How did the uprising of ataman Grigoriev

Smoot. 1919 year. 100 years ago, at the end of May 1919, a major uprising of ataman Grigoriev was crushed in Little Russia. Adventurer Nikifor Grigoriev dreamed of the glory of the leader of Ukraine and was ready to go to any crime for glory. He managed for two weeks in May to become the main figure of the Little Russian policy, with the potential to become the bloody chieftain of all Ukraine.

How did the uprising of ataman Grigoriev




However, Grigoriev was not a great politician or commander, but only an ambitious adventurer. His ceiling was kompolka. During the “Russian distemper”, dozens and hundreds of such Grigorievs walked around Russia. Sometimes they thought of themselves as new Napoleons and for a short period achieved great popularity. But they lacked neither intelligence, nor education, nor an instinct to achieve more.

Background of the uprising in the Ukraine and New Russia


After the Reds occupied Kiev and Little Russia for the second time, and quite easily, as the people were tired of the hetman, interventionists and ataman, the situation in Ukraine soon heated again. The peasant war and the criminal revolution, which began in Little Russia with the beginning of the “troubles”, were only muffled for a while and soon burst into flames with a new force.

The growth of socio-political tensions in the south-western Russian region was triggered by the policy of "war communism." By the spring of 1919, the pro-Soviet sentiments of the Little Russian village were changing rapidly. The Council of People's Commissars of the Ukrainian SSR and the command of the Red Army tried to provide large-scale food supplies from the Ukraine (based on the surplus and grain monopoly) to the cities of central Russia. The problem was that a significant part of the past harvest and livestock had already been taken out by the Austro-German interventionists. As a result, the village was subjected to a new robbery.

An unpleasant for the peasants in addition to such a food policy was a new attempt at collectivization, which, in the conditions of the continuing civil and peasant war, was a clear “bend”. Such radical reforms require other conditions, peacetime. In March, 1919, the 3 All-Ukrainian Congress of Soviets was held in Kharkov, which adopted a resolution on the nationalization of the whole land. All the landowners' and kulak lands (and their share on the fertile lands of southern Russia was large), which were the main producers of agricultural products, passed into the hands of the state, and state farms and communes were created on their basis. However, in the conditions of revolution and unrest, the peasants have already made a “black repartition” of the landlord’s land, they also stole inventory, tools, and divided livestock. Hetman regime and the Germans tried to return the land to the owners, but met resistance. And after the overthrow of the Hetman the peasants again seized the land. And now they were going to take it away again. It is clear that this caused resistance, including armed. Began a new stage of the peasant war. The peasants did not want to return the land, give bread, serve in the army and pay taxes. A popular idea was the life of communities of free plowers.

The Bolsheviks did not stand on ceremony with the rebels. The county and frontal Cheka, Revolutionary Tribunals were active. A big problem was competent, honest cadres. Under the conditions of personnel shortage, many representatives of the Soviet government, the party, the Cheka and the Red Army themselves looked like murderers, robbers and rapists (some of them were). The Soviet authorities in the village often dispersed, were themselves punished, and, losing the support of the population, quickly decomposed. In the Soviet apparatus there was a big element of indifferent to all appointees, opportunists, careerists, "recoloured" enemies, declassed elements (lumpen) and frankly criminals. It is not surprising that drunkenness, theft and corruption flourished in the Soviet authorities (the whites in the rear had the same situation).

National-corporate groups began to form in the young Soviet state apparatus (which eventually will become one of the prerequisites for the collapse of the USSR). At the same time, there were many international cadres among Chekists, commissars, members of the Communist Party - Balts, Jews, Hungarians, Austrians, Germans (former prisoners of war of the Central Powers, who for various reasons remained in Russia), Chinese, etc. The international part of the uprising. Therefore, the surplus, punitive expeditions, the “Red Terror”, etc. were associated with foreigners. This caused a new surge of xenophobia and anti-Semitism, which had strong roots from the times of Polish rule.

The government of the Ukrainian SSR, the command of the Red Army also made a number of serious mistakes, failed to adequately respond to the development of negative trends. It was due to the need to ensure large deliveries of bread from the Ukraine to Central Russia; the struggle with the Donetsk group of whites in the east and the Petliurists in the west. In addition, Moscow was preparing for the “export of the revolution” to Europe. Yes, and with personnel in the government of the Ukrainian SSR was also bad.

Ataman


It is not surprising that as soon as the winter ended, the roads dried up and warmer, it became possible to spend the night in beams and forests, the peasants and gangsters again took up weapon. Again, in the Ukraine, detachments of various atamans and batteks (field commanders) began to walk, some were ideological - with a national color, leftists (but enemies of the Bolsheviks), anarchists, and others - outspoken gangsters. In broad daylight, gangsters robbed stores in cities. The very same elements that robbed Little Russia under the banner of Petliura, then went over to the side of the Red Army, and now again became “green”.

The fact was that the Directory regime was unable to create a regular army. The army of the Directory consisted mainly of partisan, semi-gangster formations, rebel peasants who fought with the interventionists and the Hetmanate troops. In the course of the offensive of the Red Army, these formations for the most part went over to the Reds. This was due to their low combat capability, they simply could not fight with the Red forces, as well as the growth of pro-Soviet sentiments in the village. As a result, the earlier rebel, Petlura units became part of the army of the Ukrainian SSR. At the same time, they retained their composition, commanders (atamans, troupes). In particular, among such detachments was the Kherson division "Ataman of the rebel forces of Kherson region, Zaporizhia and Tavria" N. A. Grigorieva. It became the 1-th Zadnipr Ukrainian Soviet Brigade, and then the 6-th Ukrainian Soviet Division. Grigorievtsy conducted active hostilities in the south of Little Russia.

At the same time, the new Soviet units retained the territorial principle, which tied them to a certain area, fed at the expense of the local population and retained their internal independence. The state supply of these units in the conditions of the collapse of the country's economy, and the commanders did not have the money allowance, or it was minimal. That is, financially motivate the fighters of such units and their commanders could not. These units still lived at the expense of trophies, requisition and outright looting, and used to live like that. In addition, many "Soviet" atamans continued to play an active political role, occupied administrative positions in county and volost authorities, participated in regional congresses of councils. Many Makhnovists, Grigorievtsy and former Petliurists continued to adhere to political movements hostile to the Bolsheviks - Ukrainian Left Social Revolutionaries, anarchists or nationalists.

The situation was complicated by the fact that there were a lot of weapons in Little Russia. It remained from the fronts of the world war — Russian and Austro-German, from the Austro-German invaders, from the western interventionists (mostly French), who quickly fled, leaving many weapons depots, from the fronts of the Civil War, which several times rolled over the south Western Russian regions.



Makhnovshchina


The most famous ataman was Makhno, under whose command was a whole army. His rebel army entered the Red Army as the 3-I Zadniprovsky brigade of the 1-y Zadneprovsky Ukrainian Soviet division. Then 7-I Ukrainian Soviet division. The Makhno brigade maintained internal autonomy and submitted to the red command only in operational terms. Makhno's troops controlled 72 volosts with a population of 2 million. Neither the Cheka detachments nor food detachments could enter this area; there was no collectivization there. It was a kind of “state within a state.” Makhno expressed disapproval of the decisions of the 3 All-Ukrainian Congress of Soviets on the nationalization of the land. The Makhnov’s program was based on the requirements of the “socialization” of the land (the transfer of land into the national property, which was the main part of the agrarian program of the Social Revolutionaries), as well as factories and mills; the abolition of the food policy of the Bolsheviks; rejection of the dictatorship of the Bolshevik Party; freedom of speech, press and assembly to all left-wing parties and groups; holding free elections to the Soviets of working peasants and workers, etc.

The farther away, the stronger were the frictions of Makhno with the Bolsheviks. 10 April in the Walk-field of the 3-th Congress of Makhnov district councils in its resolution qualified the policy of the Communists as "criminal against the social revolution and the working masses". The Kharkiv Council of Soviets was recognized as "not a true and free expression of the will of the working people." The Makhnovists protested against the policies of the Bolshevik government, commissars and emergency workers who shoot workers, peasants and insurgents. Makhno said that the Soviet government has changed the "October principles." As a result, the Congress ruled that it did not recognize the dictatorship of the Bolsheviks and against the "Commissar".

In response, Dybenko, in a telegram, called this congress "counter-revolutionary", threatened to declare the Makhnovists illegal. The Makhnovists responded with a protest and a statement that they were not afraid of such orders and they were ready to defend their people's rights. Only a little later, when Makhno met Antonov-Ovseenko, the situation was resolved. Makhno refused the most harsh statements.

In the middle of April 1919, the formation of the 2 of the Ukrainian Soviet Army from units of the Kharkov group of troops was completed. The Makhno brigade became part of the 7 of the Ukrainian Soviet division. However, the red command sharply reduced the supply of Makhno troops. Began to consider the issue of withdrawal of batko from the command of the brigade. There were demands: “Down with the Makhnovshchina!” However, it has not yet reached a complete break. In late April, Antonov-Ovsiyenko arrived in Gulyai-Polye with an inspection. Then, in early May, Kamenev arrived from Moscow. In the end, agreed.


Leaders of the Makhnovist rebels in 1919 (from left to right): S. Karetnik, N. Makhno, F. Shus


The beginning of the uprising


Thus, the Red Army in Little Russia, heavily diluted by the rebel detachments, quickly decayed. In April - May, numerous violations are recorded in the army: pogroms, arbitrary requisition, looting, various atrocities, and even direct anti-Soviet revolts. In March - April, the most tense situation was in the central part of the Ukraine - Kiev, Poltava and Chernihiv provinces. In late April - early May, the situation deteriorates dramatically in Novorossia - Kherson, Elisavetgrad, and Nikolaev.

The situation was at its limit, all that was needed was a reason for a large-scale explosion. At the end of April 1919, the Council of People's Commissars adopted a decree that canceled the election of commanders. The 6 units of the Ukrainian Soviet division of Grigoriev, set aside for redevelopment into their native places of Kherson and Elizavetgrad, completely disintegrated and began to resist the actions of food detachments, the Soviet authorities. Communists began to kill.

The Red Command planned to send the 3 Ukrainian Army, which included the Grigoriev Division, to march on the assistance of Soviet Hungary. However, Grigoriev did not want to lead his troops to the front, in every way he avoided. 7 in May 1919, the commander of the 3 of the Ukrainian Soviet Army, Khudyakov ordered Grigoriev to stop the riots or lay down the powers of the divisional commander. The Chekists of the Special Department of the Army tried to arrest Grigoriev, but were killed. Seeing that further conflict can not be avoided, 8 May Grigoriev issued Universal "To the people of Ukraine and the Red Army soldiers", in which he called for a general uprising against the Bolshevik dictatorship in Ukraine.


Soviet caricature of ataman Grigoriev. May 1919 Source: https://ru.wikipedia.org


To be continued ...
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

32 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Как началось восстание атамана Григорьева

Смута. 1919 год. 100 лет назад, в конце мая 1919 года, в Малороссии было подавлено крупное восстание атамана Григорьева. Авантюрист Никифор Григорьев мечтал о славе вождя Украины и был готов пойти на любое преступление ради славы. Ему удалось на две майские недели стать главной фигурой малороссийской политики, с потенциальной возможность стать кровавым атаманом всея Украины.

Как началось восстание атамана Григорьева



Однако Григорьев был не великим политиком, ни полководцем, а только честолюбивым авантюристом. Его потолком был комполка. Во время «русской смуты» по России гуляли десятки, сотни таких григорьевых. Иногда они мнили себя новыми наполеонами и на короткий период добивались большой популярности. Но им не хватало ни ума, ни образования, ни чутья, чтобы добиться большего.

Предпосылки восстания в Малороссии и Новороссии


После того как красные второй раз заняли Киев и Малороссию, причём довольно легко, так как народ устал от гетманщины, интервентов и атаманщины, ситуация на Украине вскоре снова накалилась. Крестьянская война и криминальная революция, которые начались в Малороссии с началом «смуты», только на время были приглушены и скоро запылали с новой силой.

Рост социально-политического напряжения в юго-западном русском регионе был спровоцирован политикой «военного коммунизма». К весне 1919 года ранее просоветские настроения малороссийской деревни быстро меняются. Совнарком УССР и командование Красной Армии пытались обеспечить крупные поставки продовольствия с Малороссии (на основе продразверстки и хлебной монополии) в города центральной России. Проблема была в том, что значительная часть прошлого урожая и скота была уже вывезена австро-германскими интервентами. В результате деревню подвергли новому грабежу.

Неприятным для крестьян дополнением к такой продовольственной политике стала новая попытка коллективизации, что в условиях продолжающейся Гражданской и крестьянской войны, было явным «перегибом». Такие радикальные реформы требуют других условий, мирного времени. В марте 1919 года в Харькове прошёл 3-й Всеукраинский съезд Советов, который принял резолюцию о национализации всей земли. Все помещичьи и кулацкие земли (а их доля на плодородных землях Юга России была велика), которые были основными производителями сельскохозяйственной продукции, переходили в руки государства, и на их основе создавались совхозы, коммуны. Однако крестьяне в условиях революции и смуты уже совершили «чёрный передел» помещичьей земли, также растащили инвентарь, инструменты, поделили скот. Гетманский режим и германцы попытались вернуть землю владельцам, но встретили отпор. А после свержения Гетманщины крестьяне снова захватили земли. И теперь у них снова собирались её отнять. Понятно, что это вызвало сопротивление, в том числе вооруженное. Начался новый этап крестьянской войны. Крестьяне не желали возвращать земли, отдавать хлеб, служить в армии и платить налоги. Популярной была идея жизни общинами вольных хлебопашцев.

Большевики не церемонились с повстанцами. Активно действовали уездные и прифронтовые ЧК, Ревтрибуналы. Большой проблемой были грамотные, честные кадры. В условиях кадрового голода многие представители советской власти, партии, ЧК и Красной Армии сами выглядели как убийцы, грабители и насильники (некоторые таковыми и являлись). Советские органы власти в деревне часто разгонялись, сами подвергались наказаниям, и лишаясь поддержки населения, быстро разлагались. В советском аппарате был большой элемент равнодушных ко всему назначенцев, приспособленцев, карьеристов, «перекрасившихся» врагов, деклассированных элементов (люмпенов) и откровенно уголовников. Не удивительно, что в советских органах власти процветало пьянство, воровство и коррупция (у белых в тылу ситуация была такая же).

В молодом советском государственном аппарате начали формироваться национально-корпоративные группы (что в итоге станет одной из предпосылок развала СССР). При этом среди чекистов, комиссаров, членов компартии было много интернациональных кадров – прибалтов, евреев, венгров, австрийцев, немцев (бывшие военнопленные Центральных держав, которые по различным причинам остались в России), китайцев и т. д. Восстания часто давили интернациональные части. Поэтому продразвёрстку, карательные экспедиции, «красный террор» и т. д. ассоциировали с иноземцами. Это вызвало новый всплеск ксенофобии и антисемитизма, которые имели мощные корни ещё со времен польского владычества.

Правительство УССР, командование Красной Армии также совершило ряд серьёзных ошибок, не сумело должным образом отреагировать на развитие негативных тенденций. Оно было связано необходимостью обеспечить крупные поставки хлеба с Малороссии в Центральную Россию; борьбой с Донецкой группой белых на востоке и петлюровцами на западе. Кроме того, Москва готовилась к «экспорту революции» в Европу. Да и с кадрами в правительстве УССР также было плохо.

Атаманщина


Неудивительно, что как только кончилась зима, подсохли дороги и потеплело, стало можно ночевать в балках и лесах, крестьяне и бандиты снова взялись за оружие. Снова по Малороссии стали гулять отряды всевозможных атаманов и батек (полевых командиров), одни были идейные – с национальным окрасом, левые (но враги большевиков), анархисты, а другие – откровенные бандиты. Средь бела дня бандиты грабили магазины в городах. Те же самые элементы, которые грабили Малороссию под знаменем Петлюры, затем перешли на сторону Красной Армии, теперь снова стали «зелёными».

Дело было в том, что режим Директории не смог создать регулярную армию. Армия Директории состояла в основном из партизанских, полубандитских формирований, крестьян-повстанцев, боровшихся с интервентами и войсками Гетманщины. В ходе наступления Красной Армии эти формирования в массе своей перешли на сторону красных. Это было связано с их низкой боеспособностью, они просто не могли воевать с красными войсками, а также ростом просоветских настроений в деревне. В итоге ранее повстанческие, петлюровские части стали частью армии УССР. При этом они сохранили свой состав, командиров (атаманов, батек). В частности, среди таких отрядов была Херсонская дивизия «Атамана повстанческих войск Херсонщины, Запорожья и Таврии» Н. А. Григорьева. Она стала 1-й Заднепровской Украинской советской бригадой, а затем 6-й Украинской советской дивизией. Григорьевцы вели активные боевые действия на юге Малороссии.

При этом новые советские части сохраняли территориальный принцип, что привязывало их к определённой области, кормились за счёт местного населения и сохранили внутреннюю самостоятельность. Государственного снабжения этих частей в условиях развала хозяйства страны, и денежного довольствия командиров не было, или оно было минимальным. То есть материально мотивировать бойцов таких частей и их командиров не смогли. Эти части по-прежнему жили за счёт трофеев, реквизиций и откровенного мародерства, и привыкли так жить. Кроме того, многие «советские» атаманы продолжали играть активную политическую роль, занимали административные должности в уездных и волостных органах власти, участвовали в региональных съездах советов. Многие махновцы, григорьевцы и бывшие петлюровцы продолжали придерживаться враждебных по отношению к большевикам политическим течениям – украинскими левыми эсерами, анархистами или националистами.

Ситуация осложнялась тем, что в Малой России было очень много оружия. Оно осталось от фронтов мировой войны – русского и австро-германского, от австро-германских оккупантов, от западных интервентов (в основном французов), которые быстро сбежали, бросив многие склады с вооружением, от фронтов Гражданской войны, которые несколько раз перекатились через юго-западные русские области.


Махновщина


Самым знаменитым атаманом был Махно, под началом которого была целая армия. Его повстанческая армия вошла состав Красной Армии как 3-я Заднепровская бригада 1-й Заднепровской украинской советской дивизии. Затем 7-я Украинская советская дивизия. Бригада Махно сохраняла внутреннюю автономию и подчинялась красному командованию только в оперативном отношении. Войска Махно контролировали 72 волости с населением в 2 млн. человек. В этот район не могли войти ни отряды ЧК, ни продотряды, не было там коллективизации. Это было своего рода «государство в государстве». Махно выразил неодобрение решениям 3-го Всеукраинского съезда Советов о национализации земли. В основе программы махновцев были требования: «социализации» земли (переход земли в общенародное достояние, что было главной частью аграрной программы эсеров), а также фабрик и заводов; отмены продовольственной политики большевиков; отказ от диктатуры партии большевиков; свободы слова, печати и собраний всем левым партиям и группам; проведение свободных выборов в Советы трудящихся крестьян и рабочих и т. д.

Чем дальше, тем сильнее были трения Махно с большевиками. 10 апреля в Гуляй-поле 3-й Съезд советов махновского района в своей резолюции квалифицировал политику коммунистов как «преступную по отношению к социальной революции и трудящимся массам». Харьковский съезд советов был признан «не истинным и свободным выражением воли трудящихся». Махновцы выразили протест против политики большевистской власти, комиссаров и агентов чрезвычаек, которые расстреливают рабочих, крестьян и повстанцев. Махно заявил, что советская власть изменила «октябрьским принципам». В итоге Съезд постановил, что не признает диктатуры большевиков и против «комиссародержавия».

В ответ Дыбенко в телеграмме назвал этот съезд «контрреволюционным», грозил объявить махновцев вне закона. Махновцы ответили протестом и заявлением, что их такие приказы не пугают и они готовы к защите своих народных прав. Только немного позже при встрече Махно с Антоновым-Овсеенко ситуацию удалось урегулировать. Махно отказался от наиболее резких заявлений.

В середине апреля 1919 года было завершено формирование 2-й Украинской советской армии из частей группы войск харьковского направления. Бригада Махно вошла в состав 7-й Украинской советской дивизии. Однако красное командование резко сократила снабжение отрядов Махно. Стал рассматриваться вопрос о снятии батьки с командования бригадой. Появились требования: «Долой махновщину!» Однако до полного разрыва пока не дошло. В конце апреля в Гуляй-Поле приехал с инспекцией Антонов-Овсиенко. Затем в начале мая из Москвы приехал Каменев. В итоге договорились.


Лидеры повстанцев-махновцев в 1919 году (слева направо): С. Каретник, Н. Махно, Ф. Щусь


Начало восстания


Таким образом, Красная Армия в Малороссии, сильно разбавленная повстанческими отрядами, быстро разлагалась. В апреле — мае в армии фиксируются многочисленные нарушения: погромы, самочинные реквизиции, мародерство, различные бесчинства и даже прямые антисоветские мятежи. В марте — апреле наиболее наряженной ситуация была в центральной части Малороссии — Киевской, Полтавской и Черниговской губерниях. В конце апреля – начале мая ситуация резко ухудшается в Новороссии – Херсоне, Елисаветграде, Николаеве.

Ситуация была на пределе, нужен был только повод для масштабного взрыва. В конце апреля 1919 года Совнарком принял декрет, который отменял выборность командного состава. Части 6-й Украинской советской дивизии Григорьева, отведённые для переформирования в родные для них места Херсонщины и Елизаветградщины, полностью разложились и стали оказывать сопротивление действиям продотрядов, советских органов власти. Коммунистов стали убивать.

Красное командование планировало направить 3-ю Украинскую армию, в которую входила дивизия Григорьева, в поход на помощь Советской Венгрии. Однако Григорьев не хотел вести свои войска на фронт, всячески уклонялся. 7 мая 1919 г. командарм 3-й Украинской советской армии Худяков приказал Григорьеву прекратить беспорядки или сложить полномочия комдива. Чекисты Особого отдела армии пытались арестовать Григорьева, но были перебиты. Увидев, что далее конфликта избежать нельзя, 8 мая Григорьев издал Универсал «К народу Украины и бойцам Красной армии», в котором призвал к общему восстанию против большевистской диктатуры на Украине.


Советская карикатура на атамана Григорьева. Май 1919 г. Источник: https://ru.wikipedia.org


Продолжение следует…
Автор:
Самсонов Александр
Статьи из этой серии:
Смута. 1919 год

Как англичане создали Вооружённые силы Юга России
Как восстановили советскую власть на Украине
Как петлюровцы привели Малороссию к полной катастрофе
Как разгромили петлюровщину
Даёшь границы 1772 года!
Битва за Северный Кавказ. Как подавили Терское восстание
Битва за Северный Кавказ. Ч. 2. Декабрьское сражение
Битва за Северный Кавказ. Ч. 3. Январская катастрофа 11-й армии
Битва за Северный Кавказ. Ч. 4. Как погибла 11-я армия
Битва за Северный Кавказ. Ч. 5. Взятие Кизляра и Грозного
Битва за Северный Кавказ. Ч. 6. Яростный штурм Владикавказа
Как Грузия пыталась захватить Сочи
Как белогвардейцы разгромили грузинских оккупантов
Война Февраля с Октябрём как противостояние между двумя цивилизационными проектами
Как начался "Полёт к Волге"
Как армия Колчака прорывалась к Волге
Катастрофа донского казачества
Верхнедонское восстание
Как "Великая Финляндия" планировала захватить Петроград
«Все на борьбу с Колчаком!»
Фрунзе. Красный Наполеон
Упущенные возможности армии Колчака
Майское наступление Северного корпуса
Как белые прорывались к Петрограду
Битва за Юг России
Стратегический перелом на Южном фронте. Манычская операция
Крым в огне русской смуты
Крым в 1918-1919 годах. Интервенты, местные власти и белые
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

32 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти