Military Review

Tenth Battle of the Isonzo

4
100 years ago, in May 1917, the Tenth Battle of the Isonzo took place. On the basis of the agreement in Chantilly in November 1916, the Italian army was to take part in the general simultaneous spring offensive of the Entente armies, and they were given freedom to choose the front of their actions. But to coordinate the advance of the Anglo-French and Italians in time failed.


The Italian commander-in-chief, General Cadorna, during the entire April 1917 of the year, when fierce battles were fought on the French front (“Nivel Meat Grinder”), deciding the fate of the operation, was inactive, expecting the Austrians to strike in the Trentino area. And only in the middle of May, having made sure that the Austrian army was not going to attack from the side of Trentino, he decided to launch his offensive operation on Isonza (now the tenth). That is, the Italians decided to go on the offensive at the very time when the Anglo-French offensive was already exhausted. As a result, the Italians could not achieve decisive success, only a few pressed the enemy.

Before offensive

During the first months of 1917, fighting in the Italian theater was not conducted due to weather conditions. During this period, the Italian command continued to strengthen the army: 8 new divisions, 262 batteries (52 light, 44 mountain and 166 medium) were formed. The number of heavy and medium guns increased from 1180 to 2101. Significantly increased the number of machine guns, which previously strongly lacked. The air force was strengthened in both numerical and qualitative relations, and the quality of training of pilots was improved.

Significantly increased military production, especially the production of shells and cartridges. In the military industry have invested large amounts: from 100 million lire in 1915 year to 1332 million lire in 1917 year. Production of iron and steel increased from 600 thousand tons to almost 1 million tons. The number of enterprises producing military materials increased from 125 with 115 thousand workers in 1915 year to 1800 with 600 thousand workers in 1917 year. Italy even got the opportunity to export a certain amount of military materials to the allied countries: light guns, airplanes, cars and trucks, manual firearms. weapon etc. But, on the whole, Italy’s military industry could not yet meet the needs of the army for conducting large-scale military operations.

Allied plans

In November, 1916, at a conference in Chantilly, a decision was made on the general offensive of the Allied armies in February, 1917. But the commanders could set the start date of the offensive within a three-week period and even extend it, depending on the features on their front. Thus, as before, the Allies could not achieve a concerted speech in the French, Russian, Italian and Balkan fronts.

In January, 1917, another Allied conference took place in Rome. Luigi Cadorna suggested that the Allies focus their efforts on the Italian front in order to break through the enemy front, which led to a decisive strategic success. Cadorna believed that if the Italian army was strengthened by several British and French divisions and heavy artillery, it would be possible to break through the enemy front in the spring, which would lead to the defeat of Austria-Hungary, and Germany would remain alone and be forced to capitulate. Initially, Cadorna requested 8 divisions and 300 heavy weapons, then up to 10 divisions and 400 heavy weapons. According to the Italian commander-in-chief, the capture of Leibach and Trieste, which he hoped to accomplish by receiving Anglo-French reinforcements, opened the way to the unprotected southern Germany, which led to a faster end of the war than the breakthrough on the Western front, since the French theater had important German military industrial facilities were located far from the front and there it was only possible to liberate part of the previously lost French lands.

However, the French and British general staffs opposed such an idea; they did not want to participate in major operations outside the French front. The French and British were preparing a major offensive (Operation Nivelle), and were not going to transfer troops to Italy, so as not to weaken the Western Front. In the extreme case, the Allies were ready to provide the Italians with heavy weapons, but only until April, when they must be returned. Cadorna did not agree, because the climatic conditions (winter in the mountains ended later) did not allow starting a serious operation before April. As a result, the idea of ​​a decisive blow at the Italian Theater was abandoned. The Allies nevertheless provided the Italians with 99 guns, mostly heavy ones, in the beginning of the autumn they handed over 102 guns (after the operation was completed, they were recalled back).

In this case, the Italian command feared a serious offensive of the enemy. The Austrian commander-in-chief, General Conrad, actually proposed to conduct an Austro-German offensive in the Trentino area at the beginning of 1917, but his proposal was rejected. There was no hope for the support of the Anglo-French, they were preparing for an offensive on the western front. Cadorna told Prime Minister Boselli that Italy must rely only on herself and that it is necessary to mobilize "all our energy and all our resources." The February-March revolution in Russia completely destroyed the strike power of the Russian army, which during the whole war was the main threat to the Austro-Hungarian empire - the main enemy of Italy. Now Italy had to fear the strike of the whole Austrian army, which could have left several weak and secondary divisions on the Russian front, and several units in Romania and Macedonia. Italian intelligence believed that the attack of the enemy was inevitable.

Thus, the Italians were simultaneously preparing to repel an enemy strike in the Trentino area and were preparing their offensive in the area of ​​the Isonzo River. Since the Austrians did not expect a serious strike in the winter, the reserve artillery of the 1 Army and the new 6 Army were transferred to the Isonzo. March 4 was formed Goritsky group of troops in the 6-th, 26-th and 8-th corps, it gave the 2-th army. Later the 2 corps was also transferred to this group. The group was led by General Capello, who distinguished himself in previous battles. 5 April Kadorna created a reserve group subordinate to the High Command: 19, 24 and 26 corps, 12, 54, 57 and 60 divisions (total 10 divisions).

After ensuring that the Austro-Hungarian troops would not attack in the Trentino area, the commander of the Italian army, General Cadorna, decided to launch a new major offensive at the Isonzo. At the first stage a strong artillery strike was made in the area from Tolmino to the sea; on the second, the Goritsky group attacked the heights between Plava and Goritsa, especially Monte Cook, Monte Vodice, Monte Santo and Monte San Gabriele; the third is the attack of the 3 Army on Corso (Carso) with the aim of reaching the approaches to Trieste. A special army group (the Goritsky group) and the 3 Army were to take part in the offensive. The Goritska group had 12 divisions, 140 light batteries, 528 heavy guns and 67 mortar batteries. The Duke of Aosta's 3 Army consisted of 16 divisions, 190 light batteries, 530 heavy guns, 63 mortar batteries. Italian troops supported 130 aircraft.

The Italians were opposed by the 5-I Austrian army of Boroevich. Before the advance of the Italians, the Austrians pulled up reinforcements, artillery and in this area had 18 divisions. The Austrians had an advantage in ammunition stocks and relied on a strong defensive line.

Tenth Battle of the Isonzo


Battle

Cadorna gave the order to launch the 7 attack in May on 1917. But he was postponed for several days due to weather conditions. Artillery preparation began on May 12 and lasted a day 2. 14 May 1917, the Italian troops launched an offensive. Fought hard battles that lasted 7 days. The Austrians were expecting an Italian attack on the Corso, so they were little ready to meet the enemy north of Goritsy. However, the Austrians quickly came to their senses and organized a series of violent counterattacks, but they could not bring down the offensive fervor of the Italians. The Italian troops took the important heights of Cook, Vodice and the western spurs of Mount Santo, on which the successes of the Italians as a whole ended. Thus, during the fights, the Italians managed to advance 2-3 km and improve their positions somewhat. 7 of thousands of Austrian soldiers and a large number of trophies were captured.

19 May Austrians, trying to divert the attention of the Italians from the Isonzo area, launched a series of counterattacks in Trentino on Azyago. But these counterattacks had little success and May 22 stopped. After that, the Italian army 23 May launched its main attack on Corso. Almost all heavy artillery of the 3 Army was concentrated here. The artillery opened fire at 6 in the morning and thoroughly destroyed the enemy fortifications, and in 16 hours the Italian infantry went on the attack. However, due to the lack of ammunition, artillery could not have a long-term impact on the enemy’s defense and support the attack in the future. The number of heavy guns has seriously increased, but there were few projectiles. Already 17 May (during the first phase of the operation) Cadorna ordered not to use artillery of medium and heavy calibers, with the exception of offensive operations and repel large enemy attacks.

However, the offensive was supported by the fleet and aviation. From the sea, the attack was facilitated by naval artillery and, in addition, the attack on the ground forces was supported by 130 aircraft that bombed Austrian positions and fired them with machine guns. The Italians seized a number of important positions and knocked out the enemy from the first line of defense. The Austrian troops stubbornly fought back, repeatedly turned into fierce counterattacks, but all their attacks were repulsed, they could not regain previously lost positions. On May 25, Italian troops, during a stubborn battle, broke through the enemy’s defenses on the slopes of the difficultly overcome Monte Germada, which was the most important defense node of the Austrian army on the way to Trieste. In the following days, the battle became even more fierce, several points passed from hand to hand several times. The Austrians pulled up artillery and discarded the Italians. On May 29, the battle died down, only small skirmishes occurred, both sides were gaining ground at new frontiers of defense.

As a result, the Italians managed to advance on 2-4 km, to seize the first and partly the second lines of the Austrian fortifications and the western slopes of the Hermada massif, this natural citadel on the way to Trieste. On this their successes ended. In the Corso region, the Italians captured about 16 thousand people.


Counterattack of the Austro-Hungarian infantry in the area of ​​the Karst Plateau. June 1917

Conclusion

Thus, the successes of the Italian army in the Tenth Battle of the Isonzo had a tactical significance. However, the success of the Italians in the Hermada region created a threat to the Austro-Hungarian naval base on the Adriatic coast - Trieste. When the supreme Austrian command asked the commander of the 5 Army Boroevich whether he could guarantee the safety of Trieste, he replied that the situation was threatening and that it was necessary to undertake a counterattack to remedy the situation. This forced the Austrian command to strengthen the 5 Army with three divisions.

On June 4, the Austrians launched a counterattack, striking the 3rd Italian army. At the first stage, the Italian troops, which suffered serious losses in the previous battles, were exhausted and had not yet had time to gain a foothold, were pushed back and lost a significant part of the territory that they had previously captured. Then the Italian troops vigorously counterattacked and restored the situation. However, the Austrians succeeded on the far right flank, where they were able to surprise the 20th Italian division. This led to the collapse of the Italian defense throughout the southern sector of the front; large masses of Italian soldiers were captured. The Italian troops in this section rolled back to their original positions. As Cadorna noted, although numerous examples of exceptional courage have been shown here, but “for the sake of historical of truth, we must admit that in some parts there have been regrettable cases. " In this counterattack, the Austrians captured more than 20 thousand people.

The battle was extremely fierce and bloody. During the Tenth Battle of Isonzo, the Italians lost 36 thousand killed, 96 thousand wounded and 25 thousand prisoners. The Austrians lost about 100 thousand killed and wounded and 24 thousand prisoners.
Author:
Articles from this series:
1917 Campaign

The transition of the Central Powers to a strategic defense
Entente plans for 1917 year: bet on a decisive victory in the war
Russian army to the beginning of the 1917 campaign of the year: the approach of the general collapse
Attack without shot: Mitav operation
How Germany began the unlimited submarine war
German submarine vs UK
How the German submarine fleet tried to crush the "mistress of the seas"
The United States used the myth of "inhuman" submarine warfare to oppose Germany
Caucasian front in 1917 year. Baratov corps offensive in southwestern Persia
Mosul operation. How the British, until recently, tried to use the Russian "cannon fodder"
The war of the USA and England against Europe and Russia for absolute power on the planet
USA and World War I
How did the USA profit from World War I
"War will end wars." USA in the First World War
World War I turned the United States into a leading world power
"Nivel Meat Grinder"
4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. parusnik
    parusnik 18 May 2017 07: 58
    0
    100 years ago, in May 1917, the Tenth Battle of Isonzo took place.
    ..Meat grinder in Italy ...
    1. cost
      cost 19 May 2017 00: 34
      0
      Italian strategy against Austrian tactics. How close was Trieste. But, the Austrian spirit outplayed 2 times the large Italian army
  2. Curious
    Curious 18 May 2017 10: 03
    +5
    When you cross the Slovenian-Italian border in the town of Novo-Gorica, you need to turn off the main road and go towards the mountains to the north along the Socha River.
    It was along the bed of this river, which still had the Italian name Isonzo, that the front line was located, along which the bloody battles between the Italian and Austro-German armies were monstrous in terms of the number of victims and meaningless in terms of any success. Over the three years of the war from 1915 to 1918, more than 300 thousand soldiers were killed here. These events went down in history called “12 battles at Isonzo”.
    Almost all of these battles took place during the active offensive of the Italians and the fierce resistance of the Austrians. By the number of soldiers and artillery, the Italian army surpassed the enemy by almost two, but at the same time it was apparently twice as inferior to the Austrians and Germans in terms of training and discipline. All these battles were essentially lost by Italy, and the front practically stood still for three years. During the last 12th battle, the Austro-German troops finally went on the offensive themselves and were stopped with great difficulty.
    In total, more than three million soldiers participated in this generally meaningless massacre, including 18-year-old future writer Ernest Hemingway. He volunteered for the very heat of the war, where he served as the driver of an ambulance. As a result, trying to save the Italian heavy sniper sniper, Hemingway himself came under artillery fire and was seriously injured. 26 fragments were removed from his body, and upon returning to America he became a national hero. Much later, he will write one of his most famous books, “Farewell to Arms!”, Which was based on his recollections of that war.
    The lines of fortifications along the Socha River stretched almost a hundred kilometers. Many of them were built by prisoners of war, including Russians. If you have time, you should drive to the ski resort Kranjska Gora now. It is worth visiting a small Orthodox church next to the burial place of Russian prisoners of war. Here lies about 300 nameless soldiers who have found their death far from their homeland.
  3. Robert Nevsky
    Robert Nevsky 18 May 2017 12: 27
    +1
    Wow, many battles at Isonzo ... Thanks to the author for interesting articles!

Десятая битва при Изонцо

100 лет назад, в мае 1917 года, состоялась Десятая битва при Изонцо. На основании состоявшегося в ноябре 1916 г. соглашения в Шантильи итальянская армия должна была принять участие в общем одновременном весеннем наступлении армий Антанты, причем им была предоставлена свобода в выборе фронта их активных действий. Но согласовать наступление англо-французов и итальянцев по времени не удалось.

Итальянский главнокомандующий генерал Кадорна в течение всего апреля 1917 года, когда на Французском фронте шли ожесточенные бои («Мясорубка Нивеля»), решавшие участь операции, бездействовал, ожидая, что австрийцы нанесут удар в районе Трентино. И только в середине мая, убедившись, что австрийская армия не собирается наступать со стороны Трентино, он решил начать свою наступательную операцию на Изонцу (уже десятую). То есть итальянцы решили пойти в наступление в то именно время, когда англо-французское наступление уже выдохлось. В результате итальянцы не смогли добиться решительного успеха, только несколько потеснили противника.

Перед наступлением


В течение первых месяцев 1917 года боевые действия на Итальянском театре не велись из-за погодных условий. В этот период итальянское командование продолжало работу по укреплению армии: было сформировано 8 новых дивизий, 262 батареи (52 легких, 44 горных и 166 средних). Число тяжелых и средних орудий возросло с 1180 до 2101. Значительно увеличилось число пулеметов, которых ранее сильно не хватало. Военно-воздушные силы были усилены как численном, так и качественном отношение, улучшилось качество подготовки летчиков.

Значительно возросло военное производство, особенно производство снарядов и патронов. В военную промышленность вложили большие средства: со 100 млн. лир в 1915 году до 1332 млн. лир в 1917 году. Производство железа и стали возросло с 600 тыс. тонн до почти 1 млн. тонн. Количество предприятий, производящих военные материалы, увеличилось с 125 при 115 тыс. рабочих в 1915 году до 1800 при 600 тыс. рабочих в 1917 году. Италия даже получила возможность вывозить некоторое количество военных материалов в союзные страны: легкие орудия, самолеты, легковые и грузовые автомобили, ручное огнестрельное оружие и т. д. Но в целом военная промышленность Италии ещё не могла обеспечить потребности армии для ведения крупномасштабных военных операций.

Планы союзников

В ноябре 1916 года на конференции в Шантильи было принято решение об общем наступлении союзных армий в феврале 1917 года. Но командующие могли установить срок начала наступления в пределах трехнедельного срока и даже продлить его в зависимости от особенностей на своём фронте. Таким образом, как и раньше, союзники не смогли добиться согласованного выступления на Французском, Русском, Итальянском и Балканском фронтах.

В январе 1917 года в Риме прошла ещё одна конференция союзных стран. Луиджи Кадорна предложил сосредоточить усилия союзников на Итальянском фронте с целью прорыва вражеского фронта, что вело решительному стратегическому успеху. Кадорна считал, что если итальянская армия будет усилена несколькими британскими и французскими дивизиями и тяжелой артиллерией, то можно будет весной прорвать вражеский фронт, что приведёт к разгрому Австро-Венгрии, а Германия останется одна и будет вынуждена капитулировать. Первоначально Кадорна просил 8 дивизий и 300 тяжелых орудий, затем — до 10 дивизий и 400 тяжелых орудий. По мнению итальянского главнокомандующего, захват Лайбаха и Триеста, который он надеялся осуществить получив англо-французские подкрепления, открывал путь в незащищенную южную Германию, что вело к более быстрому завершению войны, чем прорыв на Западном фронте, так как на Французском театре важные германские военно-промышленные объекты располагались далеко от фронта и там можно было только освободить часть ранее утраченных французских земель.

Однако, французский и британские генеральные штабы выступили против такой идеи, они не хотели участвовать в крупных операциях за пределами Французского фронта. Французы и британцы готовили крупное наступление (операция Нивеля), и не собирались переводить войска в Италию, чтобы не ослаблять Западный фронт. В крайнем случае, союзники были готовы предоставить итальянцам тяжелые орудия, но только до апреля, когда их необходимо вернуть. Кадорна не соглашался, так как климатические условия (зима в горах кончалась позднее) не позволяли начать серьёзную операцию раньше апреля. В итоге от идеи решительного удара на Итальянском театре отказались. Союзники все же предоставили итальянцам 99 орудий, в основном тяжелых, в начале осени передали ещё 102 орудия (после завершения операции, их отозвали обратно).

При этом итальянское командование опасалось серьёзного наступления противника. Австрийский главнокомандующий генерал Конрад действительно предлагал провести в начале 1917 года австро-германское наступление в районе Трентино, но его предложение отвергли. Надежды на поддержку англо-французов не было, они готовились к наступлению на западном фронте. Кадорна доложил премьер-министру Бозелли, что Италия должна полагаться только на себя и что необходимо мобилизовать «всю нашу энергию и все наши ресурсы». Февральско-мартовская революция в России совершенно разрушила ударную мощь русской армии, которая в ходе всей войны была главной угрозой для Австро-Венгерской империи — основного противника Италии. Теперь Италии приходилось опасаться удара всей австрийской армии, которая могла оставить на Русском фронте несколько слабых и второстепенных дивизий, и несколько частей в Румынии и в Македонии. Итальянская разведка считала, что наступление противника неизбежно.

Таким образом, итальянцы одновременно готовились отразить вражеский удар в районе Трентино и готовили своё наступление в районе реки Изонцо. Так как зимой серьёзного удара австрийцев не ждали, резервная артиллерия 1-й армии и новой 6-й армии были переброшены на Изонцо. 4 марта была сформирована Горицкая группа войск в составе 6-го, 26-го и 8-го корпусов, её придали 2-й армии. Позднее этой группе передали и 2-й корпус. Группу возглавил генерал Капелло, который отличился в предшествующих боях. 5 апреля Кадорна создал подчиненную верховному командованию резервную группу: 19-й, 24-й и 26-й корпуса, 12-я, 54-я, 57-я и 60-я дивизии (всего 10 дивизий).

Убедившись, что в районе Трентино австро-венгерские войска наступать не будут, командующий итальянской армией генерал Кадорна принял решение начать новое крупное наступление у Изонцо. На первом этапе наносился сильный артиллерийский удар на участке от Тольмино до моря; на втором — Горицкая группа атаковала высоты между Плавой и Горицей, особенно Монте Кук, Монте Водиче, Монте Санто и Монте Сан Габриеле; третий — наступление 3-й армии на Корсо (Карсо) с целью выхода на подступы к Триесту. В наступление должны были принять участие специальная армейская группа (Горицкая группа) и 3-я армия. Горицкая группа имела в своем составе 12 дивизий, 140 легких батарей, 528 тяжелых орудий и 67 минометных батарей. В 3-ю армию герцога Аосты входило 16 дивизий, 190 легких батарей, 530 тяжелых орудий, 63 минометные батареи. Итальянские войска поддерживали 130 самолетов.

Итальянцам противостояла 5-я австрийская армия Бороевича. Австрийцы перед наступлением итальянцев подтянули подкрепления, артиллерию и на данном участке имели 18 дивизий. Австрийцы имели преимущество в запасах боеприпасов и опирались на сильную оборонительную линию.

Десятая битва при Изонцо


Сражение

Кадорна дал приказ начать наступление 7 мая 1917 г. Но его отложили на несколько дней из-за погодных условий. Артиллерийская подготовка началась 12 мая и длилась 2 дня. 14 мая 1917 года итальянские войска перешли в наступление. Завязались упорные бои, которые длились 7 дней. Австрийцы ожидали итальянского наступления на Корсо, поэтому были мало готовы для встречи противника севернее Горицы. Однако австрийцы быстро опомнились и организовали ряд яростных контратак, но сбить наступательный пыл итальянцев не смогли. Итальянские войска взяли важные высоты Кук, Водиче и западные отроги горы Санто, на чем успехи итальянцев в целом и завершились. Таким образом, в ходе боёв итальянцам удалось продвинуться на 2-3 км и несколько улучшить свои позиции. В плен было захвачено 7 тыс. австрийских солдат и большое количество трофеев.

19 мая австрийцы, пытаясь отвлечь внимание итальянцев от района Изонцо, произвели ряд контратак в Трентино на Азьяго. Но эти контратаки имели незначительный успех и 22 мая прекратились. После этого итальянская армия 23 мая нанесла свой главный удар на Корсо. Здесь была сосредоточена почти вся тяжелая артиллерия 3-й армии. Артиллерия открыла огонь в 6 часов утра и основательно разрушила вражеские укрепления, и в 16 часов итальянская пехота пошла в атаку. Правда, из-за нехватки боеприпасов артиллерия не могла оказать долговременного воздействия на оборону врага, поддержать наступление в последующем. Число тяжелых орудий серьёзно возросло, но снарядов было мало. Уже 17 мая (в ходе первого этапа операции) Кадорна приказал не применять артиллерия средних и тяжелых калибров, за исключением наступательных операций и отражения крупных атак противника.

Однако наступление поддержали флот и авиация. Со стороны моря атаке содействовала корабельная артиллерия и, кроме того, атаку сухопутных войск поддержали 130 самолетов, которые бомбили австрийские позиции и обстреливали их из пулеметов. Итальянцы захватили ряд важных позиций и выбили противника с первой линии обороны. Австрийские войска упорно отбивались, неоднократно переходили в ожесточенные контратаки, но все их атаки были отбиты, они не смогли вернуть ранее утраченные позиции. 25 мая итальянские войска в ходе упорного боя прорвали оборону противника на склонах трудно преодолимой Монте Гермада, который был важнейшим узлом обороны австрийской армии на пути к Триесту. В последующие дни сражение ещё более ожесточилось, некоторые пункты по нескольку раз переходили из рук в руки. Австрийцы подтянули артиллерию и отбрасывали итальянцев. 29 мая сражение утихло, происходили только небольшие стычки, обе стороны закреплялись на новых рубежах обороны.

В итоге итальянцам удалось продвинуться на 2-4 км, завладеть первой и отчасти второй линиями австрийских укреплений и западными склонами горного массива Гермада, этой естественной цитадели на пути к Триесту. На этом их успехи закончились. В районе Корсо итальянцы захватили в плен около 16 тыс. человек.


Контратака австро-венгерской пехоты в районе плато Карст. Июнь 1917

Заключение

Таким образом, успехи итальянской армии в Десятой битве на Изонцо имели исключительно тактическое значение. Однако успех итальянцев в районе Гермады создал угрозу австро-венгерской военно-морской базе на Адриатическом побережье — Триесту. Когда верховное австрийское командование запросило командующего 5-й армией Бороевича, сможет ли он гарантировать безопасность Триеста, он ответил, что положение угрожающее и необходимо предпринять контрнаступление, что исправить ситуацию. Это вынудило австрийское командование усилить 5-ю армию тремя дивизиями.

4 июня австрийцы пошли в контрнаступление, нанеся удар по 3-й итальянской армии. На первом этапе итальянские войска, которые понесли серьёзные потери в предшествующих боях, были измотаны и ещё не успели закрепиться, были оттеснены назад и утратили значительную часть территории, которую они ранее захватили. Затем итальянские войска энергично контратаковали и восстановили положение. Однако австрийцы добились успеха на крайне правом фланге, где они смогли застать врасплох 20-ю итальянскую дивизию. Это привело к крушению итальянской обороны на всем южном участке фронта, большие массы итальянских солдат попали в плен. Итальянские войска на этом участке откатились на исходные позиции. Как отмечал Кадорна, хотя здесь были показаны многочисленные примеры исключительной храбрости, но «ради исторической правды, мы должны признаться, что в некоторых частях имели место случаи, достойные сожаления». В этом контрнаступлении австрийцы захватили в плен более 20 тыс. человек.

Сражение носило крайне ожесточенный и кровопролитный характер. В ходе Десятой битвы при Изонцо итальянцы потеряли 36 тыс. убитыми, 96 тыс. ранеными и 25 тыс. пленными. Австрийцы потеряли около 100 тыс. убитыми и ранеными и 24 тыс. пленными.
Автор: Самсонов Александр


Статьи из этой серии:

Кампания 1917 года

Переход Центральных держав к стратегической обороне
Планы Антанты на 1917 год: ставка на решительную победу в войне
Русская армия к началу кампании 1917 года: приближение всеобщего развала
Атака «без выстрела»: Митавская операция
Как Германия начала неограниченную подводную войну
Германский подводный флот против Великобритании
Как германский подводный флот пытался сокрушить «владычицу морей»
США использовали миф о «бесчеловечной» подводной войне, чтобы выступить против Германии
Кавказский фронт в 1917 году. Наступление корпуса Баратова в юго-западной Персии
Мосульская операция. Как британцы до последнего пытались использовать русское «пушечное мясо»
Война США и Англии против Европы и России за абсолютную власть на планете
США и Первая мировая война
Как США нажились на Первой мировой войне
«Война положит конец войнам». США в Первой мировой войне
Первая мировая война превратила США в ведущую мировую державу
«Мясорубка Нивеля»

Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 4

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. parusnik 18 мая 2017 07:58
    100 лет назад, в мае 1917 года, состоялась Десятая битва при Изонцо.
    ..Мясорубка в Италии...
    1. рич 19 мая 2017 00:34
      Итальянская стратегия против австрийской тактики. Как близко был Триест. Но, австрийский дух переиграл в 2 раза большую итальянскую армию
  2. Curious 18 мая 2017 10:03
    Когда пересекаешь словенско-итальянскую границу в местечке Ново-Горица, надо свернуть с основной трассы и ехать в сторону гор на север вдоль реки Соча.
    Именно вдоль русла этой реки, имеющей ещё итальянское название Изонцо, располагалась линия фронта, вдоль которой происходили чудовищные по количеству жертв и бессмысленности в плане какого либо успеха кровавые сражения между итальянской и австро-германской армиями. За три года войны с 1915 по 1918 года здесь полегло свыше 300 тысяч солдат. Эти события вошли в историю под названием „12 битв при Изонцо“.
    Почти все эти сражения произошли при активном наступлении итальянцев и ожесточённом сопротивлении австрийцев. Количеством солдат и артиллерийских орудий итальянская армия превосходила противника почти вдвоем, но при этом по-видиму вдвое уступало австрийцам с немцами по уровню подготовки и дисциплине. Все эти сражения были по сути проиграны Италией, а фронт все три года практически стоял на месте. Во время последнего 12-ого сражения австро-германские войска наконец сами перешли в наступление и были остановлены с огромным трудом.
    Всего в этой в целом бесмысленной бойне участвовало более трёх миллионов солдат, среди которых был и 18-летний будущий писатель Эрнест Хемингуэй. Он добровольцем попал в самое пекло войны, где служил водителем санитарной машины. В итоге, пытаясь спасти итальянского тяжелораннегого снайпера, Хемингуэй сам попал под артиллерийский обстрел и был тяжело ранен. Из его тела извлекли 26 осколков, а по возвращении в Америку он стал национальным героем. Намного позже он напишет одну из своих самых знаменитых своих книг “Прощай, оружие!“, в основу которой легли его воспоминания о той войне.
    Линии укреплений вдоль реки Соча протянулись почти на сто километров . Многие из них строили военнопленные, в том числе и русские. При наличии времени стоит доехать до нынче горнолыжного курорта Краньска Гора. Здесь стоит посетить небольшую православную церквушку рядом с захоронением русских военнопленных. Здесь покоится около 300 безымянныхсолдат, нашедших свою смерть в далеке от Родины.
  3. Робертъ Невский 18 мая 2017 12:27
    Ух, много битв при Изонцо ... Спасибо автору за интересные статьи!
Картина дня