Military Review

Battle of Caldiero

6

30 October 1805 The French army under the command of Marshal Massena faced the Austrian army under the command of the Archduke Charles, entrenched in the village of Kaldiero and on the surrounding heights. The stubborn battle lasted three days. The French attacked and captured the heights, but the village was left for the Austrians. At night, the Austrian archduke took out the wagon train and the main forces, leaving the 5-thousandth unit under Hellinger's command to cover the retreat. The next day, the rear of the Austrians was captured. As a result, the Austrians retreated from Italy.


prehistory

The Vienna court planned to conduct an offensive war in Italy. Initially, the Austrians were going to take the fortresses of Mantua and Peschiero, and then through Switzerland go to France. The troops were led by the hero of the Austrian Empire, army favorite Archduke Charles. Karl Ludwig Johann was one of the most talented Austrian generals. Karl began his military career during the revolutionary wars in 1792. In 1796, he successfully acted against the French on the Rhine. In the 1799 war of the year, Karl commanded the Austrian army, concentrated on the banks of the Lech river and again forced the French to withdraw beyond the Rhine. However, due to the mistakes of the Austrian Gofkrygsrat (court military council), he was unable to continue the offensive. The dissatisfaction of Karl-Ludwig-Johann was so strong that the commander left the post of commander and left for the city of Prague. In the 1800 year, after the defeats inflicted on the Austrians under Marengo and Hohenlinden, Karl again agreed to take command of the army, ordered the retreat of the troops and concluded a truce with the French, which served as the basis for the Luneville world.

From 1800 to 1809, he was Governor General of Bohemia. Simultaneously, Karl was appointed president of the Gofkrygsrat and field marshal. He began to reform the Austrian army. In 1801, the Ministry of War was established, which dealt with the finances and supply of the army. In 1802-1804, the city of Karl conducted a series of military reforms: light infantry battalions were disbanded and transformed into a Tyrolean chasseur regiment; formed 3 Lancers Regiment; reorganized artillery, introduced a linear and backup system; sappers and miners received separate hulls; The general headquarters was divided into the 3 department: the Adjutant service with the headquarters of the quartermaster general for training new officers, the Topographical department and the Military archive. As a result, the first series of reforms took place in Austria to the new war with France, which significantly strengthened the army. However, it was still far from complete success (the second stage of the reforms was held in 1806-1809).

The army of Karl consisted of 80 thousand soldiers and in September 1805, when the army of the Mac was marching towards Ulm, was stationed in the region of Verona, on the left bank of the Adige river, then the border of Austria with the Italian kingdom. By the end of October 1805, the number of armies planned to increase to 100 thousand people. Separate 10-th. Hiller's corps was located in the Triento area (Trento), guarding the communication with Tyrol.

The French army in Italy was commanded by Andre Massena, with a total of about 56 thousand bangs. Massena was instructed to act on defense, while the outcome of the war on the Danube is being decided and 17-thousand will do. Corps Saint-Cyr from Naples. Massena had a huge combat experience, starting service as a private in 1775. After serving 14 years, he retired with the rank of ensign - in the highest rank, which could not get a nobleman. After the revolution, re-entered the French army. He quickly became one of the best French commanders. When founding the First Empire, he was promoted to marshal. The French called him "Favorite Victory."

Battle of Caldiero

Marshal Andre Massena

During the first operations, the plans of the Austrian high command changed. When in Vienna they learned about the alliance of France with Bavaria and about the movement of the French army from Boulogne to central Germany, Archduke Charles was instructed to send 20-thousand to Ulm. case. However, the commander of the Danube army Poppy, confident in his abilities and awaiting the arrival of Kutuzov’s army, considered this reinforcement to be excessive and ordered the troops, directed by the Archduke Karl to Ulm, to turn back. As a result, these troops could not assist Mac in the Ulm operation and did not have time for Karl during his fight with the French, spending time in useless marches. In addition, the commander in Tyrol, Archduke John, summoned half of the detachment standing at Trient.

Thus, Karl lost 20-thousand. corps sent to the Danube, and half of the squad of Hiller. The Austrian army in Italy lost numerical superiority and became almost equivalent to the French forces. The Austrian commander was forced to abandon the offensive and think about defense, especially since the corps of Saint-Cyr was in a hurry to get to Massena.

As a result, both sides at the beginning of the war were inactive, awaiting the arrival of reinforcements and news from the main theater. After Massena 16 of October received the news of the defeat of the Austrians near Ulm, the strategic initiative passed into the hands of the French army. The French went on the offensive. In turn, the Austrian archduke, having received news of Mac's surrender, realizing that apparently he would soon have to retreat from Italy, concentrated his troops on a strong position under Caldiero (Kaldiero). Dejected by the catastrophe of the Danube army, the Archduke Charles decided to preserve the honor of the Austrian army and give the French a battle, while at the same time ensuring the withdrawal of the Italian army to Austria. Therefore, the Austrians did not evade battle.



Battle. Austrian Army Retreat

18 (30) October 1805, forcing the Adige, the French attacked the Austrians under Caldiero. For three days a stubborn fight was in full swing. Massena and his commanders were eager to repeat the success of the French army on the Danube, while the Austrians sought to wash off the Austrian name of Ulm shame. Austrian troops repulsed all the attacks of the French army. The French were able to capture a number of heights, but the village was left for the Austrians.

On the last day of the battle, the Austrian commander received instructions from Vienna to leave a strong garrison in Venice and to make a force march to join up with Kutuzov. On the night of 20 on October 21, the Austrians began to retreat. The French moved for the Austrians. The French in this battle lost about 3,7 thousand dead wounded and captured. The losses of the Austrian army - 2,7 thousand. Killed and wounded, 6,5 thousand. Captives.

Karl sent the 18 battalions to reinforce the Venice garrison and reached Palma Nova. Receiving news of the retreat of Kutuzov’s army along the way and seeing the impossibility of connecting with the Russians through Tarvis and Villach, the Archduke Charles left Palma-Nova on October 30 (November November) and moved to Goritsa and Laibach. November 11 Austrians arrived at Laybach.

During their retreat, the Austrians spread rumors that they are waiting for the arrival of the Russian army in Dalmatia and are going to unite with the allies. Believing in these rumors, and also awaiting the landing of the Russians and English in Naples, Massena stopped the pursuit of the Austrian army and stopped on the banks of the Isonzo river, sending forward horse trips. The Corps of Saint-Cyr was instructed to besiege Venice.

Freed from the French, the Archduke Charles moved to Marburg where he planned to join the forces of the Archduke John of Tyrol, and then planned to go in the direction of Vienna.

The Archduke John retreated from Tirol with serious losses. 30-thousand The Austrian army was divided into several units. A detachment of the dead Danube army under the leadership of Jelačić was at Feldkirch; Prince Rogan at Fussen; Saint-Julien y Charnitz; Tyrolean militia in Kufstein; Archduke John himself with a reserve in Innsbruck. John's army was connected to the army of Charles by Hiller’s corps stationed in Trient and Bozen.

Napoleon, having dealt with the army of Mac at Ulm, in order to secure his right wing, moved Ney's corps from Ulm to Tyrol, the Derua Bavarian division from Salzburg and Ogerot's corps from the west, from Feldkirch. With her quick onslaught, despite the impregnability of Scharnitz, October 24 took it and moved to Innsbruck. The Archduke retreated to a position in Brenner. Having received the order of the High Command to leave Tyrol and rush along with Carl to save Austria, he began to retreat. The detachments of Jelačić and Rogan were ordered to retreat through Bozen. However, the troops of Augeros bypassed Yelačić’s detachment and forced him to capitulate without a fight. The detachment of Prince Rogan bypassed Ney's troops, preventing him from connecting with the main forces. Then Rogan went mountain paths to Italy, hoping to make his way into Venice with the rear of Massena’s army. But the troops of Saint-Cyr, having received news of the approach of the Austrians, intercepted Rogan's detachment and scattered him. The Tyrolean militia stationed in Koufstein also failed. The Austrians were surrounded by the Bavarian division of Deruya. The Austrians surrendered.

Thus, three Austrian detachments from the Tyrolean army of Archduke John were cut off and captured. Austrian troops in the Italian and Tyrolean sectors were defeated and quickly retreated to Austria.


Archduke Karl Ludwig Johann
Author:
Articles from this series:
War of the Third Coalition

England vs Russia. Drawing into war with france
England vs Russia. Getting involved in a war with France. Part of 2
"I won the battle with some marches." How Napoleon defeated the III anti-French coalition
The catastrophe of the Austrian army near Ulm
How England became the "mistress of the seas"
Trafalgar defeat
Ulm-Olmutsky march maneuver Kutuzov
"Kremskoy massacre"
How the "squad of heroes" of Bagration saved the Russian army
6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. parusnik
    parusnik 17 November 2015 07: 46
    +1
    Portraits are magnificent .. Thank you for the article ...
  2. Same lech
    Same lech 17 November 2015 08: 08
    +2
    There were times ... tens of thousands of people fought with each other on small patches of land ... the massacre and slaughter are shorter.
    Not any kind of aviation and tanks with machine guns and all the same losses are the most severe on both sides.
  3. marinier
    marinier 17 November 2015 12: 27
    +4
    Hello dear!
    I think you have noticed 4 that the French basically achieved victory, their
    by maneuvering, not by standard thinking, on calling the enemy to battle
    in unfavorable conditions as well as a manifestation of suddenness. It doesn’t remind me of anything. But it reminds me of how Generalissim Suvorov is under the sponge
    His tactics.
    1. Morrrow
      Morrrow 18 November 2015 06: 11
      +1
      Still not his. Turenna.
  4. xan
    xan 17 November 2015 14: 50
    0
    The Austrians are some kind of loshki, they got around them - they gave up. If you are afraid of workarounds, then you need to not get around. The French did not surrender to the Russians under Krems, and the Russians did not surrender and did not allow themselves to be circumvented under Shengraben, and through the Alps they walked generally like epic gods, the Austrians would surrender 50 times. Our respect, nevertheless, their opponents were the French, and not the frightened Austrians. Although Archduke Karl aroused respect among the Russian military against the background of the rest of the Austrian generals, he read a review of Kutuzov about him, and pity he died young.
    Already simply from the bare facts it is clear who is fighting how, you can not write about "stubborn defense of heights or there is a village with a bridge."
  5. Rivares
    Rivares 17 November 2015 15: 41
    +2
    It is a pity the moral and political condition of the Austrian army and Austria is not described. All armies can fall into such a situation, let us recall the Russian army in the 1st World War, the Japanese, and the 1st Chechen Army is also well-known.
    1. xan
      xan 17 November 2015 16: 15
      +1
      Yes, the fact of the matter is that there was no crisis within Austria, but in Russia. Although it seems to be in one thing - the most severe crisis of the highest military bureaucracy, and the inability of the authorities to nominate talented military men, who clearly were.
    2. Morrrow
      Morrrow 18 November 2015 06: 17
      0
      Austria's morale before 1795 was excellent. She considered herself the leading military power in the world and inflicted major defeats on the Republican troops on the Rhine. Prior to that, Austria defeated Frederick, which was very proud of. Bonaparte's victories in Italy discouraged them. Austria got involved in the war of 1805 because "the Russians know how to beat the French" as Alexander said. It was believed that the position of France is hopeless.

Сражение под Кальдиеро

Сражение под Кальдиеро

30 октября 1805 г. французская армия под командованием маршала Массены столкнулись с австрийской армией под командованием эрцгерцога Карла, укрепившейся в деревне Кальдиеро и на окрестных высотах. Упорное сражение длилось три дня. Французы атаковали и захватили высоты, но деревня осталась за австрийцами. Ночью австрийский эрцгерцог вывез обоз и основные силы, оставив 5-тысячный отряд под командованием Хилингера для прикрытия отступления. На следующий день арьергард австрийцев был захвачен в плен. В итоге австрийцы отступили из Италии.

Предыстория

Венский двор планировал вести в Италии наступательную войну. Первоначально австрийцы собирались взять крепости Мантуя и Пескиеро, а затем через Швейцарию идти во Францию. Войска возглавил герой Австрийской империи, любимец армии эрцгерцог Карл. Карл Людвиг Иоганн был одним из наиболее талантливых австрийских полководцев. Свою военную карьеру Карл начал во время революционных войн в 1792 году. В 1796 году успешно действовал против французов на Рейне. В войну 1799 года Карл командовал австрийской армией, сосредоточенной на берегу реки Лех и снова заставил французов отойти за Рейн. Однако из-за ошибок австрийского гофкригсрата (придворного военного совета), не смог продолжить наступление. Недовольство Карла-Людвига-Иоганна было настолько сильным, что полководец оставил пост командующего и уехал в город Прагу. В 1800 году, после поражений, нанесённых австрийцам при Маренго и Гогенлиндене, Карл согласился опять принять командование армией, упорядочил отступление войск и заключил с французами перемирие, послужившее основанием Люневильскому миру.


С 1800 года по 1809 год он являлся генерал-губернатором Богемии. Одновременно Карл был назначен президентом гофкригсрата и фельдмаршалом. Он начал реформировать австрийскую армию. В 1801 г. было учреждено Военное министерство, которое занималось финансами и обеспечением армии. В 1802-1804 г. Карл провел ряд военных реформ: расформированы легкие пехотные батальоны и преобразованы в тирольский егерский полк; сформированы 3 уланских полка; реорганизована артиллерия, внедрена линейная и резервная система; сапёры и минеры получили отдельные корпуса; Генеральный штаб был разделён на 3 отдела: Адъютантская служба со штабом генерал-квартирмейстера для обучения новых офицеров, Топографический отдел и Военный архив. В результате к новой войне с Францией в Австрии прошла первая серия реформ, которая значительно укрепила армию. Однако до полного успеха ещё было далеко (второй этап реформ прошёл в 1806-1809 гг.).

Армия Карла состояла из 80 тыс. солдат и в сентябре 1805 г., когда армия Мака шла к Ульму, располагались в районе Вероны, на левом берегу реки Адидже, тогдашней границе Австрии с Итальянским королевством. К концу октября 1805 г. численность армии планировали увеличить до 100 тыс. человек. Отдельный 10-тыс. корпус Гиллера располагался в районе Триенто (Тренто), охраняя сообщение с Тиролем.

Французской армией в Италии командовал Андре Массена имея в общем около 56 тыс. челок. Массена имел указание действовать от обороны, пока решается исход войны на Дунае и подойдёт 17-тыс. корпус Сен-Сира из Неаполя. Массена имел огромный боевой опыт, начав службу рядовым в 1775 году. Прослужив 14 лет, вышел в отставку в чине прапорщика — в самом высоком чине, который мог получить не дворянин. После революции, снова вступил во французскую армию. Он быстро стал одним из лучших французских полководцев. При учреждении Первой империи получил звание маршала. Французы его назвали «Любимцем победы».

Сражение под Кальдиеро

Маршал Андре Массена

В ходе первых операций планы австрийского верховного командования изменились. Когда в Вене узнали о союзе Франции с Баварией и о движении французской армии от Булони в среднюю Германию, эрцгерцог Карл получил указание отрядить к Ульму 20-тыс. корпус. Однако командующий Дунайской армией Мак, уверенный в своих силах и ожидающий прихода армии Кутузова, счёл такое усиление чрезмерным и дал указание войскам, направленным эрцгерцогом Карлом к Ульму, повернуть назад назад. В результате эти войска не смогли оказать помощь Маку в Ульмской операции и не успели к Карлу во время его схватки с французами, истратив время в бесполезных маршах. Кроме того, командующий в Тироле эрцгерцог Иоанн вызвал к себе половину отряда, стоявшего в Триенте.

Таким образом, Карл лишился 20-тыс. корпуса, отправленного на Дунай, и половины отряда Гиллера. Австрийская армия в Италии потеряла численное превосходство и стала почти равносильна французским силам. Австрийский командующий вынужден был отказаться от наступления и думать об обороне, тем более, что к Массене спешил корпус Сен-Сира.

В результате обе стороны в начале войны бездействовали, ожидая прибытия подкреплений и известий с главного театра. После того как Массена 16 октября получил известие о разгроме австрийцев под Ульмом, стратегическая инициатива перешла в руки французской армии. Французы перешли в наступление. В свою очередь австрийский эрцгерцог, получив известие о капитуляции Мака, понимая, что видимо, ему вскоре придётся отступать из Италии, сосредоточил войска на крепкой позиции при Кальдьеро (Кальдиеро). Удрученным катастрофой Дунайской армии, эрцгерцог Карл решил сохранить честь австрийской армии и дать французам сражение, одновременно обеспечив отход Итальянской армии в Австрию. Поэтому австрийцы не стали уклонять от боя.

Сражение под Кальдиеро


Сражение. Отступление австрийской армии

18 (30) октября 1805 г., форсировав Адидж, французы атаковали австрийцев при Кальдьеро. Трое суток кипел упорный бой. Массена и его командиры рвались повторить успех французской армии на Дунае, а австрийцы силились смыть с австрийского имени Ульмский позор. Австрийские войска отбили все атаки французской армии. Французы смогли захватить ряд высот, но селение осталось за австрийцами.

В последний день сражения австрийский командующий получил указание из Вены оставить сильный гарнизон в Венеции и форсированным маршем идти на соединение с Кутузовым. В ночь с 20 на 21 октября австрийцы начали отступление. Французы двинулись за австрийцами. Французы в этом сражении потеряли около 3,7 тыс. убитыми ранеными и пленными. Потери австрийской армии — 2,7 тыс. убитыми и ранеными, 6,5 тыс. человек пленными.

Карл направил 18 батальонов на усиление гарнизона Венеции и дошёл до Пальма-Новы. Получая по пути известия об отступлении армии Кутузова и видя невозможность соединения с русскими через Тарвис и Виллах, эрцгерцог Карл оставил Пальма-Нову 30 октября (11 ноября) и двинулся к Горице и Лайбаху. 8 ноября австрийцы прибыли в Лайбах.

Во время своего отступления австрийцы распускали слухи, что ждут прибытия русской армии в Далмацию и собираются соединиться с союзниками. Поверив в эти слухи, а также ожидая высадки русских и англичан в Неаполе, Массена прекратил преследование австрийской армии и остановился на берегах реки Изонцо, выслав вперед конные разъезды. Корпус Сен-Сира получил указание осадить Венецию.

Освободившись от французов, эрцгерцог Карл двинулся к Марбургу где планировал соединиться войсками эрцгерцога Иоанна из Тироля, а затем планировал идти в сторону Вены.

Эрцгерцог Иоанн отступил из Тироля с серьёзными потерями. 30-тыс. австрийское войско было разделено на несколько отрядов. Отряд из состава погибшей Дунайской армии под началом Елачича был у Фельдкирха; принц Роган у Фюссена; Сен-Жюльен у Шарница; тирольское ополчение в Куфштейне; сам эрцгерцог Иоанн с резервом в Инсбруке. С армией Карла войска Иоанна соединял корпус Гиллера, дислоцировавшийся в Триенте и Боцене.

Наполеон, разделавшись с армией Мака под Ульмом, чтобы обеспечить своё правое крыло двинул в Тироль корпус Нея из Ульма, баварскую дивизию Деруа из Зальцбурга и корпус Ожеро с западного направления, от Фельдкирха. Ней быстрым натиском, несмотря на неприступность Шарница, 24 октября взял его и двинулся на Инсбрук. Эрцгерцог отступил на позицию в Бреннере. Получив приказ верховного командования оставить Тироль и спешить вместе с Карлом для спасения Австрии, начал отступление. Отрядам Елачича и Рогана дали указание отступать через Боцен. Однако войска Ожеро обошли отряд Елачича и вынудили его без боя капитулировать. Отряд принца Рогана обошли войска Нея, не дав ему соединиться с главными силами. Тогда Роган пошёл горными тропами в Италию, надеясь тылами армии Массены пробиться в Венецию. Но войска Сен-Сира, получив известие о приближении австрийцев, перехватили отряд Рогана и рассеяли его. Тирольское ополчение стоявшее в Куфштейне также потерпело неудачу. Австрийцев окружила баварская дивизия Деруя. Австрийцы сдались в плен.

Таким образом были отрезаны от своих и пленены три австрийских отряда из состава Тирольской армии эрцгерцога Иоанна. Австрийские войска на итальянском и тирольском направлениях потерпели поражение и быстро отступали в Австрию.

Сражение под Кальдиеро

Эрцгерцог Карл Людвиг Иоганн

Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 6
  1. parusnik 17 ноября 2015 07:46
    Портреты великолепные..Спасибо за статью...
  2. Тот же ЛЕХА 17 ноября 2015 08:08
    Вот были времена... на небольших клочках суши дрались друг с другом десятки тысяч людей...резня и бойня короче.
    Ни какой авиации и танков с пулеметами и все равно потери жесточайшие с обеих сторон.
  3. marinier 17 ноября 2015 12:27
    Здраствуйте Увазаемые!
    Думаиу, Вы тозе заметили 4то французы в основном добивалис победы,своим
    маневрированием,не стандартным мышлением,на визывание противнику баталии
    в не выгодных условиах а такзе проиавлением внезапоности. Ни4его не напоминает.А мне напоминает как под капирку Генералисима Суворова!
    Его тактика.
    1. Morrrow 18 ноября 2015 06:11
      Все же не его. Тюренна.
  4. xan 17 ноября 2015 14:50
    Австрийцы лошки какие-то, их обошли - они сдались. Если боятся обходов, ну тогда надо чтоб не обходили. Французы не сдались русским при Кремсе, а русские не сдались и не дали себя обойти при Шенграбене, а через Альпы шли вообще как эпические боги, австрийцы бы 50 раз сдались. Нашим респект, все-таки их противником были французы, а не зашуганные австрийцы. Хотя эрцгерцог Карл вызывал уважение у русских военных на фоне остального австрийского генералитета, читал отзыв о нем Кутузова, жаль умер молодым.
    Уже просто по голым фактам видно, кто как воюет, можно не писать про "упорная оборона высот или там деревни с мостом".
    xan
  5. Rivares 17 ноября 2015 15:41
    Жаль не описано морально-политическое состояние австрийской армии и Австрии. В такую ситуацию могут попасть все армии, вспомним Русскую армию в 1й мировой, японской, да и 1я чеченская тоже на слуху.
    1. xan 17 ноября 2015 16:15
      Да в том то и дело, что кризиса внутри Австрии небыло, а в России был. Хотя похоже в одном - жесточайший кризис высшей военной бюрократии, и неспособность власти выдвигать талантливых военных, которые явно были.
      xan
    2. Morrrow 18 ноября 2015 06:17
      Моральное состояние Австрии перед 1795 было великолепным. Она считала себя ведущей военной державой мира и наносила крупные поражения республиканским войскам на Рейне. До этого Австрия наносила поражения Фридриху, чем весьма гордилась. Победы Бонапарта в Италии их обескуражили. В войну 1805 года Австрия ввязалась потому что "русские умеют бить французов" как говорил Александр. Считалось, что положении Франции безнадежно.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня