not have a basis for the development of fuel pumps. On the initial prototypes of the DB-2 (the predecessor of B-2) there were two Bosch 6-plunger injection pumps with advance couplings. Later, the cams in the pump were modified, bringing them to the form used in the aviation AN-1. Then the whole structure was redesigned, having already ordered 12-plunger pumps from the Germans. Subsequently, difficulties with the production of a pump of its own design were overcome, but problems with the quality and volume of production of such a critical unit haunted the B-2 throughout the war.

Despite the difficulties with finalizing the motor, in the pre-war period at the Kharkov factory No. 75 they worked on new modifications of the B-2 line. In particular, an 800-strong B-2CH equipped with supercharging from a drive supercharger was developed. Literally a few units of this powerful engine were built, the best of which worked out 190 hours to failure, but spent too much oil and clogged with soot on the piston group. They also developed the 6-cylinder “baby” B-3 with a capacity of 250 l. from. (later it was boosted to 300 hp), which was successfully passed first on the Voroshilovets tractor, and later on the BT-5. But even in the 300-strong version, this engine was rather weak for tracked vehicles of this class, and for some time they refrained from installing on armored vehicles. It was finalized according to the test results and in the B-4 variant it was later put on the light T-50. Ship modifications B-2 / l (left rotation) and B-2 / p (right rotation) were installed in pairs on light naval ships of the Navy since 1940 of the year.

Tar spoons


The impending war forced the leadership of the Soviet Union to force the production of a series of new models of equipment in a series, often to the detriment of workmanship. One can argue for a long time about the appropriateness of such an approach, but the fact remains that by the start of the war, the B-2 was clearly a crude engine requiring changes in design. At the same time, without bringing the engine to mind, the factory workers in Kharkov received new tasks, while spraying resources. So, in March of 1941, the leadership demanded that the 700-strong B-5 for the KV-3 tank be brought to the end and in the shortest possible time, and by the fall of that year, create a giant on 1200 hp! Yes, by then B-2 was already mass-produced, but it constantly required attention and fine-tuning of production processes. But there was neither time, nor resources for this in Kharkov plant No.75. We will not dwell on how it developed история tank diesel after 22 on June 1941 of the year (there will be a separate cycle about this), but we will tell you better about the landmark tests of engines at the Aberdeen Proving Ground in the United States. In the book-monograph by Nikita Melnikov “Tank Industry of the USSR during the Great Patriotic War”, based on the materials of the Russian State Archive of Economics, data are presented that characterize the B-2 from a not very good point.


T-34 at Aberdeen Proving Ground

Recall that two machines, the T-34 and KB-1, were tested from November 1942 of the year to the end of 1943 of the year by specialists from the Aberdeen Proving Ground. It’s worth mentioning right away that tanks were released during one of the most difficult periods of our history, and the fact that they appeared at all testifies to the heroism of millions of Soviet citizens. Nevertheless, the dry technical reports of our then allies indicate that one of the main problems of the B-2 was the air purifier. I quote the book of candidate of historical sciences, senior researcher at the Institute of History and Archeology of the Ural Branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences Nikita Nikolayevich Melnikov:
“From the observations made it can be seen that the requirements in our country (that is, the United States) for air purifiers of military vehicles completely prevent the use of a Russian type air purifier. This was confirmed later, after engine failure, when a large amount of dirt appeared inside the engine. ”


The Americans also indicated that the filter has a high resistance, causing “air hunger” in the motor. Now for the cooling system:
“Engine cooling does not meet the requirements of our standards, and if it had not been compensated by the engine design, the engine life would have been significantly reduced.”


Obviously, they meant the possibility of a diesel engine working at low speeds, which somehow protected the engine from overheating. After this, Nikita Melnikov gives a rather controversial statement that it is for these reasons that the main share of the successful operations of the Soviet tank troops falls on the winter period. Say, and temperatures are lower, and there is less dust in the air. The tanks that were sent to the USA were assembled under special control, and even in this case, the T-34 failed due to engine failure already at the 73 hour of the test run. It remains only to guess at what kilometer an ordinary serial tank would stand in the hands of the American military.





Copies of reports from the TsAMO archive of the Russian Federation

However, there is another point of view on these tests expressed by Yuri Pasholok, a well-known expert in the field of tank history. He claims that there was no special assembly of tanks, and the Americans simply did not fill the Pomon filter with oil, because of which, in fact, all the troubles happened. If the Yankees had guessed to fill in the oil and even cleaned the filter in time, then at least they would have achieved 79% air purification. And since 1942 of the year, more advanced Cyclone filters have already been installed on the T-34, providing 99,4% air purification, of course, in working condition. Only Yuri operates with reports from the TsAMO archives of the Russian Federation, and not with the materials of the Russian State Archive of Economics, as was the case with Nikita Melnikov. In any case, you decide which side you are in this story.
Author:
Photos used:
btvt.narod.ru, yuripasholok.livejournal.com, gettyimages.com, img-fotki.yandex.ru
Articles from this series:
B-2: "obstinate horse" of the Soviet tank industry
"Order B". Satisfying the motor hunger of Soviet tanks
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

140 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Танковый дизель В-2: доводка и Абердинский полигон


В-2-34 в Кубинке

Время легенды


К началу 1940 года сложился окончательный облик мотора В-2. Это был V-образный 12-цилиндровый дизель с литой 4-клапанной головкой, силовыми несущими стальными шпильками для пущей прочности и центрально расположенной топливной форсункой. Прослеживались и сходства с авиационным АН-1 (его разрабатывали в ЦИАМе) в плане конфигурации шатунно-поршневой группы. И в том, и другом моторе поршни были штампованные алюминиевые с главным и прицепным шатунами, а подшипники изготавливались с заливкой свинцовистой бронзой. На первых прототипах В-2 шатуны были вильчатого типа и часто ломались, поэтому решено было использовать прицепные шатуны с небольшой разноходностью по правому и левому блоку.



Кроме этого, с АН-1 танковый дизель роднит струйное смесеобразование, а отличает размерность. У В-2 это 15/18 (ход поршня/диаметр цилиндра, см), а у АН-1 этот параметр составляет соотношение 18/20. Интересно, что размерность 15/18 для танкового дизеля все-таки взяли у другого авиационного бензинового мотора, М-100 конструктора В. Я. Климова. Однако все вышесказанное не означает, что В-2 рождался как авиационный мотор. Это изначально был танковый двигатель, который во многом приходилось проектировать по лекалам авиационного моторостроения, так как другой методической основы по высокооборотистым дизелям в Стране Советов просто не было. А в 30-х годах только в авиационном моторостроении был достаточно высокий уровень проектирования и производства столь сложной техники. Поэтому харьковчанам приходилось обращаться за помощью к конструкторскому штабу ЦИАМа, о чем уже упоминалось В-2: «строптивый конь» советского танкопрома. Кроме выдающегося конструктора Тимофея Чупахина, не менее значимый вклад в технологическое освоение производства внес Михаил Петрович Поддубный. На ХПЗ ему обязаны разработкой сложных операций обработки картерных деталей, головки, коленчатого вала, шатунов, специфической скоростной обработке подшипников скольжения и дорнованию коренных подшипников. В своих воспоминаниях главный конструктор ЦИАМа профессор, доктор технических наук Алексей Дмитриевич Чаромский пишет, что технолог Поддубный нередко предлагал решения, значительно более прогрессивные, чем те, которые приходили на ум конструкторам.

Танковый дизель В-2: доводка и Абердинский полигон

Алексей Дмитриевич Чаромский

Много времени пришлось отдать борьбе с газовым стыком – дизель был мощным, медные прокладки просто не выдерживали гигантского давления. Были даже мысли снизить мощность до 400 л. с., при этом оставив опцию «боевого» кратковременного увеличения до 500 л. с. Однако военные по понятным причинам такую идею не поняли и инженерам пришлось разрабатывать специальную штампованную цельную алюминиевую прокладку сразу на шесть цилиндров блока. Кроме этого, в конструкцию ввели дополнительные болты, стягивающие головку по периметру.

Кроме того, что в СССР фактически отсутствовал опыт проектирования и постройки «сухопутных» высокоскоростных дизелей, в стране не было базы для разработки топливных насосов. На первоначальных прототипах БД-2 (предшественник В-2) были два 6-плунжерных ТНВД фирмы Bosch с муфтами опережения. Позже кулачки в насосе модифицировали, приведя их к форме, применяемой в авиационном АН-1. Затем всю конструкцию переработали, заказав у немцев уже 12-плунжерные насосы. Впоследствии сложности с производством насоса собственной конструкции были преодолены, но проблемы с качеством и объемами выпуска столь ответственного узла преследовали В-2 всю войну.

Несмотря на сложности с доработкой мотора, в предвоенный период на харьковском заводе №75 трудились над новыми модификациями линейки В-2. В частности, разрабатывался 800-сильный В-2СН, оснащенный наддувом от приводного нагнетателя. Были построены буквально считаные единицы этого могучего мотора, лучший из которых отрабатывал до отказа 190 часов, однако расходовал слишком много масла и забивался нагаром на поршневой группе. Разрабатывали и 6-цилиндрового «малыша» В-3 мощностью 250 л. с. (позже его форсировали до 300 л.с.), который успешно прошел вначале на тягаче «Ворошиловец», а позднее и на БТ-5. Но даже в 300-сильном варианте этот мотор был слабоват для гусеничной техники подобного класса, и от установки на бронетехнику некоторое время воздерживались. Его доработали по итогам испытаний и в варианте В-4 позже поставили на легкий Т-50. Судовые модификации В-2/л (левое вращение) и В-2/п (правое вращение) парами устанавливались на легкие военные корабли ВМФ с 1940 года.

Ложки дёгтя


Надвигающаяся война заставляла руководство Советского Союза форсировать постановку в серию целого ряда образцов новой техники, часто в ущерб качеству изготовления. Можно долго спорить о целесообразности такого подхода, но факт остается фактом – к началу войны В-2 был явно сырым мотором, требующим изменений в конструкции. При этом, не доведя двигатель до ума, заводчане в Харькове получали новые задания, распыляя при этом ресурсы. Так, в марте 1941 года руководство потребовало довести до конца и в кратчайшие сроки поставить на конвейер 700-сильный В-5 для танка КВ-3, а к осени того же года создать гигант на 1200 л.с.! Да, к тому времени В-2 уже выпускался серийно, но он постоянно требовал внимания и тонкой настройки производственных процессов. Но ни времени, ни ресурсов для этого в харьковском заводе №75 не было. Не будем останавливаться подробно на том, как сложилась история танкового дизеля после 22 июня 1941 года (об этом будет отдельный цикл), а расскажем лучше про знаковые испытания моторов на Абердинском полигоне в США. В книге-монографии Никиты Мельникова «Танковая промышленность СССР в годы Великой Отечественной войны» на основе материалов Российского государственного архива экономики приводятся данные, характеризующие В-2 с не самой лучшей стороны.


Т-34 на Абердинском полигоне

Напомним, что две машины, Т-34 и КВ-1, испытывались с ноября 1942 года по конец 1943 года специалистами Абердинского полигона. Сразу же стоит оговориться, что танки были выпущены в одни из самых тяжелых периодов нашей истории, и тот факт, что они вообще появились, свидетельствуют о героизме миллионов советских граждан. Тем не менее, сухие технические отчеты наших тогдашних союзников свидетельствуют, что одной из главных проблем В-2 был воздухоочиститель. Цитирую книгу кандидата исторических наук, старшего научного сотрудник Института истории и археологии Уральского отделения РАН Мельникова Никиты Николаевича:
«Из сделанных наблюдений видно, что требования, предъявляемые в нашей стране (то есть США) к воздухоочистителям боевых машин, совершенно не допускают применение воздухоочистителя русского типа. Это было подтверждено позже, после выхода из строя двигателя, когда внутри двигателя оказалось большое количество грязи».


Американцы также указали, что фильтр имеет высокое сопротивление, вызывающее «воздушный голод» у мотора. Теперь по системе охлаждения:
«Охлаждение двигателя не удовлетворяет требованиям наших стандартов, и, если бы оно не компенсировалось конструкцией двигателя, то срок службы двигателя значительно бы сократился».


Очевидно, имели в виду возможность дизеля работать на низких оборотах, что как-то защищало мотор от перегрева. После этого Никита Мельников приводит достаточно спорное утверждение, что именно по этим причинам основная доля успешных действий советских танковых войск приходится на зимний период. Дескать, и температуры ниже, и пыли в воздухе меньше. Танки, которые были отправлены в США, были собраны под особым контролем и даже в этом случае Т-34 вышел из строя по причине поломки мотора уже на 73-м часу испытательного пробега. Остается только догадываться, на каком километре встал бы обычный серийный танк в руках американских военных.





Копии отчетов из архива ЦАМО РФ

Однако на эти испытания есть и другая точка зрения, высказанная Юрием Пашолоком, известным экспертом в области танковой истории. Он утверждает, что никакой спецсборки танков не было, а американцы просто не заправили фильтр «Помон» маслом, из-за чего, собственно, все беды и случились. Если бы янки догадались залить масло да еще и вовремя очищали бы фильтр, то как минимум добились бы 79%-ной очистки воздуха. А с 1942 года на Т-34 уже ставились более совершенные фильтры «Циклон», обеспечивающие 99,4% очистки воздуха, естественно, в работоспособном состоянии. Только оперирует Юрий отчетами архивов ЦАМО РФ, а не материалами Российского государственного архива экономики, как было в случае Никиты Мельникова. В любом случае, вам решать, на чьей вы стороне в этой истории.
Автор:
Использованы фотографии:
btvt.narod.ru, yuripasholok.livejournal.com, gettyimages.com, img-fotki.yandex.ru
Статьи из этой серии:
В-2: «строптивый конь» советского танкопрома
«Заказ В». Утоление моторного голода советских танков
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

140 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти