From offensive to defense. The battle of Lyubachev enters a new phase

19
So, the advance of the strike group of the 8 Army was unsuccessful (see 8 Army strike group tragedy).


Adjutant General A. A. Brusilov for the map




A. A. Brusilov tried to shift the blame for the unsuccessful offensive of the strike group of his army and the heavy losses in its units to the poor preparation of these formations, since they arrived from another front. Moreover, the general assigns to these corps a certain share of responsibility for the premature fall of Przemysl. So, he writes in his memoirs that when 2 attacked the aforementioned corps from Lubachev to the south-west, a frontal attack of the enemy was obtained, which had many machine guns and huge artillery, while the advancing neither machine guns nor guns had enough, and even an artillery attack , which was supposed to prepare an infantry attack and support the latter, due to a lack of shells could not take place. The general writes that it could be said in advance that this untimely and insufficient fist, launched in an inappropriate place, will not produce tangible results. As noted by A. A. Brusilov, these 2 corps were of "very high fighting qualities," but, oddly enough, "poorly trained, like most of the troops that arrived to us from the north, and they made an attack not very harsh. Shortly after this attack, Przemysl fell ... ” One gets the impression that it was not the 8 Army command that was responsible for this attack, but someone else. A. A. Brusilov writes about these events as if he was only an outside observer. Let us leave this to the conscience of the honored commander.

The end of the offensive phase of the battle of Lyubachev


The attack of the strike group of the 8 Army was drowned. The offensive of the 3 Army was also unable to realize its goal - by delivering a deep blow to the enemy’s rear, to restore the situation on the river. San and help the 8 Army to stay in Przemysl.

The offensive at Lyubachev expanded the Russian bridgehead on the left bank of the lower reaches of the river. San, restored the situation from Pregendzel to the mouth of the river. Lyubachevka, but did not allow to seize the bridgehead on the right bank of the Sana'a - from the mouth of the river. Lyubachevka, between the river. R. San and Lyubachevka. The enemy managed to concentrate significant forces and firmly strengthen.

Limited tactical success during the offensive at Lubachev was achieved at a high cost - by pulling reserve corps into the battle (the 14 Army in the 3 Army and the 2 Caucasian Army in the 8 Army). The combat strength of the remaining corps was significantly reduced.



The failure of the offensive operation by Lyubachev and the abandonment of Przemysl had a disintegrating effect on the structure of the South-Western Front. Changing operational and strategic tasks and priorities, a new alignment of forces in Galicia and southeastern Poland led to the fact that the front was divided into 2 groups: one - the 4 and 3 armies - based on Lublin, the other - 8 , 11-I and 9-I Army - based on the Kiev Military District.

The operation near Lyubachev 19 - 22 in May is indicative of fierce oncoming battles, successful for the Russian troops, and the manifestation of the highest valor on the part of soldiers and officers of the Russian imperial army.

From a tactical point of view, the limited maneuverability of the formations of the South-Western Front and the poverty in the sphere of material and technical support of the Russian troops had a great influence on the unsuccessful outcome of the offensive operation. A participant in the operation wrote that Russian counterattacks and offensive operations, deprived of the support of the necessary artillery fire, develop either very slowly or not at all, encountering the enemy’s fire curtain and artificial obstacles not destroyed by artillery fire. The adversary uses this slowness to develop his strike in other directions. And by quickly achieving success in other areas, the enemy creates a new environment, in the presence of which the expediency of continuing the attack undertaken by the Russians either completely disappears or even creates the danger of a deterioration in the general situation.

From offensive to defense. The battle of Lyubachev enters a new phase


In fact, the offensive at Lyubachev is a battle for Przemysl. The idea itself - by active actions on an adjacent sector of the front to distract the enemy's attention from the assault on the fortress - was absolutely true. The fortress during the First World War could survive only thanks to the success of the field forces. But the same situation was repeated as during the battles at Radymno - the actions of the quantitatively and qualitatively weak Russian 3 Army did not lead to a significant change in the operational-strategic frontier on the South-Western Front. the setting. The effect of the blow, despite the tactical successes of the Russian troops, was minimal, and did not affect the fate of the fortress. The enemy did not begin to transfer additional troops to the offensive zone of the 3 Army, nor did he suspend the assault on Przemysl. As during the battles at Radymno, the enemy ignored the tactical defeat of one of his army (the Austro-Hungarian 4) in order to achieve a strategic goal. As a result, a small area of ​​the left bank of the river was captured. San, but due to an even greater weakening of the troops of the Southwestern Front - primarily the 3 Army. The enemy, covering herself from this army by Austrian troops, dealt the main blow to the Russian 8 Army, using its best formations for this operation - the corps of the German 11 Army. And by May 22, Russian troops left Przemysl. Having solved the strategic task, the enemy began to supplant the remaining armies of the South-Western Front - successively delivering attacks on the 3, 11, and then the 9 armies.

Lyubachev defense


During the defensive battles at Lubachev on 30 in May - 3 on June 1915, the main enemy of the Russian troops was the German 11 Army, Colonel General A. von Mackensen. By the end of May, it received significant reinforcements and included: the German Consolidated (56 and 119 I infantry divisions; commander - Major General K. von Behr); 10 Army (19 and 20 I Infantry Divisions; commander - General of Infantry O. von Emmich), 22 I (43 and 44 I Reserve, 107 I Infantry Divisions; commander - General Cavalry E G.N. von Falkengine); Guards (1 and 2 I Guards Infantry Divisions; commander - General of the Infantry K. F. von Plettenberg); 41th reserve (81th and 82th reserve divisions; commander - infantry general G. von Francois) corps; Austro-Hungarian 6th Army Corps (39th Honored Infantry and 12th Infantry Divisions; commander - Field Marshal-Lieutenant A.F. Arz von Straussenburg).


In the ranks of the enemy are the 1th Guards Field Artillery Regiment, the Guards Corps of the German 11th Army. 1915 Propulsion The Parade of the Guards Corps, infantry general K.F. von Plettenberg and the chief of the 1th Guards Infantry Division, Major General Prince Eithel Friedrich of Prussia, take the parade. New York Public Library


From May 23 to May 29, the adversary remained passive and improved his position.

But on 7 hours of the 30 on May, he opened a strong artillery fire on the right flank of the 24 Army (48 I Infantry Division) and the left flank of the 3 Caucasian Army (52 I Infantry Division) corps. At 9 o'clock in the morning the enemy launched an offensive, especially actively - at Monasterzh, Melnik and between Zaponts and Shmule.

After fierce battles, in the evening of May 30, the 52th Infantry Division moved north, occupying the Senyava-Tsedyly front, and the 48th Infantry Division was pushed north from the river. Lyubachevka - on the Tsedyly line - 189 height. With the support of the reserves of the 48 Infantry Division, it was again possible to occupy the Tsedyly-Veremetsk front.

To be continued ...
Our news channels

Subscribe and stay up to date with the latest news and the most important events of the day.

19 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. +11
    October 18 2019
    The transition from offensive to defense is fraught with the fact that the initiative passes to the enemy, but the situation is ripe
    1. +11
      October 18 2019
      What can you do?
  2. +10
    October 18 2019
    Combined operation, very interesting
  3. +3
    October 18 2019
    One gets the impression that it was not the 8th Army command that was responsible for this attack, but someone else. A. A. Brusilov writes about these events as if he was only an outside observer. Let us leave this to the conscience of the honored commander.

    His usual practice: victory is his merit (although he only voiced the ideas developed by his headquarters), like defeat, anyone is to blame, but not him. Deserved? No.
    1. +9
      October 18 2019
      Be that as it may, this episode is a dark spot in the general’s career. However, in fairness, such spots can be found in most generals
      1. +4
        October 18 2019
        Quote: Hunghouse
        dark spot in the career of a general

        A senseless disastrous "Kovel meat grinder" - whose merit? Also his.
        1. +11
          October 18 2019
          Yes, and a quick departure to the Gorodok position with the surrender of Przemysl, also his
    2. -1
      October 18 2019
      Etozh your tactic Olgovich as everything good is so in the Russian Empire and anyone is to blame for its shortcomings only it is not all bad as it is the USSR
  4. +11
    October 18 2019
    Now the Germans are banking with the Austrians
  5. +11
    October 18 2019
    With unflagging attention, I am following the development of this important operation. Thanks to the author.
    1. +4
      October 19 2019
      Quote: Migrant
      With unflagging attention, I am following the development of this important operation. Thanks to the author.

      From the bottom of my heart I join these words. hi
  6. +1
    October 18 2019
    The more I learn about Brusilov, the worse the opinion of him becomes.
    1. +10
      October 18 2019
      The esteemed Dmitry probably does not know the ideal commanders.
      But yes, I personally set such generals as P. A. Pleve and N. N. Yudenich to put him higher
  7. +10
    October 18 2019
    Great-grandfather fought in the year 15 Poland
    Bright memory
    Eternal memory to all who fell for their homeland !!
  8. +8
    October 19 2019
    As one lady rightly wrote, such courses need to be introduced to the history textbook at school!
  9. +9
    October 20 2019
    In truth, victories have many fathers, and only defeats are always orphans. It is a pity that Brusilova does not paint this act. Could fail to blame on the Germans, such as there are more and they are stronger ...
    1. +8
      October 20 2019
      And even better - on the Germans with the Austrians))
  10. +4
    October 21 2019
    Always for surgery, a fracture is very important and dangerous. We look forward to continuing.
  11. +4
    October 22 2019
    Though not the topic, but here is such an interesting nuance

    That is, during these years, all five allegedly visited (or stayed) in Vienna, visiting their favorite cafes (indicated on the map). Everyone’s favorite cafes are different, but theoretically there was an opportunity to meet.
    They knew the canals where to walk wink ))
  12. The comment was deleted.

"Right Sector" (banned in Russia), "Ukrainian Insurgent Army" (UPA) (banned in Russia), ISIS (banned in Russia), "Jabhat Fatah al-Sham" formerly "Jabhat al-Nusra" (banned in Russia) , Taliban (banned in Russia), Al-Qaeda (banned in Russia), Anti-Corruption Foundation (banned in Russia), Navalny Headquarters (banned in Russia), Facebook (banned in Russia), Instagram (banned in Russia), Meta (banned in Russia), Misanthropic Division (banned in Russia), Azov (banned in Russia), Muslim Brotherhood (banned in Russia), Aum Shinrikyo (banned in Russia), AUE (banned in Russia), UNA-UNSO (banned in Russia), Mejlis of the Crimean Tatar People (banned in Russia), Legion “Freedom of Russia” (armed formation, recognized as terrorist in the Russian Federation and banned)

“Non-profit organizations, unregistered public associations or individuals performing the functions of a foreign agent,” as well as media outlets performing the functions of a foreign agent: “Medusa”; "Voice of America"; "Realities"; "Present time"; "Radio Freedom"; Ponomarev; Savitskaya; Markelov; Kamalyagin; Apakhonchich; Makarevich; Dud; Gordon; Zhdanov; Medvedev; Fedorov; "Owl"; "Alliance of Doctors"; "RKK" "Levada Center"; "Memorial"; "Voice"; "Person and law"; "Rain"; "Mediazone"; "Deutsche Welle"; QMS "Caucasian Knot"; "Insider"; "New Newspaper"

Военное обозрение

От наступления - к обороне. Битва у Любачева входит в новую фазу

19
Итак, наступление ударной группы 8-й армии было безуспешно (см. Трагедия ударной группы 8-й армии).



Генерал-адьютант А. А. Брусилов за картой


Вину за неудачное наступление ударной группы своей армии и большие потери в ее частях А. А. Брусилов попытался переложить на слабую подготовку этих соединений, т. к. они прибыли с другого фронта. Более того, генерал возлагает на эти корпуса определенную долю ответственности за преждевременное падение Перемышля. Так, он пишет в мемуарах, что при наступлении 2 вышеупомянутых корпусов от Любачева на юго-запад получалась лобовая атака врага, обладавшего множеством пулеметов и громадной артиллерией, тогда как у наступающих ни пулеметов, ни орудий в достаточном количестве не было, да и артиллерийская атака, которая должна была подготовить пехотную атаку и поддерживать последнюю, вследствие недостатка снарядов не могла состояться. Генерал пишет, что можно было сказать наперед, что этот несвоевременный и недостаточный кулак, пущенный в ход в ненадлежащем месте, осязаемых результатов не даст. Как отмечает А. А. Брусилов, эти 2 корпуса были «очень высоких боевых качеств», но, как ни странно, «плохо обучены, как и большинство войск, прибывавших к нам с севера, и атаку они произвели весьма несноровисто. Вскоре после этой атаки Перемышль пал…». Складывается впечатление, что не командование 8-й армии было ответственно за эту атаку, а кто-то другой. А. А. Брусилов пишет об этих событиях так, как если бы он являлся лишь сторонним наблюдателем. Оставим это на совести заслуженного полководца.

Завершение наступательной фазы битвы у Любачева


Атака ударной группы 8-й армии захлебнулась. Наступление 3-й армии также не смогло реализовать поставленную цель – нанеся глубокий удар в тыл противнику, восстановить положение на р. Сан и помочь 8-й армии удержаться в Перемышле.

Наступление у Любачева расширило русский плацдарм на левом берегу нижнего течения р. Сан, восстановило положение от Пржендзель до устья р. Любачевка, но не позволило овладеть плацдармом на правобережье Сана — от устья р. Любачевка, между р. р. Сан и Любачевка. Противник успел сосредоточить значительные силы и прочно укрепиться.

Ограниченный тактический успех в ходе наступления у Любачева был достигнут дорогой ценой – путем втягивания в бой корпусов резерва (14-й армейский в 3-й армии и 2-й Кавказский армейский — в 8-й армии). Боевой состав остальных корпусов значительно сократился.



Неудача наступательной операции у Любачева и оставление Перемышля оказали дезинтегрирующее влияние на структуру Юго-Западного фронта. Изменение оперативно-стратегических задач и приоритетов, новая расстановка сил в Галиции и юго-восточной Польше привели к тому, что фронт оказался разделен на 2 группы: одна — 4-я и 3-я армии — базируется на Люблин, другая — 8-я, 11-я и 9-я армии – базируется на Киевский военный округ.

Операция у Любачева 19 – 22 мая показательна ожесточенными встречными боями, успешными для русских войск, и проявлением высочайшей доблести со стороны солдат и офицеров русской императорской армии.

С тактической точки зрения большое влияние на неудачный исход наступательной операции оказали ограниченная маневроспособность соединений Юго-Западного фронта и скудость в сфере материально-технического обеспечения русских войск. Участник операции писал, что русские контратаки и наступательные операции, лишенные поддержки необходимого артиллерийского огня, развиваются или очень медленно либо вовсе не осуществляются, наталкиваясь на огневую завесу врага и не разрушенные артиллерийским огнем искусственные препятствия. Этой медленностью пользуется противник — для развития своего удара на других направлениях. И быстрым достижением успеха на других направлениях противник создает новую обстановку, при наличии которой целесообразность продолжения предпринятого русскими наступления или совершенно теряется или даже создается опасность ухудшения общего положения.

От наступления - к обороне. Битва у Любачева входит в новую фазу


Фактически наступление у Любачева — это битва за Перемышль. Сама по себе идея — активными действиями на смежном участке фронта отвлечь внимание противника от штурма крепости – была абсолютно верна. Крепость в период Первой мировой войны могла выстоять только благодаря успеху полевых войск Но повторилась та же ситуация, что и в ходе боев у Радымно – действия количественно и качественно слабой русской 3-й армии не привели к существенному изменению на Юго-Западном фронте оперативно-стратегической обстановки. Эффект от удара, несмотря на тактические успехи русских войск, оказался минимальным, и не сказался на судьбе крепости. Противник не стал перебрасывать дополнительные войска в полосу наступления 3-й армии, не приостановил он и штурма Перемышля. Как и в ходе боев у Радымно, противник проигнорировал тактическое поражение одной своей армии (австро-венгерской 4-й) ради достижения стратегической цели. В итоге, была захвачена небольшая площадь левого берега р. Сан, но за счет еще большего ослабления войск Юго-Западного фронта – прежде всего 3-й армии. Противник, прикрывшись от этой армии австрийскими войсками, нанес главный удар по русской 8-й армии, задействовав для этой операции свои лучшие соединения — курпуса германской 11-й армии. И к 22-му мая русские войска оставили Перемышль. Решив стратегическую задачу, противник начал вытеснение и остальных армий Юго-Западного фронта — последовательно нанося удары по 3-й, 11-й, а потом и по 9-й армиям.

Любачевская оборона


В период оборонительных боев у Любачева 30 мая – 3 июня 1915 г. главным противником русских войск была германская 11-я армия генерал-полковника А. фон Макензена. К концу мая она получила значительные подкрепления и включала в свой состав: германские Сводный (56-я и 119-я пехотные дивизии; командир – генерал-майор К. фон Бер); 10-й армейский (19-я и 20-я пехотные дивизии; командир – генерал пехоты О. фон Эммих), 22-й резервный (43-я и 44-я резервные, 107-я пехотная дивизии; командир – генерал кавалерии Е. Г. Н. фон Фалькенгайн); Гвардейский (1-я и 2-я гвардейские пехотные дивизии; командир – генерал пехоты К. Ф. фон Плеттенберг); 41-й резервный (81-я и 82-я резервные дивизии; командир – генерал пехоты Г. фон Франсуа) корпуса; австро-венгерский 6-й армейский корпус (39-я гонведная пехотная и 12-я пехотная дивизии; командир – фельдмаршал-лейтенант А. Ф. Арц фон Штрауссенбург).


В рядах противника – 1-й гвардейский полевой артиллерийский полк, Гвардейский корпус германской 11-й армии. 1915 г. Принимают парад командир Гвардейского корпуса генерал пехоты К. Ф. фон Плеттенберг и начальник 1-й гвардейской пехотной дивизии генерал-майор принц Эйтель Фридрих Прусский. Нью-Йоркская публичная библиотека


С 23-го по 29-е мая противник оставался пассивным и совершенствовал свои позиции.

Но 7 часов 30-го мая он открыл сильный артогонь по правому флангу 24-го армейского (48-я пехотная дивизия) и левому флангу 3-го Кавказского армейского (52-я пехотная дивизия) корпусов. В 9 часов утра противник начал наступление, особенно активно — на Монастерж, Мельник и между Запонце и Шмуле.

После ожесточенных боев к вечеру 30-го мая 52-я пехотная дивизия отошла к северу, заняв фронт Сенява — Цедылы, а 48-я пехотная дивизия была оттеснена на север от р. Любачевка — на линию Цедылы — высота 189. При поддержке резервов 48-й пехотной дивизии вновь удалось занять фронт Цедылы — Веремецке.

Продолжение следует…
Автор:
Статьи из этой серии:
Трагедия ударной группы 8-й армии
Любачевские сражения, май-июнь 1915-го
Финал битвы за радымненский ключ к Перемышлю
Сенява 1915. Идеальная ночная атака
Кровавое Радымно. Артиллеристы, кавалеристы и пластуны на пути "катка" А. Макензена
Битва у Радымно. Первый раунд
Финал Битвы под Ярославом. Удержимся ли на Сане?
Борьба за инициативу в битве под Ярославом. Два контрнаступления
Апогей битвы 1915 года под Ярославом. Отмененный приказ Радко-Дмитриева
Тяжёлый Первомай под Ярославом
Битва у Ярослава. Ключ позиции Третьей армии
Битва у польского города с русским именем. Ч. 1. Плацдарм у Ярослава
3-й Кавказский корпус на пути стратегического урагана. Часть 4. Просчёты и перспективы
3-й Кавказский корпус на пути стратегического урагана. Часть 3. День катастрофы
3-й Кавказский корпус на пути стратегического урагана. Часть 2. Костяк армейской группы
3-й Кавказский корпус на пути стратегического урагана. Часть 1. Элита вводится в бой
Под ударом «тарана» Макензена
19 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Далтон
    Далтон 18 октября 2019 05:53 Новый
    +11
    Переход от наступления к обороне чреват тем что инициатива переходит к противнику, да обстановка назрела
    1. тяжелый дивизион
      тяжелый дивизион 18 октября 2019 06:20 Новый
      +11
      А что тут поделаешь?
  2. тяжелый дивизион
    тяжелый дивизион 18 октября 2019 06:21 Новый
    +10
    Комбинированная операция, очень интересно
  3. Ольгович
    Ольгович 18 октября 2019 07:05 Новый
    +3
    Складывается впечатление, что не командование 8-й армии было ответственно за эту атаку, а кто-то другой. А. А. Брусилов пишет об этих событиях так, как если бы он являлся лишь сторонним наблюдателем. Оставим это на совести заслуженного полководца.

    Его обычная практика: победы, так это его заслуга (хотя он лишь озвучивал идеи , разработанные его штабом), как поражения-виноват кто угодно, только не он. Заслуженный? no
    1. Хунхуз
      Хунхуз 18 октября 2019 07:34 Новый
      +9
      Как бы то ни было, сей эпизод - темное пятно в карьере генерала. Впрочем, справедливости ради, такие пятна можно найти у большинства генералов
      1. Ольгович
        Ольгович 18 октября 2019 07:37 Новый
        +4
        Цитата: Хунхуз
        темное пятно в карьере генерала

        А бессмысленная гибельная "ковельская мясорубка"-чья заслуга? Тоже-его.
        1. Хунхуз
          Хунхуз 18 октября 2019 09:21 Новый
          +11
          Да и быстрый отход на Городокскую позицию со сдачей Перемышля, тоже его
    2. Кронос
      Кронос 18 октября 2019 22:46 Новый
      -1
      Этож твоя тактика Ольговичь как все хорошее так в Российской Империи а за ее недостатки виноват кто угодно только не она как все плохое так это СССР
  4. Хунхуз
    Хунхуз 18 октября 2019 07:35 Новый
    +11
    Теперь банкуют немцы с австрийцами
  5. мигрант
    мигрант 18 октября 2019 09:23 Новый
    +11
    С неослабевающим вниманием слежу за развитием этой важной операции. Спасибо автору.
    1. Reptiloid
      Reptiloid 19 октября 2019 10:50 Новый
      +4
      Цитата: мигрант
      С неослабевающим вниманием слежу за развитием этой важной операции. Спасибо автору.

      Ото всей души присоединяюсь к таким словам. hi
  6. Trapper7
    Trapper7 18 октября 2019 16:30 Новый
    +1
    Чем больше узнаю о Брусилове, тем хуже становится о нем мнение.
    1. Далтон
      Далтон 18 октября 2019 17:28 Новый
      +10
      Идеальных полководцев уважаемый Дмитрий история, вероятно, не знает.
      Но да, я лично таких генералов как П. А. Плеве и Н. Н. Юденич ставлю повыше него
  7. деда Барсик
    деда Барсик 18 октября 2019 21:22 Новый
    +10
    Прадед в 15году Польше воевал
    Светлая память
    Вечная память всем кто пал за Родину!!
  8. EKZECUTOR
    EKZECUTOR 19 октября 2019 14:38 Новый
    +8
    Как справедливо написала одна дама, такие курсы нужно вводить приложение к учебнику Истории в школе!
  9. Kapitan A
    Kapitan A 20 октября 2019 00:28 Новый
    +9
    Вот уж во истину у побед множество отцов, и только поражения всегда сироты. Жаль, Брусилова сей поступок не красит. Мог бы неудачу списать на немцев, типа их больше и они сильнее...
    1. Адьютант
      Адьютант 20 октября 2019 18:13 Новый
      +8
      А еще лучше - на немцев с австрийцами))
  10. мигрант
    мигрант 21 октября 2019 08:42 Новый
    +4
    Всегда для операции перелом очень важен и опасен. Ждем продолжения.
  11. Далтон
    Далтон 22 октября 2019 17:02 Новый
    +4
    Пусть и не в тему, но вот такой интересный нюанс

    То бишь в эти годы все пятеро якобы побывали (или пребывали) в Вене, посещая свои любимые кафе (указаны на карте). Кафе любимые у всех разные, но теоретически возможность встретиться имелась.
    Знали канальи где гулять wink ))
  12. Комментарий был удален.