75 years ago, Soviet troops stormed Budapest

75 years ago, Soviet troops stormed Budapest
Submachine gunners of the 3rd Ukrainian Front in street battles for Budapest. January 1945

The Agony of the Third Reich. 75 years ago, on February 13, 1945, Soviet troops completed the assault on the capital of Hungary, the city of Budapest. The successful completion of the Budapest operation dramatically changed the entire strategic situation on the southern wing of the Soviet-German front and facilitated the advance of the Red Army in the Berlin direction.

The Hungarian capital, troops of the 2nd Ukrainian Front under the command of Marshal R. Ya. Malinovsky and the 3rd Ukrainian Front, Marshal F.I. Tolbukhin was blocked on December 26, 1944. Surrounded by 188 thousand German-Hungarian group proposed to fold weapon. However, the Nazis killed the Soviet parliamentarians. Of all the European capitals taken by Soviet troops, Budapest took first place in the duration of street battles.



Firstly, this was due to the difficult operational situation on the outer ring of the environment, where the Nazis repeatedly tried to free the surrounded garrison of General Pfeffer-Wildenbruch. The Germans launched strong counterattacks with powerful mobile units. This made it difficult to concentrate on defeating the garrison of the city. Secondly, the Soviet command, in order to preserve the Hungarian capital, where there were many historical monuments, and to avoid serious destruction in a crowded city, tried to avoid the use of heavy artillery and aircraft. All this dragged on the capture of Budapest.


Troops of the 3rd Ukrainian Front in the battles for Budapest. January 1945


Soviet gunners are preparing to open fire from the 152-mm howitzer ML-20 in Budapest, on Calvary Square. January 1945


Soviet gunners are preparing to open fire from the 152-mm howitzer ML-20 on Kalwaria Square in Budapest. January - February 1945

The situation in Hungary


In the fall of 1944, the Red Army, having completed the liberation of Romania and Bulgaria, entered the border of Hungary and Yugoslavia. The offensive began on the territory of Hungary, Yugoslavia and Czechoslovakia. Hungary by this time remained the only ally of the Reich. The fighting in Hungary dragged on for almost six months. This was due to the fact that Hitler did his best to keep Hungary, and there were concentrated large forces of the Wehrmacht, including powerful armored forces.

In addition, the Hungarian elite to the last remained faithful to Hitler. True, after the heavy defeat of the Hungarian army on the Middle Don in the winter of 1943 and the great loss of mood in Budapest began to change. But overall, Horthy’s dictatorial regime did not experience big problems, the population was loyal, and resistance was minimal. Only in March 1944 did the Germans openly occupy the country when Horthy began to seek a truce with the anti-Hitler coalition. The first Hungarian partisans appeared only in the autumn of 1944, when the defeat of the Third Reich became apparent and the Red Army triumphantly advanced. On October 6, 1944, the 2nd Ukrainian Front (2nd UV) launched the Debrecen operation. From the very first days, our troops achieved significant results, defeated the 3rd Hungarian army. During the offensive, the eastern part of Hungary and the northern part of Transylvania were liberated.

After this, the dictator of Hungary Miklos Horthy showed flexibility. He fired the pro-German government, and on October 15 the new government announced a truce with the USSR. Hungary's withdrawal from the war exposed the southern flank of the Reich and could lead to isolation of the Balkan Wehrmacht. Germany also needed Hungarian oil. Hitler's reaction was lightning fast. The Germans carried out the Panzerfaust operation. German troops took control of all of Hungary and its army. The Führer’s personal commandos Otto Skorzeny kidnapped the dictator’s son, Horthy Jr. He was put in a concentration camp and informed his father that they would execute him if he showed resistance. Horthy capitulated, he was placed under arrest in Germany. Power was transferred to the leader of the Hungarian Nazi pro-German party Salashi. Hungary continued the war on the side of Germany. To avoid rebellion in the Hungarian army, the Germans divided the Hungarian divisions, they acted as part of the German corps. The remaining compact Hungarian troops, like the 2nd and 3rd armies, were subordinated to the German command. All Hungarian units were at the front, away from Budapest. In the depths of the country, there were almost no Hungarian troops to rely on the government. In the area of ​​the Hungarian capital, German tank formations were concentrated.


Soviet T-34 tanks with assault rifles engage in battle on the outskirts of Budapest. 1944


Soviet soldiers with an M3A1 Scout Car (American-made Lend-Lease-manufactured) reconnaissance armored personnel carrier in battle for a settlement near Budapest. 1945


The Soviet Ford truck (Ford G8T, American-made) drives past the German Pz.Kpfw tank. IV, shot down under Budapest. 1945


A column of Soviet self-propelled guns SU-76M before the march. It is assumed that the picture was taken during the Budapest operation

Budapest operation


On October 29, 1944, the troops of the left wing of the 2nd UV began the Budapest operation. The main blow was inflicted by units of the 46th Army, the 2nd and 4th Guards Mechanized Corps. Here mainly the Hungarian units defended themselves and the defense was weaker. Soviet troops had to go to the city from the southeast and take it on the move. From the northeast, an auxiliary strike was delivered by the 7th Guards Army. The rest of Malinovsky’s troops advanced in the direction of Miskolc. The troops of the 3rd UV (3rd UV) under the leadership of Tolbukhin had just completed the Belgrade operation and began to transfer to Hungary the 57th army, which was concentrated in the Banat area and was supposed to capture the bridgeheads on the Danube.


The left wing of the 2nd UV broke through the enemy’s defenses and by November 2, 1944, our troops reached the approaches to Budapest. However, on the move to take the Hungarian capital failed. The German command transferred 14 divisions here (including three panzer and one motorized division from the Miskolc region), which, relying on a pre-prepared defense system, stopped the further advance of the Soviet troops. The Soviet Headquarters ordered to expand the offensive zone in order to defeat the Budapest group by strikes from the north, east and south. During November 1944, the Soviet armies broke through the enemy’s defenses between the Tissa and Danube rivers and, having advanced up to 100 km, reached the outer defensive contour of Budapest from the south and southeast. Meanwhile, troops of the 3rd UV captured a large bridgehead on the west bank of the Danube. After that, the troops of the center and the left wing of the 2nd UV received the task of creating an encirclement ring around Budapest.

On December 5–9, the troops of the 7th Guards, 6th Guards Tank Armies and the horse-mechanized group of Lieutenant General Pliev intercepted the northern communications of the Wehrmacht Budapest group. On the left wing of the 46th army crossed the Danube south of Budapest. But immediately from the west it was not possible to get around the city. Fierce fighting continued until December 26th. The Soviet command had to throw new powerful formations into battle: the 2nd Guards, 7th Mechanized and 18th Panzer Corps. Only in the 26th troops of the 2nd and 3rd UV united in the area of ​​Esztergom and surrounded almost 190 thousand. enemy grouping.


Submachine gunners of the 3rd Ukrainian Front are fighting on the street of Budapest. 1945


The assault group of the platoon commander of the 60th separate assault engineering and combat engineer battalion of the 12th assault engineering and combat brigade of the Third State Front RGC 3rd Lieutenant Yakov Stepanovich Gorynin in a street battle in Budapest. January 1945


Soviet soldier in a street battle on Ferenc Square in Budapest. February 1945

Storming Budapest


It is worth noting that the German and Hungarian military commanders believed that Budapest should not be defended in conditions of complete encirclement. The Commander-in-Chief of Army Group South Johannes Friesner wanted to level the front line and avoid street fighting. He also noted the strong anti-German sentiment of the inhabitants of the capital. In the rear of the German troops a riot could break out. The commander of the 6th German Army, General Maximilian Fretter-Picot, wanted to retreat behind the Attila Line in order to avoid the threat of encirclement. The Hungarian command also considered the defense of Budapest possible only in the defense zone of the Attila Line. The capital, after breaking through the defensive line and the threat of the environment, was not going to defend. The "national leader" of the Hungarian state of Salashi also feared the uprising of the "rabble of the big city" and believed that troops should be withdrawn to the mountainous regions. The Hungarian leadership proposed declaring Budapest an “open city” and thereby avoiding the destruction of the historic capital.

Hitler did not take into account the arguments of his command and the Hungarian military-political leadership. The troops did not withdraw. The Führer ordered to defend every house, not to take into account losses and by an order of December 1, 1944 declared Budapest a fortress. The commandant of the city appointed the top leader of the SS and the police in Hungary, the general of the SS troops, Obergruppenführer Otto Winkelmann. The 9th SS Mountain Corps under the command of the SS Obergruppenführer Karl Pfeffer-Wildenbruch was handed over to him. In fact, it was he who became the leader of the defense of Budapest. Each stone house became a small fortress, streets and quarters - bastions. For their defense they mobilized all they could. Frisner and Fretter-Picot removed from their posts. Army Group "South" was led by Otto Veller, and the 6th Army - Balck.

After the encirclement there was the possibility of withdrawing a combat-ready core from Budapest. At first, there was no tight circle of encirclement, and the German-Hungarian troops, especially with external support, could break through to their own. But they did not receive such an order. On the contrary, they were instructed from above to stand to the last. As a result, Budapest, with its more than one million people, became the scene of a fierce battle, the “Danube Stalingrad”, due to the fault of the Führer. To capture the city, a Budapest group was formed under the command of General I.M. Afonin (then I.M. Managarov). It consisted of 3 rifle corps and 9 artillery brigades.

The siege of Budapest was delayed due to the heavy fighting that continued in Hungary. The German High Command continued to build up the forces of Army Group U in Hungary. 37 divisions were sent here, sent from other sectors of the front (including the central Berlin direction) and from the Western Front. By the beginning of January 1945, the Germans had concentrated 16 armored and motorized divisions here — half of all the Reich’s armored forces on the Russian front. In January 1945, the Nazis struck three powerful blows with the goal of releasing the Budapest group and leveling the front along the Danube (Operation Konrad).



Interestingly, Hitler did not want to cut through the corridor to Budapest with the goal of withdrawing the garrison there, on the contrary, but he wanted to strengthen it with fresh forces. In his opinion, the “Danube Stalingrad” was to grind the Russian troops and tie them together. It was necessary to keep the western part of Hungary and cover the way to Vienna. Therefore, the Führer categorically rejected any idea of ​​surrendering Budapest and breaking through its garrison towards its own. The Budapest garrison was to keep the city until the arrival of its troops. Therefore, the Pfeffer-Wildenbruch group did not attempt to leave their city towards releasing forces and until the last waited for release. As a result, Hungary became a field of extremely stubborn and fierce battle. So on January 18 - 26, the Germans struck from the area north of Lake Balaton, dismembered the front of the 3rd UV and reached the Danube. The enemy’s breakthrough was eliminated only by the joint efforts of the troops of the 2nd and 3rd UV.

Meanwhile, the forces of the 2nd UV continued the fierce battle for the Hungarian capital. They tried to cut through the enemy’s defenses, and then destroyed separate, isolated enemy garrisons. The tactics of assault groups were actively used. Such a group usually included a platoon of riflemen, sappers, flamethrowers, it was supported by 1-2 tanks or self-propelled guns, guns that were hit by direct fire. On January 18, 1945, our troops took the eastern part of the city - Pest, and on February 13 - the western - Buda. The rest of the German-Hungarian group tried to break out of the city as early as February 11, since the integral defense collapsed and it was necessary to break through or surrender, and the Nazis did not want to surrender. The fighting lasted a few more days. Only a few hundred soldiers and officers were able to leave. The rest were killed or captured. The final cleaning of the city was completed by February 17. Over 138 thousand people were taken prisoner together with the command.


The calculation of the Soviet 76-mm gun ZiS-3 is firing on the street of Budapest. January-February 1945


Soviet submachine gunner at the barricade on Kalwaria Square in Budapest. Under the barricade, made of pavers, lies the corpse of a German soldier. February 1945


Senior sergeant Yevgeny Ivanovich Kosterev and junior sergeant Alexander Dmitrievich Pertyakov from the 1405th anti-aircraft artillery regiment of the 38th anti-aircraft artillery Cherkasy Red Banner Division of the High Command Reserve set the Soviet flag over Budapest. Photo taken on the roof of New York Palace

Results of the operation


Soviet troops liberated the central part of Hungary and Budapest from the Nazis and their local accomplices. The Budapest enemy group was defeated. Hungary withdrawn from the war. The interim government of Hungary on December 28, 1944 decided to withdraw from the war and declared war on the Reich. On January 20, 1945, the Provisional Government entered into a truce with the powers of the anti-Hitler coalition. The Salashi government continued to resist. Hungarian troops fought on the side of the Germans in the Balaton operation and in Austria.

The battle in Hungary, including the Budapest direction, attracted significant Wehrmacht forces, including from the central (Berlin) direction. The battle for Budapest facilitated the Red Army conducting the Wisla-Oder operation, a breakthrough to Berlin.

The defeat of the Budapest enemy grouping seriously changed the situation on the southern wing of the Soviet-German front. A threat was created to the communications of the Balkan group of the Wehrmacht, its withdrawal was accelerated. The Red Army got the opportunity to develop an offensive in Czechoslovakia and Austria.

The Budapest operation is described in more detail in the articles on “VO”: Battle for hungary; The beginning of the siege of Budapest; Breakthrough "Attila Line". The beginning of the Pest assault; Fall Pest. The beginning of the storming of Buda; Strong assault on Buda; Operation "Conrad"; The bloody finale of the Budapest group.


A soldier with a group of captured Hungarian soldiers and officers on the Kinizi street in Budapest. February 1945


Soviet traffic controller at the poster "Death to the German invaders!" On Calvin Square (Erzhebet Square) in Budapest. In the center is the Danubius Fountain (Danube Fountain). February 1945


Soviet machine gunners hoisted a red banner at the entrance to the Hungarian parliament in Budapest. February 1945
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

54 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

75 лет назад советские войска взяли штурмом Будапешт

75 лет назад советские войска взяли штурмом Будапешт
Автоматчики 3-го Украинского фронта в уличных боях за Будапешт. Январь 1945

Агония Третьего рейха. 75 лет назад, 13 февраля 1945 года, советские войска завершили штурм столицы Венгрии, города Будапешта. Успешное окончание Будапештской операции резко изменило всю стратегическую обстановку на южном крыле советско-германского фронта и облегчило наступление Красной Армии на берлинском направлении.

Венгерскую столицу войска 2-го Украинского фронта под началом маршала Р. Я. Малиновского и 3-го Украинского фронта маршала Ф.И. Толбухина блокировали ещё 26 декабря 1944 года. Окружённой 188-тыс. немецко-венгерской группировке предложили сложить оружие. Однако советских парламентёров гитлеровцы убили. Из всех взятых советскими войсками европейских столиц Будапешт занял первое место по длительности уличных боев.



Во-первых, это было связано с тяжелой оперативной обстановкой на внешнем кольце окружения, где гитлеровцы неоднократно пытались освободить окруженный гарнизон генерала Пфеффер-Вильденбруха. Немцы наносили сильные контрудары сильными подвижными соединениями. Это мешало сконцентрироваться на разгроме гарнизона города. Во-вторых, советское командование, чтобы сохранить венгерскую столицу, где было много исторических памятников, и избежать серьёзных разрушений в многолюдном городе, старалось избегать применения тяжелой артиллерии и авиации. Всё это затянуло взятие Будапешта.


Войска 3-го Украинского фронта в боях за Будапешт. Январь 1945


Советские артиллеристы готовятся открыть огонь из 152-мм гаубицы МЛ-20 в Будапеште, на площади Кальвария. Январь 1945


Советские артиллеристы готовятся открыть огонь из 152-мм гаубицы МЛ-20 на площади Кальвария в Будапеште. Январь — февраль 1945

Ситуация в Венгрии


Осенью 1944 года Красная Армия, завершив освобождение Румынии и Болгарии, вышла на границу Венгрии и Югославии. Началось наступление на территории Венгрии, Югославии и Чехословакии. Венгрия к этому времени осталась единственным союзником Рейха. Боевые действия на территории Венгрии затянулись почти на полгода. Это было связано с тем, что Гитлер всеми силами старался удержать Венгрию, и здесь были сосредоточены крупные силы вермахта, включая мощные бронетанковые соединения.

Кроме того, венгерская верхушка до последнего сохраняла верность Гитлеру. Правда, после тяжелого разгрома венгерской армии на среднем Дону зимой 1943 года и больших потерь настроения в Будапеште стали меняться. Но в целом диктаторский режим Хорти не испытывал больших проблем, население было лояльным, а сопротивление минимальным. Только в марте 1944 года немцы открыто оккупировали страну, когда Хорти стал искать перемирия с антигитлеровской коалицией. Первые венгерские партизаны появились лишь осенью 1944 года, когда поражение Третьего рейха стало очевидно и на Балканах победоносно наступала Красная Армия. 6 октября 1944 г. 2- Украинский фронт (2-й УФ) начал Дебреценскую операцию. С первых же дней наши войска добились значительных результатов, разгромили 3-ю венгерскую армию. В ходе наступления была освобождена восточная часть Венгрии и северная часть Трансильвании.

После этого диктатор Венгрии Миклош Хорти проявил гибкость. Он отправил прогерманское правительство в отставку, и 15 октября новое правительство объявило о перемирии с СССР. Выход Венгрии из войны оголял южный фланг Рейха и мог привести к изоляции балканской группировки вермахта. Также Германии нужна была венгерская нефть. Реакция Гитлера была молниеносной. Немцы провели операцию «Панцерфауст». Немецкие войска взяли под контроль всю Венгрию и её армию. Личный спецназовец фюрера Отто Скорцени похитил сына диктатора – Хорти-младшего. Его посадили в концлагерь и сообщили отцу, что казнят, если он окажет сопротивление. Хорти капитулировал, его поместили под арест в Германии. Власть передали лидеру венгерской нацистской прогерманской партии Салаши. Венгрия продолжила войну на стороне Германии. Чтобы избежать мятежа в венгерской армии немцы разделили венгерские дивизии, они действовали в составе германских корпусов. Оставшиеся компактно венгерские войска, как 2-я и 3-я армии, были подчинены германскому командованию. Все венгерские соединение были на фронте, в удалении от Будапешта. В глубине страны почти не осталось венгерских войск, на которые бы могло опереться правительство. В районе венгерской столицы были сосредоточены немецкие танковые соединения.


Советские танки Т-34 с десантом автоматчиков вступают в бой на подступах к Будапешту. 1944


Советские солдаты с бронетранспортёром-разведчиком M3A1 Scout Car (американского производства, поставлявшимся по ленд-лизу) в бою за населенный пункт под Будапештом. 1945


Советский грузовик «Форд» (Ford G8T, американского производства) проезжает мимо немецкого танка Pz.Kpfw. IV, подбитого под Будапештом. 1945


Колонна советских САУ СУ-76М перед маршем. Как предполагается, снимок сделан в ходе Будапештской операции

Будапештская операция


29 октября 1944 года войска левого крыла 2-го УФ начали Будапештскую операцию. Главный удар нанесли части 46-й армии, 2-го и 4-го гвардейских механизированных корпусов. Здесь оборонялись в основном венгерские части и оборона была слабее. Советские войска должны были выйти к городу с юго-востока и с ходу взять его. С северо-востока вспомогательный удар наносила 7-я гвардейская армия. Остальные войска Малиновского вели наступление в направлении на Мишкольц. Войска 3-го УФ (3-й УФ) под началом Толбухина только что завершили Белградскую операцию и начали переброску в Венгрию 57-й армии, которая сосредотачивалась районе Баната и должна была захватить плацдармы на Дунае.


Левое крыло 2-го УФ прорвало оборону противника и ко 2 ноября 1944 г. наши войска вышли на подступы к Будапешту. Однако с ходу взять венгерскую столицу не удалось. Германское командование перебросило сюда 14 дивизий (включая три танковых и одну моторизованную дивизию из района Мишкольц), которые опираясь на заранее подготовленную систему обороны, остановили дальнейшее наступление советских войск. Советская Ставка приказала расширить полосу наступления, чтобы разгромить будапештскую группировку ударами с севера, востока и юга. В течение ноября 1944 г. советские армии прорвали оборону противника между реками Тисса и Дунай и, продвинувшись до 100 км, вышла к внешнему оборонительному обводу Будапешта с юга и юго-востока. Тем временем войска 3-го УФ захватили крупный плацдарм на западном берегу Дуная. После этого войска центра и левого крыла 2-го УФ получили задачу создать кольцо окружения вокруг Будапешта.

5—9 декабря войска 7-й гвардейской, 6-й гвардейской танковой армий и конно-механизированной группы генерал-лейтенанта Плиева перехватили северные коммуникации будапештской группировки вермахта. На левом крыле 46-фя армия форсировала Дунай южнее Будапешта. Но сразу с запада обойти город не удалось. Упорные бои продолжались до 26 декабря. Советскому командованию пришлось бросать в бой новые мощные соединения: 2-й гвардейский, 7-й механизированный и 18-й танковый корпуса. Только в 26-го войска 2-го и 3-го УФ соединились в районе города Эстергом и окружили почти 190-тыс. группировку противника.


Автоматчики 3-го Украинского фронта ведут бои на улице Будапешта. 1945


Штурмовая группа командира взвода 60-го отдельного штурмового инженерно-саперного батальона 12-й штурмовой инженерно-саперной бригады РГК 3-го Украинского фронта лейтенанта Якова Степановича Горынина в уличном бою в Будапеште. Январь 1945


Советский солдат в уличном бою на площади Ференца в Будапеште. Февраль 1945

Штурм Будапешта


Стоит отметить, что германское и венгерское военное командование считало, что Будапешт не стоит оборонять в условиях полного окружения. Главнокомандующий группой армий «Юг» Йоханнес Фриснер хотел выровнять линию фронта, избежать уличных боев. Также он отмечал сильные антинемецкие настроения жителей столицы. В тылу немецкий войск мог вспыхнуть бунт. Командующий 6-й немецкой армией генерал Максимилиан Фреттер-Пико хотел отойти за «Линию Аттилы», чтобы избежать угрозы окружения. Венгерское командование также считало возможной оборону Будапешта только в защитной зоне «Линии Аттилы». Столицу, после прорыва оборонительной линии и угрозы окружения, оборонять не собирались. «Национальный лидер» Венгерского государства Салаши также опасался восстания «сброда большого города» и считал, что войска надо отводить в горные районы. Венгерское руководство предлагало объявить Будапешт «открытым городом» и этим избежать разрушения исторической столицы.

Гитлер не принял в расчёт доводы своего командования и венгерского военно-политического руководства. Войска отводить не стали. Фюрер приказал оборонять каждый дом, не считаться с потерями и ещё приказом от 1 декабря 1944 года объявил Будапешт крепостью. Комендантом города назначили высшего руководителя СС и полиции в Венгрии, генерала войск СС, обергруппенфюреа Отто Винкельмана. Ему в подчинение передали 9-й горный корпус СС под командованием обергруппенфюрера СС Карла Пфеффер-Вильденбруха. Де-факто именно он стал руководителем обороны Будапешта. Каждый каменный дом стал маленькой крепостью, улицы и кварталы – бастионами. Для их обороны мобилизовали всех, кого смогли. Фриснера и Фреттер-Пико сняли со своих должностей. Группу армий «ЮГ» возглавил Отто Велёр, а 6-ю армию – Бальк.

Уже после окружения имелась возможность вывода боеспособного ядра из Будапешта. Первое время плотного кольца окружения не было, и немецко-венгерские войска, особенно при поддержке извне, могли прорваться к своим. Но они такого приказа не получили. Наоборот, они получили указание свыше стоять до последнего. В итоге Будапешт с его более чем миллионным населением по вине фюрера стал ареной жестокой битвы, «дунайским Сталинградом». Для взятия города была сформирована Будапештская группа под командованием генерала И. М. Афонина (затем И. М. Манагарова). В её состав входили 3 стрелковых корпуса и 9 артиллерийских бригад.

Осада Будапешта затянулась из-за тяжелых боев, которые продолжались в Венгрии. Верховное германское командование продолжало наращивать силы группы армий «Ю» в Венгрии. Сюда перебросили 37 дивизий, направленные с других участков фронта (включая центральное берлинское направление) и с Западного фронта. К началу января 1945 года немцы сосредоточили здесь 16 танковых и моторизованных дивизий — половину всех бронетанковых сил Рейха на Русском фронте. Гитлеровцы нанесли в январе 1945 года три мощных удара с целью деблокирования будапештской группировки и выравнивания фронта по Дунаю (операция «Конрад»).



Интересно, что Гитлер хотел прорубить коридор в Будапешт не с целью отвода тамошнего гарнизона, наоборот, но его хотел укрепить свежими силами. По его мнению, «дунайский Сталинград» должен был перемолоть русские войска, связать их. Необходимо было удержать западную часть Венгрии и прикрыть путь на Вену. Поэтому фюрер категорически отвергал любую мысль о сдаче Будапешта и прорыве его гарнизона навстречу к своим. Будапештский гарнизон должен был держать город до прихода своих войск. Поэтому группировка Пфеффер-Вильденбруха не делала попыток выхода их города навстречу деблокирующим силами и до последнего ждала освобождения. В итоге Венгрия стала полем на редкость упорного и жестокого сражения. Так 18 – 26 января немцы нанесли удар из района севернее озера Балатон, расчленили фронт 3-го УФ и вышли к Дунаю. Прорыв противника удалось ликвидировать только совместными усилиями войск 2-го и 3-го УФ.

Тем временем войска 2-го УФ продолжали ожесточенную битву за венгерскую столицу. Оборону противника старались рассечь, а затем уничтожали отдельные, изолированные гарнизоны противника. Активно использовалась тактика штурмовых групп. В такую группу обычно входил взвод стрелков, сапёры, огнемётчики, её поддерживали 1-2 танка или САУ, орудия, которые били прямой наводкой. 18 января 1945 года наши войска взяли восточную часть города – Пешт, а 13 февраля – западную – Буду. Остатки немецко-венгерской группировки ещё 11 февраля пытались прорваться из города, так как целостная оборона рухнула и надо было прорываться либо сдаваться, а гитлеровцы капитулировать не желали. Бои длились ещё несколько дней. Уйти смогли всего несколько сотен солдат и офицеров. Остальные были убиты или пленены. Окончательную зачистку города закончили к 17 февраля. Свыше 138 тыс. человек вместе с командованием было взято в плен.


Расчет советского 76-мм орудия ЗиС-3 ведет огонь на улице Будапешта. Январь-февраль 1945


Советский автоматчик у баррикады на площади Кальвария в Будапеште. Под баррикадой, сложенной из брусчатки, лежит труп немецкого солдата. Февраль 1945


Старший сержант Евгений Иванович Костерев и младший сержант Александр Дмитриевич Пертяков из 1405-го зенитного артиллерийского полка 38-й зенитно-артиллерийской Черкасской Краснознаменной дивизии Резерва Главного Командования устанавливают советский флаг над Будапештом. Снимок сделан на крыше дворца Нью-Йорк

Итоги операции


Советские войска освободили от гитлеровцев и их местных пособников центральную часть Венгрии с Будапештом. Была разгромлена будапештская группировка противника. Венгрия выведена из войны. Временное правительство Венгрии 28 декабря 1944 года приняло решение о выходе из войны и объявило войну Рейху. 20 января 1945 года Временное правительство заключило перемирие с державами антигитлеровской коалиции. Правительство Салаши продолжило сопротивление. Венгерские войска воевали на стороне немцев в Балатонской операции и в Австрии.

Сражение в Венгрии, включая будапештское направление, привлекло к себе значительные силы вермахта, в том числе с центрального (берлинского) направления. Битва за Будапешт облегчило Красной Армии проведение Висло-Одерской операции, прорыв к Берлину.

Разгром будапештской группировки противника серьёзным образом изменил ситуацию на южном крыле советско-германского фронта. Была создана угроза коммуникациям балканской группировки вермахта, её отвод был ускорен. Красная Армия получила возможность развить наступление в Чехословакии и Австрии.

Более подробно Будапештская операция описана в статьях на «ВО»: Битва за Венгрию; Начало осады Будапешта; Прорыв «Линии Аттила». Начало штурма Пешта; Падение Пешта. Начало штурма Буды; Решительный штурм Буды; Операция «Конрад»; Кровавый финал будапештской группировки.


Красноармеец с группой пленных венгерских солдат и офицеров на улице Кинижи в Будапеште. Февраль 1945


Советский регулировщик у плаката «Смерть немецким захватчикам!» на площади Кальвина (площадь Эржебет) в Будапеште. В центре находится фонтан «Данубиус» (Дунайский фонтан). Февраль 1945


Советские автоматчики водружают красное знамя у входа в венгерский парламент в Будапеште. Февраль 1945
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

54 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти