Military Review

Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Medal of Nakhimov

2
The Nakhimov Medal was established on March 3, 1944 by a decree of the Presidium of the USSR Armed Forces simultaneously with the orders of Ushakov and Nakhimov. The medal was naval an analogue of the “land” medal “For Military Merit”, while Ushakov’s medal was an analogue of the medal “For Courage”. The Nakhimov Medal was intended to be awarded for excellence in defending the Soviet Union, as well as actively contributing to the successful completion of combat missions by units and ships of the Navy and border troops.


The Nakhimov Medal was established to reward navy personnel. It was awarded to soldiers, sailors, sergeants, foremen, warrant officers and warrant officers of the Navy, as well as individual naval units of the border troops for their initiative, skillful and courageous actions, which contributed to the successful solution of combat tasks of fleet units and ships in maritime theaters of combat operations. For courage, which managed to show in the protection of the maritime borders of the Soviet Union. And also for the dedication that was manifested in the performance of military duty or for other merits shown during the service in the fleet under conditions that were associated with a risk to life. The medal of Nakhimov was to be worn on the left side of the chest. In the presence of other Soviet medals, she was immediately after the medal "For Military Merit."

The Nakhimov Medal was made entirely of bronze, the shape of the medal is the right circle. The medal was bordered with a side from both the front and back sides. On the front side of the award there was a bosom image of Admiral Nakhimov in profile. Along the circumference in the upper part of the medal was the inscription "Admiral Nakhimov" (all capital letters), in the lower part directly below the admiral's image there was a five-pointed star and two laurel branches. At the edges of the medal there were relief points with the number of 110 pieces. On the reverse side of the medal Nakhimov was depicted a sailing ship, made relief. The image of the sailboat was edged with a ring of cable. The medallion itself was laid on 2 crossed anchors. The ship and anchors were additionally framed by an anchor chain, which passed behind the anchors. On the edge of the award, on the other side were 111 relief points.

Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Medal of Nakhimov


With the help of a ring and an ear, the Nakhimov medal was attached to a standard pentagonal reward block, which was covered with a blue silk moire ribbon, on which were placed 3 white stripes. White stripes ran along the ribbon and had a width of 3 mm each. Between the white stripes there were gaps of blue fabric 2 mm wide, the total width of the silk ribbon was standard 24 mm.

The first medals of Nakhimov were already received by the Red Fleet 10 on April 1944. The first awards were presented in the Northern Fleet. 10 April 1944 of the Red Navy FG Moshkov and E. V. Tolstov, as well as Sergeant M. A. Kolosov (all three intelligence officers) received this medal. The first awards of the Nakhimov medal at the Black Sea Fleet were 20 on April 1944. Among the first to be awarded were Chief Sergeant-Major I. F. Belkin, Chief Executive Officer of the 1-th article, G. I. Belikov, Red Navy Soldier N. D. Belik. In the Baltic Fleet, the first medals of Nakhimov were awarded 26 June 1944 of the year. Their owners were foremen of the 1-th article, V. A. Vasilyev, as well as the Red Navy sailors P. S. Gavrilov and N. G. Vavilkin.

One of the first Soviet sailors who were awarded the Nakhimov Medal was the chief military officer G. M. Davydenko, who came to serve in the Baltic Fleet as early as 1936, according to the Komsomol voucher. In addition to the medal of Nakhimov, he was one of the first to receive the Ushakov medal. During the operation of the defense of the naval base of the Baltic Fleet, located on the territory of the Hanko Peninsula, the boat under his command 11 once landed troops on the island occupied by Finnish soldiers. In 1942-1944, Davydenko successfully completed a 121 combat mission on patrol and convoy ships, minesweeping. Subsequently, for his military achievements, G. M. Davidenko was awarded the title Hero of the Soviet Union.



In Soviet stories there were also cases when the Red Navy men re-introduced themselves to the Nakhimov medal. For example, two of these awards were held by the senior sailor of the fleet, Meka Ivan Petrovich, who served on one of the torpedo boats from the Baltic Fleet and was a machine gunner. Also twice to this award were the foremen of the 2-th article of S. A. Shevchenko and G. Trofimenko. Awarded this medal and foreign citizens. For example, 17 July 1945, the Nakhimov medal was awarded 15 to a US Navy soldier.

After the end of the war, the famous fleet admiral NG Kuznetsov recalled that, while on the front lines, he was personally convinced of the pride the Red Navy carried their naval awards. He also repeatedly heard that awarding Nakhimov and Ushakov’s medals to fleet officers was a sign of superior distinction, which indicated their participation in battles along with the rank and file and their personal courage. These awards were especially appreciated by coastal defense artillerymen and marines. For them, awarding medals of Nakhimov and Ushakov was evidence of their belonging and involvement in the Soviet Navy, which sailors were always proud of regardless of whether they had to serve and fight - on land or at sea.

In March 1980, changes were made to the statute of the medal on the basis of a decree of the Presidium of the USSR Armed Forces, which allowed rewarding distinguished sailors in peacetime. By the beginning of 1981, the Nakhimov medal in the USSR was awarded to more than 13 thousand people. By the time of the collapse of the USSR, more than 14 thousands of awards were given out with this combat award.

Information sources:
http://ordenrf.ru/su/medali-su/medal-nakhimova.php
http://milday.ru/ussr/ussr-uniform-award/650-medal-nahimova.html
http://medalww.ru/nagrady-sssr/medali-sssr/medal-nahimova
http://www.rusorden.ru/?nr=su&nt=mw4
http://onagradah.ru/medal-ushakova-i-medal-nakhimova
Author:
Articles from this series:
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of the Red Banner
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. The order of Lenin
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of the Red Star
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Gold Star Medal
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Medal of Honor"
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Medal "For Military Merit"
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of the Patriotic War
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Alexander Nevsky
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Kutuzov
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Suvorov
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Bogdan Khmelnitsky
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Medal "Partisan of the Patriotic War"
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Nakhimov
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Ushakov
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Ushakov's Medal
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Medal of Nakhimov
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Glory
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Victory
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Medals of the series "For Defense"
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Medals of the series “For the capture and release”
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Medals win
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Drosselmeyer
    Drosselmeyer 12 February 2014 18: 46
    0
    Beautiful medal. One of the few with a complex reverse pattern.
  2. Lk17619
    Lk17619 13 February 2014 06: 51
    0
    Thanks for the review.

Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медаль Нахимова

Медаль Нахимова была учреждена 3 марта 1944 года Указом Президиума ВС СССР одновременно с орденами Ушакова и Нахимова. Медаль являлась флотским аналогом «сухопутной» медали «За боевые заслуги», тогда как медаль Ушакова была аналогом медали «За отвагу». Медаль Нахимова предназначалась для награждения за отличия при защите Советского Союза, а также активное содействие успешному выполнению боевых задач частями и кораблями ВМФ и пограничных войск.

Медаль Нахимова была учреждена для награждения младшего состава военно-морского флота. Ей награждались солдаты, матросы, сержанты, старшины, прапорщики и мичманы ВМФ, а также отдельных морских частей погранвойск за инициативные, умелые и отважные действия, которые способствовали успешному решению боевых задач частей и кораблей флота на морских театрах боевых действий. За мужество, которое удалось проявить при защите морских границ Советского Союза. А также за самоотверженность, которая была проявлена при выполнении воинского долга или за другие заслуги, проявленные во время прохождения службы на флоте в условиях, которые были сопряжены с риском для жизни. Медаль Нахимова должна была носиться на левой стороне груди. При наличии других советских медалей она находилась сразу после медали «За боевые заслуги».

Медаль Нахимова изготавливалась полностью из бронзы, форма медали — правильный круг. Медаль окаймлялась бортиком как с лицевой, так и с обратной стороны. На лицевой стороне награды было расположено погрудное изображение адмирала Нахимова в профиль. По окружности в верхней части медали располагалась надпись «Адмирал Нахимов» (все буквы заглавные), в нижней части непосредственно под изображением адмирала располагались пятиконечная звезда и две лавровых ветви. По краям медали находились рельефные точки количеством 110 штук. На оборотной стороне медали Нахимова был изображен парусный корабль, выполненный рельефным. Изображение парусника окаймлялось кольцом из троса. Сам медальон был наложен на 2 перекрещенных якоря. Корабль и якоря дополнительно обрамлялись якорной цепью, которая проходила за якорями. По краю награды с оборотной стороны располагалось 111 рельефных точек.


Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медаль Нахимова


С помощью кольца и ушка медаль Нахимов крепилась к стандартной пятиугольной наградной колодке, которая обтягивалась синей муаровой лентой из шелка, на которой располагались 3 белых полоски. Белые полоски проходили вдоль ленты и имели ширину в 3 мм каждая. Между белыми полосками были просветы синей ткани шириной по 2 мм, общая ширина шелковой ленты составляла стандартные 24 мм.

Первые медали Нахимова краснофлотцы получили уже 10 апреля 1944 года. Первые вручения наград состоялись на Северном флоте. 10 апреля 1944 года краснофлотцы Ф. Г. Мошков и Е. В. Толстов, а также сержант М. А. Колосов (все три разведчики) получили данную медаль. Первые награждения медалью Нахимова на Черноморском флоте прошли 20 апреля 1944 года. Среди первых награжденных были главный старшина И. Ф. Белкин, старшина 1-й статьи Г. И. Беликов, краснофлотец Н. Д. Белик. На Балтийском флоте первые медали Нахимова были вручены 26 июня 1944 года. Их обладателями стали старшина 1-й статьи В. А. Васильев, а также краснофлотцы П. С. Гаврилов и Н. Г. Вавилкин.

Одним из первых советских моряков, которые были награждены медалью Нахимова, являлся главстаршина Г. М. Давиденко, который пришел служить на Балтийский флот еще в 1936 году по комсомольской путевке. Помимо медали Нахимова, он одним из первых получил и медаль Ушакова. Во время операции по обороне военно-морской базы Балтийского флота, расположенной на территории полуострова Ханко, катер под его командованием 11 раз высаживал десант на занятые финскими солдатами острова. В 1942-1944 годах Давиденко успешно выполнил 121 боевое задание по дозору и конвоированию кораблей, тралению мин. Впоследствии за свои боевые заслуги Г. М. Давиденко был удостоен звания Героя Советского Союза.

Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медаль Нахимова


В советской истории были и случаи, когда краснофлотцы повторно представлялись к медали Нахимова. К примеру, две данных награды имелось у старшего краснофлотца Мека Ивана Петровича, который служил на одном из торпедных катеров из состава Балтийского флота и был пулеметчиком. Также дважды к данной награде были представлены старшины 2-й статьи С. А. Шевченко и Г. Трофименко. Награждались данной медалью и иностранные граждане. К примеру, 17 июля 1945 года медаль Нахимова была вручена 15 военнослужащим американских ВМС.

Уже после окончания войны прославленный адмирал флота Н. Г. Кузнецов вспоминал, что, бывая на фронтах, он воочию убеждался в том, с какой гордостью краснофлотцы носили свои морские награды. Также ему не раз довелось услышать о том, что награждение медалями Нахимова и Ушакова офицеров флота было знаком высшего отличия, что свидетельствовало об их участии в боях наравне с рядовым составом и об их личном мужестве. Особенно ценили данные награды артиллеристы береговой обороны и морские пехотинцы. Для них награждение медалями Нахимова и Ушакова было свидетельством их принадлежности и причастности к советскому ВМФ, чем моряки всегда гордились вне зависимости от того, где им приходилось служить и воевать — на суше или на море.

В марте 1980 года в статут медали на основании указа Президиума ВС СССР были внесены изменения, которые позволяли награждать отличившихся моряков и в мирное время. К началу 1981 года медалью Нахимова в СССР было награждено более 13 тысяч человек. К моменту распада СССР было произведено более 14 тысяч награждений данной боевой наградой.

Источники информации:
http://ordenrf.ru/su/medali-su/medal-nakhimova.php
http://milday.ru/ussr/ussr-uniform-award/650-medal-nahimova.html
http://medalww.ru/nagrady-sssr/medali-sssr/medal-nahimova
http://www.rusorden.ru/?nr=su&nt=mw4
http://onagradah.ru/medal-ushakova-i-medal-nakhimova
Автор: Юферев Сергей


Статьи из этой серии:

Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Красного Знамени
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Ленина
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Красной Звезды
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медаль «Золотая Звезда»
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медаль «За отвагу»
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медаль «За боевые заслуги»
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Отечественной войны
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Александра Невского
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Кутузова
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Суворова
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Богдана Хмельницкого
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медаль «Партизану Отечественной войны»
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Нахимова
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Ушакова
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медаль Ушакова
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медаль Нахимова
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Славы
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Победы
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медали серии «За оборону»
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медали серии «За взятие и освобождение»
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медали победы

Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 2
  1. Drosselmeyer 12 февраля 2014 18:46
    Красивая медаль. Одна из немногих со сложным оборотным рисунком.
    Drosselmeyer
  2. Lk17619 13 февраля 2014 06:51
    Спасибо за обзор.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня