Verkhniyon uprising

For three months, the rebel Cossacks under the command of Pavel Kudinov fought off the attacks of the 8 and 9 armies of the red Southern Front. The revolted Don Cossacks shackled considerable forces of the Red Army, contributing to the offensive of the White Cossacks. This allowed Denikin’s army to occupy the Don Region and create a threat of access to the central provinces of Russia.

Split the Cossacks. Storytelling



The attitude of the Bolsheviks to the Cossacks was ambivalent. On the one hand, negative, as the Cossacks were considered "executioners, guardsmen, dead men" of the fallen royal regime. The Cossacks were a privileged class, had land and privileges. At the same time, the Cossacks were professional military men, well trained, organized, and with their weaponsthat is, represented a threat. On the other hand, the Cossacks wanted to win over, since they were a special part of the peasantry. They could be used in the fight against the enemies of the Soviet regime.

The Cossacks themselves also hesitated; there was a split in their ranks in relation to the Soviet power. Initially, the bulk of the Cossacks, especially the young, front-line soldiers, were on the side of the Bolsheviks. They supported the first decrees, returned to peaceful life, nobody touched their land. The Cossacks believed that they could maintain neutrality and would not interfere in the war between white and red. That the repressive policy of the Bolsheviks was directed only against the rich classes - the bourgeoisie, landowners, etc. At the same time, some Cossacks had strong separatist moods that they could live separately and richly, avoid common collapse and chaos, war. They wanted to spit on a “united and indivisible” Russia, they became active separatists. It is clear that in the conditions of the general Russian distemper it was a utopia that cost the Cossacks very expensive.

As a result, the Cossacks became "grass on the battlefield." Kaledin, Alekseev and Denikins opposed the Bolsheviks, while the majority of the Cossacks on the Don were neutral. White and White Cossack were beaten. Volunteers retreated to the Kuban. Kaledin died. Don region occupied red. Among them were many red Cossacks under the command of a military foreman Golubov.

It is worth remembering that during the unrest up come various dark, asocial and criminal personalities. They use general chaos, anarchy, collapse to rob, kill, satisfy their dark needs. There is a criminal revolution. Bandits and criminals "repaint" in red, white, nationalists, to gain power, to use it in their own interests. In addition, many revolutionaries, the Red Guards, sincerely hated the Cossacks, the “royal guardsmen”.

Therefore, when the Reds occupied the Don region, it was automatically considered a hostile, enemy territory. Various negative excesses began to occur - red terror, repression, murder, unreasonable arrests, robberies, requisition, the seizure of elements of the control system, the land by aliens. Punitive expedition.

All this caused the active resistance of the Cossacks, who were the military class, that is, they knew how to fight. On this wave was created Cossack republic Krasnov. At the same time, she was hostile to the Russian civilization, to the people, as it was oriented toward the West, Germany. Krasnov asked the German emperor to help in the dismemberment of Russia and the creation of a separate state - the Great Don Army. Krasnov also claimed the neighboring cities and regions - Taganrog, Kamyshin, Tsaritsyn and Voronezh. Krasnov also supported the "separatism" of other parts of Russia - Ukraine-Little Russia, Astrakhan, Kuban and Terek Cossack troops, the North Caucasus. The course on "independence" led to the collapse of Russia. Krasnovtsy declared themselves "separate" from the Russian ethnic group. That is, half of the population of the Don Region (Russians, but not Cossacks) were removed from management, their rights were infringed, they were people of the “second class”.

Not surprisingly, the Cossacks also split. There was no united front of the Cossacks against the Bolsheviks. So, despite all the excesses, 1918 Cossack regiments fought on the side of the Red Army in the middle of 14, and among the Cossacks were such talented red commanders as Mironov, Blinov, Dumenko (from Don peasants). BUT Krasnov's government arranged its raskazachivanie - red Cossacks, in order to eliminate supporters of the red power in the Don. Sympathizers of the Soviet government were expelled from the Cossacks, deprived of all rights and privileges, taken land and property, expelled from the Don region, or sent to penal servitude. All the red Cossacks, who joined the Red Army and were captured, were executed. The policy of "white" raskazachivaniya underwent up to 30 thousand. Red Cossacks with their families. In total, during the policy of the Reds from May 1918 to February 1919, according to various estimates, thousands of Cossacks, supporters of Soviet power on the Don, were destroyed from 25 to 45.

It is also worth remembering that the White Cossacks, who fought in the armies of Krasnov and then Denikin, behaved in the neighboring provinces, in particular, in the Saratov and Voronezh gubernias, as foreign enemies. White and Cossacks were not knights without fear and reproach. They were "products" of decomposition, death of the Russian Empire. The Cossacks were participants in the White Terror. The Cossack units were robbed, raped, killed, hanged and flogged. Huge transports followed the Cossack regiments; the Cossacks plundered Russian villages as if they were walking not in Russia, but in a foreign land. In Denikin’s memoirs, they look like a gang of marauders, not “warriors of Holy Russia.” Russian citizens and peasants who were “liberated” from Soviet power were robbed, raped and killed. The Cossacks also acted against their own peasants, "non-resident" in the territory of the Don region. It is clear that it all caused a hard answer, when the flywheel of the terrible civil war turned back and the Don Army collapsed, began to retreat. The spontaneous response of the Red Guards, the Red Army turned into revenge, too, to all the Cossacks, indiscriminately.

You also need to know that in the leadership of the Bolshevik Party there was a wing of cosmopolitan internationalists, agents of the influence of the West. They led to the cause of the collapse, the destruction of Russian civilization, the "world revolution" on the basis of the death of Russia. The Cossacks, personified the ancient Russian traditions of the soldiers-tillers, caused their hatred. Trotsky and Sverdlov initiated the process of storytelling. Trotsky wrote about the Cossacks:
“This is a kind of zoological environment ... A cleansing flame must pass through the whole Don, and all of them bring fear and almost religious horror. The old Cossacks should be burned in the flames of a social revolution ... Let their last remnants ... be thrown into the Black Sea ... "


Trotsky demanded that the Cossacks arrange a Carthage.

In January, 1919, the chairman of the All-Russian Central Executive Committee, Yakov Sverdlov, signed a directive on disclosure. Tops of the Cossacks, the rich Cossacks were subject to total destruction, the terror was used against those who took any part in the fight against the Soviet regime; introduced the policy of surplus; in the Cossack region settled newcomer poor; carried out complete disarmament, shooting everyone who did not surrender their weapons; to prevent new uprisings, they took hostages from prominent representatives of the stanitsas. When the Voshensky Uprising began, these instructions were supplemented by the requirements of mass terror, with the burning of the insurgent villages, the merciless executions of the rebels and their accomplices, the mass taking of hostages; mass resettlement of the Cossacks into Russia, replacing it with a new element, etc. A little later, when the uprising began, the Soviet leadership recognized the fallacy of a number of revolutionary events. So, March 16 1919 was held with a plenum of the Central Committee of the RCP (b) with the participation of Lenin, who decided to suspend the planned measures of merciless terror "in relation to all Cossacks in general who took any direct or indirect participation in the fight against Soviet power."



Verkhniyon uprising


Verkhniyon uprising

The first wave of terror and robbery passed through the Don, when the Cossacks themselves opened the front and went home. Red troops entered the Don, they requisitioned horses, food, spontaneously allowed the enemies of the Soviet regime (or who seemed to be such) to the “expense”. Killed first officers. Then the regular red troops settled on the bank of the Seversky Donets, the front stabilized.

Organized rasskazachivanie was much worse. Commissar Fomin was replaced in February 1919 by the uprising against Krasnov. Among the representatives of the new government there were many revolutionaries-internationalists. The cossack regiments that had gone over to the side of the Reds were sent to the Eastern Front. Began mobilization, now the Cossacks persecuted to fight for the Reds. The red Cossack commander Mironov was removed far away (he later spoke out against the policy of disclosing and Trotsky). After that began a full-scale raskazachivanie. The very word "Cossack", the Cossack form, was forbidden, weapons were withdrawn, for non-delivery - execution. The villages were renamed in the parish, farms in the village. Verkhne-Donskoy district was liquidated, Vyoshensky district was created instead. The property of the rich and the bourgeois was seized. Settlements obkladyvali contribution. Some of the Don lands were planned to be divided into the Voronezh and Saratov regions, they were going to be settled by newcomers. In some places, they began to liberate land for immigrants from the central provinces.

Terror and repression were not spontaneous, but well organized, systematic. Any “accomplice” could have come under attack, and not just officers, gendarmes, chieftains, priests, etc. And a split took place in many families, one son, a brother could fight for the whites, another for the Reds. But it turned out that the family was "counter-revolutionary."

The Cossacks could not stand it and rebelled again. The spontaneous uprising began in March 1919. Immediately rebelled in several places. The Cossacks of the three farms drove the Reds out of Vyoshenskaya. The rebellion raised five villages - Kazan, Elanskaya, Vyoshenskaya, Migulinskaya and Shumilinskaya. Khutor formed hundreds, elected commanders. Spent a full mobilization of all those who could carry weapons. The slogan of the rebels at first was this: "For the Soviet power, but without the Communists!" It was like the program of Makhno. Chairman of the executive committee was elected military officer Danilov, commander - Khorunov Khorinov. Pavel Kudinov in the years of World War II was awarded four crosses of St. George, in 1918 he was the head of the machine gun command of the 1 th Vyoshensky cavalry regiment of the Don Army. After the uprising against Krasnov became Fomin's assistant.


Map source: A.I. Egorov. Civil war in Russia: the defeat of Denikin

March 20 1919, defeating the punitive detachment, the Vyoshensky regiment seized several guns and took Karginsky. Then the Cossacks broke another red squad and occupied Bokovskaya. Reds did not at first give the uprising a serious meaning. Weapons from the Cossacks mostly already taken away. There were a lot of similar uprisings in the country. Usually they were quickly crushed, or the rebels themselves dispersed. However, the Cossacks were a military estate, quickly organized themselves. New villages rose, practically the entire Upper Don region. Fermentation began in the neighboring districts - Ust-Medveditsk, Khopyorsk. At the beginning of the Cossack uprising there were about 15 thousand people. Kudinov reorganized the rebel army, combining the village hundreds of 5 regular cavalry divisions and one brigade and regiment. By May, Kudinov’s army already numbered about 30 thousand people.

The rebels had to repel weapons in battle. At first they fought with cold arms, swords and pikes. Then, during the battles, 6 batteries were made from captured guns, and 150 machine guns were captured. There was no ammunition, they were captured, made in a handicraft way, but they were sorely lacking. The Red Command, realizing the threat, began to remove regular regiments from the front, to enclose the region from all sides. Tightening detachments, detachments of internationalists, sailors, cadets, communists, reserve parts. In total, 25, thousands of people, were put up against the Cossacks with an overwhelming fire superiority (in May, 40, thousand soldiers, tried to suppress the uprising). The Cossacks were saved by the fact that they were underestimated, the Red troops were pulled up and entered into battle by units in different sectors, which allowed the rebels to repel attacks.

Verkhnedonskoe uprising was doomed to defeat. The rebels asked for help from the white command. However, the Don and Volunteer armies were tied up by heavy battles on the flanks — Tsaritsin and Donbass, so they could not immediately help. In March, the Eastern Front of the Don Army collapsed, the Cossacks fled to the steppe, beyond the Manych. Pala Grand Prince. The Reds forced the Manych and by the beginning of April occupied the Torgovaya, Ataman, advanced units came out to Mechetinsky. Between Don and Kuban there was a narrow, in 100 km, strip with a single branch of the railway. To stabilize the front in the east, the white command had to deploy troops from the western sector of the front, although the situation in the Donbas was also difficult. Only in May, the Don Army established contact with the rebel army with the help of airplanes. Aircraft began to bring ammunition in proportion to their weak capabilities.

In May, the Red Army, concentrating a strong strike force, began a decisive offensive. The Cossacks fought back fiercely, but there was extremely little ammunition. 22 May, the rebels began to retreat along the entire right bank of the Don. The population also ran for the Don. On the left bank of the Don Cossacks staged the last line of defense. Only the attack of Denikin’s army saved the rebels from total annihilation.

For three months, the rebel Cossacks under the command of Pavel Kudinov fought off the attacks of the 8 and 9 armies of the red Southern Front. May 25 (June 7) The rebels united with the Don Army. Over the next two weeks, through the joint efforts of the Don and the rebel armies, the entire territory of the Don Region was liberated from the Red Army. May 29 Don Army troops took Miller, June 1 - Lugansk. After that, Kudinov resigned his command. The 8-I Red Army was pushed aside to the north, on the Voronezh direction, the 9-I Red Army - to the northeast, to the Balashov direction. The rebel army was disbanded, parts of it poured into the Don Army. The White Command treated the insurgents with distrust, as they did to the former Reds, so the rebel commanders did not receive serious posts in it.

Thus, the insurgent Don Cossacks forged significant forces of the Red Army, contributing to the offensive of the White Cossacks. This allowed Denikin’s army to occupy the Don Region and create a threat of an exit to the central provinces of Russia, a strike against Orel and Tula.


Pavel Nazaryevich Kudinov, Commander of the Rebel Forces of the Upper Don District in 1919
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

49 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Верхнедонское восстание

Три месяца восставшие казаки под началом Павла Кудинова отбивали атаки 8-й и 9-й армий красного Южного фронта. Восставшее донское казачество сковало значительные силы Красной Армии, способствуя наступлению белоказаков. Это позволило армии Деникина занять Донскую область и создать угрозу выхода в центральные губернии России.

Раскол казаков. Расказачивание

Отношение большевиков к казачеству было двойственным. С одной стороны, негативным, так как казаки считались «палачами, опричниками, нагаечниками» павшего царского режима. Казачество было привилегированным сословием, имело землю и привилегии. При этом казаки были профессиональными военными, хорошо подготовленными, организованными и со своим оружием, то есть представляли угрозу. С другой стороны, казаков хотели привлечь на свою сторону, так как они были особой частью крестьянства. Их можно было использовать в борьбе с врагами советской власти.


Сами казаки также колебались, в их рядах произошел раскол по отношению к советской власти. Первоначально основная масса казаков, особенно молодые, фронтовики, были на стороне большевиков. Они поддержали первые декреты, вернулись к мирной жизни, их земли никто не трогал. Казаки считали, что смогут сохранить нейтралитет, не будут вмешиваться в войну между белыми и красными. Что репрессивная политика большевиков направлена только против богатых классов – буржуазии, помещиков и т. д. При этом у части казаков были сильны самостийные настроения, что можно жить отдельно и богато, избежать общего развала и хаоса, войны. Они плевать хотели на «единую и неделимую» Россию, стали активными сепаратистами. Понятно, что в условиях общей русской смуты это была утопия, которая стоила казакам очень дорого.

В итоге казаки стали «травой на поле боя». Каледин, Алексеев и Деникины выступили против большевиков, при нейтралитете основной массы казаков на Дону. Белые и белоказаки были биты. Добровольцы отступили на Кубань. Каледин погиб. Донскую область заняли красные. Среди них было много красных казаков под началом войскового старшины Голубова.

Стоит помнить, что во время смуты наверх выходят различные тёмные, асоциальные и криминальные личности. Они пользуются общим хаосом, анархией, развалом, чтобы грабить, убивать, удовлетворять свои тёмные потребности. Происходит криминальная революция. Бандиты и уголовники «перекрашиваются» в красных, белых, националистов, чтобы получить власть, пользоваться ею в своих интересах. Кроме того, многие революционеры, красногвардейцы искренне ненавидели казаков, «царских опричников».

Поэтому, когда красные заняли Донскую область, она автоматически считалась враждебной, вражеской территорией. Стали происходить различные негативные эксцессы – красный террор, репрессии, убийства, необоснованные аресты, грабежи, реквизиции, захват пришлым элементов системы управления, земли. Карательные экспедиции.

Всё это вызвало активное сопротивление казаков, которые были военным сословием, то есть воевать умели. На этой волне была создана казачья республика Краснова. При этом она была враждебна русской цивилизации, народу, так как ориентировалась на Запад, Германию. Краснов просил германского императора помочь в расчленении России и создании отдельного государства – «Всевеликого войска Донского». Также Краснов претендовал на соседние города и области – Таганрог, Камышин, Царицын и Воронеж. Краснов поддерживал и «самостийность» других частей России – Украины-Малороссии, Астраханского, Кубанского и Терского казачьих войск, Северного Кавказа. Курс на «самостийность» вёл к развалу России. Красновцы объявили себя «отдельным» от русских этносом. То есть половина населения Донской области (русских, но не казаков) отстранялась от управления, ущемлялась в правах, были людьми «второго сорта».

Неудивительно, что казачество также раскололось. Не было единого фронта казаков против большевиков. Так, несмотря на все эксцессы, на стороне Красной Армии в середине 1918 года воевало 14 казачьих полков и среди казаков были такие талантливые красные командиры как Миронов, Блинов, Думенко (из донских крестьян). А правительство Краснова устроило своё расказачивание – красного казачества, с целью ликвидации сторонников красной власти на Дону. Сочувствующих советской власти исключали из казачества, лишали всех прав и льгот, отбирали землю и имущество, высылали за пределы Донской области, или отправляли на каторгу. Всех красных казаков, который вступили в Красную Армию и попадали в плен, казнили. Политике «белого» расказачивания подверглись до 30 тыс. красных казаков с семьями. Всего во время политики красновщины с мая 1918 по февраль 1919 года, по разным оценкам было уничтожено от 25 до 45 тыс. казаков, сторонников советской власти на Дону.

Также стоит помнить, что сами белоказаки, воевавшие в армии Краснова, а затем Деникина, вели себя на территории соседних губерний, в частности, в Саратовской и Воронежской губерниях, как иноземные враги. Белые и казаки не были рыцарями без страха и упрека. Они были «продуктами» разложения, гибели Российской империи. Казаки были участниками белого террора. Казачьи части грабили, насиловали, убивали, вешали и пороли. За казачьими полками шли огромные обозы, казаки грабили русские деревни так, как будто шли не по России, а по чужой земле. В воспоминаниях Деникина они выглядят как банда мародеров, а не «воинов Святой Руси». Русских горожан и крестьян, которых «освобождали» от советской власти, грабили, насиловали и убивали. Казаки также действовали и против своих же крестьян, «иногородних» на территории Донской области. Понятно, что всё это вызвало жесткий ответ, когда маховик страшной гражданской войны повернул обратно и Донская армия развалилась, стала отступать. Ответная стихийная реакция красногвардейцев, красноармейцев вылилась в месть тоже ко всем казакам, без разбора.

Также необходимо знать, что в руководстве партии большевиков было крыло интернационалистов-космополитов, агентов влияния Запада. Они вели к дело к развалу, уничтожению русской цивилизации, «мировой революции» на основе гибели России. Казачество, олицетворявшее древние русские традиции воинов-землепашцев, вызывало их ненависть. Троцкий и Свердлов инициировали процесс расказачивания. Троцкий писал о казаках:
«Это своего рода зоологическая среда… Очистительное пламя должно пройти по всему Дону, и на всех них навести страх и почти религиозный ужас. Старое казачество должно быть сожжено в пламени социальной революции… Пусть последние их остатки… будут сброшены в Чёрное море…»


Троцкий же требовал устроить казакам «Карфаген».

В январе 1919 года председатель ВЦИК Яков Свердлов подписал директиву о расказачивании. Верхи казачества, богатые казаки подлежали поголовному уничтожению, террор применялся в отношении тех, кто принимал какое-либо участие в борьбе с советской властью; вводилась политика продразверстки; в казачьей области расселяли пришлую бедноту; проводили полное разоружение, расстреливая каждого, кто не сдавал оружие; для предотвращения новых восстаний брали заложников из видных представителей станиц. Когда началось Вёшенское восстание, эти указания были дополнены требованиями массового террора, с сожжением восставших станиц, беспощадными расстрелами восставших и их соучастников, массовым взятием заложников; массовым переселением казачества внутрь России, заменой его на пришлый элемент и т. д. Немногим позднее, когда началось восстание, советское руководство признало ошибочность ряда революционных мероприятий. Так, 16 марта 1919 года с состоялся пленум ЦК РКП(б) с участием Ленина, который принял решение о приостановке намеченных мер беспощадного террора «по отношению ко всем вообще казакам, принимавшим какое-либо прямое или косвенное участие в борьбе с Советской властью».

Верхнедонское восстание



Верхнедонское восстание

Первая волна террора и грабежей прошла по Дону, когда казаки сами открыли фронт и разошлись по домам. На Дон вступили красные войска, они реквизировали лошадей, продовольствие, стихийно пускали врагов советской власти (или кто казался таковым) «в расход». Убивали в первую очередь офицеров. Затем регулярные красные войска осели на берегу Северского Донца, фронт стабилизировался.

Организованное расказачивание было намного страшнее. Поднявшего восстание против Краснова комиссара Фомина в феврале 1919 года заменили. Среди представителей новых властей было много революционеров-интернационалистов. Перешедшие на сторону красных казачьи полки отправили на Восточный фронт. Начали мобилизацию, теперь казаков гнали воевать за красных. Убрали подальше красного казачьего полководца Миронова (позднее он выступил против политики расказачивания и Троцкого). После этого началось полномасштабное расказачивание. Запрещалось само слово «казак», казачья форма, изымалось оружие, за несдачу — расстрел. Станицы переименовывались в волости, хутора в села. Верхне-Донской округ был ликвидирован, вместо него создавался Вёшенский район. Имущество «богачей и буржуев» изымалось. Населенные пункты обкладывали контрибуцией. Часть донских земель планировали вычленить в состав Воронежской и Саратовской областей, их собирались заселить новоприбывшими. Кое-где начали освобождать землю для переселенцев из центральных губерний.

Террор и репрессии стали не стихийными, а хорошо организованными, систематическими. Под удар мог попасть любой «соучастник», а не только офицеры, жандармы, атаманы, священники и т. д. А раскол прошёл по многим семьям, один сын, брат мог воевать за белых, другой – за красных. Но выходило, что семья «контрреволюционная».

Казаки не выдержали и снова восстали. Стихийное восстание началось в марте 1919 года. Сразу восстали в нескольких местах. Казаки трёх хуторов прогнали красных из Вёшенской. Мятеж подняли пять станиц – Казанская, Еланская, Вёшенская, Мигулинская и Шумилинская. Хутора формировали сотни, выбирали командиров. Провели полную мобилизацию всех, кто мог носить оружие. Лозунгом восставших сначала стал этот: «За советскую власть, но без коммунистов!» Это было похоже на программу Махно. Председателем исполкома выбрали военного чиновника Данилова, командующим – хорунжего Кудинова. Павел Кудинов в годы мировой войны был награжден четырьмя Георгиевскими крестами, в 1918 году был начальником пулеметной команды 1-го Вёшенского конного полка Донской армии. После восстания против Краснова стал помощником Фомина.


Источник карты: А. И. Егоров. Гражданская война в России: Разгром Деникина

20 марта 1919 года, разгромив карательный отряд, Вёшенский полк захватил несколько орудий и взял Каргинскую. Затем казаки разбили ещё один красный отряд и заняли Боковскую. Красные сначала не придали восстанию серьёзного значения. Оружие у казаков в основном уже отобрали. Схожих восстаний было по стране множество. Обычно их быстро давили, или восставшие сами расходились. Однако казаки были военным сословием, быстро самоорганизовались. Восстали новые станицы, практически весь Верхне-Донской округ. Началось брожение в соседних округах – Усть-Медведицком, Хопёрском. В начале восстания казаков было около 15 тыс. человек. Кудинов реорганизовал повстанческую армию, объединив станичные сотни в 5 регулярных конных дивизий и одну бригаду и полк. К маю армия Кудинова насчитывала уже около 30 тыс. человек.

Повстанцам приходилось отбивать оружие в бою. Сначала дрались холодным оружием, шашками и пиками. Затем в ходе боев из трофейных пушек создали 6 батарей, захватили 150 пулеметов. Боеприпасов не было, их захватывали, изготавливали кустарным образом, но их катастрофически не хватало. Красное командование, осознав угрозу, стало снимать с фронта регулярные полки, обкладывать область со всех сторон. Подтягивали заградотряды, отряды интернационалистов, моряков, курсантов, коммунистов, резервные части. Всего против казаков выставили 25 тыс. человек при подавляющем огневом превосходстве (в мае восстание пытались подавить уже 40 тыс. солдат). Спасало казаков то, что их недооценили, красные войска подтягивались и вводились в бой частями, на разных участках, что позволяло повстанцам отбивать атаки.

Верхнедонское восстание было обречено на поражение. Повстанцы попросили помощи у белого командования. Однако Донская и Добровольческая армии были связаны тяжелыми боями на флангах – царицынском и донбасском направлениях, поэтому сразу помочь не смогли. В марте рухнул Восточный фронт Донской армии, казаки бежали в степь, за Маныч. Пала Великокняжеская. Красные форсировали Маныч и к началу апреля заняли Торговую, Атаманскую, передовыми частями выходили к Мечетинской. Между Доном и Кубанью сталась узкая, в 100 км, полоса с единственной веткой железной дороги. Чтобы стабилизировать фронт на востоке, белому командованию пришлось перебрасывать войска с западного участка фронта, хотя на Донбассе ситуация также была тяжелой. Только в мае Донская армия установила связь с повстанческой армией с помощью аэропланов. Самолеты по мере своих слабых возможностей стали привозить боеприпасы.

В мае Красная Армия, сконцентрировав сильную ударную группировку, начали решительное наступление. Казаки отчаянно отбивались, но боеприпасов было крайне мало. 22 мая повстанцы стали отступать по всему правобережью Дона. Население также бежало за Дон. На левом берегу Дона казаки устроили последнюю линию обороны. Только наступление армии Деникина спасло повстанцев от полного уничтожения.

Три месяца восставшие казаки под началом Павла Кудинова отбивали атаки 8-й и 9-й армий красного Южного фронта. 25 мая (7 июня) повстанцы объединились с Донской армией. В течение следующих двух недель совместными усилиями Донской и повстанческой армий вся территория Донской области была освобождена от Красной армии. 29 мая войска Донской армии взяли Миллеров, 1 июня – Луганск. После этого Кудинов сложил с себя командование. 8-я красная армия была оттеснена на север, на воронежском направлении, 9-я красная армия – на северо-восток, на балашовское направление. Повстанческая армия была расформирована, части её влиты в Донскую армию. Белое командование относилось к повстанцам с недоверием, как к бывшим красным, поэтому серьёзных постов в ней повстанческие командиры не получили.

Таким образом, восставшее донское казачество сковало значительные силы Красной Армии, способствуя наступлению белоказаков. Это позволило армии Деникина занять Донскую область и создать угрозу выхода в центральные губернии России, удара на Орёл и Тулу.


Павел Назарьевич Кудинов, командующий повстанческими войсками Верхне-Донского округа в 1919 г.
Автор:
Самсонов Александр
Статьи из этой серии:
Смута. 1919 год

Как англичане создали Вооружённые силы Юга России
Как восстановили советскую власть на Украине
Как петлюровцы привели Малороссию к полной катастрофе
Как разгромили петлюровщину
Даёшь границы 1772 года!
Битва за Северный Кавказ. Как подавили Терское восстание
Битва за Северный Кавказ. Ч. 2. Декабрьское сражение
Битва за Северный Кавказ. Ч. 3. Январская катастрофа 11-й армии
Битва за Северный Кавказ. Ч. 4. Как погибла 11-я армия
Битва за Северный Кавказ. Ч. 5. Взятие Кизляра и Грозного
Битва за Северный Кавказ. Ч. 6. Яростный штурм Владикавказа
Как Грузия пыталась захватить Сочи
Как белогвардейцы разгромили грузинских оккупантов
Война Февраля с Октябрём как противостояние между двумя цивилизационными проектами
Как начался "Полёт к Волге"
Как армия Колчака прорывалась к Волге
Катастрофа донского казачества
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

49 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти