Military Review

Knights and chivalry of three centuries. Knights of Spain: Aragon, Navarre and Catalonia (part 6)

23
He lay facing the country of the Spanish Moors,
So that Karl said his squad glorious,

That Count Roland died, but he conquered!
(Song of Roland)


When the Moors consistently smashed the Christian kingdoms in Spain, they failed to destroy them to the end. On the southern slopes of the Pyrenean Mountains, the world (or reserve) of the Christian faith continued to exist, represented by several small but nevertheless quite self-sufficient kingdoms, with Navarre playing the main role. By the middle of the XI century, when the Muslim city of Tudela was captured in 1046, it actually reached its borders. After this, Navarre’s military efforts were aimed at assisting other Christian states outside its territory and preserving their own independence, both from Muslims and from fellow Christians.


Figure of Angus MacBride, depicting a Spanish knight of the XIII century. He is opposed by two infantrymen, one of whom has on his surco a Toulouse cross.

By the beginning of the XII century, the kingdom of Aragon also already existed, being the western part of the French county of Barcelona. Unlike Navarre, Aragon tried to push its possessions south even after reaching a common border with Castile in 1118. A century later, Aragon completed its part of the Spanish Reconquista, capturing the Balearic Islands (1229 — 1235) and the Dénia Peninsula (1248). All this, as well as the absorption of Catalonia by Aragon in 1162, strengthened the position of the Aragonese not only on land but also on the sea. Soon they began to compete with the "Angevin Monarchy" for control of Sicily and southern Italy.


Miniature depicting the warriors of the kingdom of Navarre from the Navarre Illustrated Bible, dated 1197, Pamplona, ​​Spain. (Amiens Metropol Library)

As for Catalonia, in the first half of the 11th century it was divided into at least eight counties, and all were theoretically vassals of the French crown. By the time of the First Crusade, they were largely united and able to take part in the Reconquista, moving south as far as Tortosa, taken in 1148 year. The main thing to emphasize is that all these kingdoms were under strong military influence from southern France since the eleventh century. However, there were clear differences between different regions in Northern Spain. So, Navarre, being almost exclusively a country of mountains and valleys, never sought to break into the plains of central Iberia. That is why the main role in her army was played by infantry. Moreover, Navarre infantrymen, armed with long spears, were highly valued and used as mercenaries in many parts of Western Europe in the 12th century. The same applies to the neighboring and militarily similar Basques and Gascons. About the latter it is known that they often used bows instead of darts. Navarre infantry was popular in the XIV century, when the kingdom of Navarre itself began to use mercenary Muslim troops, perhaps from the Tudela region. It is believed that these very horsemen were the forerunners of the later Spanish cavalry ginet, dressed in chain mail and armed with short spears, swords and shields.


Spanish warriors from the Pamplona Illustrated Bible and the Life of Saints, dated 1200 (University of Augsburg Library)


The same source. Image of riders fighting with infantry. Note the unusual shape of the pennants on the spears and the fact that the horses are already covered in blankets.

In Aragon, light cavalry also began to play an important role, as the kingdom began to expand its holdings along the Ebro plain. In the meantime, most of the Aragonese mercenaries who fought outside the Iberian Peninsula were also all infantry. The most famous and characteristic of such Aragonese troops were the Almogavars or “scouts”. Almogavars are known to have fought besides Spain as mercenaries in Italy, the Latin Empire and in the Levant during the XIII-XIV centuries. Almogavars were originally from the mountain regions of Aragon, as well as Catalonia and Navarre. They usually wore lightweight helmets, leather armor, breeches and half-ades of sheep and goat skins; there are coarse leather sandals on their feet.

Knights and chivalry of three centuries. Knights of Spain: Aragon, Navarre and Catalonia (part 6)

Almogavar troops during the conquest of Mallorca. Gothic fresco from Salo del Tinel (The Throne Hall of the Royal Palace) in Barcelona.


H. Moreno Carbonero. The entry of Roger de Flore into Constantinople (1888). Almogavars are in the foreground.

The almogavars were armed with short spears used for throwing, or lighter darts, as well as a wide cleaver, an analogue of felchen, hanging on a leather belt along with a shopping bag or a bag for small things like flint and tinder. For a decent fee, they served the cities, the monarchs, and the churches, and it is not surprising that both the Swiss mercenaries and the same landsknechts appeared later. Previously, they did not have such a need, and besides, the same Swiss cantons did not start serious wars at the beginning. And the mercenaries were supplied by states such as Scotland, Ireland and ... Navarre with Catalonia, and Aragon!


B. Ribot-i-Terriz [ca]. Pedro the Great in the Battle of the Panissar Pass during the Aragon crusade 1284 - 1285 (approx. 1866). On the left - Almogavars.

As for the cavalry, for example, it is known that the Catalan horsemen still served as mercenaries in the Muslim armies of Murabita at the beginning of the XII century, but by the XIII century, the crossbowmen were the most valued among professional Catalan soldiers! The fact is that both the Catalans and the Aragons actively fought at sea, and here the use of the crossbow has acquired particular importance. In addition, its use against Muslims did not fall under the restrictions of the Christian Councils, and this was important. The soldiers of that time were devout people and remembered that hell and fire hell await sinners, so they tried to fight as much as possible, but not sin! Gunshot weapon in Spain began to be used quite early. For example, it is known that in 1359, Aragon used bombers to protect one of the ports.


Fresco depicting the Battle of Portopi, approx. 1285 - 1290 from the palace of Berenguer d'Agilar in Barcelona, ​​which today is stored in the National Museum of Art of Catalonia in Barcelona.


Fragment of fresco depicting the Battle of Portopi. It depicts Guilhem Ramon de Moncada or Guillermo II, the lord of Montcada and Castelvi de Rosanes (in Catalonia), Viscount Bierna, Marsan, Gabardana and Broulois (in the south-west of modern France). On its shield, surco, a helmet and a horse blanket, the front of which is made of chain mail (!), Shows the coat of arms of Moncada and Bearn.

Interestingly, the Almogavar infantry went into battle with the Catalan battle cry "Desperta Ferro!" (Wake up, iron!). At the same time, they also sparks from stones and rocks, hitting them with spear tips and darts! The first mention of this cry is found in the description of the Battle of Galliano (1300), and it is also reported in the Chronicle by Ramon Muntaner. Other variants of the battle cry were appeals: Aragó, Aragó! (Aragon, Aragon!), Via Sus! Via Sus !, Sant Jordi! Sant Jordi! (Saint George! Saint George!), Sancta Maria! Sancta Maria! (Holy Mary! Holy Mary!).


Bernat de Brulle Effigia, 1345 (Church of Sant Pere de Valferos, Solsana Catalunya). For some reason, there is no surcoat on it, but the chain mail hood with a hood and chain mail gloves with fingers are clearly visible. On his feet plate greaves.

There are quite a few efigy in Spain, which allows us to imagine quite well how the Spanish knights of 1050 - 1350 were armed. For example, the effigy of a member of the Castellet family, approx. 1330, from the Basilica of Santa Maria, in Villafranca del Penenes in Catalonia. There is a complete similarity between it and the image of the Christian warriors depicted on the wall painting "The Conquest of Majorca." The most noticeable detail is the surcoat kaftans with medium sleeves and decorated with heraldic images, worn over the armor. By 1330, the Catalan knight also wore plate gauntlets with bell cuffs and plated greaves.


Effigiya Hugo de Chervello, ca. 1334 (Basilica of Santa Maria, in Vilafranca del Penedès, Catalonia) For this year, its equipment may seem outdated!

Effigia Bernado de Minorisa, Catalonia, ca. 1330 (Church of Santa Maria de la Seo, Manresa, Spain), on the contrary, shows us a knight who wears the latest European weapons and armor. And he really looks more like the knights of eastern France and Germany than of his Spanish compatriots. His mail hood is put on a soft base, because of which his head seems almost square, and why this, by the way, is clear - this is necessary so that it is more comfortable to wear a large helmet with a flat top on your head. He does not have lamellar armor on his hands, and the only sign that he can wear anything else besides a chain hauberk is his surcoat, which may well hide additional armor from the plates. Legs are covered with greaves, and sabatons are on the feet. He has a very big sword in his hands, and a dagger is hung on the belt to the right.


Effigia Dona Alvaro de Cabrera the Younger from the Church of Santa Maria de Belpuy de las Avellanas, Lleida, Catalonia, 1299 (Metropolitan Museum, New York)

But the most remarkable specimen among all Spanish effigy is a sculpture on the sarcophagus, owned by Don Alvaro de Cabrera the Younger from the church of Santa Maria de Belpuy de las Avellanas, in Lleida, in Catalonia. It has a number of distinctive features characteristic of Spanish, Italian, and, possibly, Byzantine-Balkan weapons. First of all, it concerns plate gorget to protect the neck, attached to the collar, lying on the shoulders. For the time of making effigy, it was a very modern thing. In the decoration of the collar used the same floral motif, which is visible on the rivets on the top of the surcoat, and on the sabatons of the figure. Almost certainly, this suggests that under the fabric there was some kind of metal or leather lining of scales, or metal plates, which, however, this fabric hides.


Reconstruction of the appearance of the armor of Alvaro de Cabrera the Younger (in the figure on the right). Fig. Angus McBride

Among other features of interest, one should note mittens with surprisingly long cuffs, which, in fact, replace such an important part of plate armor as wambras. Although it seems that they are metal, but most likely they were made of leather. Greaves have hinged attachments and are therefore almost certainly made of iron. Sabatons of the plates, while the rivets have a floral pattern, comparable to the pattern of rivets in the surco.

To be continued ...
Author:
Articles from this series:
Knights and chivalry of three centuries. CH 5. Knights of France. Central and southern areas
Knights and chivalry of three centuries. Knights of Ireland (part 4)
Knights and chivalry of three centuries. Knights of Scotland (part 3)
Knights and chivalry of three centuries. Knighthood and knights of England and Wales. Part of 2
Knights and chivalry of three centuries. Knighthood and knights of northern France. Part of 1
23 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. polpot
    polpot 19 March 2019 05: 55
    +2
    Thanks, very interesting.
  2. sivuch
    sivuch 19 March 2019 10: 41
    +2
    Vyacheslav, I’m somehow used to thinking that the Reconquista began with Asturias, which later became Leon
    , continued in Catalonia and only then did the kingdom of Pamplona arise.
    1. kalibr
      19 March 2019 12: 39
      +4
      I cannot tell you anything concrete. I took all the details of the story in the book of D.Nikol. My was just a translation. I am personally more interested in weapons and armor ...
      1. sivuch
        sivuch 19 March 2019 13: 24
        +2
        There are no complaints about this part.
    2. Decimam
      Decimam 19 March 2019 13: 24
      +4
      Vyacheslav, I’m somehow used to thinking that the Reconquista began with Asturias
      Honestly, I did not understand the subject of the dispute. I specially read the article again, but I never found that the author questioned the postulate about the beginning of the Reconquista from Asturias. Yes, he could not do this, since the cycle is limited to 1050-1350. AD, and the Reconquista from Asturias - 718 AD
  3. 3x3zsave
    3x3zsave 19 March 2019 18: 02
    +4
    Thank you for the article, Vyacheslav Olegovich! Having my own opinion, I would like to know what did Mr. Nicole follow in choosing a time frame? I apologize for the persistence trying to amuse my pride: suddenly our views coincide! "The cardinal and the haberdasher are strength!"
    1. kalibr
      19 March 2019 20: 17
      +3
      His book was titled Arms and Armor of the Crusader Era 1050-1350. It is known that the first crusade was planned by Pope Leo the 9th and just around 1050. Why the date 1350 is taken, I do not know. Perhaps this is due to the controversy of English historians regarding the "chain mail era". For them, between the "white armor" and the "era of chain mail" lies "the era of chain mail armor". They argue about its duration and the years are different. For me, the beginning of "white armor" is 1410, and the transitional period just begins in 1350. If so, then this is the lowest threshold of the "transitional period" and the highest - the "chain mail era". I personally would take a period of 1000 years from 700 to 1700 and maybe I will, but so far there is simply no time for such a large-scale work. Here in the summer I'll go to Europe, pick up some material ... Then!
      1. 3x3zsave
        3x3zsave 19 March 2019 20: 25
        +3
        Thank! I get it. I have a slightly different attitude to the history of the development of European civilization and the dynamics of the progress of armor, including.
        1. kalibr
          19 March 2019 20: 40
          +3
          Well, I really can't do anything about it ...
        2. Decimam
          Decimam 19 March 2019 21: 08
          +3
          The time frame from 1050 to the end of the thirteenth century is almost standard for books that describe medieval weapons. Fluctuations in one direction or another are insignificant. Protective armament during this period did not change much, and it is precisely in this framework that the "chain mail era" fits.
          1. kalibr
            19 March 2019 21: 28
            +3
            Yes, most likely it is. In any case, similar views were held by E. Okshott.
            1. Decimam
              Decimam 19 March 2019 21: 45
              +2
              And not only him. I have now skimmed through the subject library. Benjamin Arnold, Robert D. Smith, Kelly DeVries, JF Verbruggen - all have the same thing.
        3. kalibr
          21 March 2019 13: 57
          +1
          Only now - forgive me, Anton - I realized that I had to ask: what is this "a little" manifested in and what it is based on. Interesting. This is not extrasensory perception ... from somewhere in your head and from something such thoughts came. Why and what?
          1. 3x3zsave
            3x3zsave 21 March 2019 17: 33
            +1
            In my opinion, Vyacheslav Olegovich, the Middle Ages ended in the middle of the 14th century. Actually, I planned to write about this material and even gained 50%, but the villain-fate constantly makes her own corrections.
            1. kalibr
              21 March 2019 19: 28
              +1
              This is unforgivable! Fight with her !!!
              1. 3x3zsave
                3x3zsave 21 March 2019 19: 53
                +2
                Vyacheslav Olegovich, I will tell you that when you write something, especially journalism, new data constantly arise, which until now I did not know. I also really want to share them, but the article, at the same time, swells to the size of a monograph. And it is important to understand that the level of the material "Youth Technique" is the golden mean, which is necessary and sufficient. Everything else is vanity and weariness of the spirit, and a topic for another cycle. I am learning a job that is unusual for me. And fate - well, it just so happened ...
                1. kalibr
                  22 March 2019 06: 42
                  +1
                  Quote: 3x3zsave
                  I will tell you that when you write something, especially journalism, new data constantly arise that I did not know until now. I also really want to share them, but the article, at the same time, swells to the size of a monograph. And it is important to understand that the level of the material "Youth Technique" is the golden mean that is necessary and sufficient. Everything else is vanity and weariness of the spirit, and a topic for another cycle. I am learning a job that is unusual for me. And fate - well, it just so happened ...

                  It's like that! That's right ... You must be able to stop in time. Do not be afraid that a superficial article will be written to you. And no one will read "not superficial". Personally, it was always very interesting for me to observe the process of transition of a purely everyday interest into a professional one. You have just such a period and it is difficult. So far, only advice is this: do not try to grasp the immensity, but write material in 9000 characters.
                  1. 3x3zsave
                    3x3zsave 22 March 2019 19: 36
                    +1
                    It will probably be so. I will return to the original version. The remaining developments will go in a different cycle.
                    And further. I am very grateful to you for your attention to my humble person!
                    1. kalibr
                      22 March 2019 21: 27
                      +1
                      Anton! The future belongs to the young. Such as Nikolai, Mikhail, as you. You may not be as young as ... but you are younger than me anyway. This means that you can do a lot that I did not do. Once I already wrote that I lost a lot, that all my life I was surrounded by fools. In a worldly way ... And instead of taking my hand and just taking me where necessary, they puffed out their cheeks, made smart faces and told me: "You should get the form number 6". Yes ... I see ... but how? And I didn't know what to say in response and what to ask for. He was young, inexperienced. Now I know everything. And I have to keep it to myself? Meaning? Competition? Not scary ... How much more can I work at this pace? And you can do a lot and why not help you. Moreover, I didn’t really do anything ... So if anything - contact me!
                      1. 3x3zsave
                        3x3zsave 22 March 2019 21: 48
                        +1
                        Vyacheslav Olegovich! Thank you for everything you do for me!
                        Simple, no frills.
                        Thank you!
  4. kalibr
    20 March 2019 07: 10
    +1
    Quote: Decimam
    JF Verbruggen -

    D. Nicole is a big fan of him. In all his works he refers to him. Just me ... "zodolbal". I asked to send "his most important work" and he sent a photocopy. Yes, really ... Now - haha, I put it everywhere too.
    1. Decimam
      Decimam 20 March 2019 15: 45
      +1
      In relation to your theme, this should be "The Art of Warfare in Western Europe During the Middle Ages. From the Eighth Century to 1340".
  5. Turkir
    Turkir 24 November 2019 06: 22
    0
    In 1303, Roger and his Catalan squad, at the invitation of Emperor Andronicus II, arrived in Constantinople to counteract the advance of the Ottomans to the west

Военное обозрение

Рыцари и рыцарство трёх веков. Рыцари Испании: Арагон, Наварра и Каталония (часть 6)

23
Он лег лицом к стране испанских мавров,
Чтоб Карл сказал своей дружине славной,

Что граф Роланд погиб, но победил!
(Песнь о Роланде)


Когда мавры последовательно громили христианские королевства в Испании, им не удалось уничтожить их до конца. На южных склонах Пиренейских гор продолжал сохраняться мирок (или заповедник) христианской веры, представленный несколькими пусть и небольшими, но, тем не менее, вполне самодостаточными королевствами, главную роль среди которых играла Наварра. К середине XI века, когда в 1046 году был захвачен мусульманский город Тудела, оно фактически достигло своих границ. После этого военные усилия Наварры были направлены на оказание помощи другим христианским государствам за пределами ее территории и сохранение собственной независимости, как от мусульман, так и от собратьев-христиан.


Рисунок Ангуса МакБрайда, изображающий испанского рыцаря XIII века. Ему противостоят два пехотинца, один из которых имеет на своем сюрко крест Тулузы.

К началу XII века королевство Арагон также уже существовало, являясь западной частью французского графства Барселона. В отличие от Наварры, Арагон старался продвигать свои владения на юг и после достижения общей границы с Кастилией в 1118 году. Спустя столетие Арагон завершил свою часть Испанской Реконкисты, захватив Балеарские острова (1229—1235) и полуостров Дения (1248). Все это, а также поглощение Арагоном Каталонии в 1162 году, укрепило позиции арагонцев не только на суше, но и на море. Вскоре они стали конкурировать с «Анжуйской монархией» за контроль над Сицилией и южной Италией.


Миниатюра с изображением воинов королевства Наварра из «Наваррской иллюстрированной Библии», датированной 1197 г. Памплона, Испания. (Библиотека Амьена Метрополь)

Что же касается Каталонии, то в первой половине XI века она была разделена не менее чем на восемь графств, и все теоретически являлись вассалами французской короной. Ко времени Первого крестового похода они в значительной степени объединились и смогли принять участие в Реконкисте, продвигаясь на юг вплоть до Тортосы, взятой в 1148 году. Главное, что нужно подчеркнуть, что все эти королевства находились под сильным военным влиянием южной Франции начиная с XI века. Тем не менее, между различными регионами на Севере Испании существовали четкие различия. Так, Наварра, будучи почти исключительно страной гор и долин, никогда не стремилась прорваться на равнины центральной Иберии. Именно поэтому главную роль в ее войске играла пехота. Более того: наваррские пехотинцы, вооруженные длинными копьями, высоко ценились и использовались в качестве наемников во многих частях Западной Европы XII века. То же самое относится к соседним и похожим в военном отношении баскам и гасконам. О последних известно, что они часто использовали луки вместо дротиков. Наваррская пехота пользовалась популярностью и в XIV веке, когда королевство Наварра само начало использовать наемные мусульманские войска, возможно из области Тудела. Считается, что именно эти всадники стали предшественниками более поздней испанской конницы гинетов, одетых в кольчуги и вооруженных короткими копьями, мечами и щитами.


Испанские воины из «Памплонской иллюстрированной Библии и Жития святых», датируемой 1200 г. (Библиотека университета Аугсбурга)


Этот же источник. Изображение всадников, сражающихся с пехотинцами. Обратите внимание на необычной формы вымпелы на копьях и то, что кони уже покрыты попонами.

В Арагоне легкая кавалерия также стала играть важную роль, поскольку королевство стало расширять свои владения по равнине Эбро. Тем временем большинство арагонских наемников, воевавших за пределами Пиренейского полуострова, все также были пехотинцами. Наиболее известными и характерными для таких арагонских войск были альмогавары или «разведчики». Альмогавары известны тем, что в течение XIII—XIV веков помимо Испании воевали в качестве наемников в Италии, Латинской империи и в Леванте. Альмогавары как правило были родом из горных областей Арагона, а также Каталонии и Наварры. Обычно они носили легкий шлем, кожаные доспехи, бриджи и полугетры на ногах из овечьих и козьих шкур; а на ногах грубые кожаные сандалии.

Рыцари и рыцарство трёх веков. Рыцари Испании: Арагон, Наварра и Каталония (часть 6)

Войска альмогаваров во время завоевания Мальорки. Готическая фреска из Сало дель Тинель (Тронный зал королевского дворца) в Барселоне.


Х. Морено Карбонеро. Вступление Рожера де Флора в Константинополь (1888). На переднем плане — альмогавары.

Вооружением альмогаваров являлись короткие копья, использовавшиеся для метания, либо более легкие дротики, а также широкий тесак, аналог фелчена, висевший на кожаном ремне вместе с хозяйственным мешком либо сумкой для мелочей вроде кремня и трута. За достойную плату они служили и городам, и монархам, и церкви, и не удивительно, что и наемники швейцарцы и те же самые ландскнехты появились уже позднее. Раньше в них не было такой надобности и к тому же те же швейцарские кантоны вначале серьезных войн не вели. А наемников поставляли такие государства, как Шотландия, Ирландия и… Наварра с Каталонией, и Арагон!


Б. Рибо-и-Терриз[ca]. Педро Великий в битве при перевале Паниссар в ходе Арагонского крестового похода 1284 – 1285 гг. (ок. 1866). Слева — альмогавары.

Что касается конницы, то, например, известно, что каталонские всадники еще служили наемниками в мусульманских войсках Мурабитов в начале XII века, но уже к XIII веку самыми ценимыми среди профессиональных каталонских солдат стали… арбалетчики! Дело в том, что и каталонцы и арагонцы активно воевали на море, и здесь использование арбалета приобрело особое значение. К тому же его применение против мусульман не попадало под ограничения христианских Соборов, а это было важно. Солдаты того времени были людьми набожными и помнили, что грешников ожидает ад и геенна огненная, поэтому по возможности старались воевать, но не грешить! Огнестрельное оружие в Испании стало использоваться довольно рано. Например, известно, что в 1359 году Арагон использовал бомбарды для защиты одного из портов.


Фреска с изображением битвы при Портопи, ок. 1285 – 1290 гг. из дворца Беренгера д'Агилара в Барселоне, которая сегодня хранится в Национальном музее искусства Каталонии в Барселоне.


Фрагмент фрески с изображением битвы при Портопи. На ней изображен Гильем Рамон де Монкада или Гильермо II сеньор Монткады и Кастельви де Розанес (в Каталонии), виконт Беарна, Марсана, Габардана и Брулуа (на юго-западе современной Франции). На его щите, сюрко, шлеме и конской попоне, передняя часть которой сделана из кольчуги (!), изображен герб Монкады и Беарна.

Интересно, что пехота альмогаваров шла в бой с каталонским боевым кличем «Desperta Ferro!» (Проснись, железо!). При этом они еще и высекали искры из камней и скал, ударяя по ним наконечниками копий и дротиков! Первое упоминание об этом их кличе встречается в описании битвы при Гальяно (1300), и также о нем сообщается в «Хронике» Рамона Мунтанера. Другими вариантами боевого клича были призывы: Aragó, Aragó! (Арагон, Арагон!), Via Sus! Via Sus!, Sant Jordi! Sant Jordi! (Святой Георгий! Святой Георгий!), Sancta Maria! Sancta Maria! (Святая Мария! Святая Мария!).


Эффигия Берната де Брулля, 1345 г. (Церковь Сант Пере де Вальфероса, Сольсана Каталония). Почему-то на нем нет сюрко, но зато хорошо видно кольчужное оплечье с капюшоном и приплетенные к рукавам кольчужные перчатки с пальцами. На ногах латные поножи.

Эффигий в Испании сохранилось довольно много, что позволяет нам достаточно хорошо представить себе, как были вооружены испанские рыцари 1050 – 1350 гг. Вот, например, эффигия члена семьи Кастеллет, ок. 1330 г., из базилики Санта-Марии, в Виллафранка-дель-Пенадес в Каталонии. Налицо полное сходство между ней и изображением христианских воинов, изображенных на настенной росписи «Завоевание Майорки». Самая заметная деталь – это кафтаны-сюрко с рукавами средней длины и украшенные геральдическими изображениями, надетые поверх доспехов. К 1330 году каталонский рыцарь также уже носил латные рукавицы с раструбами-манжетами и покрытые металлом наголенники.


Эффигия Гуго де Червелло, ок. 1334 г. (Базилика Санта-Марии, в Вильяфранка-дель-Пенедес, Каталония) Для названного года его снаряжение может показаться уже устаревшим!

Эффигия Бернадо де Минориса, Каталония, ок. 1330 (церковь Санта-Мария-де-ла-Сео, Манреса, Испания) напротив, показывает нам рыцаря, который носит новейшее европейское оружие и доспехи. И он действительно больше похож на рыцарей восточной Франции и Германии, чем на своих испанских соотечественников. Его кольчужный капюшон надет на мягкую основу, из-за чего его голова кажется практически квадратной, и почему так, кстати говоря, понятно – это нужно, чтобы на голове было удобнее носить большой шлем с плоским верхом. Пластинчатой брони на руках у него нет, и единственным признаком того, что он может носить что-либо еще, кроме кольчужного хауберка, является его сюрко, которое вполне может скрывать дополнительный доспех из пластин. Ноги прикрыты наголенниками, а на ступнях сабатоны. В руках у него очень большой меч, а на ремне справа подвешен кинжал.


Эффигия дона Альваро де Кабреры Младшего из церкви Санта-Мария-де-Бельпюи-де-лас-Авелланас, Лерида, Каталония, 1299 г. (Метрополитен-музей, Нью-Йорк)

Но самым замечательным образцом среди всех испанских эффигий является скульптура на саркофаге, принадлежащая дону Альваро де Кабрере Младшему из церкви Санта-Мария-де-Бельпюи-де-лас-Авелланас, в Лериде, в Каталонии. Она имеет целый ряд отличительных черт, характерных для испанского, итальянского и, возможно, византийско-балканского оружия. Прежде всего это касается латного горжета для защиты шеи, прикрепленного к воротнику, лежащему на плечах. Для времени изготовления эффигии это была очень современная вещь. В украшении воротника использован тот же цветочный мотив, который виден и на заклепках на верхней части сюрко, и на сабатонах фигуры. Почти наверняка это говорит о том, что под тканью имелась какая-то металлическая или кожаная подкладка из чешуи, либо металлических пластин, которые, однако, эта ткань скрывает.


Реконструкция внешнего вида доспехов Альваро де Кабрера Младшего (на рис. справа). Рис. Ангуса МакБрайда.

Среди других особенностей, представляющих интерес, следует отметить рукавицы с удивительно длинными манжетами, которые, по сути, заменяют такую важную часть латного доспеха, как вамбрас. Хотя и кажется, что они металлические, но скорее всего сделаны они были из кожи. Наголенники имеют шарнирные крепления и поэтому почти наверняка сделаны из железа. Сабатоны из пластин, при этом заклепки имеют цветочный узор, сравнимый с узором заклепок на сюрко.

Продолжение следует…
Автор:
Статьи из этой серии:
Рыцари и рыцарство трёх веков. Ч. 5. Рыцари Франции. Центральные и южные районы
Рыцари и рыцарство трёх веков. Рыцари Ирландии (часть 4)
Рыцари и рыцарство трёх веков. Рыцари Шотландии (часть 3)
Рыцари и рыцарство трёх веков. Рыцарство и рыцари Англии и Уэльса. Часть 2
Рыцари и рыцарство трёх веков. Рыцарство и рыцари Северной Франции. Часть 1
23 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. polpot
    polpot 19 марта 2019 05:55 Новый
    +2
    Спасибо , очень интересно.
  2. sivuch
    sivuch 19 марта 2019 10:41 Новый
    +2
    Вячеслав , я как-то привык думать , что Реконкиста началась с Астурии , которая потом стала Леоном
    , продолжилась в Каталонии и лишь затем возникло королевство Памплона .
    1. kalibr
      19 марта 2019 12:39 Новый
      +4
      Ничего конкретного сказать Вам не могу. Я взял все подробности истории в книге Д.Николя. Мой был просто перевод. Меня лично больше интересуют оружие и доспехи...
      1. sivuch
        sivuch 19 марта 2019 13:24 Новый
        +2
        К этой части претензий нет
    2. Decimam
      Decimam 19 марта 2019 13:24 Новый
      +4
      Вячеслав , я как-то привык думать , что Реконкиста началась с Астурии
      Честно говоря, не понял предмет спора. Специально прочитал еще раз статью, но нигде не нашел, чтобы автор постулат о начале Реконкисты с Астурии подверг сомнению. Да он этого и не мог сделать, так как цикл ограничен рамками 1050-1350 гг. н.э., а Реконкиста с Астурии - 718 г. н.э.
  3. 3x3zsave
    3x3zsave 19 марта 2019 18:02 Новый
    +4
    Спасибо за статью, Вячеслав Олегович! Имея собственное мнение, хотелось бы узнать, чем всё-таки руководствовался г-н Николь, в выборе временных рамок? Прошу извинения за настырность, тщащуюся потешить самолюбие: вдруг наши взгляды совпадают! "Кардинал и галантерейщик - это сила!"
    1. kalibr
      19 марта 2019 20:17 Новый
      +3
      Его книга называлась "Оружие и доспехи крестононосной эры 1050-1350". Известно, что первый крестовый поход планировался еще папой Львом 9-ым и как раз около 1050 года. Почему взята дата 1350 год я не знаю. Возможно это связано со спорами английских историков относительно "эпохи кольчуги". Для них между "белыми латами" и "эпохой кольчуги" лежит "эпоха кольчужно-пластинчатой брони". Спорят о ее продолжительности и годы называют разные. Для меня начало "белых доспехов" 1410 год, а переходный период как раз начинается с 1350 г. Если так, то это низший порог "переходного периода" и высший - "эпохи кольчуги". Я бы лично взял период в 1000 лет с 700 по 1700 год и, возможно я так и сделаю, но пока на столь масштабную работу просто нет времени. Вот летом поезжу по Европе, понаберу материал... Тогда!
      1. 3x3zsave
        3x3zsave 19 марта 2019 20:25 Новый
        +3
        Спасибо! Понял. Я немного иначе отношусь к истории развития европейской цивилизации и динамике прогресса доспеха, в том числе.
        1. kalibr
          19 марта 2019 20:40 Новый
          +3
          Ну, тут уж я ничего поделать не могу...
        2. Decimam
          Decimam 19 марта 2019 21:08 Новый
          +3
          Временные рамки с 1050 до конца тринадцатого века - практически стандартные для книг, в которых описывается среденевековое вооружение. Колебания в ту или иную сторону незначительны. Защитное вооружение в этот период менялось мало, как раз в эти рамки "эпоха кольчуги" и вписывается.
          1. kalibr
            19 марта 2019 21:28 Новый
            +3
            Да, скорее всего так и есть. Во всяком случае подобных взглядов придерживался Э.Окшотт.
            1. Decimam
              Decimam 19 марта 2019 21:45 Новый
              +2
              И не только он. Я сейчас просмотрел бегло библиотеку по теме. Benjamin Arnold, Robert D. Smith, Kelly DeVries, J.F. Verbruggen - у всех то же.
        3. kalibr
          21 марта 2019 13:57 Новый
          +1
          Только сейчас - уж простите, Антон, - сообразил, что надо спросить: в чем это "немного" проявляется и на чем оно основывается. Интересно. Это же не экстрасенсорная перцепция... откуда-то Вам в голову и с чего-то такие мысли пришли. С чего и какие?
          1. 3x3zsave
            3x3zsave 21 марта 2019 17:33 Новый
            +1
            На мой взгляд, Вячеслав Олегович, Средневековье закончилось в середине 14в. Собственно, об этом и планировал написать материал и даже наваял 50%, но злодейка-судьба постоянно вносит свои коррективы.
            1. kalibr
              21 марта 2019 19:28 Новый
              +1
              Это непростительно! Боритесь с ней!!!
              1. 3x3zsave
                3x3zsave 21 марта 2019 19:53 Новый
                +2
                Вячеслав Олегович, я Вам буду рассказывать, что когда что-то пишешь, особенно публицистику, постоянно возникают новые данные, которых до сей поры не знал. Ими тоже очень хочется поделиться, однако статья, при этом распухает до размеров монографии. И важно понять, что уровень материала "Техника молодёжи" - это та золотая середина, которая необходима и достаточна. Все остальное - суета и утомление духа, и тема для другого цикла. Я учусь непривычной для меня работе. А судьба - ну так уж вышло...
                1. kalibr
                  22 марта 2019 06:42 Новый
                  +1
                  Цитата: 3x3zsave
                  буду рассказывать, что когда что-то пишешь, особенно публицистику, постоянно возникают новые данные, которых до сей поры не знал. Ими тоже очень хочется поделиться, однако статья, при этом распухает до размеров монографии. И важно понять, что уровень материала "Техника молодёжи" - это та золотая середина, которая необходима и достаточна. Все остальное - суета и утомление духа, и тема для другого цикла. Я учусь непривычной для меня работе. А судьба - ну так уж вышло...

                  Все так! Все правильно... Надо уметь вовремя остановиться. Вы не бойтесь, что Вам напишут статья поверхностная. А "не поверхностную" никто и читать не будет. Мне лично всегда было очень интересно наблюдать за процессом перехода чисто бытового интереса в профессиональный. У Вас сейчас именно такой период и он сложный. Пока лишь совет такой: объять необъятное не пытайтесь, а напишите материал в 9000 знаков.
                  1. 3x3zsave
                    3x3zsave 22 марта 2019 19:36 Новый
                    +1
                    Вероятно, так и будет. Вернусь к изначальному варианту. Остальные наработки пойдут в другом цикле.
                    И ещё. Я Вам очень благодарен за внимание к моей скромной персоне!
                    1. kalibr
                      22 марта 2019 21:27 Новый
                      +1
                      Антон! Будущее принадлежит молодым. Таким, как Николай, Михаил, как Вы. Может быть Вы и не так молоды, как... но в любом случае моложе меня. А значит Вы можете сделать много такого, что не сделал я. Как-то уже писал, что много потерял, что всю жизнь был окружен дураками. По-житейски... И вместо того, чтобы взять меня за руку и просто отвести куда надо, они надували щеки, делали умные лица и говорили мне: "Ты должен получить форму №6". Да... понятно... а как? А я не знал, что в ответ надо сказать и чего попросить. Молод был, неопытен. Теперь я все знаю. И мне это держать в себе? Смысл? Конкуренция? Не страшно... Ну сколько еще я смогу работать в таком темпе? А Вы многое сможете и почему бы Вам не помочь. Тем более, что я особо и не сделал ничего... Так что если что - обращайтесь!
                      1. 3x3zsave
                        3x3zsave 22 марта 2019 21:48 Новый
                        +1
                        Вячеслав Олегович! Спасибо Вам за всё, что Вы для меня делаете!
                        Просто, без изысков.
                        Спасибо!
  4. kalibr
    20 марта 2019 07:10 Новый
    +1
    Цитата: Decimam
    J.F. Verbruggen -

    Д. Николь большой его поклонник. Во всех своих работах на него ссылается. Совсем меня им... "зодолбал". Я попросил прислать "самую главную его работу" и он прислал ксерокопию. Да, действительно... Теперь - ха-ха, я ее тоже везде вставляю.
    1. Decimam
      Decimam 20 марта 2019 15:45 Новый
      +1
      Применительно к теме Вашего цикла, это должно быть "The Art of Warfare in Western Europe During the Middle Ages. From the Eighth Century to 1340".
  5. Turkir
    Turkir 24 ноября 2019 06:22 Новый
    0
    В 1303 году Рожер и его каталанская дружина по приглашению императора Андроника II прибыли в Константинополь, чтобы противодействовать продвижению османов на запад