How to defeat Napoleon. The Recalcitrant Danube, Aspern and Essling, 21-22 May 1809

12 failures by Napoleon Bonaparte. The Archduke Karl, who is sometimes called Teshensky, managed to reorganize the Hapsburg Empire’s semi-peretetny army so quickly that it was a real surprise for the emperor of the French. After the victories in the 1805 and 1806-1807 campaigns that Napoleon had gained over the Austrians, Prussians and Russians, he had no doubt that he would quickly put Schönbrunn suddenly kicking into place.

How to defeat Napoleon. The Recalcitrant Danube, Aspern and Essling, 21-22 May 1809

Archduke Karl Habsburg and Emperor Napoleon I Bonaparte - all recognize them as worthy opponents



Errors and miscalculations


Contrary to the established traditions, the analysis of one of the most painful defeats of Napoleon should start right away from his reasons. If only because under Aspern and Essling the main role was played by no means objective factors. The failure of the first year in the company 1809 battle on the left bank of the Danube is primarily Napoleon's fault.

However, it was in the battle of Aspern and Essling that the French emperor was perhaps the most worthy opponent - the Archduke Charles, one of the numerous brothers of the Austrian emperor Franz. He defeated the French more than once, but he was defeated by Napoleon in a five-day series of battles in the vicinity of Regensburg.



Narrating about Aspern, the Bonapartists love to refer to the fact that the Danube suddenly turned into an insurmountable tumultuous stream, as if forgetting how skillfully the Austrians took advantage of this. Napoleon's fans also complain that it was very difficult for the attacking French to navigate unfamiliar terrain, although this is almost inevitable for the attacking side.

Practically never again did a great commander, who invariably did everything to ensure that all his forces were in a fist, did not scatter entire corps and divisions. Having managed to assemble for the start of the company in Bavaria, along with three French corps and guards, another four and a half corps of the allies, Napoleon brought only two corps to the Austrian capital to cross the Danube. Even with the guards and cavalry, this was clearly not enough for a decisive victory.

Of course, there were objective reasons for this. Stretched communications, which in the first place could threaten to dissolve in the mountains of Bohemia, the army of the Archduke Charles. The premature allocation of the strongest 3 corps of Marshal Davout to the northern coast led to serious consequences. Instead of putting pressure on Karl's army, Davout actually released it for the fight with the main forces of Napoleon.



Napoleon, of course, also counted on the approach of Viceroy Eugene’s army from Northern Italy, which was almost twice as strong as the opposing forces of Archduke John. Finally, the emperor obviously let down the inability to force the Danube directly in Vienna. The Austrians blew up all the bridges in the capital and firmly held them under the gun of powerful batteries. Such a ferry could well have cost Napoleon all his magnificent sappers and engineers.

And finally, almost nude rear, completely hostile, unlike 1805 of the year, and also overwhelmed with guerrilla groups and saboteurs. Only three years later, already in Russia, Napoleon had to allocate the same large forces to protect communications, bases and shops.

As a result, more than 40 thousands of Davou went somewhere in Bohemia, and even returning to the south bank of the Danube, remained too far from the main forces. 22 thousands of Bavarians under the leadership of Lefebvre as part of the 7 Corps remained in the vicinity of Salzburg, where they observed Jelacic and Archduke Johann. And he actually had to pursue the troops of the Viceroy Eugene. Finally, two more corps - 9-th Saxon and 8-th Wurttemberg, having about 35 thousands, on the River Traun covered the left flank from General Kolovrat, who had no more than 22 thousands of people.

Crossing


The dispersion of forces among the French is all the more surprising since after five days of fighting in Bavaria, Napoleon managed to take a position between the Austrian army and Vienna. It is impossible not to pay tribute to the commander-in-chief of the Austrians, who then managed to withdraw his army from Bohemia towards Napoleon. Peace, however, was not offered to Napoleon in Vienna. Victory had to be sought on the north bank of the Danube.


The option of crossing the river upstream from Vienna, at Nusdorf, Napoleon and his chief of staff, Berthier, was rejected right away, as there was a very fast current, and strong Austrian batteries also settled on the dominant heights. In addition, the maneuver to Nusdorf threatened to lose control over the capital and the surrounding area. There remained only a rather complicated narrowing of the Danube south of Vienna, on the island of Lobau, where it was planned to deliver the necessary pontoons for the crossing.

Moving at some distance along the north bank of the Danube to remain inconspicuous, the army of the Archduke Charles had reached the heights of Marfeld by May 16, an area north of Lobau. It seems that this was a surprise for the French. Napoleon could hardly believe that under the pressure of Davu's 40-thousand corps, the archduke would decide to join up with Johann's troops coming from Italy. If Johann managed to unite with Linz with the Kolovrat corps, he would generally lead to Vienna to 60 thousands of troops, and quite fresh ones.

And this is in addition to the 100 with the odd thousands right next to the Archduke Charles. With such forces it is no longer terrible to fight against Napoleon himself. However, the Archduke Johann failed to unite with Kolovrat, having stumbled upon the barriers put up by Napoleon, and this suggests that the spread of forces for the French was not at all superfluous. However, the Austrian commander-in-chief was able to use the Kolovrat troops to communicate with Lower Austria and Tyrol, in effect forcing Napoleon to also keep considerable forces there.

Positions on the Bizamburg heights allowed the Archduke Charles to repel the advance of the French, however, having reliable information about the clearly insufficient forces of Napoleon, he decided to attack. If Johann's army arrived in time for him, she had to take a position located practically in the rear of Napoleon, on the line of his communications, and at the highest place.



Napoleon did not wait for reinforcements and hoped to give the Archduke a battle even before the arrival of reinforcements to him. However, we repeat that the forces of the Austrians, the emperor, clearly underestimated. As early as the evening of May 18, the island of Lobau began filling the troops of Marshal Massena’s 4 Corps, covering the construction of the crossing over the northern arm of the Danube, by the very first pontoons. It took two days to build bridges - 19 and 20 in May, and as early as the morning of 21, the French began to move to the left bank.

The division of the Molitor from the corps of Massena was the first to enter Aspern, who immediately left the patrols of the Hungarian hussars, followed by the 10 battalions of the Legrand division. The right flank and the village of Essling occupied the division of Buda from Marshal Lannes's 2 Corps. But in the evening only powerful division of General Cara Saint-Cyr in the 18 battalions and 8 squadrons Cuirassier of General Saint-Germain managed to pull themselves up from Lobau Island. Napoleon was able to smuggle no more than 35 thousands of soldiers to the north coast, who could only be supported by 50 guns.

The bridge, built by the French pontoon of the most durable materials on 68 large boats and 9 huge rafts, was still held, but its carrying capacity was very low. The pontoons were breaking by the current, moreover, the Austrians had already begun to lower firefighters down the Danube - ships and boats with heavy cargo and combustible substances, which, however, could not seriously prevent the crossing.

Beginning of the End


The threat from the north turned out to be much worse. Already at three o'clock in the afternoon, thick columns of Austrians began to descend from the Bisamberg Heights - the Archduke Charles had no less than 75 thousands on hand, who were supported by nearly three hundred guns. Immediately five powerful columns - Generals Hiller, Belgard, Davidovich and Rosenberg, as well as Prince Hohenzollern, supported by the cavalry of the Prince of Liechtenstein fell on the French.

From its exalted position, the Austrian commander managed to notice in time the rash maneuver of Napoleon, who was trying to smuggle an army of many thousands over a single bridge. The Danube in May, when streams from the mountains still descend, is a very wide and fast river, which allowed only a very slow movement of all the armed forces one after another. And this - along the narrow narrow walkways, even the cavalry moved with difficulty along them, and precious hours went to the crossing of the guns.

The bridge was not suitable as a way out. Just two years before, Napoleon had brilliantly used a similar mistake of the Russians in the battle of Friedland, but this time showed amazing self-confidence. The Archduke Charles did not hesitate to take the opportunity to destroy half of the French forces on the north bank, while the rest of Napoleon’s troops, especially the artillery, were still busy crossing. Huge forces, almost 50 of thousands of French, generally hung on the south bank of the Danube.

From the Austrian commander immediately adjutants rushed to the generals Kolovrat, Nordman and others, who commanded the troops located upstream of the Danube. They were ordered to prepare new firefighters for the destruction of the bridges imposed by the French. All the morning the Archduke Karl carefully covered his main forces, ordering cavalry and outposts to resist only for the view. He was not going to smash the French avant-gardes at all or even to beat in an empty place.



The key targets for the Austrian attack were Aspern and Essling, located on the flanks of the French. Between these two fortified points were scattered numerous buildings, mostly stone, surrounded by walled gardens and hedges, where powerful Austrian batteries immediately sheltered under the cover of cavalry. In the rear of them, as a reserve, the Hohenzollern infantry was deployed - the 23 battalion, built in advance in the square.

On both flanks, fierce battles immediately flared up, as contemporaries wrote, “the rage of the attack, as well as the persistence of defense, have almost no examples in stories wars. Aspern and Essling changed hands several times. General Molitor in Aspern was supported by the division of Marjula, and by Essling Lunn managed to pull up several battalions from the division of Oudinot.



Numerous Austrian artillery literally mowed the ranks of the French as soon as their columns attempted to carry out attacks, leaving the narrow streets of Aspern and Essling. The infantry suffered so heavy losses that Napoleon ordered Marshal Bessier to launch a general cavalry attack in order to ward off the batteries from the Austrians.

The attack of the Guardian cuirassiers was, as usual, brilliant - unrestrained courage combined with the swiftness and power of these “iron men”. Liechtenstein's cavalry, for the most part - light, they simply knocked over, but the short battle gave the Austrians time to divert artillery batteries.



The blow of the speeding cavalry Bessier fell just on the square of Hohenzollern, who, despite the breakthrough of two or three squares, still managed to fight off and keep a single system. The impulse of the French cavalry soon dried up, although it was not yet necessary to say that it was defeated. Bessieres was forced to retreat, albeit in frustration, and with considerable losses.

By this time, the Austrians had once again captured Aspern. In the center, the battered Hohenzollern squares were rebuilt into columns, and they were supported by the Liechtenstein cavalry, which came to itself again. They began slowly but surely cramping the thin lines of the French riflemen, covering Bessiere’s retreat. Marshal with his guards again and again made attacks, and managed to prevent the breakthrough of the French lines.


That was Marshal Bessier in the battle with the Russians at Borodino.



And this is how the modern artist depicted him in the battle of Aspern.


The night only briefly interrupted the fight; but all signs of a general defeat the French were there. On the left flank, the Austrians finally took Aspern and almost completed a round, threatening to attack the crossing itself. The French center, despite all the deeds of the Bessieres cuirassiers, turned out to be dropped almost to the bridges. And only Marshal Lannes, almost surrounded by the enemy, still clung to Essling, although this could lead to the fact that the Austrians, once again starting to attack, would cut him off from the crossings.

All the hopes of Napoleon were connected with the fact that his fresh troops, and most importantly, the cannons, continued to cross the bridges, leaving for the Markhfeld valley. Despite the terrible losses of 21 in May, by the next morning, Napoleon had over 70 thousands of people and 144 guns on the left bank of the Danube, and had already brought the tireless Marshal Davout to the crossings with more than thousands of 30 corps.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

8 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Как побеждали Наполеона. Непокорный Дунай, Асперн и Эсслинг, 21-22 мая 1809 года

12 неудач Наполеона Бонапарта. Эрцгерцог Карл, которого иногда называют Тёшенским, сумел настолько оперативно реорганизовать полуопереточную армию империи Габсбургов, что это стало настоящим сюрпризом для императора французов. После побед в кампаниях 1805 и 1806-1807 годов, которые Наполеон одержал над австрийцами, пруссаками и русскими, он нисколько не сомневался, что быстро поставит неожиданно взбрыкнувший Шёнбрунн на место.

Как побеждали Наполеона. Непокорный Дунай, Асперн и Эсслинг, 21-22 мая 1809 года

Эрцгерцог Карл Габсбург и император Наполеон I Бонапарт — все признают их достойными противниками



Ошибки и просчёты


Вопреки сложившимся традициям разбор одного из самых болезненных поражений Наполеона всё-таки стоит начать сразу с его причин. Уже хотя бы потому, что под Асперном и Эсслингом главную роль сыграли отнюдь не объективные факторы. В неудаче первого в компании 1809 года сражения на левом берегу Дуная прежде всего виноват сам Наполеон.

Впрочем, именно в битве у Асперна и Эсслинга у французского императора был едва ли не самый достойный противник – эрцгерцог Карл, один из многочисленных братьев австрийского императора Франца. Он не раз побеждал французов, но уже был разбит Наполеоном в пятидневной серии сражений в окрестностях Регенсбурга.



Повествуя об Асперне, бонапартисты очень любят ссылаться на то, что Дунай неожиданно превратился в непреодолимый бурный поток, словно забывая, как умело этим воспользовались австрийцы. Поклонники Наполеона сетуют и на то, что атакующим французам было очень непросто ориентироваться на незнакомой местности, хотя это почти неизбежно для наступающей стороны.

Практически больше никогда великий полководец, который неизменно делал всё для того, чтобы все свои силы в кулак, так не разбрасывал целые корпуса и дивизии. Сумев собрать для начала компании в Баварии вместе с тремя французскими корпусами и гвардией ещё четыре с половиной корпуса союзников, Наполеон привёл к австрийской столице для переправы через Дунай всего два корпуса. Даже вместе с гвардией и кавалерией этого было явно мало для решительной победы.

Безусловно, для этого были свои объективные причины. Растянутые коммуникации, которым в первую очередь могла угрожать сумевшая раствориться в горах Богемии армия эрцгерцога Карла. К тяжёлым последствиям привело преждевременное выделение на северный берег сильнейшего 3-го корпуса маршала Даву – вместо того, чтобы давить на армию Карла, Даву фактически выпустил её для схватки с главными силами Наполеона.



Наполеон, конечно же, рассчитывал и на подход из Северной Италии армии вице-короля Евгения, почти вдвое превосходившей противостоящие силы эрцгерцога Иоанна. Наконец, императора явно подвела невозможность форсировать Дунай непосредственно в Вене. Австрийцы взорвали все мосты в столице и жёстко держали их под прицелом мощных батарей. Такая переправа вполне могла стоить Наполеону всех его великолепных сапёров и инженеров.

И наконец, практически обнажённый тыл, совершенно враждебный, в отличие от 1805 года, и к тому же переполненный партизанскими отрядами и диверсантами. Только три года спустя, уже в России, Наполеону пришлось выделять такие же крупные силы для охраны коммуникаций, баз и магазинов.

В итоге более 40 тысяч Даву ушли куда-то в Богемию, и даже вернувшись на южный берег Дуная, оставались слишком далеко от главных сил. 22 тысячи баварцев под началом Лефевра в составе 7-го корпуса остались в окрестностях Зальцбурга, где наблюдали за Елачичем и эрцгерцогом Иоганном. А его вообще-то должны были преследовать войска вице-короля Евгения. Наконец, ещё два корпуса – 9-й саксонский и 8-й вюртембергский, имея около 35 тысяч, на реке Траун прикрывали левый фланг от генерала Коловрата, у которого было не больше 22 тысяч человек.

Переправа


Разброс сил у французов тем более удивителен, что Наполеону после пятидневных боёв в Баварии, удалось занять позицию между австрийской армией и Веной. Нельзя не отдать должного главнокомандующему австрийцев, который затем сумел вывести свою армию из Богемии навстречу Наполеону. Мира в Вене Наполеону никто, однако, не предложил. Победу надо было искать на северном берегу Дуная.


Вариант с переправой выше по течению от Вены, у Нусдорфа, Наполеон и его начальник штаба Бертье отклонили сразу, так как там было очень быстрое течение, а на господствующих высотах тоже расположились сильные австрийские батареи. К тому же манёвр к Нусдорфу грозил потерей контроля над столицей и окрестностями. Оставалось лишь достаточно сложное сужение Дуная к югу от Вены, у острова Лобау, куда планировалось доставить необходимые для форсирования понтоны.

Двигаясь на некотором удалении вдоль северного берега Дуная, чтобы оставаться незаметной, армия эрцгерцога Карла уже к 16 мая вышла на высоты Мархфельда – местность к северу от Лобау. Похоже, это стало неожиданностью для французов. Наполеон вряд ли мог поверить в то, что под давлением 40-тысячного корпуса Даву эрцгерцог решится идти на соединение с войсками Иоганна, подходившими из Италии. Если бы Иоганн сумел соединиться у Линца с корпусом Коловрата, он вообще привёл бы к Вене до 60 тысяч войск, причём достаточно свежих.

И это вдобавок к 100 с лишним тысячам у самого эрцгерцога Карла. С такими силами уже не страшно сразиться и с самим Наполеоном. Впрочем, соединиться с Коловратом эрцгерцог Иоганн не сумел, наткнувшись на заслоны, выставленные Наполеоном, и это говорит о том, что разброс сил для французов оказался совсем не лишним. Впрочем, австрийский главнокомандующий сумел использовать войска Коловрата для связи с Нижней Австрией и Тиролем, фактически вынудив Наполеона тоже держать там значительные силы.

Позиции на Бизамбергских высотах позволяли эрцгерцогу Карлу отразить наступление французов, однако, имея достоверные сведения о явно недостаточных силах Наполеона, он решил наступать. Если к нему подоспеет армия Иоганна, ей предстояло занять позицию, расположенную практически в тылу Наполеона, на линии его коммуникаций, причём на самом высоком месте.



Наполеон не ждал подкреплений и рассчитывал дать эрцгерцогу сражение ещё до прибытия к нему подкреплений. Впрочем, повторим, что силы австрийцев, император явно недооценивал. Остров Лобау уже с вечера 18 мая по первым же понтонам начали заполнять войска 4-го корпуса маршала Массены, прикрывавшие строительство переправы через северный рукав Дуная. На сооружение мостов ушло два дня – 19 и 20 мая, и уже с утра 21-го числа французы стали выдвигаться на левый берег.

Дивизия Молитора из корпуса Массены первой вошла в Асперн, который тут же покинули разъезды венгерских гусар, за ней следовали 10 батальонов дивизии Леграна. Правый фланг и селение Эсслинг заняла дивизия Буде из 2-го корпуса маршала Ланна. Но к вечеру с острова Лобау успели подтянуться только мощная дивизия генерала Кара Сен-Сира в составе 18 батальонов и 8 эскадронов кирасир генерала Сен-Жермена. Наполеон сумел переправить на северный берег не более 35 тысяч солдат, которых могли поддержать только 50 пушек.

Мост, построенный французскими понтонёрами из самых прочных материалов на 68 больших лодках и 9 огромных плотах, тогда ещё держался, но пропускная способность его была очень низкой. Понтоны разрывало течением, к тому же австрийцы уже начали спускать по Дунаю брандеры – суда и лодки с тяжелым грузом и горючими веществами, которые, впрочем, ещё не могли всерьёз помешать переправе.

Начало конца


Гораздо страшнее оказалась угроза с севера. Уже в три часа после полудня с Бизамбергских высот начали спускаться густые колонны австрийцев – у эрцгерцога Карла было под рукой не меньше 75 тысяч, которых поддерживали огнём почти триста орудий. Сразу пять мощных колонн – генералов Гиллера, Бельгарда, Давидовича и Розенберга, а также принца Гогенцоллерна, подкреплённые кавалерией князя Лихтенштейна обрушились на французов.

Со своей возвышенной позиции австрийский командующий успел вовремя заметить опрометчивый манёвр Наполеона, который пытался переправлять многотысячную армию по единственному мосту. Дунай в мае, когда ещё сходят потоки с гор – это очень широкая и быстрая река, позволявшая лишь очень медленное движение всех родов войск друг за другом. И это — по протяжённым узким мосткам, по ним даже кавалерия передвигалась с трудом, а на переправу пушек уходили драгоценные часы.

В качестве пути отхода мост и вовсе не годился. Всего за два года до этого Наполеон блестяще воспользовался похожей ошибкой русских в сражении у Фридланда, но в этот раз показал удивительную самоуверенность. Эрцгерцог Карл не замедлил воспользоваться случаем уничтожить половину французских сил на северном берегу, пока остальные войска Наполеона, а особенно артиллерия, были ещё заняты переправой. Огромные силы, почти 50 тысяч французов, вообще зависли на южном берегу Дуная.

От австрийского командующего тут же понеслись адъютанты к генералам Коловрату, Нордману и другим, которые командовали войсками, расположенными выше по течению Дуная. Им было приказано готовить новые брандеры для разрушения мостов, наведённых французами. Эрцгерцог Карл всё утро тщательно укрывал свои главные силы, приказав кавалерии и аванпостам оказывать сопротивление только для вида. Он вовсе не собирался громить французские авангарды или вообще бить по пустому месту.



Ключевыми объектами для австрийской атаки стали Асперн и Эсслинг, расположенные на флангах французов. Между этими двумя укрепленными пунктами были разбросаны многочисленные здания, в основном каменные, в окружении огороженных стенами и изгородями садов, где тут же обосновались мощные австрийские батареи под прикрытием кавалерии. В тылу у них, в качестве резерва расположилась пехота Гогенцоллерна – 23 батальона, заблаговременно выстроенные в каре.

На обоих флангах сразу разгорелись ожесточённые бои, как писали современники, «ярость нападения, как и упорство обороны, почти не имеют примеров в истории войн». Асперн и Эсслинг по нескольку раз переходили из рук в руки. Генерала Молитора в Асперне поддержала дивизия Марюла, а к Эсслингу Ланн успел подтянуть несколько батальонов из дивизии Удино.



Многочисленная австрийская артиллерия буквально выкашивала ряды французов, как только их колонны пытались провести атаки, выходя из узких улочек Асперна и Эсслинга. Пехота несла настолько тяжёлые потери, что Наполеон приказал маршалу Бессьеру произвести общую кавалерийскую атаку с целью отбить у австрийцев батареи.

Атака гвардейских кирасиров была, как обычно, блестящей – безудержная смелость сочеталась со стремительностью и мощью этих «железных людей». Конницу Лихтенштейна, в большинстве своём – лёгкую, они попросту опрокинули, но короткая схватка дала австрийцам время увести артиллерийские батареи.



Удар разогнавшейся кавалерии Бессьера пришёлся как раз на каре Гогенцоллерна, которые, несмотря на прорыв двух или трёх каре, всё же сумели отбиться и удержать единый строй. Порыв французской конницы вскоре иссяк, хотя говорить о том, что её разбили, ещё не приходилось. Бессьер был вынужден отступить, хотя и в расстройстве, и с немалыми потерями.

К этому времени австрийцы в очередной раз захватили Асперн. В центре потрёпанные каре Гогенцоллерна перестроились в колонны, и их поддержала конница Лихтенштейна, снова пришедшая в себя. Они стали медленно, но верно теснить тонкие линии французских стрелков, прикрывавших отступление Бессьера. Маршал со своими гвардейцами ещё не раз вновь и вновь предпринимал атаки, и сумел предотвратить прорыв французских линий.


Таким был маршал Бессьер в битве с русскими под Бородино



А таким его в сражении под Асперном изобразил современный художник


Ночь лишь на короткое время прервала борьбу; но все признаки общего поражения французы были налицо. На левом фланге австрийцы окончательно взяли Асперн и практически завершили обход, угрожая атаковать уже саму переправу. Французский центр, несмотря на все подвиги кирасиров Бессьера, оказался отброшен почти к мостам. И только маршал Ланн, почти окружённый врагом, ещё цеплялся за Эсслинг, хотя это могло привести к тому, что австрийцы, снова начав наступать, отрежут его от переправ.

Все надежды Наполеона были связаны с тем, что его свежие войска, а главное, пушки, продолжали переправляться через мосты, выходя в долину Мархфельд. Несмотря на страшные потери 21 мая, к утру следующего дня Наполеон имел на левом берегу Дуная более 70 тысяч человек и 144 орудия, а к переправам уже успел привести свои 30 с лишним тысяч из 3-го корпуса неутомимый маршал Даву.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

8 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти