Military Review

The Great Battle of Kursk: a defensive operation by the troops of the Voronezh Front. Part of 2

7
July Fights 6


On the night of July 6, the command of the Voronezh Front decided to strengthen the defense of the 6th Guards Army with corps of the 1st tank army of Mikhail Katukov. The 3rd mechanized and 6th tank corps covered Oboyansk direction. In addition, Chistyakov’s army was strengthened by the 2nd and 5th Guards Tank Corps, which began to reach the flanks of the army. These corps included about 850 serviceable tanks, and they could have a serious impact on the course of the battle.

On the second day of the battle, Nikolai Vatutin, as well as Konstantin Rokossovsky, planned to inflict counterattacks on the German assault groups. Katukov’s 1 Panzer Army was to strike in the general direction of Tomarovka. German troops had not yet penetrated the front line, and the command of the Voronezh Front wanted to stop them on the second line. Vatutin wanted to start a counter battle. The 1 Tank Army counterstrike was canceled at the proposal of the Headquarters. The commander Katukov agreed with this decision, believing that it was more expedient to use armored vehicles to reinforce the defenses by trenching them or setting them in ambushes, where they could allow enemy tanks to close.

The Great Battle of Kursk: a defensive operation by the troops of the Voronezh Front. Part of 2

Army General - N.F. Vatutin, 1943

The breakthrough of the 2 SS Panzer Corps to the third line of defense. On 6 July, the SS units received the following tasks: The 3 2nd SS Panzer Division "Dead Head" was to defeat the 375 Infantry Division and expand the breakout corridor in the direction of r. Linden Donets; The 1 Tank Division Leibstandard Adolf Hitler and the 2 Tank Division Reich are to break through the second line of defense from Yakovlevo, where 51-I Guards Rifle Division, Major-General Nikolai Tavartkeladze, occupied the defense, and go to the line of the bend. Psel - with. Teterevino. In addition, part of the forces of the Leibshtandart division had to be allocated to guarding the flank, since the 48 tank corps advanced more slowly than the 2 SS tank corps.


Tanks Pz.Kpfw. VI "Tiger" SS armored division "Das Reich" on the Kursk Bulge.

The defense sector of the 51 Guards Rifle Division (the former 76 Rifle Division, transformed into the Guards for resilience, courage and heroism in the Battle of Stalingrad) was the weakest in the defensive orders of the 6 Guards Army. She occupied the defense in the second echelon of the army and was responsible for the 18-kilometer sector of the front. All the regiments of the division had to be pulled out in one line, without allocating one regiment to the reserve. Arriving at this site of the 5 tank guards tank corps of Lieutenant General Andrei Kravchenko’s tank forces (three tank and one motorized rifle brigades) was supposed to seriously strengthen the defense in this direction. The problem was that the corps did not have enough transport, and the unit did not have time to arrive at the beginning of the battle in full force. Having marched 60 km, by 6 in the morning of July 6, the 5 corps was in position behind the 51 Guards Division. 213 tanks arrived, several vehicles were left behind, for technical reasons, or because of a shortage of crews. Tankers have started digging machines. The situation was worse with the infantry of the 6 th guards motorized rifle brigade, the soldiers went on foot and did not manage to reach the position by the beginning of the battle.

The German command chose to hit a relatively small 3-kilometer section, which was attacked by units of the Reich and Leibshtandart divisions. Here the defense was kept by the warriors of the 154 and 156 of the Guards rifle regiments. Initially, the artillery of the corps of Hausser dealt a powerful blow to the positions of the guards division. At the same time, the aircraft 8-th air corps - groups in 50-80 machines, turned the "damn wheel". German bombers lined up and, replacing each other, struck at the Soviet troops. At the same time, German intelligence was able to identify points of control and communications regiments of the Guards Division. They were hit hard. This led to the disruption of communications and the management of regiment battalions. In fact, the units of the regiments reflected the enemy offensive without contact with the higher command.

Powerful artillery and aviation strikes, the numerical superiority of the enemy in the breakout area (two German tank divisions against two guards rifle regiments), skillful interaction between artillery, aviation, tank and infantry formations, the use of heavy tanks and assault guns, led to the success of the SS corps. Tank formations went on the attack about 11 hours, after two and a half hours it was all over, the battalions at the junction of the two rifle regiments were shot down and began to retreat in the direction of the villages of Yakovlevo and Luchki. The battle and retreat were accompanied by heavy losses of the guard units. In particular, in the 156th Guards Rifle Regiment of 1685 people, by July 7, only about 200 people remained in service, that is, the regiment was practically destroyed. As a result of the battle, of the 8,4 thousand people who were in the division on July 1, 1943, by July 7 only 3,3 thousand soldiers and officers remained in service.

The left-flank 158-th Guards Rifle Regiment bent its right flank and was able to maintain its order. Some units of 154-th and 156-th went to the location of neighboring divisions. Several divisions shot down the German offensive divisions, giving the infantry the opportunity to save and gain a foothold on the new frontiers, Soviet artillerymen: the artillery of the 51 Guards Rifle Division - the howitzer batteries of the 122th Guards Artillery Regiment of Major M. Uglovsky and the artillery of the 5th Guards Artillery Regiment of Major M.N. tank corps - artillery units of the 6 th guards motorized rifle brigade of Colonel A. M. Schekala. By holding back the enemy’s attack, the Soviet artillerymen were able to retain most of their weapons. A fierce battle took place over the village of Luchki, where the 464-th Guards Artillery Division and the 460-th Guards Mortar Battalion of the 6-th Guards Motorized Rifle Brigade managed to occupy their defenses. The infantry of the brigade, due to insufficient provision of vehicles, was still on the march in 15 km from the battlefield. In 14: 20, units of the Reich Division occupied the village, the Soviet artillery moved north to Kalinin Farm.

After that, right up to the third defensive line of the Voronezh Front, in front of the 2 tank corps of the SS, there were no 6-th Guards Army units that could restrain its advance, except for the tank formations of the 5-th Guards Tank Corps. The main forces of the anti-tank artillery of the army were located in the offensive zone of the 48 tank corps. After the left flank of the 6 Army Chistyakov was crushed and the second line of defense was broken, the front command, in the conditions of incomplete clarity of the situation, made an ill-conceived decision to stop the breakthrough. After Commander Chistyakov reported on the situation on the left flank of the army, Vatutin orders the transfer of the Kravchenko 5 Corps and the Burdeyny 2 Guards Tank Corps to the operational control of the 6 Guards Army Commander. The front command approved the proposal of Chistyakov on applying a counterattack on the erupted forces of the 2 SS tank corps with parts of the 5 TS and 2 Guards tank tanks.

Ivan Chistyakov set the task for Krakchenko’s commander to withdraw troops from the defensive area he occupied, where the tank crews were preparing to meet the enemy, relying on strongholds and using ambush tactics. In fact, the corps was asked to enter into a counter battle with the superior forces of the enemy, on unfavorable terms. The commander and headquarters of the 5 Guards Tank Corps, better aware of the current situation and the capture of the division "Reich" with. Lucky, tried to challenge this decision. However, under the threat of arrest were forced to execute this order. To understand the resistance of the command of the 5 corps, the order of the commander should recall the serious difference in the organization of the Soviet tank corps and the German tank division. Each division of the 2 SS Panzer Corps had up to 20 thousands of people. The Soviet 5 th Guards Tank Corps totaled thousands of 9,5 people before the battle (according to the 10,2 staff, thousand people). A particularly significant difference was in the provision of the Soviet tank corps and the German tank division with infantry and artillery.

The 5-th Guards Tank Corps could perform its task much better if it had managed to unite its tank formations with the infantry of the 51-th Guards Rifle Division of Tavartkeladze. In addition, the 5 tank corps did not have time to link the actions of tank corps brigades with its neighbors and aircraft. Tank brigades went to the counter-attack without artillery preparation, without the help of the Air Force, with open flanks and in the open, convenient for firing long-range tank guns of German tanks. The result was obvious.

In 15.10, the 5 Guards Tank Corps launched a counterattack. The enemy was attacked by the 22 and 21-I Guards Tank Brigades and the 48-th Guards Heavy Tank Regiment. The German command easily reflected this blow. The SS division "Reich" regrouped, put up tanks as a barrier and caused the Luftwaffe, who mixed the combat order of the Soviet formations. Pulling up anti-tank artillery and organizing a flank maneuver, the German troops went around the Kravchenko corps’s tank brigades and entered them in the rear. By 19 hours, SS units occupied Kalinin farm, cut off communications of the defending tank brigades, cutting them off from the corps headquarters. In fact, most of the 5 Guards Tank Corps was surrounded between. Luchki and Kalinin farm. The Germans are developing the offensive, acting in the direction of Art. Prokhorovka, made an attempt to seize the Belenikhino junction. However, the command of the 20 th Guards Tank Brigade (lieutenant colonel PF Okhrimenko) who remained outside the ring of the environment managed to create a strong defense from various units of the 5 corps. The German attack was repelled, the enemy was forced to roll back to Kalinin.

Another strike group of the Reich division, using confusion during the withdrawal of Soviet units, reached the third army defensive line, which was defended by units of the 69 Army. Near the farm Teterevino, the German troops briefly penetrated the defenses of the 183 Infantry Division, but due to lack of strength, having lost several tanks, retreated. The appearance of German troops at the turn of the third line of defense on the second day of the battle was regarded by the Soviet command as an emergency.

On the night from 6 to 7 in July, the surrounded parts of the 5 Guards Tank Corps made a breakthrough and in small groups made their way to their large part. During July 6, the corps lost its destroyed and burned 119 tanks, several more tanks were lost for unknown reasons or due to technical malfunctions. More 19 tanks were sent in for repair. These were the highest losses of the Soviet tank corps during the entire defensive operation on the Kursk Bulge in one day of fighting.


Soviet tank T-34-76, padded in a village on the Kursk Bulge.

The Soviet troops managed to stop the expansion of the breach by a strip from Yakovlevo to the railway. From the right flank a counterattack was struck by the 3 th mechanized corps of the 1 th tank army, from the left - the 2 th Guards Tank Corps. Also on the flank position of the SS tank corps was the 28 th anti-tank brigade. The resistance of the surviving 122 Guards Artillery Regiment from the 51 Guards Division, and the artillery units of the 5 Guards Tank Corps also played its role.


The general course of the defensive battles on the southern fase of the Kursk Bulge. Fighter tanks "Marder III" follows by the exploded medium tank MH "Li".

Counterstrike 2 Guards Tank Corps. The 3-i Tank-Grenadier Division of the SS “Dead Head” did not achieve such successes as the other divisions of the corps during 6 July. This was due to the stubborn resistance of the 375 th rifle division and the counter assault of the 2 Guards Tank Corps under the command of Colonel Alexei Burdeyny held in the second half of the day in the defense zone. The 2 th tank corps counter-attack took place simultaneously with the Kravchenko counter-attack corps, but ended more successfully. The Dead Head Division was tied by this battle, and it had to attract some units of the Reich Division to repel the attack. The balance of forces was in favor of the German division, but Burdeynoi corps acted in cooperation with the 375 th rifle division, which saved him from immediate defeat.

Prior to the start of the battle, the 2 Guards Tank Corps was stationed near the town of Korocha. It consisted of: 4-I, 25-I, 26-I Guards Tank, 4-I Guards Motorized Rifle Brigades, 47-th Guards Heavy Tank Regiment breakthrough, and other connections. Depending on the situation, they could have sent him to the aid of the 6 or 7 of the Guard armies. In 17.30 5 July, the corps headquarters received an order to advance to the left flank of the 6 Army. The corps of Burdeyno was to take part in a frontal counterattack. The deployment of corps units took place at night, so the German command did not immediately detect the appearance of a new Soviet mobile unit. Despite some loss of materiel for technical reasons, the 2 th Guards Tank Corps had 6 tanks, including 1943 T-265, at the start of the July 90 counterattack.

The 375 Rifle Division did not take part in the attack. Her regiments were already stretched out in one echelon, and the violation of the division’s battle formations was too dangerous a decision. The connections of the SS Tnenkopf 3 Tank-Grenadier Division and the 2 Guards Tank Corps exchanged several blows. Some parts of the Burdeynoi corps were surrounded for a short time. But the hull losses were not serious - 17 tanks burned out and 11 destroyed. The 2 Guards Tank Corps maintained its combat capability. The 2 Guards Tank Corps, supported by the still efficient 375 rifle division, became a threat to the right flank of the 2 SS Tank Corps.


The SS Ttenkopf SS 3 Division is discussing a defensive action plan with the Tiger commander from the 503 Battalion of Heavy Tanks. Kursk Doug.

To be continued ...
Author:
Articles from this series:
The Great Battle of Kursk: Plans and Forces of the Parties
The Great Battle of Kursk: Plans and Forces of the Parties. Part of 2
The Great Battle of Kursk: a defensive operation of the troops of the Central Front
The Great Battle of Kursk: a defensive operation of the troops of the Central Front. Part of 2
The Great Battle of Kursk: a defensive operation of the troops of the Central Front. Part of 3
Great Battle of Kursk: defensive operation of the troops of the Voronezh Front
The Great Battle of Kursk: a defensive operation by the troops of the Voronezh Front. Part of 2
The Great Battle of Kursk: a defensive operation by the troops of the Voronezh Front. Part of 3
The Great Battle of Kursk: a defensive operation by the troops of the Voronezh Front. Part of 4
The Great Battle of Kursk: Operation Kutuzov
The Great Battle of Kursk: Operation Kutuzov. Part of 2
7 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. individual
    individual 12 July 2013 09: 53 New
    +1
    Now the newly-minted "historians" with Western replenishment are questioning the tank battle at Prokhorovka.
    Here is the recollection of a tankman of the 22nd Guards Tank Brigade Alexander Fadin: "... 1200 tanks converged on the same field! Our brigade was withdrawn from the front reserve on July 6, and on July 12 we hit the Germans. Imagine how thousands of people are fighting hand-to-hand, - here Iron machines collided head-on. I, a young lieutenant, could not even dream that you could get into such a seemingly stupid, but at the same time organized meat grinder. Tanks were going at each other in an avalanche, everything was in smoke. Therefore, almost before every shot I looked out from the hatch of the tower and did not close it, but kept it on a strap. When I first hit, there was a mad excitement. I did not think about death. That was a battle! "
    Sometimes I begin to understand the journalist W. Scoibed.
    L. Gozman and his hop company from the office of RUSNANO would go there where they clearly understand what is "SS" in a beautiful Form and what is "SMERSH" that destroyed this very "SS"!
    1. de bouillon
      de bouillon 12 July 2013 12: 08 New
      0
      not SMERSH, but the Red Army.

      maybe Alexander Fodin was one of those who escaped the battle on July 6? how to know.

      but the fact is that the 22th brigade fought on July 6 and completed its mission.
      1. Firstvanguard
        Firstvanguard 15 July 2013 07: 54 New
        0
        not SMERSH, but the Red Army.

        And SMERSH, and the NKVD, and the Red Army, and the entire Soviet people.
        maybe Alexander Fodin was one of those who escaped the battle on July 6? how to know.

        Firstly, Fodin, Fadin.
        Secondly, it would be nice to ask what kind of person he is before carrying nonsense.
  2. heruv1me
    heruv1me 12 July 2013 11: 44 New
    +1
    "At the same time, the planes of the 8th Air Corps, in groups of 50-80 cars, turned the Ferris wheel" - Nda, the most frequent question spoken aloud by our troops was: "Where is our aviation ... her ...". :(
    1. de bouillon
      de bouillon 12 July 2013 12: 05 New
      +1
      the enemy managed to oust our fighter aircraft from the battlefield.

      but from July 15 the Fritzes will have "the seams will come apart" ..
  3. omsbon
    omsbon 12 July 2013 12: 42 New
    +5
    Tank brigades launched a counterattack without artillery preparation, without the help of the Air Force, with open flanks and in an open area convenient for firing long-range tank guns of German tanks. The result was obvious.

    Hasty, rash decisions, unwillingness to listen to a different opinion, all this led to unjustified loss of life. Unfortunately, our army cannot get rid of this shortcoming so far.
    Eternal glory and eternal peace to all who died for our Motherland!
  4. deman73
    deman73 12 July 2013 20: 09 New
    +1
    MAY ENOUGH everyone to be smart and build themselves great commanders and analysts, but it is worth honoring the memory of HEROES !!!!
    1. Firstvanguard
      Firstvanguard 15 July 2013 08: 00 New
      0
      Two hands for! Zadolbali these experts. People who have no idea what a burden of responsibility it is, how to make such decisions under such a burden and in the absence of a complete information picture. Those who won this terrible war are discussing with a clever air. am
  5. bublic82009
    bublic82009 13 July 2013 01: 02 New
    -1
    in 1943 on the Kursk Bulge we fought not very skillfully

Великая Курская битва: оборонительная операция войск Воронежского фронта. Часть 2

Бои 6 июля

В ночь на 6 июля командование Воронежского фронта приняло решение об усилении обороны 6-й гвардейской армии корпусами 1-й танковой армии Михаила Катукова. 3-й механизированный и 6-й танковый корпуса прикрыли Обоянское направление. Кроме того, армию Чистякова усилили 2-м и 5-м гвардейскими танковыми корпусами, которые начали выходить на фланги армии. В составе этих корпусов было около 850 исправных танков, и они могли оказать на ход битвы серьёзное влияние.

На второй день битвы Николай Ватутин, также как и Константин Рокоссовский, запланировал нанести контрудары по немецким ударным группировкам. 1-я танковая армия Катукова должна была ударить в общем направлении на Томаровку. Немецкие войска ещё не углубились в полосу обороны фронта, и командование Воронежского фронта хотело остановить их на линии второго рубежа. Ватутин хотел завязать встречное сражение. Контрудар 1-й танковой армии был отменен по предложению Ставки. Командарм Катуков был согласен с этим решением, считая, что более целесообразно использовать бронетехнику для усиления обороны, окопав их или поставив в засады, где они могли подпускать танки противника на близкие дистанции.


Великая Курская битва: оборонительная операция войск Воронежского фронта. Часть 2

Генерал армии — Н. Ф. Ватутин, 1943 г.

Прорыв 2-го танкового корпуса СС к третьему рубежу обороны. На 6 июля части СС получили следующие задачи: 3-я танковая дивизия СС «Мёртвая Голова» должна была разгромить 375-ю стрелковую дивизию и расширить коридор прорыва в направлении р. Липовый Донец; 1-я танковая дивизия «Лейбштандарт Адольф Гитлер» и 2-я танковая дивизия «Рейх» - прорвать второй рубеж обороны у с. Яковлево, где занимала оборону 51-я гвардейская стрелковая дивизия генерал-майора Николая Таварткеладзе, и выйти к линии излучина р. Псёл — с. Тетеревино. К тому же часть сил дивизии «Лейбштандарт» пришлось выделить на охрану фланга, т. к. 48-й танковый корпус наступал более медленно, чем 2-й танковый корпус СС.

Великая Курская битва: оборонительная операция войск Воронежского фронта. Часть 2

Танки Pz.Kpfw. VI «Тигр» танковой дивизии СС «Дас Райх» на Курской дуге.

Участок обороны 51-й гвардейской стрелковой дивизии (бывшая 76-я стрелковая дивизия, преобразованная в гвардейскую за стойкость, мужество и героизм в Сталинградском сражении) был самым слабым в оборонительных порядках 6-й гвардейской армии. Она занимала оборону во втором эшелоне армии и отвечала за 18-километровй участок фронта. Все полки дивизии пришлось вытянуть в одну линию, без выделения одного полка в резерв. Прибытие на этот участок танков 5-го гвардейского танкового корпуса генерал-лейтенанта танковых войск Андрея Кравченко (три танковых и одна мотострелковая бригады) должно было серьёзно усилить оборону на этом направлении. Проблема была в том, что в корпусе не хватало транспорта, и соединение не успевало прибыть к началу боя в полном составе. Совершив 60 км марш, к 6 утра 6 июля 5-й корпус вышел на позиции позади 51-й гвардейской дивизии. Прибыло 213 танков, несколько машин отстали, были оставлены по техническим причинам, или из-за нехватки экипажей. Танкисты приступили к окапыванию машин. Хуже дело обстояло с пехотой 6-й гвардейской мотострелковой бригады, солдаты шли пешком и к началу боя не успели выйти на позиции.

Немецкое командование выбрало для удара сравнительно небольшой 3-километровый участок, который атаковали части дивизий «Рейх» и «Лейбштандарт». Здесь оборону держали воины 154-го и 156-го гвардейских стрелковых полков. Первоначально артиллерия корпуса Хауссера нанесла мощный удар по позициям гвардейской дивизии. Одновременно самолеты 8-го авиакорпуса – группами в 50-80 машин, завертели «чёртово колесо». Немецкие бомбардировщики выстраивались в круг и, сменяя друг друга, наносили удары по советским войскам. При этом немецкая разведка смогла выявить пункты управления и связи полков гвардейской дивизии. Они подверглись сильному удару. Это привело к дезорганизации связи и управления батальонами полков. Фактически подразделения полков отражали вражеское наступление без связи с вышестоящим командованием.

Мощный артиллерийский и авиационные удары, численное превосходство противника на участке прорыва (две немецких танковых дивизии против двух гвардейских стрелковых полков), умелое взаимодействие между артиллерией, авиацией, танковыми и пехотными соединениями, применение тяжёлых танков и штурмовых орудий, привело к успеху корпуса СС. Танковые соединения перешли в атаку около 11 часов, через два с половиной часа всё было кончено, батальоны на стыке двух стрелковых полков были сбиты и начали отступление в направлении сел Яковлево и Лучки. Бой и отступление сопровождались большими потерями гвардейских частей. В частности, в 156-м гвардейском стрелковом полку из 1685 человек к 7 июля в строю оставалось всего около 200 человек, то есть полк практически был уничтожен. В результате боя из 8,4 тыс. человек, которые числились в дивизии на 1 июля 1943 года, к 7 июля в строю осталось только 3,3 тыс. солдат и офицеров.

Левофланговый 158-й гвардейский стрелковый полк, загнул свой правый фланг, и смог сохранить свои порядки. Некоторые подразделения 154-го и 156-го вышли в расположение соседних дивизий. Несколько дивизий сбили темп наступления немецких отборных дивизии, давая возможность пехоте спастись и закрепиться на новых рубежах, советские артиллеристы: артиллерия 51-й гвардейской стрелковой дивизии - гаубичные батареи 122-го гвардейского артиллерийского полка майора М. Н. Угловского и артиллерия 5-го гвардейского танкового корпуса - артиллерийские подразделения 6-й гвардейской мотострелковой бригады полковника А. М. Щекала. Сдерживая наступление противника, советские артиллеристы смогли сохранить большую часть своего вооружения. Яростный бой произошел за село Лучки, где успели занять оборону 464-й гвардейский артдивизион и 460-й гвардейский миномётный батальон 6-й гвардейской мотострелковой бригады. Пехота бригады, из-за недостаточной обеспеченности автотранспортом, ещё была на марше в 15 км от места боя. В 14:20 части дивизии «Рейх» заняли село, советская артиллерия отошла на север к хутору Калинин.

После этого, вплоть до третьего оборонительного рубежа Воронежского фронта, перед 2-м танковым корпусом СС не осталось частей 6-й гвардейской армии, способных сдержать его наступление, кроме танковых соединений 5-го гвардейского танкового корпуса. Основные силы истребительно-противотанковой артиллерии армии были расположены в полосе наступления 48-го танкового корпуса. После того как левый фланг 6-й армии Чистякова был смят и вторая линия обороны прорвана, командование фронта в условиях неполной ясности ситуации приняло непродуманное решение по затыканию прорыва. После доклада командарма Чистякова о положении дел на левом фланге армии, Ватутин отдаёт приказ о передаче 5-го корпуса Кравченко и 2-го гвардейского танкового корпуса Бурдейного в оперативное подчинение командующему 6-й гвардейской армии. Командование фронта одобрило предложение Чистякова о нанесении контрудара по прорвавшимся силам 2-го танкового корпуса СС частями 5-го и 2-го гвардейских танковых корпусов.

Иван Чистяков поставил задачу комкору Кравченко на вывод войск из занимаемого им оборонительного района, где танкисты готовились встретить противника, опираясь на опорные пункты и применяя тактику засад. Фактически корпусу предлагалось вступить во встречное сражение с превосходящими силами противника, на невыгодных условиях. Командир и штаб 5-го гвардейского танкового корпуса, лучше зная о текущей ситуации и захвате дивизией «Рейх» с. Лучки, попытались оспорить это решение. Однако под угрозой ареста были вынуждены выполнить этот приказ. Для понимания сопротивления командования 5-го корпуса приказу командарма следует вспомнить о серьёзной разнице в организации советского танкового корпуса и немецкой танковой дивизии. Каждая дивизия 2-го танкового корпуса СС имело до 20 тыс. человек в своём составе. Советский 5-й гвардейский танковый корпус насчитывал перед боем 9,5 тыс. человек (по штату 10,2 тыс. человек). Особенно значительная разница была в обеспечении советского танкового корпуса и немецкой танковой дивизии пехотой и артиллерией.

5-й гвардейский танковый корпус мог намного лучше выполнить свою задачу, если бы успел объединить свои танковые соединения с пехотой 51-й гвардейской стрелковой дивизии Таварткеладзе. К тому же 5-й танковый корпус не имел времени на увязывание действий танковых бригад корпуса с соседями и авиацией. Танковые бригады пошли в контратаку без артподготовки, без помощи Военно-воздушных сил, с открытыми флангами и по открытой местности, удобной для стрельбы дальнобойных танковых орудий немецких танков. Результат был очевиден.

В 15.10 5-й гвардейский танковый корпус пошел в контратаку. Противника атаковали 22-я и 21-я гвардейские танковые бригады и 48-й гвардейский тяжёлый танковый полк. Немецкое командование без особого труда отразило этот удар. Дивизия СС «Рейх» перегруппировалась, выставила танки в качестве заслона и вызвала люфтваффе, которые смешали боевой порядок советских соединений. Подтянув противотанковую артиллерию и организовав фланговый маневр, немецкие войска обошли танковые бригады корпуса Кравченко, и зашли им в тыл. К 19 часам части СС заняли хутор Калинин, перерезали коммуникации оборонявшихся танковых бригад, отрезав их от штаба корпуса. Фактически большая часть 5-го гвардейского танкового корпуса была окружена между с. Лучки и хутором Калинин. Немцы развивая наступление, действуя в направлении ст. Прохоровка, сделали попытку захватить разъезд Беленихино. Однако командование оставшегося вне кольца окружения 20-й гвардейской танковой бригады (подполковник П. Ф. Охрименко) сумело из различных подразделений 5-го корпуса создать вокруг Беленихино сильную оборону. Немецкая атака была отражена, противник был вынужден откатиться к Калинину.

Другая ударная группа дивизии «Рейх», используя неразбериху при отходе советских соединений, вышла к третьей армейской оборонительной линии, которую защищали части уже 69-й армии. Возле хутора Тетеревино, немецкие войска на непродолжительное время вклинились в оборону 183-й стрелковой дивизии, но из-за нехватки сил, потеряв несколько танков, отступили. Появление немецких войск на рубеже третьей линии обороны на второй день сражения было расценено советским командованием как чрезвычайное происшествие.

В ночь с 6 на 7 июля окружённые части 5-го гвардейского танкового корпуса пошли на прорыв и небольшими группами в значительной части пробились к своим. За 6 июля корпус потерял подбитыми и сгоревшими 119 танков, ещё несколько танков были потеряны по неизвестным причинам или из-за технических неисправностей. Ещё 19 танков отправили в ремонт. Это были самые высокие потери советского танкового корпуса в ходе всей оборонительной операции на Курской дуге за один день боёв.

Великая Курская битва: оборонительная операция войск Воронежского фронта. Часть 2

Советский танк Т-34-76, подбитый в деревне на Курской дуге.

Советским войскам удалось остановить расширение бреши полосой от Яковлево до железной дороги. С правого фланга контрудар нанес 3-й механизированный корпус 1-й танковой армии, с левого – 2-й гвардейский танковый корпус. Также на позиции фланга танкового корпуса СС вышла 28-я истребительно-противотанковая бригада. Сыграло свою роль и сопротивление уцелевшего 122-го гвардейского артиллерийского полка из состава 51-й гвардейской дивизии, и артиллерийских частей 5-го гвардейского танкового корпуса.

Великая Курская битва: оборонительная операция войск Воронежского фронта. Часть 2

Общий ход оборонительных боёв на южном фасе Курской дуги. Истребитель танков «Мардер III» следует мимо взорвавшегося среднего танка МЗ «Ли».

Контрудар 2-го гвардейского танкового корпуса. 3-я танково-гренадерская дивизия СС «Мёртвая голова» в течение 6 июля не достигла таких успехов, как другие дивизии корпуса. Это было связано с упорным сопротивлением 375-й стрелковой дивизии и проводившегося во второй половине дня в полосе обороны дивизии контрудара 2-го гвардейского танкового корпуса под командованием полковника Алексея Бурдейного. Контрудар 2-го танкового корпуса проходил одновременно с контратакой корпуса Кравченко, но завершился более успешно. Дивизия Мёртвая голова» была связана этим боем, и ей пришлось привлечь к отражению атаки некоторые подразделения дивизии «Рейх». Соотношение сил было в пользу немецкой дивизии, но корпус Бурдейного действовал во взаимодействии с 375-й стрелковой дивизией, что спасло его от немедленного поражения.

До начала битвы 2-й гвардейский танковый корпус дислоцировался в районе города Короча. В его состав входили: 4-я, 25-я, 26-я гвардейские танковые, 4-я гвардейская мотострелковая бригады, 47-й гвардейский тяжёлый танковый полк прорыва и др. соединения. В зависимости от обстановки его могли направить на помощь 6-й или 7-й гвардейским армиям. В 17.30 5 июля штаб корпуса получил приказ выдвинуться на левый фланг 6-й армии. Корпус Бурдейного должен был принять участия во фронтовом контрударе. Выдвижение соединений корпуса проходило ночью, поэтому немецкое командование не сразу обнаружило появление нового советского подвижного соединения. Несмотря на некоторые потери матчасти по техническим причинам, 2-й гвардейский танковый корпус к началу контратаки 6 июля 1943 года имел в своём составе 265 танков, включая 90 Т-34.

375-я стрелковая дивизия не принимала участие в атаке. Её полки и так были вытянуты в один эшелон, и нарушение боевых порядков дивизии было слишком опасным решением. Соединения 3-й танково-гренадерской дивизии СС «Тотенкопф» и 2-го гвардейского танкового корпуса обменялись несколькими ударами. Некоторые части корпуса Бурдейного в течение непродолжительного времени находились в окружении. Но потери корпуса не были серьёзными - 17 танков сгоревшими и 11 подбитыми. 2-й гвардейский танковый корпус сохранил свою боеспособность. 2-й гвардейский танковый корпус, поддерживаемый всё ещё боеспособной 375 стрелковой дивизией, стал угрозой для правого фланга 2-го танкового корпуса СС.

Великая Курская битва: оборонительная операция войск Воронежского фронта. Часть 2

Военнослужащие 3-й дивизии СС «Тотенкопф» обсуждают план оборонительных действий с командиром «Тигра» из состава 503-го батальона тяжелых танков. Курская Дуга.

Продолжение следует…

Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 7
  1. individ 12 июля 2013 09:53
    Сейчас новоявленные "историки" с западной подпиткой ставят под сомнение танковое сражение под Прохоровкой.
    Привожу воспоминание танкиста 22-ой гвардейской танковой бригады Александра Фадина: "...1200 танков сошлись на одном поле! Нашу бригаду вывели из фронтового резерва 6 июля, а 12 мы ударили по немцам.Представьте, как тысячи людей дерутся в рукопашную,- здесь лоб в лоб столкнулись железные машины.Мне, молодому лейтенанту, не могло и привидеться, что можно попасть в такую казалось бестолковую, но в тоже время организованную мясорубку.Танки шли друг на друга лавиной,все было в дыму.Поэтому практически перед каждым выстрелом выглядывал из люка башни и его не закрывал а держал на ремне.Когда впервые попал, появился бешенный азарт. О смерти не думал.Вот это был бой!"
    Иногда я начинаю понимать журналиста У.Скойбеду.
    Л.Гозмана и его гоп компанию из кабинета РОСНАНО бы туда где четко понимали,что такое "СС" в красивой Форме и что такое "СМЕРШ" уничтожившее это самое "СС"!
    1. de Bouillon 12 июля 2013 12:08
      не СМЕРШ, а Красная Армия.

      может Александр Фодин и был из тех избежавшего боя 6 июля? как знать.

      но факт в том, что 22 бригада воевала и 6 июля и задачу свою выполнила.
      de Bouillon
      1. Firstvanguard 15 июля 2013 07:54
        не СМЕРШ, а Красная Армия.

        И СМЕРШ, и НКВД, и Красная Армия, и весь Советский Народ.
        может Александр Фодин и был из тех избежавшего боя 6 июля? как знать.

        Во первых не Фодин, Фадин.
        Во вторых, не плохо было бы поинтересоваться что за человек такой, прежде чем нести ахинею.
  2. heruv1me 12 июля 2013 11:44
    "Одновременно самолеты 8-го авиакорпуса – группами в 50-80 машин, завертели «чёртово колесо»"- Нда, полюбому самым частым вопросом произносимым вслух нашими войсками был: "где же наша авиация ... её ...".:(
    1. de Bouillon 12 июля 2013 12:05
      противник сумел вытеснить нашу истребительную авиацию с поля боя.

      но с 15 июля у фрицев "швы разойдутся"..
      de Bouillon
  3. omsbon 12 июля 2013 12:42
    Танковые бригады пошли в контратаку без артподготовки, без помощи Военно-воздушных сил, с открытыми флангами и по открытой местности, удобной для стрельбы дальнобойных танковых орудий немецких танков. Результат был очевиден.

    Скоропалительные, необдуманные решения, нежелание прислушаться к другому мнению, все это вело к необоснованной гибели людей. К сожалению, наша армия от этого недостатка не может избавиться до сих пор.
    Вечная слава и вечный покой всем, кто погиб за нашу Родину!
  4. deman73 12 июля 2013 20:09
    МОЖЕТ ХВАТИТ всем умничать и строить из себя великих полководцев и аналитиков , а стоит почтить память ГЕРОЕВ!!!!
    1. Firstvanguard 15 июля 2013 08:00
      Двумя руками за! Задолбали эти эхсперты. Люди понятия не имеющие какой это груз ответственности, как под таким грузом и при отсутствии полной информационной картины принимать подобные решения. С умным видом обсуждают тех кто победил в этой страшной войне. am
  5. bublic82009 13 июля 2013 01:02
    в 1943 году на Курской дуге мы воевали еще не очень умело
    bublic82009

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня