Military Review

American interceptor fighter Northrop F-89 "Scorpion" (Part of 1) Creation

7
At the end of the 1940-ies, at the beginning of the era of jet aircraft, F-89 Scorpion was created. The aircraft before the 1969 year provided the US air defense, outliving many of its contemporaries. Initially, the design of the aircraft almost did not change, but its weapons have changed - the guns replaced the guided and unguided missiles, as well as missiles with a nuclear warhead.


By the end of the Second World War, Northrop specialists had experience in developing and creating the most advanced areas of military aviation: radar installations and jet engines. It was here that the first interceptor with the P-61 locator “Black Widow” (“Black Widow”), commissioned by the US Air Force, was created. The company’s first turbojet aircraft was the experimental XP-79B. It is only natural that the designers of Northrop took part in the US Air Force competition when they needed the latest interceptor equipped with a radar.

After the war, the US Air Force required a new aircraft. Requirements for the new all-weather fighter were put forward on 28 August 1945. The machine was supposed to have the maximum speed of the aircraft at the ground 885 km / h, at the height of 10,7 km - 845 km / h. The time taken to set the maximum height was set in 12 min., The range - 967 km. Also, the machine except small arms had to be equipped with air-to-air missiles. Initially, the specification did not imply the use of a jet engine, but most of the six companies submitted to the competition - Consolidated, Bell, Douglas, Curtiss, Northrop and Goodyear - fighters were equipped with just such engines.

The firm "Curtiss" was in a more advantageous position, as it had the option of a heavy fighter XA-43. Designing this aircraft began during the Second World War. At the end of hostilities, the military changed their view of the XA-43, and the designers decided to create a new interceptor at its base. The XP-87 aircraft project was ready at the end of 1945, when the rest of the companies just started developing sketches for their cars.

On the "Northrop" developed 4 version of the aircraft. The Air Force Commission in March 1946 of the year chose to build one. The interceptor at the company received the designation N-24, and in accordance with the US Air Force system he was assigned the index XP-69 and the proper name "Scorpion".

13 June 1946. The company signed an agreement to build 2 prototypes of XP-89 (the first of them was flown around in August 1948 g). The final contract was concluded in September of the following year. During the preparation of the project in the project made several changes that increase the cost of work.
In 1948, the United States Air Force was reorganized, all interceptors were categorized as “F” (Fighter), and the project was designated the XF-89 “Scorpion”.

Interceptor was supposed to "work" on the Soviet bomber. Ocean - reliable protection from enemy aircraft. At that time, the only corridor to the United States, for Soviet aircraft, was the Alaska area. In this regard, the new fighter immediately designed for the harsh and snowy North. The interceptor required greater reliability and simplicity in control, which affected the aerodynamic design - only the use of a straight wing ensured confident piloting and landing at night and in adverse weather conditions.

American interceptor fighter Northrop F-89 "Scorpion" (Part of 1) Creation
After the Genie missile with a nuclear warhead, the Scorpion’s most powerful weapons were the 70-mm NAR Mighty Mouse. Released from close range in one gulp, 104 rockets created a huge cloud of solid destruction in the sky.


Scorpion was initially created, if it can be said so, around the four-guns nose-propelled rifle system, which is clearly visible in the shape of the nose of the XF-89 prototype. But the second prototype then installed a fixed installation of six guns


F-89B from the 190 th fighter-interceptor squadron received one of the most impressive color schemes. Idaho Squadron flew F-89B from July 7 956 to April 1959


54-26 The 7 is the first F-89H captured during the tests of the air-to-air GAR-1 Falcon unit. The missiles were housed in a closed unit, and before launching they were put forward on an aviation launch device. The solid propellant rocket engine worked with 1,2, providing the rocket with a speed of M = 3,15 and a maximum launch range of 12,2 km


Design

The all-metal semi-monocoque fuselage had a working skin. The front two-wheel post, placed behind the air intake cut, was removed under the cab, and the single-wheel main landing gear (high pressure pneumatic) in a single wheel - in the wing. The straight wing (profile NACA 0009-64) served to accommodate the fuel tanks and had five spars. Also, the fuel was in the fuselage. It was planned that non-dropable extra tanks would be installed at the wingtips, but they were absent on the first car. Due to the supply of fuel, the standard combat radius of the F-89 Scorpion was 500 km, however, for the interception of important targets, the range could be increased to 1000 km.

The plane decided to use the new steering surfaces - elevons (at the same time playing the role of brake plates and ailerons), tested on the XP-79В. According to the designers, such steering surfaces will enable the aircraft to maneuver more efficiently, facilitate target acquisition, aiming and shooting. But the first copy was supposed to fly around with classical ailerons, and only then go to the elevons.
The fighter-interceptor used the usual tail. The stabilizers were located just above the middle of the keel, to protect them from the gases emitted from the engine.





The sealed cabin had a common flashlight for the pilot and operator located on the ejection seats one after another.

On the first prototype, the XF-89 installed the J35-A-9 engines from Allison, which obtained documentation for the production of these turbojet engines. The maximum J35-A-9 thrust was 1814 kgf. The engine for a long time could develop effort only in 1588 kgf. It was clear that power was insufficient, since the take-off mass of the aircraft in the project was equal to 16 tons. In this regard, for subsequent interceptors, Chrysler was chosen by the General Electric J-35-GE-3 license 1814 kgf as a power plant. Two engines were placed below the fuselage near each other. Unregulated air intakes were almost at the ground, and the nozzles were at the rear edge of the wing. The tail section with plumage from escaping gases was protected by special steel heat-resistant plates. With this arrangement, the need for long air ducts fell away - the free nose was used to house the radar, and on the ground, servicing the engines was very affordable and simple. The only drawback of this scheme was the danger of getting into the engines of objects with runways.
In addition to intercepting aerial targets, the aircraft was to perform the functions of a ground attack aircraft. Therefore, the F-89A, in addition to the 6 M-24 cannons, received the 2 wing pylon. If necessary, they were suspended bombs weighing 726 kg. Under the wing also placed the guides for the 16 NUR HVAR caliber 127 millimeters. Even before the advent of supersonic interceptors replacing the F-89, the designers of Northrop worked on equipping the Scorpion with a wide variety of equipment and weapons. One F-89A was tested with the new MX-852 turret. In this setup, four X-NUMX-mm M-20 guns could deviate 24 degrees from the horizontal position. At the same time, the new D-150 fire control system and the AN / APG-1 radar were tested. Two aircraft modification F-29C flew with X-NUMX-mm guns Oerlikon which replaced six 89-mm trunks. In the 30, on one F-20C instead of the standard rifle armament, a pair of T-XNUMHEZ jet cannons mounted on the sides of the nose were installed. These guns fired special 1952-mm missiles, general 89 rounds of shots.



Modifications:

F-89A - the first serial modification of the aircraft. Production began in 1950. On the first machines, the Allison J33-A-21 engine was installed, replaced later by J33-A-21А (thrust from the afterburner 22,58 kH). 18 machines were produced.



F-89B - on the machines of this modification changed the composition of avionics, which included the instrumental landing system and the autopilot Lear. Built 30 machines.



F-89C - changed the composition of avionics and horizontal tail. On airplanes of this modification, various versions of the Allison TRDF were installed. Total built 164 aircraft.



F-89D - the most massive modification of the aircraft - built 682 aircraft. Entered into service in 1953 year. On the F-89D, a new Hughes production control system was installed, six 20 caliber guns were dismantled, and it was possible to install underwing fuel tanks, as well as end wing containers with 52 HAP each.



YF-89E - the only created instance was equipped with an Allison YJ71 engine. The series was supposed to go under the designation F-89F, but the work on this version turned.

A similar fate befell the modification of the F-89G equipped with a new SLA.

The F-89H is the latest production version of the Scorpion. In production launched in 1956 year. This modification is close to the F-89D, but differed by more powerful engines. On machines, the F-89H was equipped with end wing containers for 3-3 air-to-air Falcon guided missiles and 21-th NAR, and 6 guided missiles were also suspended under the wing. Built 158 machines.



F-89J - upgrading F-89D, carrier of missiles with a nuclear warhead MB-1 Genie. The armament also included 4 guided Falcon rockets. End containers with missiles were replaced with PTB.



DF-89A and DF-89B - in unmanned targets created on the basis of F-89H.
Author:
Articles from this series:
American interceptor fighter Northrop F-89 "Scorpion" (Part of 1) Creation
American fighter-interceptor Northrop F-89 "Scorpion" (Part of 2) tests and applications
7 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Zerstorer
    Zerstorer 25 March 2013 10: 22
    0
    An interesting machine, though typical for Americans. Special thanks for the paint schemes. If I ever get to a model of this aircraft, I will make a "starry" paint for 190 squadron.
  2. qwert
    qwert 25 March 2013 11: 21
    0
    A little worse than the Yak-25.
    1. Vadivak
      Vadivak 25 March 2013 13: 29
      +2
      Quote: qwert
      A little worse than the Yak-25.


      Trash, 5 catastrophes, one after another during energetic turns and rotations with great overload, the power elements of the wing fastening to the center wing were destroyed. Moisture penetrated the open guides for ATGMs and the resulting corrosion led to several accidents and fires during training launches.
      Yes, and looks like a complete freak
  3. Fitter65
    Fitter65 25 March 2013 15: 03
    +2
    Such a beautiful freak !!! And his models are just fine.
  4. Drosselmeyer
    Drosselmeyer 25 March 2013 15: 47
    0
    Some archaic, stolen from the Germans, the idea of ​​intercepting aircraft mass launch of NARs.
  5. laurbalaur
    laurbalaur 25 March 2013 16: 08
    +1
    My version of Scorpio from Rewell.
  6. AlexMH
    AlexMH 25 March 2013 22: 48
    0
    He is ugly, and therefore ineffective :) A strange mixture of ideas from the era of the beginning of jet aviation in one plane.
  7. Black Colonel
    Black Colonel 26 March 2013 15: 10
    +1
    End wing containers with NAR create a large moment during axial rotation, and, consequently, during maneuverable combat, there is a direct road to the trash.

Американский истребитель-перехватчик Northrop F-89 "Scorpion" (Часть 1) Создание

В конце 1940-х гг., в начале эры реактивных самолетов, был создан F-89 Scorpion. Самолет до 1969 года обеспечивал противовоздушную оборону США, пережив многих своих современников. Вначале конструкция самолета изменений почти не претерпевала, однако его вооружение изменилось — пушки заменили управляемые и неуправляемые ракеты, а также ракеты с ядерной боевой частью.

К концу Второй мировой специалисты компании «Нортроп» имели опыт разработки и создания самых передовых направлений военной авиации: радарным установкам и реактивным двигателям. Именно здесь был создан первый перехватчик с локатором Р-61 «Black Widow» («Черная вдова»), выполненный по заказу американских ВВС. Первым для компании самолетом с турбореактивным двигателем стал опытный ХР-79В. Вполне естественно, что конструкторы «Нортропа» принимали участие в конкурсе ВВС США, когда им понадобился новейший перехватчик, оснащенный радаром.

После войны военно-воздушным силам Армии США требовался новый самолет. Требования к новому всепогодному истребителю были выдвинуты 28 августа 1945 года. Машина должна была обладать максимальной скоростью самолета у земли 885 км/ч, на высоте 10,7 км – 845 км/ч. Время набора максимальной высоты установили в 12 мин., дальность – 967 км. Также машина кроме стрелкового вооружения должна была оснащаться ракетами класса "воздух-воздух". Изначально спецификация не подразумевала использования реактивного двигателя, однако большинство из представленных на конкурс шестью компаниями-участницами – «Консолидейтед», «Белл», «Дуглас», «Кертисс», «Нортроп» и «Гудьир» – истребителей были оснащены именно такими двигателями.


Фирма «Кертисс» находилась в более выигрышном положении, так как имела вариант тяжелого истребителя ХА-43. Проектирование данного самолета началось еще во время Второй мировой. По окончании боевых действий военные изменили свой взгляд на ХА-43, и конструкторы приняли решение создать на его базе новый перехватчик. Проект самолета ХР-87 был готов в конце 1945 года, когда остальные компании только начали разрабатывать эскизы своих машин.

На "Нортропе" разработали 4 варианта самолета. Комиссия ВВС в марте 1946 года выбрала для постройки один. Перехватчик на фирме получил обозначение N-24, а в соответствии с системой американских ВВС ему присвоили индекс ХР-69 и имя собственное «Скорпион».

13 июня 1946 г. компания подписала договор на постройку 2 прототипов ХР-89 (первый из них был облетан в августе 1948 г). Окончательный контракт заключили в сентябре следующего года. В период подготовки проекта в проект внесли несколько изменений, увеличивших стоимость работ.
В 1948 года ВВС США реорганизовали, все перехватчики были отнесены к категории «F» (истребитель, Fighter), и проект получил обозначение XF-89 «Scorpion».

Перехватчик должен был «работать» по советским бомбардировщикам. Океан – надежная защита от вражеской авиации. В то время единственным коридором на территорию США, для советских самолетов, был район Аляски. В связи с этим, новый истребитель сразу проектировали для сурового и снежного Севера. От перехватчика требовалась большая надежность и простота в управлении, что повлияло на аэродинамическую схему – только использование прямого крыла обеспечивало уверенное пилотирование и посадку ночью и в сложных метеоусловиях.

Американский истребитель-перехватчик Northrop F-89 "Scorpion" (Часть 1) Создание
После ракеты Genie с ядерной боевой частью самым мощным вооружением Scorpion были 70-мм НАР Mighty Mouse. Выпущенные с близкой дистанции залпом, 104 ракеты создавали в небе огромное облако сплошного поражения


Американский истребитель-перехватчик Northrop F-89 "Scorpion" (Часть 1) Создание
Scorpion поначалу создавался, если можно так сказать, вокруг носовой наводимой стрелковой установки из четырех пушек, что хорошо видно по форме носовой части прототипа XF-89. Но на втором прототипе затем установили фиксированную установку из шести пушек


Американский истребитель-перехватчик Northrop F-89 "Scorpion" (Часть 1) Создание
F-89B из состава 190-й эскадрильи истребителей-перехватчиков получил одну из самых впечатляющих схем окраски. Эскадрилья из штата Айдахо летала на F-89B с июля 7 956 года по апрель 1959 года


Американский истребитель-перехватчик Northrop F-89 "Scorpion" (Часть 1) Создание
54-26 7 — первый F-89H, запечатленный во время испытаний блока УР «воздух—воздух» GAR-1 Falcon. Ракеты размещались в закрытом блоке, а перед пуском выдвигались на авиационном пусковом устройстве. Твердотопливный двигатель ракеты работал 1,2 с, обеспечивая ракете скорость М=3,15 и максимальную дальность пуска 12,2 км


Конструкция

Цельнометаллический полумонококовый фюзеляж имел работающую обшивку. Передняя двухколесная стойка, размещенная за срезом воздухозаборника, убиралась под кабину, а одноколесные основные стойки шасси (пневматика с высоким давлением) в единственном колесе – в крыло. Прямое крыло (профиль NACA 0009-64) служило для размещения топливных баков и имело пять лонжеронов. Также топливо находилось в фюзеляже. Планировалось, что на законцовках крыла будут установлены несбрасываемые дополнительные баки, но они отсутствовали на первой машине. Благодаря запасу топлива стандартный боевой радиус F-89 Scorpion составлял 500 км, однако для перехвата важных целей дальность могла быть увеличена до 1000 км.

На самолете решили использовать новые рулевые поверхности - элевоны (одновременно играли роль тормозных щитков и элеронов), опробованные на ХР-79В. По мнению конструкторов, такие рулевые поверхности дадут возможность самолету более эффективно маневрировать, облегчат захват цели, прицеливание и стрельбу. Но первый экземпляр предполагалось облетать с классическими элеронами, и только потом перейти на элевоны.
На истребителе-перехватчике использовали обычное хвостовое оперение. Стабилизаторы размещались чуть выше середины киля, для их защиты от газов, вылетающих из двигателя.

Американский истребитель-перехватчик Northrop F-89 "Scorpion" (Часть 1) Создание
Американский истребитель-перехватчик Northrop F-89 "Scorpion" (Часть 1) Создание
Американский истребитель-перехватчик Northrop F-89 "Scorpion" (Часть 1) Создание


Герметичная кабина имела общий фонарь для летчика и оператора размещавшихся на катапультируемых креслах друг за другом.

На первом прототипе XF-89 установили двигатели J35-A-9 компании "Аллисон", получившей документацию на производство этих турбореактивных двигателей. Максимальная тяга J35-A-9 составляла 1814 кгс. Двигатель в течение продолжительного времени мог развивать усилие только в 1588 кгс. Было ясно, что мощность недостаточна, так как взлетная масса самолета в проекте равнялась 16 тоннам. В связи с этим для последующих перехватчиков в качестве силовой установки был выбран выпускаемый фирмой «Крайслер» по лицензии «Дженерал Электрик» J-35-GE-3 тягой 1814 кгс. Два двигателя размещались снизу фюзеляжа около друг друга. Нерегулируемые воздухозаборники находились почти у земли, а сопла – на уровне задней кромки крыла. Хвостовая часть с оперением от вылетавших газов защищалась специальными стальными жаропрочными плитами. При такой компоновке необходимость в длинных воздуховодах отпадала – свободную носовую часть использовали для размещения радара, а на земле обслуживание двигателей получалось очень доступным и простым. Единственным недостатком подобной схемы была опасность попадания в двигатели предметов с ВПП.
Кроме перехвата воздушных целей самолет должен был выполнять функции штурмовика. Поэтому F-89A, кроме 6 пушек М-24, получил 2 крыльевых пилона. При необходимости на них подвешивались бомбы массой по 726 кг. Под крылом также разместили направляющие для 16 НУР HVAR калибром 127 миллиметров. Еще до появления сверхзвуковых перехватчиков заменивших F-89, конструкторы «Нортропа» работали над оснащением «Scorpion» самым различным оборудованием и вооружением. Один F-89A испытывался с новой турелью МХ-852. В данной установке четыре 20-мм пушки М-24 могли отклоняться на 150 градусов от горизонтального положения. Одновременно испытывались новая система управления огнем D-1 и радиолокационная станция AN/APG-29. Два самолета модификации F-89C летали с 30-мм пушками Эрликон которые заменили шесть 20-мм стволов. В 1952 году на одном F-89C вместо штатного стрелкового вооружения установили пару реактивных пушек Т-110ЕЗ, установленные по бокам носовой части. Данные пушки стреляли специальными 70-мм ракетами, общий боезапас 50 выстрелов.

Американский истребитель-перехватчик Northrop F-89 "Scorpion" (Часть 1) Создание


Модификации:

F-89A – первая серийная модификация самолета. Производство началось в 1950 г. на первых машинах устанавливался двигатель Allison J33-A-21, замененный позже J33-A-21А (тяга на форсаже 22,58 кH). Было произведено 18 машин.

Американский истребитель-перехватчик Northrop F-89 "Scorpion" (Часть 1) Создание


F-89B – на машинах данной модификации изменили состав БРЭО, в которое вошли инструментальная система посадки и автопилот Lear. Построили 30 машин.

Американский истребитель-перехватчик Northrop F-89 "Scorpion" (Часть 1) Создание


F-89C – изменили состав БРЭО и горизонтальное оперение. На самолетах данной модификации устанавливались различные варианты ТРДФ Allison. Всего построено 164 самолета.

Американский истребитель-перехватчик Northrop F-89 "Scorpion" (Часть 1) Создание


F-89D – самая массовая модификация данного самолета – построено 682 самолета. На вооружение поступил в 1953 году. На F-89D установили новую СУО производства «Hughes», демонтировали шесть пушек калибра 20 мм, предусмотрели возможность установки подкрыльевых топливных баков, а также торцевых крыльевых контейнеров с 52 НАР каждый.

Американский истребитель-перехватчик Northrop F-89 "Scorpion" (Часть 1) Создание


YF-89E – единственный созданный экземпляр оснащался двигателем Allison YJ71. В серию должен был пойти под обозначением F-89F, однако работы по данному варианту свернули.

Подобная судьба постигла и модификацию F-89G оснащенную новой СУО.

F-89H – последний серийный вариант «Scorpion». В производство запущен в 1956 году. Эта модификация близка к F-89D, однако отличалась более мощными двигателями. На машинах F-89H оборудовался торцевыми крыльевыми контейнерами для 3-з управляемых ракет Falcon класса «воздух-воздух» и 21-й НАР, еще 6 управляемых ракет подвешивалось под крыло. Построено 158 машин.

Американский истребитель-перехватчик Northrop F-89 "Scorpion" (Часть 1) Создание


F-89J – модернизация F-89D, носитель ракет с ядерной боевой частью МВ-1 Genie. В состав вооружения также входило 4 управляемых ракеты Falcon. Торцевые контейнеры с ракетами были заменены ПТБ.

Американский истребитель-перехватчик Northrop F-89 "Scorpion" (Часть 1) Создание


DF-89A и DF-89B – в беспилотные мишени, созданные на базе F-89H.

Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Видео в тему

Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 7
  1. Zerstorer 25 марта 2013 10:22
    Интересная хотя и типичная для американцев машинка. За схемы окрасок отдельное спасибо. Если доберусь когда-нибудь до модели этого самолета то сделаю "звезданутую" окраску под 190 эскадрилью.
  2. qwert 25 марта 2013 11:21
    Чуть похуже чем Як-25.
    1. Vadivak 25 марта 2013 13:29
      Цитата: qwert
      Чуть похуже чем Як-25.


      Хлам, 5 катастроф одна за другой во время энергичных разворотов и вращений с большой перегрузкой разрушались силовые элементы крепления крыла к центроплану, .В открытые снаружи направляющие для ПТУРСов проникала влага, и образующаяся коррозия привела к нескольким авариям и пожарам во время учебных пусков.
      Да и выглядит полным уродом
  3. Fitter65 25 марта 2013 15:03
    Такой прекрасный уродец!!!И модели его есть вобще прекрасные.
  4. Drosselmeyer 25 марта 2013 15:47
    Какие-то архаичные, украденные у немцев, идеи перехвата самолётов массированным запуском НАРов.
    Drosselmeyer
  5. laurbalaur 25 марта 2013 16:08
    Мой вариант Скорпиона от Rewell.
    laurbalaur
  6. AlexMH 25 марта 2013 22:48
    Он некрасивый, а следовательно, неэффективный:) Странное смешение идей эпохи начала реактивной авиации в одном самолете.
    AlexMH
  7. Чёрный Полковник 26 марта 2013 15:10
    Торцевые крыльевые контейнеры с НАР создают большой момент при осевом вращении, а, следовательно, при маневренном бое прямая дорога в хлам.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня