Round court admiral Popov. Part of 3. "Vice Admiral Popov"

6
It took almost a year and a half to decide what the second popovka would be. From the middle of 1872, the construction of "Kiev" was stopped, as the ministry manager signed a corresponding order in November, with reference to Popov AA, "... which foresees the need to improve the ship by making a number of changes in its construction ". The shipbuilding department of the 3 Marine Technical Committee on August 1873 of the year reviewed the draft of a practically new vessel. The diameter of the hull increased almost 6 meters to the size limit of the Sevastopol slipway. With a power plant of greater power, the popovka carried two guns of the caliber 305 mm, and the barbet and the board covered the armor with a thickness of millimeters 457. Highest permission for the construction of a second vessel for a new drawing followed13 August. In October, the name “Vice-Admiral Popov” was given to Popovka, a rather rare honor; earlier, courts of the first rank were given the names of saints, members of the imperial family and loud victories of the Russian weapons.



Strengthen and redo the stocks, which built "Novgorod", began in the fall. At the same time, the former constructions of “Kiev” were dismantled. October 15 was followed by an order for the opening of works, but the assembly began only in the spring of next year. Captain Mordvinov A.V. remained a builder.

Iron was manufactured by the Rayvolovsky, Kama plants, and the new Yuz plant in the Yekaterinoslav province. “Yuzovka”, which became famous in the future, did not cope with the work, the metal could not stand it. Iron had to be urgently reordered in Raivolo. Izhortsy rolled armor, and the guns did Obukhov plant. In addition to the factory ordered, Byrd still in 1872, 6 vertical compound steam engines and 8 boilers, he was commissioned to make 2 machines and 4 boilers according to the new specification and redo old ones.

It was planned to launch the ship in the fall of the year 1875, and tests in May of the next. As with the construction of the first popovka, there was a large number of obstacles that are not dependent on the Admiralty. In connection with the breakdown at the Izhorsk plant of an armored rolling mill, part of 178-millimeter plates was ordered in England. Popov A.A. he himself obtained permission for this, as an exception, “for the speedy testing of new type vessels” ... Serious concerns from the experience of Novgorod and Peter the Great were caused by the supply of mechanisms. The Marine Ministry, in the end, managed to force the machine builders to work “under extraordinary circumstances”, but the railroad failed, which had been searching for platforms suitable for the transportation of boilers for a month and a half. The boilers had to be installed after the ship was lowered, and to be loaded within a month, a channel was laid in the ice of the river to guide the floating crane to the Admiralty.

27 August 1874, in the presence of the emperor, the ceremony of laying the second popovka took place. In early December, parts of the second bottom from the center to the third circular keel were tested for watertightness. In March 1875 of the following year completed the assembly of the upper deck beams, in late April - testing of the compartments of the 2 bottom to the side. Despite a number of short deliveries, the descent did not postpone. The second popovka 25 September 1875, in the presence of General-Admiral, descended into the waters of Ingul. Novgorod and the yacht Livadia took part in the festivities.




The body of the new design was similar to the first one. The armor was installed according to the same scheme, but the barbet and the upper side belt were covered with plates in two layers: for the inner layer with a thickness of 178 mm, for the outer one - 229 mm. The total thickness of the armor belt with channels and teak lining reached the design 457 millimeters. Barbet defended similarly.

Double-layer armor had to be made due to the fact that the plant was not able to roll slabs with a thickness of more than 229 millimeters. Eight vertical twin double-expansion steam engines, which were powered by twelve three-furnace fire tube boilers, set in motion 6 screws. In this case, the average worked on two cars. These screws, according to the experience of the Novgorod test, had a larger diameter compared to the central and side screws (4,27 meters versus 3,2). Their propeller shafts were lengthened and lowered, so the propeller blades worked in deep water, being below the level of the bottom. The insecurity of the screws in case of possible ram attacks caused or the moorings offered by E. E. E. Gulyaev to put them in the tunnels, however, taking into account the purpose of the vessels, they refused the idea. Andrei Aleksandrovich advised for passing the shallow water with recessed screws to flood the double-duct compartments of the bow and so to speak, “jump over” the obstacle, or stop the middle screws in the position of the least penetration. That is why they were equipped with three blades, unlike the others. Obviously, to increase, as they said at that time, the “driving force”, Popov A.A. deliberately sacrificed small draft - one of the advantages of a round ship.



Offering a second popovka to provide greater seaworthiness, compared to Novgorod, the admiral during construction significantly increased the volume of the upper superstructure. Now the superstructure was a freeboard of an ordinary vessel, mounted on a circular hull platform. The deck was located at the level of an open tower. From sections of the sides to the pipes (wider and shorter than on the first set-up), bridges stretched, more elevated than Novgorod, due to four 87-mm guns installed in the setup.

The new battleship was supposed to be armed with airborne mine poles, but for some reason they abandoned their device. In the aft part of the superstructure, davits were installed to raise standard watercrafts similar to those of Novgorod; during firing in the direction of the stern from the main caliber of the boat lowered to the deck.

"Vice Admiral Popov" at the end of June 1876, the year went to the factory tests mechanisms. The ship immediately reached the speed of 8 nodes, which was immediately reported to the management by the delighted admiral. Official tests, which began a month later, were accompanied by constant car breakdowns. After several test flights between Nikolayev and Sevastopol, the commission in August took the bagging to the treasury. At the same time, the rules of acceptance, as well as at Novgorod, were not fulfilled: they did not give full speed, fearing for the integrity of the mechanisms; in the boilers, the vapor pressure did not exceed 4,2 atmospheres. (At the same time, depending on the quality of coal, its consumption ranged from 2,15 to 3,3 tons per hour.) However, for one machine a chart was taken at a pressure of 4 atmospheres: power was equal to 511 and. l with. The Commission carried out comparative tests of the course of round ships, during which the extreme side screws showed low efficiency. "Vice Admiral Popov" with six screws overtook "Novgorod", which was in full swing, on an 1,75 node, with four screws, without extreme ones, also moved faster, losing a little more than one node; overtook his brother. The second popovka without recessed screws to give more than four nodes could not. Immediately after these experiments, it was decided to remove the side screws, as well as the machines from both vessels.



A rather unpleasant circumstance was the unreliability of the machines for the 40-ton guns of “Vice-Admiral Popov”. According to the project, these 305-mm guns were supposed to be installed on “descending” machines, which made it possible to hide barrels under the protection of barbets after firing. The British system, adapted for the Obukhov guns, was taken as the basis. These developments involved lieutenant Rasskazov L.A. The whole system according to the drawings of the lieutenant was ordered in England. But in connection with the expected break with Turkey and the bringing of the Black Sea fleet in combat readiness, they decided not to risk it and in the fall of 1876 the guns were installed on metal machines designed by Pestich FB, similar to Novgorod machines. During the first firing conducted in October-November, their weakness was revealed ... In addition, superstructures received damage during the shots, and the ship's hull experienced severe concussions. I had to reinforce machines, add-ons and barbettes. To strengthen the barbet, another circular bulkhead was placed under the deck, and six cabins for officers were arranged between the tower and it.

In the spring of 1877, new firing was carried out during combat training of backfits. The shield was towed from the ships at a distance from the 15 cable; Admiral Arkas N.A. reported "shooting was very successful ...". According to the report of the commander of the "Vice-Admiral Popov" that the mounts and the machines had survived, but the platforms of the guns fought strongly against each other, the deck and superstructures were damaged.

Our news channels

Subscribe and stay up to date with the latest news and the most important events of the day.

6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. AK-47
    +1
    February 12 2013
    At the same time, depending on the quality of the coal, its consumption ranged from 2,15 to 3,3 tons per hour.

    They threw a coal by hand, how many quality-guards needed to have?
    I would like to know about the size and composition of the team and more about the artillery capabilities of the vessel.
    1. +1
      February 12 2013
      I won’t tell you about stokers and a team, but the fact that as a combat unit this ship and senior brother is absolutely useless. In fact, the maximum that these victories of design thought were capable of is a battle from the standpoint of a firewall.
      1. Vanya Ivanov
        +2
        February 12 2013
        and they were BRBO.
  2. 0
    February 12 2013
    Especially these boats when firing the main caliber and strove to begin rotation around its axis ... an unsuccessful vessel.
    1. Witch
      +2
      February 12 2013
      Quote: viktor_ui
      and strove to begin rotation around its axis


      We read from the first part of the article where this myth is debunked ....
      1. -1
        February 12 2013
        So this myth has already been at least a quarter of a century based on what I have read ... or his navels were grouped strictly at one point ... well, like at the rate ??? Ali was shot on a special system with compensation of the previous big bang ??? And can they have a WELL VERY advanced stabilization system with auto steering ??? Well, etc. you can fantasize. PROJECT "SHIT" and sorry for the taxpayers' gold rubles spent on it.
        A trace. the type of armadillo in this ship would be SQUARE (Malevich blah)
        Dare, can and surprise him with brilliant seafaring qualities wassat

"Right Sector" (banned in Russia), "Ukrainian Insurgent Army" (UPA) (banned in Russia), ISIS (banned in Russia), "Jabhat Fatah al-Sham" formerly "Jabhat al-Nusra" (banned in Russia) , Taliban (banned in Russia), Al-Qaeda (banned in Russia), Anti-Corruption Foundation (banned in Russia), Navalny Headquarters (banned in Russia), Facebook (banned in Russia), Instagram (banned in Russia), Meta (banned in Russia), Misanthropic Division (banned in Russia), Azov (banned in Russia), Muslim Brotherhood (banned in Russia), Aum Shinrikyo (banned in Russia), AUE (banned in Russia), UNA-UNSO (banned in Russia), Mejlis of the Crimean Tatar People (banned in Russia), Legion “Freedom of Russia” (armed formation, recognized as terrorist in the Russian Federation and banned)

“Non-profit organizations, unregistered public associations or individuals performing the functions of a foreign agent,” as well as media outlets performing the functions of a foreign agent: “Medusa”; "Voice of America"; "Realities"; "Present time"; "Radio Freedom"; Ponomarev; Savitskaya; Markelov; Kamalyagin; Apakhonchich; Makarevich; Dud; Gordon; Zhdanov; Medvedev; Fedorov; "Owl"; "Alliance of Doctors"; "RKK" "Levada Center"; "Memorial"; "Voice"; "Person and law"; "Rain"; "Mediazone"; "Deutsche Welle"; QMS "Caucasian Knot"; "Insider"; "New Newspaper"

Круглые суда адмирала Попова. Часть 3. «Вице-адмирал Попов»

Почти полтора года ушло на решение вопроса, какой будет вторая поповка. С середины 1872 года постройка «Киева» была остановлена, о чем в ноябре управляющий министерством подписал соответствующий приказ, со ссылкой на Попова А.А., «...который предвидит необходимость, для улучшения судна, сделать в ее постройке ряд изменений указываемых опытом». Кораблестроительное отделение морского технического комитета 3 августа 1873 года рассмотрело проект практически нового судна. Диаметр корпуса увеличили практически на 6 метров, до предельных размеров севастопольского эллинга. При силовой установке большей мощности, поповка несла два орудия калибра 305 мм, а барбет и борт прикрывала броня толщиной 457 миллиметров. Высочайшее разрешение на постройку второго судна по новому чертежу последовало13 августа. В октябре поповке присвоили название «Вице-адмирал Попов» — довольно редкая честь, ранее судам первого ранга давали имена святых, членов императорской фамилии и громких побед русского оружия.

Круглые суда адмирала Попова. Часть 3. «Вице-адмирал Попов»


Укреплять и переделывать стапель, на котором строили «Новгород», начали осенью. В то же время разобрали прежние конструкции «Киева». 15 октября последовало предписание на открытие работ, однако сборку начали лишь весной следующего года. Капитан Мордвинов А.В. остался строителем.


Железо изготавливалось Райволовским, Камским заводами, а новым заводом Юза в Екатеринославской губернии. «Юзовка», ставшая в будущем знаменитой, с работой не справилась, проб металл не выдержал. Железо пришлось срочно дозаказывать в Райволо. Ижорцы прокатывали броню, а орудия делал Обуховский завод. Кроме заказанных заводу, Берда еще в 1872 году 6 вертикальных паровых машин «компаунд» и 8 котлов, ему поручили изготовить 2 машины и 4 котла по новой спецификации и переделать старые.

Спуск судна планировалось провести осенью 1875 года, а испытания в мае следующего. Как и при постройке первой поповки, возникло большое количество препятствий, не зависящих от адмиралтейства. В связи с поломкой на Ижорском заводе бронепрокатного стана часть 178-миллиметровых плит заказали в Англии. Попов А.А. сам выхлопотал разрешение на это, в виде исключения, «для скорейшего испытания судов нового типа»... Серьезные опасения по опыту «Новгорода» и «Петра Великого» вызывали поставки механизмов. Морскому министерству, в конце концов, удалось заставить машиностроителей работать «при чрезвычайных обстоятельствах», однако подвела железная дорога, полтора месяца разыскивавшая платформы годные для перевозки котлов. Котлы пришлось устанавливать после спуска судна, а для их погрузки в течение месяца во льду реки прокладывать канал для проводки плавучего крана в адмиралтейство.

27 августа 1874 года в присутствии императора состоялась церемония закладки второй поповки. В начале декабря на водонепроницаемость испытывались части второго дна от центра до третьего кругового киля. В марте 1875 следующего года завершили сборку бимсов верхней палубы, в конце апреля — испытания отсеков 2-го дна до борта. Несмотря на ряд недопоставок, спуск откладывать не стали. Вторая поповка 25 сентября 1875 года, в присутствии генерал-адмирала, сошла в воды Ингула. «Новгород» и яхта «Ливадия» принимали участие в торжествах.

Круглые суда адмирала Попова. Часть 3. «Вице-адмирал Попов»

Круглые суда адмирала Попова. Часть 3. «Вице-адмирал Попов»


Корпус новой поповки по конструкции был подобен первой. Броню установили по той же схеме, однако барбет и верхний пояс борта покрывались плитами в два слоя: для внутреннего слоя толщиной 178 мм, для внешнего — 229 мм. Суммарная толщина броневого пояса со швеллерами и тиковой подкладкой достигала проектных 457 миллиметров. Барбет защищался аналогично.

Делать броню двухслойной пришлось из-за того, что завод не способен был прокатывать плиты толщиной свыше 229 миллиметров. Восемь вертикальных одинаковых паровых машин двойного расширения, для питания которых служило двенадцать трехтопочных огнетрубных котлов, приводили в движение 6 винтов. При этом на средние работало по две машины. Эти винты, по опыту испытаний «Новгорода», имели больший, по сравнению с центральными и боковыми, диаметр (4,27 метра против 3,2). Их гребные валы были удлинены и опущены, поэтому лопасти винтов работали в глубокой воде, находясь ниже уровня днища. Незащищенность винтов при возможных таранных ударах вызвала или швартовках предложение Гуляева Э. Е. поместить их в туннели, однако, принимая во внимание назначение судов, от идеи отказались. Андрей Александрович советовал для прохождения мелководья с углубленными винтами затапливать междудонные отделения носовой части и так сказать «перепрыгивать» препятствие, или стопорить средние винты в положении наименьшего заглубления. Именно для этого их оснастили тремя лопастями, в отличие от остальных. Очевидно, что для увеличения, как говорили в то время, «движущей силы», Попов А.А. сознательно пожертвовал малой осадкой – одним из достоинств круглого корабля.

Круглые суда адмирала Попова. Часть 3. «Вице-адмирал Попов»


Предлагая второй поповке обеспечить большую мореходность, по сравнению с «Новгородом», адмирал во время строительства значительно увеличил объем верхней надстройки. Теперь надстройка представляла собой надводный борт обычного судна, установленный на круглой платформе корпуса. Палуба располагалась на уровне открытой башни. От срезов бортов до труб (более широких и коротких, чем на первой поповке) простирались мостики, более приподнятые, по сравнению с «Новгородом», из-за четырех 87-мм пушек установленных в настройке.

Новый броненосец предполагалось вооружить бортовыми минными шестами, однако по некоторым причинам отказались от их устройства. В кормовой части надстройки установили шлюпбалки, для подъема штатных плавсредств аналогичных «Новгороду»; во время стрельбы в направлении кормы из главного калибра катера приспускали на палубу.

«Вице-адмирал Попов» в конце июня 1876 года вышел на заводские пробы механизмов. Судно сразу достигло скорости 8 узлов, о чем руководству тут же доложил обрадованный адмирал. Официальные испытания, начавшиеся через месяц, сопровождались постоянными поломками машин. После нескольких пробных рейсов между Николаевым и Севастополем, комиссия в августе приняла поповку в казну. При этом правила приемки, как и на «Новгороде», не были выполнены: не давали полного хода, опасаясь за целостность механизмов, в котлах давление пара не превышало 4,2 атмосфер. (При этом, в зависимости от качества угля его расход составлял от 2,15 до 3,3 т. в час.) Правда, для одной машины была снята диаграмма при давлении 4 атмосфер: мощность равнялась 511 и. л. с. Комиссией были проведены сравнительные испытания хода круглых судов, в ходе которых крайние боковые винты показали малую эффективность действия. «Вице-адмирал Попов» при шести винтах обгонял «Новгород», который шел полным ходом, на 1,75 узла, при четырех винтах, без крайних, - также двигался быстрее, теряя немногим более одного узла, при работе двух средних - хоть немного, но своего собрата обгонял. Вторая поповка без заглубленных винтов дать более четырех узлов не смогла. Сразу после этих опытов было решено снять боковые винты, а также машины с обоих судов.

Круглые суда адмирала Попова. Часть 3. «Вице-адмирал Попов»


Довольно неприятным обстоятельством оказалась ненадежность станков для 40-тонных орудий «Вице-адмирала Попова». Эти 305-миллиметровые орудия по проекту предполагалось установить на «снижающихся» станках, которые позволяли прятать после выстрела стволы под защиту барбета. За основу была взята английская система, приспособленная под обуховские орудия. Данными разработками занимался лейтенант Рассказов Л.А. Всю систему по чертежам лейтенанта заказали в Англии. Но в связи с ожидаемым разрывом с Турцией и приведением Черноморского флота в боеготовность решили не рисковать и орудия осенью 1876 года установили на металлических станках конструкции Пестича Ф.Б., подобных станкам «Новгорода». Во время первых же стрельб проведенных в октябре—ноябре выявили их слабость... Кроме того при выстрелах повреждения получали надстройки, а корпус судна испытывал сильные сотрясения. Пришлось подкреплять станки, надстройки и барбет. Чтобы усилить барбет под палубой была поставлена еще одна круговая переборка, а между башней и ней устроили шесть кают для офицеров.

Весной 1877 года производились новые стрельбы во время боевой подготовки поповок. Щит буксировался от кораблей на расстоянии до 15 кабельтовых; адмирал Аркас Н.А. рапортовал «стрельба была весьма удачна...». Согласно докладу командира «Вице-адмирала Попова», что крепления и станки выдержали, однако платформы орудий сильно бились друг о друга, палуба и надстройки имели повреждения.

Круглые суда адмирала Попова. Часть 3. «Вице-адмирал Попов»

Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 6
  1. AK-47 12 февраля 2013 10:05
    При этом, в зависимости от качества угля его расход составлял от 2,15 до 3,3 т. в час.

    Уголёк кидали вручную, это сколько же надо было иметь качегаров?
    Хотелось бы узнать о численности и составе команды и подробнее об артиллерийских возможностях судна.
    AK-47
    1. Сахалинец 12 февраля 2013 14:46
      По кочегарам и команде не скажу, но вот то что как боевая единица этот корабель и старший собрат абсолютно бесполезны. По сути максимум на что были способны сии победы конструкторской мысли это бой с позиции брандвахты.
      1. ваня иванов 12 февраля 2013 15:17
        а они и были БРБО.
        ваня иванов
  2. viktor_ui 12 февраля 2013 12:17
    Ешо сии кораблики при стрельбе главным калибром так и норовили начать вращение вокруг своей оси... неудачная посудина.
    1. Ведмедь 12 февраля 2013 14:48
      Цитата: viktor_ui
      так и норовили начать вращение вокруг своей оси


      Читаем с первой части статьи, где этот миф развенчивается....
      Ведмедь
      1. viktor_ui 12 февраля 2013 15:37
        Значит этому мифу уже не менее четверти века исходя из прочитанного мною... или пупушки у него группировались строго по в одной точке... ну типа по курсу ??? Али стреляли по особой системе с компенсацией предыдущего большого бабаха ??? А мож они имели НУ ОЧЕНЬ продвинутую систему стабилизации с автоподруливанием ??? Ну и т.д. можно фантазировать. ПРОЕКТ "ГАВНО" и жаль потраченных на него золотых рублей налогплательщиков.
        А след. типом броненосца бы у сего корабела был бы КВАДРАТ ( Малевич мля )
        Дерзайте , мож и удивите его блестящими мореходными какчествами wassat

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня