Military Review

Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Ushakov's Medal

3
The orders of Ushakov and Nakhimov were supplemented with medals of the same name, which were intended to reward the junior ranks of the Soviet Navy. The eldest was Ushakov’s medal, which was established by a decree of the Presidium of the USSR Armed Forces of March 3, 1944, simultaneously with the above-mentioned orders. The initiator of the establishment of new military awards, which could be awarded to officers and sailors of the Soviet fleet, was Commissar of the Navy of the USSR Admiral N.G. Kuznetsov.


The final decision on the introduction of a new medal was made by members of a special commission, which was headed by the head of the RKKA GPU A.S. Shcherbakov. The project of the Ushakov medal belonged to a group of artists headed by the head of the organizational and mobilization department of the People's Commissariat of the Soviet Fleet, Captain 1st Rank BM Khomich. The artist A.L.Diodorov is considered to be the author of the drawing of the medal. During the Great Patriotic War, the right to award the Ushakov medal was transferred from the Presidium of the USSR Armed Forces to the highest and senior command personnel of the fleet. The right to award the Ushakov medal belonged to the commanders of fleets and flotillas, the air force of the fleet, squadrons of ships, coastal defense areas, as well as commanders of ship brigades, commanders of artillery and aviation brigades, marine brigades and individual regiments. This provision on the right to award a medal existed until February 26, 1947.

The Ushakov Medal could be awarded to soldiers and sailors, sergeants and petty officers, warrant officers and warrant officers of the Navy, as well as naval units of the USSR border troops for personal courage and bravery that they displayed during the fighting. At the same time, isolated cases of awarding the Ushakov Medal to junior naval officers were known; usually, such awards were given at the request of sailor groups.

Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Ushakov's Medal

The Ushakov Medal was intended to reward the rank and file sergeant-foreman of the fleet and midshipmen for their bravery and courage: in battles with the enemies of the Soviet Union in maritime theaters of military operations; while protecting the state maritime border of the country; when performing combat missions by units and ships of the Navy and Border Troops; in the performance of military duty in conditions that were associated with a risk to the lives of military personnel.

The Ushakov Medal is a regular circle with a diameter of 36 mm, in the middle of the circle there is a bust image of Admiral Ushakov, it is made in relief. The circumference of the image is framed by convex points (their total number is 84). At the top along the circumference of the medal there is a convex inscription “ADMIRAL USHAKOV” (all capital letters), between the words of the inscription is a five-pointed star. At the bottom of the medal under the relief image of the admiral there are two laurel branches, which are connected with a cross ribbon. On the circumference of the front side of the award there is a bulging side. The circle of the medal was imposed on the anchor, which has a height of 48,5-49 mm (including the ring in its upper part). The medal was made of silver 925 samples. The content of silver in the medal - 31,747 g, the total mass of the award - 34,65 ± 1,0 g.

With the help of a ring and an ear, the medal was attached to a standard pentagonal block, which was covered with silk moire ribbon. On top of the pads was a silver anchor chain, which went from the upper corners of the pad and was attached to the ear of the medal. The tape had a blue color, white and blue stripes (thickness of white — 2 mm, blue — 1,5 mm) passed along its edges, and the total width of the tape — 24 mm.

The Ushakov Medal was an analogue of the well-known military medal "For Courage" and was intended for the rank-and-file and sergeant-foreman of the navy, as well as midshipmen. This award was worn on the left side of the chest and in the presence of other Soviet awards was located immediately after the medal "For Courage". The Ushakov Medal was different from all other USSR military awards, because a miniature anchor chain was placed over the front side of the medal pad, which was attached to the upper corners of the pad and to the ear of the medal.


The first Ushakov medals were awarded as early as April 1944. The presentation of the first awards on the Black Sea Fleet took place on 20 on April 1944 of the year, the Warrant officers S. V. Gorokhov and V. P. Stepanenko, as well as the foreman of the 1 9th article V. I. Shevbunov received medals. In the Northern Fleet, the first medal was awarded to 26 on May 1944 of the year, and its foreman was the foreman of the 2-th article of N. V. Fadeev. At the Baltic Fleet, the first awards were awarded on 26 on June 1944 of the year, their owners were the senior sailor AK Afanasyev, the foremen of the 1-th article N. V. Belyaev and E. A. Bychinsky and others. 17 July The 1945 medal of the Ushakov was first presented to foreign sailors, and the medal was awarded to the 5 military personnel of the US Navy.

In Soviet stories There are cases when the Ushakov medal was re-awarded. For example, the holder of the Ushakov medal twice was D. Eremenko, foreman of the 2 article. In addition to him, Alexander Pavlovich Fedorenko, Vasily Borisov, Yevgeny Kutyshev, Pavel Kuzmich Kladiev were awarded two Ushakov medals. Also during the Great Patriotic War, many Soviet sailors were awarded two sea medals at once - Ushakov and Nakhimov. For example, the owner of two fleet medals was Hero of the Soviet Union, foreman of the 1-th article, G. M. Davydenko, who served in the Baltic Fleet, where he commanded the boat trawler from the 7-th battalion of minesweepers. Both fleet-medalists also had A.M. Portnov, who fought on the M-74 and M-102 submarines. Later, Portnov was part of the crew of the underwater mine layer L-3, who managed to sink the German Goya transport, carrying more than 6 thousands of Nazis.

During the Great Patriotic War, the Ushakov Medal was awarded more than 14 thousands of times. From 28 March 1980, a change was made to the statute of the medal that allowed the medal to be awarded both in wartime and in peacetime. Between 1980 and 1991, the year around 1000 was awarded. As of 1, January 1995, the Ushakov Medal was awarded 16080 times. It is worth noting that after the collapse of the USSR, the medal was retained in the award system of Russia. After being preserved in the award system of the Russian Federation, the appearance of the medal has not undergone major changes.

Information sources:
http://ordenrf.ru/su/medali-su/medal-ushakova.php
http://milday.ru/ussr/ussr-uniform-award/649-medal-ushakova.html
http://medalww.ru/nagrady-sssr/medali-sssr/medal-ushakova
http://www.rusorden.ru/?nr=su&nt=mw3
Author:
Articles from this series:
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of the Red Banner
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. The order of Lenin
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of the Red Star
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Gold Star Medal
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Medal of Honor"
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Medal "For Military Merit"
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of the Patriotic War
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Alexander Nevsky
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Kutuzov
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Suvorov
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Bogdan Khmelnitsky
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Medal "Partisan of the Patriotic War"
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Nakhimov
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Ushakov
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Ushakov's Medal
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Medal of Nakhimov
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Glory
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Victory
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Medals of the series "For Defense"
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Medals of the series “For the capture and release”
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Medals win
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Lk17619
    Lk17619 7 February 2014 08: 53
    +1
    Thanks for the historical excursion.
  2. RoTTor
    RoTTor 7 February 2014 15: 51
    0
    Perhaps the most beautiful of all medals. And the rarest, apart from the Gold Star medal
  3. apollo
    apollo 8 February 2014 01: 04
    +1
    Thank you Sergey for the cycle about the awards, it seems to me not in vain that our grandfathers were honored with these awards, because they were given to them oh how hard it was!

Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медаль Ушакова

Ордена Ушакова и Нахимова были дополнены одноименными медалями, которые были предназначены для награждения младших чинов советского ВМФ. Старшей являлась медаль Ушакова, которая была учреждена Указом президиума ВС СССР от 3 марта 1944 года, одновременно с вышеназванными орденами. Инициатором учреждения новых боевых наград, которыми можно было бы награждать офицеров и моряков советского флота, был нарком ВМФ СССР адмирал Н. Г. Кузнецов.

Окончательное решение о введении новой медали было принято членами специальной комиссии, которую возглавлял начальник ГПУ РККА А. С. Щербаков. Проект медали Ушакова принадлежал группе художников, которую возглавлял начальник организационно-мобилизационного управления наркомата советского флота капитан 1-го ранга Б. М. Хомич. Непосредственно автором рисунка медали считается художник А. Л. Диодоров. Во время Великой Отечественной войны право награждения медалью Ушакова было передано от Президиума ВС СССР высшему и старшему командному составу флота. Правом награждения медалью Ушакова обладали командующие флотами и флотилиями, ВВС флота, эскадрами кораблей, береговыми оборонительными районами, а также командиры бригад кораблей, командиры артиллерийских и авиационных бригад, бригад морской пехоты и отдельных полков. Данное положение о праве награждения медалью просуществовало до 26 февраля 1947 года.

Медалью Ушакова могли быть награждены солдаты и матросы, сержанты и старшины, прапорщики и мичманы ВМФ, а также морских частей пограничных войск СССР за личное мужество и отвагу, которые были проявлены ими во время боевых действий. При этом были известны единичные случаи награждения медалью Ушакова младших флотских офицеров, обычно такие награждения проводились по просьбам матросских коллективов.


Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медаль Ушакова

Медаль Ушакова предназначалась для награждения рядового, сержантско-старшинского состава флота и мичманов за проявленную отвагу и мужество: в боях с врагами Советского Союза на морских театрах боевых действий; при защите государственной морской границы страны; при выполнении боевых задач частями и кораблями ВМФ и пограничных войск; при исполнении воинского долга в условиях, которые были сопряжены с риском для жизни военнослужащих.

Медаль Ушакова представляет собой правильный круг диаметром 36 мм, в середине круга размещено погрудное изображение адмирала Ушакова, оно выполнено рельефным. По окружности изображение обрамляют выпуклые точки (их общее количество — 84). Вверху по окружности медали расположена выпуклая надпись «АДМИРАЛ УШАКОВ» (все буквы прописные), между словами надписи расположена пятиконечная звезда. В нижней части медали под рельефным изображением адмирала находятся две лавровые ветви, которые соединены с помощью перекрещивающейся ленты. По окружности лицевой стороны награды тянется выпуклый бортик. Круг медали был наложен на якорь, который имеет высоту 48,5-49 мм (включая кольцо в верхней его части). Медаль изготавливалась из серебра 925 пробы. Содержание серебра в медали — 31,747 г, общая масса награды — 34,65±1,0 г.

С помощью кольца и ушка медаль крепилась к стандартной пятиугольной колодке, которая была покрыта шелковой муаровой лентой. Поверх колодки располагалась серебряная якорная цепь, которая шла от верхних углов колодки и крепилась к ушку медали. Лента имела голубой цвет, по ее краям проходили белая и синяя полоски (толщина белой — 2 мм, синей — 1,5 мм), общая ширина ленты — 24 мм.

Медаль Ушакова являлась аналогом известной войсковой медали «За отвагу» и предназначалась для рядового и сержантско-старшинского состава военно-морского флота, а также мичманов. Данная награда носилась на левой стороне груди и при наличии иных советских наград располагалась сразу после медали «За отвагу». От всех остальных боевых наград СССР медаль Ушакова отличалась тем, что поверх лицевой стороны медальной колодки размещалась миниатюрная якорная цепь, которая крепилась к верхним углам колодки и к ушку медали.

Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медаль Ушакова

Первые медали Ушакова были вручены уже в апреле 1944 года. Вручение первых наград на Черноморском флоте произошло 20 апреля 1944 года, медали Ушакова получили мичманы С. В. Горохов и В. П. Степаненко, а также старшина 1-й статьи В. И. Щевбунов. На Северном флоте первая медаль была вручена 26 мая 1944 года, ее обладателем стал старшина 2-й статьи Н. В. Фадеев. На Балтийском флоте первые награды вручили 26 июня 1944 года, их обладателями стали старший краснофлотец А. К. Афанасьев, старшины 1-й статьи Н. В. Беляев и Е. А. Бычинский и другие. 17 июля 1945 года медаль Ушакова впервые была вручена иностранным матросам, медалью были награждены 5 военнослужащих американских ВМС.

В советской истории известны случаи, когда медаль Ушакова вручалась повторно. К примеру, дважды кавалером медали Ушакова являлся Д. Еременко, старшина 2-й статьи. Помимо него двух медалей Ушакова были удостоены Александр Павлович Федоренко, Василий Павлович Борисов, Евгений Кутышев, Павел Кузьмич Кладиев. Также в годы Великой Отечественной войны многие советские моряки были удостоены сразу двух морских медалей — Ушакова и Нахимова. К примеру, обладателем двух флотоводческих медалей являлся Герой Советского Союза старшина 1-й статьи Г. М. Давиденко, который служил на Балтийском флоте, где командовал катерным тральщиком из состава 7-го дивизиона катерных тральщиков. Обе флотоводческие медали имел также А. М. Портнов, который сражался на подводных лодках М-74 и М-102. Позднее Портнов входил в состав экипажа подводного минного заградителя Л-3, которому удалось потопить немецкий транспорт «Гойя», на борту которого находилось более 6 тысяч гитлеровцев.

За годы Великой Отечественной войны медаль Ушакова выдавалась более 14 тысяч раз. С 28 марта 1980 года в статут медали было внесено изменение, которое разрешало награждение медалью как в военное, так и в мирное время. В период с 1980 по 1991 год было произведено около 1000 награждений. По состоянию на 1 января 1995 года медаль Ушакова вручалась 16080 раз. Стоит отметить, что после распада СССР медаль была сохранена в наградной системе России. После сохранения в наградной системе Российской Федерации внешний вид медали не претерпел серьезных изменений.

Источники информации:
http://ordenrf.ru/su/medali-su/medal-ushakova.php
http://milday.ru/ussr/ussr-uniform-award/649-medal-ushakova.html
http://medalww.ru/nagrady-sssr/medali-sssr/medal-ushakova
http://www.rusorden.ru/?nr=su&nt=mw3
Автор: Юферев Сергей


Статьи из этой серии:

Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Красного Знамени
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Ленина
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Красной Звезды
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медаль «Золотая Звезда»
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медаль «За отвагу»
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медаль «За боевые заслуги»
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Отечественной войны
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Александра Невского
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Кутузова
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Суворова
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Богдана Хмельницкого
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медаль «Партизану Отечественной войны»
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Нахимова
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Ушакова
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медаль Ушакова
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медаль Нахимова
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Славы
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Победы
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медали серии «За оборону»
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медали серии «За взятие и освобождение»
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медали победы

Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 3
  1. Lk17619 7 февраля 2014 08:53
    Спасибо за исторический экскурс.
  2. RoTTor 7 февраля 2014 15:51
    Пожалуй, самая красивая из всех медалей. И самая редкая, не считая медали "Золотая Звезда"
  3. apollo 8 февраля 2014 01:04
    Сергей спасибо за цикл про награды, мне кажется не зря наши деды удостоились этих наград, ведь им они довались ой как не легко!
    apollo

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня