Military Review

As the British offensive under Yprom drowned in mud

13
As the British offensive under Yprom drowned in mud

100 years ago, in November 1917, the Battle of Paschendale ended (the third battle of Ypres). The large-scale offensive operation of the Allied forces with the aim of seizing the coast of Belgium in order to deprive the German submarines of the supply bases did not lead to success.


Battle of Pashendeyle has become one of the bloodiest battles of the First World War - the two sides of 4 months (the battle went in July) lost in killed, wounded and captured more than 850 thousand people.. In this protracted battle it was one of the most difficult in the war, a symbol of a soldier suffering in appalling conditions - the ground was low-lying, swampy, almost all the time there were torrential rains, turns the battlefield under constant shelling in impassable quagmire. The troops on both sides actually "drowned in the mud", suffered huge losses. And all these terrible burdens were in vain - the Allies advanced only a few kilometers.

The overall situation on the Western Front

The campaign plan for the 1917 year was adopted by the Entente countries at the end of the 1916 year, at a conference in Chantilly. This plan assumed the simultaneous advance of the Allied armies on the three main fronts (French, Russian and Italian) and the final defeat of the forces of the Central Powers.

The new commander in chief of the French army, General Robert Nivelle, insisted on a decisive offensive on the Western (French) front. According to his plan, the decisive blows of the Anglo-French troops were to lead to the breakthrough of the German front and the defeat of the enemy. The main burden in the upcoming attack fell on the French troops. However, Nivelle’s spring offensive failed ("Nivel Meat Grinder"), it was not possible to break through the enemy front, the Allies suffered heavy losses. Nivel himself for the failure of the operation was removed from his post as commander in chief of the French army.

After the failure of Nivelle Offensive umyvshayasya blood of the French army for a while I was not prepared to spend any decisive action, while London has finally approved the plan of the British commander Douglas Haig on the offensive in Flanders. British commanders hoped to break through the German front, take the ridge Pashendeyl seize Belgian ports and destroy the base of German submarines, dealing a decisive blow to the unrestricted submarine warfare strategies, which caused great damage to the UK.

Ypres District

The front line in the Ypres region stabilized at the end of the 1914 of the year, after the Battle of Flanders. Ypres remained in the hands of the Allies, and German troops camped on the ridge to the south of the city, on the east ridge was less, and from the north German units were located in the plain. The German command understood that an attack by the enemy in Flanders was very likely. Therefore, strong defensive positions were created here. The number of German defense lines reached five. Positions were well fortified. The peculiarity of the Ypres region was the swamps. The terrain lay below sea level. The swamps stretched for many tens of kilometers and covered most of the Pashendale area. Artillery fire further worsened the situation, creating a "lunar landscape."

7 1917 June, the British army began an offensive in the area of ​​the Belgian village MESEN (the French name - Messina) on the Franco-Belgian border near the coast. Of fundamental strategic importance, it did not have, but entered into history like the battle of Messina. She became famous thanks to the man-made explosion that was the most powerful in the course of this war.

The main task of the British in the course of this offensive was to seize the so-called Messinsky Ridge, a chain of hills on which the well-fortified positions of the enemy were located, deeply crashing into British defense. Because of this, the German troops were kept under the control of the British trenches and advanced artillery battery that allows you to fire on them, not only from the flanks, but in some places, and in the British rear. According to the plan developed by General Haig, commander of British forces in Europe, this 15-kilometer protrusion in the German defense was to be cut off. This was especially important in the run-up to the offensive prepared by the British command in the area of ​​the city of Ypres. The Messinsky Range could have become a big threat to the big British offensive in the Pashendale region, because from this point of view the Germans could launch a counterstrike.

Engineering preparation for the capture of Mecena was carried out by the 2 of the English army under the command of General Plumer since 1916, and was activated from the middle of winter. The main novelty was laying for the German positions of underground galleries-digging. In total, 24 dug huge tunnels with a total length of 8 thousands of meters. As already noted above, the terrain was swampy, so they dug deep, under the second level of groundwater in the blue clay formation. The excavated soil was camouflaged so that German reconnaissance aircraft would not notice it. The Germans still uncovered the British plan, but were able to detect only two tunnels, having made a mistake in the scale of the undermining made by the enemy. German sappers searched for them at a depth of no more than 20 meters, while the British laid most of the tunnels at depths greater than 25 meters.

When the preparatory work was completed, the British laid 19 large mines under the German position with a total charge mass of more than 600 tons of explosives. Interestingly, shortly before the start of the operation, the plan almost fell through. General Plumer was informed that German sappers, carrying out their mine action, were only half a meter from one of the already mined tunnels, but he showed composure and did not detonate the ammunition before the target date, which allowed the British to deliver an unexpected blow of enormous force to the enemy. In addition, the British concentrated powerful artillery in the area of ​​operation. On a plot of just 3 kilometers, 718 cannons and howitzers, 192 trench mortars and 198 machine guns were deployed. About 300 airplanes and more than 80 were also used tanks.

7 June in 3 hours 10 minutes of the morning the British blew up mines. The explosions were terrible power. The first line of trenches of the German troops was completely destroyed, the second part. Only when the explosion killed more than 10 thousand. German soldiers and officers who had survived were so shocked and demoralized that they could not offer resistance to rush to attack the British. He they fled or surrendered. Already by 7 o'clock in the morning the whole Messinsky Ridge was occupied by British troops. At 3 one o'clock in the afternoon, tanks and reserve units were thrown into the breakthrough, which captured even more 7 thousand German soldiers and officers. By the evening, having collected reserves, the Germans went to the counterattack, but were discarded, but the British after that were able to advance another 2 kilometer. The battle lasted until 14 June, but without such large-scale successes. The Germans came to their senses and stabilized the front line. In the wake of the battle, the British won a convincing and unconditional victory, completely solving the task and aligning the front line on the eve of the strategic offensive operation.



Three craters (in the upper right corner of the frame) from mines that exploded on the German positions 7 June 1917

The forces of the parties

According to the plan of operation, the main blow to the enemy’s positions was delivered in the direction of Ypres, Pelkapel, Pashendale, the breakthrough area was about 4 km. The main striking role in this breakthrough was played by the 5-I British Army, which had four corps (9 divisions). 5-2 Army support-I British army, which had three corps (5 divisions), as well as 1-French Army as a part of the housing of the two divisions. Allied troops in the area of ​​the alleged breakthrough were well equipped with weapons technology. Only British troops had 3594 guns in them, of which 1327 was heavy. The British had 548 planes (of which 230 fighters), the French had 200 planes (of which 100 fighters). The most important role in the upcoming operation was assigned to tanks, in the allied forces there were 216 armored vehicles. They were distributed in small groups between the attacking divisions of the 5 Army.

In this sector of the front, the 4 th German army occupied the defense. German troops were much inferior to the troops of the Entente in this sector of the front. Against 5-Second British Army, the German command had 13 divisions (5 on the front, 4 line in the near reserve and 4 in the strategic reserve). Against the French corps, the Germans deployed 2 divisions (one was in reserve). German troops had 1556 guns of all kinds, of which 737 guns were concentrated against the 5 British Army. The German Air Force numbered around 600 aircraft.


Captured German soldiers

Dressing point of the Australian troops during the third broken at Ypres

The beginning of the battle

July 11 1917, the British launched a massive artillery shelling and bombardment of German positions in the Ieper area in the south-west of Belgium in preparation for a new major offensive. The Germans did not suffer any special losses during the artillery preparation, as they took the troops from the forward positions to the shelter of the rear in time.

13 July Germans avenged the June defeat - began a chemical attack. They for the first time applied a new deadly poison-blistering substance. Initially, it had the code designation “yellow cross”, and later it became known due to the characteristic smell as “mustard gas” and went down in history after the name of the city of Ypres - like mustard gas. Mustard affected the lungs, nasopharynx and eyes of soldiers, caused terrible ulcers when it hit the skin. There was no antidote from him. It differed from other gases in that the gas mask did not give a guaranteed salvation. As a result of the first attack in July 13, when the Germans fired the chemical mines a small area of ​​the enemy trenches, the British lost more soldiers 2100, 66 of whom were killed and the rest were sent to hospitals with terrible wounds and excruciating pain. Subsequently, mustard gas was widely used by both German and Allied forces.

The British command, due to an unexpected chemical attack of the enemy using a new poisonous substance, mustard gas, and serious losses, postponed the beginning of a strategic operation on Ypres to some extent. British artillery continued massive shelling of German positions. On July 27, in the area of ​​the town of Ypres, after five days of artillery preparation, British forces crossed the River Isere, but found empty German positions. As it turned out, immediately after the start of shelling, in order to avoid casualties, the Germans withdrew their troops deep into the defense. The British had with great difficulty to move their artillery after the infantry in the area tilled with their own shells. As a result, the British had to get to the next line of the German defense, equipped on the hills of the Pilke ridge, making their way through difficult terrain.

On July 31, the Allied forces again went on the attack in the Pilkem Range. The British offensive began under heavy rain, which, after artillery preparation, turned the battlefield into a sea of ​​mud. The first attack brought some success - the British managed to advance 1-2 kilometers. However, the rain continued to pour, and the tanks could not move further along the fields, which turned into swamps, and the infantry followed them. The soldiers could not only attack, but even really dig in the surrounding mud. British military historian Neil Grant wrote: “The fate of the attackers was aggravated by the new German defense tactics. It consisted of the construction of concrete underground bunkers with machine guns, capable of withstanding hitting artillery shells. The generals, driven by almost religious faith in victory, gradually began to incline to the idea that it was necessary to suspend the offensive. ” In this case, the Germans quite successfully counterattacked the attacking enemy.

The price of the local success of the British was traditionally bloody - in just a few days of fighting, they lost 32 thousands of people killed, wounded, captured and missing. The German army also suffered great losses, mainly from the fire of British artillery.

After that, there was a slight pause in the battle. 10 August, the British troops again went forward. Particularly stubborn fighting took place near the village of елюeluvel (in 6 km east of Ypres). The British infantry attacked the German positions with the support of artillery and managed, at great cost, to occupy the dominant hill above the plain. In the evening, under the cover of a smoke screen, the Germans tried to bring the height back, but without success.



To be continued ...
Author:
Articles from this series:
1917 Campaign

The transition of the Central Powers to a strategic defense
Entente plans for 1917 year: bet on a decisive victory in the war
Russian army to the beginning of the 1917 campaign of the year: the approach of the general collapse
Attack without shot: Mitav operation
How Germany began the unlimited submarine war
German submarine vs UK
How the German submarine fleet tried to crush the "mistress of the seas"
The United States used the myth of "inhuman" submarine warfare to oppose Germany
Caucasian front in 1917 year. Baratov corps offensive in southwestern Persia
Mosul operation. How the British, until recently, tried to use the Russian "cannon fodder"
The war of the USA and England against Europe and Russia for absolute power on the planet
USA and World War I
How did the USA profit from World War I
"War will end wars." USA in the First World War
World War I turned the United States into a leading world power
"Nivel Meat Grinder"
Tenth Battle of the Isonzo
The failure of the "offensive of Kerensky"
"It was no longer the former Russian"
As Greece at gunpoint forced to go to war
The revival of the Romanian army: the battle of Marashti and Maraseshti
Operation "Albion"
How the Germans stormed the Moonsund Islands
The bloody battle on the plateau Bainzitz
The defeat of the Italian army in the Battle of Caporetto
The defeat of the Italian army in the Battle of Caporetto. H. 2
"To die, but not to retreat!"
13 comments
Ad

The editorial board of Voenniy Obozreniye urgently needs a proofreader. Requirements: impeccable knowledge of the Russian language, diligence, discipline. Contact: [email protected]

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. parusnik
    parusnik 23 November 2017 07: 42 New
    +2
    However, the rain continued to pour, and the tanks could not move further through the fields, which turned into swamps, and the infantry "got stuck" behind them.
    ... "Nature has no bad weather," but for anyone like ...
  2. Curious
    Curious 23 November 2017 11: 19 New
    +3
    "On June 7, at 3 a.m., the British blew up mines."
    Six of the stored charges did not work and remained underground. One of them worked already after 38 years, on July 17, 1955, during a thunderstorm, apparently from a lightning strike. Fortunately, no one was around. Five more remained in their tunnels.
    1. antivirus
      antivirus 25 November 2017 13: 06 New
      0
      bad result from the Iron Curtain --- Rezun, Solzhenitsyn et al, “filled up with the corpses in 41-45gg” did not shut up from such descriptions of gigantic losses.
      Like the Rzhev meat grinder, "only longer and bloodier.
  3. DimanC
    DimanC 23 November 2017 12: 10 New
    +2
    With these mines, the British rush about like a written sack. Every small documentary tells about them. Apparently, other good points are not enough: one continuous overwhelming with corpses of enemy trenches ...
    1. hohol95
      hohol95 23 November 2017 16: 14 New
      +1

      The Australians also shot a feature film - Below the hill 60
  4. Amurets
    Amurets 23 November 2017 13: 27 New
    0
    However, the rain continued to pour, and the tanks could not move further through the fields, which turned into swamps, and the infantry "got stuck" behind them.

    But what about the advertising slogan: "Tanks are not afraid of dirt"
    1. hohol95
      hohol95 23 November 2017 16: 27 New
      +1

      Such dirt and now it would be difficult to overcome ...
      1. Amurets
        Amurets 24 November 2017 04: 31 New
        +1
        Quote: hohol95

        Such dirt and now it would be difficult to overcome ...

        You have not seen our roads. About our roads, even the GDP said to those who wanted to organize a Far Eastern Dakar. "I’m not sure that you will reach the finish line, and if you reach, then there’s another question, will you win against them.
        1. Amurets
          Amurets 24 November 2017 04: 34 New
          0
          Quote: Amurets
          Quote: hohol95

          Such dirt and now it would be difficult to overcome ...

          You have not seen our roads. About our roads, even the GDP said to those who wanted to organize a Far Eastern Dakar. "I’m not sure that you will reach the finish line, and if you reach, then there’s another question, will you win against them.


          And you say tanks won’t pass, wheeled vehicles pass. True, using profanity is the driving force of progress.
          1. hohol95
            hohol95 24 November 2017 09: 35 New
            +1

            BUT there is such dirt in Russia - ALL DIRTS DIRT ...
  5. hohol95
    hohol95 23 November 2017 16: 22 New
    +1


    Conformity -
    The episode of the film in which the 8th battalion of the Canadian Expeditionary Force (known as the "Black Devils") leaves the 10th battalion in the midst of the battle, leaving it without support, it really took place and is described in the combat journal of the 10th battalion:

    “At that moment a terrible misunderstanding occurred. Major Bingham knew that his unit arrived as reinforcements on the 8th, but the Black Devils felt that we had succeeded them. Bingham tried in vain to prove his point of view, but soon gloomily watched as the survivors smeared with mud from the 8th retreated, leaving his company with a section of the front, which was still hiding with a whole battalion. Nevertheless, the major, who had not lost his spirit, evenly distributed his people on the defense line up to the positions of the 7th battalion on the right. Bingham knew perfectly well that in the event of a counterattack, he could not keep his position. "

    Lt. Col. Ormond, the commander of the 10th battalion (his character appears in the film), also gave a written assessment of the unexpected withdrawal:

    “And then I agreed to take the front line from the 7th and 8th battalions ... upon returning to headquarters I found orders prohibiting the premature withdrawal of units, but it has already happened and while the officers of the 8th battalion reported to the command the current situation - no action was taken .
    1. DimanC
      DimanC 24 November 2017 06: 10 New
      +1
      Hmm, the director might not have killed the main character ...
  6. Trapperxnumx
    Trapperxnumx 24 November 2017 16: 27 New
    +1
    Yes. I think that not all British and French welcomed the Russian revolution, which destroyed the eastern front ...

Как британское наступление под Ипром утонуло в грязи

Как британское наступление под Ипром утонуло в грязи

100 лет назад, в ноябре 1917 года, завершилась Битва при Пашендейле (третья битва при Ипре). Масштабная наступательная операция союзных войск с целью захвата побережья Бельгии, чтобы лишить германские подводные лодки баз снабжения, не привела к успеху.

Битва при Пашендейле стала одним из самых кровопролитных сражений Первой мировой войны — обе стороны за 4 месяца (сражение шло с июля) потеряли убитыми, ранеными и пленными более 850 тыс. человек. При этом затяжное сражение было одним из самых тяжелых в войне, символом солдатского страдания в ужасных условиях — местность была низинная, болотистая, почти все время шли проливные дожди, превращавшие поле боя при постоянных артобстрелах в непролазную трясину. Войска с обеих сторон фактически «утонули в грязи», несли огромные потери. И всё эти ужасные тяготы были напрасными — союзники продвинулись всего на несколько километров.

Общая обстановка на Западном фронте


План кампании на 1917 год страны Антанты приняли в конце 1916 года, на конференции в Шантильи. Этот план предполагал одновременное наступление союзных армий на трёх главных фронтах (Французском, Русском и Итальянском) и окончательный разгром войск Центральных держав.

Новый главнокомандующий французской армии генерал Робер Нивель настаивал на решительном наступлении на Западном (Французском) фронте. По его плану решительные удары англо-французских войск должны были привести к прорыву германского фронта и разгрому противника. Основная нагрузка в предстоящем наступлении ложилась на французские войска. Однако весеннее наступление Нивеля провалилось («Мясорубка Нивеля»), прорвать вражеский фронт не удалось, союзники понесли тяжёлые потери. Сам Нивель за провал операции был смещён с поста главнокомандующего французской армии.

После провала наступления Нивеля умывшаяся кровью французская армия некоторое время не была готова проводить какие-либо решительные действия, тогда Лондон окончательно одобрил план британского командующего Дугласа Хейга по наступлению во Фландрии. Британское командование рассчитывало прорвать германский фронт, занять хребет Пашендейл, захватить порты Бельгии и уничтожить базы немецких подводных лодок, нанеся решительный удар по стратегии неограниченной подводной войны, которая наносила большой урон Великобритании.

Район Ипра

Линия фронта в районе Ипра стабилизировалась в конце 1914 года, после Фландрского сражения. Ипр оставался в руках союзников, а германские войска расположились на хребтах к югу от города, на востоке хребтов было меньше, а с севера германские части располагались на равнине. Германское командование понимало, что атака противника во Фландрии весьма вероятна. Поэтому здесь были созданы сильные оборонительные позиции. Число германских линий обороны доходило до пяти. Позиции были хорошо укреплены. Особенностью района Ипра были болота. Местность лежала ниже уровня моря. Болота простирались на многие десятки километров и покрывали большую часть территории района Пашендейль. Артиллерийский огонь ещё больше ухудшал ситуацию, создавая «лунный ландшафт».

7 июня 1917 года английская армия начала наступательную операцию в районе бельгийской деревни Месен (французское название — Мессин) на франко-бельгийской границе неподалеку от побережья. Принципиального стратегического значения она не имела, но вошла в историю как Мессинская битва. Она прославилась благодаря произведенному в ее ходе самому мощному за годы этой войны рукотворному взрыву.

Главной задачей англичан в ходе этого наступления был захват так называемого Мессинского хребта — цепи холмов, на которых располагались хорошо укрепленные позиции противника, глубоко врезавшиеся в английскую оборону. Из-за этого германские войска держали под контролем английские окопы и передовые артиллерийские батареи, что позволяло вести по ним огонь не только с флангов, но в некоторых местах и в тыл англичанам. По плану, разработанному командующим английскими войсками в Европе генералом Хейгом, этот 15-километровый выступ в германской обороне должен был быть срезан. Это было особенно важно в преддверии готовившегося британским командованием наступления в районе города Ипр. Мессинский хребет мог стать большой угрозой для большого британского наступления в район Пашендейля, потому что с этих позиций германцы могли нанести контрудар.

Инженерная подготовка к взятию Месена велась 2-й английской армией под командованием генерала Плюмера ещё с 1916 года и была активизирована с середины зимы. Главной новинкой было прокладывание под германские позиции подземных галерей-подкопов. Всего было прорыто 24 огромных тоннеля общей протяженностью 8 тысяч метров. Как уже выше отмечалось, местность была болотистой, поэтому рыли глубоко, под вторым уровнем грунтовых вод в пласте голубой глины. Вынутый грунт маскировался, чтобы германские самолёты-разведчики не заметили его. Германцы всё же раскрыли замысел англичан, но смогли обнаружить только два тоннеля, допустив ошибку в масштабах сделанных противником подкопов. Германские саперы искали их на глубине не более 20 метров, в то время, как англичане проложили большинство тоннелей на глубинах более 25 метров.

Когда подготовительные работы были завершены, англичане заложили под германские позиции 19 больших мин с общей массой заряда более 600 тонн взрывчатки. Интересно, что незадолго до начала операции план чуть не сорвался. Генералу Плюмеру сообщили, что немецкие саперы, проводя свои противоминные работы, оказались всего в полуметре от одного из уже заминированных тоннелей, но он проявил хладнокровие и не стал взрывать боеприпас до намеченного срока, что позволило англичанам нанести противнику неожиданный удар огромной силы. Кроме того, англичане сосредоточили в районе операции мощную артиллерию. На участке всего в 3 километра было развернуто 718 пушек и гаубиц, 192 окопных мортиры и 198 пулеметов. Также были использованы около 300 аэропланов и более 80 танков.

7 июня в 3 часа 10 минут утра англичане взорвали мины. Взрывы были страшной силы. Первая линия окопов германских войск была полностью разрушена, вторая частично. Только в момент взрыва погибло более 10 тыс. германских солдат и офицеров, уцелевшие же были так шокированы и деморализованы, что не смогли оказать сопротивления бросившимся в атаку британцам. Он они бежали или сдавались в плен. Уже к 7 часам утра весь Мессинский хребет был занят английскими войсками. В 3 часа дня в прорыв были брошены танки и резервные части, которые взяли пленными ещё более 7 тыс. германских солдат и офицеров. К вечеру, собрав резервы, германцы пошли в контратаку, но были отброшены, англичане же после этого смогли продвинуться еще на 2 километра. Сражение продолжалось до 14 июня, но уже без таких масштабных успехов. Немцы опомнились и стабилизировали линию фронта. По итогам битвы британцы одержали убедительную и безоговорочную победу, полностью решив поставленную задачу и выровняв линию фронта в накануне стратегической наступательной операции.



Три воронки (в правом верхнем углу кадра) от мин, взорвавшихся на немецких позициях 7 июня 1917 года

Силы сторон

По плану операции основной удар по позициям противника наносился в направлении Ипр, Пелькапель, Пашендейль, участок прорыва был около 4 км. Главную ударную роль в этом прорыве играла 5-я английская армия, которая имела в своём составе четыре корпуса (9 дивизий). 5-ю армию поддерживала 2-я английская армия, имевшая три корпуса (5 дивизий), а также и 1-я французская армия в составе одного корпуса из двух дивизий. Войска союзников на участке предполагаемого прорыва были хорошо укомплектованы техникой вооружением. Только английские войска имели в своём составе 3594 орудия, из них 1327 тяжёлых. Британцы имели 548 самолётов (из них 230 истребителей), французы — 200 самолётов (из них 100 истребителей). Важнейшая роль в предстоящей операции отводилась танкам, в войсках союзников насчитывалось 216 бронемашин. Они были распределены небольшими группами между атакующими дивизиями 5-й армии.

На этом участке фронта оборону занимала 4-я германская армия. Германские войска сильно уступали войскам Антанты на данном участке фронта. Против 5-й английской армии, германское командование имело 13 дивизий (5 на линии фронта, 4 в ближайшем резерве и 4 в стратегическом резерве). Против французского корпуса, германцы выставили 2 дивизии (одна находилась в резерве). Германские войска имели 1556 орудий всех видов, из которых 737 орудий были сосредоточены против 5-й английской армии. Германские ВВС насчитывали около 600 самолётов.


Пленный немецкий солдат

Перевязочный пункт австралийских войск во время третьей битые при Ипре

Начало сражения

11 июля 1917 года британская артиллерия начала массированные артиллерийские обстрелы и бомбардировки германских позиций в районе города Ипр на юго-западе Бельгии в рамках подготовки к новому крупному наступлению. Германцы особых потерь во время артподготовки не понесли, так как вовремя отвели войска с передовых позиций в укрытия ближнего тыла.

13 июля германцы отомстили за июньское поражение — начали химическую атаку. Они впервые применили новое смертельно опасное отравляющее вещество кожно-нарывного действия. Изначально оно имел кодовое обозначение «желтый крест», а позже стало известно в силу характерного запаха как «горчичный газ» и вошло в историю по названию города Ипр — как иприт. Иприт поражал легкие, носоглотку и глаза солдат, вызывал страшные язвы при попадании на кожу. Антидота от него не было. От других газов он отличался тем, что противогаз уже не давал гарантированного спасения. В результате первой атаки 13 июля, когда германцы обстреляли химическими минами небольшой участок вражеских траншей, британцы потеряли более 2100 солдат, из которых 66 погибли, а остальные были отправлены в госпитали со страшными ранами и мучительными болями. Впоследствии иприт широко применялся как германскими войсками, так и войсками союзников.

Английское командование, из-за неожиданной химической атаки противника с использованием нового отравляющего вещества — иприта, и серьёзных потерь, на некоторое перенесло начало стратегической операции на Ипре. Британская артиллерия продолжила массированные артобстрелы германских позиций. 27 июля в районе города Ипр после пятидневной артподготовки английские войска форсировали реку Изер, но обнаружили пустые германские позиции. Как оказалось, сразу после начала артобстрела, чтобы избежать потерь немцы отвели свои войска вглубь обороны. Англичанам пришлось с большим трудом перемещать свою артиллерию вслед за пехотой по перепаханной своими же снарядами местности. В результате англичанам пришлось добираться до следующей линии германской обороны, оборудованной на холмах хребта Пилкем, пробираясь по труднопроходимой местности.

31 июля союзные войска снова пошли в атаку в районе хребта Пилкем. Британское наступление началось под сильным дождем, который после артподготовки превратил поле битвы в море грязи. Первая атака принесла определенный успех — англичанам удалось продвинуться на 1-2 километра. Однако дождь продолжал лить, и танки не смогли двигаться дальше по полям, которые превратились в болота, а за ними «завязла» и пехота. Солдатам не удавалось не только атаковать, но даже толком окопаться в окружающей грязи. Британский военный историк Нейл Грант писал: «Участь наступающих усугубилась новой тактикой обороны немцев. Она состояла из сооружения бетонных подземных бункеров с пулеметами, способных выдержать попадания артиллерийских снарядов. Генералы, движимые почти религиозной верой в победу, постепенно стали склоняться к мысли, что надо приостанавливать наступление». При этом немцы довольно успешно контратаковали наступающего противника.

Цена локального успеха британцев была уже традиционно кровавой — всего за несколько дней боев они потеряли 32 тысячи человек убитыми, ранеными, пленными и пропавшими без вести. Германская армия также понесла большие потери, в основном, от огня британской артиллерии.

После этого в битве наступила небольшая пауза. 10 августа английские войска снова пошли вперёд. Особенно упорные бои развернулись неподалеку от деревни Желювель (в 6 км к востоку от Ипра). Английская пехота атаковала германские позиции при поддержке артиллерии и сумела ценой больших потерь занять господствующий над равниной холм. Вечером под прикрытием дымовой завесы немцы попытались отбить высоту обратно, но без успеха.



Продолжение следует…
Автор: Самсонов Александр


Статьи из этой серии:

Кампания 1917 года

Переход Центральных держав к стратегической обороне
Планы Антанты на 1917 год: ставка на решительную победу в войне
Русская армия к началу кампании 1917 года: приближение всеобщего развала
Атака «без выстрела»: Митавская операция
Как Германия начала неограниченную подводную войну
Германский подводный флот против Великобритании
Как германский подводный флот пытался сокрушить «владычицу морей»
США использовали миф о «бесчеловечной» подводной войне, чтобы выступить против Германии
Кавказский фронт в 1917 году. Наступление корпуса Баратова в юго-западной Персии
Мосульская операция. Как британцы до последнего пытались использовать русское «пушечное мясо»
Война США и Англии против Европы и России за абсолютную власть на планете
США и Первая мировая война
Как США нажились на Первой мировой войне
«Война положит конец войнам». США в Первой мировой войне
Первая мировая война превратила США в ведущую мировую державу
«Мясорубка Нивеля»
Десятая битва при Изонцо
Провал «наступления Керенского»
«Это уже не были прежние русские»
Как Грецию под дулами орудий заставили вступить в войну
Возрождение румынской армии: битвы при Мэрэшти и Мэрэшешти
Операция «Альбион»
Как немцы штурмовали Моонзундские острова
Кровавая битва на плато Байнзицца
Разгром итальянской армии в битве при Капоретто
Разгром итальянской армии в битве при Капоретто. Ч. 2
"Умереть, но не отступить!"

Читайте "Военное обозрение" в Яндекс Новостях

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также

Комментарии 13

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. parusnik (Алексей Богомазов) 23 ноября 2017 07:42
    Однако дождь продолжал лить, и танки не смогли двигаться дальше по полям, которые превратились в болота, а за ними «завязла» и пехота.
    ..."У природы нет плохой погоды", но для кого как...
  2. Curious (Victor) 23 ноября 2017 11:19
    "7 июня в 3 часа 10 минут утра англичане взорвали мины".
    Шесть из заложенных зарядов не сработали и остались под землей. Один из них сработал аж через 38 лет, 17 июля 1955 года, во время грозы, очевидно, от удара молнии. К счастью, поблизости никого не было. Еще пять так и остались в своих тоннелях.
    1. антивирус 25 ноября 2017 13:06
      плохой результат от железного занавеса--- Резун , Солженицын и др"завалилитрупами в 41-45гг" не заткнулись от таких описаний гигантских потерь.
      Как Ржевская мясорубка", только дольше и кровавее.
  3. DimanC (Дмитрий) 23 ноября 2017 12:10
    С этими минами англичане носятся как с писаной торбой. В каждом мал-мальском документальном фильме про них рассказывают. Видимо, других удачных моментов маловато: одно сплошное заваливание трупами вражеских окопов...
    1. hohol95 (Алексей) 23 ноября 2017 16:14

      Снят австралийцами ещё и художественный фильм - Ниже холма 60
  4. амурец (николай) 23 ноября 2017 13:27
    Однако дождь продолжал лить, и танки не смогли двигаться дальше по полям, которые превратились в болота, а за ними «завязла» и пехота.

    А как-же рекламный слоган: "Танки грязи не боятся"
    1. hohol95 (Алексей) 23 ноября 2017 16:27

      Такую грязь и сейчас трудно было бы преодолеть...
      1. амурец (николай) 24 ноября 2017 04:31
        Цитата: hohol95

        Такую грязь и сейчас трудно было бы преодолеть...

        Вы не видели наших дорог. Про наши дороги даже ВВП сказал лизоблюдам, хотевшим организовать "Дальневосточный Дакар". "Я неуверен что вы дойдёте до финиша, а если дойдёте, то ещё вопрос, выиграете вы у них.
        1. амурец (николай) 24 ноября 2017 04:34
          Цитата: амурец
          Цитата: hohol95

          Такую грязь и сейчас трудно было бы преодолеть...

          Вы не видели наших дорог. Про наши дороги даже ВВП сказал лизоблюдам, хотевшим организовать "Дальневосточный Дакар". "Я неуверен что вы дойдёте до финиша, а если дойдёте, то ещё вопрос, выиграете вы у них.


          А вы говорите танки не пройдут, колёсная техника проходит. Правда с использованием ненормативной лексики- этой движущей силы прогресса.
          1. hohol95 (Алексей) 24 ноября 2017 09:35

            НО есть в России такая грязь - ВСЕМ ГРЯЗЯМ ГРЯЗЬ...
  5. hohol95 (Алексей) 23 ноября 2017 16:22


    Соответствие -
    Эпизод фильма, в котором 8-й батальон Канадского экспедиционного корпуса (известный по прозвищу «Чёрные дьяволята») в разгар боя покидает 10-й батальон, оставив его без поддержки, действительно имел место и описан в боевом журнале 10-го батальона:

    « В этот момент произошло страшное недоразумение. Майор Бингем знал, что его подразделение прибыло как подкрепление 8-му, но Чёрные дьяволята посчитали, что мы прибыли им на смену. Бингем тщетно старался доказать свою точку зрения, но вскоре угрюмо наблюдал, как перемазанные грязью уцелевшие из 8-го отходят назад, оставляя его роте участок фронта, прикрывавшийся до сих пор целым батальоном. Тем не менее, майор, не утративший присутствия духа, равномерно распределил своих людей на линии обороны вплоть до позиций 7-го батальона справа. Бингем прекрасно понимал, что в случае контратаки он никак не сможет удержаться на своей позиции. »

    Подполковник Ормонд, командующий 10-м батальоном (его персонаж появляется в фильме), также дал письменную оценку непредвиденного отхода:

    « И тогда я согласился перенять линию фронта у 7-го и 8-го батальонов… по возвращению в штаб я нашёл приказы запрещавшие преждевременный отвод частей, но он уже произошёл и пока офицеры 8-го батальона докладывали командованию сложившуюся ситуацию — никаких действий не предпринималось.
    1. DimanC (Дмитрий) 24 ноября 2017 06:10
      Хм, режиссер мог бы и не убивать главного героя...
  6. Trapper7 (Дмитрий) 24 ноября 2017 16:27
    Да. Думаю, что не все англичане и французы приветствовали русскую революцию, развалившую восточный фронт...
Картина дня