Military Review

Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Nakhimov

2
For many years there were no special awards for representatives of the Navy in the system of military awards of the USSR fleet, and we are talking about both the pre-war and the war years. The first "marine" awards were established in the Soviet Union only on March 3, 1944. On this day, by Decree of the USSR Supreme Council, two new orders were established: the Order of Ushakov and the Order of Nakhimov. These military awards were intended exclusively for rewarding officers of the Soviet navy, both orders had two degrees, and in the general hierarchy of Soviet military awards they corresponded to the commander orders of Suvorov and Kutuzov. The Order of Nakhimov was the youngest award in relation to the Order of Suvorov.


The idea of ​​developing awards for the officers of the USSR Navy belonged to the commander-in-chief of the Soviet fleet, Admiral of the fleet NG Kuznetsov. Work on the preparation of sketches of new military orders was begun in the summer of 1943. The captain of the 1 rank (later Vice-Admiral) B. M. Khomich, who was the project manager, as well as the captain of the rank 2 N. Volkov, an employee of the Krasnoflotets newspaper A. Diodorov, and a famous Soviet architect M. Shepilevsky. The first sketches of the new orders were not approved by Stalin, who considered that they used too many dark tones. Sketches of awards were sent for processing. As a result, the second version of the Order of Ushakov was immediately adopted and submitted for approval, but the Order of Nakhimov Stalin proposed to decorate with rubies. The wish of the leader, of course, was fulfilled, and the Order of Nakhimov I degree received precious stones, which automatically made him one of the most expensive awards of the USSR.

Thus, the Order of Nakhimov I degree was the only one of all Soviet orders (with the exception of the Order of Victory), which was decorated with precious stones. To decorate the order, 5 used large synthetic rubies (a complete analogue of a real ruby, obtained by artificial means), according to some information, natural rubies were used at early awards. In the Order of Nakhimov II degree, rubies were replaced by ordinary red enamel. It is also worth noting that the Order of Nakhimov was the second and last in stories of all the naval orders of the Soviet Union. The Order of Nakhimov had a more pronounced defensive orientation in comparison with the Order of Ushakov.

Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Nakhimov
Order of Nakhimov I degree

According to its statute, the Order of Nakhimov most resembled the Order of Kutuzov. The Order of Nakhimov was awarded to officers of the Soviet Navy for the outstanding successes that were shown in the development, maintenance, conduct of sea operations, which resulted in repelling the enemy’s offensive operation or ensuring active operations of his fleet, while the enemy suffered significant damage while maximizing his own main forces. The Order of the II degree was awarded for personal participation in combat operations.

The Order of Nakhimov I degree was a convex five-pointed star, the ends of which were stylized anchors into which rubies were inserted. This star had a black (oxidized) metal edging. The edging and the base of the star are silver. In the middle part of the star there was a round medallion of gold, it was covered with blue enamel. On it in the upper part along the circumference was the inscription "ADMIRAL NAHIMOV" (all capital letters). In the center of the circle there was a gold polished bust of Admiral Nakhimov, the image was embossed. In the lower part of the circle, directly below the admiral's image, there were two laurel branches, in the middle of which there was an image of a sickle and hammer. Between the ends of the ruby ​​star, framing the center of the golden circle, links were laid in the form of an anchor chain, and out of them came bunches of diverging golden rays.

The Order of Nakhimov II degree had the following differences: instead of rubies, the five-pointed star was decorated with red enamel, and the round medallion in the middle of the order, all the images contained on it, as well as beams of rays coming out from under the links of the anchor chain, were made of silver, and not from gold. Both orders had the same size. The distance between the opposite vertices of a ruby ​​star was 56 mm, and the distance from the center of the order to the top of one of the anchors was 29 mm. On the back of the award there was a nut and a threaded pin for attaching the order to the form.


Order of Nakhimov II degree


The Order of Nakhimov I degree was made of gold and silver. Gold in the order contained 29,45 g, silver - 22,918 g, the total weight of the award was 57,0 ± 2,3, the Order of Nakhimov II degree was made entirely of silver. The silver in the order contained 39,739 ± 1,38 g, and the total mass of the award was 43,6 ± 1,7.

Moire silk ribbon with a width of 24 mm was also relied on to the order. On the 1st degree Order of Nakhimov, there was a black stripe in the middle (width 5 mm), two golden-orange stripes (width of each 8 mm) walked to the edges, and along the edges there were two small black strips (width of each 1,5 mm). On the 2nd degree Order of Nakhimov tape, in the middle of the tape was a large band of golden-orange color (width 11 mm), and closer to the edges were two black bands (width of each 5 mm), along the edges there were two small strips of golden-orange color (width of each 1,5 mm).

There is one very interesting historical detail that is associated with the order. The first awards were made to them by order of the fleet commander, and not on the basis of the Decree of the Presidium of the USSR Supreme Soviet. For this reason, in the history of awarding the Order of Nakhimov there are many incidents. So the first knight of the Order of Nakhimov I degree 16 of May 1944 was Lieutenant-General P.A. Morgunov, who is the head of the coastal defense of the Black Sea Fleet. He was awarded for assistance in the liberation of Sevastopol. However, the order for the number XXUMX was awarded to Rear Admiral N. E. Feldman, who is the commander of the brigade of the navy ships from the Baltic Fleet. The order was awarded to him on 1 on May 24. The same situation was repeated with the Order of Nakhimov II degree. The first cavalier of this order was Junior Lieutenant N. I. Vasin, the attack pilot of the 1945 attack assault regiment from the Northern Fleet. Vasin was presented to the Order of Nakhimov II degree 46 April 5, but the pilot was unable to receive his award, as he died during the combat departure of 1944 on May 16. As a result, the Order of Nakhimov II degree for the number 1944 1 in July 12 was received by the captain of the 1944 rank G. GN Slizky.

The Nakhimov Order of both degrees was awarded not only to officers of the Soviet Navy, but also to various formations and units of the Navy. Among the awarded parts there is the 51st mine torpedo aviation Tallinn Red Banner Regiment, which was simultaneously awarded both naval orders - Nakhimov and Ushakov.

In total, during the years of the Great Patriotic War, 82 was awarded with the I Degree Order of Nakhimov, including the 4-e combat units and formations of the Soviet fleet. The Order of Nakhimov II degree was made 489 awards, this honor was awarded to two parts of the Soviet Navy. These figures indicate that the Order of Nakhimov is one of the rarest Soviet awards. Today in private collections are single copies of this award. A significant number of these orders are either kept in museum collections or outside the countries of the former Soviet Union, mainly with collectors from Western Europe and the USA.

After the collapse of the USSR, the Order of Nakhimov, along with a number of other Soviet orders and medals, was retained in the award system of the Russian Federation, however, as a Russian award, up to 2010, did not have an official description and statute. To date, only one award has been given in Russia with this order. 28 July 2012 of the Year, the Order of Nakhimov was awarded the Russian nuclear-powered heavy cruiser Peter the Great.

Information sources:
http://ordenrf.ru/su/orden-nakhimova.php
http://milday.ru/ussr/ussr-uniform-award/183-orden-nahimova.html
http://medalww.ru/nagrady-sssr/ordena-sssr/orden-nahimova
http://www.rusorden.ru/?nr=su&nt=o10
Author:
Articles from this series:
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of the Red Banner
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. The order of Lenin
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of the Red Star
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Gold Star Medal
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Medal of Honor"
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Medal "For Military Merit"
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of the Patriotic War
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Alexander Nevsky
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Kutuzov
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Suvorov
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Bogdan Khmelnitsky
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Medal "Partisan of the Patriotic War"
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Nakhimov
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Ushakov
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Ushakov's Medal
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Medal of Nakhimov
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Glory
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Victory
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Medals of the series "For Defense"
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Medals of the series “For the capture and release”
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Medals win
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Yaroslav
    Yaroslav 30 January 2014 13: 09
    +1
    Good article. I would like to recall those sailors who deserved, but did not receive awards. There are events of the Soviet era, when participants in the "unrecognized" local wars today showed courage and determination, but were not encouraged. The thing is that the KGB prohibited any kind of disclosure and took a subscription from everyone. I have already written before about my stepfather, who received a shell shock in the Gulf of Aden while on watch on the Kalechitsky tanker from a mine on the starboard side. Now he is disabled (a stroke, an old wound affected), 6100 rubles a pension. Write to everyone in all directions (archive of the fleet, president, Shoigu), the result is the same - pass through the entire field. So, he served, and now don't grieve !!!
  2. AK-47
    AK-47 30 January 2014 15: 26
    +2
    In the list of current Russian awards, the Order of Nakhimov has survived. But the medal, named after the naval commander, the naval counterpart of the medal "For Military Merit", for some reason disappeared. It is not clear who and what did not please Nakhimov, who always treated the lower ranks with attention and care.

Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Нахимова

Долгие годы в системе боевых наград СССР отсутствовали специальные награды для представителей Военно-морского флота, причем речь идет как о предвоенных, так и о военных годах. Первые «морские» награды были учреждены в Советском Союзе лишь 3 марта 1944 года. В этот день Указом ВС СССР были учреждены два новых ордена: Орден Ушакова и Орден Нахимова. Данные боевые награды предназначались исключительно для награждения офицеров советского флота, оба ордена имели по две степени, а в общей иерархии советских боевых наград они соответствовали полководческим орденам Суворова и Кутузова. Орден Нахимова был младшей наградой по отношению к Ордену Суворова.

Идея разработки наград для офицеров ВМФ СССР принадлежала главнокомандующему советским флотом адмиралу флота Н. Г. Кузнецову. Работа над подготовкой эскизов новых боевых орденов была начата еще летом 1943 года. В разработке проектов новых орденов участвовали капитан 1-го ранга (в дальнейшем вице-адмирал) Б. М. Хомич, который являлся руководителем проекта, а также капитан 2 ранга Н. Волков, сотрудник газеты «Краснофлотец» А. Диодоров и известный советский архитектор М. Шепилевский. Первые эскизы новых орденов не были одобрены Сталиным, который посчитал, что в них используется слишком много темных тонов. Эскизы наград были отправлены на переработку. В результате второй вариант Ордена Ушакова сразу же был принят и передан на утверждение, а вот Орден Нахимова Сталин предложил украсить рубинами. Пожелание вождя, естественно, было выполнено, и Орден Нахимова I степени получил драгоценные камни, что автоматически сделало его одной из самых дорогих наград СССР.

Таким образом, Орден Нахимова I степени стал единственным из всех советских орденов (за исключением Ордена Победы), при украшении которого были применены драгоценные камни. Для украшения ордена использовалось 5 крупных синтетических рубинов (полный аналог настоящего рубина, полученный искусственным путем), по некоторой информации, на ранних наградах применялись естественные рубины. В Ордене Нахимова II степени рубины заменила обычная красная эмаль. Стоит также отметить, что Орден Нахимова был вторым и последним в истории из всех флотоводческих орденов Советского Союза. Орден Нахимова имел более выраженную оборонительную направленность по сравнению с Орденом Ушакова.


Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Нахимова
Орден Нахимова I степени

По своему статуту Орден Нахимова больше всего напоминал Орден Кутузова. Орденом Нахимова награждали офицеров советского военно-морского флота за выдающиеся успехи, которые были проявлены при разработке, обеспечении, проведении морских операций, результатом которых стало отражение наступательной операции неприятеля или обеспечение активных операций своего флота, при этом противнику был нанесен существенный урон при максимальном сохранении собственных основных сил. Орден II степени вручался за личное участие в боевых операциях.

Орден Нахимова I степени представлял собой выпуклую пятиконечную звезду, концы которой являлись стилизованными якорями, в которые были вставлены рубины. Данная звезда имела окантовку из черного (оксидированного) металла. Окантовка и основа звезды — серебряные. В средней части звезды располагался круглый медальон из золота, он был покрыт эмалью голубого цвета. На нем в верхней его части по окружности шла надпись «АДМИРАЛ НАХИМОВ» (все буквы прописные). В центре круга находилось золотое полированное погрудное изображение адмирала Нахимова, изображение было рельефным. В нижней части круга непосредственно под изображением адмирала находились две лавровых ветви, в середине которых было помещено изображение серпа и молота. Между концами рубиновой звезды, обрамляя находящийся в центре золотой круг, были проложены звенья в форме якорной цепи, из-под них выходили пучки расходящихся золотых лучей.

Орден Нахимова II степени имел следующие отличия: вместо рубинов пятиконечная звезда была украшена красной эмалью, а круглый медальон в середине ордена, все содержащиеся на нем изображения, а также пучки лучей, выходящих из-под звеньев якорной цепи, были изготовлены из серебра, а не из золота. Оба ордена имели одинаковые размеры. Расстояние между противоположными вершинами рубиновой звезды равнялось 56 мм, а расстояние от центра ордена до вершины одного из якорей — 29 мм. На оборотной стороне награды имелись гайка и нарезной штифт для крепления ордена к форме.

Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Нахимова
Орден Нахимова II степени


Орден Нахимова I степени производился из золота и серебра. Золота в ордене содержалось 29,45 г, серебра — 22,918 г, общая масса награды составляла 57,0±2,3 г. Орден Нахимова II степени изготавливался полностью из серебра. Серебра в ордене содержалось 39,739±1,38 г, а общая масса награды составляла 43,6±1,7 г.

К ордену полагалась также муаровая шелковая лента шириной 24 мм. На ленте Ордена Нахимова I степени посередине находилась черная полоса (ширина 5 мм), ближе к краям шли две золотисто-оранжевые полосы (ширина каждой 8 мм), а по краям имелись две небольших черных полоски (ширина каждой 1,5 мм). На ленте Ордена Нахимова II степени посередине ленты шла большая полоса золотисто-оранжевого цвета (ширина 11 мм), а ближе к краям две полосы черного цвета (ширина каждой 5 мм), по краям располагались две небольших полоски золотисто-оранжевого цвета (ширина каждой 1,5 мм).

Можно отметить одну очень интересную историческую деталь, которая связана с орденом. Первые награждения им были произведены приказом командующего флотом, а не на основании Указа Президиума ВС СССР. По этой причине в истории награждений Орденом Нахимова встречается много казусов. Так первым кавалером Ордена Нахимова I степени 16 мая 1944 года стал генерал-лейтенант П. А. Моргунов, являющийся начальником береговой обороны Черноморского Флота. Он был награжден за содействие в освобождении Севастополя. Однако орденом за №1 был награжден контр-адмирал Н. Э. Фельдман, являющийся командиром бригады шхерных кораблей из состава Балтийского флота. Орден был вручен ему 24 мая 1945 года. Такая же ситуация повторилась и с Орденом Нахимова II степени. Первым кавалером данного ордена стал младший лейтенант Н. И. Васин, летчик-штурмовик 46-го штурмового авиаполка из состава Северного флота. Васин был представлен к Ордену Нахимова II степени 5 апреля 1944 года, однако летчик не смог получить свою награду, так как погиб во время выполнения боевого вылета 16 мая 1944 года. В результате орден Нахимова II степени за №1 12 июля 1944 года получил капитан 2-го ранга Г. Н. Слизкий.
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Нахимова

Орденом Нахимова обеих степеней награждались не только офицеры советского военно-морского флота, но также и различные соединения и части ВМФ. Среди награжденных частей есть 51-й минно-торпедный авиационный Таллиннский Краснознаменный полк, который одновременно был удостоен обоих флотских орденов — Нахимова и Ушакова.

Всего за годы Великой Отечественной войны было произведено 82 награждения Орденом Нахимова I степени, в том числе им были награждены 4-е боевых части и соединения советского флота. Орденом Нахимова II степени было совершено 489 награждений, этой чести удостоились две части ВМФ СССР. Данные цифры свидетельствуют о том, что Орден Нахимова является одной из наиболее редких советских наград. На сегодняшний день в частных коллекциях находятся единичные экземпляры данной награды. Существенное количество этих орденов хранится либо в музейных фондах, либо вне пределов стран бывшего Советского Союза, главным образом у коллекционеров из Западной Европы и США.

После развала СССР орден Нахимова вместе с рядом других советских орденов и медалей был сохранен в наградной системе РФ, однако как российская награда до 2010 года не имел официального описания и статута. На сегодняшний день в России произошло лишь одно награждение данным орденом. 28 июля 2012 года Орденом Нахимова был награжден российский атомный тяжелый ракетный крейсер «Петр Великий».

Источники информации:
http://ordenrf.ru/su/orden-nakhimova.php
http://milday.ru/ussr/ussr-uniform-award/183-orden-nahimova.html
http://medalww.ru/nagrady-sssr/ordena-sssr/orden-nahimova
http://www.rusorden.ru/?nr=su&nt=o10
Автор: Юферев Сергей


Статьи из этой серии:

Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Красного Знамени
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Ленина
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Красной Звезды
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медаль «Золотая Звезда»
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медаль «За отвагу»
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медаль «За боевые заслуги»
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Отечественной войны
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Александра Невского
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Кутузова
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Суворова
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Богдана Хмельницкого
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медаль «Партизану Отечественной войны»
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Нахимова
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Ушакова
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медаль Ушакова
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медаль Нахимова
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Славы
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Победы
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медали серии «За оборону»
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медали серии «За взятие и освобождение»
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медали победы

Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 2
  1. Яroslav 30 января 2014 13:09
    Хорошая статья. Хотелось бы вспомнить а тех моряках, которые заслуживали, но не удостаивались наградами. Есть события советского времени, когда участники "непризнанных" сегодня локальных войнах, проявляли мужество и решительность, но не были поощрены. Всё дело в том что, КГБ запрещало всякого рода разглашения и брало подписку с каждого. Я уже писал раньше о своём отчиме, который получил контузию в Аденском заливе, во время вахты на танкере "Калечицкий" от мины по правому борту. Сейчас он инвалид(инсульт, сказалась старая рана), 6100 руб пенсия. Пише всем подряд во всех направлениях ( архив флота, президент, Шойгу), результат один - пас через всё поле. Вот так вот, служил, а теперь не тужи!!!
    Яroslav
  2. AK-47 30 января 2014 15:26
    В списке нынешних российских наград орден Нахимова сохранился. А вот медаль, названная именем флотоводца, флотский аналог медали "За боевые заслуги", почему–то исчезла. Непонятно, кому и чем не угодил Нахимов, всегда с вниманием и заботой относившийся к нижним чинам.
    AK-47

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня