Military Review

The guns on the railway transporter. French 340-mm gun 1912 M on the "carriage with a cradle"

3
The fleet of the French railway artillery in 1918 was supplemented with the 340-mm 1912 M gun on the railway carriage with a cradle. This artillery installation was made by St. Chamond for the project, which provided for the separation of the railway carts at the firing position from the transporter. The artillery mount was armed with a powerful 1912 M naval cannon with a barrel in 47,4 caliber. The length of the threaded part was 39,0 calibers, the barrel bore was locked with a piston gate, the weight of the gun was 66950 kg. High-explosive shells of 465, 445 and 431,8 kg were used with the cannon. During full charge shooting, they had an initial speed of 893 m / s, 916 m / s and 921 m / s, respectively, and hit targets at a distance of 33, 37,6 and 38 km.



To defeat the enemy's fortifications, a semi-armored projectile weighing 555 kg was used. On the railway transporter, the gun was installed using powerful recoil devices - 4 hydraulic recoil brakes, as well as a pneumatic knurler. The transporter consisted of a main beam, mounted on two railway carts with six axles. The longitudinal supporting structures of the beam had a horizontal lower belt. In the upper part, the profile of these structures had a lift to install the gun in such a way that if there is a specially dug ditch under the breech of the gun, the angle of the vertical guidance of the gun in + 42 degrees was provided.

To prepare the firing position it was necessary not only to prepare the ditch under the breech of the gun, but also to carry out other very labor-intensive preparatory work. First of all, on both sides of the railway track, two narrow railway tracks were created, which serve to move the assembly crane (tonnage of 4). With the help of this crane the central support was prepared - wooden bars were laid in two layers crosswise. This base with the size of 2,5 x 3,0 meter was used for laying two more bars, which are the support for the base plate (made by casting).



Wooden bars were also used to make supports for the rear and front of the main beam. After the installation was supplied to the firing position under it, the rail track was dismantled, the central pin of the machine gun was inserted into the axle of the cast base plate and, with the help of hydraulic jacks, the main beam was lowered onto the central support. After that, the railway carts rolled out from under the main beam and, with the help of screw jacks, were supported on specially prepared supports of the rear and front parts of the main beam. Preparing such a firing position required 4 - 5 days. True, once the settlement, manned by American soldiers, performed all the preparatory work within a day and a half, but to achieve this record they created ideal conditions.

After the installation was supplied to the firing position, 30 was needed - 60 minutes for its preparation for firing. The installation could leave the firing position 25 minutes after the shooting. During the shooting, ammunition was fed from an armored cellar car. With the help of a crane, semi-charges and projectiles were placed at the preparatory post, which was equipped behind the breech of the gun on the main beam, the barrel of the gun was transferred to the declination angle -8 degrees for loading. After that, the projectile and poluzaryadov under the influence of its own mass were fed into the barrel charging chamber along an inclined chute. It should be noted that careful calculation of all elements of the conveyor structure, as well as due to the arrangement of numerous cuts in places of construction that are not subjected to heavy loads, the weight of the artillery installation as a whole was only 166 tons, which is approximately 100 tons less than the weight of installations of a similar caliber developed by other companies .



Several such installations in 1940 were captured by German forces and under the designation 34, see Kanone (E) 674 (f) used on the Atlantic coast of France in the coastal defense system.

Performance characteristics:
Caliber - 340 mm;
Barrel length - 47,4 calibers;
The largest angle of elevation is 42 degrees;
Angle of horizontal fire - 10 degrees;
Weight in traveling position - 166000 kg;
The mass of the high-explosive projectile - 465 kg;
The initial velocity of the projectile - 893 m / s;
The longest firing range - 33000 m.
Articles from this series:
The guns on the railway transporter. French 155 mm 1877 M
The guns on the railway transporter. French 164-mm cannons M 1893, M 1893 / 96 and M 1893 / 96 M
The guns on the railway transporter. French 274-mm cannons M 1887 / 93 and M 1893 / 96
The guns on the railway transporter. French 240 mm 1884 / 17 M
The guns on the railway transporter. French 305-mm cannons M 1893 / 96, M 1906 and M 1906 / 10
The guns on the railway transporter. French 194 mm cannon 1870 / 93
The guns on the railway transporter. French 340-mm cannons M 1881, M 1884, M 1893 and M 1912
The guns on the railway transporter. French 340-mm gun 1912 M on the "carriage with a cradle"
3 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Iraclius
    Iraclius 6 February 2013 09: 29
    +2
    In my opinion, of all the installations discussed earlier, this is the least successful. Despite the large caliber and decent firing range, a huge deployment time (almost a week, what to say!) Negates the main advantage of guns on the railway conveyor - high mobility.
    True, once the calculation, staffed by American soldiers, completed all the preparatory work within a day and a half, but to achieve this record created ideal conditions.

    Interestingly, what were these conditions? The German offensive at Verdun? lol
    1. carbofo
      carbofo 8 February 2013 15: 20
      0
      Iraclius,
      At that time, aviation was not a serious force, and therefore for a weapon of this caliber a week to prepare a position was acceptable.
      Read about DORA Germans fussed with her no less.
  2. Akuzenka
    Akuzenka 6 February 2013 17: 09
    0
    So believe after this that the French were not going to attack the Germans. They gathered, but screwed up.

Пушки на железнодорожном транспортере. Французская 340-мм пушка М 1912 на «лафете с люлькой»

Парк французской железнодорожной артиллерии в 1918 году пополнился 340-миллиметровой пушкой М 1912 на ж/д транспортере типа «лафет с люлькой». Данную артиллерийскую установку изготовила компания St. Chamond по проекту, который предусматривал отделение от транспортера железнодорожных тележек на огневой позиции. Артиллерийская установка вооружалась мощной морской пушкой М 1912 имеющей длину ствола в 47,4 калибра. Длина нарезной части составляла 39,0 калибров, канал ствола запирался поршневым затвором, масса орудия составляла 66950 кг. С пушкой использовались фугасные снаряды массой 465, 445и 431,8 кг. Во время стрельбы полным зарядом они имели начальную скорость 893 м/с, 916 м/с и 921 м/с соответственно и поражали цели на дальности 33, 37,6 и 38 км.

Пушки на железнодорожном транспортере. Французская 340-мм пушка М 1912 на «лафете с люлькой»


Для поражения оборонительных сооружений противника использовали и полубронебойный снаряд весом 555 кг. На железнодорожном транспортере пушку установили с применением мощных противооткатных устройств — 4 гидравлических тормозов отката, а также пневматического накатника. Транспортер состоял из главной балки, установленной на две железнодорожные тележки с шестью осями. Продольные несущие конструкции балки имели горизонтальный нижний пояс. В верхней части профиль данных конструкций имелся подъем для установки орудия таким образом, чтобы при наличии специально вырытого ровика под казенной частью пушки обеспечивался угол вертикального наведения орудия в +42 градуса.


Для подготовки огневой позиции необходимо было не только подготовить ровик под казенной частью орудия, но и провести другие весьма трудоемкие подготовительные работы. В первую очередь с обеих сторон от железнодорожного пути создавалось две узкие железнодорожные колеи, служащие для перемещения монтажного крана (грузоподъемность 4 тонны). При помощи данного крана подготавливалась центральная опора — деревянные брусья укладывались в два слоя крест-накрест. Данное основание размером 2,5 х 3,0 метра служило для укладки еще двух брусьев, являющихся опорой для плиты основания (изготавливалась литьем).

Пушки на железнодорожном транспортере. Французская 340-мм пушка М 1912 на «лафете с люлькой»


Деревянные брусья также использовались для устройства опор для задней и передней части главной балки. После того как установка подавалась на огневую позицию под ней разбирали рельсовый путь, центральный штырь станка пушки вводили цапфу литой плиты основания и при помощи гидродомкратов опускали на центральную опору главную балку. После этого железнодорожные тележки выкатывались из-под главной балки и при помощи винтовых домкратов обеспечивалось опирание на специально подготовленные опоры задней и передней частей главной балки. Подготовка подобной огневой позиции требовала 4 – 5 дней. Правда, однажды расчет, укомплектованный американскими солдатами, выполнил все подготовительные работы в течении полутора суток, но для достижения данного рекорда создали идеальные условия.

После того как установка подавалась на огневую позицию требовалось еще 30 – 60 минут на ее подготовку к стрельбе. Покинуть огневую позицию установка могла через 25 минут после стрельбы. Во время стрельбы боеприпасы подвались из бронированного вагона-погреба. При помощи крана полузаряды и снаряды укладывались на подготовительный пост, который был оборудован за казенной частью орудия на главной балке, ствол пушки переводился в положение с углом склонения -8 градусов для заряжания. После этого снаряд и полузаряды под действием собственной массы подавались в зарядную камору ствола по наклонному желобу. Необходимо отметить, что тщательный расчет всех элементов конструкции транспортера, а также благодаря устройству многочисленных вырезов в местах конструкции, не подверженных большим нагрузкам, вес артиллерийской установки в целом был всего 166 тонн, что приблизительно на 100 тонн меньше веса установок аналогичного калибра, разработанных другими фирмами.

Пушки на железнодорожном транспортере. Французская 340-мм пушка М 1912 на «лафете с люлькой»


Несколько подобных установок в 1940 году захватили германские войска и под обозначением 34 см Kanone (Е) 674 (f) использовались на атлантическом побережье Франции в системе береговой обороны.

Тактико-технические характеристики:
Калибр – 340 мм;
Длина ствола – 47,4 калибров;
Наибольший угол возвышения – 42 градуса;
Угол горизонтального обстрела – 10 градусов;
Масса в походном положении – 166000 кг;
Масса фугасного снаряда – 465 кг;
Начальная скорость снаряда – 893 м/с;
Наибольшая дальность стрельбы – 33000 м.

Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 3
  1. Iraclius 6 февраля 2013 09:29
    На мой взгляд, из всех установок, рассмотренных ранее эта является наименее удачной. Невзирая на бОльший калибр и приличную дальность стрельбы огромное время развёртывания (почти неделя, что говорить!) сводит на нет основное преимущество орудий на ж/д транспортёре - высокую подвижность.
    Правда, однажды расчет, укомплектованный американскими солдатами, выполнил все подготовительные работы в течении полутора суток, но для достижения данного рекорда создали идеальные условия.

    Интересно, а что это были за условия? Наступление немцев под Верденом? lol
    1. carbofo 8 февраля 2013 15:20
      Iraclius,
      В то время авиация не представляла из себя серьезной силы , и поэтому для орудия такого калибра неделя на подготовку позиции была приемлемой.
      Почитайте про ДОРУ немцы с ней возились не меньше.
  2. AKuzenka 6 февраля 2013 17:09
    Вот и верь после этого, что французы на немцев не собирались нападать. Собирались, да облажались.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня