Military Review

Battle for Crimea. How the Red Army broke through to the peninsula

0

NS Samokish "Passage of the Red Army through the Sivash". 1935


100 years ago, Frunze's Southern Front defeated Wrangel's Russian army - the most efficient unit of the White Army at the final stage of the Civil War. The Red Army liberated Crimea and eliminated a major hotbed of counter-revolution.

General situation


After the defeat of the White Army, in Northern Tavria in late October - early November 1920, the Wrangelites fought their way to the Crimean Peninsula. Where they hoped to hold on to fortifications on the Perekop and Chongar directions. The White command hoped that the troops of the defeated Russian Army would be able to hold out on the narrow isthmuses. In addition, the White Fleet will support them from the coastal flanks, the Reds have a powerful fleet did not have.

White Amia numbered about 40 thousand fighters (directly at the front - about 26 thousand people), over 200 guns and 1660 machine guns, 3 tank and more than 20 armored cars, 5 armored trains and 24 aircraft (according to other sources - 45 armored vehicles and tanks, 14 armored trains and 45 aircraft). The Perekop direction was covered by the 1st army under the command of General Kutepov, the Chongar - by the 2nd army of Abramov. In the area of ​​Yishun / Yushun station there was a strong reserve - about 14 thousand people, to the south - another 6 thousand people. Part of the army's troops was diverted to the defense of cities, communications and to fight the partisans.

Frunze wanted to rush into the peninsula on the move, until the enemy came to his senses, did not gain a foothold. At first, they planned to attack in the Chongar direction. However, this plan was thwarted by the early winter. Ice formed on the Sea of ​​Azov, which fettered the actions of the Soviet Azov flotilla. The Soviet ships remained in Taganrog and were unable to support the offensive of the ground units. Budyonny's cavalry tried to advance from Genichesk through the Arabat arrow to Feodosia, but was stopped by enemy naval artillery. The white flotilla approached Genichesk.

As a result, the command of the Southern Front decided to deliver the main blow through Perekop-Sivash. The shock group included units of the 6th Army of Kork, the 2nd Cavalry Army of Mironov and the detachments of Makhno. Soviet troops attacked simultaneously from two sides: part of their forces - from the front, head-on to the Perekop positions, and the other - after crossing the Sivash from the Lithuanian Peninsula, to the flank and rear of the enemy. On Chongar and Arabat, it was decided to conduct an auxiliary operation with the forces of Lazarevich's 4th Army and Kashirin's 3rd Cavalry Corps. The 1st Cavalry Army of Budyonny was transferred to the Perekop direction. The Red Army was supposed to break through the enemy's defenses on the Perekop and Chongar directions, defeat the main forces of Wrangel's army, and break into the peninsula. Then dismember and destroy the remnants of the enemy army, liberate Crimea.

Already on November 3, 1920, the Red Army again stormed the fortifications of Perekop. The frontal attack failed. The defense was held by about 20 thousand White Guards, against them were 133 thousand Red Army men and 5 thousand Makhnovists. On the main axes, the ratio between the defenders and the attackers reached 1:12. In general, the forces of the Southern Front reached 190 thousand people, about 1 thousand guns and over 4400 machine guns, 57 armored vehicles, 17 armored trains and 45 aircraft (according to other sources - 23 armored trains and 84 aircraft).

"Inaccessible" harrow of Crimea


It is believed that the White Guards relied on a powerful and well-prepared defense system. Komfronta Frunze recalled (Frunze M. V. Selected works. M., 1950.):

“The Perekop and Chongar Isthmus and the southern coast of the Sivash connecting them constituted one common network of fortified positions erected in advance, reinforced by natural and artificial obstacles and barriers. Started with construction back in the period of Denikin's Volunteer Army, these positions were improved with special attention and care by Wrangel. Both Russian and French military engineers took part in their construction, using all the experience of the imperialist war in their construction. "

The main line of defense in the Perekop direction ran along the Turetsky shaft (length - up to 11 km, height up to 8 m, ditch depth 10 m) with 3 lines of wire barriers in front of the ditch. The second line of defense, at a distance of 20-25 km from the first, was represented by the well-fortified Ishun / Yushun position, which had several lines of trenches, also covered with barbed wire. Here the defense was held by the 2nd Army Corps (6 thousand bayonets), the Cavalry Corps of Barbovich (4 thousand people) was in reserve.

Long-range artillery was located behind the Ishun / Yushun positions, capable of keeping the entire depth of the defense under fire. The density of artillery at Perekop was 6–7 guns per 1 km of the front. The Ishun / Yushun positions had about 170 guns, which were reinforced by naval artillery fire. Only the defense of the Lithuanian Peninsula was comparatively weak: one line of trenches and barbed wire. The Kuban brigade of Fostikov was located here (1,5 thousand people with 12 guns). There were 13 thousand people in the front-line reserve.

On the Chongar direction, the fortifications were even more impregnable, since the Chongar peninsula itself was connected to the peninsula by a narrow dam several meters wide, and the Sivash railway and Chongar highway bridges were destroyed by the Wrangelites during the retreat from Tavria. On Chongar and Arabat Spit, up to 5-6 lines of trenches and trenches with barbed wire were prepared. The Chongar Isthmus and the Arabat Spit were not very wide, which made it difficult for the Soviet troops to maneuver and created advantages for the whites. Chongar positions were reinforced with a large number of artillery and armored trains. The Chongarskoye direction was covered by the Don corps (3 thousand people).

This defense, according to the white commander-in-chief, made Crimea "impregnable." Wrangel, having examined the positions on Perekop on October 30, 1920, confidently declared to the foreign representatives who were with him:
"Much has been done, much remains to be done, but Crimea is already inaccessible to the enemy."

However, he greatly exaggerated. First, General Yuzefovich prepared the defense in the Perekop direction, then Makeev replaced him. In the summer of 1920, he reported to the assistant to the commander-in-chief, General Shatilov, that almost all capital work at Perekop was done only on paper, since there were practically no building materials. The troops (as before) do not have dugouts and dugouts for shelter in the autumn-winter period.


Painting by artist MI Samsonov "Crossing the Sivash". 1959 year

Missed opportunities of the White Army


Thus, the terrain otherwise facilitated the defense, despite the shortcomings of defense preparation and the heavy losses of the Russian army in previous battles. It is also worth noting that the white command in the previous period directed all attention to operations in Northern Tavria and did not pay proper attention to the preparation of the defense of the peninsula. And the opportunities were enormous. One could have taken more seriously the chance of a future blockade and defense of Crimea, the creation of a long-term semi-enclave of the White movement in Russia. Create a real long-term and echeloned defense line on the isthmus.

The Whites could build several rokadny railways near the isthmuses to ensure the rapid transfer of troops, reserves, maneuver and regrouping, for effective operations of armored trains. In Sevastopol, despite the robbery of the Germans and "allies", there was a powerful artillery arsenal and a huge supply of shells. These guns and ammunition could strengthen the defense of the Perekop and Chongar directions.

In Crimea, there was a powerful Sevmorzavod and several other metalworking enterprises, they could easily manufacture any number of metal devices, structural elements and equipment for the fortifications of the isthmus. In the warehouses of the Black Sea Fleet, there were hundreds of tons of armored steel, in the batteries of the Sevastopol fortress there were a large number of bases for guns, armored doors and other equipment for powerful forts. That is, there was every chance to create a whole fortified area. Wrangel had almost a year for the total mobilization of all the possibilities of the peninsula and the arrangement of the Perekop fortified area. But everything was limited to verbiage and imitation of violent activity.

Also, the White Army had such a powerful trump card as the fleet. The Reds had only a few (converted into combat) civilian ships in the Azov flotilla. The White Fleet (and even reinforced by the Entente) could easily close the isthmuses with its fire. Heavy naval artillery made the Crimean peninsula really impregnable. You could just be smart. Put 203-mm and 152-mm naval guns on the barges, transport them to Perekop and Ishuni / Yushuni using pontoons and boats. Bring the barges to the shore, land them on the ground. Set up guns, bring in ammunition, build fortifications. So it was possible to create powerful batteries that would simply sweep away the attackers.

In addition, Wrangel (in reality) had a powerful human reserve. In Crimea there were a lot of fully capable young men. Including former officers (military already of the White Army) in the rear. They could be mobilized, at least given a shovel. Build fortified areas on the Perekop and Chongar directions. Suffice it to recall how the Bolsheviks mobilized the people to build fortifications in Tsaritsyn or Kakhovka. During the Great Patriotic War, civilians built hundreds of kilometers of fortifications on the approaches to Moscow, Leningrad, Stalingrad, etc. But the officers, the intelligentsia, "blue blood" and rich merchants did not want to save "Holy Rus". They chose to flee to Constantinople, Berlin and Paris, to become lackeys, taxi drivers and courtesans. Yes, and the white command with Wrangel did not begin to attract rear units, refugees and local residents to build a powerful defense. The result was expected: in a few days the Red Army broke down the resistance of selected units of the White Army and entered the Crimea.

Assault


The offensive of the Southern Front was scheduled for November 5, 1920. The landing was supposed to force the Sivash. However, a strong east wind drove water from the sea. On the fords, the water rose to two meters. The Makhnovists, who were in the forefront of the landing, refused to take such risks. The operation had to be postponed. On November 6, the situation changed radically. A strong westerly wind began, driving nearly all the water out of the Rotten Sea. Strong shallowing allowed the troops to overcome the Sivash by fords. In addition, the cold froze the mud, and the fog hid the movement of the troops. On the night of November 8, the troops of the Shock Group (15th, 51st and 52nd Infantry Divisions, a cavalry group, a total of 20 thousand bayonets and sabers with 36 guns) crossed the bay, broke the resistance of the weak Kuban brigade of Fostikov on the Lithuanian Peninsula. On the morning of November 8, Soviet troops launched a flank attack on the main enemy forces, launched an offensive on Armyansk, going into the rear of the defense along the Turkish shaft.

However, due to a shortage of cavalry, the Reds on the Lithuanian Peninsula could not break through further. They themselves were threatened with complete destruction. White came to his senses and counterattacked. The water in Sivash rose again, cutting off the Reds from reinforcements and supplies. They had to go on the defensive. The Makhnovist detachment of Karetnikov and the 7th Cavalry Division was sent to the aid of the advanced forces. Then the group on the Lithuanian Peninsula was reinforced by the 16th Cavalry Division of the 2nd Cavalry Army. The Drozdovskaya division from Armyansk and the Markovskaya division from Ishun / Yushuni carried out attack after attack, trying to destroy the enemy landing on the Lithuanian peninsula. Stubborn battles went on throughout the day. At the same time, the Reds were able to somewhat expand the bridgehead. At the same time, brigades of the 51st division stormed Perekop head-on. However, they did not succeed again and suffered heavy losses.

The white command, fearing the encirclement of the advanced forces, on the night of November 8-9, transferred troops from the Turkish Wall to the second line of defense - the Ishun / Yushun positions. On November 9, the Reds took Perekop and began an assault on the Ishun / Yushun positions. The strongest defense of the whites was in the eastern part - 6 thousand fighters, the western part was covered by 3 thousand people, but here the Wrangelites were supported by the fleet. The Horse Corps of Barbovich (4 thousand sabers, 30 cannons, 150 machine guns and 5 armored cars) was thrown into a counterattack. It was reinforced with the remnants of units of the 13th, 34th and Drozdovskaya infantry divisions. On November 10, the white cavalry was able to push back parts of the 15th and 52nd rifle divisions from Ishun / Yushun to the Lithuanian peninsula, defeating the 7th and 16th cavalry divisions. A danger arose for the right flank of the red strike group (51st and Latvian divisions). There was also a threat of a white raid on the red rear. However, the Makhnovists saved the situation. Barbovich's corps began to pursue the enemy and ran into the line of carts (250 machine guns). The Makhnovists literally wiped out the enemy. Then the Makhnovists and soldiers of the 2nd Cavalry Army began to chop off the retreating White Guards. Meanwhile, units of the 51st Division at the Karnitsky Gulf broke into the enemy's line of defense.


The fall of the defense of the Russian army


On the night of November 11, the commander of the defense of the White Army, General Kutepov, proposed to launch a general counteroffensive and return the lost positions. However, the white troops suffered heavy losses and were demoralized. On the morning of November 11, units of the 51st division completed the breakthrough of the Ishun / Yushun positions, moved to Ishun / Yushun. The Red Army repulsed a counterattack from the Terek-Astrakhan brigade, and then a fierce bayonet attack by the Kornilovites and Markovites, undertaken on the approaches to the station. The soldiers of the 51st division, together with the Latvian division, occupied the Yishun / Yushun station and began to go to the rear of the enemy's right wing. Without waiting for the encirclement, the white units began to abandon the remaining positions and go to the ports. Barbovich's cavalry still tried to give battle, counterattacked, but by evening it was defeated by the Makhnovists and the 2nd Cavalry Army at Voinka station, south of Sivash. On November 11, Frunze, in an effort to avoid further bloodshed, addressed the white command by radio with a proposal to end resistance and promised amnesty to those who had laid weapon... Wrangel did not respond to this proposal. The Whites were preparing for a complete evacuation (a partial one began on November 10).

At the same time (November 6 - 10, 1920), the Red Army stormed the enemy positions in the Chongar direction. On the night of November 11, a decisive assault began, the Reds in the Tyup-Dzhankoy area broke through two (out of four) defense lines. In the afternoon of November 11, Gryaznov's 30th Infantry Division developed an offensive. White reserves were transferred to Ishuni / Yushuni and they could not counterattack. On November 12, the Reds broke through the last line of enemy defense, captured the Taganash station. The remains of the Don Corps retreat to Dzhankoy. Meanwhile, the Reds were able to cross the Genichesky Strait and moved to the rear of the enemy along the Arabat Spit. On the morning of November 12, units of the 9th Soviet rifle division from the Arabat arrow landed on the Crimean peninsula at the mouth of the Salgir river.

On November 12, the last battles took place near Dzhankoy and the village of Bohemka. The cavalry of the 2nd army and the Makhnovists shot down the enemy rearguards. On the isthmuses, the Red Army lost about 12 thousand people, the White Guards - 7 thousand. Interestingly, the Reds were inactive for almost a day, allowing the enemy to break away. Only on November 13 did the persecution begin. The 6th and 1st Cavalry Armies and Makhno's units launched an offensive on Simferopol, the 2nd Cavalry Army was going there from Dzhankoy, and the 4th Army and the 3rd Cavalry Corps - to Feodosia and Kerch. On November 13, Simferopol was liberated, on the 14th - Evpatoria and Feodosia, on the 15th - Sevastopol, on the 16th - Kerch, on the 17th - Yalta. All cities were occupied without a fight. Wrangel's army with tens of thousands of civilians fled from the peninsula (about 150 thousand people in total).

Thus, Frunze's Southern Front defeated Wrangel's Russian army - the most combat-ready unit of the White Army at the final stage of the Civil War. The Red Army liberated Crimea and liquidated a major hotbed of counter-revolution. This event is considered the official end of the Russian Civil War. Although in some places the war was still going on (including the peasant war). In the Far East, the whites will be finished off only in 1922.
Author:
Photos used:
https://ru.wikipedia.org/, https://bigenc.ru/
Articles from this series:
Smoot. 1920 year
Frunze against Wrangel. The retreat of the White Guards from Tavria to the Crimea
Battle of Rostov
The disaster of white Odessa
How Slashchev Crimea defended
Dono-Manych battle
The death of the Northern Army Miller
Why Western agent Kolchak is turned into a hero and martyr of Russia
The defeat of the army of Denikin in the battle of Tikhorets
How did the Ice Siberian campaign end
The fall of the White Kuban
Agony of White Novorossiysk
The death of the Kuban army
Denikin's resignation
Far Eastern Republic and the Japanese threat
Polish "liberation" campaign in Kiev
Baku “Blitzkrieg” of the Red Army
The battle for Belarus. May operation of the Red Army
War of the Russian Army Wrangel
The first victories of the Wrangel army
The defeat of the 13th Soviet Army in Northern Tavria
Our Kiev!
The battle for Rivne. How Budyonnovtsy smashed the Polish defense
Minsk is ours! The defeat of the Polish army in Belarus
Battle for Lviv. The failure of the Red Army in Galicia
The death of the cavalry group Rednecks
The fierce battle for the Kakhovsky bridgehead
The defeat of the landing group Ulagaya
"Miracle on the Vistula"
How Tukhachevsky destroyed his armies on the Vistula
Battle of Komarov. Defeat of the 1st Cavalry Army
Bukhara Blitzkrieg Frunze
"The danger of Wrangel is becoming enormous ..."
Battle on the Lower Dnieper
The last offensive of the Russian army
Battle of the Neman
Defeat of Tukhachevsky on the Neman
The defeat of the 3rd Soviet army in Belarus
The defeat of the Red Army on the Shara
How Turkey attacked Armenia
Armenian defeat. How the Turkish army captured Kars and Alexandropol
The defeat of Wrangel's army in the battle on the Dnieper
Defeat of the Far Eastern Army. How the "Chita plug" was eliminated

Военное обозрение

Битва за Крым. Как Красная Армия прорвалась на полуостров

0

Н. С. Самокиш «Переход Красной Армии через Сиваш». 1935


100 лет назад Южный фронт Фрунзе разгромил Русскую армию Врангеля – самое боеспособное соединение Белой армии на заключительном этапе Гражданской войны. Красная Армия освободила Крым и ликвидировала крупный очаг контрреволюции.

Общая ситуация


После разгрома Белой армии (White Army), в Северной Таврии в конце октября – начале ноября 1920 года врангелевцы с боями прорвались на Крымский полуостров. Где надеялись удержаться за укреплениями на перекопском и чонгарском направлениях. Белое командование надеялось, что войска разбитой Русской армии (Russian Army) смогут устоять на узких перешейках. К тому же, с приморских флангов их поддержит Белый флот, у красных мощного флота не было.

Белая амия насчитывала около 40 тысяч бойцов (непосредственно на фронте – около 26 тысяч человек), свыше 200 орудий и 1660 пулеметов, 3 танка и более 20 броневиков, 5 бронепоездов и 24 самолета (по другим данным - 45 бронемашин и танков, 14 бронепоездов и 45 самолетов). Перекопское направление прикрывала 1-я армия под командованием генерала Кутепова, чонгарское – 2-я армия Абрамова. В районе станции Ишунь/Юшунь располагался сильный резерв – около 14 тысяч человек, южнее - ещё 6 тысяч человек. Часть войск армии была отвлечена на оборону городов, коммуникаций и для борьбы с партизанами.

Фрунзе хотел с ходу ворваться на полуостров, пока противник не пришёл в себя, не закрепился. Сначала планировали атаковать на чонгарском направлении. Однако этот план был сорван из-за рано наступившей зимы. На Азовском море образовался лёд, который сковал действия советской Азовской флотилии. Советские корабли остались в Таганроге и не смогли поддержать наступление сухопутных частей. Конница Будённого пыталась наступать от Геническа через Арабатскую стрелку на Феодосию, но была остановлена корабельной артиллерией противника. Белая флотилия подошла к Геническу.

В итоге командование Южного фронта решило нанести главный удар через Перекоп-Сиваш. В ударную группировку вошли части 6-й армии Корка, 2-й Конной армии Миронова и отряды Махно. Советские войска атаковали одновременно с двух сторон: частью сил — с фронта, в лоб перекопским позициям, а другой - после форсирования Сиваша со стороны Литовского полуострова, во фланг и тыл противника. На Чонгаре и Арабате решили провести вспомогательную операцию силами 4-й армии Лазаревича и 3-го конного корпуса Каширина. 1-ю Конную армию Будённого перебрасывали на перекопское направление. Красная Армия должна была прорвать оборону неприятеля на перекопском и чонгарском направлениях, разгромить основные силы армии Врангеля, ворваться на полуостров. Затем расчленить и уничтожить остатки вражеской армии, освободить Крым.

Уже 3 ноября 1920 года красноармейцы снова штурмовали укрепления Перекопа. Лобовая атака провалилась. Оборону держало около 20 тысяч белогвардейцев, против них было 133 тысячи красноармейцев и 5 тысяч махновцев. На главных направлениях соотношение между обороняющимися и атакующими доходило до 1:12. В целом, силы Южного фронта доходили до 190 тысяч человек, около 1 тысячи орудий и свыше 4400 пулеметов, 57 бронеавтомобилей, 17 бронепоездов и 45 самолетов (по другим данным - 23 бронепоезда и 84 самолета).

«Неприступная» борона Крыма


Считается, что белогвардейцы опирались на мощную и заблаговременно подготовленную систему обороны. Комфронта Фрунзе вспоминал (Фрунзе М. В. Избранные произведения. М., 1950.):

«Перекопский и Чонгарский перешеек и соединяющий их южный берег Сиваша представляли собой одну общую сеть заблаговременно возведенных укрепленных позиций, усиленных естественными и искусственными препятствиями и заграждениями. Начатые постройкой еще в период Добровольческой армии Деникина, позиции эти были с особым вниманием и заботой усовершенствованы Врангелем. В сооружении их принимали участие как русские, так и французские военные инженеры, использовавшие при постройках весь опыт империалистической войны».

Главная линия обороны на перекопском направлении проходила по Турецкому валу (протяжённость — до 11 км, высота до 8 м, глубина рва 10 м) с 3 линиями проволочных заграждений перед рвом. Вторую линию обороны, удаленную на 20—25 км от первой, представляла хорошо укрепленная Ишуньская/Юшуньская позиция, имеющая несколько линий окопов, также прикрытых проволочными заграждениями. Здесь оборону держал 2-й армейский корпус (6 тысяч штыков), в резерве был Конный корпус Барбовича (4 тысячи человек).

За Ишуньскими/Юшуньскими позициями располагалась дальнобойная артиллерия, способная держать под огнем всю глубину обороны. Плотность артиллерии на Перекопе составляла 6–7 орудий на 1 км фронта. На Ишуньских/Юшуньских позициях имелось около 170 орудий, которые усиливались огнем корабельной артиллерии. Сравнительно слабой была лишь оборона Литовского полуострова: одна линия окопов и проволочных заграждений. Здесь располагалась Кубанская бригада Фостикова (1,5 тысячи человек при 12 орудиях). Во фронтовом резерве было 13 тысяч человек.

На чонгарском направлении укрепления были еще более неприступными, так как сам Чонгарский полуостров соединялся с полуостровом узкой дамбой шириной в несколько метров, а Сивашский железнодорожный и Чонгарский шоссейный мосты были разрушены врангелевцами при отступлении из Таврии. На Чонгаре и Арабатской стрелке было подготовлено до 5—6 линий окопов и траншей с проволочными заграждениями. Чонгарский перешеек и Арабатская стрелка имели незначительную ширину, что затрудняло маневр советских войск и создавало преимущества для белых. Чонгарские позиции были усилены большим количеством артиллерии и бронепоездами. Чонгарское направление прикрывал Донской корпус (3 тысячи человек).

Эта оборона, по мнению белого главнокомандующего, делала Крым «неприступным». Врангель, осмотрев 30 октября 1920 года позиции на Перекопе, уверенно заявил находившимся при нем иностранным представителям:
«Многое сделано, многое предстоит еще сделать, но Крым и ныне уже для врага неприступен».

Однако он сильно преувеличивал. Сначала оборону на перекопском направлении готовил генерал Юзефович, затем его сменил Макеев. Летом 1920 года он докладывал помощнику главнокомандующего генералу Шатилову, что практически все капитальные работы на Перекопе делаются только на бумаге, так как стройматериалы практически не поступают. У войск (как и раньше) нет землянок и блиндажей для укрытия в осенне-зимний период.


Картина художника М. И. Самсонова «Переход через Сиваш». 1959 год

Упущенные возможности Белой армии


Таким образом, рельеф местности в остальном облегчал оборону, несмотря на недостатки подготовки обороны и тяжелые потери Русской армии в прежних боях. Также стоит отметить, что белое командование в предшествующий период всё внимание направило на операции в Северной Таврии и не уделило надлежащего внимание подготовке обороны полуострова. А возможности были огромными. Можно было серьёзнее отнестись к шансу будущей блокады и обороны Крыма, созданию долгосрочного полуанклава Белого движения в России. Создать на перешейках реальную долговременную и эшелонированную линию обороны.

Белые могли возвести несколько рокадных железных дорог вблизи перешейков для обеспечения быстрой переброски войск, резервов, маневра и перегруппировки, для эффективных действий бронепоездов. В Севастополе, несмотря на грабёж немцев и «союзников», оставался мощный артиллерийский арсенал и огромный запас снарядов. Эти орудия и боеприпасы могли усилить оборону перекопского и чонгарского направлений.

В Крыму был мощный Севморзавод и несколько других металлообрабатывающих предприятий, они спокойно могли изготовить любое количество металлических устройств, элементов конструкций и оборудование для фортификационных сооружений перешейка. На складах Черноморского флота имелись сотни тонн броневой стали, в батареях Севастопольской крепости были в большом количестве основания для орудий, броневые двери и другое оборудование для мощных фортов. То есть имелись все шансы для создания целого укрепленного района. У Врангеля был почти год для тотальной мобилизации всех возможностей полуострова и обустройства Перекопского укрепрайона. Но всё ограничилось словоблудием и имитацией бурной деятельности.

Также у Белой армии имелся такой мощный козырь, как флот. У красных было всего несколько (переделанных в боевые) гражданских судов в Азовской флотилии. Белый флот (да ещё усиленный Антантой) мог легко закрыть перешейки своим огнем. Тяжелая корабельная артиллерия делала Крымский полуостров действительно неприступным. Можно было просто проявить смекалку. Поставить на баржи 203-мм и 152-мм морские орудия, их с помощью понтонов и катеров перевезти к Перекопу и Ишуни/Юшуни. Подвести баржи к берегу, посадить на землю. Установить орудия, подвести боеприпасы, возвести укрепления. Так можно было создать мощные батареи, которые бы просто смели атакующих.

Кроме того, у Врангеля (в реальности) был и мощный людской резерв. В Крыму была масса вполне дееспособных, молодых мужчин. Включая и бывших офицеров (военных уже Белой армии) в тылу. Их можно было мобилизовать, хотя бы дать в руки лопаты. Построить укрепрайоны на перекопском и чонгарском направлениях. Достаточно вспомнить, как большевики мобилизовали народ на сооружение укреплений в Царицыне или Каховке. В годы Великой Отечественной войны гражданские построили сотни километров укреплений на подступах к Москве, Ленинграду, Сталинграду и т.д. Но офицерство, интеллигенция, «голубая кровь» и богатые купчики не пожелали спасать «Русь Святую». Они предпочли бежать в Константинополь, Берлин и Париж, стать лакеями, таксистами и куртизанками. Да и белое командование с Врангелем не стало привлекать тыловые части, беженцев и местных жителей для сооружения мощной обороны. Результат был ожидаемым: Красная Армия за несколько дней доломала сопротивление отборных частей Белой армии и вошла в Крым.

Штурм


Наступление Южного фронта наметили на 5 ноября 1920 года. Десант должен был форсировать Сиваш. Однако сильный восточный ветер пригнал воду с моря. На бродах вода поднялась до двух метров. Махновцы, которые шли в первых рядах десанта, отказались так рисковать. Операцию пришлось отложить. 6 ноября ситуация в корне изменилась. Начался сильный западный ветер, который выгнал почти всю воду из Гнилого моря. Сильное обмеление позволяло войскам преодолеть Сиваш по бродам. К тому же холод подморозил грязь, а туман скрывал передвижение войск. В ночь на 8 ноября войска Ударной группы (15-я, 51-я и 52-я стрелковые дивизии, конная группа, всего 20 тысяч штыков и сабель при 36 орудиях) форсировали залив, сломали сопротивление слабой Кубанской бригады Фостикова на Литовском полуострове. Утром 8 ноября советские войска нанесли фланговый удар по основным силам врага, начали наступление на Армянск, заходя в тыл обороны по Турецкому валу.

Однако из-за нехватки кавалерии красные на Литовском полуострове не смогли прорваться дальше. Им самим угрожало полное уничтожение. Белые пришли в себя и контратаковали. Вода в Сиваше снова поднималась, отрезая красных от подкреплений и снабжения. Им пришлось перейти к обороне. На помощь передовым силам был направлен махновский отряд Каретникова и 7-й кавалерийской дивизии. Затем группа на Литовском полуострове была усилена 16-й кавалерийской дивизией 2-й Конной армии. Дроздовская дивизия из Армянска и Марковская дивизия из Ишуни/Юшуни проводили атаку за атакой, пытаясь уничтожить вражеский десант на Литовском полуострове. В течение суток шли упорные бои. При этом красные смогли несколько расширить плацдарм. В это же время бригады 51-й дивизии штурмовали в лоб Перекоп. Однако успеха снова не добились и понесли большие потери.

Белое командование, опасаясь окружения передовых сил, в ночь с 8 на 9 ноября перевело войска с Турецкого вала на вторую линию оборону – Ишуньские/Юшуньские позиции. 9 ноября красные взяли Перекоп и начали штурм Ишуньских/Юшуньских позиций. Наиболее сильная оборона белых была в восточной части – 6 тысяч бойцов, западную часть прикрывало 3 тысячи человек, но тут врангелевцев поддерживал флот. В контратаку был брошен Конный корпус Барбовича (4 тысячи сабель, 30 пушек, 150 пулеметов и 5 броневиков). Его подкрепили остатками частей 13-й, 34-й и Дроздовской пехотной дивизий. 10-го ноября белая конница смогла отбросить части 15-й и 52-й стрелковых дивизий от Ишуня/Юшуня к Литовскому полуострову, нанесла поражение 7-й и 16-й кавалерийским дивизиям. Возникла опасность для правого фланга красной ударной группировки (51-я и Латышская дивизии). Также появилась угроза рейда белых по красным тылам. Однако ситуацию спасли махновцы. Корпус Барбовича стал преследовать противника и напоролся на линию тачанок (250 пулеметов). Махновцы буквально выкосили противника. Затем махновцы и бойцы 2-й Конной армии стали рубить отступающих белогвардейцев. Тем временем части 51-й дивизии у Карнитского залива взламывали линию обороны врага.


Падение обороны Русской армии


В ночь на 11 ноября командующий обороной Белой армии генерал Кутепов предложил начать общее контрнаступление и вернуть утраченные позиции. Однако белые войска понесли тяжелые потери и были деморализованы. Утром 11-го ноября части 51-й дивизии завершили прорыв Ишуньских/Юшуньских позиций, двинулись на Ишунь/Юшунь. Красноармейцы отбили контратаку Терско-Астраханской бригады, затем и яростную штыковую атаку корниловцев и марковцев, предпринятую на подступах к станции. Бойцы 51-й дивизии совместно с Латышской дивизией заняли станцию Ишунь/Юшунь и стали выходить в тыл правому крылу обороны противника. Не дожидаясь окружения, белые части стали бросать оставшиеся позиции и уходить к портам. Конница Барбовича ещё пыталась дать бой, контратаковала, но к вечеру была разбита махновцами и 2-й Конной армией у станции Воинка, к югу от Сиваша. 11 ноября Фрунзе, стремясь избежать дальнейшего кровопролития, обратился по радио к белому командованию с предложением прекратить сопротивление и обещал амнистию сложившим оружие. Врангель на это предложение не ответил. Белые готовились к полной эвакуации (частичная началась ещё 10-го ноября).

В это же время (6 – 10 ноября 1920 года) Красная Армия штурмовала позиции врага на чонгарском направлении. В ночь на 11 ноября начался решительный штурм, красные в районе Тюп-Джанкоя прорвали две (из четырёх) линии обороны. Днем 11-го ноября 30-я стрелковая дивизия Грязнова развила наступление. Резервы белых были переброшены к Ишуни/Юшуни и они не могли контратаковать. 12 ноября красные прорвали последнюю линию обороны противника, захватили станцию Таганаш. Остатки Донского корпуса отходят на Джанкой. Тем временем красные смогли переправиться через Генический пролив и двинулись в тыл врага по Арабатской стрелке. Утром 12 ноября части 9-й советской стрелковой дивизии с Арабатской стрелки высадились на Крымский полуостров в устье реки Салгир.

12 ноября произошли последние бои у Джанкоя и села Богемка. Конница 2-й армии и махновцы сбили арьергарды противника. На перешейках Красная Армия потеряла около 12 тысяч человек, белогвардейцы – 7 тысяч. Интересно, что красные почти сутки бездействовали, дав противнику оторваться. Только 13 ноября началось преследование. 6-я и 1-я Конная армии и части Махно развернули наступление на Симферополь, туда же от Джанкоя шла и 2-я Конная армия, а 4-я армия и 3-й конный корпус — на Феодосию и Керчь. 13 ноября был освобождён Симферополь, 14-го – Евпатория и Феодосия, 15-го – Севастополь, 16-го – Керчь, 17-го – Ялта. Все города были заняты без боя. Армия Врангеля с десятками тысяч гражданских бежала с полуострова (всего около 150 тысяч человек).

Таким образом, Южный фронт Фрунзе разгромил Русскую армию Врангеля – самое боеспособное соединение Белой армии на заключительном этапе Гражданской войны. Красная Армия освободила Крым, ликвидировала крупный очаг контрреволюции. Это событие считается официальным завершением Гражданской войны в России. Хотя местами война ещё продолжалась (включая крестьянскую). На Дальнем Востоке белых добьют только в 1922 году.
Автор:
Использованы фотографии:
https://ru.wikipedia.org/, https://bigenc.ru/
Статьи из этой серии:
Смута. 1920 год
Фрунзе против Врангеля. Отступление белогвардейцев из Таврии в Крым
Битва за Ростов
Катастрофа белой Одессы
Как Слащёв Крым оборонял
Доно-Манычская битва
Гибель Северной армии Миллера
Почему агента Запада Колчака превращают в героя и мученика России
Разгром армии Деникина в Тихорецком сражении
Как завершился Ледяной Сибирский поход
Падение белой Кубани
Агония белого Новороссийска
Гибель Кубанской армии
Отставка Деникина
Дальневосточная республика и японская угроза
Польский «освободительный» поход на Киев
Бакинский «блицкриг» Красной Армии
Битва за Белоруссию. Майская операция Красной Армии
Война Русской армии Врангеля
Первые победы армии Врангеля
Разгром 13-й советской армии в Северной Таврии
Киев наш!
Битва за Ровно. Как будённовцы громили польскую оборону
Минск наш! Разгром польской армии в Белоруссии
Битва за Львов. Неудача Красной армии в Галиции
Гибель конной группы Жлобы
Ожесточённая битва за Каховский плацдарм
Разгром десантной группы Улагая
«Чудо на Висле»
Как Тухачевский погубил свои армии на Висле
Битва при Комарове. Поражение 1-й Конной армии
Бухарский блицкриг Фрунзе
«Опасность Врангеля становится громадной...»
Сражение на Нижнем Днепре
Последнее наступление Русской армии
Битва на Немане
Разгром Тухачевского на Немане
Разгром 3-й советской армии в Белоруссии
Поражение Красной Армии на Щаре
Как Турция атаковала Армению
Армянский разгром. Как турецкая армия захватила Карс и Александрополь
Разгром армии Врангеля в битве на Днепре
Поражение Дальневосточной армии. Как ликвидировали «читинскую пробку»