Military Review

Kolomeya battle. Battle of the Stokhod River

6
Kolomeya battle. Battle of the Stokhod River

12 (25) June 1916, on the South-Western Front, there was some lull. Only in some areas were local actions conducted. The command of the South-Western Front began to prepare a new offensive. A telegram from the front headquarters officer VN Klembovsky, commanding the armies of 12 (25) June, said: “... This break in the offensive should be used to replenish units by people, accumulate firearms, regroup and prepare for the attack. This training should be conducted on the same basis as the 22 May offensive was prepared ... Although the enemy is upset and his positions are weaker than we have already taken, however, carefulness and thoughtfulness in preparing an attack are urgently needed for success and reducing casualties on our part. ”

All four armies of the South-Western Front were to take part in the upcoming offensive. In addition, from 11 (24) in June, the 3 Army (control of the army and one corps) and the 78 Infantry Division were transferred to the front of Brusilov. To restore the 3 Army, the 46 Army and 4 Cavalry Corps were poured into it. The 3 Army was to take the Galuziya, Gorodok area and simultaneously deliver an auxiliary strike at Ozarichi to assist the offensive of the Western Front in the direction of Baranovichi. 8-I army struck two blows: the main - on Kovel, auxiliary - on Vladimir-Volynsky. 11-I army attacked Brody and Poritsk. The 7 Army had to reach the Brezhany line, Pidhaitsy, Monastergiska, and the 9 Army had the line Galich, Stanislav. The 5 corps and the 78 division remained in the front reserve.

As conceived by the command of the South-Western Front, as before, he concentrated his main efforts on the Kovel direction. Kaledin's 8 Army again delivered the main blow. Therefore, the reinforcements received went to reinforce the 8 army. In addition to the previously arrived 5 Siberian and 23 corps, it includes the 1 Turkestan and the 1 Army Corps. Thus, excluding the 4 corps transferred to the 3 army (46 and 4) and the 11 army (8 and 32), the Kaledin army had 8 corps — the 5 Siberian, 1- Turkestan, 30, 1, 39, 23, 40, and 5 cavalry corps, remained the most powerful in the front. Kaledin decided to strike the main blow with the forces of the 1 of the Turkestan Corps, with the support of the cavalry corps; the auxiliary attack was carried out by the 30 corps. The 8 Siberian Corps, exhausted by the previous battles, was in the reserve of the 5 Army. The rest of the corps were to hold down the enemy in their areas, and be ready to go on a decisive offensive. Preparations for the new offensive took place in stopping the attacks of the enemy.

Enemy actions

In mid-June, the Austro-German forces carried out a broad regrouping of their forces south of Pripyat. With the 9 (22) of June, the Austro-German troops continued their attacks on the Kovel and Vladimir-Volyn directions. But these attacks were scattered and had no success. In Bukovina, the Austrians hastily retreated to the Carpathians. In the remaining sectors, the Austro-Germans defended themselves.

However, by mid-June, the Austro-German troops regrouped and launched a counteroffensive. Hindenburg, the Commander-in-Chief in the East, who was subordinated to the army group of Linsingen: the troops of Gower, Fat, Berngardi, the 8-I of the Austro-Hungarian Army, and the von Marvitz group deployed on the right wing, had to organize a strike on our 4 army. In total, this group had 23,5 infantry (including German 8) and 7 cavalry divisions. Bohm-Yermolli with the 1 and 2 of the Austro-Hungarian armies had to hold positions against the Russian 11.

The South German and 7 Austrian-Hungarian armies formed a group of troops under the authority of the Archduke Charles, the heir to the Austrian throne, to whom an experienced adviser, General von Zeekt, was assigned. German divisions were transferred here from France 3. Two German divisions were sent to the 7 Army, where they made up the group of General Kevel on the left flank. After the arrival of the Crevel group, the 7-I Austro-Hungarian army was to go on the offensive.

Thus, the troops of Linsingen attacked the right wing of the front of Brusilov - the 8 army, and the archduke was to strike the left wing - the 9 army. There was double-sided coverage, the Germans loved "Cannes". Linsingen was to launch the 17 (30) of June, and the Archduke Karl would attack with the approach of the German divisions - 20 of June.

Kolomeyskoe battle

However, the commander of 9-th Russian army, Platon Lechitsky decided otherwise. 15 (28) June his army launched a swift attack. Lechitsky hid from the southern group of Pflanzer in the Carpathians with the Consolidated and 3 Cavalry Corps and decided to strike the northern group of the enemy. The 33, 41 and 12 army corps were deployed between the Dniester and Prut, and they attacked Kolomei. The 11 Corps was to promote operations in the mountains beyond Prut.

With rapid onslaught, our troops 17 June broke into Kolomeya (Kolomyia). General Lechitsky planned to stop the regiments on the Kolomei line and wait for reinforcements promised by the command. However, having learned that the Austrians were waiting for the Germans coming to the aid, this decisive commander decided not to wait for either the Germans or reinforcements. June 18 (July 1) delivered a strong blow by the center of the army - the 12 Corps, in the Prut valley. The center of the 7 of the Austro-Hungarian army was broken again.

At this time, the German division arrived and 19 June (2 July), the Germans and the Austrians attacked our right flank - 33 th army corps. However, this counterstrike did not stop Lechitsky. Pulling the 33 and 41 corps back a little, he attacked with his center and left flank, with the 12 and 11 corps on the Rod and behind the Rod. After receiving a new strike in a weak spot, Pflanzer suspended the movement of the Crevel group. The troops of Lechitsky, developing success, occupied 24 June (7 July) Delatin. Thus, the army of Lechitsky won the nine-day battle of Kolomei. Austrian troops lost more than 31 thousand people only by prisoners.


9 Army Commander Platon Alekseevich Lechitsky

Lingsingen offensive

Meanwhile, the Russian Western front, instead of a decisive offensive and delivering the main attack, as he was supposed to do according to the basic plan of the summer campaign, everything continued to waver, postponing the strike. It all ended in that 15 June Evert made an attack in the Baranavichy direction only with the 1 grenadier corps. The attack was carried out on a broad front and did not lead to victory. After that, the commander of the Western Front began to make a new regrouping, hoping to strike 8 with corps in the same direction, but this blow could not be made earlier on July 3 (20). Thus, the South-Western Front was again temporarily alone, and the Austro-Germans had already assembled a powerful fist from Kovel and 17 (30) in June attacked the center of the 8 Army. The German command planned to take revenge for the failure on the Dniester.

The front of the 8 Army of Kaledin described a wide arc along three rivers — Stokhod, Bezymyannoy and Lipa. Linsingen planned to cut it off with a strike from the Berngardi group at Stokhod from north to south and the von der Marwitz group on Bezymyannaya from south-west to northeast, to the 8 and 11 armies. Between these two encompassing groups was the 4-I Austro-Hungarian Army, reinforced by the 10-German Corps, which was to break through the center of the Russian army with a frontal attack.

However, the 8 troops of the Russian army repulsed new enemy attacks. The offensive of the Bernhardi group at Stokhod was repulsed by the 5-m Siberian and 39-m army corps. June 19 (July 2) Bernhardi repeated the attack, taking advantage of the change of the 5 Siberian Corps, which suffered heavy losses in the June battles, on the 1 Army Corps. The enemy broke through our positions, but the 24 Infantry Division's counterattacks at Linevka regained their position. The 4 th Austro-Hungarian army, reinforced by German troops, attacked our center - the 33 and 40 corps. Our 4 divisions attacked enemy 9. A particularly bloody battle was fought against Zaturtsev, where the 10 of the German corps attacked our 40. Here, the German Steel 20 Infantry Division was confronted by our Iron 4 Infantry Division of General Denikin. In a fierce battle, the Germans were crushed. The battle was extremely fierce. From 17 to June 21 (June 30 - July 4), the Germans launched a fierce 44 attack. Germans fought hard, in their shelves there were 300-400 bayonets. After testing the strength of our Iron Division of Denikin on the first day, the German soldiers of the Steel Division posted a poster: “Your iron is not worse than our German steel, but we will break it!” Ours answered: “Well, try, German sausage!”

On the left flank of the 8 Army, the fierce resistance of the 8 Corps of General Dragomirov calmed the impulse of the Shurmay and Falkengain corps. But the right-flank 45 Corps of the 11 Army could not repel the offensive of the main forces of Marvitz. The front of our 126 division was broken and the road to Lutsk, to the rear of the 8 army, was opened. The FNKENX German 22 Corps practically broke through the positions of the 8 Corps (15 Division). However, the situation was straightened by a fearless counterattack of the 2 th modlin battalion, who bravely went to the 5 enemy battalions that had already surrounded the 15 division. The battalion of Lieutenant Colonel Russov (the death of the brave) overturned and drove the stunned German brigade.

To close the breach of the Southwestern Front Chief of Staff, Klembovsky threw in two regiments of the 5 Army Corps that fit the 12 and Combined Cavalry Divisions, 7 and 10 artillery brigades. With a swift and unexpected blow for the enemy, these troops crushed the broken Germans of Marvits. In the five-day brutal battles, the attacking enemy divisions were completely drained of blood and, by 21 June (4 July), were thrown back to their original position.

Thus, the “Cannes” of the Austro-Germans failed. The Austro-German troops of Pflanzer and Linsingen were defeated in fierce battles, suffered heavy losses and retreated to their original positions. It was a strong blow to the plans of the supreme Austro-German command. From the northern part of the Russian front and from France, new German divisions quickly began to redeploy. The control of the 3 of the Austro-Hungarian army of General Kevesh was transferred from the Italian front, which included all troops of the 7 army between the Dniester and Prut. Pflanzer left only the Carpathian front.

New offensive Brusilov troops

22 June (5 July) 1916 of the year, the day after repelling the attack of Linsingen's troops, General Brusilov launched an offensive with the armies of the right wing - 3 and 8 armies against Kovel. 21 infantry and 10 cavalry divisions Lesch and Kaledin attacked the enemy 26,5 infantry and 7 cavalry divisions.

In the 3 Army Lesha, the right-flank 31 Corps of General Mishchenko somewhat pressed the German Gronau group on the Oginsky channel. To the south of Pripyat, the 4 Cavalry Corps of General Gillenschmidt, Bulatov Consolidated Corps, and General Istomin's 46 Corps crushed the Gower group. However, the command of the 3 Army did not use this success to develop the offensive, which allowed the enemy to stay on the Stokhod River.

Kaledin attacked 5 corps - 1-m of Turkestan, 30-m, 1-m and 39-m army, 5-m cavalry corps. The remaining corps of the 8 Army should have reflected the possible attacks of the 4 of the Austro-Hungarian Army and the Marwitz group. 11-I army received the task to keep the defense. Her left-flank 6 and 18 corps were relegated to the 7 army. The most successful in the army of Kaledin were the right-flank corps: the 1 of Turkestan, General Scheidemann and the 30 of Corps of Zayonchkovsky. The right flank of the army defeated the group Fata and threw the 2 th Austro-Hungarian corps into the Stockpile. 25 June (8 July) Linsingen took his broken troops to Stokhod. 26 June (9 July), our troops with a fight forced this river. Our troops once again showed heroism. So, the 7 and 8 Turkestan rifle regiments ford under the heavy fire of the enemy forced the swampy arms of Stokhod.

According to Ludendorff, this was “one of the most serious crises on the Eastern Front. Hopes that the Austro-Hungarian troops would keep the unfortified line of Stokhod were few. The days were very worrisome. We gave everything we could and knew that if the enemy attacks us, then we have nowhere to wait for help. ” In the battle on the Stokhod River from 22 to 26 June, the 3 and 8 army only captured more than 22 thousand people by prisoners, their trophies were 55 guns, 16 mortars and 93 machine guns. The total damage of the enemy exceeded 40 thousand people. Particularly affected was Fata’s corps, which lost more than half of 34 thousand people.

However, the victory at Stokhod, as it was before, was not developed and used for a decisive break at the front. Brusilov did not have free forces and reserves, which reinforce the offensive impulse of the 3 and 8 armies. Moreover, part of the forces of the 8 Army and the troops of the 11 Army were forced to hold defenses, since the situation on their front lines was tense. This did not make it possible to consolidate success at Stokhod.

The Austro-German command strained forces on the defense of Kovel, transferred new troops. Fata and Berngardi groups were reinforced by German troops. Already on June 27-28 (July 10-11), the troops of Linsingen attacked again and forced the Turkestani and 30 Corps fighters to withdraw to the right bank of Stokhod. 29-30 June (12-13 July), our troops counterattacked, trying to force the river again, but without success. It required strong artillery preparation and fresh forces to break through the enemy defenses. However, the enemy was not successful in further attacks.

Thus, bleeding profusely, our regiments broke through enemy positions, smashed the enemy and repelled his powerful counterattacks. In fact, these were the last victories of the imperial Russian army, its forces were running out. However, the brilliant opportunities that Russian soldiers and commanders created were not used by the high command. The front commander did not have additional troops and reserves to develop success. The reinforcements provided by the Stavka came in parts and were very late due to the lack of communication lines. They were used to reinforce existing troops, exhausted by previous battles. There were no fresh serious forces that could be thrown into the gaps in the enemy defenses. The Russian Stavka, which had piled up enormous forces and means on the Northern and Western fronts, which were idle at that time, did not dare to immediately direct considerable forces to the southern strategic direction in order to crush the Austro-Hungarian army with powerful blows. Only by the directive 26 of June (9 of July), seeing that Evert did not decide on a decisive offensive, the Headquarters transferred the main blow to the South-Western Front. Late in a whole month!

Under the circumstances, Brusilov could resume the offensive no earlier than the end of July 1916. Opponent gave three more weeks. During this time, the Austro-German command transferred new forces, regrouped and restored the broken corps, pulled up reserves. The valley of Stokhod and the Kovel district, which are so difficult to pass by nature, were turned by the Germans into an impregnable fortress. As a result, the decision of the Supreme Russian command to transfer the gravity of the main strike to the southern strategic direction was late. The effect of surprise was lost, the breakthrough of the enemy front was liquidated, the enemy was able to prepare for new battles.
Author:
Articles from this series:
1916 Campaign

The strategy of the Entente and the Central Powers on 1916 year
"The French Armed Forces will bleed to death in any case - will she keep Verdun or not"
France and England were going to "fight to the last Russian soldier"
Russian soldiers in France
Brilliant victory of the Russian Caucasian army under Erzerum
Keprikeyskoe battle
Assault Erzerum
Defeat of the Turkish Army 3
Trapezund operation
Verdun meat grinder
Verdensky meat grinder. H. 2
Strategic defeat of the German army near Verdun
Naroch operation
Portugal in the First World War
The Fifth Battle of the Isonzo
Trentino operation
As the Russian Caucasian army defeated the Turkish army 3 th in Erzincan battle
Brusilovsky breakthrough
Lutsk breakthrough
Missed opportunities Brusilovsky breakthrough
6 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, daily additional materials that do not get on the site: https://t.me/topwar_ru

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. parusnik
    parusnik 21 June 2016 07: 33
    +4
    All the same, A. Kersnovsky was probably right in asserting that in 1916 Austria-Hungary could be pulled out of the war ... But the Northern and Western Front were pretty bad ...
    1. xan
      xan 21 June 2016 13: 30
      +7
      There, one and a half million Russians sat in the trenches against 600 thousand Germans. And they were commanded by the luminaries Kuropatkin and Evert. It is logical to leave half against the Germans, and throw the rest against the Austrians as less resistant warriors. But this did not occur to Stavka, and most likely the luminaries did not want to work for the glory of Brusilov and frightened the tsar with a German offensive. In any case, I read about Evert's similar words in relation to Brusilov. There is no Stalin on them, the soldiers have played with it, creatures.
      1. Riv
        Riv 21 June 2016 15: 17
        0
        Brusilov wrote about this later in his memoirs. Very subjective, by the way. After all, Brusilov also lies part of the blame for the defeat of the Russian army and he painstakingly scoops it up from himself in his memoirs. Yes, by the way:

        http://militera.lib.ru/memo/russian/brusilov/index.html

        Those interested can read.
    2. Verdun
      Verdun 21 June 2016 21: 16
      0
      Quote: parusnik
      All the same, A. Kersnovsky was probably right in asserting that in 1916 Austria-Hungary could be pulled out of the war ... But the Northern and Western Front were pretty bad ...

      The problem is that very often well-trained military units rushed into battle and suffered serious losses in order to achieve victories dubious in strategic results. However, not only the Russian generals acted so wastefully ...
  2. romex1
    romex1 21 June 2016 07: 57
    +4
    good excursion. still will be? really looking forward
  3. savas78
    savas78 22 June 2016 00: 58
    0
    I found such an extract from the order on my great-grandfather:
    On November 15, 1916, HIS IMPERIAL HIGHNESS The Great Knyazem GEORGIEM MIKHAILOVICH on behalf of HIS IMPERIAL MAJESTY were awarded the following Cossacks by the George Crosses:

    How many hundreds Title, first name and surname What degree Cross numbers When did the feat

    1st Ural of His Majesty the hundred Life Guards of the Consolidated Cossack Regiment
    Prik. Matvey CHEBOTAREV 3 92647

    For the point that October 13 this year on the river Stohod, having called himself a hunter, he penetrated the security guard of the avenue and, despite a strong rifle fire, delivered valuable information.
    / Art. 67 p. 17 /

    By the same order, Matvey Chebotarev was promoted to junior officer
  4. The comment was deleted.

Коломейское сражение. Битва на реке Стоход

Коломейское сражение. Битва на реке Стоход

К 12 (25) июня 1916 года на Юго-Западном фронте наступило некоторое затишье. Лишь на некоторых участках велись боевые действия локального характера. Командование Юго-Западного фронта стало готовить новое наступление. В телеграмме начальника штаба фронта В. Н. Клембовского командующим армиями от 12 (25) июня говорилось: «…Настоящий перерыв в наступлении надлежит использовать для пополнения частей людьми, накопления огнестрельных припасов, перегруппировок и для подготовки атаки. Эту подготовку надлежит вести на тех же основаниях, как подготавливалось наступление 22 мая, …Хотя противник расстроен и позиции его слабее уже взятых нами, однако тщательность и продуманность подготовки атаки настоятельно необходимы для успеха и уменьшения жертв с нашей стороны».

В предстоящем наступлении должны были участвовать все четыре армии Юго-Западного фронта. Кроме того, с 11 (24) июня фронту Брусилова передавалась 3-я армия (управление армией и один корпус) и 78-я пехотная дивизия. Чтобы восстановить 3-ю армию в неё влили 46-й армейский и 4-й кавалерийский корпуса. 3-я армия должна была взять район Галузия, Городок и одновременно нанести вспомогательный удар на Озаричи для содействия наступления войск Западного фронта на барановичском направлении. 8-я армия наносила два удара: главный — на Ковель, вспомогательный — на Владимир-Волынский. 11-я армия наступала на Броды и Порицк. 7-я армия должна была выйти на рубеж Брезжаны, Подгайцы, Монастержиска, а 9-й армии — на рубеж Галич, Станислав. Во фронтовом резерве остались 5-й корпус и 78-я дивизия.

По замыслу командования Юго-Западным фронтом, как и прежде, свои основные усилия сосредоточивал на ковельском направлении. 8-я армия Каледина снова наносила главный удар. Поэтому поступившие подкрепления пошли на усиление 8-й армии. Кроме ранее прибывших 5-го Сибирского и 23-го корпусов, в неё вошли 1-й Туркестанский и 1-й армейский корпуса. Таким образом, исключая 4 корпуса, переданные в 3-ю армию (46-й и 4-й) и 11-ю армию (8-й и 32-й), армия Каледина имела 8 корпусов — 5-й Сибирский, 1-й Туркестанский, 30-й, 1-й, 39-й, 23-й, 40-й армейские и 5-й кавалерийский корпуса, и оставалась самой мощной в составе фронта. Каледин решил нанести главный удар силами 1-го Туркестанского корпуса при поддержке конного корпуса, вспомогательную атаку совершал 30-й корпус. В резерве 8-й армии находился 5-й Сибирский корпус, истощенный предыдущими боями. Остальные корпуса должны были сковывать противника на своих участках, и быть готовыми перейти в решительное наступление. Подготовка к новому наступлению проходила в остановке атак противника.


Действия противника

В середине июня австро-германские силы произвели широкую перегруппировку своих сил к югу от Припяти. С 9 (22) июня австро-германские войска ещё продолжали атаки на ковельском и владимир-волынском направлениях. Но эти атаки были разрозненны и не имели успеха. На Буковине австрийцы спешно отходили к Карпатам. На остальных участках австро-германцы оборонялись.

Однако к середине июня австро-германские войска произвели перегруппировку и начали контрнаступление. Организовать удар по нашей 8-й армии должен был главнокомандующий на Востоке Гинденбург, которому подчинили армейскую группу Линзингена: войска Гауэра, Фата, Бернгарди, 4-я австро-венгерскую армию, и переброшенную на правое крыло группу фон Марвица. Всего в составе этой группы было 23,5 пехотных (включая 8 германских) и 7 кавалерийских дивизий. Бём-Ермолли с 1-й и 2-й австро-венгерскими армиями должен был удерживать позиции против русской 11-й армии.

Южная германская и 7-я австро-венгерская армии образовали группу войск под началом наследника австрийского престола эрцгерцога Карла которому были приставлен опытный советник — генерал фон Зеект. Сюда перебросили из Франции 3 германские дивизии. Две немецкие дивизии направили в 7-ю армию, где они составили на левом фланге группу генерала Кевеля. После прибытия группы Кревеля 7-я австро-венгерская армия должна была перейти в наступление.

Таким образом, войска Линзингена атаковали правое крыло фронта Брусилова — 8-ю армию, а эрцгерцог должен был ударить по левому крылу — 9-й армии. Выходил двухсторонний охват, любимые германцами «Канны». Линзинген должен был начать наступление 17 (30) июня, а эрцгерцог Карл атаковать с подходом германских дивизий — 20 июня.

Коломейское сражение

Однако командующий 9-й русской армией Платон Лечицкий решил иначе. 15 (28) июня его армия перешла в стремительное наступление. Лечицкий прикрылся от южной группы Пфланцера на Карпатах Сводным и 3-м кавалерийским корпусами и решил ударить по северной группе противника. Между Днестром и Прутом были развернуты 33-й, 41-й и 12-й армейские корпуса, которые наносили удар на Коломею. 11-й корпус должен был содействовать операции в горах за Прутом.

Стремительным натиском наши войска 17 июня ворвались в Коломею (Коломыя). Генерал Лечицкий планировал остановить полки на линии Коломеи и дождаться подкреплений, обещанных командованием. Однако, узнав, что австрийцы ждут идущих на помощь германцев, этот решительный полководец решил не дожидаться ни германцев, ни подкреплений. 18 июня (1 июля) нанес сильный удар центром армии — 12-м корпусом, в долине Прута. Центр 7-й австро-венгерской армии был снова прорван.

В это время подоспели немецкие дивизии и 19 июня (2 июля) германцы и австрийцы атаковали наш правый фланг — 33-й армейский корпус. Однако этот контрудар не остановил Лечицкого. Оттянув 33-й и 41-й корпус несколько назад, он атаковал своим центром и левым флангом, 12-м и 11-м корпусами на Пруте и за Прутом. Получив новый удар в слабом месте, Пфланцер приостановил движение группы Кревеля. Войска Лечицкого, развивая успех, заняли 24 июня (7 июля) Делятынь. Таким образом, армия Лечицкого одержала победу в девятидневном сражении при Коломеи. Австрийские войска потеряли только пленными более 31 тыс. человек.

Коломейское сражение. Битва на реке Стоход

Командующий 9-й армией Платон Алексеевич Лечицкий

Наступление войск Линзингена

Тем временем русский Западный фронт вместо решительного наступления и нанесения главного удара, как ему это полагалось по основному плану летней кампании, все продолжал колебаться, откладывая удар. Всё кончилось тем, что 15 июня Эверт произвел атаку в барановичском направлении только 1-м гренадерским корпусом. Атака была проведена на широком фронте и не привела к победе. После этого командующий Западным фронтом начал делать новую перегруппировку, рассчитывая в том же направлении нанести удар 8 корпусами, но удар этот не мог быть произведен ранее 3 (20) июля. Таким образом, Юго-западный фронт опять временно оставался один, а австро-германцы собрали уже мощный кулак у Ковеля и 17 (30) июня атаковали центр 8-й армии. Германское командование планировало взять реванш за неудачу на Днестре.

Фронт 8-й армии Каледина описывал широкую дугу по трем рекам — Стоходу, Безымянной и Липе. Линзинген планировал срезать её ударами группы Бернгарди на Стоходе с севера на юг и группы фон дер Марвица на Безымянной с юго-запада на северо-восток, в разрез 8-й и 11-й армиями. Между этими двумя охватывающими группами располагалась 4-я австро-венгерская армия, усиленная 10-м германским корпусом, который должен был прорвать центр русской армии лобовым ударом.

Однако войска 8-й русской армии отразили новые атаки противника. Наступление группы Бернгарди на Стоходе было отбито 5-м Сибирским и 39-м армейским корпусами. 19 июня (2 июля) Бернгарди повторил атаку, воспользовавшись сменой 5-го Сибирского корпуса, который понес сильные потери в июньских боях, на 1-й армейский корпус. Противник прорвал наши позиции, но контратаки 24-й пехотной дивизии у Линевки восстановили положение. 4-я австро-венгерская армия, усиленная германскими войсками, атаковала наш центр — 33-й и 40-й корпуса. Наши 4 дивизии атаковало 9 неприятельских. Особенно кровавая битва разыгралась у Затурцев, где 10-й германский корпус атаковал наш 40-й. Здесь германская Стальная 20-я пехотная дивизия столкнулась с нашей Железной 4-й стрелковой дивизией генерала Деникина. В жестоком бою германцы были сокрушены. Сражение было крайне ожесточенным. С 17 по 21 июня (30 июня — 4 июля) германцы произвели 44 яростных атаки. Германцы бились упорно, в их полках осталось по 300-400 штыков. Изведав в первый день силу нашей Железной дивизии Деникина, германские солдаты Стальной дивизии вывесили плакат: «Ваше железное железо не хуже нашей германской стали, но мы его разобьем!» Наши ответили: «А ну, попробуй, немецкая колбаса!»

На левом фланге 8-й армии яростное сопротивление 8-го корпуса генерала Драгомирова утихомирило порыв корпусов Шурмая и Фалькенгайна. Но правофланговый 45-й корпус 11-й армии не смог отразить наступление главных сил Марвица. Фронт нашей 126-й дивизии был прорван и дорога на Луцк, в тыл 8-й армии, была открыта. 22-й германский корпус Фалькенгайна практически прорвал позиции 8-го корпуса (15-й дивизии). Однако положение выправила бесстрашная контратака 2-го батальона модлинцев, который смело пошёл на 5 вражеских батальонов, которые уже окружали 15-ю дивизию. Батальон подполковника Русова (пал смертью храбрых) опрокинул и погнал ошеломленную германскую бригаду.

Чтобы закрыть брешь начштаба Юго-Западного фронта Клембовский бросил туда два полка подходившего 5-го армейского корпуса, которые посадили на автомобили, 12-ю и Сводную кавалерийские дивизии, 7-ю и 10-ю артиллерийские бригады. Стремительным и неожиданным для врага ударом эти войска смяли прорвавшихся германцев Марвица. В пятидневных жестоких боях атакующие вражеские дивизии были полностью обескровлены и к 21 июня (4 июля) отброшены в исходное положение.

Таким образом, «Канны» у австро-германцев не получились. Австро-германские войска Пфланцера и Линзингена в жестоких боях были разбиты, понесли большие потери и отступили на исходные позиции. Это был сильный удар по планам верховного австро-германского командования. С северной части Русского фронта и из Франции спешно начали перебрасывать новые германские дивизии. С Итальянского фронта было переведено управление 3-й австро-венгерской армии генерала Кевеша, в которую были включены все войска 7-й армии между Днестром и Прутом. Пфланцеру оставили только Карпатский фронт.

Новое наступление войск Брусилова

22 июня (5 июля) 1916 года, на следующий день после отражения удара войск Линзингена, генерал Брусилов начал наступление армиями правого крыла — 3-й, 8-й армиями на Ковель. 21 пехотная и 10 кавалерийских дивизий Леша и Каледина нанесли удар по 26,5 пехотным и 7 кавалерийским дивизиям противника.

В 3-й армии Леша правофланговый 31-й корпус генерала Мищенко несколько потеснил германскую группу Гронау на Огинском канале. Южнее Припяти 4-й кавалерийский корпус генерала Гилленшмидта, Сводный корпус Булатова и 46-й корпус генерала Истомина сокрушили группу Гауэра. Однако командование 3-й армии не использовало этот успех для развития наступления, что позволило противнику удержаться на реке Стоход.

Каледин наступал 5 корпусами — 1-м Туркестанским, 30-м, 1-м и 39-м армейскими, 5-м кавалерийским корпусами. Остальные корпуса 8-й армии должны были отразить возможные атаки 4-й австро-венгерской армии и группы Марвица. 11-я армия получала задачу держать оборону. Её левофланговые 6-й и 18-й корпуса отошли к 7-й армии. Наибольший успех в армии Каледина имели правофланговые корпуса: 1-й Туркестанский генерала Шейдемана и 30-й корпус Зайончковского. Правый фланг армии разгромил группу Фата и сбросил в Стоход 2-й австро-венгерский корпус. 25 июня (8 июля) Линзинген отвёл свои разбитые войска за Стоход. 26 июня (9 июля) наши войска с боем форсировали эту реку. Наши войска в очередной раз проявили героизм. Так, 7-й и 8-й Туркестанский стрелковые полки вброд под шквальным огнем противника форсировали болотистые рукава Стохода.

По словам Людендорфа, это был «один из самых серьёзных кризисов на Восточном фронте. Надежды на то, что австро-венгерские войска удержат неукрепленную линию Стохода, было мало. Протекали очень тревожные дни. Мы отдавали всё, что могли, и знали, что если противник нас атакует, то нам неоткуда ждать помощи». В сражении на реке Стоходе с 22 по 26 июня войска 3-й и 8-й армией только пленными взяли более 22 тыс. человек, их трофеями стали 55 орудий, 16 минометов и 93 пулемета. Общий урон противника превысил 40 тыс. человек. Особенно пострадал корпус Фата, который лишился более половины из 34 тыс. человек.

Однако победа на Стоходе, как уже было и ранее, не была развита и использована для решительного перелома на фронте. Брусилов не имел свободных сил и резервов, что подкрепить наступательный порыв 3-й и 8-й армий. Более того, часть сил 8-й армии и войска 11-й армии вынуждены были держать оборону, так как на их участке фронта положение было напряженным. Это не позволило закрепить успех на Стоходе.

Австро-германское командование напрягло силы по обороне Ковеля, перебросило новые войска. Группы Фата и Бернгарди были укреплены германскими войсками. Уже 27-28 июня (10-11 июля) войска Линзингена снова атаковали и заставили туркестанцев и бойцов 30-го корпуса отойти на правый берег Стохода. 29-30 июня (12-13 июля) наши войска контратаковали, пытаясь вторично форсировать реку, но безуспешно. Требовалась сильная артиллерийская подготовка и свежие силы, чтобы прорвать вражескую оборону. Однако и противник не имел успеха в дальнейших атаках.

Таким образом, истекая кровью, наши полки пробивали вражеские позиции, громили противника и отражали его мощные контрудары. Фактически это были последние победы императорской русской армии, её силы были на исходе. Однако блестящие возможности, которые создали русские солдаты и командиры, не были использованы верховным командованием. У командующего фронтом не было дополнительных войск и резервов для развития успеха. Подкрепления, выделяемые Ставкой, подходили частями и большим опозданием из-за нехватки путей сообщения. Их использовали, чтобы покрепить имеющиеся войска, истощенные предшествующими боями. Свежих серьёзных сил, которые можно было бы бросить в образовавшиеся бреши во вражеской обороне, не было. Русская Ставка, нагромоздившая огромные силы и средства на Северном и Западном фронтах, которые в это время простаивали, никак не решалась сразу направить значительные силы на южное стратегическое направление, чтобы мощными ударами сокрушить австро-венгерскую армию. Только директивой 26 июня (9 июля), видя, что Эверт не решается на решительное наступление, Ставка передала Юго-Западному фронту главный удар. Опоздание получилось в целый месяц!

При сложившейся обстановке Брусилов мог возобновить наступление не раньше конца июля 1916 года. Противнику подарили ещё три недели. За это время австро-германское командование перебросило новые силы, перегруппировало и восстановило разбитые корпуса, подтянуло резервы. Долина Стохода и Ковельский район и так трудно проходимые от природы, были превращены германцами в неприступную крепость. В результате решение верховного русского командования о переносе тяжести основного удара на южное стратегическое направление, опоздало. Эффект неожиданности был утрачен, прорыв вражеского фронта ликвидирован, противник получил возможность подготовиться к новым сражениям.

Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 6
  1. parusnik 21 июня 2016 07:33
    Всё таки А.Керсновский наверное прав,утверждая ,что в 1916 могли вывести Австро-Венгрию из войны...Но Северный и Западный фронт изрядно подвели...
    1. xan 21 июня 2016 13:30
      Там полтора миллиона русских сидело в окопах против 600 тыс немцев. И командовали ими светилы Куропаткин и Эверт. Логично оставить против немцев половину, а остальных бросить против австрийцев как менее стойких вояк. Но Ставке это не пришло в голову, а скорее всего светилы не хотели работать на славу Брусилова и пугали царя немецким наступлением. Во всяком случае я читал про подобные слова Эверта в отношении Брусилова. Сталина на них нет, в солдатики заигрались, твари.
      xan
      1. Riv 21 июня 2016 15:17
        Брусилов об этом и писал потом в воспоминаниях. Весьма субъективно, кстати. На Брусилове ведь тоже лежит часть вины за поражения русской армии и он старательно от себя ее в мемуарах отгребает. Да вот, кстати:

        http://militera.lib.ru/memo/russian/brusilov/index.html

        интересующиеся сами могут почитать.
        Riv
    2. Верден 21 июня 2016 21:16
      Цитата: parusnik
      Всё таки А.Керсновский наверное прав,утверждая ,что в 1916 могли вывести Австро-Венгрию из войны...Но Северный и Западный фронт изрядно подвели...

      Проблема в том, что очень часто хорошо подготовленные воинские части бросались в бой и несли серьёзные потери ради достижения сомнительных по стратегическим результатам побед. Впрочем, столь расточительно действовал не только Русский генералитет...
  2. romex1 21 июня 2016 07:57
    неплохой экскурс. еще будет? очень жду
  3. savas78 22 июня 2016 00:58
    Нашёл такую выписку из приказа по своему прадеду:
    15-го ноября 1916 года ЕГО ИМПЕРАТОРСКИМЪ ВЫСОЧЕСТВОМЪ Великимъ Княземъ ГЕОРГIЕМЪ МИХАЙЛОВИЧЕМЪ отъ имени ЕГО ИМПЕРАТОРСКАГО ВЕЛИЧЕСТВА награждены Георгiевскими крестами нижеследующiе казаки:

    Какой сотни Званiе, имя и фамилия Какой степени Номера крестовъ Когда совершилъ подвигъ

    1-я Уральская Его Величества сотня лейб-гвардии Сводно-Казачьего полка
    Прик. Матвей ЧЕБОТАРЕВЪ 3 92647

    За точ, что 13 октября с.г. на р.Стоходъ, вызвавшись охотникомъ, проник черезъ сторожевое охраненiе пр-ка и, несмотря на сильный ружейный огонь доставилъ ценные сведенiя.
    /ст.67 п.17/

    Этим же приказом Матвей Чеботарев произведен в младшие урядники
Информация
Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня