Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Medals of the series “For the capture and release”

In the summer of 1945, military medals appeared in the USSR, which were issued for the capture and liberation of the main European cities. In total, there were seven such medals in the Soviet award system: "For the capture of Vienna", "For the capture of Budapest", "For the capture of Koenigsberg", "For the capture of Berlin", "For the liberation of Warsaw", "For the liberation of Prague" and "For the liberation of Belgrade ". As you can see, 6 of 7 medals were associated with the liberation of European capitals from fascism. All medals were established on the basis of the Decree of the Presidium of the USSR Supreme Soviet on 9 June 1945.

An inquisitive reader may wonder why various formulations were used to create these medals. Some were given medals for taking cities, others for liberation. On this account, you can make two assumptions. The first of these is that the enemy cities, that is, those of the European cities that were on the territory of Germany or its allies in the war, were taken by the Red Army (Berlin, Königsberg, Budapest and Vienna), and those that were occupied by Hitler’s troops - liberated (Belgrade, Warsaw, Prague). Fairly logical explanation.


According to the second version, the cities taken by the Soviet troops were captured exclusively by regular units of our army, as well as our allies as a result of large-scale military operations with stubborn resistance from the enemy. At the same time, the Red Army liberated the cities when local insurgent groups or the anti-fascist underground took part in this in one form or another. At the same time, all the liberated cities had not only military, but also serious political significance, and were especially important for the post-war structure of Europe. This version discards the territorial affiliation of cities to Germany or its allies in the war.

Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Medals of the series “For the capture and release”

All medals of this series had the same size. They were made in the form of a circle with a diameter of 32 mm and were made of brass. By creating most of the medals in this series the artist A. I. Kuznetsov had a hand. It is worth noting that in the Soviet medal system all these medals were distinguished by simplicity of graphic design. The basis of each of them was the inscription "For the liberation" or "For the capture", which was located on the obverse. On the reverse of all the medals were the date of the capture or liberation of cities and a small five-pointed star. All the inscriptions and images on the medals were made convex. On the front side of the coin was bordered by a small side.

All medals of this series were awarded to soldiers and officers of the Red Army, NKVD troops, and also the Navy, who were directly involved in the storming and liberation of these cities, and also participated in organizing and leading combat operations for their capture and release.

Medal "For the capture of Berlin"

In total, over the 1,1 of a million Soviet soldiers were presented to the medal “For the Capture of Berlin”. On the obverse in the center of the medal was the inscription "FOR THE TAKING OF BERLIN" (all capital letters). On the bottom edge there was an image of an oak half-woolen, which in the middle part was intertwined with tape. Above the inscription was a five-pointed star. On the reverse side was the date of the capture of the city - May 2 of the year 1945. The medal was attached to a standard pentagonal block. It was covered with a silk red ribbon 24 mm wide, in the middle of this ribbon 5 passed along the same width of the strips: 2 orange and 3 black.



Medal "For the liberation of Belgrade"

In total, this combat medal was awarded to the order of 70 000 fighters and commanders of the Red Army. The inscription “FOR LIBERATION OF BELGRADE” (all capital letters) was placed on the front side in the center of the award, while the inscription “FOR LIBERATION” was located in a circle. Above this inscription there was a five-pointed star, along the circumference there was a laurel wreath. On the reverse side of the award was the date of the liberation of Belgrade - 20 October 1944 of the year. The medal was attached to a standard pentagonal block. It was covered with a silk green ribbon 24 mm wide, in the middle of this ribbon was a black stripe 8 mm wide.



Medal "For the Capture of Budapest"

As of January 1, 1995, the medal “For the capture of Budapest” was awarded to the order of 362 050 people. On the obverse in the center of the award was the inscription "FOR THE TAKING OF BUDAPEST" (all capital letters). Above the inscription was a five-pointed star. Below was an image of a sickle and hammer, which was located in the center of two crossed laurel branches. On the reverse side of the coin was the date of the seizure of the capital of Hungary - February 13 1945. The medal was attached to a standard pentagonal block. It was covered with a silk orange ribbon 24 mm wide, in the middle of this ribbon was a blue strip 8 mm wide.




Medal "For the liberation of Warsaw"

As of January 1, 1995, the medal “For the liberation of Warsaw” was awarded to 701 700 fighters and commanders of the Red Army. The inscription “FOR LIBERATION OF WARSAW” (all capital letters) was located on the front side in the center of the award, while the inscription “FOR LIBERATION” was located on a circle, and the inscription “WARSAW” was horizontal, but on a separate ribbon. In the lower part there was a small five-pointed star with rays radiating from it. On the reverse side of the coin was the date of the capture of the capital of Poland - 17 January 1945. The medal was attached to a standard pentagonal block. It was covered with a silk blue ribbon 24 mm wide, in the middle of this ribbon was a red stripe 8 mm wide, the edges of the ribbon were bordered by small yellow stripes.



Medal "For the capture of Vienna"

As of January 1, 1995, the medal “For the capture of Vienna” was awarded the order of 277 380 fighters and commanders of the Red Army. On the obverse in the center of the award was the inscription "FOR TAKING VIENNA" (all capital letters), in the upper part above the inscription there was a small five-pointed star, in the lower part a laurel twig. On the reverse side of the medal was the date of the capture of the capital of Austria - 13 April 1945. The medal was attached to a standard pentagonal block. It was covered with a silk blue ribbon 24 mm wide, in the middle of this ribbon was a blue strip 8 mm wide.



Medal "For the capture of Koenigsberg"

As of 1987 year, the medal "For the capture of Koenigsberg" was awarded the order of 760 000 soldiers and commanders of the Red Army. On the obverse in the center of the award was the inscription “FOR TAKING KENIGSBERG” (all capital letters), in the upper part above the inscription there was a small five-pointed star with rays radiating to the sides, in the lower part a laurel line. On the reverse side of the medal was the date when Koenigsberg was captured (the only city is not the capital) - 10 on April 1945. The medal was attached to a standard pentagonal block. She was covered with a silk ribbon 24 mm wide. The tape itself consisted of five alternating strips of the same width: 2 green and 3 black. The edges of this tape were edged with small green stripes.



Medal "For the Liberation of Prague"

As of 1962, the order “For the Liberation of Prague” was awarded to the order of 395 000 people. The inscription “FOR LIBERATION OF PRAGUE” (all capital letters) was located on the front side in the center of the award, while the inscription “FOR LIBERATION” was arranged in a circle. Below was an image of the rising sun, as well as two laurel branches, which were connected together under a small five-pointed star. On the reverse side of the coin was the date the capture of the capital of Czechoslovakia - 9 of May 1945 of the year. The medal was attached to a standard pentagonal block. It was covered with a silk lilac ribbon 24 mm wide, in the middle of this ribbon was a blue stripe 8 mm wide.


According to information from free sources
Author:
Yuferev Sergey
Articles from this series:
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of the Red Banner
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. The order of Lenin
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of the Red Star
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Gold Star Medal
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Medal of Honor"
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Medal "For Military Merit"
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of the Patriotic War
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Alexander Nevsky
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Kutuzov
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Suvorov
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Bogdan Khmelnitsky
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Medal "Partisan of the Patriotic War"
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Nakhimov
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Ushakov
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Ushakov's Medal
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Medal of Nakhimov
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Glory
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Order of Victory
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Medals of the series "For Defense"
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Medals of the series “For the capture and release”
Military orders and medals of the Soviet Union. Medals win
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медали серии «За взятие и освобождение»

Летом 1945 года в СССР появились боевые медали, которые выдавались за взятие и освобождение основных европейских городов. Всего в советской наградной системе было семь таких медалей: «За взятие Вены», «За взятие Будапешта», «За взятие Кенигсберга», «За взятие Берлина», «За освобождение Варшавы», «За освобождение Праги» и «За освобождение Белграда». Как видим, 6 из 7 медалей были связаны с освобождением от фашизма европейских столиц. Все медали были учреждены на основании Указа Президиума ВС СССР от 9 июня 1945 года.

Пытливый читатель может заинтересоваться, почему при создании данных медалей использовались различные формулировки. Одни медали давали за взятие городов, другие за освобождение. На этот счет можно высказать два предположения. Первое из них заключается в том, что вражеские города, то есть те из европейских городов, которые находились на территории Германии или ее союзников в войне, Красная Армия брала (Берлин, Кенигсберг, Будапешт и Вена), а те, которые были оккупированы гитлеровскими войсками, — освобождала (Белград, Варшава, Прага). Достаточно логичное объяснение.

Согласно второй версии, взятые советскими войсками города были захвачены исключительно регулярными частями нашей армии, а также наших союзников в результате крупномасштабных войсковых операций при упорном сопротивлении неприятеля. В то же время освобождала Красная Армия города, когда в этом в той или иной форме принимали участие местные повстанческие отряды или антифашистское подполье. При этом все освобожденные города имели не только военное, но и серьезное политическое значение, были особенно важны для послевоенного устройства Европы. Эта версия отбрасывает территориальную принадлежность городов к Германии или ее союзникам в войне.


Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медали серии «За взятие и освобождение»

Все медали данной серии обладали одинаковыми размерами. Они были выполнены в форме круга диаметром 32 мм и изготавливались из латуни. К созданию большинства медалей этой серии приложил руку художник А. И. Кузнецов. Стоит отметить, что в советской медальной системе все эти медали отличались простотой графического оформления. Основу каждой из них составляла надпись «За освобождение» или «За взятие», которая располагалась на аверсе. На реверсе всех медалей располагалась дата взятия или освобождения городов и небольшая пятиконечная звездочка. Все надписи и изображения на медалях были выполнены выпуклыми. По лицевой стороне медали окаймлял небольшой бортик.

Все медали данной серии вручались солдатам и офицерам Красной Армии, войск НКВД, а также Военно-морского флота, которые принимали непосредственное участие в штурме и освобождении данных городов, а также принимали участие в организации и руководстве боевыми операциями по их взятию и освобождению.

Медаль «За взятие Берлина»

Всего к медали «За взятие Берлина» было представлено более 1,1 миллиона советских воинов. На лицевой стороне в центре медали располагалась надпись «ЗА ВЗЯТИЕ БЕРЛИНА» (все буквы заглавные). По нижнему краю было расположено изображение дубового полувенка, который в средней части был перевит лентой. Над надписью располагалась пятиконечная звездочка. На обратной стороне была расположена дата взятия города — 2 мая 1945 года. Медаль крепилась к стандартной пятиугольной колодке. Она была обтянута шелковой красной лентой шириной 24 мм, посередине данной ленты проходило 5 одинаковых по ширине полосок: 2 оранжевых и 3 черных.

Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медали серии «За взятие и освобождение»


Медаль «За освобождение Белграда»

Всего данной боевой медалью было награждено порядка 70 000 бойцов и командиров Красной Армии. На лицевой стороне в центре награды была расположена надпись «ЗА ОСВОБОЖДЕНИЕ БЕЛГРАДА» (все буквы заглавные), при этом надпись «ЗА ОСВОБОЖДЕНИЕ» была расположена по окружности. Сверху над этой надписью располагалась пятиконечная звезда, по окружности шел лавровый венок. На оборотной стороне награды была нанесена дата освобождения Белграда — 20 октября 1944 года. Медаль крепилась к стандартной пятиугольной колодке. Она была обтянута шелковой зеленой лентой шириной 24 мм, посередине данной ленты проходила черная полоска шириной 8 мм.

Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медали серии «За взятие и освобождение»


Медаль «За взятие Будапешта»

По состоянию на 1 января 1995 года медалью «За взятие Будапешта» было награждено порядка 362 050 человек. На лицевой стороне в центре награды была расположена надпись «ЗА ВЗЯТИЕ БУДАПЕШТА» (все буквы заглавные). Выше надписи находилась пятиконечная звезда. Внизу было нанесено изображение серпа и молота, которое располагалось по центру двух скрещенных лавровых ветвей. На оборотной стороне медали стояла дата взятии столицы Венгрии — 13 февраля 1945 года. Медаль крепилась к стандартной пятиугольной колодке. Она была обтянута шелковой оранжевой лентой шириной 24 мм, посередине данной ленты проходила голубая полоска шириной 8 мм.

Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медали серии «За взятие и освобождение»


Медаль «За освобождение Варшавы»

По состоянию на 1 января 1995 года медалью «За освобождение Варшавы» было награждено 701 700 бойцов и командиров Красной Армии. На лицевой стороне в центре награды располагалась надпись «ЗА ОСВОБОЖДЕНИЕ ВАРШАВЫ» (все буквы заглавные), при этом надпись «ЗА ОСВОБОЖДЕНИЕ» была расположена по окружности, а надпись «ВАРШАВЫ» горизонтально, но на отдельной ленте. В нижней части располагалась небольшая пятиконечная звезда с расходящимися от нее лучами. На оборотной стороне медали стояла дата взятии столицы Польши — 17 января 1945 года. Медаль крепилась к стандартной пятиугольной колодке. Она была обтянута шелковой синей лентой шириной 24 мм, посередине данной ленты проходила красная полоска шириной 8 мм, края ленты окаймляли небольшие полоски желтого цвета.

Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медали серии «За взятие и освобождение»


Медаль «За взятие Вены»

По состоянию на 1 января 1995 года медалью «За взятие Вены» было награждено порядка 277 380 бойцов и командиров Красной Армии. На лицевой стороне в центре награды располагалась надпись «ЗА ВЗЯТИЕ ВЕНЫ» (все буквы заглавные), в верхней части над надписью располагалась небольшая пятиконечная звезда, в нижней части лавровая веточка. На оборотной стороне медали стояла дата взятии столицы Австрии — 13 апреля 1945 года. Медаль крепилась к стандартной пятиугольной колодке. Она была обтянута шелковой голубой лентой шириной 24 мм, посередине данной ленты проходила синяя полоска шириной 8 мм.

Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медали серии «За взятие и освобождение»


Медаль «За взятие Кенигсберга»

По состоянию на 1987 год медалью «За взятие Кенигсберга» было награждено порядка 760 000 бойцов и командиров Красной Армии. На лицевой стороне в центре награды располагалась надпись «ЗА ВЗЯТИЕ КЕНИГСБЕРГА» (все буквы заглавные), в верхней части над надписью располагалась небольшая пятиконечная звезд с расходящимися в стороны лучами, в нижней части лавровая ветка. На оборотной стороне медали стояла дата взятии Кенигсберга (единственный город не столица) — 10 апреля 1945 года. Медаль крепилась к стандартной пятиугольной колодке. Она была обтянута шелковой лентой шириной 24 мм. Сама лента состояла из пяти чередующихся между собой полосок одинаковой ширины: 2 зеленых и 3 черных. Края данной ленты были окаймлены небольшими зелеными полосками.

Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медали серии «За взятие и освобождение»


Медаль «За освобождение Праги»

По состоянию на 1962 год медалью «За освобождение Праги» было награждено порядка 395 000 человек. На лицевой стороне в центре награды располагалась надпись «ЗА ОСВОБОЖДЕНИЕ ПРАГИ» (все буквы заглавные), при этом надпись «ЗА ОСВОБОЖДЕНИЕ» была расположена по окружности. Внизу было расположено изображение восходящего солнца, а также двух лавровых веток, которые соединялись между собой под небольшой пятиконечной звездой. На оборотной стороне медали стояла дата взятии столицы Чехословакии — 9 мая 1945 года. Медаль крепилась к стандартной пятиугольной колодке. Она была обтянута шелковой сиреневой лентой шириной 24 мм, посередине данной ленты проходила синяя полоска шириной 8 мм.
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медали серии «За взятие и освобождение»


По информации из свободных источников
Автор: Юферев Сергей


Статьи из этой серии:

Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Красного Знамени
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Ленина
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Красной Звезды
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медаль «Золотая Звезда»
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медаль «За отвагу»
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медаль «За боевые заслуги»
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Отечественной войны
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Александра Невского
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Кутузова
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Суворова
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Богдана Хмельницкого
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медаль «Партизану Отечественной войны»
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Нахимова
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Ушакова
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медаль Ушакова
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медаль Нахимова
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Славы
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Орден Победы
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медали серии «За оборону»
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медали серии «За взятие и освобождение»
Боевые ордена и медали Советского Союза. Медали победы

Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 4
  1. Landwarrior 28 февраля 2014 08:35
    Медаль за Берлин досталась мне от одного из дедов. Храню как зеницу ока. soldier
    Иногда беру ее в руку- и кажется заряжаюсь частичкой той радости, которая царила в мая далекого 1945 года. Помню и горжусь! soldier
  2. omsbon 28 февраля 2014 08:46
    Хмелел солдат, слеза катилась,
    Слеза несбывшихся надежд,
    И на груди его светилась
    Медаль за город Будапешт.


    Одна из любимых песен моего деда.
  3. Бек 28 февраля 2014 10:05
    Медаль "ЗА ВЗЯТИЕ КЕНИГСБЕРГА", по сути своей, единственная медаль, не за взятие города, а за взятие крепости - крепости Кёнигсберг.
    Бек
  4. max73 28 февраля 2014 20:02
    медалью "За взятие Будапешта" награждали не только участников штурма города, но и тех, кто сражался у Балатона. деда моего наградили. 43-я ОИПТАБр. 1976-й ИПТАП
    1. Андрей77 5 марта 2014 11:58
      Сражался рядом и не наградили - таких примеров очень много. Думаю, в Вашем случае командир бригады настоял. Тем более бригада отделенная - у командира полномочия выше.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня