Military Review

Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Suvorov

3



In July, 1942, changes occurred in the award system of the Soviet Union. 29 July was signed a decree on the establishment of a new military order, the first of all Soviet awards, which had three degrees. It is about the Order of Suvorov, who was the highest award among the "commander" orders of the USSR. The idea of ​​its creation appeared in June 1942, when the Red Army suffered severe defeats, and its position on the fronts was critical. The decree on the establishment of the new order was signed 2 day after the release of the famous Order number 227, known as "Not one step back!"

The technical committee of the main quartermaster department of the spacecraft, including its artist I. S. Telyatnikov, was involved in the development of new orders. Also, artists such as S.I. Dmitriev (the author of the Order of Lenin project and soldiers’s favorite For Courage medal), N.I. Moskalev, A.I. Kutuzov, who authored the Order of the Patriotic War, N.A. Karetnikov, decorative artist I.Ya. Gremislavsky, as well as architect Academician L.V. Rudnev (in the future he will create a project for the Moscow State University building located on the Lenin Hills). This team presented 55 sketches of future awards, of which only 11 was selected for further work. At this stage, P. I. Skokon, a student at the Moscow Architectural Institute, was brought to the assignment. By this time he had already managed to make war on the territory of Belarus as part of a sabotage group. As a result, the project of an architectural university student was recognized as the best.

It was this project that was made public in the description of the award, along with the decree establishing the order. However, at the suggestion of one of the employees of the mint, the appearance of the Order of Suvorov was somewhat modified. Thus, the Order of the I degree was supplemented with a small red star, which was located above the portrait of the Generalissimo, in order to make it more distinct from the Order of the III degree, which had the same color. Also, the size of orders of II and III degree was reduced by 7 mm relative to the Order of Suvorov I degree. Changes in the appearance of orders were legalized 30 September 1942 of the year.

Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Suvorov
Order of Suvorov I degree


The badge of the Order of Suvorov was a five-pointed star, which had faceted rays. In the center of the order there was a circle with a rim and a portrait in profile of the famous Russian military commander. For the portrait of Alexander Suvorov, an engraving of 1818 was made by the artist N. I. Utkin. The inscription “Alexander Suvorov” was located above the portrait of Suvorov, under the portrait itself along the edge of the circle were embossed oak branches and laurel branches, which were tied with a ribbon. The orders of different degrees differed among themselves by material, size, and the presence of a small red star on enamel of the order I, enameled. The distance between the opposite rays of the order of the first degree was equal to 56 mm, the two remaining orders - 49 mm.

Order of Suvorov I degree was made of platinum. The circle, the portrait of the generalissimo, the inscription and the branches were made of gold. The field of the circle was covered with dark gray enamel. The rim of the central circle was double and also gold, it was divided by a thin rim, covered with red enamel. The Order of Suvorov I degree contained 28,995 g of platinum, 8,84 g of gold and 9,2 g of silver. The total weight of the award was 41,8 ± 1,8. The Order of Suvorov of the II degree was made of gold, the circle and all its elements were made of dark oxidized silver. The Order of Suvorov Grade II contained 23,098 g of gold, 12,22 g of silver, the total weight of the award was 29,2 ± 1,5 g. The inscription "Alexander Suvorov" on this order was covered with red enamel, the circle on which the portrait was located was not covered with enamel. The Order of Suvorov, Grade III, was made of light silver, the inscription, the circle, and all the elements were the same as in the Order of Grade II. The Order of Suvorov III degree contained 22,88 g of silver, and the total weight of the award was 25,3 ± 1,5 g.

On the back of the order there was a nut and a pin, which were designed to fasten the order to military uniform and other clothes. A moire silk ribbon of green color was relied on to the order; the width of the ribbon was 24 mm. Orange longitudinal stripes were placed on the tape. On the Order of Suvorov I degree - one strip in the middle (width 5 mm), on the order II degree - two strips (width 3 mm each) along the edges of the tape, on the order III degree - three strips (width of each 2 mm) - one in the middle and two around the edges.


Order of Suvorov II degree


According to the established statute, the Order of Suvorov I degree was planned to reward the commanders of fronts, armies, as well as heads of arms of service, heads of operational departments and headquarters, their deputies. The basis for submission to the order was the skillful and competent actions of all the above-mentioned commanders during the organization and implementation of major army operations. The result of the operations to be carried out was to be a partial or complete defeat of the superior in number and strength of the enemy.

According to the statute, the Order of Suvorov II degree was planned to reward the commanders of corps, divisions and brigades for the skillful implementation of various types of military operations using well-coordinated interaction of different combat arms. The result of such an operation was to be the encirclement and the capture or destruction of most of the opposing forces of the enemy (his manpower), as well as the seizure of his weapons and military equipment.

According to the statute, the Order of Suvorov, III degree was planned to reward regimental commanders, battalions, their deputies, as well as company commanders. The Order was awarded to those who distinguished themselves for active resistance to the superior enemy, to retain the defended positions and objects, as well as to launch an attack with inflicting a tangible defeat on the enemy.


Order of Suvorov III degree

The first award of the Order of Suvorov II degree occurred 26 December 1942 of the year. It is worth noting that this was the first award of this order without regard to its degrees. Major II Badanov, a commander of the 24 tank corps from the South-Western Front, was introduced to the Order of Suvorov, II degree. He was awarded for skillfully conducted a deep raid of corps tankers to the rear of the enemy troops. This raid led to the defeat of the largest airfield near the station Tatsinskaya. With the help of this airdrome, the Germans carried out the supply of a group of troops surrounded in the Stalingrad area under the command of Paulus.

24-th tank the corps destroyed more than 200 German transport aircraft at the airport. Also in a five-day battle, the corps destroyed 84 German tanks and 106 artillery pieces, more than 11 thousand German soldiers, about 5 thousand enemy soldiers were captured. In the final stage, Badanov’s corps had to act in complete encirclement, from which he could escape on the night of December 28. This operation was highly appreciated by the rate, Badanov was awarded the Order of Suvorov, II degree, number 1, and the corps itself was renamed the 2nd Guards, and it was also called Tatsinsky.

Many outstanding commanders of the Red Army during the war were presented to two, and some even to three Orders of Suvorov II degree. For example, Katkov Fedor Grigorievich, who commanded the tank corps, became a knight of the 3's of the Orders of Suvorov, II degree. The first holder of the Order of Suvorov III degree was Major Zaran N. Garanin. He was presented for the 3 or 8 award in February 1943 of the year. Garanin was awarded the Order of Suvorov III degree for the number 1 for the skillful use of tactical experience and causing great damage to the superior forces of the enemy.
Major General Badanov V. M, the first holder of the Order of Suvorov

In total, during the Great Patriotic War, 391 was awarded the Order of Suvorov of I degree, more than 20 commanders received it 3 times. Many were presented to the award twice. In addition, the Order of Suvorov I degree was awarded to the Academy of the General Staff and the Military Academy named after MV Frunze. Had this award and Joseph Stalin.

The Order of Suvorov II degree during the war was awarded 2863 times, including the 676 military units of the Red Army awarded to them. For example, for the liberation of Kiev to the order, the 1-I separate Czechoslovak brigade of General Ludwik Svoboda was represented, who in the future became the Hero of the Soviet Union, and after the war ended - the president of Czechoslovakia. The Order of Suvorov, Grade III, was awarded 4012 times during the war, including 849 times - to the formations and units of the Red Army. In total, during the years of the Great Patriotic War, 7266 awards were made by the orders of Suvorov of all degrees. Were among the award-winning and more 80 generals and officers of the armies of foreign countries.

Information sources:
http://ordenrf.ru/su/orden-suvorova.php
http://milday.ru/ussr/ussr-uniform-award/110-orden-suvorova.html
http://medalww.ru/nagrady-sssr/ordena-sssr/orden-suvorova
http://www.rusorden.ru/?nr=su&nt=o5
Author:
Articles from this series:
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of the Red Banner
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. The order of Lenin
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of the Red Star
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Gold Star Medal
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Medal of Honor"
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Medal "For Military Merit"
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of the Patriotic War
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Alexander Nevsky
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Kutuzov
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Suvorov
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Bogdan Khmelnitsky
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Medal "Partisan of the Patriotic War"
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Nakhimov
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Ushakov
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Ushakov's Medal
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Medal of Nakhimov
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Glory
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Victory
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Medals of the series "For Defense"
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Medals of the series “For the capture and release”
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Medals win
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Apollo
    Apollo 22 January 2014 09: 21
    +2
    quote-According to status, Order of Suvorov II degree It was planned to reward the commanders of the corps, divisions and brigades for the skillful implementation of military operations of various types using well-established interaction between different branches of the armed forces. The result of such an operation was to be the encirclement and capture or destruction of more than part of the opposing enemy forces (his manpower), as well as the seizure of his arms and military equipment.

  2. dzvero
    dzvero 22 January 2014 22: 35
    0
    Thanks to the author for the series of articles!
  3. D_L
    D_L 23 January 2014 00: 13
    +1
    Great selection of award-winning articles. Thank you, read in one go.

Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Суворова

Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Суворова


В июле 1942 года в наградной системе Советского Союза произошли изменения. 29 июля был подписан указ об учреждении нового боевого ордена, первого из всех советских наград, который имел три степени. Речь идет об Ордене Суворова, который был самой старшей наградой среди «полководческих» орденов СССР. Идея его создания появилась еще в июне 1942 года, когда Красная Армия терпела жестокие поражения, и ее положение на фронтах было критическим. Указ об учреждении нового ордена был подписан через 2 дня после выхода знаменитого Приказа №227, известного как «Ни шагу назад!»

К разработке новых орденов был привлечен технический комитет главного интендантского управления КА, в том числе его художник И. С. Телятников. Также над новыми наградами работали художники С. И. Дмитриев (автор проекта Ордена Ленина и любимой солдатами медали «За отвагу»), Н. И. Москалев, А. И. Кутузов, который стал автором проекта Ордена Отечественной войны, Н. А. Каретников, художник-декоратор И. Я. Гремиславский, а также архитектор академик Л. В. Руднев (в будущем он создаст проект здания МГУ, расположенного на Ленинских горах). Данный коллектив представил 55 эскизов будущих наград, из них было отобрано для дальнейшей работы лишь 11. На этом этапе к заданию был привлечен П. И. Скокон — студент московского архитектурного института. К этому моменту он уже успел повоевать на территории Белоруссии в составе диверсионной группы. В итоге лучшим был признан именно проект студента архитектурного вуза.


Именно этот проект был обнародован в описании награды вместе с указом об учреждении ордена. Однако по предложению одного из сотрудников монетного двора внешний вид Ордена Суворова был несколько видоизменен. Так, орден I степени был дополнен небольшой красной звездой, которая располагалась над портретом генералиссимуса, для того, чтобы он более явно отличался от ордена III степени, который имел тот же цвет. Также размер орденов II и III степени был уменьшен на 7 мм относительно ордена Суворова I степени. Изменения в облике орденов были узаконены 30 сентября 1942 года.

Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Суворова
Орден Суворова I степени


Знак Ордена Суворова представлял собой пятиконечную звезду, которая имела граненые лучи. В центре ордена располагался круг с ободком и портретом в профиль знаменитого русского военачальника. Для портрета Александра Суворова была использована гравюра 1818 года, выполненная художником Н. И. Уткиным. Над портретом Суворова располагалась надпись «Александр Суворов», под самим портретом по краю круга были расположены рельефные дубовая и лавровые ветви, которые были перевязаны лентой. Ордена разных степеней отличались между собой материалом, размерами, а также наличием на ордене I степени небольшой красной звездочки, покрытой эмалью. Расстояние между противолежащими лучами ордена I степени равнялось 56 мм, двух оставшихся орденов — 49 мм.

Орден Суворова I степени изготавливался из платины. Круг, портрет генералиссимуса, надпись и ветви были изготовлены из золота. Поле круга покрывалось эмалью темно-серого цвета. Ободок центрального круга был двойным и также золотым, он разделялся тонким ободком, покрытым красной эмалью. Орден Суворова I степени содержал 28,995 г платины, 8,84 г золота и 9,2 г серебра. Общий вес награды составлял 41,8±1,8 г. Орден Суворова II степени производился из золота, круг и все его элементы были выполнены из темного оксидированного серебра. Орден Суворова II степени содержал 23,098 г золота, 12,22 г серебра, общий вес награды составлял 29,2±1,5 г. Надпись «Александр Суворов» на этом ордене была покрыта красной эмалью, сам круг, на котором располагался портрет, эмалью покрыт не был. Орден Суворова III степени изготавливался из светлого серебра, надпись, круг и все элементы были такими же, как и на ордене II степени. Орден Суворова III степени содержал 22,88 г серебра, а общий вес награды составлял 25,3±1,5 г.

На оборотной стороне ордена располагалась гайка и штифт, которые были предназначены для крепления ордена к военной форме и другой одежде. К ордену полагалась муаровая шелковая лента зеленого цвета, ширина ленты 24 мм. На ленте были расположены оранжевые продольные полоски. На Ордене Суворова I степени — одна полоса посередине (ширина 5 мм), на ордене II степени — две полосы (ширина 3 мм каждая) по краям ленты, на ордене III степени — три полоски (ширина каждой 2 мм) — одна посередине и две по краям.

Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Суворова
Орден Суворова II степени


Согласно установленному статуту, Орденом Суворова I степени планировалось награждать командующих фронтами, армиями, а также начальников родов войск, начальников оперативных управлений и штабов, их заместителей. Основанием для представления к ордену были умелые и грамотные действия всех вышеперечисленных командиров во время организации и осуществления крупных армейских операций. Результатом проводимых операций должен был стать частичный или полный разгром превосходящего по численности и силе неприятеля.

Согласно статуту, Орденом Суворова II степени планировалось награждать командиров корпусов, дивизий и бригад за умелое осуществление военных операций разного типа с применением налаженного взаимодействия разных родов войск. Результатом проведения такой операции должно было стать окружение и пленение или уничтожение больше части противостоящих войск противника (его живой силы), а также захват его вооружений и боевой техники.

Согласно статуту, Орденом Суворова III степени планировалось награждать командиров полков, батальонов, их заместителей, а также командиров рот. Орден вручался отличившимся за активное противодействие превосходящему по силе неприятелю, удержание обороняемых позиций и объектов, а также переход в атаку с нанесением противнику ощутимого поражения.

Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Суворова
Орден Суворова III степени

Первое награждение Орденом Суворова II степени произошло 26 декабря 1942 года. Стоит отметить, что это было первое награждение данным орденом без учета его степеней. К Ордену Суворова II степени был представлен генерал-майор Баданов В. М., командир 24-го танкового корпуса из состава Юго-Западного фронта. Он был награжден за умело проведенный глубокий рейд танкистов корпуса в тыл войск противника. Данный рейд привел к разгрому крупнейшего аэродрома возле станции Тацинская. С помощью данного аэродрома немцы осуществляли снабжение окруженной в районе Сталинграда группировки войск под командованием Паулюса.

24-й танковый корпус уничтожил на аэродроме больше 200 немецких транспортных самолетов. Также в пятидневных боях корпус уничтожил 84 немецких танка и 106 артиллерийских орудий, более 11 тысяч немецких солдат, около 5 тысяч солдат противника было взято в плен. В завершающей стадии корпусу Баданова пришлось действовать в полном окружении, из которого он смог вырваться в ночь на 28 декабря. Эта операция была высоко оценена ставкой, Баданов был награжден Орденом Суворова II степени за номером 1, а сам корпус переименовали во 2-й гвардейский, также он получил название Тацинского.

Многие выдающиеся военачальники Красной Армии во время войны были представлены к двум, а некоторые даже к трем Орденам Суворова II степени. К примеру, Катков Федор Григорьевич, командовавший танковым корпусом, стал кавалером 3-х Орденов Суворова II степени. Первым кавалером Ордена Суворова III степени стал майор Гаранин З. Н. Он был представлен к награде 3 или 8 февраля 1943 года. Гаранин был награжден Орденом Суворова III степени за номером 1 за умелое использование тактического опыта и нанесение большого урона превосходящим силам неприятеля.
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Суворова
Генерал-майор Баданов В. М, первый кавалер Ордена Суворова

Всего за время Великой Отечественной войны было осуществлено 391 награждение Орденом Суворова I степени, более 20 военачальников получили его 3 раза. Многие были представлены к награде дважды. Помимо этого, Орденом Суворова I степени были награждены Академия Генерального Штаба и Военная академия имени М. В. Фрунзе. Имел эту награду и Иосиф Сталин.

Орден Суворова II степени во время войны вручался 2863 раз, в том числе им было награждено 676 воинских подразделений Красной Армии. К примеру, за освобождение Киева к ордену была представлена 1-я отдельная чехословацкая бригада генерала Людвика Свободы, который в будущем стал Героем Советского Союза, а после завершения войны — президентом Чехословакии. Орден Суворова III степени во время войны был вручен 4012 раз, в том числе 849 раз — соединениям и частям Красной Армии. Всего же за годы Великой Отечественной войны было произведено 7266 награждений орденами Суворова всех степеней. Были среди награжденных этим орденом и более 80 генералов и офицеров армий иностранных государств.

Источники информации:
http://ordenrf.ru/su/orden-suvorova.php
http://milday.ru/ussr/ussr-uniform-award/110-orden-suvorova.html
http://medalww.ru/nagrady-sssr/ordena-sssr/orden-suvorova
http://www.rusorden.ru/?nr=su&nt=o5
Автор: Юферев Сергей


Статьи из этой серии:

Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Красного Знамени
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Ленина
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Красной Звезды
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медаль «Золотая Звезда»
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медаль «За отвагу»
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медаль «За боевые заслуги»
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Отечественной войны
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Александра Невского
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Кутузова
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Суворова
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Богдана Хмельницкого
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медаль «Партизану Отечественной войны»
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Нахимова
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Ушакова
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медаль Ушакова
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медаль Нахимова
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Славы
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Победы
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медали серии «За оборону»
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медали серии «За взятие и освобождение»
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медали победы

Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 3
  1. Apollon 22 января 2014 09:21
    цитата-Согласно статусу, Орденом Суворова II степени планировалось награждать командиров корпусов, дивизий и бригад за умелое осуществление военных операций разного типа с применением налаженного взаимодействия разных родов войск. Результатом проведения такой операции должно было стать окружение и пленение или уничтожение больше части противостоящих войск противника (его живой силы), а также захват его вооружений и боевой техники.

  2. dzvero 22 января 2014 22:35
    Автору спасибо за цикл статей!
  3. D_L 23 января 2014 00:13
    Великолепная подборка статей о наградах. Спасибо, читается на одном дыхании.
    D_L

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня