Armory of the Doge's Palace. Armor and weapons

Like a giant lily, you conceived
From the blue sea, whose abyss has protected
Your houses, palaces, your temple, your sails,
And solar power, and a knightly outfit.

Henry Longfellow. Venice. Translation by V.V. Levik


Military museums of Europe. In Hall No. 2 of the Armory of the Doges Palace there is a very interesting trophy: a triangular standard captured in the famous battle of Lepanto in 1571. Along the perimeter, verses from the Koran are embroidered on it, and the inscription in the center proclaims the glory of Allah and his prophet Muhammad. Here you can see the genuine armor of the French king Henry IV, which were presented to the Republic of Venice in 1603. On the chest of their cuirasses there is a mark from the bullet, that is, it is obvious that after manufacture they were subjected to a kind of strength test. It is interesting that the weight of most of them does not exceed 23 kg, that is, they are not so heavy to wear. There is also a very rare medieval armor on display - the brigandine, which represented a carapace of plates sewn from the inside onto fabric. And why this is such a rarity, it is clear: metal can withstand much, but the fabric, alas, does not have its strength. There is also the armor of the Admiral of the Venetian Navy Francesco Duodo, who heroically fought at Lepanto, which adorn both the lions of St. Mark and arabesques in a purely oriental style. In the same room are exhibited 15-century chanphrons - head-covers for protecting the heads of horses; several two-handed swords and two richly decorated halberds.


And this is what the “College Room” looked like in the painting by Francesco Guardi (second half of the 18th century)



Here she is, this brigandine!


Hall No. 3, or “Morosini Hall”, got its name from the bust of Francesco Morosini in a niche at the end of the room. As a Venetian admiral, he became the supreme commander of the Venetian fleet during the war with the Turks in the 1684-1688 years, re-conquered the Peloponnese received the title of Peloponneseako ("conqueror of the Peloponnese"), and was elected a doge in 1688 year. Moreover, Morozini's military victories were such that he was the only person in all history The Republic of Venice, which was awarded a monument from the state, put to him during his lifetime. In this room you can see an amazing number of swords in the characteristic Venetian style, halberds, crossbows and their quivers, marked with the letters CX, which are also visible on the doorposts, which indicate only their belonging ... to the Council of Ten - the highest organ of the Republic of Venice. X. Another noteworthy exhibit is a small, exquisitely decorated cannon-gun, dating from the mid-16th century.


The swords of Venice in 1480-1490 and sixth-century shoppers. Venice and Hungary. They had a horizontal crosshair, curved in the shape of the letter "S". Traditional weapon doge guard



Below - the Venetian swords of Skiavona 1480-1490 gg .; above two-handed swords are the spadons of mercenary Landsknechts 1560 – 1580; Morion-Cabasset type helmets, second half of the 16th century, Brescia



Handle to match the sword!


Hall No.4. In this room, various samples of firearms of the XVI and XVII centuries are stored. The collection also includes some instruments of torture, as well as a chastity belt and some instruments of torture, but the main thing is, of course, all kinds of muskets and pistols. The collection of pistols and arquebuses - the ancestors of modern rifles - owned by the Doge's Palace, contains rare and valuable specimens, mainly made by German gunsmiths or who worked in the republic in Brescia. Some are completely metal, others have wooden handles and are very richly decorated with gilding and ivory and mother of pearl inserts. There are also models made in the East, such as, for example, seven Persian arquebuses, which, no doubt, were donated to Doge Marino Grimani (1595-1605) by ambassadors from this distant country.



In this photo we see a German Reitars pistol with two locks (at the top), but one barrel, charged sequentially 1560 d. By the way, the ball on its handle is not at all designed to hit the enemy on the head like a club. Inside, it is empty and this container was intended for storing spare pyrite, a pistol with an Eastern-use wheel lock and a German pistol, which was used primarily by travelers


There are many crossbows in the collection and this is one of them, but very unusual: a small steel crossbow with a length of only 27 centimeters, found in 1664 from a certain Giovanni Maria Zerbinelli, who was hanged after they found this weapon from him. It was strictly forbidden to store such portable weapons in Venice at that time! Next to them are torture instruments: a collar with spikes and a "key" for the fingers. Their owner Francesco Novello da Carrare, ruler of Padua, was strangled in the cellars of the Doge's Palace in 1405 with his sons, accused of possessing these and other “cruel objects” and using them to torture his captives.


Crossbow by Giovanni Zerbinelli and the Torture Instruments Francesco Novello


Among the most amazing exhibits, which could have been given a separate article, are samples of hybrid weapons, and there are more than 180 copies here! These are shooting clubs and hybrids of a pistol and ax, crossbows and arquebus hybrids, a mace gun and a sixth gun, a slaver pistol, an ax ax and even ... a horn pistol!

Present on display and an impressive collection of helmets. Here and “a grand bacinet, with a mantle that a simple bacinet did not have, and salads of various kinds, and barbut helmets.


Grand bacinet



Salad of the 15th century



Salad with a moving visor, approx. 1450



Bologna Salad reinforced with a head-plate, approx. 1490



Barbut helmet was considered an Italian invention and in the same Germany was called "Italian Salad." Moreover, it is very often covered with fabric. Here's how this one, for example, a typical Italian barbut in shape, approx. 1470



Ceremonial barbutes - and there were some - could be covered with raspberry velvet and carried chased gilded copper jewelry



But this is a hybrid of Morion and Cabasset - Morion Cabasset, also called the “Spanish Morion”. As for the name, the word "morion" comes from the Spanish word "morra" - "crown", and there are a lot of such helmets in the collection of the Armory as well, and it is not surprising, because the Swiss Pope’s guard still wears them. But the cabasset in its shape was like a bottle pumpkin, calabash, and it was from it that it got its name! And Morion, and the cassette, and their hybrid, were very convenient primarily for arquebuzirs, since the fields bent up did not prevent them from shooting at the walls of the fortresses

The exhibition has many halberds (introduced to Italy by Swiss mercenaries at the beginning of the 15th century and, curiously, still used by the Swiss Vatican Guard, it certainly makes it perhaps the most famous medieval weapon that has survived to this day!). In addition to halberds, there are glaives, corsets, protazins, in a word, pole arms for every taste. That's just to photograph it, and even through the glass, well, it’s just very inconvenient.


In addition to helmets for people, there are also chanphrons in the exposition - headgear for horses!



You don’t even know how prettier!



There is also a very beautiful, albeit small-caliber cannon-gun, presented to him in 1576 by the heirs of one of the Doges. It looks like an example of high foundry art, and not a device for killing - that’s what you can say about it


There are also completely original examples of firearms: a five-shot ship’s revolving cannon made by master Giovanni Bittista Comin in 1621. That's just she recharged for too long!



Another prototype of a machine gun: a twenty-barrel cannon with a rotary block of trunks of master Giovanni Maria Bergamin, who got here in the weapons room of the palace in the 1622 year. She had a mechanism of vertical and horizontal aiming and, as it is believed, could shoot at a speed of 500 rounds per minute!



Trophy ship lights captured in Turkish galleys at the Battle of Lepanto in 1571




Overwhelmed by the impressions of what we saw, we leave the halls of the Armory, again follow the signs on the walls and get ... inside the famous "Bridge of Sighs", leading from the Doge's Palace to the neighboring building, where the prison was located. There was a prison in the palace itself, and at the very top, under a lead roof, where the prisoners froze in the winter and literally roasted in the summer from the incredible heat.


This is how this bridge looks from the outside. I had never thought that I could happen to be inside him



Lattice in its window from the inside



Tourists here, of course, have something to photograph, but actually being inside this "humpbacked bridge" is a little creepy. And some start to get lost in the narrow underground passages and then, meeting you, they ask in frightened voices: “How do you get out of here?” The best answer: “No way!” And a sardonic laugh in addition!


That's all the unfortunate prisoner could see, setting off across this bridge into prison, casting a last look through the slots of the grill. And it’s sad to sigh ... This is where the name of the bridge came from, that the people who walked along it always sighed very bitterly



Then this door slammed behind them ...



The “window to the world" for them was the window behind this truly monstrous iron grate!



In the prison corridor. Author at work


This usually ends with a visit to the Doge's Palace. Although, you should not rush out of it, but have a bite to eat with real Venetian pizza right there, in the dungeon, in the cafe, watching how gondolas float past you right behind its glass door. Romance, however!


Here is the door ...
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

80 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Оружейная палата Дворца дожей. Доспехи и оружие

Подобный лилии гигантской, ты зачат
От моря синего, чья бездна охранила
Твои дома, дворцы, твой храм, твои ветрила,
И солнечную мощь, и рыцарский наряд.

Генри Лонгфелло. Венеция. Перевод В. В. Левика


Военные музеи Европы. В зале №2 Оружейной палаты Дворца дожей есть очень интересный трофей: треугольный штандарт, захваченный в знаменитой битве при Лепанто в 1571 году. По периметру на нем вышиты стихи из Корана, а надпись в центре провозглашает славу Аллаху и пророку его Мухаммеду. Здесь же можно увидеть подлинные доспехи французского короля Генриха IV, которые были подарены Венецианской республике в 1603 году. На груди их кирасы имеется отметина от пули, то есть очевидно, что после изготовления они были подвергнуты своеобразной проверке на прочность. Интересно, что вес большинства из них не превышает 23 кг, то есть не так уж они и тяжелы в носке. Есть в экспозиции и очень редкий средневековый доспех – бригандина, представлявшая панцирь из пластинок, нашитых изнутри на ткань. И почему это такая редкость, понятно: металл может выдержать многое, а вот ткань, увы, его прочностью не обладает. Есть здесь и доспехи адмирала венецианского флота Франческо Дуодо, героически сражавшегося при Лепанто, которые украшают и львы Святого Марка, и арабески в чисто восточном вкусе. В этом же зале выставлены шанфроны XV века – наголовники для защиты голов лошадей; несколько двуручных мечей и две богато украшенные алебарды.


А вот так выглядел «Зал Коллегии» на картине Франческо Гварди (вторая половина XVIII века)



Вот она, эта бригандина!


Зал №3, или «Зал Морозини», получил свое название от бюста Франческо Морозини в нише в конце комнаты. Будучи венецианским адмиралом, он стал верховным главнокомандующим венецианским флотом во время войны с турками в 1684-1688 годах, повторно завоевал Пелопоннес получил титул Пелопоннесиако («покоритель Пелопоннеса»), и был избран дожем в 1688 году. Причем военные победы Морозини были таковы, что он был единственным человеком за всю историю Венецианской республики, который был удостоен памятника от государства, поставленного ему при жизни. В этой комнате можно видеть потрясающее количество мечей в характерном венецианском стиле, алебард, арбалетов и их колчанов, помеченных буквами CX, которые видны также и на дверных косяках, которые обозначают всего лишь их принадлежность… Совету десяти – высшему органу Венецианской республики. X. Еще один заслуживающий внимания экспонат — маленькая изящно украшенная пушка-кулеврина, датируемая серединой XVI века.


Венецианские мечи скъявоны 1480-1490 гг. и шестоперы XVI в. Венеция и Венгрия. Имели горизонтальное перекрестие, изогнутое в форме буквы «S». Традиционное оружие гвардии дожей



Внизу – венецианские мечи скъявоны 1480-1490 гг.; вверху двуручные мечи спадоны наемников-ландскнехтов 1560–1580 гг.; шлемы типа морион-кабассет, вторая половина XVI в., Брешиа



Рукоять под стать мечу!


Зал №4. В этой комнате хранятся различные образцы огнестрельного оружия XVI и XVII веков. Коллекция включает в себя также некоторые инструменты пыток, а также пояс верности и некоторые орудия пыток, но главное это, конечно, всевозможные мушкеты и пистолеты. Коллекция пистолетов и аркебуз — предков современных винтовок — принадлежащая Дворцу Дожей, содержит редкие и ценные экземпляры, в основном сделанные немецкими оружейниками или работавшими на территориях республики в Брешии. Некоторые полностью металлические, другие имеют деревянные рукоятки и очень богато украшены позолотой и вставками из слоновой кости и перламутра. Есть также модели, сделанные на Востоке, такие, например, как семь персидских аркебуз, которые, без сомнения, были подарены дожу Марино Гримани (1595-1605 гг.) послами из этой далекой страны.



На этом фото мы видим немецкий рейтарский пистолет с двумя замками (вверху), но одним стволом, заряжавшийся последовательно 1560 г. Кстати, шарик на его рукояти совсем не предназначен для того, чтобы бить противника по голове, как дубиной. Внутри он пустой и эта емкость предназначалась для хранения запасного пирита, пистолет с колесцовым замком восточной работы и германский пистолет, которым пользовались прежде всего путешественники


Арбалетов в коллекции много и это один из них, но очень необычный: маленький стальной арбалет длиной всего 27 сантиметров, найденный в 1664 году у некоего Джованни Марии Зербинелли, которого повесили после того, как это оружие у него нашли. В Венеции хранить подобное портативное оружие в то время строго запрещалось! Рядом с ними это орудия пытки: ошейник с шипами и «ключ» для пальцев. Их владелец Франческо Новелло да Карраре, правитель Падуи, был задушен в подвалах Дворца дожей в 1405 году вместе с сыновьями, будучи обвинен в том, что он владел этими и другими «жестокими предметами» и использовал их для пыток своих пленников.


Арбалет Джованни Зербинелли и орудия пытки Франческо Новелло


К числу самых удивительных экспонатов, которым вполне можно было бы уделить отдельную статью, относятся образцы гибридного оружия, причем их здесь больше 180 экземпляров! Это стреляющие палицы и гибриды пистолета и топора, гибриды арбалета и аркебуза, пистолет-булава и пистолет-шестопер, пистолет-клевец, пистолет секира и даже… пистолет-рогатина!

Присутствует в экспозиции и впечатляющая коллекция шлемов. Тут и «гранд бацинет, с оплечьем, которого не имел простой бацинет, и салады разных видов, и шлемы барбюты.


Гранд-бацинет



Салад XV в.



Салад с подвижным забралом, ок. 1450 г.



Болонский салад, усиленный налобной пластиной, ок. 1490 г.



Шлем барбют считался итальянским изобретением и в той же Германии назывался «итальянским саладом». Причем его очень часто покрывали тканью. Вот как этот, например, типичный по форме итальянский барбют, ок. 1470 г.



Парадные барбюты – а были и такие, — могли обтягиваться малиновым бархатом и несли на себе чеканные позолоченные украшения из меди



А вот это уже гибрид мориона и кабассета – морион-кабассет, называвшийся также «испанским морионом». Что касается названия, то слово «морион» происходит от испанского слова «морра» — «макушка», и таких шлемов в коллекции Оружейной палаты тоже очень много, да и неудивительно, ведь их до сих пор носит швейцарская гвардия римского Папы. А вот кабассет своей формой походил на бутылочную тыкву-калебасе и именно от нее и получил свое название! И морион, и кабассет, и их гибрид, были весьма удобны прежде всего для аркебузиров, так как загнутые кверху поля не мешали им стрелять по стенам крепостей

В экспозиции множество алебард (завезена в Италию швейцарскими наемниками в начале XV века и, что любопытно, все еще используется швейцарской гвардией Ватикана, безусловно, делает ее едва ли не самым известным средневековым оружием, сохранившемуся до сих пор!). Кроме алебард здесь имеются глефы, корсеки, протазаны, словом древковое оружие на любой вкус. Вот только фотографировать его, да еще через стекло, ну просто очень неудобно.


Кроме шлемов для людей, в экспозиции есть и шанфроны – наголовники для коней!



Даже не знаешь, какой красивее!



Есть в экспозиции и очень красивая, хотя и малокалиберная пушка-кулеврина, подаренная ему в 1576 году наследниками одного из дожей. Выглядит, как образец высокого литейного искусства, а не приспособление для убийства – вот что про нее можно сказать


Здесь же имеются и совсем оригинальные образцы огнестрельного оружия: корабельная пятизарядная револьверная пушка, изготовленная мастером Джованни Биттистой Комином в 1621 году. Вот только перезаряжалась она слишком уж долго!



Еще один прообраз пулемета: двадцатиствольная пушка с поворотным блоком стволов мастера Джованни Марии Бергамин, попавшая сюда, в оружейную комнату дворца, в 1622 году. Она имела механизм вертикальной и горизонтальной наводки и, как считают, могла стрелять со скоростью 500 выстрелов в минуту!



Трофейные корабельные светильники, захваченные на турецких галерах в битве при Лепанто в 1571 году




Переполненные впечатлениями от увиденного мы покидаем залы Оружейной палаты, опять же следует за указателями на стенах и попадаем… внутрь знаменитого «Моста вздохов», ведущего из Дворца дожей в соседнее здание, где находилась тюрьма. Была тюрьма и в самом дворце, причем на самом верху, под свинцовой крышей, где узники зимой замерзали, а летом буквально поджаривались от неимоверного зноя.


Вот так этот мост выглядит снаружи. Никогда раньше не думал, что доведется оказаться у него внутри



Решетка в его окне изнутри



Туристам здесь, конечно, есть, что фотографировать, но вообще-то находиться внутри этого «горбатого моста» немного жутковато. А некоторые начинают плутать в узких подземных переходах и потом, встретив тебя, спрашивают испуганными голосами: «А как отсюда выходят?» Самый лучший ответ: «Никак!» И сардонический смех вдобавок!


Вот все, что мог увидеть несчастный узник, отправлявшийся по этому мосту в темницу, бросив последний взгляд через прорези решетки. И печально вздохнуть… Отсюда и пошло название моста, что люди, шедшие по нему, всегда очень горько вздыхали



Потом за ними захлопывалась вот эта дверь…



«Окном в мир» для них становилось окно вот за этой поистине чудовищной железной решеткой!



В тюремном коридоре. Автор за работой


На этом обычно визит во Дворец дожей и заканчивается. Хотя, стоит не торопиться из него выходить, а закусить настоящей венецианской пиццей прямо там, в подземелье, в кафе, глядя как прямо за его стеклянной дверью мимо тебя проплывают гондолы. Романтика, однако!


Вот эта дверь…
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

80 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти