Military Review

SOUTH AFRICA. White outlaws, or who awaits Russian officers in Africa (part 4)

15
The participation of Russians, or rather volunteers of the Russian Empire, in the Anglo-Boer War on the side of the Boer troops, of course, is worthy of special mention. Already, the road to distant South Africa was itself dangerous and extremely costly. Volunteers traveled to Transvaal and the Orange State in three ways: via Hamburg, Marseille and Suez in Lourenço-Marques (now Maputo in Mozambique), immediately from Marseilles on the ships of the Imperial shipping and the last route - again from Hamburg on cargo ships with Amsterdam, Le Havre, Bordeaux, etc. Thus, the cheapest way was costing 125 rubles. For example - for this money in Russia it was possible to acquire a good horse, and there will still be money for the cow.


The high cost of travel, of course, affected the number of volunteers. Many recent students, young officers and others enthusiastic about the idea of ​​building a new free republic simply could not afford to pay the fare. Especially since, unlike the Europeans, the Russians entered the Boer troops without any thought of profit, this is not counting their hard-earned money, which they lay out for the opportunity to lay down their heads in the other hemisphere. They joined the ranks of volunteers and women - Sofia Izedinova, who served as a sister of mercy in the Russian-Dutch sanitary squad, and Olga von Baumgarten, also a nurse, became especially famous for her memoirs.

SOUTH AFRICA. White outlaws, or who awaits Russian officers in Africa (part 4)


Vasily Romeiko-Gurko

According to the memoirs of Vasily Romeiko-Gurko, who was not actually a volunteer, but was a military agent of Russia, volunteers in general could be divided into two categories. The first was people inspired by the struggle of the Boers against the oppression of the swollen British Empire, they were idealists, but they could well expect to earn the aura of a hero, a military officer, and even advance in service. But the second category of their "exploits" was sometimes hated by the Boers themselves no less than the British. It included the totally uneducated money seekers, who were recruited for money by various European committees of assistance to the Boers. These guys were often not going to work out money on the battlefield at all, but they simply wanted to make a voyage to Africa for darma, and then stay in the gold mines. Good or bad, but among our compatriots there were no such cunning.

It is worth noting that one of the motives for which domestic fighters pulled into distant South Africa was the desire to recall the British Crimean War. How warmly they treated the pompous red uniforms after those events - to remind once again does not make sense.



Also very interesting are the peculiar travel notes of our volunteers who have traveled almost half of Europe on their way to South Africa. Thus, one of the outstanding fighters of the Boer Army, Eugene Augustus, wrote about his presence in the "capital" of present-day Europe Brussels, which was very unflattering and even outraged. First, Eugene did not expect such a number of taverns on every street. Secondly, he was struck by how the good-looking public on Sunday morning turned into a noisy, shrill crowd of drunks in the evening. And certainly the young second lieutenant didn’t expect to see decently dressed gentlemen slowly crawling along a lamppost onto the pavement in every “hundred steps” in “civilized” Europe.

Despite universal moral support of the Boer struggle, because In the Old World, Britain managed to get almost all of them with its imperial fanapps, our volunteers quickly realized that in reality these “fans” could hardly be counted on. Moreover, the overwhelming majority of Russian fighters are confronted with such bureaucracy that local bureaucrats seemed like angels of heaven. For example, in Lourenço-Marques, who then belonged to Portugal, the sons of the portland’s homeland demanded a profit for each piece of paper, each signature, to eventually cross the border with Transvaal. The Dutch and French consuls, who in theory were considered friendly, showed no less “concern”. This was partly due to the fact that the whole of South Africa was flooded with British spies, and partly because Europeans did not want to insert a pair of clips into Queen Victoria’s plump butt, nobody, especially small bureaucrats, wanted to risk their own well-being.

It came to the point of absurdity - so, when Lieutenant Colonel Romeiko-Gurko opened his chests, the Portuguese customs officers clutched their hearts, seeing the uniform of the Russian officer and his awards. Office rats instantly issued it as a military smuggling and confiscated. After all the troubles, the colonel nevertheless returned the property with an apology. One can only imagine what sticks inserted into the wheels of ordinary volunteers.



Dutch commando under the command of Evgeny Maximov

Considerable help in overcoming all obstacles and problems to Russian volunteers was provided by Russian Jews, who, oddly enough, turned out to be numerous in South Africa. True, they could not understand why it was so far, but, yearning for Russian, it was completely disinterested (no need to smirk) to help future soldiers find shelter, get food and acquaint them with local realities.

In general, the role of Russian and foreign Jews in that war was extremely ambiguous. On the one hand, such desperately brave fighters as Herman Yudelovich fought for the Boers (they will become Feldkornet, they will courage to win the glory of their squad as the Jewish Commando, will die in the battle of the Orange River) and Sasha Snaiman (whom the Boers called Jan Snaiman). On the other hand, many Jews simply dreamed of earning money, trash at the British as spies, my little gold and doing speculation, sorry, business. But this stuff, because Some Jews, who knew little Russian, presented themselves as volunteers from Russia, gaining various preferences for free, from a free horse to small government contracts.

How far at first the Russians and the Boers, who, despite the idle talk about the stupidity of the farmers, were far from being fools and quickly got to the bottom of the “helpers”, can judge for themselves.

In general, there were plenty of rogues in the Boer War. One case is indicative during the night duty - the fireworks - in the thickets near the banks of the Tugela River, described by Eugene Augustus. On the opposite bank was the British camp. Suddenly, a cavalry detachment began to wade across the river. Naturally, a volley hit. That's just instead of the expected English swearing and strict orders on the surface of the river rushed selected Italian foul language. It turned out the detachment of the notorious captain Ricardi after the next robbery, which the Italians themselves called intelligence and did not inform anyone, returned loaded with various officers' good.

But most of all the Boers themselves and Eugene were surprised by the fact that Ricardi pounced on them with curses not because of the seriously wounded fighter they pulled out of the tumultuous Tugela stream. Ricardi shook his pistol and cursed the “Kaffir offspring”, I mean the Boers, because after the volley one of the horses with the British swag was blown away by the river. Against this background, Russian volunteers, willy-nilly, began to enjoy an excellent reputation simply because they were not inclined to theft, banal stupidity and vanity.



South African cities of the war

At the same time, it was precisely this behavior of the substantial part of European volunteers that brought the Boers and Russians closer together. Contempt for the adherents of various colors is reflected in the memoirs of many of our fighters. Almost all of them recalled how, according to the best hotel rooms in Pretoria (in comparison with the trenches, the “grand hotel” everywhere), all sorts of parasites wandered, allegedly gathering volunteer units. Having managed to become a contentment, this hotel plankton lived at the expense of Transvaal, well, and ate at the expense of the republic.

At the same time, the front-line life of our fighters was not only difficult for traveling conditions and contrasting food (either forced “fasting days” on the same water, or roe deer or lamb skewers), but also purely psychological features of that war. For example, the Boers, after watching Anglo-Saxon superiority in the form of the treatment of prisoners, the burning of entire farms and the widespread execution of hostages, did not shy away from the battle to search around the killed enemies in search of what was needed. And all this took place to the accompaniment of the wild heat, when flies and other unpleasant midges comfortably crawling in wounds torn apart by expansive bullets go as a bonus. For our volunteers with their ideals, breaking the knightly customs of fighting (if they existed at all, and not only in their young heads) was hard. It was no less difficult to interpret the Boers already in the camp, why the Russian Tsar would not send his army in any way, because the Russians love the British no more than the Boers themselves.



The unbearable heat was hated by the fighters also because the people, horses and livestock killed by regular English shelling in the blink of an eye began to rot and stink. This torture was ubiquitous and never-ending, since English pedantry was constant only in the daily shelling, which took place regardless of the situation at the front. One of our fighters described the days of bitter standing on positions without strength to move into the attack, without the right to retreat, I quote: “In the end, such apathy found us, the idea somehow sluggishly worked, and we wandered for days at a time, just sleepy, reviving only at night, when it was the turn to occupy the fire watch. ”



Blacks in the British camp - and workers, and scouts, and messengers

Also, the attitude of the Boers to the black population made a heavy impression on Russians - from condescending and friendly to cruel and even paranoid. But if at first it was attributed to the colonial heritage, cultivated by all - from the Portuguese to the British, and the memory of the Zulu wars and raids, then later our volunteers realized that everything was somewhat more complicated. For example, the British actively used the black population as scouts and even messengers, and the big fan of British imperialism, the magnate and dexterous manipulator Cecil Rhodes, set the Bantu peoples both on the Boer troops and on their settlements. So, the blacks themselves were used to prevent the creation of a modern state, however, in the lands of Africa. Well, just like now.

To be continued ...
Author:
Articles from this series:
White outlaws, or who awaits Russian officers in Africa (part 1)
SOUTH AFRICA. White outlaws, or who awaits Russian officers in Africa (part 2)
SOUTH AFRICA. White outlaws, or who awaits Russian officers in Africa (part 3)
15 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Bar1
    Bar1 April 12 2018 07: 14
    +2
    in general, the fact that the Russian volunteers suddenly decided to help, to some Boers against the British is a fact, some strange and obscure. For example, the Angles oppressed the Indians until the middle of the 20th century, but the Russian volunteers were not seen in the ranks of the sepoys rebelled. to help local people free themselves from colonialism. This cannot be an accident, between the Boers and the Russians it was apparently something more general than hatred of England.
    1. antivirus
      antivirus April 12 2018 09: 27
      0
      apparently they wanted to get hold of their piece of Africa.
      or influence strengthened in the "independent" of England
      1. Bar1
        Bar1 April 12 2018 11: 15
        0
        Quote: antivirus
        apparently they wanted to get hold of their piece of Africa.
        or influence strengthened in the "independent" of England


        it’s not Russian, chop off, we are always volunteers, and those who fight for PMC money are always in the west.
        1. antivirus
          antivirus April 12 2018 11: 18
          0
          Nikolai Gumilev traveled to Abyssinia to "travel" (?) And wrote the verse "Turkestan generals"
          and still where noted.
          the spirit of adventure, adventure is not equal to adventure. or equal?

          and money-making = earn ???
          1. voyaka uh
            voyaka uh April 12 2018 11: 32
            +5
            In general, I love Gumilyov’s poetry, and his “African verses” especially.
            "The smell of honey and verbena wind drives east, and they roar, hyenas roar, burying
            nose in the sand.
            My brother, my enemy, do you hear roars, do you smell, do you see smoke?
            Why then do we breathe raw air? "- in ... from childhood I remember.
            Travels benefitted the Gumilyov muse.
            1. antivirus
              antivirus April 12 2018 20: 51
              0
              let's see who wins (?)
              black god fights with fire ... (?)
            2. Pre-cat
              Pre-cat April 14 2018 10: 50
              0
              I read somewhere that after his African voyage Gumilyov received the Order of St. Vladimir with swords.
    2. alatanas
      alatanas April 12 2018 16: 30
      +1
      Efop - Orthodox.
    3. Weyland
      Weyland April 12 2018 21: 36
      0
      Quote: Bar1
      but Russian volunteers were not seen in the ranks of the sepoys rebelled

      "Do you see a gopher?"
      I don’t believe that in the Sipay rebellion our agents were dispensed with, especially since a couple of years after the Crimean War! And volunteers ... Could they come to the sovereign Tranvaal and Orange legally, and how to India through Iran?
  2. sergo1914
    sergo1914 April 12 2018 08: 57
    +4
    Enough of racism. People and blacks must live in peace and harmony.
    1. Bar1
      Bar1 April 12 2018 11: 20
      0
      Quote: sergo1914
      Enough of racism. People and blacks must live in peace and harmony.


      actually blacks and asians rod to europe, did not notice such a problem? Everyone must know their place.
  3. voyaka uh
    voyaka uh April 12 2018 10: 56
    +4
    "it was accompanied by wild heat when flies and other unpleasant midges go as a bonus" ///

    This is incomprehensible - there is never heat on the Transvaal mountain plain. In the summer - 27 maximum.
    The perfect climate. There is a kilometer at sea level. I don’t remember that I sweated there in the summer.
    I do not think that the climate 100 years ago was different.
    On the coast of the Indian Ocean - in Durban, yes, it's hot. But military operations did not go there.
  4. Babalaykin
    Babalaykin April 13 2018 06: 39
    0
    It would be great to know the approximate number of volunteers.
    1. voyaka uh
      voyaka uh April 13 2018 21: 35
      0
      Russian - from 150 to 250 people. Most of all, of course, from the Netherlands and Germany - several thousand.
      1. Babalaykin
        Babalaykin April 14 2018 07: 46
        +1
        Very well, considering that this is the other end of the world

Военное обозрение

ЮАР. Белые вне закона, или Кто ждёт в Африке русских офицеров (часть 4)

15
Участие русских, а точнее добровольцев Российской Империи, в англо-бурской войне на стороне бурских войск, безусловно, достойно отдельного упоминания. Уже дорога в далёкую Южную Африку сама по себе была опасна и чрезвычайно дорогостояща. Добровольцы до Трансвааля и Оранжевого государства добирались тремя путями: через Гамбург, Марсель и Суэц в Лоренсу-Маркеш (ныне Мапуту в Мозамбике), сразу из Марселя на кораблях Имперских морских перевозок и последний путь – опять-таки из Гамбурга на грузовых пароходах с заходом в Амстердам, Гавр, Бордо и т.д. Таким образом, самый дешёвый путь обходился в 125 рублей. Для примера – за эти деньги в России можно было приобрести неплохую лошадь и ещё останутся деньги на бурёнку.


Дороговизна проезда, конечно, сказывалась на количестве добровольцев. Многие недавние студенты, молодые офицеры и прочие восторженные идеей строительства новой свободной республики просто не могли позволить себе оплатить проезд. Тем более что в отличие от европейцев русские вступали в бурские войска без какой-либо мысли о наживе, это не считая своих кровных, которые они выложат за возможность сложить голову в другом полушарии. Вступали в ряды добровольцев и женщины – особенно стала известна благодаря своим мемуарам Софья Изъединова, служившая сестрой милосердия в русско-голландском санитарном отряде, и Ольга фон Баумгартен, также медсестра.

ЮАР. Белые вне закона, или Кто ждёт в Африке русских офицеров (часть 4)


Василий Ромейко-Гурко

По воспоминаниям Василия Ромейко-Гурко, который на самом деле не являлся добровольцем, а был военным агентом России, добровольцев в общей своей массе можно было разделить на две категории. К первой относились люди вдохновлённые борьбой буров с притеснениями распухшей Британской империи, это были идеалисты, но при этом они вполне могли рассчитывать заработать ореол героя, боевого офицера и даже продвинуться по службе. А вот вторая категория своими «подвигами» порой была ненавидима самими бурами не меньше, чем англичане. К ней относились тотально необразованные искатели наживы, которых вербовали за деньги различные европейские комитеты помощи бурам. Эти ребятки часто вообще не собирались отрабатывать деньги на поле боя, а просто за дарма хотели совершить вояж в Африку, а после остаться на золотых приисках. Хорошо это или плохо, но среди наших соотечественников таких хитрованов не нашлось.

Стоит отметить, что одним из мотивов, по которым отечественных бойцов тянуло в далёкую Южную Африку, было и желание припомнить Британии Крымскую войну. Насколько тепло относились к напыщенным красномундирникам после тех событий - лишний раз напоминать не имеет смысла.



Также крайне любопытны своеобразные путевые записки наших добровольцев, объехавших почти половину Европы по пути в Южную Африку. Так, один из выдающихся бойцов бурской армии Евгений Августус писал о своём пребывании в «столице» нынешней Европы Брюсселе очень не лестно и даже возмущённо. Во-первых, Евгений никак не ожидал такого количества кабаков на каждой улице. Во-вторых, он был поражён как благообразная публика воскресного утра к вечеру превратилась в шумную, визгливую толпу пьяниц. И уж точно молодой подпоручик не ожидал в «цивилизованной» Европе через каждые сто шагов лицезреть прилично одетых господ, медленно сползающих по фонарному столбу на мостовую.

Несмотря на всеобщую моральную поддержку бурской борьбы, т.к. Британия успела в Старом Свете порядком достать почти всех своими имперскими фанабериями, наши добровольцы быстро поняли, что на деле на этих «болельщиков» вряд ли можно будет рассчитывать. Тем более, что подавляющее большинство русских бойцов столкнулись с такой бюрократией, что отечественные чинуши казались ангелами небесными. К примеру, в Лоренсу-Маркеш, который тогда принадлежал Португалии, сыны родины портвейна требовали барыш за каждую бумажку, каждую подпись, чтобы в итоге пересечь границу с Трансваалем. Не меньшую «заботу» проявляли и голландские и французские консулы, которые в теории считались дружескими. Отчасти это объяснялось тем, что вся Южная Африка была наводнена британскими шпионами, а отчасти тем, что как бы европейцы не хотели вставить пару скрепок в упитанный зад королевы Виктории, рисковать собственным благополучием никто, тем более мелкие чинуши, не желал.

Доходило до абсурда – так, когда подполковник Ромейко-Гурко открыл свои сундуки, португальские таможенники схватились за сердце, увидев мундир русского офицера и его награды. Канцелярские крысы мигом оформили это как военную контрабанду и конфисковали. После всех перипетий подполковнику всё же вернули имущество с извинениями. Можно лишь представить, какие палки вставляли в колёса обычным добровольцам.



Голландский коммандо под командованием Евгения Максимова

Немалую помощь в преодолении всех препятствий и проблем русским добровольцам оказывали русские евреи, которых, как ни странно, в Южной Африке оказалось множество. Они, правда, не могли взять в толк, зачем тащиться в такую даль, но, тоскуя по русской речи, вполне бескорыстно (не надо ухмыляться) помогали будущим воинам найти кров, добывали им провизию и знакомили с местными реалиями.

Вообще, роль русских и иностранных евреев в той войне была крайне неоднозначна. С одной стороны за буров воевали такие отчаянно храбрые бойцы как Герман Юделович (станет фельдкорнетом, смелостью завоюет славу своего отряда как «Еврейского коммандо», погибнет в бою у Оранжевой реки) и Саша Снайман (которого буры называли Ян Снайман). С другой стороны множество евреев просто мечтали подзаработать, халтуря на британцев в качестве соглядатаев, моя золотишко и занимаясь спекуляцией, пардон, бизнесом. Но это мелочи, т.к. некоторые евреи, которые мало-мальски знали русский, выдавали себя за добровольцев из России, добывая на халяву различные преференции – от халявного коня до небольших государственных контрактов.

Насколько это на первых порах разобщало русских и буров, которые, вопреки кривотолкам о тупости земледельцев, далеко не были дураками и быстро раскусили «помощников», можете судить сами.

В общем, проходимцев в англо-бурской войне хватало. Показателен один случай во время ночного дежурства – брандвахты – в зарослях у берегов реки Тугелы, описанный Евгением Августусом. На противоположном берегу находился британский лагерь. Вдруг реку вброд стал пересекать кавалерийский отряд. Естественно, грянул залп. Вот только вместо ожидаемой английской ругани и строгих приказов по речной глади понеслась отборная итальянская матерщина. Оказалось отряд печально известного капитана Рикарди после очередного разбоя, который сами итальянцы называли разведкой и не ставили никого в известность, возвращались гружёные различным офицерским добром.

Но более всего самих буров и Евгения удивило то, что Рикарди набросился на них с проклятьями не из-за тяжелораненого бойца, которого они вытаскивали из бурного потока Тугелы. Рикарди тряс пистолетом и проклинал «кафрское отродье», то бишь буров, за то, что после залпа одну из лошадей с британским хабаром унесло рекой. На этом фоне русские добровольцы волей неволей стали пользоваться отменной репутацией просто потому, что не были склонны к воровству, банальной тупости и тщеславию.



Южно-африканские города времён войны

При этом вскоре именно подобное поведение основательной части европейских добровольцев сблизило буров и русских. Презрение к прилипалам разных мастей нашло отражение и в мемуарах многих наших бойцов. Почти все они вспоминали, как по самым лучшим гостиничным номерам Претории (в сравнении с окопами везде «гранд-отель») шлялись разного рода паразиты, якобы набирающие добровольческие отряды. Успев стать на довольствие, этот гостиничный планктон жил за счёт Трансвааля, ну, и жрал за счёт республики.

В это же время фронтовая жизнь наших бойцов была тяжела не просто походными условиями и контрастной пищей (то вынужденные «разгрузочные дни» на одной воде, то шашлык из косули или баранины), но и чисто психологическими особенностями той войны. К примеру, буры, насмотревшись англосаксонского превосходства в виде обращения с пленными, сожжения целых ферм и повсеместных казней заложников, не чурались после битвы обшаривать убитых врагов в поисках необходимого. И всё это проходило под аккомпанемент дикой жары, когда бонусом идут мухи и прочая малоприятная мошкара, уютно копошащаяся в разорванных экспансивными пулями ранах. Для наших добровольцев с их идеалами ломка рыцарских обычаев ведения боя (если они вообще существовали, а не только в их молодых головах) была тяжела. Не менее тяжело было растолковать бурам уже в лагере, почему русский царь никак не пришлёт свою армию, ведь русские любят британцев не больше, чем сами буры.



Нестерпимая жара была ненавидима бойцами ещё и потому, что перебитые регулярными английскими обстрелами люди, лошади и домашний скот в мгновенье ока начинал гнить и смердеть. Эта пытка была повсеместной и нескончаемой, так как английская педантичность была константой лишь в ежедневных артиллерийских обстрелах, проходивших вне зависимости от ситуации на фронте. Один из наших бойцов так описывал дни горького стояния на позициях без сил тронуться в атаку, без права отступать, цитирую: «В конце концов на нас находила такая апатия, мысль как-то вяло работала и мы по целым дням бродили, точно сонные, оживая только ночью, когда выпадала очередь занимать брандвахту».



Чернокожие в британском лагере - и рабочие, и лазутчики, и посыльные

Также тяжкое впечатление на русских производило отношение буров к чернокожему населению – от снисходительного и дружеского до жестокого и даже параноидального. Но если сначала это приписывали колониальной наследию, культивируемому всеми – от португальцев до англичан, и памятью о зулусских войнах и набегах, то позже наши добровольцы поняли, что всё несколько сложнее. К примеру, британцы активно использовали чернокожее население в качестве лазутчиков и даже вестовых, а большой поклонник британского империализма магнат и ловкий манипулятор Сесил Родс натравливал народы банту как на бурские отряды, так и на их поселения. Так, самих чернокожих использовали, чтобы не позволить создать сколь бы то ни было современное государство на землях Африки. Ну, прямо как и сейчас.

Продолжение следует…
Автор:
Статьи из этой серии:
Белые вне закона, или Кто ждёт в Африке русских офицеров (часть 1)
ЮАР. Белые вне закона, или Кто ждёт в Африке русских офицеров (часть 2)
ЮАР. Белые вне закона, или Кто ждёт в Африке русских офицеров (часть 3)
15 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Бар1
    Бар1 12 апреля 2018 07:14
    +2
    вообще то что руские добровольцы вдруг решили помогать ,каким то бурам против англичан факт ,какой то странный и малопонятный.Например англы угнетали индусов вплоть до середины 20в ,но руских добровольцев не было замечено в рядах восставших сипаев.Зато руские стремились например в Эфиопию создавать там государства помогать местным освобождаться от колониализма.Это не может быть случайностью,между бурами и рускими видимо было ,что то более общее,чем ненависть к англии.
    1. антивирус
      антивирус 12 апреля 2018 09:27
      0
      видимо , свой кусок Африки хотели заиметь.
      или влияние усилить в "независимых" от Англии
      1. Бар1
        Бар1 12 апреля 2018 11:15
        0
        Цитата: антивирус
        видимо , свой кусок Африки хотели заиметь.
        или влияние усилить в "независимых" от Англии


        это не по руски-оттяпать,у нас всегда добровольцы,а те кто воюет за деньги ЧВК -всегда на западе.
        1. антивирус
          антивирус 12 апреля 2018 11:18
          0
          Николай Гумилев ездил в Абиссинию --"путешествовать" (?) и написал стих "Туркестанские генералы"
          и еще кой где отметился.
          дух авантюризма, приключений не равен авантюризму. или равен?

          а стяжательство = заработать???
          1. voyaka uh
            voyaka uh 12 апреля 2018 11:32
            +5
            Я вообще люблю поэзию Гумилева, а его "африканские стихи" - особенно.
            "Запах меда и вербены ветер гонит на восток, и ревут, ревут гиены, зарывая
            нос в песок.
            Брат мой, враг мой, ревы слышишь, запах чуешь, видишь дым?
            Для чего ж тогда мы дышим этим воздухом сырым? " - во...с детства запомнил.
            Путешествия пошли на пользу музе Гумилева.
            1. антивирус
              антивирус 12 апреля 2018 20:51
              0
              посмотрим кто победит(?)
              с огненным борется черный бог...(?)
            2. Кот недоученый
              Кот недоученый 14 апреля 2018 10:50
              0
              Где-то читал, что после своего африканского вояжа Гумилёв получил орден Св.Владимира с мечами.
    2. alatanas
      alatanas 12 апреля 2018 16:30
      +1
      Эфопы - православные.
    3. Weyland
      Weyland 12 апреля 2018 21:36
      0
      Цитата: Бар1
      но руских добровольцев не было замечено в рядах восставших сипаев

      "Ты суслика видишь?"
      Вот не верю я, что в сипайском мятеже без нашей агентуры обошлось, тем более всего через пару лет после Крымской войны! А добровольцы... В суверенные Транвааль и Оранжевую они могли приехать легально, а в Индию как - через Иран?
  2. sergo1914
    sergo1914 12 апреля 2018 08:57
    +4
    Хватит уже расизма. Люди и негры должны жить в мире и согласии.
    1. Бар1
      Бар1 12 апреля 2018 11:20
      0
      Цитата: sergo1914
      Хватит уже расизма. Люди и негры должны жить в мире и согласии.


      вообще то негры и азиаты прут в европу,не замечали ,такой проблемы? Каждый должен знать своё место.
  3. voyaka uh
    voyaka uh 12 апреля 2018 10:56
    +4
    "это проходило под аккомпанемент дикой жары, когда бонусом идут мухи и прочая малоприятная мошкара"///

    Вот это непонятно - на трансваальской горной равнине жары не бывает никогда. Летом - 27 максимум.
    Идеальный климат. Там километр на уровнем моря. Не помню, чтоб я там потел летом.
    Не думаю, что климат 100 лет назад был иным.
    На побережье Индийского океана - в Дурбане, да, жарко. Но там не шли военные действия.
  4. Бабалайкин
    Бабалайкин 13 апреля 2018 06:39
    0
    Было бы здорово узнать примерное количество добровольцев
    1. voyaka uh
      voyaka uh 13 апреля 2018 21:35
      0
      Русских- от 150 до 250 человек. Больше всего было, понятное дело из Голландии и Германии - несколько тысяч.
      1. Бабалайкин
        Бабалайкин 14 апреля 2018 07:46
        +1
        Весьма прилично, учитывая что это другой конец света