Victories of Denikin’s army in New Russia and Little Russia

On August 18 on 1919, the Red Front in Novorossia collapsed; units of the 12-th Soviet Army were surrounded in this area. 23 — On 24 of August Denikin’s troops took Odessa, and on 31 of August they took Kiev. In many ways, the relatively easy victories of Denikin’s in New Russia and Little Russia were related to the internal problems of the Bolsheviks in the Ukrainian SSR and the activation of other enemies of Soviet Russia.

Victories of Denikin’s army in New Russia and Little Russia

The troops of General N.E. Bredov enter Kiev on Sophia Square, 31 on August 1919.




Victory Denikin in New Russia and Little Russia


The offensive of the Volunteer Army in the Kursk direction covered the movement of the Denikin strike groups in Little Russia and New Russia from the east. While the 1th Army Corps of General Kutepov fought on the outskirts of the Kursk fortified area, the 3th Separate Corps of General Schilling left the Crimea and in early August 1919, with the support of the White Black Sea Fleet, captured Kherson and Nikolaev. Then the 3-th corps aimed at Odessa.

On August 18, the Red Front in New Russia collapsed. The forces of the 12-th Red Army, which stood at the front of Kiev - Odessa - Kherson, were diverted to the east. Odessa was defended by the 47-I division, but it had extremely low combat efficiency, since it began to be formed in the city only in the summer by 1919 from mobilized local residents who were not distinguished by high fighting spirit. In general, the Reds had for the defense of the city 8-10 thousand people, but most of them had low moral and combat training. But the red command and representatives of the Soviet government could not organize strong resistance. Panic started in Odessa. There were rumors of a huge white landing and enemy fleet. In addition, the city was in a dangerous situation due to the peasant uprising in the district. On the night of August 23, a white squadron under the command of the captain of the 1 rank, Osteletsky, together with the auxiliary fleet of the British fleet, appeared suddenly at Sukhoi Lyman and landed troops under the command of Colonel Tugan-Mirza-Baranovsky (Consolidated Dragoon Regiment - more than 900 fighters).

The Red Command could not organize the defense of the coast, so the white landing landed calmly. Movement to the city also took place with virtually no resistance. The batteries and units along the way surrendered and went over to the white side. The Russian cruiser "Cahul" ("General Kornilov") and the English "Karradok" followed the coast along with the advancement of the landing and opened fire on the squares at the request of the landing. At the same time, an uprising of clandestine officer organizations began in Odessa. At the very beginning of the uprising, the building of the Odessa Cheka, the headquarters of the Defense Council and the headquarters of the military district were seized, and many red leaders were arrested. There was no particular resistance anywhere.

By noon, learning about the enemy landing, all the top red leaders fled from the city — the military commissar of the district, the chairman of the Defense Council of the Odessa military district Boris Kraevsky, the chairman of the Odessa Provincial Committee of the Communist Party of Ukraine Yan Gamarnik and the commander of the 45 Division Iona Yakir. Until the end, only the chairman of the Odessa Provincial Executive Committee of the Council of Workers 'and Soldiers' Deputies Ivan Klimenko remained. This led to the failure of defense and evacuation measures. Attempts by individual red units to organize resistance were suppressed by ship fire. The mobilized Red Army soldiers of the 47 division simply ran home at the first sounds of artillery shelling. An attempt to evacuate from the area of ​​the railway station, where large forces of the Reds gathered, was thwarted by ship fire.

Thus, a relatively small white landing with the support of naval artillery and the rebellious Odessa officer organizations captured the huge city by the night of 23 August 1919. By the morning of 24 August, all of Odessa was under the control of the White Guards. Denikinites captured rich trophies. On August 25, the Red Army, with the support of an armored train, tried to recapture the city. However, the naval artillery again worked well - its armored train was destroyed by fire, and the railway track was badly damaged. The Reds finally retreated north. Having lost Odessa, the Reds were forced to leave the entire south-west of Little Russia. The southern group of troops of the 12 army under the command of Yakir (45 and 58 infantry divisions, Kotovsky’s cavalry brigade) was surrounded, and began to retreat along the Petlyura rear to Zhitomir to join the main forces of the 12 army. Parts of the Southern Group marched with battles over 400 km, on September 19 occupied Zhytomyr and joined forces. In September and October of the 1919 of the year, the 12-I army held defenses on both banks of the Dnieper north of Kiev.

The group of General Yuzefovich (2 Army and 5 Army Cavalry Corps) was advancing in the Kiev direction. This offensive continued in August, when the red Southern Front launched a counteroffensive and created a threat in the Kharkov direction. The 5th Cavalry Corps captured Konotop and Bakhmut, interrupting the direct connection between Kiev and Moscow. At the same time, the 2-th Army Corps, moving on both banks of the Dnieper and overturning units of the 14-th Red Army, went to Kiev and the White Church. On August 17 (30), the troops of General Bredov crossed the Dnieper and entered Kiev almost simultaneously with the Petliurites advancing from the south. Even a joint parade of troops was planned. However, after several provocations and shootings, Bredov gave the Petliurists 24 hours to evacuate from the city. 31 August 1919 Kiev remained with the White Guards.

Subsequently, the white troops of the Kiev region and Novorossiya, from the north, east and south, gradually occupied the territory between the Dnieper and the Black Sea. The remnants of the right-bank group of the 14-th Soviet Army retreated beyond the Dnieper.


Armored cruiser General Kornilov (formerly Cahul)


About the reasons for the easy victory of Denikin’s army in Little Russia


It is worth noting that in many respects the relatively easy victories of Denikin’s in New Russia and Little Russia were related to the internal problems of the Bolsheviks in the Ukrainian SSR and the activation of other enemies of Soviet Russia. So, in Ukraine-Little Russia, in parallel with the war of white and red, there was a peasant and rebel war, a criminal revolution.

The policy of "war communism" in the Ukrainian SSR was superimposed on existing problems and contradictions, and caused new ones. As a result, the Reds had strong positions only in cities, at the locations of military units and along the railways along which troops were deployed. Next was the power of either local governments and self-defense units, or atamans and bateks, or a zone of anarchy and chaos. Against the backdrop of the defeats of the Red Army at the front, the White began a new wave of atamanism. Atamans had thousands of soldiers with artillery, their trains and steamers subordinate. They controlled vast rural areas. The Red Army, associated with the struggle against the whites, could not divert significant forces to suppress them. In addition, as already noted more than once, the red units created in Little Russia and New Russia, mainly from former rebels and partisans, had poor combat effectiveness and discipline. At the first signs of a real threat, such Red Army soldiers quickly “repainted” as Petliurites, White Guards, “Green”, etc.

At the same time, the Polish threat intensified. In the spring and early summer of 1919, the army of General Haller, formed in France, arrived in Poland. Pilsudski immediately pursued a policy of ardent nationalism. The Poles, taking advantage of the collapse of the neighboring great powers - Russia and Germany, began to create "Great Poland from sea to sea. Polish troops captured Poznan and Silesia. In June, the Poles entered Grodno and Vilna, despite the protests of Lithuania, which considered these cities to be its own. However, the Lithuanian nationalists did not have large battalions to defend their claims, but the Poles did. The Polish troops moved to Little Russia, captured Novograd-Volynsky. Taking advantage of the fact that the forces of the Western Ukrainian people's republic went to the aid of Petliura and fought with the Red Army, Polish divisions invaded Galicia and captured it. The Western Ukrainian People’s Republic disappeared, its territory became part of Poland, Czechoslovakia and Romania. The government of Petrunkevich fled. The Galician army for the most part crossed into the territory of the Ukrainian People’s Republic (a small part of the “Sich Riflemen” fled to Czechoslovakia).



So the Poles began the process of creating Poland "from sea to sea." Their appetites grew with the development of successful expansion. Having expanded their power at the expense of Germany, Lithuania and Galician Rus, the Poles moved to White Russia. 8 August 1919 g. Polish troops captured Minsk. Their offensive also captured the northwestern part of Little Russia - Sarny, Rivne, Novograd-Volynsky.

Meanwhile, the UPR army, including the Galician army (about 35 thousand in all), launched an attack on Kiev and Odessa. The Petliurites tried to use the favorable moment - the successful offensive of Denikin’s army in Little Russia and the movement of the Polish army to the east, which caused the collapse of the defense of the Red Army in the west. Petlyura’s troops occupied Zhmerynka, intercepting the railway link between Kiev and Odessa. However, at the same time, a new and rapid degradation of the fighting efficiency of the Petlyura troops took place. The core of the Galician ideological “Sich Riflemen,” who made the main contribution to the development of the offensive, quickly grew into detachments of rebel chieftains and batiks, who again quickly “repainted”. To receive ranks, ranks, awards from Petliura, weapon, equipment and material content. These detachments retained their commanders and a partisan organization, poorly managed and poorly operational (the same problem became one of the main reasons for the defeat of the Red Army in Little Russia and New Russia). On the one hand, this led to a drop in the combat effectiveness of the Petlyura army. On the other hand, a surge of violence, robberies and Jewish pogroms. It is clear that the robbers, rapists and looters did not meet the mass support of the population, and could not resist the ideological White Guards.

On August 30, the Petliurites, together with the Whites, occupied Kiev. But the very next day they were expelled from there by Denikins. The White Command refused to negotiate with Petlyura and by October 1919, the Petlyuraites were defeated. At this time, there was a gap between the military-political leadership of the UPR and the ZUNR. The command of the Galician army was against military operations with the All-Union Federal League of Justice, since the Entente stood behind Denikin. The Galicians believed that they had one main enemy - the Poles. Therefore, the ZUNR leadership, headed by Petrushevich and the command of the Galician army, took a wait and see attitude. Galicians were even accused of surrendering Kiev to the whites. As a result, the Galicians proposed Petlyura to begin negotiations with Denikin on an alliance, since it is impossible to fight on two fronts. However, Petlyura continued to pressure the Galician army, demanding active military operations against Denikin's troops. In addition, Petlyura leaned toward an alliance with Poland against Soviet Russia, it is clear that at the expense of the interests of ZUNR.

As a result, the Galicians began negotiations with the whites. The command of the Galician army at the beginning of November 1919 signed an agreement with the leadership of the All-Union Federal League of Justice. From the Galician army, the agreement was signed by its commander, General Miron Tarnavsky, from the White Army - by the commander of the 4 Infantry Division, Major General Yakov Slashchev and commander of the forces of the Novorossiysk Region, Lieutenant General Nikolai Shilling. The Galician army in its entirety went over to the side of the All-Union Federal League of Forces. She was taken to the rear of the Volunteer Army for replenishment and rest.


The parade of units of the Volunteer Army in Kiev. Left in the foreground is the commander of the Volunteer Army, General V.Z. May-Mayevsky, behind him: the head of the group of forces General N.E. Bredov (behind May-Mayevsky in a white gymnast) and the commander of the 5th cavalry corps, general Ya. D. Yuzefovich (foreground in a white gymnast). Source: https://ru.wikipedia.org/

Makhno's actions


At the same time, Ataman Nestor Makhno, breaking off relations with the Reds and defeated by Denikinites, retreating along the Right Bank of the Dnieper, in August turned out to be pressed against the Petliura front. Under his command there were about 20 thousand soldiers of the Revolutionary Insurgent Army of Ukraine (RPAU), and a large convoy with wounded. Makhno did not feel the slightest sympathy for Ukrainian nationalists and Petliura. But the situation was hopeless: on one side the Makhnovists were drawn in by the white, and on the other, the Petliurists. Therefore, Makhno entered into negotiations. At the same time, the Makhnovists hoped that they would be able to seize control and liquidate Petlyura. On 20 of September 1919 of the year, at the Zhmerinka station, a military alliance was concluded between the Makhnovists and Petliurists. The union was directed against Denikinites. Sick, wounded and refugees of the “army” Makhno got the opportunity to be treated and placed on the territory of the UNR. RPAU received a foothold and base, supply. The Makhnovists occupied a front section in the Uman region.

True, on 26 of September, the Makhnovists began to break back into the Yekaterinoslav region and in early October of 1919 created a powerful threat in the rear of Denikin’s army.

To be continued ...
Author:
Articles from this series:
Smoot. 1919 year

How the British created the Armed Forces of the South of Russia
How to restore Soviet power in Ukraine
How Petliurists led Little Russia to a complete catastrophe
How defeated Petliurism
Give the boundaries of 1772 of the year!
Battle for the North Caucasus. How to suppress the Terek Uprising
Battle for the North Caucasus. CH 2. December battle
Battle for the North Caucasus. CH 3. The January accident of the 11 Army
Battle for the North Caucasus. CH 4. How the 11 army died
Battle for the North Caucasus. CH 5. Capture of Kizlyar and the Terrible
Battle for the North Caucasus. CH 6. Furious assault of Vladikavkaz
How Georgia tried to seize Sochi
How the Whites crushed the Georgian invaders
The war of February and October as a confrontation between two civilization projects
How did the "Flight to the Volga"
How Kolchak's army broke through to the Volga
Catastrophe of the Don Cossacks
Verkhniyon uprising
How "Great Finland" planned to seize Petrograd
"All to fight with Kolchak!"
Frunze. Red Napoleon
The missed opportunities of the army of Kolchak
May offensive of the Northern Corps
How white broke through to Petrograd
Battle for the South of Russia
Strategic change on the southern front. Manych operation
Crimea on fire Russian distemper
Crimea in 1918-1919. Intervents, local authorities and whites
How did the uprising of ataman Grigoriev
Nikifor Grigoriev, "ataman of the rebel forces of Kherson region, Zaporizhia and Tavria"
Odessa operation ataman Grigoriev
Uprising in the Ukraine. How failed the “Blitzkrieg” of Grigorievka
Ufa operation. How were defeated the best parts of the army of Kolchak
Moscow campaign army Denikin
"All to fight with Denikin!"
Battle of the Urals
The defeat of the Siberian army. How the Red Army liberated Perm and Yekaterinburg
The defeat of Kolchak in the Chelyabinsk battle
August Counterattack of the Southern Front
The battle for Siberia. Recent operations Kolchak
Pyrrhic victory of the Kolchak armies on Tobol
Operation "White Sword". Beat at the heart of the revolution
"Do not give up Petrograd!"
General battle for Russia
Avalov Army Campaign in Riga
The defeat of the Kolchak armies in the second battle on Tobol
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

42 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Победы армии Деникина в Новороссии и Малороссии

18 августа 1919 года рухнул фронт красных в Новороссии, части 12-й советской армии в этом районе оказались окружены. 23—24 августа войска Деникина взяли Одессу, 31 августа — Киев. Во многом сравнительно легкие победы деникинцев в Новороссии и Малороссии были связаны с внутренними проблемами большевиков в УССР и активизацией других врагов советской России.

Победы армии Деникина в Новороссии и Малороссии

Войска генерала Н. Э. Бредова входят в Киев на Софийскую площадь, 31 августа 1919 г.




Победа деникинцев в Новороссии и Малороссии


Наступление Добровольческой армии на курском направлении прикрыло с востока движение ударных групп деникинцев в Малороссии и Новороссии. Пока 1-й армейский корпус генерала Кутепова вёл бои на подступах к курскому укрепрайону, 3-й отдельный корпус генерала Шиллинга вышел из Крыма и в начале августа 1919 года при поддержке белого Черноморского флота овладел Херсоном и Николаевым. Затем 3-й корпус нацелился на Одессу.

18 августа рухнул фронт красных в Новороссии. Силы 12-й красной армии, стоявшей на фронте Киев — Одесса — Херсон, были отвлечены к востоку. Одессу обороняла 47-я дивизия, но она имела крайне низкую боеспособность, так как её начали формировать в городе только летом 1919 из мобилизованных местных жителей, которые не отличались высоким боевым духом. В целом красные имели для обороны города 8-10 тыс. человек, но большинство из них имели низкую моральную и боевую подготовку. А красное командование и представители советской власти не смогли организовать сильное сопротивление. В Одессе началась паника. Ходили слухи об огромном белом десанте и вражеском флоте. Кроме того, город был в опасной ситуации из-за шедшего в округе крестьянского восстания. В ночь на 23 августа белая эскадра под началом капитана 1-го ранга Остелецкого совместно с вспомогательной эскадрой британского флота появилась внезапно у Сухого Лимана и высадила десант под началом полковника Туган-Мирза-Барановского (Сводно-драгунский полк – более 900 бойцов).

Красное командование не смогло организовать оборону побережья, поэтому белый десант высаживался спокойно. Движение к городу также проходило практически без сопротивления. Находившиеся по пути батареи и подразделения сдавались и переходили на сторону белых. Русский крейсер «Кагул» («Генерал Корнилов») и английский «Каррадок» следовали вдоль побережья совместно с продвижением десанта и открывали огонь по квадратам по запросам десанта. Одновременно в Одессе началось восстание подпольных офицерских организаций. В самом начале восстания были захвачены здание Одесского ЧК, штаб Совета обороны и штаб военного округа, причём многие красные руководители арестованы. Особого сопротивления нигде не было.

К полудню, узнав о вражеском десанте, из города бежали все высшие красные руководители —военный комиссар округа, председатель Совета обороны Одесского военного округа Борис Краевский, председатель Одесского губернского комитета компартии Украины Ян Гамарник и командир 45-й дивизии Иона Якир. В городе до конца остался только председатель Одесского губернского исполкома совета рабочих и солдатских депутатов Иван Клименко. Это привело к провалу оборонных и эвакуационных мероприятий. Попытки отдельных красных подразделений организовать сопротивление были подавлены корабельным огнем. Мобилизованные красноармейцы 47-й дивизии просто разбежались по домам при первых звуках артиллерийского обстрела. Корабельным огнем была сорвана попытка эвакуации из района железнодорожного вокзала, где скопились крупные силы красных.

Таким образом, сравнительно небольшой белый десант при поддержке корабельной артиллерии и восставших одесских офицерских организаций захватил огромный город уже к ночи 23 августа 1919 г. К утру 24 августа вся Одесса была под контролем белогвардейцев. Деникинцы захватили богатые трофеи. 25 августа красноармейцы при поддержке бронепоезда попытались отбить город. Однако корабельная артиллерия снова хорошо сработала — её огнём бронепоезд был уничтожен, а железнодорожное полотно сильно испорчено. Красные окончательно отступили на север. Потеряв Одессу, красные были вынуждены оставить весь юго-запад Малороссии. Южная группа войск 12-й армии под командованием Якира (45-я и 58-я стрелковая дивизия, кавбригада Котовского) оказалась в окружении, и начала отступление по петлюровским тылам к Житомиру на соединение с главными силами 12-й армии. Части Южной группы прошли с боями свыше 400 км, 19 сентября заняли Житомир и соединились с основными силами. В сентябре—октябре 1919 года 12-я армия держала оборону по обоим берегам Днепра севернее Киева.

Группа генерала Юзефовича (2-й армейский и 5-й кавалерийской корпуса) наступала на киевском направлении. Это наступление продолжалось и в августе, когда красный Южный фронт начал контрнаступление и создал угрозу на харьковском направлении. 5-й кавалерийский корпус захватил Конотоп и Бахмут, прервав прямую связь Киева с Москвой. В это же время 2-й армейский корпус, двигаясь обоими берегами Днепра и опрокидывая части 14-й красной армии, шел к Киеву и Белой Церкви. 17 (30) августа войска генерала Бредова форсировали Днепр и вошли в Киев практически одновременно с петлюровцами, наступавшими с юга. Планировался даже совместный парад войск. Однако после нескольких провокаций и перестрелок Бредов дал петлюровцам 24 часа на эвакуацию из города. 31 августа 1919 г. Киев остался за белогвардейцами.

В дальнейшем белые войска Киевской области и Новороссии движением с севера, востока и юга постепенно занимали территорию между Днепром и Черным морем. Остатки правобережной группы 14-й советской армии отступили за Днепр.


Бронепалубный крейсер «Генерал Корнилов» (бывший «Кагул»)


О причинах легкой победы армии Деникина в Малороссии


Стоит отметить, что во-многом сравнительно легкие победы деникинцев в Новороссии и Малороссии были связаны с внутренними проблемами большевиков в УССР и активизацией других врагов советской России. Так, на Украине-Малороссии параллельно с войной белых и красных шла своя крестьянская и повстанческая война, криминальная революция.

Политика «военного коммунизма» в УССР наложилась на существующие проблемы и противоречия, вызвала новые. В итоге красные имели крепкие позиции только в городах, в местах расположения военных частей и вдоль железных дорог, по которым перебрасывали войска. Далее была власть либо местных самоуправлений и отрядов самообороны, либо атаманов и батек, либо зона безвластия и хаоса. На фоне поражений Красной Армии на фронте с белыми началась новая волна атаманщины. Атаманы имели в подчинении тысячи бойцов с артиллерией, своими поездами и пароходами. Они контролировали огромные сельские территории. Красная Армия, связанная борьбой с белыми, не могла отвлечь значительные силы на их подавление. Кроме того, как уже не раз отмечалось ранее, созданные в Малороссии и Новороссии красные части, в основном из бывших повстанцев и партизан, имели слабую боеспособность и дисциплину. При первых же признаках реальной угрозы такие красноармейцы быстро «перекрашивались» в петлюровцы, белогвардейцы, «зеленые» и т. д.

Одновременно активизировалась польская угроза. Весной и в начале лета 1919 г. в Польшу прибыла армия генерала Галлера, сформированная во Франции. Пилсудский немедленно повёл политику ярого национализма. Поляки, пользуясь развалом соседних великих держав — России и Германии, стали создавать «Великую Польшу от моря до моря. Польские войска захватили Познань и Силезию. В июне поляки вступили в Гродно и Вильно, несмотря на протесты Литвы, которая считала эти города своими. Однако у литовских националистов не было больших батальонов, чтобы отстоять свои претензии, а у поляков были. Двинулись польские войска в Малороссии, захватили Новоград-Волынский. Пользуясь тем, что силы Западно-Украинской народной республики ушли на помощь Петлюре и сражалась с Красной Армией, польские дивизии вторглись в Галицию и захватили её. Западно-Украинская народная республика исчезла, её территория вошла в состав Польши, Чехословакии и Румынии. Правительство Петрункевича бежало. Галицкая армия большей частью перешла на территорию Украинской народной республики (небольшая часть «сечевых стрельцов» бежала в Чехословакию).



Так поляки начали процесс создания Польши «от моря до моря». Их аппетиты по мере развития успешной экспансии росли. Расширив свою державу за счёт Германии, Литвы и Галицкой Руси, поляки двинулись на Белую Русь. 8 августа 1919 г. польские войска захватили Минск. Их наступление захватило и северо-западную часть Малороссии – Сарны, Ровно, Новоград-Волынский.

Тем временем армия УНР, включая Галицкую армию (всего около 35 тыс. бойцов), начала наступление на Киев и Одессу. Петлюровцы пытались использовать благоприятный момент – успешное наступление армии Деникина в Малороссии и движение польской армии на восток, что вызвало развал обороны Красной Армии на западном направлении. Войска Петлюры заняли Жмеринку, перехватив железнодорожное сообщение между Киевом и Одессой. Однако в это же время происходит новая и быстрая деградация боеспособности петлюровских войск. Ядро галицийских идейных «сечевых стрельцов», которые вносили основной вклад в развитие наступления, быстро обрастало отрядами повстанческих атаманов и батек, которые снова быстро «перекрашивались». Чтобы получить от Петлюры чины, звания, награды, оружие, снаряжение и материальное содержание. Эти отряды сохраняли своих командиров и партизанскую организацию, плохо управляемую и мало боеспособную (такая же проблема стала одной из главных причин поражения Красной Армии в Малороссии и Новороссии). С одной стороны, это привело к падению боеспособности армии Петлюры. С другой стороны, всплеск насилия, грабежей и еврейских погромов. Понятно, что грабители, насильники и мародеры не встречали массовой поддержки населения, и не могли противостоять идейным белогвардейцам.

30 августа петлюровцы вместе с белыми заняли Киев. Но уже на следующий день были изгнаны оттуда деникинцами. Белое командование отказалось вести переговоры с Петлюрой и к октябрю 1919 года петлюровцы были разгромлены. В это время произошёл разрыв между военно-политическом руководством УНР и ЗУНР. Командование Галицкой армии было против боевых действий с ВСЮР, так как за Деникиным стояла Антанта. Галичане считали, что у них один главный враг — поляки. Поэтому руководство ЗУНР во главе с Петрушевичем и командование Галицкой армии заняли выжидательную позицию. Галичан даже обвиняли в сдаче белым Киева. В итоге галичане предложили Петлюре начать переговоры с Деникиным о союзе, так как нельзя воевать на два фронта. Однако Петлюра продолжал давление на Галицкую армию, требуя активных боевых действий против войск Деникина. Кроме того, Петлюра склонялся к союзу с Польшей против Советской России, понятно, что за счёт интересов ЗУНР.

В итоге галичане начали переговоры с белыми. Командование Галицкой армии в начале ноября 1919 г. подписало соглашение с руководством ВСЮР. От Галицкой армии договор подписал её командующий генерал Мирон Тарнавский, от Белой армии — командир 4-й пехотной дивизии генерал-майор Яков Слащёв и командующий силами Новороссийской области генерал-лейтенант Николай Шиллинг. Галицкая армия в полном составе переходила на сторону ВСЮР. Её отводили в тыл Добровольческой армии для пополнения и отдыха.


Парад частей Добровольческой армии в Киеве. Слева на переднем плане командующий Добровольческой армией генерал В. З. Май-Маевский, позади него: начальник группы войск генерал Н. Э. Бредов (за Май-Маевским в белой гимнастёрке) и командир 5-го кавалерийского корпуса генерал Я. Д. Юзефович (на переднем плане в белой гимнастёрке). Источник: https://ru.wikipedia.org/

Действия Махно


В это же время разорвавший отношения с красными и разбитый деникинцами атаман Нестор Махно, отступая по Правобережью Днепра, в августе оказался прижатым к петлюровскому фронту. Под его началом было около 20 тыс. бойцов Революционной повстанческой армии Украины (РПАУ), и большой обоз с ранеными. Ни малейшей симпатии к украинским националистам и Петлюре Махно не испытывал. Но положение было безвыходным: с одной стороны махновцев поджимали белые, с другой – петлюровцы. Поэтому Махно вступил в переговоры. При этом махновцы надеялись, что смогут перехватить управление и ликвидировать Петлюру. 20 сентября 1919 года на станции Жмеринка был заключен военный союз между махновцами и петлюровцами. Союз был направлен против деникинцев. Больные, раненые и беженцы «армии» Махно получили возможность лечиться и разместиться на территории УНР. РПАУ получила плацдарм и базу, снабжение. Махновцы заняли участок фронта в районе Умани.

Правда, уже 26 сентября махновцы начали прорываться обратно, в район Екатеринослава и в начале октября 1919 г. создали мощную угрозу в тылу армии Деникина.

Продолжение следует…
Автор:
Статьи из этой серии:
Смута. 1919 год

Как англичане создали Вооружённые силы Юга России
Как восстановили советскую власть на Украине
Как петлюровцы привели Малороссию к полной катастрофе
Как разгромили петлюровщину
Даёшь границы 1772 года!
Битва за Северный Кавказ. Как подавили Терское восстание
Битва за Северный Кавказ. Ч. 2. Декабрьское сражение
Битва за Северный Кавказ. Ч. 3. Январская катастрофа 11-й армии
Битва за Северный Кавказ. Ч. 4. Как погибла 11-я армия
Битва за Северный Кавказ. Ч. 5. Взятие Кизляра и Грозного
Битва за Северный Кавказ. Ч. 6. Яростный штурм Владикавказа
Как Грузия пыталась захватить Сочи
Как белогвардейцы разгромили грузинских оккупантов
Война Февраля с Октябрём как противостояние между двумя цивилизационными проектами
Как начался "Полёт к Волге"
Как армия Колчака прорывалась к Волге
Катастрофа донского казачества
Верхнедонское восстание
Как "Великая Финляндия" планировала захватить Петроград
«Все на борьбу с Колчаком!»
Фрунзе. Красный Наполеон
Упущенные возможности армии Колчака
Майское наступление Северного корпуса
Как белые прорывались к Петрограду
Битва за Юг России
Стратегический перелом на Южном фронте. Манычская операция
Крым в огне русской смуты
Крым в 1918-1919 годах. Интервенты, местные власти и белые
Как началось восстание атамана Григорьева
Никифор Григорьев, «атаман повстанческих войск Херсонщины, Запорожья и Таврии»
Одесская операция атамана Григорьева
Восстание в Малороссии. Как провалился «блицкриг» григорьевцев
Уфимская операция. Как были разгромлены лучшие части армии Колчака
Московский поход армии Деникина
«Все на борьбу с Деникиным!»
Битва за Урал
Разгром Сибирской армии. Как Красная Армия освободила Пермь и Екатеринбург
Поражение колчаковцев в Челябинском сражении
Августовское контрнаступление Южного фронта
Битва за Сибирь. Последние операции колчаковцев
Пиррова победа колчаковских армий на Тоболе
Операция "Белый меч". Удар в сердце революции
"Петрограда не сдавать!"
Генеральное сражение за Россию
Поход армии Авалова на Ригу
Разгром колчаковских армий во втором сражении на Тоболе
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

42 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти